Submitted by Mohammed Degia

Al-Quds. Photo courtesy of worldbulletin.net

The Caribbean Community group of countries or CARICOM has for a long time feigned at having a common foreign policy. While this may be true with respect to some issues on the international agenda, particularly in the area of development, this pretence of unity dissipates on high-stake political matters. One only has to look at the USA invasion of Iraq, the China/Taiwan recognition question, the Shiprider Agreement, Article 98 Agreements, ALBA or Venezuela. Add to this list, yesterday’s UN General Assembly vote on the status of Jerusalem.

Donald Trump and his administration’s many shenanigans have dominated the news for many months. For the past two and a half weeks, the events surrounding Trump’s announcement that the USA recognises Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and will relocate its Embassy to there from its current location in Tel Aviv have been paid considerable attention to worldwide.

Following this unilateral announcement by the Trump administration and the concern expressed by the international community, a draft UN Security Council resolution was tabled in response. The text was put to a vote on Monday 18th and expectedly the US used its veto to thwart its adoption. The draft document spoke to the need to abide by previous Security Council resolutions on the status of Jerusalem. If it had been adopted, the resolution would have affirmed “that any decisions and actions which purport to have altered, the character, status or demographic composition of the Holy City of Jerusalem have no legal effect, are null and void and must be rescinded in compliance with relevant resolutions of the Security Council.” It would also have called on all States “to refrain from the establishment of diplomatic missions in the Holy City of Jerusalem.” Fourteen of the fifteen Security Council members- the other four permanent members and all 10 non-permanent members- voted in favour.

The US Ambassador to the UN, former South Carolina Governor, Nikki Haley once again showcased her diplomatic immaturity and her seeming intent to rival one of her predecessors, John Bolton, in his disastrous stint. After her tirade at the Council vote, she followed up with tweets and a letter to UN member states warning them not to support an anticipated UN General Assembly resolution on the issue. According to her, the US would take names of those who voted in favour of the resolution. Not to be outdone, Trump also threatened countries if they supported the resolution, contending that votes would be watched and aid cut.

A UN General Assembly resolution from 1950 called “Uniting for Peace” makes a provision for the General Assembly to consider a matter immediately “if the Security Council, because of lack of unanimity of the permanent members, fails to exercise its primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security in any case where there appears to be a threat to the peace, breach of the peace, or act of aggression”. Acting in their respective roles as Chair of the Arab Group and Chair of the Summit of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, Yemen and Turkey requested the President of the General Assembly to resume the tenth emergency special session of the General Assembly and tabled the same draft resolution for the deliberation of the special session.

Final tally of UNGA vote on “Status of Jerusalem” resolution. Photo courtesy of un.org

UN General Assembly resolutions are non-binding so this would have only moral weight and be a symbolic demonstration of the international community’s opposition to Trump’s actions. The resolution was adopted by the General Assembly with a vote of 128 in favour, 9 against and 35 abstaining. The USA and Israel cast negative votes naturally. They were joined by Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru and Palau, four of the set of Pacific islands that always vote on these types of resolutions in the way they are directed to by certain countries. Guatemala, Honduras and Togo rounded out the no votes, unable obviously to withstand the pressure they had been placed under. Those abstaining were a medley of African, Asian, Caribbean, Latin American and Eastern European countries along with Australia and Canada. A similar assortment of African, Asian, Caribbean, Latin American and Eastern European countries numbering 21 did not participate in the voting. Thus 128 countries expressed unreserved backing for the resolution while in one way or another 65 did not support it. Although it was a decisive statement of validation for the status of Jerusalem and a rejection of Trump’s action, it was in no way an overwhelming victory. Of particular note is that Nikki Haley has invited these 65 countries to a reception on January 3rd to thank them for their friendship.

UNGA voting screen showing breakdown of how countries voted on “Status of Jerusalem” resolution. Photo courtesy of trendsmap.com

I will not delve into the international legal arguments about the status of Jerusalem and the illegal nature of the unilateral US action. Enough has been written about that. Neither will I, even though I am tempted to, address certain stark truths about Palestine and Jerusalem such as:

1. the fact that the Palestinian Authority is a corrupt entity that colludes fully with Israel and the USA in the occupation of Palestine and acts as an enforcer for the Zionists;
  2. the so-called Muslim world is a huge mess and many of its tyrants and despots, led by the Egyptians, aid and abet the oppression of Muslims and Christians in Palestine. I had touched on the Egyptian governments hypocrisy on Palestine when I wrote about an Egyptian Minister’s racist remarks last year;
  3. Oslo and the so-called peace process is a farce that was created specifically to legitimise the colonial settler entity of Israel and ensure that if the Palestinians do ever have a state, it will be an unviable set of Bantustans. Edward Said tackled this masterfully in his “Peace and its Discontents.”

I want to touch on CARICOM and the way some of the group chose to vote or not vote. CARICOM countries speak often and loudly about how powerful, large states should not marginalise those that are small or weaker. They stress the importance of multilateralism and international law in this regard and how important these norms are in ensuring all voices are heard. One wonders therefore how seven of the fourteen CARICOM countries that are members of the UN found themselves not supporting this resolution. A resolution which is clear cut about international law and the necessity of states to abide by it. The unilateral declaration of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel is in direct contravention of Security Council resolutions and international law. Two key allies of Israel and the USA that are permanent members of the Security Council –France and the UK- voted in favour of the resolution. That is telling. Yet, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Haiti, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago saw it necessary to reject international law. St. Kitts and Nevis and St. Lucia did not think it even necessary to participate in the voting. This is a preferred course of action employed for many years by some CARICOM countries and especially those from the OECS when there is a controversial vote. I have always thought it to be a cowardly way to deal with an uncomfortable subject.

Dealing with difficult topics is not something we in the Caribbean like to do and the reality is that the meetings of the Council for Foreign and Community Relations (COFCOR) and Heads of Government are largely talk shops where documents are churned out yearly with no clear strategy and no implementation of what little is contained in those documents. The region operates mostly in reactionary mode and is constantly playing catch up. I am unsure whether any attempt was made to coordinate a CARICOM position on the Jerusalem issue. I would not be at all surprised, based on my knowledge and experience of the region, to hear that there wasn’t any. Moreover, the region is prone to disunity and larger countries are well aware that the carrot and stick approach deployed in various ways is an effective tool to split the group and achieve their goals.

The way forward for CARICOM is a practical one. First, how can the region progress beyond this inertia to an actual dynamic foreign-policy coordinating process which produces bold, strategic actions? Second, how can the region move from paying lip service to multilateralism and international law to acting in a principled manner whenever these cogs of the global system are compromised? The answer rests in the two complimenting each other. The regional integration process requires a revival, both from a political perspective and at the bureaucratic level in the Secretariat. A CARICOM that is unified in understanding the challenges and opportunities presented by the international arena should certainly be able to confront them much more meaningfully and successfully. In addition, a CARICOM whose bonds are strong will be a much more difficult prospect for countries that depend on divide and rule and carrot and stick methods of diplomacy.

Of course this is all theoretical and easy to spell out on paper. In reality, we have a group of small islands clinging tightly to notions of sovereignty and political leaders in possession of large egos and for whom any sense of relinquishing a minuscule amount of power is beyond comprehension. This is one of the main reasons why the regional integration project has not been realised. The movement and interaction of people throughout the region has been an ongoing feature of life in the Caribbean for as long as anyone can remember. Instead of building on these deep people to people links through the creation of strong institutions, political leaders have simply paid lip service and engaged in useless rhetoric. It is time for the people of the region to demand more of their political leaders and hold them accountable.

251 responses to “CARICOM Disarray on UN General Assembly “Status of Jerusalem” Vote”

1. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

you can send BU whatever you like, you were lying about sending Lloyds the email as i knew all along, you saved it as a draft and forwarded it to me, but you are the one have to live with that, not moi.

2. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

Besides…with all this confusion and exposure and name calling bbreaking out…am sure ya have been very busy deleting information you coward, but it will catch up with you…

…look how long it took to catch up with the criminals and those paid by taxpayers who refused to do their jobs.

time is longer than twine…

the day i have to reveal information, evveryone will know what i sent you, because you acknowledged i sent you info…but ya too coward to post it.

3. Heads up riff-raff comments will be deleted from now using BU’s good judgement of course.

The US administration’s decision to move the American embassy in Israel to Jerusalem and, in so doing, to recognise Jerusalem as the capital of Israel is the latest in a series of series of geopolitical decisions relating to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. If this decision is not opposed clearly and resolutely, the prospect of an end to that conflict will continue to recede.

The resurgence of violence triggered by the US decision, along with international reactions to it, show that all actors involved need to readdress certain aspects of the conflict. For a number of decades the international community has been discussing the possibility of a two-state solution – although this prompts the question: where is this second state?

Israel-Palestine: the real reason there’s still no peace

Read more

The Israeli-Palestinian conflict differs from other conflicts that have been waged throughout human history. In this case, the clash is not between two nations or states but between two peoples that are equally insistent on their right to the same small piece of land and are equally determined to live on it – preferably without the other. There can be no military or purely political solution to the conflict; there has to be a human solution.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/dec/22/trump-jerusalem-disaster-palestinian-state-israel?utm_source=esp&utm_medium=Email&utm_campaign=Opinion+UK+connected&utm_term=257761&subid=15318610&CMP=ema_opinionconnectuk

4. David,

As promised. You have my permission to reproduce this. I have further evidence of the fraudulent behaviour.

Hal

—–Original Message—–

Date: 11/27/2017 05:23 AM

To: "’austinhal@exe.com‘" <austinhal@exe.com>

Subject: FW: Query

Note: Original message sent as attachment

———- Forwarded message ———-

To: "’austinhal@exe.com’" <austinhal@exe.com>

Cc: 
    Bcc: 
    Date: Mon, 27 Nov 2017 10:23:12 +0000

Subject: FW: Query

Dear Mr Austin,

I can confirm that Lloyd’s has no record of receiving or answering the below message from 2014.

Nevertheless, it would not be a question that Lloyd’s could answer, as there is no central database of policies placed in the market by the 100+ independent insurers who operate for their own profit or loss and keep their own commercially-sensitive records.

Lloyd’s has no access to those records and as such, we are unable to identify any purported coverage either by policy number or by a named Reinsured.

I would suggest that only the Reinsured themselves, or their broker, would have the information sought.

I trust that the above assists.

Yours sincerely,

IAN BRADFORD

Senior Case Manager

Legal Services Department

Lloyd’s

Tel:  +44 (0)207 327 5036

Fax: +44 (0)207 327 5502

http://www.lloyds.com

SAVE PAPER – THINK BEFORE YOU PRINT

—–Original Message—–

Sent: 20 November 2017 20:03

To: Enquiries

Subject: Query

To Whom it May Concern,

I am a former journalist at the Financial Times Group, now retired, and it has been drawn to my attention that the email below was sent by me to you in 2014. I cannot recall ever sending it or receiving a reply.

Can you please confirm that it is legitimate?

Regards,

Hal Austin

“Consumer General Insurance

Hal Austin hal.austin@ft.com

To enquiries@lloyds.com

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 9:29 AM

Hello,

I am Hal Austin, a senior editor at the Financial Times Group. I am doing a background check on a company called Consumer General Insurance of Barbados and am interested in who they are re-insured with at Lloyds. I have been told by some local people that they are.

My direct number is 0207 775 6639.

Regards,

Hal Austin

The information in this E-Mail and in any attachments is CONFIDENTIAL and may be privileged.

If you are NOT the intended recipient, please destroy this message and notify the sender immediately.

You should NOT retain, copy or use this E-mail for any purpose, nor disclose all or any part of its

contents to any other person or persons.

Any views expressed in this message are those of the individual sender, EXCEPT where the sender

specifically states them to be the views of Lloyd’s.

Lloyd’s may monitor the content of E-mails sent and received via its network for viruses or

unauthorised use and for other lawful business purposes.

Lloyd’s is authorised under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000

——————————————————————–

5. RE The Israeli-Palestinian conflict differs from other conflicts that have been waged throughout human history. In this case, the clash is not between two nations or states but between two peoples that are equally insistent on their right to the same small piece of land and are equally determined to live on it – preferably without the other.

THIS IS ABSOLUTE RUBBISH AND SIMPLY THE VERBAGE OF AN IDIOT!
    HAVE NOT MANY CONFLICTS ION HISTORY BEEN BETWEEN two peoples that are equally insistent on their right to the same small piece of land and are equally determined to live on it – preferably without the other.
    HAS NOT THIS SCENARIO BEEN REPEATED TIME AND TIME THROUGHOUT HISTORY
    DO WE NEED A LIST?

IS THIS A RIFF RAFF COMMENT TOO?..TO BE DELETED?

6. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

ya sent the wrong letter, the letter should have come from your former employer…stating unequivocally that there can be found no such correspondence on the company servers of the Financial times…between Hal Austin and Yolanda Grant/Daniela Gomez on the dates shown…

or you want me to do it myself…cause i would print and send them every email and make a case out of this fraudulent Hal.

7. The following exchange took place on Facebook.

Roland Clarke As a former CARICOM Diplomat, I assert that there is strength in diversity. In the particular instance of the recent UN vote regarding the US unilateral decision concerning Jerusalem, I was pleased to see that CARICOM Member States did not vote as a single block. That way, our region will continue to have a leg in more than one camp regarding the issues at stake. The implication is that our Heads of State and Government would continue to hear multiple perspectives when they huddle and compare notes at their annual Conference and Intersessional Meetings.

In fact by way of analogy, if all humans were biologically the same, a single virus would wipe out the entire human race! Our very survival as a village, a country and as a community of nations depends on our diverse experiences, views and perspectives.

I reject the notion that anyone should scold us for not acting with a single voice on everything. That is an insult to us. It also demonstrates a lack of sophistication on the part of such persons, and a penchant laziness that limits them to only consider us as a single block.

I assert, there is strength in diversity!

8. Peace on earth to men of goodwill……. The vitriol is certainly flowing this am.; to those who were missing Chad45 his alter ego 45Gov’t is here…..

9. RE I assert, there is strength in diversity!

SO WHY IS IT A THING MOST NOT WONDERFUL THAT THE POTUS SHOULD AGREE WITH ISRAEL THAT JERUSALEM IS THE CAPITAL CITY OF ISRAEL, OR THAT HE SHOULD DECIDE….AS PER LAW…TO PUT THE US EMBASSY THERE?

WHAT IS THE REASON FOR THE UNNECESSARY FRACAS EXCEPT THAT IT IS FULFILLMENT OF PROPHECIES IN THE PSALMS?

10. RE to those who were missing Chad45 his alter ego 45Gov’t is here…..
    HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT SIR?

11. Here is David’s rely to Dr. Roland Clarke.

Interesting but in the scheme of geopolitics there is strength in voting as a bloc given our small size.

12. Georgie Porgie – he doesn’t, he is a moron.

David…”If this decision is not opposed clearly and resolutely, the prospect of an end to that conflict will continue to recede.”

Are you for real? Have you not studied the facts at all, ever? The so-called Palestinians (there is no such thing) are merely the pawns, the leverage the Arabs use to make sure the hatred against Israel will be kept alive. They have said time and again THERE WILL, BE NO RESOLUTION WITHOUT THE DESTRUCTION OF ISRAEL. Now, if we were neighbours in dispute over our boundary, and I told you I was going to kill you, your children, grandchildren, relatives and friends, and backed it up with physical violence on a daily basis, what would your next attempt at a resolution be? Israel has made many attempts, but none that will include their own destruction.
    Such ignorance – better to keep quiet and be thought an idiot, than open your mouth and remove all doubt.
    Any normal person only has to look at the list of Barbados’ barbarian fellow travellers in this monstrous resolution to realise the lunatics are running the asylum.

13. 45govt December 23, 2017 at 11:04 AM
    sIR …….YOU SEEM TO HAVE A GRASP OF THE SUBJECT……….BUT THE IGNORANCE OF THE HISTORY OF THE ORIGIN OF THE SO CALLED “PALESTINIANS” WILL CONTINUE

14. @GP
    If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, shits like a duck, it must be a duck. What did you expect it to be? A moron?

15. Suppose the UK withheld aid from Barbados, or Jamaica on the grounds that they would not repeal the Buggery Act.

Suppose it then enlisted the help of the UN to move a motion of censure against Jamaica and Barbados.

We would holler for murder.

We would threaten to stop paying subventions tot the UN even though we might be paying in arrears!!

Interference in the affairs of a sovereign nations we would hear.

The American Congress passed a law.

The UN is interfering in the affairs of a sovereign nation.

If you look at Caricom, three different positions were adopted … diversity Roland Clarke says.

Jamaica abstained, Barbados supported the motion.

Saint Kitts/Nevis and St. Lucia simply did not vote.

They saved themselves thousands of dollars and avoided looking like the complete idiots the rest of Caricom look like by missing the forest for the trees!!

You can’t keep a foot in either camp on such a clear cut issue.

We should ideally have voted against or not vote as it is none of our business and it would have saved us some money and embarrassment.

Maybe Trump just wanted to force the issue to reduce the US subvention to the UN!!

Trump is usually several steps ahead of the game.

“Each year the United States gives approximately $8 billion in mandatory payments and voluntary contributions to the United Nations and its affiliated organizations. The biggest portion of this money – about $3 billion this year – goes to the U.N.’s regular and peacekeeping budgets. Jun 16, 2015” – Google

16. Great post John – good to see some intelligent contributions on here at last!

17. Sargeant December 23, 2017 at 11:32 AM #
    If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, shits like a duck, it must be a duck. What did you expect it to be? A moron?

ACTUALLY SARGE ALL MALLARDS WALK QUACK AND SHIT SIMILARLY BUT ALL MALLARDS ARE NOT COMMON YARD DUCKS. ah lie?

I AGREE WITH JOHN ALSO MR 45GOVT
    Trump SHOULD reduce the US subvention to the UN!!

18. @GP
    I AGREE WITH JOHN ALSO MR 45GOVT
    Trump SHOULD reduce the US subvention to the UN!
    At some point in your life you played a little “bat and ball” (never mind that you weren’t any good at it but you played). During that time there was always someone with a little more resources so they owned the bat and the ball. At some point when a decision went against them or they couldn’t get anyone “out” and they couldn’t get a “hand” they declared “de game done I am tekking my bat and ball and gwine home”. Wha happen next? If they don’t play wid wunnah who dey gwine play wid? Next ting dey eat a little crow and dey back on de field wid a bat and ball.

Here endeth the lesson.

19. Sargeant I think of it a little different its a little more like some guy builds a stadium gives free seats, popcorn and drinks to the people and they bitch the day of the game because the sun wasnt shining. Kick them out of manhattan let them set up in belgium or geneva. The US should cut their spending and let some others carry the load.

20. Sargeant December 23, 2017 at 11:59 AM #

YOUR ANALOGY IS DE PEDENTIC BRIMBLER-ESQUE
    TRUMP IS NOT PLAYING CRICKET
    HE HAS ONLY OBEYED A LAW MADE AND AGREED TO HIS PREDECESSORS TO PUT THE US EMBASSY IN THE CAPITAL CITY OF ISRAEL, JERUSALEM

HE SHOULD NOW ASK THE UN TO RELOCATE TO ANOTHER COUNTRY AND SAVE THE US CONSIDERABLE UNNECESSARY EXPENSE

BY THE WAY IN YOUR TIME WHEN THE FELLA eat a little crow and dey back on de field wid a bat and ball DID YOU NOT PLAY?
    WHY YOU TINK UM WOULD BE DIFRUNT NOW?

21. LAWSON
    I MUST CONFESS……YOUR ANALOGY IS BETTER THAN THAT OF MY FRIEND SARGEANT…MURDAH

22. @Lawson
    That cricket analog went right over your head but you Scots were never good at cricket uh mean you weren’t any good at football either (although my neighbor used to try to sell me on the merits of (Rangers vs Celtic), “tossing the caber” there is a sport that only Scots play so they don’t have to compete with anyone else.

Sorry to digress but “what stadium what”, even if they went to Belgium the US would still be outside with its nose pressed against the glass.

Hey Lawson Merry Xmas, you don’t have to dream about a White Xmas, if we are getting inches of snow here it must be falling by the bucketful in Ottawa.

23. No preponderance of world opinion from the UN, that is not based on solid, factual evidence against Israel and Jerusalem can prevail.

Thus, the whole debate today that centers on the question of whether Israel must return so-called “occupied territories” to their alleged Arab owners in order to obtain peace, IS one of the GREATEST FALSEHOODS of INTERNATIONAL LAW and diplomacy.

24. The name “Jerusalem” occurs 806 times in the Bible; 660 times in the Old Testament, and 146 times in the New Testament.
    The name “Jerusalem” occurs 806 times in the Bible; 660 times in the Old Testament,
    and 146 times in the New Testament.

All of the 660 occurrences in the OT were well over a THOUSAND years prior to Islam coming into existence, with NO land or nation called Palestine.

The 146 times Jerusalem is mentioned in the NT, it is also noteworthy that it occurred 600 years before Islam was created.

Equally significant to Israel’s right to their ancient capital Jerusalem, IS the FACT that Jerusalem is NOT mentioned even once in the Koran.

Hear God’s Word re Jerusalem in these End-Times:

“Behold, I will MAKE Jerusalem a cup of drunkenness (reeling) to ALL the surrounding peoples (Islamic Nations) when they lay siege against Judah and Jerusalem.”

“And it shall happen in that day that I will make JERUSALEM a very heavy stone for ALL peoples; ALL who would heave it away will SURELY be CUT IN PIECES, though ALL nations of the earth (UN Assembly) are gathered against it.” ( Zechariah 12: 2,3) Emphasis added.

We are literally witnessing End-Times reality, confirming the veracity of God’d Word, the Bible.

And who is God using to stand UP for Israel and Jerusalem, BOMBASTIC TRUMP, NOT a waste-of-time OBAMA, who worked against Israel for years.

25. re The name “Jerusalem” occurs 806 times in the Bible; 660 times in the Old Testament,
    and 146 times in the New Testament.
    GUESS HOW MANY TIMES THE WORD PALESTINE OCCURS IN KJV?

26. @Sargeant, great cricket analogy. Surely the US have ALWAYS played their geopolitics in that way: I gine tek up my bat and ball if you guys don’t let me bat till I feel to get out.

It is utter intellectual fraud to dismiss the entire back room efforts that this same US completed to ENSURE that the UN resided in NY at inception and make such a leap of logic that these current threats of UN defunding could ever see the UN HQ actually leaving the US.

@John, yes “Trump is usually several steps ahead of the game.” However you need to put that into proper context. The only game he is playing is his own: the legacy of the Trump Inc.

He plays that with the same bluster that got him into the billionaire ranks. Thus one can surely say he is playing WELL for himself…for the country, that’s another story completely.

And unfortunately for him he has also badly miscalculated the impact of his very visible shenanigans.

Although his WH visibility gives him and his corp billions in future marketing oomp and brand awareness (Ivanka et al) he and they are yet to feel the exponentially larger impact of a figurative ‘bankruptcy’ (failure) at this level.

Undoubtedly and unquestionably one will come (he had six bankruptcies during his business career after all)….when it does I hope he handles it as he did those others… Realistically with every media house in the world snooping and second-guessing every impulsive act I am unable to see how he will survive such a bankruptcy of governance!

Incidentally, if your man is several steps ahead of the game, why did he not see and understand that he could NOT hand-pick a compromised AG to shepherd any FBI investigation WITHOUT him eventually having to recuse himself or otherwise be brought before his senate colleagues under much legal distress.

How could be NOT understand that firing an FBI director and then making the rather incriminating remarks as he did would ABSOLUTELY result in a special investigation.

How could he NOT see and understand that no Pres tells senior law officers that he expects loyalty without creating problems for himself.

And how can he NOT see that continued outlandish acts (like, so strongly supporting an alleged molester) may result in Dem victory n Nov 2018, thereby ‘ENDING’ his presidency.

He has a long time till then to change his game plan however so…despite the current harm, no real foul yet.

27. The Palestine Isreali conflict will continue as it is rooted in religiuos doctrine and proplelled by Christain flame throwers who are bound and determined come what may their stakes which are grounded in archaic ancient biblical
    prophesy must be fullfilled
    These flame throwers belive Trump holds one of the keys to unfolding these Armageddon biblical prophesy hence their jubilation
    The truth being nothing of the sort would ever happen as Trump days are being numbered as president and most world leaders have lost much respect for him and his authority to lead and direct world affairs

28. listen to the wannabee moron out of his league as usual

How could be NOT understand that firing an FBI director and then making the rather incriminating remarks as he did would ABSOLUTELY result in a special investigation.

question WHAT HAS THE SPECIAL INVESTIGATION REVEALED SO FAR? THAT HIS ENEMIES ARE CORRUPT AND PLOTTED AGAINST HIM BY ILLEGAL METHODS

How could he NOT see and understand that no Pres tells senior law officers that he expects loyalty without creating problems for himself.
    WE KNOW ONLY THAT THIS IS WHAT THE MOST CORRUPT FBI DIRECTOR SAID– A MAN THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIRED FROM DAY ONE

And how can he NOT see that continued outlandish acts (like, so strongly supporting an alleged molester) may result in Dem victory n Nov 2018, thereby ‘ENDING’ his presidency.

???????may result in Dem victory n Nov 2018, thereby ‘ENDING’ his presidency.
    WISHFUL THINKING. DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR. IGNORANCE OF A WANNABEE JUST SPOUTING WORDS. HILARIOUS!
    THE BU RUM SHOP IS CERTAINLY GOOD ENTERTAINMENT!
    LONG MAY THE ENTERTAINMENT CONTINUE!

29. Sargeant ..Merry Christmas..you are right it is snowing a bit giving that real wintry feeling. Scots have invented many sports golf for one a roll in the hay for another.
    Every day I would go down my steps and get the mail usually bills, but one day there wasnt any which was odd the next day same thing I had been so used to getting it… it was strange not to ..so I phoned canada post which told me the my path was too slippery and full of snow and if it isnt corrected I would have to go to the post office to get my mail. So all trump is telling the UN is clean your phucking walk if you want anymore mail

30. LAWSON YA TOO SWEET MAN …WONDERFUL PUNCH LINE
    LET ME TELL YOU A STORY WID A PUNCH LINE TOO LOL

Many many years ago, cerca 1965 we are in Fanny Fields Chemistry class at HC doing experiments in qualitative analysis. A lad was getting no precipitate in his test tube……….so he continued pouring reagent into the test tube.

Fanny Fields sang out cum magna voce “YA DONT NEED A BUCKET , A FEW DROPS WILL DO. IF IT IS THERE……..IT WILL REACT; if it aint there it CANT REACT.

THIS IS THE CONUNDRUM THAT THE MULLING MULLER IS EXPERIENCING IN HIS SPECIAL INVESTIGATION ABOUT TRUMP……if it aint there it CANT REACT.

IN CONTRAST THE INVESTIGATORS OF JUDICIAL WATCH ET AL ARE EXPERIENCING THE TRUTH OF FANNY’S EDIC WITH RESPECT TRUMPS ENEMIES THAT IF IT IS THERE……..IT WILL REACT! ah lie? murdah!

31. Good work educating the ignorant Zoe!!

32. Good to see you about Zoe, hope the ticker is turning over ok. All the best to you.

33. @Sarge

Your thoughts on what ensues if Trump fires Mueller?

34. The Fragile State of the Mueller Investigation

At one point, Democrats were confident that the Mueller investigation would be the nail in the coffin of Trump’s presidency. Now, after the investigation has gone in circles with nothing but setbacks to show, that confidence is waning.

The biggest problem that the Mueller investigation is currently facing is the mounting evidence that it was started as nothing more than a political hit job. Former second-in-command in FBI counterintelligence, Peter Strzok was fired from the investigation after it was determined that he was a staunch anti-Trumper and Clinton supporter. However, his firing was too little, too late, and the distrust he has sewn into this investigation is likely more than Mueller will be able to bounce back from.

Now, on December 13th, CNN released what amounts to another fatal blow to the Mueller investigation, this time in the form of a text message between Peter Strzok and his mistress/co-worker Lisa Page. This text message said, “I want to believe the path you threw out for consideration in [deputy FBI director Andrew McCabe’s] office that there’s no way he [Donald Trump] gets elected — but I’m afraid we can’t take that risk. It’s like an insurance policy in the unlikely event you die before you’re 40… ”

In other words, Strzok was likening the Russian investigation to an insurance policy against the Trump Presidency. For an agent of the FBI who is involved with the biggest investigation in modern times to so openly admit his partisanship and political motivations is simply unacceptable. Now, there is much more evidence to support the theory of the FBI colluding against Trump than any evidence ever brought forth to support the theory of Trump colluding with Russia.

Of course, Strozk isn’t the only individual involved in the Mueller investigation to demonstrate outright bias and political motivation, but he is the most high-profile and the one who left the most evidence behind. In short, any trust and reliability that Mueller might have had are quickly disappearing.

It’s enough evidence, actually, for Trump to fire Mueller outright. Not that this would be the most politically wise move at this juncture. Instead, the best move for Trump at this point would be to sit back and let Mueller’s investigation continue to come apart at the seams – which is exactly what he seems to be doing.

It seems clear at this point that the Mueller investigation was compromised from the very beginning. Not only has it failed to turn up any real evidence, it has failed to remain trustworthy enough to believe even if it were able to tie Trump to Russian collusion.

This is a fact that even Democrats seem to be coming to grips with, which is why it seems they have now reverted their focus back to the unproven claims against Trump of sexual misconduct that were brought up during the election. Shortly after Democrat Al Franken was run out of the Senate for the sexual misconduct accusations made against him, Democrats quickly used their moment of moral high-ground to target Trump, with a number of Democratic senators calling for his resignation just days after Franken resigned.

Whether this new approach at taking down Trump will fail as miserably as the Mueller investigation is yet to be seen. What we do know is that if these accusations failed to keep Trump out of office during the election then the chances of them being used to successfully remove him from office now that he is already President are slim to none, especially since these accusations are decades old, unproven, and denied by the President.

Suffice it to say that Dems are growing pretty desperate in their attempts to take down Trump, and the results of their efforts continue to damage their own party more than anything else. There’s little doubt at this juncture that they will continue throwing things at the President in the hope something will stick likely for as long as Trump is in office.

If they were hoping, though, that the Mueller investigation would be what it takes to impeach Trump or force him to resign, the evidence (and lack thereof) that continues to pour out has no doubt left them sorely disappointed.

AS GOOD OLE FANNY SAID SO LONG AGO …………..IF IT IS THERE……..IT WILL REACT; if it aint there it CANT REACT. HE DIDNT LIE AT ALL

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe December 23, 2017 at 12:47 PM

“And who is God using to stand UP for Israel and Jerusalem, BOMBASTIC TRUMP, NOT a waste-of-time OBAMA, who worked against Israel for years.”

Your god in this scenario seems like some vindictive madman who enjoys playing war games with his so-called descendants of the sons of Abraham who saw Melchizedek as a king-god bigger than his desert idol Yahweh.

Isn’t Trump of Germanic stock, a race of people that Jews should be hating forever after what was done to them? It took the Germans less than 20 years to do to them what the Egyptian Pharaohs failed to do in 400.

So, if your messiah Jesus were to return like an alien in that spaceship called the Spirit in the Book of Ezekiel why would he be’ coming back’ to save the Jews by killing off the Palestinians the descendants of another bastard called Ishmael?

Shouldn’t he be returning to exact revenge for what his own people did to him by selling him out to the Romans, the worshippers of Mithra?

Remember Zoe (and your cohort of GP and 45govt), the Muslims were not around when your Jewish buddies chose a known terrorist named Barabbas over an innocent Jesus and had him subsequently crucified between two thieves.

Maybe the myth needs some updating to reflect not only the FACT that Jews still do not recognize this mythological prince of peace called Jesus but also that Muhammad is the new bad guy in the town of Jerusalem and needs to be taught a lesson in sacrifice the same way poor old Yeshua was taught about trying to overthrow a system not by vi et armis but by a sermon on the mount ‘copied’ from the teachings of Buddha.

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Thanks for the letter Ha, Ha, Austin, it came in handy.

When you want to swim with sharks, walk with lots of bandaid…

…….too many lying, fraudulent people need to learn that lesson the hard way.

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Miller….that is why I dont take the fake jews, the racist, nazi, white supremacists criminals who are nothing but murderous thieves….and their fraudulent fake christian followers seriously….ever.

38. David December 23, 2017 at 2:49 PM #
    @Sarge
    Your thoughts on what ensues if Trump fires Mueller?

Listen to Rush Limbaugh!!

39. JOHN
    AS I HAVE SAID BEFORE
    AS GOOD OLE FANNY SAID SO LONG AGO …………..
    IF IT IS THERE……..IT WILL REACT;
    if it aint there it CANT REACT.
    HE DIDNT LIE AT ALL
    MULLING MULLER IS DISCOVERING THIS TODAY

RUSH IS IN THE TOP DRAWER MAN

40. @David

If Trump fires Mueller it will be “a bridge too far” and all hell will break loose, first the Democrats will scream “cover up” and if you think US politics are rancorous now a firing of Mueller will make them downright toxic. Can you imagine a daily dose of Democrats on the talk shows shouting “cover up”? The Press would be unrelenting and Trump would lose Deputy Ag. Rosenstein who would have no option but to resign.

Remember Nixon tried to fire Archibald Cox when Watergate was heating up which led to what was termed “The Saturday Night massacre” when his Atty. Gen (Elliot Richardson) and Dep. Atty Gen (William Ruckelshaus) opted to resign rather than carry out his order. Nixon ultimately got Robert Bork who was then Solicitor Gen to fire Cox and Bork got his comeuppance later when he was nominated to fill a vacant SC seat.

Trump is impulsive (see his firing of Comey) and if he acts on impulse and fires Mueller I predict he will follow the same fate as Nixon but Trump is not a student of history and those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.

41. In case anyone is confused by the definition of the “Drive By Media” here it is.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service December 23, 2017 at 4:48 PM

Of course the Jews who are claiming the land in the ME are “fake”.

As fake as Donald Duck Trump’s toupee or Melania’s boobs’ job.

For if the Jews of today’s Israel are the descendants of the mythical Jews of the Bible then it would have to follow that their god is a black man. And you know such racial blasphemy is not ‘kosher’ among white supremacists and stupid house niggers like GP and Zoe.

For the Jews in the Bible were in slavery for over 400 years in Egypt- a non European ‘civilization’- and who were promised by some desert god some land equivalent to 40 acres for each ‘chosen’ but circumcised male with a horny camel instead of a mule to boot.

43. @Sargeant

Trump has shown many times since being elected that he does things his way. What is ironic is that a Special Counsel would not have been appointed had he not force Comey. And to boot he was appointed by the deputy AG and the decision lauded by both sides given his track record of pubic service. You cant make this stuff up!

44. @David

I didn’t even mention the daily dose of leaks that would rain down about the investigation, bottom line it will be suicidal for a President with a 35% approval rating to fire Mueller, if McConnel and Ryan believed this action was imminent they would break the land speed record getting to the WH to urge wiser heads to prevail, but as his confidant Bannon said Trump is like an 11 year old child and we know what 11 year olds are like.

45. If only Comey did not leak that document to the NYT, it has given Trump a footing to support his position regarding the FBI. What a mess!

46. LOL IMMENSE BIAS

If only Comey did not leak that document to the NYT,

HE DID IT BECAUSE HE WAS AN EVIL CORRUPT VINDICTIVE MAN
    AND HE GOT THE INVESTIGATION HE WANTED, WHICH HAS INDICATED THAT if it aint there it CANT REACT.

HE OUGHT TO HAVE BEEN FIRED ON DAY ONE FOR HIS ACTIONS IN THE HILARY INVESTIGATION— EVEN THE DEMOCRATS WANTED HIM FIRED FOR THAT

RE it has given Trump a footing to support his position regarding the FBI.
    IF COMEY MCCABE ROSEBTEIN ET ALL WERE NOT EVIL CORRUPT BASTARDS TRUMP WOULD HAVE NO “footing to support his position regarding the FBI.”

What a mess! YES IT IS. THE WHOLE ACTIVITY ABOUT THE DNC CAMPAIGN THAT IS NOW COMING TO LIGHT MIGHT NOT HAVE COME TO LIGHT IF HILARY HAD WON, OR IF COMEY HAD NOT TRIGGERED THE APPOINTMENT OF THE MULLING MULLER

AS GOOD OLE FANNY SAID SO LONG AGO …………..
    IF IT IS THERE……..IT WILL REACT; AND ALL THE WRONG HILARY AND HER CREW DID IS THERE………….AND IT IS PRECIPITATING ah lie?

if it aint there it CANT REACT.

MULLING MULLER IS DISCOVERING THIS TODAY NO COLLUSION WID RUSSIA

DO LIKE THE DEMOCRATS SIT THERE AND PRAY THAT HE WILL FIRE MULLER

MILLIONS OF AMERICAN BELIEVERS ARE PRAYING FOR TRUMP AND GOD, WHO PUT HIM THERE IS GUIDING HIM THROUGH THE SHADOW OF THE VALLEY OF EVIL. LOL

SO MOCK HIM AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE CALL HIM AS MUCH NAMES AS YOU LIKE

BUT HE PLAYING ALL HIS CRITICS LIKE A FIDDLE
    AND GIVING ME THE CHANCE TO MEK MOCK SPORT IN DE BU RUM SHOP AT WUNNAH LOL

47. This man with suspected dementia is the last hope of feckless christian-zionist-dominionists
    as their last hope for salvation.

What utter idiots!

48. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Russia owns his orange ass lock stock and dementia, he is just an uneducated, uninformed puppet and racist.

49. It’s about time that America boldly and publically stood behind her ally Israel, and did so regardless of any backlash from the most anti-Semitic collection of no-accounts the world has ever known. It’s about time America stuck a long overdue finger in the eyes of the worthless United Nations. It’s about time the U.S. kicked some a** and took some names – literally.

And it’s absolutely shameful that all the major allies of the U.S. voted to reject the move of the U.S. embassy to Jerusalem, Israel’s capital city. Shameful, but totally predictable. And for what? All to curry favor with the pitiful Palestinians? I hardly think so.

Given a healthy dose of “truth serum,” scant few of these nations’ leaders would admit to giving a crap about the Palestinian people or a “two State” solution – least of all the neighboring Arab countries who merely feign concern.

It’s an unspoken fact (although some have spoken it) that most of these nations would prefer that Israel not exist.

I only wish that Ambassador Haley would have dropped one more hammer on them. I would have loved for her to say what every Ambassador already knows. There will never be a two-State solution, because the terrorist leaders of the Palestinian people don’t want one, and never have.

Neither the PLO terrorist thug, Yasir Arafat, nor the current phony, Mahmoud Abbas, wants anything to do with peace or their own nation. Both have flatly rejected incredibly generous offers by the Israelis for a two-State solution. Three times the Palestinians have rejected land for peace offers from the Israelis. The last came in 2008 with an unprecedented offer by Israel Prime Minister Ehud Olmert, which included the internationalization of the holy sites, and an agreement on the coveted “right of return.” Abbas even admitted at the time, in an interview with the Washington Post’s Jackson Diehl, “that Olmert ‘accepted the principle’ of the ‘right of return’ of Palestinian refugees — something no previous Israeli prime minister had done.”

This, it has been said, has been one of the cornerstone requirements of the Palestinians for peace with Israel, but even this olive branch was rejected.

All these attempts by the Israelis just prove what frauds the Palestinian leaders have been, and still are. They don’t want peace with Israel and they don’t want their own nation. Why would they?

While the Palestinian people suffer, as have people of all other dictatorships, their leaders enrich themselves while blaming their supposed enemies for their peoples’ woes. The unemployment rate for Palestinian adults is almost 30% and the youth rate is closing in on 50%. Yet somehow, despite all this misfortune, their leader, Mahmoud Abbas, has amassed a fortune, one that would make the Clinton’s green with envy, of $100 million. Why would Abbas want to derail that gravy train?

I’m thrilled that the Trump administration is taking a tough stance and backing Israel. The next step should be to declare a two-solution a dead issue, as it has in fact been since 1948.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply