Heather Cole

As shocking as the title of this article is, it is nothing but the truth; the two sided truth. First of all, on October 10, 2017, the Cabinet of the Government of Barbados discussed the use of RH anti- littering signs at bus stops and reached a decision that the signage was offensive and were to be removed. The Minister of Transport duly informed the Board of Management which hastily enforced the decision to remove the signs. The signs were an opportunity to emphatically create awareness of littering on the island as the letters had resonated to become a powerful marketing tool.

Prior to this decision reaching the public domain, and the signage at the bus stops being removed, on **, the Barbados Underground ran the most successful marketing campaign in the history of Barbados, with an article under the title Remove This RH Sign – Chinese Sign Greets Visitors to Sam Lord’s Castle in Barbados and signage in Chinese at the construction site of the Sam Lords Castle, was removed in less than 24 hours.

Now that governments decision is now in the public domain, one has to wonder of its intent. The abbreviation can be interpreted to mean the most unique Barbadian words on the planet. It is quite strange that they had only then realized that those words which were mostly likely in existence since the day of slavery were offensive enough to merit a discussion in Parliament. They came to power found those words and will no doubt leave office and those words will still in be existence in Barbados until perpetuity because they are already ingrained in the Barbadian psyche. That being the case government banning the signs was just a time wasting exercise.

Secondly, in terms of what is found to be offensive, the people of Barbados have to date gathered a litany of acts this administration has committed that they deem offensive, yet, the government has not issued directives for remedies. The acts are wide and varied and need not not be mentioned in this article. When one considers that the Minister who has responsibility for Transportation sat in that Cabinet meeting and did not have the same sense of urgency to fix the ton of problems that the Transport Board faces one finds his failure to act offensive.

The Board does not have enough buses to supply a reliable service to the public. The current fleet of buses is aging and in a state of despair not even fit to be on the roads. They are leaky, with torn seating and constantly break down for repairs. There has been misuse of funds and staff under duress caused by poor working condition. There was a recent island wide strike by the bus operators. Then there is the deplorable state of the roads which are filled with pot holes and even the provision of a road for the people of White Hall facilitating their commute to and from work. One can therefore be at a loss that of all the things that are on his plate seeking urgent action, that the Minister responsible for Transport had the audacity and the time to take action to remove signs from 3 bus stops. It is indeed a sign of the RH times.

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO SERIOUS ABOUT THE MESSAGE OF THE ANTI-LITTERING CAMPAIGN, BUMPER STICKERS CAN BE OBTAINED BY SUBMITTING YOUR NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS TO “ADOPT A STOP” BY IN-BOXING THEM ON FACEBOOK.

193 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – A Sign of the RH Times”

1. If we want to talk sh!t, then this video is relevant. Makes the point that it is safe to reuse human waste as fertilizer if it is composted first, and the compost pile is monitored to ensure it reaches a high enough temperature to kill off any disease causing organisms that might have contaminated the raw poop.

This talk was given at a local TEDx event, produced independently of the TED Conferences. Dr. Sasha Kramer provides the context for conducting waste transformation in Haiti. She shares the life cycle of this transformation process, from food, to waste, and back to food, while describing the important role of microbes and scientific measurement of the quality of the newly-created EcoSan compost. This model of transformation of waste into resources makes a positive impact on ecological nutrient cycles in a truly sustainable way.

Dr. Sasha Kramer is the Co-Founder and Executive Director of Sustainable Organic Integrated Livelihoods (SOIL) http://www.oursoil.org, an organization that promotes dignity, health and sustainable livelihoods through the transformation of wastes into resources. Sasha is an ecologist and human rights advocate who has been living and working in Haiti since 2004. She received her Ph.D. in Ecology from Stanford University in 2006 and co-founded SOIL that same year. Sasha is currently an Adjunct Professor of International Studies and a Visiting Scholar at the Center for Latin American Studies at the University of Miami. She is also a National Geographic Emerging Explorer, Architect of the Future with the Waldzell Institute and a Schwab Foundation Social Entrepreneur of the Year for 2014.

2. The NK Army soldier who recently defected to SK was riddled with bullets by his comrades, the SK doctors who operated on him discovered that he was also riddled with intestinal parasites. The theory is that because of sanctions NK is unable to obtain fertilizer and has turned to “night soil” to fertilize its agricultural fields hence the presence of a squadron of 11 inch intestinal worms in its infantryman.

3. Angela Skeete,
    You made a reference to the article “promoting disobedience of the law” and I merely sought to remind you Michael Carrington’s actions both past and present are also promoting disobedience of the law. I was not speaking in the past tense with reference to Michael Carrington. Don’t you read the news? Another former client has taken him to court with regards to their money.

I certainly would not label myself as a “political opportunist or a wanne bee politician.” Neither have my efforts failed. I would have been a failure if the Cahill Plant had been built. I would have been a failure if the Chinese sign was still standing outside of Sam Lord’s Castle. My lack of failure is what caused you to read and respond to this article. I personally would not read what a failure writes. If I sit over 500 miles away and can make an impact, imagine what could happen if I lived in Barbados?

For your information the failures are the PM, holding the #1 post on the planet. The only leader with 20 downgrades to his name. The only leader that would tell the Speaker of the House to get a lawyer. The only leader to give the Speaker of the House a RH license to commit the same crime again. The man reacts as though he is lost in Chauncer’s Canterbury Tales ans speaks as though he is some errant Knight from King Arthur’s Round Table. He is out of touch with the Bajan reality.
    The next biggest failure is the The Minister of Finance holding ,the record of the most conceptualized failures of any MOF of Barbados. Every plan fails. By the time his tenure is up he would have reached plan Z, thereby using up the entire alphabet. For the past 8 years he has been trying to turn some corner that apparently only exists in his mind. The only Minister of Finance who for 8 years has been trying to tax a small open economy out of a self- imposed recession. The only Minister of Finance known since economics was a discipline that does not know what taxation is supposed to do. He was a failure from the start. He cannot understand mathematics so he could only fail at economics. The pathetic performance of this Administration has been one big failure. They have achieved nothing but have taken the country back 60 years. They are the ones whom you should label “political opportunist and wanne bee politicians,” to them it is just a get rich scheme. Most of all none of Stuart’s team has not even one single clue or idea on solving the problems of Barbados. If they had, the island would not be in this position today.

4. @ Artax
    As a concerned tax payer, I’m hoping wunnuh RH pay CBC, so as not to accumulate more RH debt.
    ha ha ha ha
    wahhhhhh!!!!
    Murdah!!

5. No surprise that the Barbados Cabinet would not only discuss the RH sign, but prioritise the matter – and expedite action.

This is probably the first and only matter before this cabinet that they actually have been able to discuss fully and openly.
    No fractions or decimals
    No multiplication needed
    No pressure from jerkham, baloney KOW or Bizzy..
    No finders fees involved – so discussion could be open an honest
    No need to setup any shell companies in Guernsey , Bahamas or St Lucia

Shiite…. this must have come as SUCH a relief to these brass bowl morons ..to at last be able to discuss a Right Honourable subject to their heart’s content – and ACTUALLY take action too boot….
    Bushie is surprised it was not televised…

Congrats to the Big Froon and his cabinet.
    An achievement at last…

6. Dr SS PhD

As GP would say bovine excrement in reference to your post to me…..read my above to Sargeant.

It was common in Bim to get worms from eating pork until the cause was eradicated and the islands had it much longer.

7. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

angela Skeete November 21, 2017 at 1:53 PM #
    From all legal standards can anyone state if the person had obtained permission to place the RH poster on what is legally govt property
    I would assess that unless one has obtained such permission using govt property to promote or adverised is deemed illegal and on such grounds the govt has a right to remove by any means necessary subject to the law of governance

………………………………………………………………………………….

You are a fucking idiot.

The bus shelters were provided by private enterprise to the people of Barbados at no cost to gov’t, in exchange for the owner’s right to rent advertising space thereon.

This was a simple and effective way for the private sector to provide a good or service that gov’t could not afford and to the benefit of all concerned at private sector initial and ongoing expense.

It was a deal done between a Bajan citizen and a sensible BLP gov’t that actually understands commerce.

The owner of the shelter decided to forego the advertising income and provide a public service message instead.

The only way the gov’t could have forced the removal of any sign on any privately owned bus shelter is if it was deemed to be offensive. That is what your teefin idiot cabinet decided; that the sign was more offensive to Bajans and visitors than the littering and illegal dumping they are doing nothing to stem but actually encouraging through the implementation of the Tipping Fee.

Crawl back in the gutter from whence you came.

8. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service

that`s what i know….the bus shelters ARE private property, given to and maintained as a public service, the owners are very well known, most of those shelters are assembled and repaired at the top of the hill , Prospect Rd in St. James, i have seen them myself.

yardfowls are too dumb to be free.

9. @VH
    So what if pork is responsible for some intestinal parasites? Does that mean that using human waste as fertilizer is unlikely to cost illness and parasites? Are the North Koreans fed a diet with a heavy concentration of pork? Perhaps you should read what I wrote as in “the theory is that because of sanctions NK is unable to obtain fertilizer and has turned to “night soil” to fertilize its agricultural fields”.

10. I read long ago of a people in Papua New Guinea I think,who used pork in their daily diet and as a bartering commodity in the absence of money.There were many old people in that picture I saw.

11. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

if night soil is not composted…the negatives are ugly, the blogs are for educating people to pros and cons of practices, because the information is available.

……..the use of unprocessed human feces as fertilizer is a risky practice as it may contain disease-causing pathogens. Nevertheless, in some developing nations it is still widespread. Common parasitic worm infections, such as ascariasis, in these countries are linked to night soil use in agriculture, because the helminth eggs are in feces and can thus be transmitted from one infected person to another person (fecal-oral transmission of disease)…….

12. Frustrated . Advertising and advertisers are not above the law

13. “………the blogs are for educating people to pros and cons of practices, because the information is available.”

Yes, WW&C

…………and the information you posted can be found on a few web-sites, including the following:

https://www.revolvy.com/main/index.php?s=Night%20soil

“The use of unprocessed human feces as fertilizer is a risky practice as it may contain disease-causing pathogens. Nevertheless, in some developing nations it is still widespread. Common parasitic worm infections, such as ascariasis, in these countries are linked to night soil use in agriculture, because the helminth eggs are in feces and can thus be transmitted from one infected person to another person (fecal-oral transmission of disease).”

“Cut N Paste At Your Service…..”

Hahahahaha!!!!!

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Art….where do you think I got the info…and why do you think I said that it was available, I have noticed a trend on BU where uninformed people want you to take everything they say at face value and when you dont, they get angry…..because they believe they can still talk down to others and spread lies and misinformation among the population.

All information can be accessed, cut and pasted to inform the bloggeratti and expose the frauds..

You got a problem with that…

If I cant find the info on the internet…I go deeper because some databases are very accessible. ..

You got a problem with that.

I have learned to take nothing some people say on blogs as truth….without researching it myself..

You got a problem with that.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And I have no problem with you checking the info I posted…..and finding another site that has the same info….and copying and pasting to BU…it just confirms what I said….

Thanks for your copy and paste service.

When you see I dont put quotation marks…it’s because I was at that time on a device that would not allow me to without screwing up the format.

16. I made a joke using your “Cut N’ Paste At Your Service….”

“You got a problem with that.”

Hahahahaha

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol……….Art, ya really need to stop…lol

18. Sargeant

Are you aware that all things depending on source and handling can cause illness.

