Submitted by NineofNine

It matters not what what the atheist thinks THE CARNAL MAN CANNOT comprehend THE THINGS OF SPIRIT.

The FOLLOWERS OF CHRIST / true Christians HOLD THE KEYS to the philosophers stone, the Holy Grail, the Fountain of youth and by that, it is meant to convey that once the Christian purports to follow divine instructions delivered by the man Jesus himself, then at the opportune time we will reap all the glory that is found in being an individualize SPARK of Divine Source found in each one of us.

Though many expect to see the glorious return in the heavens of the Deity known as Jesus, (as this too is possible), may you at this time peer at a different perspective relating to “Jesus Return” or rather the return of the Christ/THE RAPTURE.

Adam the first man (CREATED from the dust of the earth) fell from grace, and by covenant, the Messiah was promised, was fulfilled and was/is referred to as the New Man (by BIRTH) of Jesus (the Christ) who in turn promise to send the Holy Spirit to teach and guide into all things.

Who or What is “the Christ”?

Jesus himself (being the first BORN of the new man, observing his attributes and characteristics) admonished his followers to “let this mind be in you”, … “greater things ye shall do…” His life was filled with works/acts of the supernatural, of miracles but obvious natural to him. THEREFORE it is befitting to conclude that it is the consciousness that permeated his ability to function as he did, doing it all in LOVE, admonishing us to ..”love thy neighbour as thyself, .. to love even the enemy. To LOVE is greater than charity, it is the fruit of full consciousness, of CHRIST CONSCIOUSNESS ANY OTHER IS THE ANTICHRIST AT WORK.

CHRIST CONSCIOUSNESS is yours to have, and you also have free will to choose, it is also linked to the rapture (a word not found in the Bible) but the phrase ..”caught up” …denotes such… “in the twinkling of the eye” …full consciousness/Christ consciousness/the return to the original blueprint of man/SPIRIT MAN will be restored to those who have prepared themselves and followed the directives given by JESUS, only then we will have the power over death and inherit the eternal life (JOHN 3:16) in the flesh as(SPIRIT MAN), here on earth.. for Jesus himself prayed that .. “…heaven be on earth..”, THAT NEW JERUSALEM for it is the level of consciousness that determines your heaven or hell experience ETERNALLY.

The choice is yours.

In remembrance of Jesus and the fulfilment of FULL CONSCIOUSNESS / CHRIST CONSCIOUSNESS in all of us. Have a blessed and peaceful CHRISTMAS DAY everyone

172 responses to “Stepping Stones for the Understanding of the CHRIST and the Return of CHRIST”

1. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Bush Tea at 11: 17 AM

We had the verbal exchanges on the slave code already. And yes you are right . My position on the Trinity is in the same vein. Taken it in its context, it made good sense then. Take it in the context of modern biblical scholarship one would confine it to a religious museum.

@ dp D at11:20 AM

I like it when you are kerfuffled. That is the beginning of wisdom. Yes the disciples of Jesus , the Son of Man, also were kerfuffeled by his sayings that were not on all fours with those of the High Priests, scribes, and Pharisees.
    At what stage in Christian history was Jesus the rabbi converted to Jesus the Christ?

And what did Jesus mean when he asked God the Father to make his disciples one as he and the Father were one ?

Knowlege is always a work in progress. Always keep an open mind; but guard what you let into it.

2. THE CONCEPT OF THE TRINITY IS ENTRENCHED IN CHURCH DOCTRINE AND CHURCH HISTORY AND IS EMBRACED BY ALL DENOMINATIONS
    Got that right GP.

It is probably the single GREATEST deception that has EVER been perpetrated on mankind.
    It has been Satan’s master card and was swallowed hook, line and sinker by the ‘religious’ of this world.

Why do you think Jesus went to great pains to explain that MANY who call themselves ‘Christians’ are misguided and will be REJECTED by him in the final judgment?
    Many shall come IN MY NAME, agreeing that I am the Christ — AND SHALL DECEIVE MANY…

Matthew 7, from verse 15 must REALLY piss some persons off… (By their FRUIT…)

The ‘Trinity’ is nowhere to be found in the Bible (and even if it was, brass bowls would not understand it anyway). it was conceived by the RC Church….
    It basically says the God is a closed shop, three-person entity.

Jesus preached the complete opposite.
    That God is a FAMILY, with a father, and that HE was a son…. and more importantly, that he was the FIRST BORN OF MANY OTHER SONS ..to be born out of the project called ‘Life on Earth’.
    He said it OVER and OVER and OVER…..and over..

The Bible also said that if you want to understand God, take a look around at nature, and at how man was setup (in God’s own image).

Is man established as a ‘trinity’? …..or is man set up as a family?
    Trinity shiite!!

If there is ANYTHING that is ANTI-CHRIST, it is the ‘Trinity’….. the ‘closed-shop God’ fallacy…
    and as GP says, ALL denominations share this doctrine….
    But wait…. the Bible says so too… so we know where the multitudes of ‘rejected’ will come from…

3. Hants December 26, 2017 at 12:01 PM #
    @ David,

I hope you don’t ban any of the above bloggers.

The vitriolic banter will increase the “interest” in BU.

MAN HANTS I GET BAN ALREADY AND GUESS WHAT

MY WIFE DIDNT LEFF ME
    MY LIKKLE ONLINE PICK DIDNT GO THEN
    I DIDNT STOP GETTING A LIKKLE FOOD DAILY
    NOR DID I GET BANNED FROM SITTING IN THE BACK SEAT AT THE CHURCH I ATTEND PUN A SUNDEE MAWNING

BUT TELL ME YOU TINK YOU COULD WRITE THE TYPE OF JUNK AT THE TOP OF THIS POST FOR BERYL SHARPE, OR CHILLY WILLY, OR BILLY BONES IN ENGLISH CLASS AT HC?

SEE IF I MEKING SENSE HEY
    HERE WE HAVE A PIECE OF DRIVEL ENTITLED
    “STEPPING STONES FOR THE UNDERSTANDING OF THE CHRIST AND THE RETURN OF CHRIST”
    The author does not indicate what he means by “stepping stones” , nor does he define “ The Christ” nor does he give any information about the “return of Christ”.

But he starts by improperly quoting a text from I Corinthians.

He then moves on to posit that “The FOLLOWERS OF CHRIST / true Christians HOLD THE KEYS to the philosophers stone, the Holy Grail, the Fountain of youth.” But does not explain what this rubbish means.

Does anyone know anyone who holds these “keys.”

Then he incoherently moves on to instructions that will at some “opportune time” cause a harvest of glory and some rubbish about an individualize SPARK of Divine Source found in each one of us, thereby contradicting himself.

NONE OF US WHO WENT TO SCHOOL IN MY TIME COULD GET AWAY WITH SUCH A PIECE OF WRITING IN AN ENGLISH CLASS.FOR THERE IS NEITHER STRUCTURE< SEQUENCE OR SUBSTANCE, and the subject of the discussion is not addressed at all. Yet I am told there is coherence..

He then goes on to confuse the “glorious appearing” with the “blessed hope” or rapture, without enlightening us as to what either of these two events are about.

He then coherently to some—-but certainly not to anyone who went to school- to seek to address how “Adam the first man (CREATED from the dust of the earth) fell from grace” , and how “ the Messiah was promised” and how he sent the Holy Spirit to teach and guide into all things.
    WHAT DOES THIS HAVE TO DO WITH ESCHATOLOGY….i.e the doctrine of the Second Coming of Christ.

He then asks “Who or What is “the Christ”?” But he does not enlighten us as to what the word means , or its origin as this is essential to a proper understanding of this title.

He then seeks to examine the concept of Christ- the first BORN, and incorrectly states that Christ admonished his followers to “let this mind be in you”, before concluding with a rant on CHRIST CONSCIOUSNESS that is poorly defined.

I am supposed to accept that and not challenge it………because the BU sport of “challenging “ is reserved for whom?
    Hilarious.

This rubbish is a contribution, and my thoughts an attack. THE MAN LIKE HE SKIPPING FROM HOT STONE TO HOT STONE

4. I SAID VERY CLEARLY ‘THE CONCEPT OF THE TRINITY IS ENTRENCHED IN CHURCH DOCTRINE AND CHURCH HISTORY AND IS EMBRACED BY ALL DENOMINATIONS….EXCEPT THOSE CULTS WHO ARE FOLLOWERS OF ARIUS

I DONE WITH THAT

RE BERNARD At what stage in Christian history was Jesus the rabbi converted to Jesus the Christ?
    JESUS WAS NOT CONVERTED TO BE THE CHRIST. CHRIST IS ONE OF HIS SEVERAL TITLES

What does the word “Messiah” mean?
    The word Messiah comes from a Hebrew word ‘mashiach’ which means ‘anointed one’ or ‘chosen one’.
    The word “Messiah” (or in Greek, “Christ”), is taken from Psalm 2:2 and Daniel 9:25-26.
    Through the Old Testament period the term took its meaning from the Jewish practice of anointing their priests and kings with oil as a sign that God had chosen them for special tasks.
    As time passed, the expression “the Messiah” took on the meaning among the Hebrew people of the “Chosen One”- a coming Deliverer, chosen by God to redeem Israel.
    The term “Messiah” then became a proper name for the Savior, that God had promised would come, and was also applied in a special sense to the future Ruler who would be sent from God to sit on the throne of David forever.

The Old Testament rarely uses the word “messiah” in a passage that the New Testament interprets as a reference to Jesus as the coming Messiah.

However, the word “anointed” is used in Isaiah 61:1, where the prophet writes, “the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor.”

Much later in history, Jesus read this text in the synagogue and announced—to the astonishment of all those present—that this prophecy was being fulfilled before their eyes, as the predictions of Isaiah 61:1 were being enacted through his ministry. i.e JESUS IS THE MESSIAH OR CHRIST

Otherwise, the “anointed one” of the Old Testament usually refers to an ordinary prophet, priest, or king (especially King David); someone used by God for an extraordinary purpose in history; or the whole of Israel. 

Most Old Testament passages thought to be predictions of Jesus use words like “servant,” “shepherd,” “savior,” “king,” “prophet,” “branch,” or “son.”

Within Judaism, the Messiah is a king who will/would be sent by God to save the Jewish people.
    Many Jews still eagerly await the arrival of the Messiah, because they do not believe what the Bible says about Christ’s first coming.
    However, Christians believe that the Messiah has already come in the person of Jesus Christ.

The Messiah’s coming was not a secret left in a corner, as much is written in the Bible about Him, but since we must be very selective today, we can only mention some of the main prophecies and predictions which relate to His coming, and try to show how they were fulfilled in precise detail in New Testament times.

The promises about the Messiah were not a bunch of scattered predictions randomly placed throughout the Old Testament.
    Rather they were a repeated revelation of God to His people that formed a unified continuous and progressive plan of God, where each promise is interrelated and connected into a grand series of revelation.

5. @ Bernard
    If you want an answer DIRECTLY from the master himself (instead of a little stinking Bushman with a whacker) you only need to reference Matthew 7 verse 24 to 27.

If your house (religion) is built on a solid rock of truth and rigidity, then you have a chance to survive the storms and the whacking that may come your way….’
    However, if you build your religion on a foundation shiite sand …such as the ‘Trinity’, then you cannot even survive a little shitty whacker – far less the D9 caterpillar that is on the way….

Just like we CANNOT build a confident, successful society in Barbados on a foundation of brass bowlery – where Black Bajans have NO IDEA of their strengths, value, history of greatness, or potential for even more impressive greatness…

EVERYTHING depends on the foundation boss…

6. The WORD ‘Trinity’ is nowhere to be found in the Bible ……….NOR IS THE WORD RAPTURE!
    BUT JUST AS THERE ARE SEVERAL SCRIPTURES THAT PROCLAIM THE RAPTURE OR PAROUSIA, SO TOO ARE THERE MANY THAT DECLARE THE CONCEPT OF THE TRINITY.

7. DONT TAKE MY WORD FOR IT………..SEARCH THE SCRIPTURES FOR YOURSELF AS JESUS SUGGESTED TO THE JEWISH LEADERSHIP IN JOHN 5

8. What a lame response from a ‘scholar’.

Brass bowlery in not in the Bible either…. but Bushie is at pains to EXPLAIN the concept and to invite any and all challenges to his postulation of the concept.

Great teacher….
    Tell us about these ‘trinity’ and ‘rapture’ proclamations in the bible…

9. @Hants

Thanks for your feedback, as you know we have been at the BU dashboard for 10 years and can be trusted to make the best decision to protect the integrity of the blog. Do you know BU’s biggest critics dem are logged on more than those who support the blog? Go figure!

By the way, GP was placed on moderation not banned, there is a difference. The only blogger in banned status is Jack Bowman.

10. BU’s biggest critics dem are logged on more than those who support the blog

I AM LOGGED ON TO VALUEMD, SCHOOL CMS, CARRIBEAN CRICKET, NATION NEWS, BARBADOS TODAY, ESPN CRICINFO……….MEANS NOTHING REALLY ah lie? just convenience for when you look away from the tv or look up from good u tubes of English Cathedral choirs or from what ever one is working on to be able to contribute extemporaneously next Sunday mawning at brealing of bread as might become necessary

being logged on is just convenience for when you want to get the next laff….. it is written LAUGHTER IS THE BEST MEDICINE ah lie?

11. re Great teacher….
    Tell us about these ‘trinity’ and ‘rapture’ proclamations in the bible…
    Which of these issues about the Rapture you want first?

THE SECOND COMING OF JESUS CHRIST

A Paper

Presented In Partial Fulfillment of the Requirements for The Course on ESCHATOLOGY

DECEMBER 2000

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION The Importance of The Second Coming 2
    CHAPTER ONE The WHAT, WHO, WHERE, and HOW of THE RAPTURE 6

CHAPTER TWO WHY MUST THE RAPTURE AND SECOND COMING OCCUR ? 10
    CHAPTER THREE WHEN WILL THE RAPTURE AND SECOND COMING OCCUR ? 27
    CHAPTER FOUR THE ONSET OF THE SECOND COMING AND
    CONTEMPORARY TIMES 49
    CHAPTER FIVE THE IMPLICATIONS OF THE RAPTURE & THE 59
    SECOND COMING
    ENDNOTES

BIBLIOGRAPHY

12. Cut the small talk GP… 🙂

let us get back to the Trinity talk…
    …or have you been trying to awaken Zoe from the dead?

Where does the bible even suggest such a thing….?

13. Cuh dear GP..
    You and Bushie have been cussing each other now for donkeys years…

(LOL ..Remember when you kept calling Bushie a “Seed-picker” … until the Dribbler pointed out to you that a seed picker was a good and honourable thing…. LOL … ha ha ha
    You never forgave him for that did you…?)

Do you REALLY expect to come with some shiite paper that YOU presented to get your bogus theology degree from some US degree mill (like Trump University) as reference to support the Trinity?

Come with Bible references – or references from NATURE boss….
    …or concede with grace.

14. ‘Ye shall know them by their fruit‘

15. jack ass do you know what ESCHATOLOGY MEANS?

HOW CAN SPERMOLOGOS BE A Good and honourable thing…?

16. LET ME JOIN THE CHORUS ‘Ye shall know them by their fruit‘

17. @ GP
    The Athenian philosophers who encountered Paul accused him of being a ” babbler” (literally, a seed picker). The word refers to one who picks up scraps of thought from various sources. (https://www.calvaryabq.org/teachings_view.asp?ServiceID=439)

The ability to pick up knowledge from bits and pieces of scraps comes in handy when trying to piece together the complexities of this life…

You should try it some time.

18. ….now back to the Trinity.
    Just tell us what the status was during the three days when Jesus was dead ….and Bushie will leave you alone as directed by Iggy B.

19. during the three days when Jesus was dead …he was MOST LIKELY ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND SEED PICKING WITH YOU AND SINGING ‘Ye shall know them by their fruit‘

WILL YOU NOT ALSO CALL MY ANSWER A SHITE PAPER TOO?
    YOU MEKING SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP ……SO CAN I

BY THE WAY YOU EVER HEAR YOUR HUMBLE SERVANT WINSTON J MASSIAH ON CBC ON SUNDAYS IN THE EARLY 70’S
    DO YOU RECALL WHAT HIS MANTRA WAS THEN?
    WELL ABIDE BY IT

20. Is that your best effort at conceding gracefully…?

Anyway…
    It is much better than Zoe’s preferred approach of posting voluminous paragraphs of totally incoherent shiite – designed obviously to turn everyone off.. and to evade the topic.

But thanks GP.

So now that we have agreed that the Trinity doctrine is shiite – and VERY LIKELY the very “anti-Christ” that the Bible predicted would lead the WHOLE WORLD away from the true GOOD NEWS (Gospel) that Christ brought and preached in this BB world (That whosoever believe what he ACTUALLY SAYS, will not perish, but will have a new spiritual life), perhaps you are now open to exploring what this GOSPEL is REALLY about….. i.e.. what he SAID…

Unlike Massiah, Bushie whacks where the Bible speaks, and whacks, even where the Bible is silent….Your Humble Servant WM did not have any stinking whacker….

21. By the way GP
    When Bushie called your paper a ‘shiite paper’
    …. the bushman wasn’t making any sport….

Wahhhhh
    Murduh!!!

22. I HAVE NOT AGREED ON ANYTHING AT ALL EXCEPT THAT YOU ARE INDEED A SEED PICKER
    IT AMAZES ME THAT YOU CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHEN PAUL WAS THUS CALLED THAT IT WAS NOT A COMPLIMENT

23. Would love to contribute
    But this is way above my head
    Poor me thought ‘spermologos’ had something to do with lost sperm
    Murdah
    Mi belly
    Ya killing ma

24. @ GP
    YOU CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHEN PAUL WAS THUS CALLED THAT IT WAS NOT A COMPLIMENT
    Boss, how does it matter what was INTENDED?
    You know how many people call Bushie all kinda shiite…?

The FACT of the matter is that Paul was a brilliant intellectual….
    no wonder he looked like a ‘babbler’ to a bunch of jackass brass bowls…

Wuh, even Peter complained that Paul was ‘too bright’ for the average brass bowl and was, as a result, likely to lead many to their own demise….

…Note…have not said a single word about Bushie….

25. Pope Francis Thinks the Nativity Story is About ‘Immigrants’
    By Warner Todd Huston December 26, 2017

Along with a growing number of his many other religious misinterpretations, it appears that Pope Francis now thinks that the nativity story is less about the birth of Christ our Lord and Savior than it is about today’s illegal immigrants currently swamping boarders across the globe.

One would think that the leader of the largest Christian sect in the world would have a solid grasp on the story of the birth of Christ, but it seems his grasp is a bit to the left — that is the modern, political left.

Instead of a story of two citizens traveling to a large town to register for a census, then having a baby in a strange place, Francis thinks the story of the birth of Christ is about today’s immigrants who he claims are “forced” to leave their homes for a better life elsewhere.

There is much we don’t know about the birth of Christ, of course. We don’t know what year it was, for instance. Nor are we 100 percent sure what month it was when Christ was born. But one thing the Gospels of Matthew and Luke are clear about (especially Luke) is that Christ’s parents, Joseph and Mary, had travelled from their home in the city of Nazareth to the city of Bethlehem. They went to the latter to register for a great census decreed by the Roman Emperor. The couple was essentially registering so the empire could tax them.

Joseph and Mary arrived in Bethlehem apparently too late to secure a room at any inns. So, they rented space in a manger. It was there that Jesus was born to all the fanfare with which we are familiar, including wise men, shinning stars, and all sorts of wonderment.

After all the hoopla subsided down and the couple had completed their registration, they went right back to Nazareth from whence they came. There they began raising their son whom they named Jesus.

That was a simplified version of the tale, of course, but did you notice was what was missing in that scenario? Yeah, “immigrants.”

But that isn’t what Pope Francis sees. He sees immigrants.

AMAZING! WHAT A TWIT!

26. RE Boss, how does it matter what was INTENDED?
    REALLY? AMAZING EXPOSITION.

NO WONDER THERE IS SO MUCH SHITE GOING ON IN BARBADOS…BOTH EMITTING FROM SEWERS AND ELSEWHERE

IT DOES NOT MATTER WHAT WAS/IS INTENDED.

The FACT of the matter is that Paul was a brilliant intellectual….
    no wonder he looked like a ‘babbler’ to a bunch of jackass brass bowls…

I NOW UNDERSTAND WHY THE bunch of jackass brass bowls… CHALLENGE GP WHEN HE IS RIGHTLY DIVIDING THE WORD OF TRUTH.

FUNNY THING THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN ELSEWHERE…ONLY ON BU…A PLACE WHERE PEOPLE CAN NOT FOLLOW ANY TRAIN OF THOUGHT FOR TOO LONG

HOWERVER that GP WAS/IS a brilliant intellectual….WAS KNOWN FROM BEFORE HE WAS AGED SIX! The FACT of the matter is that PREDICTIONS MADE THEM CAME TO PASS!

Wuh, even Peter complained that Paul was ‘too bright’ for the average brass bowl and was, as a result, likely to lead many to their own demise….

WHERE EXACTLY DID PETER SAY that Paul was ‘too bright’ for the average brass bowl and was, as a result, likely to lead many to their own demise….
    I HAVE NEVER HEARD SUCH UNCOUTH TREATMENT OF THE WORD OF GOD

27. @David Mr Blogmaster, ideally wordpress or your team @ BU household will soon be able to affix an ‘Alternative Fact’ or AltF or Alt.RH.F asterix to post offered simply to be disingenuous. 🙁

Nothing wrong with reposting interesting articles/links but when we post left or right wing skewed diatribes that lack a modicum of balance we do need to be Alt.F’ed!

Sooo…when Pope Francis gave his message he surely cast a quite different perspective than the skewed BSer who wrote “Pope Francis now thinks that the nativity story is less about the birth of Christ our Lord and Savior than it is about today’s illegal immigrants currently swamping boarders across the globe.”

Another’s revelation of the religious leader’s intent explained it as: “Recalling that Mary gave birth to Jesus in a manger because “there was no place for them in the inn,” Francis highlighted the biblical story in a present day in which the White House has restricted travel for people from predominantly Muslim countries, the Myanmar military has carried out ethnic cleansing against a stateless Rohingya minority, and wars, human trafficking and the indifference of wealthy nations have resulted in millions of families languishing in squalid refugee camps.”

He also suggested: “Using the example of the holy family to emphasize the “dangers that attend those who have to leave their home behind,” Francis noted that in Bethlehem, Joseph and Mary found a city “that had no room or place for the stranger from afar,” and which “seemed to want to build itself up by turning its back on others.” Instead, the pope said, Jesus “comes to give all of us our document of citizenship.”

We are FREE to interpret all words as we desire but to so willfully misrepresent a narrative to represent yourself as more knowledgeable is disheartening….that we see it here also on BU so OFTEN by the SAME scholarly folks is shocking.

A frightening microcosm of our larger society.

@ Mr BushTea I don’t recall that ‘seed-picker’ episode where I interjected but based on today’s show it seems that picking sense from the seeds of knowledge spread around is indeed honorable and meritorious …. and sorely needed on these pages.

28. LOL
    Sometime you really amaze Bushie GP…

What does it matter how much you ‘INTEND’ to insult Bushie –
    It is of no import…
    Bushie is the Lord’s anointed…
    It CANNOT be done….
    How hard is THAT to grasp…

Has anyone ever told you that self-praise is no praise…
    it only makes you a legend in your own mind…

As to Peter’s admonition…
    “Therefore, beloved, since you are waiting for these things, be diligent that you may be found by Him in peace, spotless and blameless.

Keep in mind that the patience of our Lord means salvation, even as our beloved brother Paul has also written to you according to the wisdom given to him.

As in all his letters, he writes about these things, in which some things are hard to understand, which the unlearned and unstable distort, as they also do the other Scriptures, to their own destruction.

You therefore, beloved, since you know these things beforehand, beware lest you also fall from your own firm footing, being led away by the deception of the wicked.

But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”

You are welcome….

BTW ‘the deception of the wicked’ …. for example..the shiite Trinity…
    LOL ha ha ha
    Murduh

Bushie going and do a bit of whacking….
    Later!!!

29. he writes about these things, in which some things are hard to understand, which the unlearned and unstable distort, as they also do the other Scriptures, to their own destruction.

THAT IS A BETTER AND MORE SUITABLE PRESENTATION OF THE VERSES FROM 2 PETER 3

note THE PHRASE ” WHICH THE UNLEARNED AND UNSTABLE DISTORT AS THEY ALSO DO THE OTHER SCRIPTURES”

WHY DOES THIS HAPPEN? BECAUSE FOLK DO NOT STUDY TO SHOW THEMSELVES APPROVED
    THEY DO NOT COMPARE SCRIPTURE WITH SCRIPTURE JUST LIKE THE POPE

MARY AND JOSEPH DID NOT EMIGRATE… NOR WERE THEY REFUGEES IN BETHLEHEM
    THEY SIMPLY WENT TO THE NEAREST CITY WHERE THEY COULD BE REGISTERED AS REQUIRED
    WHAT IS MORE SIGNIFICANT IS THAT THEIR OBEDIENCE TO THE GOVERNOR’S EDICT MEANT THAT THIS ENSURED THAT JESUS WAS INDEED BORN IN BETHLEHEM AS PREDICTED BY THE IMPORTANT PROPHESY OF MICAH 5
    THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO PARALLEL WHAT SO EVER

30. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ GP at 4:59 PM

Taking a Midrashian position in which sacred writings may be viewed as a parable. That is an earthly story with a heavenly meaning / moral, is the Pope that off base with his interpretation?

31. Bernard
    I PERSONALLY think THAT the Pope is politicizing the passage……..he is not rightly dividing the Word of truth in my opinion. But my Biblical scholarship or that of Zoe is not welcomed or valued on BU.

NOR IS MY MEDICAL KNOWLEDGE VALUED, AS THAT CAN BE READILY FOUND ON THE INTERNET.

32. @Bernard, history has shown us that politicians are extremely concerned about this opiate of the masses called religion for just that reason because they abhor when popular biblical stories are interpreted/re-imagined in anyway that discredits their political narrative.

Of course the opposite is also true: embrace the religious leaders and get them to proselytize their message to confirm your political mantra as glorious and success is surely possible.

re the Pope message: Mary and Joseph were newcomers and strangers to the city and there was literally no room for them.

The pontiff’s analogy according to press reports asked us to reflect on the fact that today that expectant mother and her spouse would be like Mexicans, Rohingya muslims or others that are confronted by a place “that had no room or place for … stranger[s] from afar”.

That’s rather easy to accept. And we all get that I suspect.

And thus politically I would also completely abhor that message….I too would want my minions to bash this ‘twit’ of a Holy man in articles were I in the WH or a political leader being brushed with that chatter.

Incidentally when has this Pope (over his career in LatAm), Pope John Paul (in particular before him), the various cardinals in NY, our own esteemed Dean Crichlowe, Bishop Tutu and on and on with religious leader over the years EVER NOT been political in their major utterances.

33. @Dee Word

@Bernard, history has shown us that politicians are extremely concerned about this opiate of the masses called religion for just that reason because they abhor when popular biblical stories are interpreted/re-imagined in anyway that discredits their political narrative.

Your intro opens the tired debate about the motive behind Constantine’s conversion to Christianity and whether it was abut using religion to control the army.

34. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 7 :39 PM

Constantine seized the opportunity to usher in the Pax Romana in a very large empire and it was successful for a while. Was that the peace that surpassed all human understanding????

Are not political ideologies cast in the same mold? Free Market, Marxism,Socialism, populism cooperativism,Globalization etc all share the same methodologies. They are all opiates when viewed scientifically.

@ Dee Word

Using their claims to be speaking on behalf of God the Prophets used their positions to influence politics. ” Thou art the man” a very famous accusation to David the anointed king of Judaea.

35. @Bernard

To be clear to the ignoramus amongst us, you are saying there is no justification to make the distinction between whether Constantine coopted religion to manipulate the minds of the army or if he genuinely believed in the word?

36. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 8 :22 PM.

Actually he preferred his subjects ( not really the army ) to be Christians because Christians were peaceful and other worldly citizens. I cannot comment on whether Constantine himself subscribed to the principles of Christianity. I do not know. My consideration is the political/social effects of christianisation of the Roman Empire.

37. yeap all politically driven , The Birth of Christ! the crucifixion! the Resurrection! to the point where the human mind is forced to accept by way of religious brainwashing the illogical as logical

38. DpD@7.16p
    Is it not ironic that Dean Harold is now happily encamped in the DLP tent of ungovernable rascals,now renamed and behaving like true wild boys.In the 70’s he was public enemy no 1 for the Dems with his Mene,Mene publicly broadcast sermon on Rediffusion.Gordon Matthews a supposed man of the cloth himself but reputed to be a political hack of the DLP called for the revocation of Rediffusion’s broadcast licence.I think he was in the Senate too.More politics from the men of the cloth.Then in 1987 Dean Crichlow again publicly welcomed the NDP via a broadcast from his pulpit at the Cathedral.That was the straw that broke the camel’s back.Rediffusion now under local ownership by the Nation Group put forward a story that they will in future be spreading the broadcast service throughout Barbados instead of the main churches in the city area.Harold’s goose was cooked by Harold.Fast forward to Stuart’s DLP administration and former Dean Crichlow is now deputy president of the Senate and silenced in the process.No man of the cloth has spoken of the ills and woes of this society since Crichlow was effectively muzzled by the press of Barbados.The Anglican Church even boasts of having a priest at the Court of St James representing the DLP government as its resident High Commissioner to the U.K.Barbados might be viewed as having been betrayed by the Anglican Church in spite of a son of the soil serving as Primate and Metropolitan of the Anglican Church in the Province of the West Indies.

39. note THE PHRASE ” WHICH THE UNLEARNED AND UNSTABLE DISTORT AS THEY ALSO DO THE OTHER SCRIPTURES”
    WHY DOES THIS HAPPEN? BECAUSE FOLK DO NOT STUDY TO SHOW THEMSELVES APPROVED
    THEY DO NOT COMPARE SCRIPTURE WITH SCRIPTURE JUST LIKE THE POPE
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You are something else GP…

Paul himself was TOTALLY clueless about these SAME VERY deep truths – even while being a learned scholar – likely much like Pacha, Jeff and yourself….
    Suddenly, he undergoes a metamorphosis…… and becomes such a expert that even Peter (the very ROCK) is impressed…

It has NOTHING to do with study Boss…. it is ALL about the SPIRIT of God (which is just the Bible’s words for the SENSE needed to ‘see’ Godly things.) that whacked him on the road to Damascus….
    Even Jesus himself was ordinary …until that momentous anointment signified by the dove…. and the disciples were downright pathetic ….prior to pentecost….

You can study as hard as you wish to… BUT without the eyes (sense of sight) you won’t see squat; ….without ears, you won’t hear a squeak;…. and without the MECHANISM to grasp SPIRITUAL matters, you won’t know squat about God.

You MUST know all this… and yet you continue with this nonsense about ‘study to show themselves approved’….
    Boss, that is a HC mantra, popular among the geeks and other academic freaks that infested the place.
    Do you REALLY think that BBE would design a system that so benefits such persons over simple stinking bushmen like Bushie ….and even hopeless morons like ac?

No way Jose….!

40. The importance of the doctrine of the second coming is demonstrated by its prominence in Scriptures. 1 out of every 30 verses in the Bible mentions this doctrine. In the New Testament this truth is mentioned 300 times, or once in every 25 verses. For every 1 mention of the first coming there are 8 mentions of the second coming. 318 mentions of this subject are made in 216 chapters Whole chapters are devoted to it e.g Matthew 24 & 25, Mark 13, Like 21, 2 Peter 3 and some books are practically given over to it; like 1 & 2 Thessalonians and Revelation.

Jesus spoke about it in John 14:1-3, the Apostles taught it, Moses and the prophets and the Psalmist all preached it. The angels who bore such faithful testimony to his first advent, informed us at his departure that he would come again [Acts 1:1]. Such faithful testimony by Jesus, the angels and the apostles force us to conclude and believe that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMPORTANT.

If the number of times mentioned makes a subject important, then surely the second coming of Christ is one of the most important matters in the mind of God. The Word has provided us with so much information concerning the second advent of Christ that men are left with out excuses on this vital subject, so as to prepare for its arrival. Since the numerous prophecies concerning the first coming were so accurately fulfilled, it is quite reasonable to anticipate an equally accurate fulfillment of the more numerous mentions of the second coming. Our only conclusion then is that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMPORTANT.!!

The second coming of Christ is a word of comfort, a word of encouragement, a word of blessing and a word of warning; THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMPORTANT.

The second coming of Christ begins with the rapture of the church [the blessed hope of Titus 2:13 ,when the Lord comes IN THE AIR FOR THE SAINTS, and climbs to another height seven years later at the glorious appearing ,when He returns to earth WITH the saints [Jude14, Rev 19 :11-16] to usher in the millennial kingdom so often spoken of by the Old Testament writers.

It is noteworthy that the second coming of Christ will occur in two distinct phases, both of which are clearly identified in several scriptural passages. An attempt to distinguish these two phases is presented later in this article.

It should be obvious from reading the Old Testament prophecies that the references to the second advent of Christ in the Old Testament ALL refer to the second phase of the second coming of Christ. The Rapture of The Church [the first phase of the second coming which is an exclusive experience of the true Church] is fundamentally a New Testament doctrine. Truths concerning the rapture were first alluded to by Jesus during the Olivet discourse [Matthew 23-25] and in John 14 in the special teachings he held for the disciples only, which John records. These embryonic mentions of this doctrine were later expanded to by Paul in 1Cor 15: 51 ff, and in 1 Thes 4:16-18, and by Peter in 2Peter 3.They are also other brief mentions to this event in the other epistles.

It is very important to note that the second coming of Christ occurs over a period of time and is not just a single event. In fact, this period of time includes about ten major events which are outlined below in chronological order.

The Rapture of the Church, (Ist. Phase) followed by the judgement Seat of Christ (bema) and the marriage of the lamb.
    2.The Revelation of Antichrist.
    The Rigors of The Great Tribulation.
    The Resounding Victory of Christ at the Battle of Armageddon.
    The Return of Christ in Glory (2nd. phase)
    6.The Renegade Satan is bound.
    7.The Rule of Christ in the Millennial Kingdom.
    The Rebellion of Satan for the last time.
    The Rejection of unbelievers at the last judgement.
    10.’I’he Retirement of the saints to the new heaven and the new earth.

Many Bible scholars believe that “The Judgement Seat of Christ”, (The Bema) Rom. 14:10,2 Cor. 5:10) will occur soon after the rapture. The Greek word Bema which is translated Judgement Seat, referred to the place where the olympic judges awarded crowns to the winners. At the Bema, our works will be judged and rewards will be given – I Cor. 3:8-15.

The Judgement Seat of Christ must not be confused with the White Throne Judgement described in Rev. 20:11-15. You may compare and contrast these two important events by this simple table

JUDGEMENT SEAT OF CHRIST WHITE THRONE JUDGEMENT

Only BELIEVERS present Only UNBELIEVERS PRESENT
    Occurs immediately after the rapture Occurs at least 1007 years later, after the Millennium
    Determines rewards for Believers’ service Determines amount of unbelievers’ Judgement

This article will be limited to a discussion of the first five items in the chronological sequence listed above. We will try to incorporate all these in relation to the rapture of the church, which we will use as the springboard for our discussion, because of its pivotal importance in setting the whole process of the Second Coming of Christ in motion. We will proceed by trying to answer the following questions on the “RAPTURE” following the Topical Method of Bible Study. It must be emphasized that the rapture is not synonymous with the second coming of Christ.

WHAT
    1. (a) What is the rapture?
    (b) What events are involved in the rapture?
    (c) What is the importance of the rapture?
    (d) Is it true that the word rapture does not occur in the Bible?
    WHY
    2 Why will Jesus come again at the rapture? –
    HOW
    3. How will the rapture occur?
    WHO
    4. (a) Who will be the participants in the rapture?
    (b) John 5.29 implies that there will be two resurrections. Who will be raised at the first resurrection?
    Who will be raised at the second?
    WHERE
    5. Where will the rapture occur?
    WHEN
    6. When will the rapture occur?
    We will discuss the following two statements
    (a) It is clear from the teaching of scriptures that there is nothing to prevent the coming of Christ for
    his saints at any moment.
    (b) Although it is true that no one knows the day or the hour of Christ’s coming, we may know when it
    is at hand (Matt. 24:36-42 I Thes. 5:15)
    7. Will there be religion after the rapture?
    8. WHAT THEN
    What are the implications of the rapture?
    (a) to believers
    (b) to unbelievers.
    9. Will any be saved after the rapture?

41. The WHAT, WHO, WHERE, and HOW of THE RAPTURE?
    The Rapture of The Church [the first phase of the second coming] is an exclusive experience of the true Church] and is fundamentally a New Testament doctrine. Truths concerning the rapture were first alluded to by Jesus during the Olivet discourse [Matt 23-25] and in John 14 in the special teachings he held for the disciples only, which John records. These embryonic mentions of this doctrine were later expanded to by Paul in1Cor 15: 51 ff , 2Peter 3 and in 1 Thes 4 :16-18 . They are also other brief mentions to this event in the other epistles.

The rapture of the church is also called The Parousia. It is the next major event on the prophetic
    callender of God, and is described as imminent. The rapture will be a personal, visible and bodily
    return of the Lord Jesus Christ that will occur in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye. When
    Jesus comes at the rapture, the righteous dead will be raised at this time, and in company of the
    saints who are alive at that time, will be translated to heaven for a reunion of the saints and the
    beginning of an eternity with Christ.

In discussing this topic it is first necessary to note true that the word rapture does not occur in the Bible, even though the concept does. The English word rapture is derived from the Latin verb rapire which means to snatch away or seize by force, to be caught up and is the verb used for “ caught up ’’ in 1 Thessalonians 4:17 in the Vulgate. It has even begun to mean caught up in ecstasy. It is also to source of our word rape.

The rapture which is described mainly in 1 Thesalonians 4: 16-18 and 1 Corinthians 15: 51 ff , but is mentioned in the epistles of Paul, James, Peter and John, refers to the event when the Lord Jesus will return in the air to catch away his bride- the body of believers which constitute the true universal church to be with him for ever as he promised in John 14:3.
    The following events are involved in the rapture of the church.
    1) The coming of the Lord
    2) The resurrection of the (saved) dead
    3) The translation of the living saints
    4) The reunion of the saints
    5) The beginning of an eternity with Christ .

The following illusions about the rapture must be cleared up. Since a resurrection is involved in the rapture, and since John 5:24 and 29 teach that two groups of people will be raised, some have erroneously thought that these two groups will be raised simultaneously, and that both the righteous and the wicked dead will raised and judged simultaneously.

However, proper perusal of the Scriptures will show that there are two resurrections and that these two resurrections will be separated by a period of at least 1007 years. The first resurrection concerns only the believing dead. The Wicked or unbelieving dead will be raised after the millennium

The rapture of the church does not refer to the coming of the Holy Spirit at the day of Pentecost, nor does it refer to the conversation experience of a believer, nor is it a picturesque way of depicting the death of a believer, as some erroneously teach.

The importance of the rapture is of great theological significance as mentioned in the introduction, and is of great personal and practical importance for all believers who are looking for Jesus’ coming because it represents the consummation of our salvation, as taught in scriptures like Romans 8:18-25, 1 John 3:2; Philippians 3:21; 2Corinthians 1:10 etc.

Although the rapture or first phase of the second coming is not discussed much in the Old Testament, it is presented in figure in the translation of Enoch and Elijah. However, it seems clear that Job and the patriarchs expected to be involved in a physical resurrection from the dead such as is involved in the rapture. The reference to Enoch’s prophecy in Jude 14 suggests that God spoke to him about the second phase of Christ’s second advent during their walks together

42. WHO WILL BE INVOLVED IN THE RAPTURE ?
    The only persons who will be caught up, or snatched away by force at the rapture are the believing dead and those believers who are alive at his coming. In Hebrews 9:28 these believers are described as “ looking for Him ’’. In 2 Timothy 4:8, we are told that He is coming for those who love his appearing. Jesus of course will also be involved. He will come Himself for the believers just as he promised in John 14:3. He will met His own in the air as promised by the angels in Acts 1:11.

John 5.29 implies that there will be two resurrections. Again we emphasize that the first resurrection concerns only the believing dead, and that the wicked or unbelieving dead will be raised after the millennium

WHERE WILL THE RAPTURE OCCUR?
    At the Rapture or parousia (I Thes 4: I Cor 15:51-58), Jesus will come in the air in secret for the saints (I Thess. 4:17). Only His own will see Him at this time (I Thess. 4:13-18). This is in stark contrast to the Second Coming (also called the Revelation or ephiphany), when Jesus comes with His own (I Thess. 3:13; Jude 14, and with ten thousands of his saint (jewels) Jude 14, and every eye shall see him (Rev 1; 7). At this time He will come to the earth to the Mount of Olives (Zech. 14:4; Acts 1: 1 1, 12).

HOW WILL JESUS COME AT THE RAPTURE?
    Matt 24:27-30, 1 Cor 15: 51 both indicate that the first stage of Jesus’ second coming will be over in a split second in the twinkling of an eye. “For as the lightning cometh out of the east and shineth even unto the west so shall the coming of the Son of Man be.” This coming will be secret as to its method for Jesus will come suddenly and unexpectedly and a number of events will transpire in the twinkling of an eye. These are :-

The coming of the Lord – a glad surprise, The Resurrection of Christian dead –a glorious resurrection, The Translation of living saints , followed by the grand reunion of all the saints; all of this will happen in a flash. The change from the earthly body to the heavenly will be instantaneous and complete. The dead will suddenly receive a new body which though retaining its identity will be gloriously transfigured. The second coming of Christ for the saints will occur so quickly that there will be no time for repentance there will be no countdown. Jesus likened his coming to lightning to indicate that it will be without warning [Matt24: 27]. 1Thes 5: 2 teaches that Jesus’ second coming will be as a thief in the night. Thieves come swiftly, secretly, silently and suddenly to the unsuspecting. These scriptures all teach that THE SECOND COMING IS IMMEDIATE (2 Peter 3:10).

43. WHY MUST THE RAPTURE AND SECOND COMING OCCUR ?

The second coming must occur to fulfill the several OT prophesies about it. One reason why the rapture must occur is to set the program of the second coming in motion- the rapture begins this program.

Although the second phase of the second coming is well described throughout the Old Testament, in many Old Testament prophecies the truth concerning the suffering Savior and the triumphant Savior are very closely connected; sometimes they appear in the same verse with no clearly defined dividing mark. The prophets could not tell the one from the other. Some teachers in Israel even thought there were two Messiahs, one to suffer and one to triumph. Concerning this Peter said, “Of which salvation the prophets have inquired and searched diligently, who prophesied of the grace that should come unto you-. Searching what, or what manner of time the Spirit of Christ which was in them did signify, when it testified beforehand the sufferings of Christ, and the glory that should follow” (I Pet. 1:10,11).

The Old Testament saints saw the first and second comings as two great mountain peaks of truth, but they did not understand that there was a great -valley between them in which was hidden the church age. We can understand these Scriptures much better, for we are looking at them with the New Testament in our hand.

We will now consider some of these passages and show how the prophets saw the two comings
    together. In Isaiah 9:6,7, we have a child born and a son given. Any one of us can understand that. We remember the story of the birth of Jesus. But in the same verse we have the fact that He shall be responsible for world government: “His name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, The
    mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.” This has not been fulfilled as yet. His peaceful government verse 7 has not become a reality on the earth up to this moment.

In the passage in Isaiah 11, the prophet speaks of a “rod out of the stem of Jesse, and a Branch shall grow out of his roots: “And the spirit of the Lord shall rest upon him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the Lord, And shall make him of quick understanding in the fear of the Lord . . .” There is no problem in seeing in this the first ministry of the Lord Jesus Christ on earth.

However, in the same passage, we read, “He shall smite the earth with the rod of his mouth, and with the breath of his lips shall he slay the wicked. And righteousness shall be the girdle of his loins, and faithfulness the girdle of his reins. The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid; and the calf and the young lion and the fatling together; and a little child shall lead them. And the cow and the bear shall feed; their young ones shall lie down together: and the lion shall eat straw like the ox. And the sucking child shall play on the hole of the asp, and the weaned child shall put his hand on the cockatrice’ (a deadly serpent) den. They shall not hurt nor destroy in all my holy mountain: for the earth shall be full of the knowledge of the LORD, as the waters cover the sea.” Surely no one would argue that all this has taken place. If this is to take place under the’ direction of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the prophet insists that it is, then He must come again in order to accomplish it.

Though there are a number of such passages in the Old Testament, we will consider just one more. “The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn; To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes (Isaiah 6.1-3) In the Gospel according to Luke, chapter 4 we have the record of how The Lord Jesus dealt with this prophecy: “And he came to Nazareth, where he had been brought up: and, as his custom was, he went into the synagogue on the Sabbath day, and stood up for to read. And there was delivered unto him the book of the prophet Esaias. And when he had opened the book, he found the place where it was written, The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord. And he closed the book . . . And he began to say unto them, This day is this scripture fulfilled in your ears.” He stopped His reading in the middle of a sentence. Why? Because He was there to fulfill the part He had quoted. The rest of the verse, “the vengeance of our God” (Isa. 63:4), was not to be fulfilled until He should return with authority and power to govern the world. (See also Isaiah 25:7-9 and Joel 2:28-31.)

The second coming, beginning with the rapture must therefore occur because these OT prophesies or promises of God must be fulfilled.

44. Jesus promised that (after he procured for us the right to come to God [1Tim 2:5; Acts 4 :12 ]), that he would come back for us .He has always kept his promises. He will therefore keep this one. And He has promised to return for those who are looking for him [Hebrews 9: 28]. This promise is recorded in John14:1-3.
    I………………………………. the PERSON
    I WILL…………………………….. the POWER
    I will COME……………………… the PROMISE
    I will come AGAIN……………… the PROSPECT
    And receive YOU unto myself……. the PEOPLE
    That WHERE I AM…………..the PLACE
    There you MAY BE ALSO…………the PURPOSE
    AND SO SHALL WE EVER BE WITH THE LORD.[ 1 Thes 4:17].The cry of our hearts must therefore be Even so come Lord Jesus

In Luke 24:44. Jesus taught that all things which were written by Moses the prophets and the Psalmist concerning Him must come to pass. Since many of these predictions speak of His exaltation, He must therefore come again.

Today the worlds statesmen freely predict that we are in danger of a return to barbarism as conditions in the world continuously worsen. Scriptures teach that at the last minute a man will rise up with peculiar power and bring the world back to its senses and peace so called, by a power which seems to be supernatural .He will not be genuine however. Actually he is a counterfeit, an impostor who is trying to mimic what Jesus will eventually do on his return in glory at the glorious appearing or “Ephiphany ” described in Titus 2& 2 Thessalonians2. This man will not be satisfied with one nation to rule but will heap unto him all peoples. He must be stopped, and he will be stopped when Christ comes at the glorious appearing Rev 19:17-20. For Christ’s glorious millennial reign to occur, Christ must return and thus we can safely conclude friends THAT THE SECOND COMING IS IMPERATIVE. He will come first at the rapture, and then some seven years later to fulfill the many Old Testament prophesies that are predicted concerning the end time.

Because we know of the exact fulfillment of a large body of prophetic Scriptures, it is becoming easier and easier to anticipate the exact and complete fulfillment of those yet unfulfilled. Although we do not know when the rapture will occur, we were given signs by Jesus of when he will occur in his ephiphany or glorious coming. Since many factors described in these predictions are becoming more and more prevalent, we can see why Jesus must indeed come soon. This is why we conclude that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMPERATIVE.

Now we have said some exciting things. But are they true? How can we know? After all, it is not unreasonable for us to refuse to deal with someone who is untrustworthy and whose word is not their bond. As humans we want to deal with people who stand by their word. The Scriptures teach about Jesus in Heb10: 37 “ Yet a little while and he that shall come will come and will not tarry.” Jesus himself promised in John 14:1-3 that he has gone to prepare a place for those who believe in Him in the many abiding places of God and that he will return for his saints one day. Paul teaches in I Thessalonians that Jesus will return himself and simultaneously snatch away the resurrected believing saints and those alive at his coming to be in His presence eternally as he had promised in John 14:3.

Why can we believe these promises? In Hebrews 13:8 we read that Jesus Christ [is] the same yesterday and today and forever. When Jesus walked on earth, he made predictions about his death, resurrection and ascension, which were fulfilled exactly as he said. Why should he not be expected to keep his promise to return?

After the conquest of Canaan, we read in Joshua 21: 45 the pertinent comment that……” There failed not ought of any good thing which the Lord had spoken [or promised] unto the house of Israel: ALL came to pass.” The members of the Godhead are still unchangeable! Heb 6:13 19 teaches about the immutability of God. If he says so, it is so! God made us some promises about Christ’s first coming and they came to pass. Since He has made 8 times as many promises about his second coming we would be fools not to accept them. God made us some promises which he can’t change, simply because God can not change. Therefore since God can not change or go back on his promises and since it is God’s plan and purpose that Jesus should come again, it would seem that you and I will have to change and adjust to these plans and prepare for Jesus’ second coming and agree with me that the second coming is sure as to its occurrence.

Why must the rapture occur? Why must Jesus come again seven years after the rapture? Because
    THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMUTABLE. Because THE SECOND COMING COMING OF CHRIST IS INEVITABLE It is a sure and certain coming. One day soon the blessed hope of Titus 2: 13 will become the blessed reality!

Paul, after exhorting his hearers to be followers or imitators of them who through faith and patience inherit God’s promises, in Hebrews 6:12 gives an illustration in the life of Abraham. The need for emphasizing this element of faith lay in the growing discouragement of the Jewish Christians at the seemingly long delay of Christ’s coming. Later on in his argument in chapter 10:37 he said yet a little while and he that shall come will come and will not tarry. In his argument Paul teaches that God made a promise and then confirmed it by an oath. First there was no higher authority to swear by, so God had to swear by Himself. Since there was no other unchangeable authority to swear by, so God had to swear by Himself. Men try to swear by or
    appeal to the highest court for justice and the oath is considered final for confirmation that one will give true testimony. God thus condescended in accordance with universal human custom just because he wanted as far as he possible could to show to the heirs of promise the immutability or unchangeableness of his counsel, he pledged himself with an oath. A promise is an assertion of intention made. In giving of an oath character is publicly and solemnly put behind the assertion .Thus it is that we can declare then that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMUTABLE.

45. Another reason why the rapture will occur is because THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMIGRATIONAL .

Immigration or emigration is an every day occurrence which can be used to discuss one aspect of the second coming of Christ. In many countries of the world they reside immigrants from their native lands, who sought asylum or a better lifestyle in a new country. When the tyrannies and religious persecution of old Europe became too burdensome for them, the Pilgrim fathers risked the unknown perils of the Atlantic often on frail, friable frigates for freedom in the new world. When men want to better their lot they emigrate.

So it is too with believers. Trapped in a world of escalating pressures and problems, believers long to realize certain benefits which are “ given unto us great and precious promises; that by these [ we ] might be partakers of the divine nature , having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust [2Pet1:4].

Similarly we are told in Romans 8:19-23, that believers are groaning within our selves [and out loud sometimes too] waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of the body. This truth is corroborated in 2Corinthians5:1-2, where we read……For we know that if our earthly house of this tabernacle be dissolved, we have a building of God , an house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. For in this we groan, earnestly desiring to be clothed upon with our house which is from heaven.

We will experience the reality of these truths at the rapture when we will be translated to the glory of our true home. Passages like that in I Thess4 tells how we will immigrate, but Philippians 3:20-21 tells us where. “For our conversation [or citizenship is in Heaven, from whence we look for the Savior the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, whereby he is able to subdue all things unto himself.” This is our undying and motivational hope. Our heavenly citizenship, however does not exempt us from earthly responsibilities. Instead God calls us to apply the principles of the scripture to our current situations. THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMIGRATIONAL

To be eligible for immigration , one must pass through THE DOOR [John 10:9] and follow THE WAY [John14:6 ].You cant slip into the heavenly country, because there is a register kept of the names of the citizens [ Rev 20:15; 21: 27]. The journey home to heaven begins not with Christ’s return—it begins with the step of faith which puts one’s feet down on the promises of the word of God that he would take with him to the Father’s house those who on earth placed their firm belief on Him as Saviour and Lord, and are therefore now looking for his appearing. Whereas THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMIGRATIONAL, it is select as to the individuals who immigrate .We will immigrate to a place of permanent residence [John14:2] and to a glorious inheritance 1Peter 1:4.

It is fashionable today to ridicule the idea of heaven and life after death, but Christians believe heaven to be a real place, simply because God has given us as it were some of the drawings or blue print plans of this place in Revelations 21&22. Whether you believe it or not, THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMIGRATIONAL .

Although modern day man likes to scoff at the idea of the second advent of Christ, the scripture tells us of a man from ancient times who found the idea most appealing, and spent much of his 175 years looking forward to it. In Hebrews 11:10, we are told that Abraham looked for a city which hath foundations, whose builder and maker is God. And in verse 13 ff we are told that he, and a few others before him [such as Abel, Enoch, and Noah], all died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off, were persuaded of them, and embraced them, and confessed that they were strangers and pilgrims ON THE EARTH. For they that say such things declare plainly that they seek a COUNTRY [they like us wanted to emigrate!!] And truly, if they had been mindful of that country from whence they [ had] come out, they might have had opportunity to have returned BUT NOWTHEY DESIRE A BETTER COUNTRY, THAT IS A HEAVENLY: WHEREFORE GOD…………….HATH PREPARED FOR THEM A CITY!!! ALL of these early Godly Old Testament saints knew THAT THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMIGRATIONAL. We see also in Hebrews 13:15 that here we have no abiding city ,but we seek one to come!

Another reason why Jesus must come at the rapture and then later, at the second coming, is because THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMANUEL. In Rev 21: 1-3 we read….And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying “ Behold the tabernacle [ or dwelling place] of God is with men and he will dwell with them and they shall be his people and God himself shall be with them and be their God.

This scripture teaches that one of the results of the Lord’s second coming is that God will have his longest and dearest desire. The desire to dwell and share an intimate and close and special fellowship with mankind [1Jn 1;3]. The fact that God desires to fellowship with mankind is no secret, and one can easily trace this desire throughout the Bible as God interacted with Adam, Cain, (though un-seccessfully) and Enoch, who became a picture or type of the saint who at Christ’s second advent will be translated without seeing death and a picture of all believers whose removal at the rapture will provide for them an escape from the rigors of the tribulation period . “ For God has not appointed us [ all believers] to wrath, but [ has rather appointed us] to obtain salvation by [ or through ] our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us , that , whether we [are] awake or sleep [dead in Christ] at his coming, we should live together with him [ for ever].[1 Thes 5: 9&10].

God maintained a close relationship with the Patriarchs and even in his deepest and darkest days we read [in Genesis 39:21&23 ] about Jacob’s imprisoned son in Egypt for 13 years that THE LORD WAS WITH JOSEPH.

God abode [or tabernacled] with His people during their wanderings in the wilderness , signaling his presence in the pillar of cloud in the day and the pillar of fire at night. He demonstrated his presence to be and empower them for victory at the beginning of the period of the conquest of Canaan by appearing as the “ Captain of the Lord’s Host ” as recorded in Joshua 5: 13-15.

The period of the Judges was characterized by extreme wickedness and this period was well summarized by the comment that …..”in those days there was no king in Israel ; every man did that which was right in his own eyes [ Judges 17:6 &21:25].” Even then God did not desert his people and at the interface of this period and that of the kings God sought out an obedient child whom he could use and tells us of this boy in 1 Sam 3: 19 that …..THE LORD WAS WITH HIM. In the period of the kings God’s presence filled Solomon’s temple until he was forced to leave.

In the period of captivity God was with Daniel in the lion’s and in his long service among wicked enemies as he served under five different administrations. God was with the three Hebrew boy’s in the fiery furnace [Dan3:24&25]. The Lord was clearly with the prophets before and during the exile. He was so involved , that when Jehoiakim sent men to kill Jeremiah ……the Scriptures records God’s personal involvement by telling us in Jer 36: 26 …. BUT THE LORD HID HIM !!

After the exile God found a man called Ezra of whom it is recorded in Ezra 7:10 that he had prepared his heart to seek the law of the Lord and to do it , and to teach in Israel statutes and judgements. This same man confesses in Ezra 7:28 that God was with him …..in the words “ I was strengthened as[ or because ] the hand of the Lord my God was upon me……”. He later reports in Ez 8: 22, that …. “ The hand of our God is upon all them for good that seek him”. In chap 8: 31, we are told that…”the hand of our God was upon us and he delivered us from the hand of the enemy , and of such as lay in wait by the way.”

Nehemiah records a similar experience in Neh 2:4b, &8b , 20, 4:20b, 6:16b and in Esther God was with his people as seen in Esther 2:15, 4:14 & 5:2.

We say all this to demonstrate that Scriptures records and provide adequate proof which attests to the fact that God has ably and diligently persisted in his desire to fellowship with men, even though we have been most unworthy of his interest. Psalm 23: 6 puts it thus …..” Surely goodness and mercy shall PURSUE ME ALL THE DAYS OF MY LIFE….. Pursue is following earnestly in an effort to catch up with some one who does seem to want to be caught. That is the meaning of follow in that verse. That this is true is seen in Romans 5:8,10 and also 1John 4;9-10.

The New Testament opens with the announcement that the virgin’s child shall be called Emmanuel or GOD WITH US. And in John 1: 1 we are told that the Word was made flesh and dwelt among us. God wanted to be with us so badly that he came to stay on earth in the form of a servant and in the likeness of men[ Phil 2:7],so that one day [Phil3:20] he could change our vile body ,that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body….

God sent his Son to die so that HE MAY FELLOWSHIP WITH US……what condescension!!
    God sent his Son to purchase our redemption so that HE MAY FELLOWSHIP WITH US!!
    God came to be us because we could not go to Him…..we didn’t want to be with him while we were yet sinners , Christ [ GOD] died for us[ Rom5: 8 ].

When we were yet sinners he offered up his own Son [ Romans 8: 32 ; Hebrews 9: 26
    God came to us in the person of His Son , but when God came to his own they received him not. So he offered us the same opportunity. He set his people aside temporarily and came to us Gentiles and offered us the same opportunity. How He longs to be with us. He sent his Son to procure the means of bringing us back to Him [1 Peter 2: 24]

GOD WANTS TO BE WITH US –HE WANTS TO BE WITH YOU….DO YOU WANT TO BE WITH HIM? What ever your decision …. THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMANUEL !!

46. Another important reason why Jesus must come is because THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMORTALITY.

We have all read of the man who set of to find the fountain of youth. As we age and experience more the difficulties of disease and anticipate death man’s quest has been to desire immortality.

From early youth we came to understand the principal that Solomon expresses in Ecclesiastes12:7 where he states that at the end of life …the dust shall return to the earth whence it came and that the sprit returns to God who gave it.

Another concept with which we came into contact in early life is that which is presented in Hebrews 9:27 where it is written that … it is appointed unto men one to die; but after this the judgement. Most people view this to mean that you live and you die and you are judged and disregard the context which puts it all in its relationship to the second coming —-the grand note in which Paul brings this great chapter to a close. To divert a bit, Paul is saying at the close of this chapter that the same person who once appeared to put away since as a sacrificial sacrifice by bearing the sins of many [the tenor and tone of the chapter] and who presently is appearing as our advocate in the presence of God [Hebrews 9: 24 & I John 2: 1&2] will appear the second time, not sin bearing but salvation bearing! [Hebrews 9: 28 & Titus 2:11].

The issue I want to raise with respect to this passage is that death is AN APPOINTMENT not a necessity!! Paul clearly states in 1 Cor 15:52 that we [believers] SHALL NOT ALL SLEEP though we shall all be changed. He corroborates this in 1 Thes 4:16 where he states that at the rapture the dead saints[the dead in Christ] will rise first and in 1Thes 4:14 he says that those which sleep in Jesus he will bring [away ] with him. But notice verse 17 says we which are alive shall be caught up TOGETHER or simultaneously] with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air! When Jesus returns at the rapture the living saints at that time will NOT DIE [or as Paul says in 1 Cor 15:52] THEY SHALL NOT SLEEP. This is exactly the same thing that Jesus said to Martha in John11:25 ….I AM the resurrection and the life: he that believeth in me though he were dead [ or under the sentence or appointment of death John 5:24 & Jn 3:36] yet shall he live: and whosoever liveth [or is yet alive when I return ] and continues to habitually believe in me shall never [ever at any time] die! Those who believe this will miss the appointment of Heb 9;27 but ALL of us will experience the joy and truth that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMORTALITY.

After describing the Lord’s coming for the saints at the rapture in I Thes 4:; Pauls ends with these words……. So shall we ever be with the Lord! That’s immortality!
    Jesus promised in John 14:2 to return and receive us unto himself so that we may be with Him. That will be immortality!

I Corinthians 15 is rightly called the “ Resurrection chapter ”. However it is also a great “ Second Coming chapter”, because one of the essential components of the rapture is the resurrection of the believers who are dead at Christ’s coming. At the end of this great chapter Paul partially erases the confusion that arises in many minds and corrects the error that is taught and thought with respect to the two resurrections mentioned by John in Jn5:29. The rest of the puzzle is of course given by John in Rev 20: 6&12 where it is clear that these two resurrections are separated by a period of 1007 years. [The combined period of the tribulation and the millennium]. Since both of these resurrections occur in the period of the day of our Lord or the era of the second coming, this chapter is pivotal in that the relationship and importance of the resurrection to the second coming of Christ is clearly enunciated.

In I Cor 15:52 Paul teaches that the bodies of all believers will be changed at Jesus’ coming. With respect to this he tells us also in Phil 3:21 that the Lord will change our vile body ,that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body…. John corroborates this in 1Jn 3;2 where he tells us that at Christ’s appearing we will not only get the opportunity to see him[ whom we have been looking for] as he is , BUT WE WILL BE LIKE HIM. We will not only have his quality of life but we will have glorified bodies….like the one John along with James and Peter saw on the Mount of transfiguration as described in Matt 17:2, and about which Peter remembers vividly in 2 Pet 1: 16-18.

1 Cor 15: 52-54, along with 1Thes 4:16 teaches that at the sound of the trumpet –like [or clarion clear ] voice of Jesus [ which according to John 10: 27 can only be heard by his follower sheep] ;that the resurrected believers [ or dead in Christ ] and the still living believers remaining will simultaneously receive changed ,incorruptible, immortal bodies . The result of this. a removal of the sting and victory which death has held since the entrance of sin into the garden [ Gen 3]. Jesus’ death, resurrection and return provides an ultimate victory and so we can thank God that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMORTALITY!

In 2Peter1:4 we read that we were given great and precious promises….that by these ye might be partakers of the DIVINE NATURE ,HAVING ESCAPED THE CORRUPTION that is in the world through [ or because of ] lust .The corruption of the body [and all other types of corruption] originated with the sin of our fore parents. Not only did we inherit this tendency but we ourselves perpetuate it by following the same procedure they followed in Genesis 3:6 . This is clearly taught in James 1:13-15 & 1 John 2:16. As a result we are taught in Romans 8:22&23 that we with the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain …until now…….waiting for the adoption , to wit , the redemption of our body. However Paul triumphantly declares in Romans 8:21 that we will be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the Children of God!! Paul addresses this same issue in 2 Cor 1:9&10 and in 2Cor 5:1-8 . This is immortality!! These are immortal truths!! Herein is the fountain of youth!! THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMORTALITY!

Can a person really become immortal ? What is immortality? Jesus said in Jn 17:3 that it is knowing the sent One. He said …And this is life eternal , that they might know thee[the Father] the only true God and Jesus Christ , whom thou hast sent.

What is immortality ? In what must be the cardinal scriptures on the doctrine of the eternal security of the believer in John 10:28-30 Jesus states …And I give unto them [his sheep] eternal life and they shall never perish. Since immortality is identical to eternal life, what is eternal life anyway?

“ Eternal life is a special kind of life. More than duration [or quantity] of life is meant. What is more poignant is that eternal life is a QUALITY of life which makes it possible for us to fellowship with God —the whole purpose of it!! The unsaved will have eternal existence, but nowhere does the Bible describe this existence as eternal life. Existence from God, even though men are able to think, speak, feel and remember is not life but death. Jesus is the source of eternal life, He is the believer’s eternal life.” (1)

All the truths of this life are presented in the Bible, although this expression is most powerfully put in John’s Gospel where there is revealed a full presentation of this life as Christ manifested in the flesh and living the life; and in John’s first epistle, where there is a full discussion of the principles by which those who are possessors of this life should practice it. Eternal life is immortality. Because we enter into it fully at his second advent we can confidently say, and conclude that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMORTALITY!!

Other scriptures from John’s gospel that teach the immortality that is associated with the second coming of Christ are John 1: 12-14; 3:14-16 & 36 ; 5:24 ; and 11: 25 –26. In all these verses we are taught that immortality or eternal life is obtained by going directly to the source and its giver. Let us therefore together LAY HOLD ON ETERNAL LIFE, because THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMORTALITY .

Yet another reason why the second coming must occur is because it must precede the resurrection of the unsaved dead and the fabulous promises awaiting in us in our eternal home.
    It is noteworthy that there is a resurrection involved at the rapture, but John 5:24 and 29 teach
    clearly that there are two resurrections. Many believe that these two resurrections will occur
    simultaneously, and there is confusion by some as to who will be the participants in the rapture. Believers must be quite clear with respect to who will be raised at the first resurrection, and who will be raised at the second. These two resurrections will be separated by a period of at least 1007 years. The first resurrection concerns only the believing dead. It is important for all to appreciate clearly that when Jesus comes at the rapture only the righteous dead will be raised at this time. The wicked or unbelieving dead will be raised after the millenium ( Rev 20:12 ).

In John 5: 24 & 29 it is taught that there will be a resurrection for those who have done good, by hearing and believing the word spoken about the claims of Jesus. Such persons are said to have eternal life, are promised not to come into condemnation but to pass from death unto life. In addition they were promised to come forth to the resurrection of life. Revelation 20: 1-6 describes this resurrection which occurs as a part of the second coming [not at the rapture; we must bear in mind that the second coming is not a single event but a prolonged period of time].In verse 5 &6 this resurrection is called the First resurrection indicating that it occurs after the great tribulation and that the resurrections discussed in John 5:29 do not occur simultaneously but are separated by a period of 1000 years coinciding with the glorious millennial reign of Christ. The Old testament saints and those believers who died in the tribulation period are raised at this time. The believers of the Church age were of course raised at the rapture as taught in 1 Thess 4 and I Cor 15 :51 et secq. In addition those who are part of this resurrection are indeed blessed and holy because the second death [or eternal separation from God in Hell fire] hath no power on them. Such believers will be priests of God and of Christ and will reign with Christ in the millenium as taught also in Romans 8: 17 & 18. Certainly these truths concerning the SECOND COMING ARE IMMENSE, Yes. THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMENSE

To add to the above, following the millennial period and the sentencing of those who participated in the resurrection of damnation, as discussed in John5:24&29 and described in Rev21:11-15 we have the immense teaching of Rev 22:3-5 which tells us that the eternal heaven that awaits believers will be characterized by :-
    PERFECT RESTORATION …. for there shall be no more curse
    PERFECT ADMINISTRATION…. for the throne of god and the lamb shall be in it
    PERFECT SUBORDINATION …. his servants shall serve him
    PERFECT TRANSFORMATION …for they shall see his face
    PERFECT IDENTIFICATION …. for his name shall be in there foreheads
    PERFECT ILLUMINATION …. for there shall be no night there and they need no lamp neither light of the sun for the Lord God giveth them light
    PERFECT EXALTATION ….. for they shall reign for ever and ever

The second coming of Christ signals the going to our eternal home…That’s IMMIGRATIONAL.
    The second coming of Christ teaches that we are going to be with God That’s IMMANUEL
    The second coming of Christ teaches that we are going live with God for ever That’s IMMORTALITY When taken together with the truths above we must all agree that THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST IS IMMENSE.

47. Without intending disrespect…
    Yawnnnnn

48. The question to be answered is….these Hebrews or as they are now known,Jews,along with some others called christians espouse the belief that they,Jews, are god’s chosen people and nobody else going to inherit a kingdom.By their own teaching,god do loved the WORLD etc,so what of those 2 billion chinamen and the near 2 billion Hindus and Muslims and the near 1 billion African, souls.Are these human beings consigned to nothingness?
    Why should Jews be allowed to get away with all this nonsense when they are known rapists,murderers and just simply ordinary brutish people given to wickedness just like those they call gentiles.

49. Fake news all conceptualized by deceitfulness. The birth of Jesus ( which is not his real name) was not a literal transformation of divine intervention of a conception wherby a Virgin teenage girl called Mary had a baby but a spiritual symbol of a conception to a renewness and transition of the
    soul and body that mankind with all their weakness and sinful nature can be transformed into the likeness of God in the flesh just as jesus was

Leave a Reply to nineofnineCancel reply