Dear Prime Minister

I find myself in the unenviable position where politicians from both political parties see me as an enemy. As such, I expect attacks from time to time. However I do not expect or appreciate being attacked or lied upon from the floor of the Honourable House of Assembly, by a minister of the Crown who knew that he was lying while he was speaking.

On Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Minister Stephen Lashley stated in the House that the Rock Hall Freedom Village Project is being held up by my brother’s refusal to move to allow completion. Further, he alleged that I bore responsibility for the hold-up.

Read full letter – Stephen Lashley is a Bold Faced Liar

111 responses to “A Caswell Franklyn Article – Stephen Lashley is a Bold Faced Liar”

1. @David
    Why would a civil servant leak Maryanne Redman’s letter of resignation? It seems some of them are willing to ignore the oath if the cause is one of political expediency?
    +++++++++
    I am beginning to suspect that you are not a Bajan.

If you were a Bajan you would know that there is no expectation of privacy or confidentiality when everybody knows everybody and people “malicious” or “gipsy” whatever the word is, people would leak things for …… well because they can…… you just lucky that someone hasn’t leaked as to who the real “David” is, tell muh you got compromising pictures on them?

Man move on

2. “Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler said that it is the job of the Supervisor of Insurance to whisper to the management of a company that something is not in place, so fix it.

In other words, insurance supervision is falling down on the job. This in simple English spells incompetence.. But is the supervisor qualified enough to do tis with authority?”

Didn’t Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Thompson long after the purported incompetence of the then Supervisor of Insurance declared CLICO to be a well managed company and proceeded to pump 10 million dollars into this well managed company

3. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@charles skeete December 14, 2017 at 1:12 PM “Didn’t…Minister of Finance Thompson declare CLICO to be a well managed company and proceed to pump 10 million dollars into this well managed company.”

David Thompson was Minister of Finance because he appointed himself Minister of Finance. Duhhh!!! Being Minister of Finance does not mean that the Minister knows anymore about Finance than the average Joe down the street. David Thompson was a lawyer with no formal training n Finance. People ought not to have listened to his declarations about CLICO.

Do I take advice about mechanics from my doctor?

Do I call my lawyer when my toilet is leaking?

No.

4. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@Artax December 12, 2017 at 10:20 PM “I recall as a boy, being with my father as he drove through villages on Sundays, and the smell of rice and peas, baked pork or chicken filling the atmosphere was the norm.”

So while you and your daddy was drivin’ ’bout, who was home at you cooking the of rice and peas, baked pork or chicken?

5. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. December 14, 2017 at 10:15 PM #

“So while you and your daddy was drivin’ ’bout, who was home at you cooking the of rice and peas, baked pork or chicken?”

Dr. SS PhD

The maid.

6. charles skeete December 14, 2017 at 1:12 PM #

“Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler said that it is the job of the Supervisor of Insurance to whisper to the management of a company that something is not in place, so fix it.

All is not lost. For years I have been saying on BU that the Clico problem was a regulatory and supervisory one. . In his eight years in the job, Mr Sinckler has learned one key lesson: supervisors are there to supervise. Better late than never.
    Now what is he doing about it? Incompetence, political and administrative, is the cause of most of our problems.

7. Hal Austin December 15, 2017 at 4:32 AM #

“For years I have been saying on BU that the Clico problem was a regulatory and supervisory one.”

@ Hal Austin

Okay……. point taken.

I agree the regulators in Barbados, and by extension Trinidad & Tobago, cannot be absolved from blame.

And according to Wayne Charles Soverall in his working paper: “CLICO’s Collapse: Poor Corporate Governance:”

“The corporate collapse of CLICO also highlighted the critical need for legislation and regulation to KEEP PACE with the RAPIDLY EVOLVING OPERATIONS of financial institutions. This is REQUIRED to ENSURE that regional regulators have SUPERVISORY AUTHORITY over the operations of the conglomerate or holding company structure which has become the preferred form of organization for large financial institutions such as CLICO.”

However, surely you must agree that CLICO’s high risk business model, irresponsible/inadequate management practices and poor corporate governance were also contributing factors that led to the demise of that insurance conglomerate.

But…….. are you implying if the Supervisor of Insurance had enforced the “regulatory and supervisory” requirements, the financial irregularities by CLICO’s top management, as uncovered by the Deloitte forensic audit, would not have occurred (i.e. Leroy Parris, Duprey et al DISHONESTLY manipulating the system to enrich themselves)?

Then………I guess you’re also suggesting to BU that, CLICO’s subsidiary, CIL, selling over 800 insurance policies after being ordered by the Supervisor of Insurance NOT to ENGAGE in that activity…………..

………………. was a “regulatory and supervisory” problem as well.

8. @ Artax
    “…..who was home at you cooking the of rice and peas, baked pork or chicken?”
    Dr. SS PhD….The maid.
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Wha Plax!!! ….. Six!

Sweet!!!

9. Prosecutor Sergeant Rudy Pilgrim informed the District “A” Magistrates’ Court that officers from the Suppressing Criminal Activity Threatening Society (SCATS) unit were on patrol on Broad Street when they saw the 24-year-old wearing a camouflage hat.

A society in decay worrying about someone wearing a camouflage hat. If this pettiness was not serious we would think it was a joke.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

You are so right. Also, the possession and wearing of only certain types camouflage is illegal. These clowns ranging from magistrates to police officer have criminalised the possession of all types of camouflage.

In order to constitute an offence the person must be wearing clothing made of camouflage material or in possession of camouflage material of the type worn by the Barbados Defence Force or one that is so close that it is likely to deceive. Or camouflage that is worn by the military of another country.

I have never seen or heard any evidence presented from a representative of the military of another country being called to convict an accused wearer of camouflage.

I am firmly of the view that accused persons, who are unrepresented need to be protected from some of these overzealous, or as David Thompson called them foolish, magistrates.

Earlier in the year, I went to Cuba and people wearing camouflage all over the place.

11. Was not the Clico collapse the result of wholesale theft of policy holders funds and did this phenomenon not occur in Guyana,Trinidad,Tobago,Barbados,all the Eastern Caribbean States,Jamaica and The Bahamas?Was it lack of oversight in all these separate and independent jurisdictions?Are We to understand that not one jurisdiction was on the ball?What is/was the status of Anguilla,BVI,Turks&Caicos,Bermuda,The Caymans,Surinam?