All faecal matter from whatever source must be allowed to breakdown/processed over varied periods of time and under different conditions……one of the most toxic to plants when fresh is chicken manure and the most benign when fresh is that from grass fed sheep.

19. Gabriel

I take it that you are aware that prior to the coming of the europeans the indigenous inhabitants of these areas of the western hemisphere were not exposed to the diseases of the colonials and died in there numbers when so exposed.

The indigeneous inhabitants of that pacific territory likewise would not have been exposed to this european parasite and so they would have had disease free pork to eat.

Note the portuguese left wild pigs in Bim which would have had the parasite.

20. When it comes to law and order the blp yardfowls would present any thing to support chaos even when it involves ideal chattet
    The fact that those bus shelters are donations does not give lead way to nuisance or annoying logos or captions in any form
    Society as it is presently has lost it moral compass firstly with an abandoment of what is right or wrong and total respect
    No wonder the youth of today are out of control and have no regards or respect for good principles
    Here a bus bench logo with an intent to adress an issue of littering lost its respect for an audience of minors who would be as much captivated and inquisitive of what the
    logo means
    Added to all this are the political yardfowls whose own interest is self.

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yeah…like thiefing thiefer of the house Carrington and ALL the corrupt ministers…the best examples to date.

22. What is the significance of this article? The name highlighted in red is the person who has claimed ownership of the house in Rolling Hills. According to her it is not owned by Sinckler.

Top executives used elaborate schemes to siphon million$

Sakal had company, Commission hears:
    • Published on Nov 18, 2011, 10:57 pm AST

1321674406489n28

TOP CLICO executives, Karen-Ann Gardier and Ian Garcia, siphoned millions of dollars from the insurance company and transferred the funds to their private companies, Neal Bisnath, the legal representative for CLICO, said yesterday.

The funds were then used to open US million-dollar Executive Flexible Premium Annuities (EFPAs) at CLICO, Bisnath said.

Gardier was CLICO’s former financial controller and Garcia held the position of chief marketing officer at the insurance company.

Sylvia Baldini-Duprey, deputy chairman of CL Financial and wife of Lawrence Duprey, was the director of a company that was paid over $2 million monthly from the conglomerate.

Bisnath yesterday spoke of several instances of financial impropriety at CL Financial and its subsidiaries during his cross-examination of Gita Sakal, former corporate secretary of CL Financial.

"I am just trying to show the structure so your name alone is not out there," Bisnath said.

"And I thank you for that," Sakal said.

"Of course we have heard of your companies Corporate Consultants and Discreet Logic, and maybe let’s have some company to that," Bisnath said.

Bisnath yesterday outlined an exorbitant scheme undertaken by Gardier and Garcia to siphon millions of dollars from policyholder funds at CLICO.

Bisnath said Gardier had a private company called GiGi enterprises and Garcia had a private company called Events Unlimited.

"I would like to trace with you a payment to companies where the beneficiaries were ultimately senior executives of CLICO, they are various of these but I just want to use one example," Bisnath said.

CLICO made a US$3 million bank draft payable to Events Unlimited, Bisnath said.

The payment was authorised by Gardier and Garcia.

The US$3 million was wire transferred to a United States account of Events Unlimited.

Gigi Enterprises and Events Unlimited were then returned US$1 million each and opened US dollar EFPAs at CLICO with the funds.

Baldini-Duprey was the director of a company named IBIS that was paid over £200,000 from CL Financial for financial analysis of the conglomerate.

IBIS was also paid $60 million for three projects, Bisnath said.

"A lot of money was spent on IBIS but they never completed their terms of reference," Sakal said.

Bisnath said Sakal received a lot of flak for her US$5 million payment from CL Financial but she was not the only person to receive that type of compensation.

Sakal said the severance package of Anthony Fifi, former chief executive officer of Home Construction Ltd (HCL), would make "$30 million seem like petty cash".

23. Some of the comments on Barbados Today are most instructive.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/21/poor-chris/#comment-258856

24. Where were the auditors? Where were the regulators? Where are the investigators? Any investigation should have included the private wealth of senior executives and members of the board.
    The state has failed policyholders.

25. CLICO made a US$3 million bank draft payable to Events Unlimited, Bisnath said.
    The payment was authorised by Gardier and Garcia.

Ownership of a luxury home after being he financial head of a collapsed business should be a prima facie reason for a fresh investigation. Are the banks involved going to be investigated for suspected money laundering?

26. @David

Every “big up” at CLICO was using the company as their personal piggy Bank. The woman was trying to keep a low profile, I am surprised that she would give her name to the reporter knowing that a quick google search would lead to more questions about her association with CLICO.

27. The real problem was incompetent regulation and a so-called judicial management review that was a waste of time.

28. @ David
    Since u r a leading supporter of transparency, you
    May want BU to distance itself from a most recent
    article that said that the house had indeed belong to
    The MOF.
    I warned you about entertaining and accommodating
    these desperate BLPDLP gossip mongers! That is
    why I will continue to beg the electorate to dump
    the BLPDLP and thier vulgarization of our Politics.
    Dump the BLPDLP and their cronies.

29. @ David

My problem with Karen-Ann Gardier’s story is that, as a former CLICO Trinidad Finance Director, who has been living in Barbados since 2009…………..

………….and CLICO’s operations were monitored by the Supervisor of Insurance, whose office is under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Finance………… and that insurance company is also closely associated with the DLP………

…………it is IMPOSSIBLE for her NOT TO KNOW who IS the Minister of Finance of Barbados.

Additionally, Karen-Ann Gardier made it CLEAR that her HOME WAS NOT PRESENTLY UP FOR SALE.

However, the PROPERTY is being ADVERTISED as “FOR SALE,” at a value of $2.6M, on “Carib List Barbados” by the following real estate agencies:

Global Estate Agency – Property ID: 40289
    Seaside Realty – Property ID: 40245
    Barbados Real Estate 246 – Property ID: 39747

Therefore, I am forced to believe this was a FUTILE ATTEMPT at DAMAGE CONTROL…………

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Either way there is some scam going on with that house, worse yet, it’s a former CLICO exec who bought the house 9 years ago, it’s said the house is for sale, listed as 2.5 – 2.6 million……

……who even lists a degrading house that is admittedly falling apart for that kind of money.

So we can guarantee there is something dirty and not above board about the house….regardless of who is claiming to be the owner.

31. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

i really hate when people lie unnecessarily and blatant lies are being told about this house by the Gardier woman..

https://www.cariblist.com/property_detail?id=40289&for=sale&CCode=BB

32. Suck it up blp yardfowls and instigators of Fake News
    Did i not say that the blp yard ducks and yard dogs would stoop low as the election cycle draws nigh.
    Well here is the evidence a Fake a ss story splashed across social media and even BU the vanguard of integrity published it..Wuh loss.

33. David

I am baffled……was the above proven against the individual?….. If not why the article…..if yes what was the penalty?

34. Artax

The individual must have found a buyer……who if they have sense will no longer buy it.

35. There is more in this mortar than the pestle.Its more like pestilence.The Trini woman say it is a 9 yr old property and not in such good shape anymore.The realtor says it is 2 yrs old and in great shape,furniture and all and since a picture is worth 1000 words,it looks like the house is in very good shape.
    I join those who wonder aloud that this woman don’t know the MoF.I bet she knows the Leper and if she knows the Leper that is the go between in this enigma.The shoite just hit the fan.We getting downgrade again.A Trini woman think she kin fool we.BU just expose she tail!

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel November 22, 2017 at 7:41 PM

Archangel, you know that once a dog learns how to such eggs he would always be in the doghouse business of egg-sucking.

Yes there is more in the CLICO mortar than just the seller of the rollin’ hills plantation.

Maybe the MoF is in the habit of buying second-hand property from CLICO execs like Greenverbs cars and financial consultant’s gardier houses.

This might have been an ‘outside’ real estate deal that was prematurely exposed and aborted like an unwanted foetus to satisfy an electioneering married daddy called Mr. Integrity.

37. You blp yardfowls have been bush whacked running around on BU like cockroaches that have been sprayed with Raid.all u need to go get a life.Fake News is not going to help Mia nor the Blp brigade win the election
    The Fake news blp campaign has been giving a stunning blow

38. Ah tell yuh de lady was trying to keep a low profile next ting sumbody gwine show up and serve some kinda legal document (maybe they already did)

http://www.tribune242.com/news/2016/feb/26/clico-liquidator-gets-leave-move-over-fraud-action/

39. @Sargeant

Interesting article about the ‘owner’ of the house at Rolling Hills, did she ever answer any of the summonses to appear before any of the commissions?

40. @William

Not sure what you are on about. Where has BU stated the house belong to Sinckler? We (BU) have always been sure to prefix references to Rolling House and Sinckler with alleged. Please separate contributors i.e. the BU family from the BU household.

41. angela Skeete November 22, 2017 at 7:25 PM #

“Did i not say that the blp yard ducks and yard dogs would stoop low as the election cycle draws nigh?”

++++++++++++++++

Yes, Ms. Skeete………… and the DLP yard ducks and yard dogs have also likewise stooped lower than low to post “fake news” about Mottley on Naked Departure.

But knowing you………. it’s obvious double standards and hypocrisy will cause you to say the “fake news” is true.

42. @ Vincent

The entire scenario “sounds fishy.”

43. Fucktured BLP

likes to quote Trinidad & Tobago news papers…………

However, she has conveniently and purposely neglected to refer to the following article, which appeared in the November 18, 2011 edition of the “Daily Express.”

“TOP CLICO executives, KAREN-ANN GARDIER and Ian Garcia, SIPHONED millions of dollars from the insurance company and transferred the funds to THEIR PRIVATE COMPANIES, Neal Bisnath, the legal representative for CLICO, said yesterday.”

“The funds were then used to open US million-dollar Executive Flexible Premium Annuities (EFPAs) at CLICO, Bisnath said.”

“Gardier was CLICO’s former financial controller and Garcia held the position of chief marketing officer at the insurance company.”

It is ironic that the resident DLP yard-fowl, Angela Cox/Skeete, wrote that Mottley’s creditability comes into question because she has refused, so far, to present her qualifications to parliament.

However, the same yard-fowl expects us to BELIEVE the “mouthings” of the DISHONEST Karen-Ann Gardier, who DUPED poor insurance policy holders, by EMBEZZLING their funds from CLICO.

44. Miller like a brave and dutiful soldier on the front line you now have stepped over the red line charging forth with an ammunition of double barrel fake news directed at a woman who told the truth about ownership of her property,

45. Artax like a brave and dutiful soldier on the front line you now have stepped over the red line charging forth with an ammunition of double barrel fake news directed at a woman who told the truth about ownership of her property,

46. You have a way of looking past the real issues…………… to focus on the straw men you create to knock down.

Don’t blame me for presenting “fake news,” BLAME the November 18, 2011 edition of the “Daily Express” for PUBLISHING the NEWS on Gardier.

ww.trinidadexpress.com/news/Top_executives_used_elaborate_schemes_to_siphon_million_-134161153.html

47. Something is rotten in the state of Denmark. Nobody’s story adds up. Not the story that was told to the press or Maureen Holder stating on the call in program that Mr. Sinckler invited her to view the house.

48. @David 8.44 pm

Don’t know the answer someone with better investigative skills will have to respond. I was prepared to believe that it was political mischief or gossip that linked the MOF to that house, but the fact that it has CLICO connections is making it curiouser and curiouser.

Barbados is a small place just think six degrees of separation.

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply