Dr. Hugh Sealy’s comments carried by the Nation newspaper make for compulsory reading. It is important because he is one of the few technocrats available who worked on the South Coast Sewage plant project team at start up- a plant that is failing and as a result leaking raw sewage on the popular strip frequented by tourists and locals alike from Hastings to Worthing.

The question BU has for our government of 8 years:-

1. Why was a primary treatment process considered as a “treatment” method for the South Coast plant? Why did the government not see the immediate need on assuming office to integrate a secondary and even tertiary treatment process? Didn’t they tout a waste management plan?
  2. Will the Board of the Barbados Water Authority resign after supporting then general manager Dr John Mwansa’s claim in December 2016 that the manhole covers were being removed and that there was no sewage leaking into the street and sea – read Nation report BWA denial .

Already political forces have capitalized on the issue, see embedded video. It will be an interesting general election to observe how Estwick, Lowe, Boyce et al deal with this matter of effluent leaking on the South Coast road and sea. Do not forget the stench!

178 responses to “South Coast Sewage Stink Makes for Political Capital”

1. @ chickens ,,,,,i do not read fake news have no interest, but then again different strokes for different folks carry on smartly

2. David December 18, 2017 at 10:29 PM #

Good to see this south cost sewage mess has flushed general manager of the BWA out of the woodwork. David Estwick obviously prefers to keep a low profile at this time with a general election around the corner.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    also the sewer mess has flushed millions of dollars out of the taxpayers pocket because of a system which was flawed from its inception

Did not Minister Estwick spoke about the plaguing issues of the system recently and suggested that the system should be replaced , There is no doubt that Estwick is not an engineer and well not schooled in that technology and would rightfully give way to the experts to give updated information
    Election what ?

3. It’s a simple question that requires only a “YES” or “NO” response.

4. It is good that after 9 years in office they were forced to clean up the shit albeit taking a reactive approach. Will they pay the prize? tick tock tick tock

5. Why do continue in your attempts to mislead this forum with untruths?

You know the system was NOT flawed from its inception……….yet you continue to push that line of argument, attempting to absolve this inept DLP administration of any blame for the mess on the South Coast and lack of maintenance.

You agreed with Richard Sealy when he said Worthing’s beach should not have been closed on December 3, 2016, and suggested sea bathers had nothing to fear because reports of raw sewage leaking into the sea were totally untrue.

6. The point being missed in all this vote buying talk, is via transfers and subsidies, and keeping the bloated public service at full employment, this administration has already bought, potentially, more votes than it needs.
    AND, they have used the taxpayers money, whether in taxes collected or debt amassed, to pay for their advantage. And I haven’t even mentioned Party debt amassed.
    Not that certain opposition parties are incapable of similar.
    I don’t know one shiite about politics, but am a decent gambler. I picked Trump at 13-1, when the Republicans had more candidates than I can recall. Not that I liked Trump, he was a good bet. As were the Republicans when one viewed the Democrat record of forming 3 consecutive wins.
    Don’t count the D’s out. They don’t deserve to win, but are a good bet at 5-1 or longer.

7. The shit was spewing out of the manholes at Lanterns this afternoon. Is there any activity to be seen anywhere, other than the same shite emanating from the mouths of the politicians that the situation is being dealt with?

8. David: I can see serious health issues by Massy Supermarket in Worthings. The driveway leading to the supermarket which incidentally is the entrance to the store has sewage water where customers traverse after parking their vehicles.

Shoes carries endless germs, and when people walk between the aisles and place little kids in the same cart with dirty shoes after walking through the dirty water. Is that healthy? This afternoon the Health Minister talking of companies placing disinfectant waters at the door to confront any health issues. Is he fuh real?

When people goes shopping, the majority wear from rubber to leather slippers. Are you asking these people to place exposed feet in disinfectant waters? Hello Mr. Minister, Are you serious with such advice?

This Supermarket should be closed. Massy cannot think about the mighty dollar and forget about serious Health Issues. Ministries official cannot turn a blind eye on this shitty scenario. Schools close if a lil smoke permeate the school surroundings, Government offices close if a little stinch comes into the office. Cud dear, close the damn supermarket.

9. @TMW

Let us continue to pray nothing bad happens. Dr. John Boyce declared at a press conference today that it is not a ‘quick fix’.

10. Who de Rass hole would build a pit toilet in a swamp and expecstore shit..The politics of corruption had to be the only engineers behind the planting of a pit toilet in swamp land.

11. Who de Rass hole would build a pit toilet in swamp land and expect it to store shit.
    The politics of corruption were the one and only engineers to build this sh. it house

12. Ouch ac: Stop misleading people, yuh mekkin’ yuhself look stupid. A sewage plant can be built on solid rock, or swampy land. People looking for a solution, not the constant shit talk permeating from your mouth.

13. @ David “Dr. John Boyce declared at a press conference today that it is not a “quick fix.”

Is he implying that there is no temporary fix that can be applied as a matter of urgency ?

So SHIT WILL CONTINUE TO FLOW IN HASTINGS!

What a Christmas present from the government.

14. Tell me why you are the one that talking shite.go abd look upbthe definition of swanp land and also find out its use and purposes

15. Any word on the Lift Station to transfer the effluent to the city treatment plant? Hon. John Boyce should not be given the sewage update alone, This is a collaborative effort and should have included Dr. Lowe and Dr. Estwick.

Hants: The sewage is also in Worthings by the Massy Supermarket.

The wrong people are doing all the talking whilst the ones responsible shopping for Christmas.

16. This Supermarket should be closed. Massy cannot think about the mighty dollar and forget about serious Health Issues. (quote)

Why should Massy close their store? The big question is where are our environmental and health inspectors? They are the ones that should be closing all supermarkets, restaurants and shops in the vicinity until the mess is cleared up.
    I say again: outsource the management of BWA. The management is incompetent.

17. ac: you said these words “Who de Rass hole would build a pit toilet in swamp land and expect it to store shit.” Do you think before you write. It is better for a sewage plant to be build close to the availability of water. We are not dealing with flour. My response to you close.

18. RE Why should Massy close their store? The big question is where are our environmental and health inspectors? They are the ones that should be closing all supermarkets, restaurants and shops in the vicinity until the mess is cleared up.

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT HAL
    The big question is where are our environmental and health inspectors? They are the ones that should be closing all supermarkets, restaurants and shops in the vicinity until the mess is cleared up.

19. It might be better for the politics include but the enviroment has rules that must be obeyed or else the end result whereof everyone would feel the pain

20. By strategically positioning ‘bricks’ for customers to walk on and making an effort to ensure that customers doesn’t step in do-do, Massy should be able to keep its door open.

21. Now getting up to speed….
    Did anyone tell the blogmaster “Congrats on over 1 million comments”. No decimals there so even Stinkliar can get it right.

22. Building a pit Toilet on Swamp land was not the answer and the ongoing deluge of shite in the street makes that point

23. RE TheGazer December 22, 2017 at 5:33 PM #
    By strategically positioning ‘bricks’ for customers to walk on and making an effort to ensure that customers doesn’t step in do-do, Massy should be able to keep its door open.

I GUESS THAT YOU ARE NOW A PROFESSOR OF PUBLIC HEALTH?
    SIR KENNETH STANDARD AND SIR MAURICE BYER MUST BE TURNING IN THEIR GRAVES.

24. @GP
    🙂 🙂
    Thanks/

25. One of the worst thing you can do is to mention names because you may omit some of the people that you like…

A wonderful Christmas to all and that includes ac, GP, Zoe, VH, John, Haha, Walter, Artax Jeff, Caswell, Bush Tea, the Simple one, Miller, Well well (publish the Haha emails) Sargeant, Gabriel, Mr Hants himself, SSS, the Observer from up North, the Chadster, Wiliam , DPD, PLT, Money Brain, PDYUR …..

Blogmaster David gets special mention.

Had to call a few names, for though most are just a name on a screen, you have kept me company throughout the year,

Keep up the good work…

26. TheGazer December 22, 2017 at 5:33 PM #
    By strategically positioning ‘bricks’ for customers to walk on and making an effort to ensure that customers doesn’t step in do-do, Massy should be able to keep its door open.

Stop the Gazing my friend. If the sewage water is in the driveway, how de hell will vehicles be able to get to the car park? Would you place bricks across the highway in order for pedestrians to cross the road? The MOH came up with a nonsensical idea about sanitizing foot bath. Gimme ah break!!!!!!

Have a Merry Christmas my friend.

27. Happy holidays Gazer