Heather Cole

As shocking as the title of this article is, it is nothing but the truth; the two sided truth. First of all, on October 10, 2017, the Cabinet of the Government of Barbados discussed the use of RH anti- littering signs at bus stops and reached a decision that the signage was offensive and were to be removed. The Minister of Transport duly informed the Board of Management which hastily enforced the decision to remove the signs. The signs were an opportunity to emphatically create awareness of littering on the island as the letters had resonated to become a powerful marketing tool.

Prior to this decision reaching the public domain, and the signage at the bus stops being removed, on **, the Barbados Underground ran the most successful marketing campaign in the history of Barbados, with an article under the title Remove This RH Sign – Chinese Sign Greets Visitors to Sam Lord’s Castle in Barbados and signage in Chinese at the construction site of the Sam Lords Castle, was removed in less than 24 hours.

Now that governments decision is now in the public domain, one has to wonder of its intent. The abbreviation can be interpreted to mean the most unique Barbadian words on the planet. It is quite strange that they had only then realized that those words which were mostly likely in existence since the day of slavery were offensive enough to merit a discussion in Parliament. They came to power found those words and will no doubt leave office and those words will still in be existence in Barbados until perpetuity because they are already ingrained in the Barbadian psyche. That being the case government banning the signs was just a time wasting exercise.

Secondly, in terms of what is found to be offensive, the people of Barbados have to date gathered a litany of acts this administration has committed that they deem offensive, yet, the government has not issued directives for remedies. The acts are wide and varied and need not not be mentioned in this article. When one considers that the Minister who has responsibility for Transportation sat in that Cabinet meeting and did not have the same sense of urgency to fix the ton of problems that the Transport Board faces one finds his failure to act offensive.

The Board does not have enough buses to supply a reliable service to the public. The current fleet of buses is aging and in a state of despair not even fit to be on the roads. They are leaky, with torn seating and constantly break down for repairs. There has been misuse of funds and staff under duress caused by poor working condition. There was a recent island wide strike by the bus operators. Then there is the deplorable state of the roads which are filled with pot holes and even the provision of a road for the people of White Hall facilitating their commute to and from work. One can therefore be at a loss that of all the things that are on his plate seeking urgent action, that the Minister responsible for Transport had the audacity and the time to take action to remove signs from 3 bus stops. It is indeed a sign of the RH times.

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO SERIOUS ABOUT THE MESSAGE OF THE ANTI-LITTERING CAMPAIGN, BUMPER STICKERS CAN BE OBTAINED BY SUBMITTING YOUR NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS TO “ADOPT A STOP” BY IN-BOXING THEM ON FACEBOOK.

193 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – A Sign of the RH Times”

1. @Caswell

Do a search of BU for Denis Lowe Peter Allard and you will find supporting documents to confirm him as Allards stooge. John Boyce was pimping for workd, Ralph has compasSion and gave him the maintanance job at Almond. Blackett was spinning records. We could go on.

2. Hahahaha…….I rest my case unable to counter Caswells spin……oh for the days of HH a true player of all sorts of bowlers and pitches.

This lot going down woefully……cuhdear…..cleaning out of the stables coming.

3. @David
    Many of them struggle when they are out of power, some of them struggle even when they are in power. A friend told me that on more than one occasion a sitting MP in the last Gov’t turned up at his home to borrow money, he lent him a few times but drew the line when he asked for a loan of US cash.

Earlier I wrote about six degrees of separation, CLICO exec Gardier would have known CLICO exec Parris who certainly knows Sinckler, who knows…..? this lady tried to be too cute…
    Maybe she never heard of this Aldwin Roberts song

4. @Sargeant,

“Many of them struggle when they are out of power, some of them struggle even when they are in power.”

Here is the explanation for the tendency to corruption by weak public servants. A member of parliament earns, with benefits, about Bds$200000, or US$100000 (or about £66000) a year. A decent wage, but not exceptional.
    A young police officer earns about Bds$30000 a year (about US$15000, or £10000), less than the average pensioner in the UK.
    I have seen government position for legal officer at Bds$70000 a year, or US$35000, or less than £24000) a year. The average wage in London I about £27000.
    So, if we have people with high expectations of their living standards it is not surprising that they borrow too much and, sometimes even steal or allow themselves to be bribed.
    Calculate that in to affordability for a mortgage at 3.5 times their annual salaries and it is clear some people are living above their means in their Bds$1m homes; then with their SUVs, two overseas holidays a year, expensive clothes, children at overseas universities, etc.

5. Angela
    Doan mind those BLP rats on this BU site.

Even George Payne today had to call for police 👮🏽 protection down in Whitehill.

He and the other CROOK, MAM , went down there telling lies and the people gave George Payne a good Bajan cussing , he had to run 🏃

6. acoxable November 23, 2017 at 7:37 PM #

“Fblp.not a BU newbee. Heard them blp clowns counting chickens before all to see them addel….”

Please be reminded, Angela Cox/Skeete, you’re not very intelligent………. but I’ll give you 5 marks for “trying a thing.”

7. Based on this article does anyone remember seeing a legal notice of service in any of the local newspapers for Karen -Ann Gardier to attend court in the Bahamas last year?

CLICO liquidator gets leave to move over ‘fraud’ action

Friday, February 26, 2016

By NEIL HARTNELL

Tribune Business Editor

nhartnell@tribunemedia.net

CLICO (Bahamas) liquidator this week obtained Supreme Court permission to serve legal claims, alleging “fraudulent breaches of fiduciary duty”, against two of the insolvent insurer’s former principals in Trinidad and Barbados.

Newspaper notices published yesterday revealed that Craig A. ‘Tony’ Gomez, the Baker Tilly Gomez accountant and partner, was given leave on Tuesday to serve Claude Dacon and Karen-Ann Gardier outside the Bahamas.

Permission has also been granted to serve Ian Garcia, a former director of CLICO (Bahamas) ultimate Trinidad-based parent, CL Financial, who is also understood to be a close sidekick of the group’s ultimate principal, Lawrence Duprey.

Mr Gomez is gagged by the Supreme Court from speaking publicly on the CLICO (Bahamas) liquidation, but sources familiar with the situation said the trio would be served via publication of the relevant notices and legal documents in the Trinidadian and Barbadian media.

This is because Messrs Dacon, Gardier and Garcia are all understood to have successfully avoided to-date attempts by Mr Gomez and his process servers to serve the legal documents on them personally.

“These guys are playing hide and seek,” one source told Tribune Business. “The process servers are going to their homes, and everyone there is claiming they don’t know these guys.”

None of the trio targeted by Mr Gomez is likely to return to the Bahamas, and place themselves within the Supreme Court’s jurisdiction, giving the liquidator the likely opportunity that he will be able to apply for a default judgment once they have been served.

The writ and statement of claim against them, which was filed with the Supreme Court on February 23, 2015, alleges that Messrs Dacon, Gardier and Garcia committed “fraudulent breaches of fiduciary duties, or alternatively breaches of fiduciary duties; breaches of statutory duties and gross and wilfull negligence and fraud” during 2003-2009. CLICO (Bahamas) collapsed into insolvency in February of that final year.

Their fellow two defendants in the same action, Mr Duprey and his partner, Sylvia Baldini, are already understood to have been served in Florida. They, too, are unlikely to come to the Bahamas to fight the action.

It is important for Mr Gomez to move the litigation forward, as it represents a potential recovery source for CLICO (Bahamas) creditors, and also provides reassurance that he is trying to hold someone accountable for the pain endured by thousands of Bahamians.

CLICO (Bahamas), at end-June 2015, had a $46.876 million solvency deficiency, with $33.399 million in assets dwarfed by $80.275 million in liabilities.

The Government last month prevented the cancellation of medical insurance for hundreds of Bahamians by confirming it had finally approved a ‘rescue plan’ for CLICO (Bahamas).

The Cabinet has approved a plan to transfer all the insurance policies – life and medical – to a newly-created special purpose vehicle (SPV).

Tribune Business revealed in November 205 how Mr Gomez planned to cancel all CLICO (Bahamas) medical policies on New Year’s Eve if the Government failed yet again to deliver on its resolution promises.

He held off until the New Year so that hundreds of Bahamians and their families were not greeted with bad news over the festive period, but the cancellation notices were due to be issued to policyholders this month.

Mr Gomez said he had little choice but to cancel the medical insurance policies unless the Government came through because high claims payouts were eroding the $11.893 million in CLICO (Bahamas) bank accounts. This undermines his duty to preserve and maintain the asset for the benefit of creditors.

Figures supplied to Mr Gomez by insurance actuaries, Morneau Shepell, showed that since CLICO (Bahamas) was placed into Supreme Court-supervised liquidation in February 2009, group medical claims payouts to policyholders exceeded premium payments by 40 per cent up until end-2014.

Over that six-year period, Mr Gomez had ensured CLICO (Bahamas) paid out $4.191 million in medical claims, yet only received $3 million in premium, creating an unsustainable health claims ratio of 140 per cent.

The report contrasted the 140 per cent group health claims ratio with the 60 per cent payout ratio for all other medical and accident claims.

“Upon the completion of the actuarial valuation and the actuary’s analysis of CLICO (Bahamas) current state, and along with the obvious financial impact of the medical policies on the insurance operations and available cash, and providing that a government guarantee is not received by the official liquidator shortly, the actuary advised that the medical policies should be discontinued immediately,” Mr Gomez had written in his last report to the Supreme Court. “I have scheduled the discontinuation date at December 31, 2015.”

©2017 The Tribune

8. @ Hal
    It is a known fact that after elections BLPDLP
    ministers and top supporters usually sweat financially
    I think that in our system a lot of pressure comes
    from different sources. Unfortunately most
    BLPDLP politicians have no real ideological
    or philosophical positions,so they get caught up
    in pappy show leading to financial pitfalls.
    Both parties suffer from the same malaise but
    they circle the wagon and protect each other
    because they both have their eyes on the same
    prize.
    So for Caswell to pretend it’s only happens
    to Dees is just not true or accurate.

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Figures supplied to Mr Gomez by insurance actuaries, Morneau Shepell, ”

Same Canadian actuaries using the islands as tax havens.

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

So Gardier is hiding out in Barbados from Bahamian process servers, who else is she hiding from, because CLICO owes policyholders throughout the Caribbean…who is protecting her in Barbados.

The mistake she made was opening her fraudulent mouth about the house.

11. Artax you think by using silly attacks make you a king or a lord . Need not bother because all you attacks prove that your are a deprived blp yard bird singing for your supper which is not going to happen could not care less of what you think about any thing all in all my comments serves well enough to keep you frothing at the mouth

12. “Rat ass the DLP mongrel, Angela Cox/Skeete just can’t help herself but to follow Atax all over the blog. Poor soul, girl do I have plenty work for you to do.”

“Need not bother because all your attacks prove that you are a deprived DLP yard-goat singing for your supper. ”

However, my “silly attacks serves well enough to keep you frothing at the mouth.”

13. So Angela tell me why after several months have gone by since the death of the English citizen Michael Wear and with aligations of his ministers involved in a scandal of imported stolen vehicles that the PM failed to address this in delivery at the political meeting last week? Why did he not invite the press for a photo op to view any of the luxury cars or inform the nation that the story was false?

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

So for Caswell to pretend it’s only happens
    to Dees is just not true or accurate.

When did I ever make any such assertion?

Are you suffering some sort of comprehension deficit disorder? By all means, defend your idiots if you must but please stop trying to discredit me in the process.

15. A public arrest for the falsification of a story should be made against that BLP mcguffie who planted a fake story which blatantly told an untruth referencing the MOF as the owner of a home which has now taken full spotlight with the Revelation that the story was a planted Fake with the intent of damaging the MOF name
    It has also been revealed that the desperation of the blp operatives would continue with more Fake stories once the questioning of MIA accreditation to the bar continues
    Word on the street says that the person who planted the story is well known among the blp machinery

16. Heather why dont you address the issue of whether Mia accreditation to the bar was fool proof

17. Angela, after you address my query above.

18. OH Heather MIa Standing in parliament and producing all documentation of proof would make a great photo op don t you think

19. The PM might say to you and other blp yard fowls he does not waste time addressing scurrilous and unfounded fake allegations engineered by the blp cesspool rats

20. Angela if all of them are unfounded rumors why did he choose to speak about one and not the other? What does he have to hide? Did your government conspire to hide Karen Gardier in Barbados?

21. there you go again with your silly allegations , why should PM answer you clowns bull sh ite. . almost as a daily occurrence

22. Angela, can you not answer? What silly allegation? I am sure you read the newspaper article above! I merely copied and pasted it. Hence, it is not my allegation or even any allegation. It is a fact.

23. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Vincent Haynes November 23, 2017 at 2:44 PM “You never did finish the story of your African ancestry,other than the Congo grandmother ala Sparrows calypso,what about the males in your pure Congo line?”

Vincent: You know as well as I do that rich powerful men take sexual advantage of poor women. It has always been so. It is still so. And in the context of the Caribbean’s history, those rich powerful men were white and the sexually exploited women were black.

I know this.

You know this.

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dont mind Angela Yardfowl…Trinidad will soon put out a warrant for Gardier because it appears they are still investigating the whole CLICO fraud thing, which stretches across the Caribbean and Latin America….if these countries combine investigations and get interpol to put out a warrant for her, if it gets that far, Barbados got to give her up……because it appears she and her sidekick were the architects of the EPA scam to sell fraud instruments of insurance, according to the Trinidad article…it is a fact.

…she is obviously in hiding because some years ago they were killing CLICO executives at the rate of at least one a month, in a gated community I was visiting in Chaguanas, they killed a clico exec, right in there……the neighbors could not believe the killers were so brazen…..and they are used to born killers running around in that neighborhood.

….. someone was even convicted for one of those clico exec killings…..in Trinidad….now we know why she did not want her photo in the newspapers, talking about she is living quietly, my ass, she is in hiding from her fraudulent actions that robbed millions of people across the Caribbean and Latin America and caused them suffering….that’s what, her criminal actions that have a dose of Karma waiting for her, that’s what.

So someone on the island is protecting and helping Gardier hide…unfortunately for her, that house shit came up and exposed that she is hiding in Barbados…. and that someone has to be in the government…hope they are picked up too, if and when the time comes….and hopefully they will also pick up Angela Yardfowl.

Dr. Simple…..but Vincent is most interested in, proud of and titillated by the White men who enriched themselves off the backs of your black African ancestors and raped your black female ancestors.

…that is what makes him, John and MoneyB feel proud…..white enslavers and rapists populating the black population….,why do you think he is hanging on to a pelau label that will kill him faster than anything else…and refuse to give up the topic until you answered….it’s because of that sense of pride of white rapists….diluting the African bloodline, problem with his theory….that bloodline is too strong to disappear or become extinct…unlike all the others.

25. Heather

Angela, can you not answer? What silly allegation? I am sure you read the newspaper article above! I merely copied and pasted it. Hence, it is not my allegation or even any allegation. It is a fact.

This is the easiest way to libel someone, cutting and pasting. It does not absolve you of responsibility (Media Law 101). Copied information cannot generally be treated as ‘facts’ unless you verified them yourself.
    You contradict yourself by saying you copied and pasted it, then saying it is not your allegation, then that it is not an allegation, it’s a fact.
    By the way, because someone has chosen not to speak about a rumour/allegation does not mean s/he has anything to hide.

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Hal…the wannabe lawyer and journalist. ..go do some REAL research on the subject and copy and paste the results to BU.

27. Hal are you denying that this case against Clico is true? Shall I contact the newspaper and the court as evidence?

28. Angela Skeete…….. accusing the BLP of “planting a fake story which blatantly told an untruth referencing the MOF as the owner of a home…….. WITHOUT any PROOF to SUBSTANTIATE your accusation………..

…………… can be similarly described as “scurrilous and unfounded fake allegations engineered by the DLP cesspool rats,” such as yourself.

29. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service

better yet…contact the Trinidad government who got stuck with the 24 billion dollar clico theft bill and who did their investigations about the Gardier et al fraud and put the information in the press…..

…..there is usually an article on BU from a real Trini journalist Afra Raymond…..on the CLICO crooks, have not seen it lately, but am sure he will have the same info.

what boggles the mind and what Ha, Ha is trying to distract from, is that Leroy Leper and Fruendel et al…grossly disrespected the clico/policyholder victims of the clico fraud by giving safe haven in Barbados to one of the architects of that fraud…when the victims in Barbados have ot seen a penny of their money…in their hands.

if the Trinidad government plan to serve Gardier for her role in the thefts, do they know she is in Barbados…they got scared shitless that the house was exposed.

30. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

when the victims in Barbados have NOT seen a penny of their money…in their hands….that`s the real crime being committed against clico policyholders right there today.

31. Heather November 24, 2017 at 8:15 AM #

I am not saying anything is true or not true. I am saying that cutting and pasting information from another website without verification is a high risk. That is basic media law and has nothing to do with the veracity of the content..

32. William Skinner November 23, 2017 at 8:05 PM #

Part of the problem is cultural: politicians trying to buy votes, from rum, corned beef and biscuits, to long queues of constituents outside the politicians’ homes early in the mornings with utility bills asking for help.
    Instead of giving these people money, which they can ill afford, the politicians must fight to change the system by creating more jobs. If there is corruption, that is it.

33. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

says the media police who dont know that the government release was verified, if not by Heather, someone else sure did.

when will he learn he cannot stop cut and paste….just as he learned or not that its futile to unmask the anonymice `…..without dire consequences…

although that one did not work out too well, he`s back…lol

34. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

“These guys are playing hide and seek,” one source told Tribune Business. “The process servers are going to their homes, and everyone there is claiming they don’t know these guys.”

Hide and seek = HIDING

35. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

Let`s hear what Angela Yardfowl and Fruendel gotta say about that now…..

..LEC is nothing compared to this Gardier/Clico stench.

36. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

speaking of signs of the times.

Angela Yardfowl…can you confirm if this is the same Carson Yardfowl, your fellow spokesperson for and defender of the minorities and who cussed me out in defense of this same Kutappa-Harris…..on BU…lol

election fever even turns yardfowls against their masers temporarily it seems, hahaha…ah guess Carson Yardfowl did not believe the LEC lawsuit either.

Carson C Cadogan
    November 24, 2017 at 7:49 am
    Not a word in this article about the residents hurling abuse at Payne. He in turn called the police for his own constituents.

This article is pure WHITE wash!!!!

Carson C Cadogan
    November 24, 2017 at 7:54 am
    Barbados Today even though you try very hard not to report the TRUTH regarding the Barbados Labour Party the people of Barbados still know.

That big bacchanal in White Hill yesterday is known to all Bajans this morning.

37. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

We all need to stop defending the indefensible.

38. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Contrary to what DLP supporter FracturedBLP previously said on this blog that George Payne was cussed at White Hill, the Weekend Nation of Friday 24 November, 2017 on page 4 is reporting that a White Hill resident Carlitha Andrews said “The only way that White Hill people will get a little relief…is to put the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in power…everybody knows, and I am saying this with no prejudice, that if the Barbados Labour Party was in power with Mr. Payne as the MP, we would not be living in this condition.”Ad the story in the Nation is accompanied by a nice picture of Mr. Payne, Ms. Andrews and Ms. Mottley

Now that does not seem like a cussing of Mr. Payne to me.

Does it seem so to you?

So If Fractured is lying about this, and lying when he said that Owen Arthur was going to appear at a DLP meeting at the Alexandra School last weekend it leaves me to wonder what else Fractured is lying about.

39. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

See Fractured’s statement of Novembe 23, 2017 at 6:37 PM

And ask him to explain how his statement varies so much from the Nation’s statement.

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Both Fractured and Carson Yardfowls seem to be spewing their usual plethora of lies.

41. Fractured dunce is a bold face liar,first he speaks abouy Mr Arthur appearing at some meeting in St Peter,which never happened,then he speaks about Mr Payne being cussed in St Andrew which has not been substantiated by anyone but him.Earlier he spoke about the 15th of November being the big exposure of Ms Mottley by the AG,who up to that point had said nothing about the LEC issue nor the PM,but being promoted by two Dem yardfowls in Maureen Holder and the Trini Dem and up to today November 25th,not a word from the AG.Fractured also spoke about some Pegasus Tapes and recently Canouan Tapes and still nothing,hence this guy is nothing but a liar and a desperate empty vessel who knows the writing on the wall.

42. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

What he should talk about is the fact that there is a push in Canada’s parliament to review the 40 year old double taxation treaty because the desperate hungry negros in Barbados parliament dont charge Canada’s tax cheats more than 1.5 to 2.5% to evade Revenue Canada….

……..they are so useless, if they charged the tax evaders at least 10%….the Canadian government wont mind…but 2.5%….nah….they will do something about that 40% year old treaty.

43. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

Si if Fractured is telling lies it leaves me to wonder whether perhaps the truth is so bitter that he dare not speak it.