Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

In early 2015 Prime Minster Freundel Stuart announced that Barbados will switch from the monarchical system of government to republican status. It is December 2017- almost two years later- with a general election on the horizon and clearly Barbadians must conclude that this is another empty promise by a politician.

The appointment of Justice Sandra Mason makes the BU household question how can we hold our politicians accountable. How is it possible for a prime minister of Barbados to boldly state in 2015 that he will champion the transition to a republic and then do nothing to deliver and we ACCEPT it.

Why is there a rush to appoint a governor general if the plan is to ‘shift’ to republican status? The irony is that the political class [a collective] is expressing glee at what is being termed a popular choice for governor general. The BU household holds no brief for Sandra Mason, she appears to be a decent lady, however, the public should be expressing outrage at another broken promise, the media should be questioning and probing the political morality of the government. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) should be asking why the hurry to appoint a governor general, a governor of the central bank and possibly a director of public prosecutions weeks before a general election. On the flipside, how many permanent secretaries are acting in the position and for how long therefore compromising their ability to execute?

It is morally wrong!

We know this Democratic Labour Party (DLP) does not practice political ethics in governance. Take the flagship example of Michael Carrington who as Speaker was found to be dishonest in his dealings with a septuagenarian wheelchair-bound client and the prime minister did nothing about it except to advise him to secure a lawyer. We can add another example of prime minister Freundel Stuart signing-off on the Cahill deal without admitting it publicly amidst the noise of the debate to the contrary.

Relevant links:

If the head is bad…

There will be no jumping for joy in the BU household with the appointment of Sandra Mason as governor general.

182 responses to “Why the Haste to Appoint a Governor General?”

1. In the haste for ‘revenge’ be careful which lawyers you engage to represent you in Court.

2. In any other jurisdiction in the world a client would have an case against their legal representatives. This simply no excuse for this, NONW WHATSOEVER.

3. Hal Gollop has himself to blame for associating politically with his school teacher chum Jiggs.Gollop was known as a political associate of high ranking Bees namely the top dogs in the lawyering class in Barbados such as Simmons,Forde,StJohn,Adams,Tull,Cheltenham Mottley et al.As a result Gollop’s advocacy mirrored those pillars of the courts of Barbados.It is only since Jiggs Stuart assumed the role of PM that Gollop was persuaded to switch parties and look what happen.He lay with dogs and now got bare fleas.Jiggs is not and will never be known as a top drawer lawyer in Barbados.Gollop on the other hand by association with the Dems namely politician Jiggs,lying lowlife Sinckler,thiefing Carrington,corrupt lying Lowdown,thiefing,lying,greenverbs leper Paris,dizzonest Lashleys,bumbling Boyce,Quisling Boyce and the rest of clueless dem politicians,Gollop has become just like those guys,incompetent at the bar,the inner one at that.Gollop,let the hammer hit the same place twice….suing the wrong party.Prodigal remember and Sargeant bowled a low ball at Ms Prunella.Wicked fella with a sense ‘o humor and innuendo.

4. We need a People´s Court in Barbados, residing in front of Bussa´s statue, consisting of the eldest people of all parishes and adressing all the mischief the quacks amongst the lawyers do with corporal punishment and deportation.

5. RE Gabriel December 29, 2017 at 7:24 PM #
    Skinner,you can really hush doh.Out of 6000 voters only 149 voted for you in 1991. You en got no shame doh!You unnerstan dat under 3%?Can you get it into your head that in 2013,the majority of voting Bajans voted for both of those parties?

WHEREAS THE ABOVE IS TRUE…WHAT SKINNER SAID BELOW IS ALSO TRUE ah lie?
    William Skinner December 29, 2017 at 6:57 PM #
    This is tremendous comedy for the ending of the year . Intelligent people actually expecting anything different from the BLPDLP. LOL
    The greatest stench of sewage is to be found in Roebuck and George Streets.

6. The opposition forces have been roundly outfoxed by His Esteemed Majesty King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart .

Mia Mottley had to support the King 👑 choice of Governor General ……after pompasetting that she won’t !!!
    The NUPW and BWU must wait on the King 👑 for whatever sum of money he chooses to dish out to them ……without the threat or hope again of going on the picket line !!!!
    MAM cannot get General Elections take place in December 2017 …..because the King 👑 has declared that he is going down to the wire !!!
    Prodigirl…..the King 👑 is going to Brek yuh beak again ..,,…just like he did in 2013 !!!

Stay tuned

7. Unbelievable…..but true !!!

It took a High Court Judge …. 2 years to rule that a case was failed against the wrong party and on the wrong form !

No wonder the CCJ keeps chiding the Barbadian judicial system for inordinate delays !!

8. @David

Donald Best of Marjorie Knox, Peter Allard and Tales of the Court fame is back in the news and he had a friend in high places.

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2017/12/29/ex-federal-cabinet-minister-julian-fantino-takes-aim-at-judge-cops-lawyers.html

9. Fractured BLP December 29, 2017 at 8:30 PM #

And who presides the Barbadian courts?

Exactly, YOUR Marston, who received a Rhodes Scholarship. Hope you know who Rhodes was: A British imperialist and supremacist. So the black people in Barbados are sold out.

10. Tron
    In addition the same DLP led by Freundel Stuart changed the laws of Barbados in the dead of night when most citizens were asleep,to accommodate the appointment of this US citizen,who according to US law,cannot swear allegiance to a foreign power,but this fellow did,and Stuart caused him to be appointed CJ of Barbados and therewith disappointed most informed Bajans because it was well known that the gent had no bench experience this neck of the woods and was a low end judge over there.

11. Ill repeat here what i said here in another forum. Owen said we were to become Republic on January 1st 2005, the DEMS were against it. The DLP has twice mooted the idea of this country going republic, the Bees said no, we have problems to fix first. The DEMS announced new GG in their final year in office. The Bees say bring a Republic….. politics, politics, politics….

12. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon Phd.

@David the blogmster “How is it possible for a prime minister of Barbados to boldly state in 2015 that he will champion the transition to a republic and then do nothing to deliver and we ACCEPT it.”

Because we knew that the PM was only flying a kite with the republic thingy. He knows, and we We that Bajans don’t want no republic.

That said, I think that Ms. Mason’s appointment is a good one, although I would have preferred if she had been appointed Chef Justice.

But it will be nice to have a smart, good looking head of state. No need to put a paper bag over her head when she steps out in public. And she can hold her own with the brightest and the best.

13. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@David the blogmaster “Why is there a rush to appoint a governor general…The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) should be asking why the hurry to appoint a governor general.”

I wouldn’t call 6 months rushing or hurrying, The last GG stepped down, what 6 months ago? And he had previously given about 6 months notice? We like to do things too slow in Barbados. The new GG should have been appointed the day after the previous one stepped down.

14. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@Pachamama December 29, 2017 at 6:36 AM “There is only one instrument which can act as a corrective.”

Why you always talking about killing people?

You ever created a life yet? I mean create a life entirely on your own?

Well if you can’t create life then you shouldn’t take life.

And tobesides how do you plan to “correct” dead people?

Silly man.

15. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@Fractured BLP December 29, 2017 at 10:52 AM “Once again our great King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart have won the hearts of his die hard critics with the appointment of the esteemed female citizen in the person of Dame Sandra Prunella Mason to the post of Governor General of Barbados.”

Don’t fool yourself.

We like Ms. Mason.

We ain’t too sure we feel the same ’bout Freundel.

16. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon Phd. Avatar

@John December 29, 2017 at 11:59 AM “she got work to do without confusing her head with this appointment!!”

Let some other judge make the decisions.

Look, the woman will be 69 as soon as the year turn. She has been working since she was 17. You don’t think that 52 years of work is enough work for anybody?

You work 52 years?

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The lawyers should be charged very heavy fines for delaying cases in the supreme court, Chief Justice Gibson is not doing his job when he allows these ugly, destructive delays to continue unchecked….for the last 9 years…he cannot have an attitude when it pisses off the CJJ because it is his job to put an end to those delays..

…. lawyers for both plaintiffs and defendants collude with each other to cause delays in cases indefintely…that should be a criminal offense.

In this one Gollop through his incompetence and mediocre attorney skills, deliberate ir not, should be paying costs…lots of it….these lawyers, QCs and their junior attorneys have been playing this nasty game for way too long, it is time they pay heavy fines, if I did not see what they did myself, I would never believe lawyers could be so low class and unethical.

18. @Kevin

Can you point to where the Bees have indicated to bring a republic?

19. The new governor general will now retire on full public service pension as a Appeal Court judge; she will also received a full salary in her new position, which, on retirement, she will be entitled to a 100 per cent pension.
    Wow. The lawyers have captured government in Barbados – a quiet coup. And the people appear to love it.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Besides cleaning up the deliberate and wicked delays in the supreme court perpetrated by the lawyers of the Barbados Bar Association….the one thing people who seek justice from the courts are concerned about is Badd-Agard not playing golf with and being owned by the likes of Peter Harris of CGI Insurance and Leroy Leper the thief….as happened to the deceased DPP and the only thing his name became synonymous with and famoud for was corruption and protecting white collar criminals, indian and white people as , ong as it benefitted him..

……..as long as being a Black woman, she cannot be bought and sold by criminals in the minority white, syrian and indian communities …as Leacock was and she really cleans up the courts as she is mouthing, stop the delays created by lawyers and decisions that take way too long because of a lack of judges, as she is mouthing, there should be no problem.

No one cares how many barriers she breaks, kudos for her, as long as she is not corrupt like Leacock.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/115169/babb-agard-dpp

ISSUE OF THE YEAR: King impresses at US open Read More Sorry Windies crumble to defeat Read More Congrats to the new GG Read More Future of electricity Read More Veteran male rock’n’roll acts had biggest 2017 world tours Read More
    Barbados will soon have its first female Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

Re
    Donna Babb-Agard QC, who had been acting in the position since the death of former DPP Charles Leacock in July, has been appointed.

The 50-year-old is accustomed to breaking barriers, having also been the first woman to serve as Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions.

“I am honoured by my appointment to the post of Director of Public Prosecutions. I think that it is just a testament to a lot of hard work and dedication and just my desire to contribute to the administration of criminal justice in my island,” Babb-Agard told the SATURDAY SUN in a telephone interview yesterday.

“When I started out as an attorney-at-law in 1991, I didn’t anticipate that I would be in the DPP’s Office. I did my first year in private practice with Leroy Inniss and it was only after that year that I started to have a serious interest in the other side, and therefore I joined the Department of Public Prosecutions in 1992.

“So from Crown Counsel, to Senior Crown Counsel to Principal Crown Counsel, to Deputy DPP, this has been the pinnacle of my career in my department and I am honoured to be conferred with that title. I am awed by the appointment,” she added.

Babb-Agard, who also served as a magistrate for a brief period, said she hoped her appointment would inspire other women and girls.

“We have a lot of young attorneys coming up and I’m glad that I can contribute to the criminal administration of justice in this way and I guess they have somebody to look up to.

“I think this is important because I am the first female, but it is also important
    in general because hard work pays off. So I am very glad to be serving my country in this way,” Babb-Agard said.

“I will continue to carry out my job with the integrity that I know that I have, and justice, irrespective of colour, or status or political persuasion. That is how I intend to lead the Department of Public Prosecutions.”

When asked what her first order of business would be on taking up the top post, Babb-Agard said she would work towards unclogging the backlog of cases.

For this to happen, she said she would be pushing for a larger complement of judges, as well as for additional staff in the DPP’s Office.

“My first priority is just to make sure that we address the delays in the criminal justice system as best as we can. The public is always crying out that things move too slowly, so it would be great to have additional judges so that we can get some of the criminal backlog dealt with,” Babb-Agard pointed out.

“We have a good team in our office. We have seven attorneys in our office and I would like to see our office grow in terms of the number of prosecutors that we have so that we can best dispose of the many criminal matters that we have before the court.”

Babb-Agard becomes the third high-profile appointment by Government in as many days.

On Wednesday Justice Sandra Mason was chosen to be our next Governor General and one day later Cleviston Haynes was appointed Governor of the Central Bank. (RB)”

Print

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Correction:

Babb-Agard.

22. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/115169/babb-agard-dpp

Breaking News

Mia Amor Mottley supports this third appointment – 3 appointments in 3 days !

This is after the wretched MAM pompaset a few weeks ago that she ain’t supporting any of the said appointments.

But why should anyone be surprised ??

Owen Arthur warned Barbadians previously that the BLP under MAM has lost ‘ it’s soul ‘. !!

George Payne is not impressed by MAM behavior!!!

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured….no one cares, the concerns are….can Babb-Agard be easily bribed by the wgihte collar criminals Harris and Leroy Leper and minorities on the island..

………..AND can she eliminate the delays in the supreme court, get judges to render more timely decisions, in months rather than years as she is saying…

…..AND stop the lawyers from colluding with each other to destroy clients cases….those are the core issues…of which the CCJ is also very concerned.

No one cares about your yardfowl nonsense.

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

the concerns are….can Babb-Agard be easily bribed by the WHITE COLLAR criminals Harris and Leroy Leper and minorities on the island..

That is why the island is in such leaking shit, literally, yall are too quick to lose focus of the most important issues and instead focus on stupid shit, instead of the real shit leaking out of the supreme court, the bar association and the shit leaking into the streets, bunch of dumb people.

25. Theophilius Gazerts 238 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 238

Why do you think that people who grapple about the who, when, why of a LEC issue for months can switch up to serious legal issues in one or two days.

Whilst I do not question that accuracy of Frac-turd conclusion about Mia’s support for the appointment, the articles itself does not support this statement .

26. Theophilius Gazerts 238 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 238

Good Morning to the inhabitants of BU.

Hoping that all your wishes for your family comes true during the coming year.
    May the Good Lord bless and keep you safe.

27. Theophilius Gazerts 238 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 238

It is somewhat unfortunate that these appointment occurred during the dying days of an administration.

However, the business of the nation must go on, and so we should pray that the “Good Lord give these folks the wisdom to do what is best for Barbados, the courage to stand up to bullies and to do what is right for Barbados, a sense and a desire to be honest, and imbue them with national pride and a strong feeling of patriotism.”

I pray that my fellow countrymen are able to shower these appointees with support, so that they are aware that Barbados wishes them success in their endeavors. In the bifurcated system that we have, it will be very difficult for them to weather and survive the pecks of two sets of yardfowls…..

Ladies and gentleman, strive to go “Upward and onward “. I wish you well.

Barbados first.

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The good news is, everything is coming to a rapid boil and can now be seen by everyone, as some of us has been saying for years, none of it can be hidden anymore.

29. Babb-Agard ist just another Barbadian lawyer not meeting international standards. In an international law firm, you have a Ph.D. from a top university (testifying stamina) and a LL.M. from Cambridge, Harvard, Oxford, Yale etc pp. NONE of the civil servants in Barbados is good enough to serve the common good. All the more ambitious Barbadians already emigrated.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The real concern is her elevating herself above the level of taking bribes from minorities, not continuing the old blighted corruption of not investigating, arresting and prosecuting white collar criminals, whites, syrians and indians in the business community who are known thieves, drug dealers, money launderers, gun traffickers etc and who believe themselves above the law in every way..

Babb-Agard does not need a Ph.D to do the job she is assigned and for which the taxpayers will now pay her handsomely…she does not need a PhD to practice ethics, it was all part of her legal training.

31. “The daughter of working class people moving through the ranks and ending up in the highest office of the land speaks to the type of society we are.” (NATIONNEWS)

This statement reveals what is wrong with Barbados. It is only important that you have a very poor social background and some connections, not excellency and integrity. – We will face another ten years full of sewage, decline and crime – as working class people are used to and do not care about. How can you expect these people to take care of the national economy and finances when they had never any cent to invest for the first 40 years of their lives? Barbadian society became a place where everybody is eager to suck the taxpayer, where everybody wants to be a servant instead of becoming an independent businessman.

Barrows´s heirs are minions.

32. WWC,

The new DPP is bribed by the government, since she will end up in one of these fat silver Mercedes like the rest of the plantocracy. The Mercedes will remind her every day not to go after the right people.

33. Tron
    You got me lost with PhD comment.🤔

34. Hey de wimmen tekking over, female GG and female DPP wuh gwine happen if there is a female PM?

All like now people like Bushie looking fuh holes, but he will blame it on the monument to Baal on de garrison 😊

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Tron….that shiny new mercedes will be paid for and maintained by TAXPAYERS….not by Fruendel and his gang of idiots, they do not even want to give up 10% of their salaries…..

……no matter how much the new DPP’s yardfowl instincts kick in, someone has to hold the position, paid for by taxpayers, as long as she is conscious enough to remember that, unlike Leacock.

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…where is the Bushman anyway…lol

not by Fruendel and his gang of idiots, they do not even want to give up 10% of their salaries…..to help the poor on the island OR the economy….

37. It’s Official

The Democratic Labour Party has set another record.

The DLP was the first to appoint the first female Governor General of Barbados 🇧🇧.

The DLP was the first to appoint the first female Director of Public Prosecution of Barbados 🇧🇧.

The DLP was the first to appoint the second female Governor General of Barbados 🇧🇧.

And yes , you have got it right – the DLP got the support of the Opposition Leader on all two of the RECENT appointments referred to above……even though MAM pompaset and publicly decided she ain’t supporting no appointments under this DLP administration.

MAM cannot be trusted – so says George Payne in letter to the Prime Minister of Barbados 🇧🇧 , yesterday .

38. It is also the first party who refused to fire a teefing a Speaker and to govern an island with shit literally ‘runnin’ on the street!

39. RE Tron December 30, 2017 at 9:03 AM #
    Babb-Agard ist just another Barbadian lawyer not meeting international standards. In an international law firm, you have a Ph.D. from a top university (testifying stamina) and a LL.M. from Cambridge, Harvard, Oxford, Yale etc pp. NONE of the civil servants in Barbados is good enough to serve the common good. All the more ambitious Barbadians already emigrated.

DO YOU MEAN THAT SHE SHOULD BE OF THE INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS OF THE CROOKED CORRUPT LAWYERS IN THE DOJ AND FBI IN THE USA?

ALL SHE HAS TO GO TO WORK………….AND WORK HARD AND USE TIME WISELY
    IN TIMES OF YOURE WE MANAGED VERY WELL WITHOUT FOLK WITH Ph.D.rom a top university AND A LL.M. from Cambridge, Harvard, Oxford, Yale et

YOU CAN HAVE ALL THESE AND WONT OR CANT DO THE WORK THAT IS REQUIRED OR BE JUST AND HONEST ETC

40. @ Sargeant who wrote ” but he will blame it on the monument to Baal on de garrison ”

The monument was designed by a woman so Bushie might be right. lol

We BajanCanadians living in Ontario already have a woman Premier and she was the first….

Looking forward to Canadian press reporting when MIA wins the next election.

41. The world’s greatest political party is accentuating the positives in Barbadian women.

Promoting them to top positions based on their HONESTY , INTEGRITY, HARDWORK and ETHICS .

While in the BLP

Their leader has only the following for WOMEN :

Beating up !

Biting up !

Bullying !

Banishing them from the party !

And yes , Bugging the phone of her former leader’s wife !

According to Owen Seymour Arthur..,..,” The BLP under Mia Mottley ‘s leadership had LOST it’s soul “

42. David

I told you already the Speaker of the House of Assembly…..stole no one’s money.

The Court merely ordered him to hurry up and settle the matter.

And it settled.

The sewage issue is unfortunate.

Liz Thompson need to tell Barbadians why it took 5 contracting firms under her stewardship as Minister of Health to get the South Coast Sewage project finished and it still was not done properly.

After expending $ 90 million dollars of tax payer funds.

Go and do your research, David

43. Why did the Court have to issue an order for his ass to pay the old man his money? Why did he have to beg people to contribute to the pot in order to comply with the order? What did he do with the money that it was not available in his client’s account?

He is a teef and engaged in immoral behaviour.

44. Miller

Quite right

It is always helpful to compare and contrast what is currently happening in the UK, Great Britain, England and the USA to Barbados.

The minimalists amongst us will suggest the well-worn adage about smallness but we always seem to find signposts.

Over the last few days in ‘Ireland’ it was discovered that the UVF (Ulster Volunteer Force), a loyalist paramilitary group supportive of Westminster, was during 1985 -1987 and before, maybe after as well, recruited by MI5 to assassinate the then Irish prime minister, Charles Hughey and many anti-loyalist activists.

Over the holidays we have also had time to watch the series ‘The Crown’

In both circumstances we see that the elites have been struggling for decades to hold on to power or even the perception of control.

On this side of the pond and for anybody who has spent any time in Washington or has been a student of American foreign policy it was long clear that those on that side are no less clueless.

In short, we see neither republicanism nor monarchy as presenting any ‘hope’ for the people of the earth. They have both been weighed on the scale and found wanting.

45. @Pacha

The Crown is an interesting series.

46. @ Sargeant
    All like now people like Bushie looking fuh holes,

Not at all….
    As GP says, Everything is going exactly to plan…

Isaiah 3 explains it all very well (for those with the eyes to see…)
    It is worth a read…
    Woe to them!
    For they have brought evil on themselves.
    Say to the righteous that it shall be well with them,
    for they shall eat the fruit of their deeds.
    Woe to the wicked! It shall be ill with him,
    for the reward of his hands shall be given him.
    As for My people, children are their oppressors,
    and women rule over them.
    O My people, those who lead you cause you to err,
    and destroy the way of your paths.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Note line 3 Sarge…
    Righteousness is a blessing.
    Why would Bushie be surprised….or looking fuh holes…?

Now note lines 7 & 8.
    YOU ….perhaps may need a shovel and a jackhammer quite soon…

47. “For this to happen, she said she would be pushing for a larger complement of judges, as well as for additional staff in the DPP’s Office.” (the new DPP)

Babbster, what about working harder instead of liming the whole day like the rest of the public service? The public service in Bim is already bloated, we do not need additional clueless locals draining the foreign reserves and sucking the taxpayer.

Nothing has changed since the bad days on the plantation.

48. And to the LW subject heading, the GG position was opened for a long time now, filling a position after 6 months is not haste and that goes for the DPP position too. In fact, these should have been filled much sooner.

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured…the thiefer of the house is a conman and a thief…he steals from his clients, just like all the garden variety thieves coming out of the bar association….they steal from and sell out their Black clients, they steal client’s money, land and properties and have for decades, especially from the elderly…ask Fruendel..

The sewage bomb yall allowed to develop over the last 5 years is not unfortunate. ..it is negligence by government and lack of maintenance. ..

Reality is cold, 2018 is around the corner, stop lying.

50. @Bush Tea December 30, 2017 at 11:39 AM #
    it is said that a clock is right at least twice a day…so it is with this post

for once you have APPLIED SOME PERTINENT thoughts from Isaiah TO THE CONTEMPORARY SITUATION

Woe to them!
    For they have brought evil on themselves.
    Say to the righteous that it shall be well with them,
    for they shall eat the fruit of their deeds.
    Woe to the wicked! It shall be ill with him,
    for the reward of his hands shall be given him.
    As for My people, children are their oppressors,
    and women rule over them.
    O My people, those who lead you cause you to err,
    and destroy the way of your paths.

CERTAINLY children are OUR oppressors, and women rule over US (both females and shemales)
    those who lead US cause US to err,
    and destroy the way of OUR paths.

Leave a Reply to Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon Phd.Cancel reply