Dr. Hugh Sealy’s comments carried by the Nation newspaper make for compulsory reading. It is important because he is one of the few technocrats available who worked on the South Coast Sewage plant project team at start up- a plant that is failing and as a result leaking raw sewage on the popular strip frequented by tourists and locals alike from Hastings to Worthing.

The question BU has for our government of 8 years:-

1. Why was a primary treatment process considered as a “treatment” method for the South Coast plant? Why did the government not see the immediate need on assuming office to integrate a secondary and even tertiary treatment process? Didn’t they tout a waste management plan?
  2. Will the Board of the Barbados Water Authority resign after supporting then general manager Dr John Mwansa’s claim in December 2016 that the manhole covers were being removed and that there was no sewage leaking into the street and sea – read Nation report BWA denial .

Already political forces have capitalized on the issue, see embedded video. It will be an interesting general election to observe how Estwick, Lowe, Boyce et al deal with this matter of effluent leaking on the South Coast road and sea. Do not forget the stench!

178 responses to “South Coast Sewage Stink Makes for Political Capital”

1. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

What is even more disgusting is that the gov’t knows there is shit in the streets and has done nothing to clean up the mess that they created.

Tourists are stepping over shit and toilet paper. Not a gov’t worker in sight to clean up and hide their incompetence.

These sonsabitches have never given one flying fuk what goes on in the real world the rest of us have to wallow in.

2. Un freaking believable!

“But on Tuesday night in a show of confidence, officials from the BWA and a team of stakeholders that included tourism officials, health experts and engineers,

held a working dinner at Tapas, one of the popular eateries on the South Coast which has remained open despite some cancellations.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/110184/line-shift

3. @Hants

It is a way for the government and taxpayers to reward Tappas management for their patience.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…Lawson, not BU alone.

As has just been posted to Facebook, people will trek raw sewage on their shoes into Massy Worthing and everywhere else.

I would not drive up there because raw sewage will stick to the tires and be trekked right back to your house.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

You are my problem, ya half baked moron. Shite hole country up in shit, the pretensive like to lie party selling of assets without any public transparency, and you on here huffing and puffing like the cunt you are defending a bunch thieving bitches,

6. SSS. GOOD GLAD I AM YOUR PROBLEM YOU NEED A PROBLEM JACK.A.SS

7. @ David,

you are very perceptive.

However I hope every one of my fellow BU bloggers will stay away from the areas where there is sewage in the streets.

Let the big ups wallow in shit if they choose.

8. @Hants

Did a tour of the area a moment ago, the manholes are not weeping at this minute and it appears the area wash washed-down and sanitized by the authoroties. There wan not an overpowering stench.

9. So the govt and stake holders and engineers holds a meeting to discusss the sewage issue and David BU smells a stench of sinisterism involvement
    WTF wrong with you blp political yardfowls

10. @ David re ” appears the area wash washed-down and sanitized by the authorities”

Glad to see that.

Hope the continue to wash-down and sanitize until the fix the sewer.

11. @ David now you call Joy-Ann ( on my behalf ) and tell her you appreciate the actions of the BWA. lol

12. @Hants

Spoke too fast as they say, the manhole ajacent to the post office is gushing!

13. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

David December 14, 2017 at 11:09 AM #

It is a way for the government and taxpayers to reward Tappas management for their patience.

…………………………………………………………………………..

That’s only if they get paid and don’t end up holding gov’t debt for years like the rest of us out here in the sewage.

‘Ambush Credit’ is the term coined a few years ago to describe how the teefin and managerial ineptitude of this DLP gov’t is being financed by the Bajan business community.

14. The manhole at the exit of Lucky Horse Shoe is also gushing.

15. @ David,

Maybe the sewage bubbling out of the manholes is a special super clean Bajan sanitized shit.

Hopefully government ministers will walk barefoot through the sewage to show it is safe.

16. What mess! ….and the stench is unbearable around Big B……..

This is the sum total of what these dems have done…….destroyed Barbados.

Barbados has suffered but not these bastards!

17. I am NOT a health professional. Just cut/pasting.

” DISEASES INVOLVING SEWAGE
    The following is a list of diseases caused by sewage or sewage contaminated water

https://www.in.gov/isdh/22963.htm

18. Or better still……….swim in it, Hants.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David December 14, 2017 at 11:40 AM
    “Did a tour of the area a moment ago, the manholes are not weeping at this minute and it appears the area wash washed-down and sanitized by the authoroties. There wan not an overpowering stench.”

Not from what has been observed by others.

You better check by the KFC stretch of the south coast strip and you might just see the weeping willows at work but not producing tears of love of the environment and concern for the economy but shit-infested water which will eventually find its way onto human bodies while trying to make it into the air and sea.

Why not try the method Hants et al proposed of utilizing the sewage trucks at night to pump some of the build-up waste from the lines via the same weeping manholes in order to reduce the pressure on the distribution system?

Let the trucks be the night slop buckets until this massive problem is rectified and a long-term solution found to save the country’s economy from total collapse.

Are these university-educated guys so out of their depth of competence that they cannot apply a small dose of commonsense to the problem-solving process?

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yeah….let them all go walk around in it and track all that poop bacteria into their own houses, show everyone how educated they are.

21. Hants December 14, 2017 at 4:35 PM #
    THIS IS THE MOST USEFUL PIECE OF INFORMATION ON THIS WHOLE TOPIC
    VERY GOOD SIR

22. I have not been in the sea for donkey years.

Once I figured out how and where water flows I kept out.

In the 80’s I started avoiding the West Coast but kept going to Miami Beach.

But as the 90’s progressed I gave that up too.

I always avoided the East Coast but because that sea “don’t have neither back door”!!

Then a walking buddy, an ENT doctor, told me when a tourist presents in agony with ear infections he asks where they went in the sea and the answer is invariably Brown’s Beach just confirming my decisions.

I don’t want anything like that in my gut!!

I have always been conscious of water as from a boy my father would not let us drink from the tap and boiled and filtered all of our water in the 50’s and 60’s.

As a civil engineer in the oilfields of Venezuela he had seen a thing or three!!

23. Two pics that show the mind bogingly short sighted and utterly lackadaisical attitude Bajans and our government have displayed with regards to public sanitation and cleanliness and towards taking care of the same environment we spend millions of dollars per anum begging overseas visitors to come and enjoy (at no small expense) for their holidays.

Foul Bay parking lot December 11th 2016:
    https://1drv.ms/i/s!AkGvUEpnGMjepku-JgYTdBjO3qPC

Foul Bay parking lot December 12th 2017:
    https://1drv.ms/i/s!AkGvUEpnGMjepkpCiKC40aDOg6eo

Is it really any wonder there is now liquidized sh!t flowing in the streets?

24. why do you think it is called foul bay.?

25. Manholes at Worthing and Lanterns spewing filth today. Not a red warning cone in sight in an attempt to divert tourists to the other side of the road and relative safety. This bunch of scunts could not organise a freaking brothel in Nelson Street and the total absence of any attempts to avoid serious contamination prove what complete jackasss scunts we have running the country and talking pure shitee on here.

As for the piece of shitee bossman, he is about as much use as the toilet paper in the streets. Call the election and fu#k off out of our lives.

This whole situation is embarrassing to the entire country (except of course the acs, Cadogans and other a-holes who think a tremendous jobby is being done by their idols).

26. AND ONE OF THEIR BEST PUBLIC HEALTH DOCTORS NOW RESIDING IN FLORIDA WONDERS HOW IT IS THAT LONDON BRIDGE HAS BROKEN DOWN SO LOL LOL OH SHITE

27. @ Georgie Porgie,

THEY DON’T NEED YOU.

JUST THOSE WHO WILL DINE WITH THEM IN HI FALUTIN RESTAURANTS SURROUNDED BY

SHIT. lol

28. Barbados likes to be lumped with the “First World” countries, in any “First World” country this situation would have merited a “State of Emergency” but in Turd World Barbados things go on as usual seemingly without any urgency to resolve this situation.

Christmas is a coming
    The politicians are fat
    Please put a Frankie W in a poor man’s hat
    If you don’t have a Frankie a nip bottle will do
    Anything to get me through this foul- smelling stew

29. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/110184/line-shift

“But on Tuesday night in a show of confidence, officials from the BWA and a team of stakeholders that included tourism officials, health experts and engineers, held a working dinner at Tapas”

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ mitchlans December 15, 2017 at 4:04 PM

Now what else can be expected from a bunch of deceitful lying pimping low-class lowlife wild boys who have demonstrated complete incompetence in all aspects of managing Barbados?

Just look at the ‘blackened’ mouth of the man responsible for the environment and that should give you a damn good insight into the stinking rotten situation the country is up against.

The only thing left for the country to endure is some outbreak of diseases to destroy the fragile tourism industry and a cordon sanitaire in the form of a travel ban is slapped on Barbados.

Don’t be surprised if the utility poles start to fall from the constant undermining of the road arising from the filthy shit-infested water.

Poor Barbados! A good country with easy-going folks but now saddled with a lying, dangerous dysfunctional party.

31. Hants December 15, 2017 at 4:34 PM #
    @ Georgie Porgie,THEY DON’T NEED YOU.

AGREED HANTS ESPECIALLY WHEN ONE CONSIDERS YOUR STIRLING CONTRIBUTION AT Hants December 14 , 2017 at 4:35 PM #

WE NEED TO RAISE MEN LIKE DR K R RAO AND SIR MAURICE BYER AND HENKHITH BELL FROM THE GRAVE

32. the waitresses in the area now ask what would you like to ordure

33. John drank filtered and boiled water.I have always had mine straight from the tap.So did my mum up to when she passed in her 90’s.I think our supply from the tap was less contaminated in the 50’s and 60’s anyway and one should not compare Barbados health standards to Venezuela’s or any South American country for that matter.A chemist once advised that boiling potable water removes its natural nutrients.

34. WHAT ARE THE NATURAL NUTRIENTS IN WATER

35. YA DOES READ SOME SHITE PUN BU THOUGH

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Where is the dumb ac yardfowl to call this fake.

“Uproar over south coast stench
    Added by Barbados Today on December 15, 2017.
    Saved under Column
    1Save
    In what pretty much seems like a case of deja vu, the south coast sewage problem has resurfaced and the authorities for some time appeared to be at a loss as to how to handle the recurring messy situation.

Tourists who had planned to stay in the area started cancelling bookings. Businesses were suffering and homeowners were clearly fed up. Many called for urgent action to be taken particularly after the popular local business, Chicken Barn, was forced to close its Worthing branch because of the stench emanating from overflowing raw sewage nearby.

A screenshot of concerned visitors cancelling their trips and advising others to do so on Trip Advisor and growing concerns about health and safety, prompted top hotel and tourism business officials to appeal for Government to deal with the problem urgently.”

37. WWW wuh yuh call me name sooooo early in de mawning fuh
    I ulreedy speek muh peace on de pit toilet. The shit toilet started out wrong now end up wrong
    Btw plese tek muh name out yuh ra.ss hole mout.yuh pissy ram goat.

38. lawson December 15, 2017 at 6:42 PM #

The English too have a problem with the language. With China now the biggest English-speaking nation in the World, in 25 years’ time we will all be speaking Chinese-English – even the Glaswegians. See a new book Languages After Brexit.
    So it is not surprising that Bajans have a struggle with the language. One regular contributor to BU struggles o much, he believes that using ‘big’ words is a mark of his education. He is so wrong. It is really a mark of his limited use of the language.

39. Uh a pity bajans got soooo muh talent and deh waste it doing shi te
    A musical recitation about barbados problems. now pray tell how that stupid Xmas jjngle does any thing to improve barbados social and economic enviroment
    Some patriotic a.ss hole dat

40. This jingle has the Bajan WhatsApp busy this morning.

41. Theophlius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophlius Gazerts

A happy and wonderful morning to all (that includes Hal).

I had to look up ‘ordure’ and given the state of things on the South Coast, she may have a better command of the language than us.

42. Theophlius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophlius Gazerts

As with legal expertise, I have no engineering expertise but I will never allow that to stop me pontificating on matters in these areas.

If it is a backup and it seems to be, what about going to the head of the block up and trying to snake and pump water under high pressure through the line?

What about asking Bajans not to flush or use water after 6:00 p.m and then turning off all water between 11:00 p.m and 3:00 a.m and having workmen work on the problem in the early hours of the morning?

What about harnessing the knowledge of John? This is sewage not history.

We know the problems, let us try to invent solutions.

43. Theophlius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophlius Gazerts

Is UWI producing engineers who can address these problems? Can the government in the Caribbean look to UWI for solutions or must we look elsewhere?

Every shit is connected. The failure of the education system, the useless ministers, the wukkup mentality, the sale of the islands to others. The whole island need a therapist.

44. Just did a quick inspection of the South Coast strip, our most treasured tourist location. The manhole at the exit of Chicken Barn (forced to close doors) and entrance of Lucky Horse Shoe is gushing and an awful stench offends the air.

45. Wuh yu thing with all the technical engineers working for a resolution if your recommendation was possible some thing of that process would not have been done
    The long and short is the pit toilet too small to hold any more shite

46. Theophlius Gazerts Avatar
    Theophlius Gazerts

Tell me it was done. Don’t tell me how brigtht wunna is. Wunna brite, but not smart.
    Somebody have to get their hands dirty with shit, instead of bathing in it and saying there is no shit.
    Action needed… not theory…

47. What if you had a sewage plant with the capacity AND it was not efficiently maintained what do you think would be the outcome? All the more reason why the South Coast treatment plant should have been better attended in the last 8 years, now they are forced to with a General Election on the horizon.

#JAs

48. This is a premier tourist area with a sense of intimacy that the West Coast can’t match, as I stated before nothing less than a “State of Emergency” or whatever the Bajan equivalency should be employed to remedy this situation. The “piece meal” approach to the initial problem didn’t work and it seems to have made things worse, the island’s good reputation is in acute danger of being scuttled and it will take years to rebuild.

What comes next after we have killed the Goose which laid the only egg?

49. Good news Sargeant, there was a sighting of Minister Denis Low yesterday, he announced the appointment of 100+ SSA workers and promised to rollout a comprehensive plan to wash down and sanitize the shitty area. It is the silly season!

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply