Submitted by Heather Cole
House located in Rolling Hills alleged to be owned by Chris Sinckler.

In the original game of monopoly, players roll two six-sided dice to move around the game-board buying and trading properties, developing them with houses and hotels. Players also collect rent from their opponents, with the goal being to drive them into bankruptcy. Lots of money is available but the stakes are high and players can end up in jail, which they cannot move from until they have met some specified condition.

While Bajans suck salt, under 9 years of harsh economic conditions, the current DLP Administration has committed numerous acts for personal benefit that are not aligned with the plight that majority of persons now find themselves in. The ruling Administration appear to be playing a corrupt version of the famous authentic board game. We have Ministers buying expensive properties, giving away land to their friends for housing developments and hotels while collecting superfluous taxes from the people of Barbados. They have also been borrowing extensively on the international market at exorbitant interest rates; an act that can potentially drive the country to bankruptcy if unable to meet their repayment obligations and into to the arms of the International Monetary Fund.

When many persons lost their jobs , in response the government raised [reinstated] the salaries of the Ministers. This can only be described as a slap in the face especially after hearing the Prime Minister justify raising the salaries.

While many cannot afford cars, cannot afford to repair their cars due to damages caused by pot hole in the roads, or can even get reliable service from the government operated Transport Board, Ministers are now driving luxury vehicles that cost in excess of $ BDS 150,000.00. These vehicles are not even within the means of their income.

With death of the middle-class on the horizon due to the fact that hundreds of persons have lost the homes which was their only investment for decades and the rise in homelessness and vagrancy, Ministers of Government are building mansions as though they are living in Victorian England where the peerage built massive mansions as though they planned to live forever. The government has not even bothered to look into the mortgage crisis, not even said a word or acknowledgement that the archaic CAP 236 is need of change. It has in is possession about 15,000 empty houses that were built and never occupied that are in some state of decay. With such a housing stock no one on the island should be homeless. The Ministers of Government have been busy rolling the dice and playing monopoly to notice.

There is an old saying that “yah can hide and buy land but yah cahn hide and wuk um.” The latest possession revealed is a house that sits at 91 Rolling Hills St. George. It is owned by none other than the Minister of Finance. The lot on 17, 551 sq. ft. was put up for sale at US$ 177, 900.00. Unconfirmed reports now value the house and land at US$ 2,500,000.00. From the exterior, it is a charming house pleasing to the eye.

However, according to SI 2016, signed by Christopher Sinckler, Minister of Finance on April 15th 2016, The annual salary of a Government Minister is BDS$152,382.00, with an entertainment allowance of BDS$ 24, 170.28 and travelling allowance 0f BDS$23, 773.93. There is no housing allowance. The combination of 9 years of salary plus benefits amounted to BDS $1,802,935.89. So where did he obtain the money to purchase this land and build this mansion plus the luxury vehicles that he owns? Where does he keep his stash of monopoly money?

At writing it has not been ascertained that any bank or financial institution has financed the mortgage for this property. However, if indeed one of them has, it is hoped that they undertook the due diligence regarding the source of the funds and that they can show a paper trail.

It appears that the DLP Administration have become monopoly professionals. From “go” they have been spending freely as though they each owned an unlimited supply of money, beyond what the public purse pays them. They are also living the life styles of the rich and famous. No one knows for sure where their taxes go. Ultimately, one expects that the inevitable will occur and a throw of the dice lands them all in jail and that no amount of money is allowed to be paid to get those corrupt politicians out. Adding another insult to injury today, the Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, who lives like a king in olden days, off the fat of the land, had the gall to blame the commoners who are “sucking salt,”‘ for living lavish life styles that have depleted the foreign reserves. When will this game end?

120 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – Bajan Monopoly”

1. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

And there are already well educated technicians and engineers and accountants and actuaries who can smell an over invoiced contract from a mile off.

So how is it that over invoiced contracts still go through?

Lock up a few people do, especially a few people form the bribe offering business community and the others will come to heel

2. How can the blp enact Integrity having so many members fighting among themselves while airing their dirty laundry in the court dockets

3. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Fractured BLP November 16, 2017 at 7:40 PM “But not under Doug or Rosemary watch.”

So how come under Dougie and Rosie watch CBC taking money from the indian obeah or swami r whatever he call himself man from down Paynes Bay or Fitts Village or wherever who promises ob CBC–no doubt for a fee– to help with love troubles, sex troubles, even with legal troubles. Why is CBC is running this foolish ad?

How come nuh?

How come?

Isn’t fortune telling against the law?

4. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Vincent Haynes November 16, 2017 at 4:05 PM “your DNA test…”

And Vincent I don’t need any DNA test to tell me who I am.

Just as I don’t need a DNA test to tell me my gender.

I know who I am.

5. @ Hal
    Take it easy after elections,we will return to some form
    of sanity. Right now the Bees and Dees, singing for their supper. All of
    them wishing for z fatted calf. Same old same old………….
    Informative and enlightened discourse has been effectively hijacked by
    the political jackals of Roebuck and George streets. Now joined by
    some living overseas , who will be waiting on the phone call to come
    home and enjoy the sweets.

6. Fractured dunceglad to see you on the blog again tell me Novemder 15th has gone what happen to yourGS and your big announcement on Ms Mottley,s LEC.As I thought pure smoke and mirrors,take my advice and this is for Ms Holder and the Trini Dem take the matter to court,where Mr Mottley and other QC,s will be waiting for you.By the way where is Mr Audain and Mr Gollop,cannot hear a peep out of them,you should follow suit.

7. Hi Lorenzo

Clearly you have not seen the legal opinion on the Mia Mottley matter that was requested and circulated by AG Adriel Brathwaite.

Too bad for you if you ain’t see it !

It will be around when the campaign comes around.

For now rest assured it will be back again.

8. Fractured dunce this LEC thing is now a secret .I have not heard the AG on this subject .Where was this announcement made at St Michael school last Sunday or the lunch Time Lecture on Friday,pray tell Fractured as I thought this was a big story for the Media and papers.All you are doing istrying to scare people but you are spitting up in the air and it is falling back in your face moron.When the time comes the Government has to come and defend their record no childish talk about no LEC or Pegasus tapes.

9. Lorenzo

I do not listen to CBC’s “Talk yuh Talk” or Maureen Holder & John Lovell……… these moderators are too biased and are using an entity owned by the tax-payers of the island to push the propaganda of a particular political party…. to wit the DLP.

I listened to Wednesday’s pod-cast to hear Michael Lashley’s contribution relative to social media and the Computer Misuse Act.

CBC reminds me of FOX News.

Fractured BLP November 16, 2017 at 7:40 PM #

CBC belongs to everyone………..

@ Fcuktured BLP

Are you implying that’s the reason why the Democratic Labour Party is indebted to CBC in the amount of $109,609?

Not an appropriate answer!!!!

Angela Cox/Skeete

The matter with Payne and Hinkson is a private issue between two individuals.

How do you know that there was not an out of court settlement between Payne and Hinkson…………..

………….. or if the two gentlemen decided to discontinue the matter?

You should perhaps concern yourself with dishonest Michael Carrington’s integrity and credibility, as a lawyer, after his former client John Griffiths, through a civil suit, satisfied the court that crocked Michael illegally with-held his (Griffiths’) funds.

10. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171116/news/120000-bail-for-principal-teacher

Lorenzo

When you and Mia Mottley read the above story……..I truly hope Mia Mottley remembers the Certificates she presented to Sir Denys Williams to carry out her EGREGIOUS act !!!

Impersonating an Attorney at Law !!

As PM said on CBC Monday night ….,someone parading around Barbados that they have qualifications……and yet cannot produce them yet !!!!

Yuh calling fuh Elections..,,,,it gine be cat 🐱 piss and pepper 🌶

11. Lorenzo

You could believe what you want but the LEC gine sink yuh boat 🚣 !!

Stop there and sweat 💦 yuh tail !!

12. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Fractured BLP November 16, 2017 at 8:42 PM “Clearly you have not seen the legal opinion…”

So who wrote this legal opinion?

And how much did they charge the DLP for it?

13. They better charge some ministry, cause the D’s, they doan pay no bills. You en see the CBC? Accounts Receivable galore. Not that AR’s are unusual in the normal course of business, jus when dey are largely government. You done know they breeding everybody.

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“You see in my family we live to be 90 and 100 and more, so as well as grandmother, my elder siblings, still alive, yes, knew great grand mother Maggie, and she was a short, black round headed congolese woman, born in the 1840’s. She was no stranger to my elder siblings.”

The savages still living on their blighted plantations eg Vincent are trying their best to wipe away black history out of the minds of the majority population in Barbados and Caribbean, just like the white savages in the UK are trying to do…..but it will never happen, black history cannot be erased.

Let them stay on their plantations and wilt, wither and die. ..black history will live on.

Fractured & Confused….where is the arrest warrant for Mia..today is Nov 17, 2017.

We dont want to hear about any political platform declarations, those are petty, malicious and rumor mongering meant to deceive the electorate into reelecting criminals, using parliamentary privilege as a cover…

…..the population is not interested in yall childish, stupid political games, get the arrest warrant served for fraud and impersonating an attorney. …that is how intelligent jurisdictions do things…

…..shit or get off the pot…it’s 6 months to elections, yall cannot say ya not calling it because Mia is not a lawyer although ya still have not proved it….ya have to call it or face the consequences. .

So put up or shut up..

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Couldnt get to borrow 4 billion, so settles for money from the UAE Caribbean energy fund…hopefully the lenders monitor how that money is spend as is intended.

16. Dr SS PhD

Hmmmm…..interesting…..it appears that that your Grandmother from the Congo(which tribe by the way?) went beyond immaculate conception and was able to reproduce herself hundreds of times unto the 7th generation without the benefit of sperm from males for her or any of the subsequent clones.

Your ability to erase the males in your species and to categorically state that you are 100% from a Congolese tribe is truly amazing……..one of the reasons we Bimmers are the greatest.

Those west Africans tribesmen had to travel far to get your Congo ancestors…..I wonder why?

Your comprehension is a tad off as I made the point that you were privileged as compared to the ones living in the tennantries.

Furthermore at your age espousing the political mantra of if you are not with me you belong to the other is unbecoming of you at your age……John has interesting points some I agree with,others I disagree with totally and some awaiting more info for me to reach a conclusion.

Early in life I discovered that things were not in two categories of black&white but mostly in grey,that one must always keep an open mind and never swear for anyone or anything.

Anyway its nice conversing with you my fellow Pelau.

17. Can the Mia bashers confirm or deny that Barbados 2day handed over near $100,000 smackeroos to the complainant?

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Another who is aching for some kinda lawsuit is Maureen Yardfowl…they are giving her the business on Facebook for harassing Mia as a female in public office….

…..she is holding up 2 degrees from some degree mill somewhere in the US….but still dont get that what she is accusing other Bajans of doing to her….she is doing to Mia…harassment.

Lol…told yall, if ya not exceptional. ..the degrees are useless, you do not need degrees to be exceptional.

19. @ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service WHO WROTE ” .she is holding up 2 degrees from some degree mill somewhere in the US”

“The qualifications she openly displayed included a Bachelor of Science Degree with Upper Second Class Honours in Political Science with Public Sector Management from the University of the West Indies; and a Master of Arts in Diplomatic Studies with Merit from the University of Westminster,”

https://www.westminster.ac.uk/

20. There was a movie called The good the bad and the ugly. On BU we have The good the bad

the ugly and the really puckin igrunt.

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Hants….is that supposed to impress me, they both came from degree mills and Maureen Yardfowl is still as dumb as a rock…

What the hell is a political scientist….name one think they do to help the earth…or the people on it…

Dont get me started….I have enough degrees that I know which means what.

22. @Hants

Maureen is qualified and her credentials are the real deal. BU as you know is self policing.

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And with or without degrees I would not lower my intellect to be a yardfowl for crooked, corrupt politicians in Barbados….so there.

Now ya can cuss me.

24. I am not impressed with either of the moderators referred to at CBC Radio.Two people can’t be always, always supporting the party in power without being called yardfowls at some point in their blind allegiance even when everybody else seeing it differently.Peter Wickham even went as far as to suggest some people practise prostitution in their wholesale defence of this or that administration.

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Well they are calling Maureen Yardfowl…a yardfowl on Facebook so let her sue Facebook too.

I dont know why people are still so impressed with degree mills when 80% of their graduates are dumb or psychotic…or both……and this is worldwide, not only isolated to Barbados.

26. @ David,

You may read my post at “Hants November 17, 2017 at 11:17 AM” and note that I was replying

to “Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service November 17, 2017 at 10:27 AM #”

27. That is understood Hants.

What is the commotion about Maureen Holder the yardfowl? Have to admit the Vblog causing the commotion slipped the BU household.

28. “Ms Mottley if you do not condemn this video . . . done in your name, I will take it that you are no more committed to looking after the rights of women in this country or protecting them from such abuses than you are committed to repealing the NSRL [National Social Responsibility Levy],” said Holder, while making reference to damning video which has been circulating on Facebook in which the poster leveled a number of scurrilous allegations against the talk show host.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/16/over-to-you-mia/

29. Am I missing something? Was Mia in the video? Did Mia say something about Holder in the video? Why should Mia get involved in commenting on a video that some individual made slamming some third rate radio announcer who cuts off anyone who tries to point out the ‘shortcomings’ of her beloved DLP?

If she is looking for someone to come to her rescue, what about one of the females in her own party?

And will Holder come out and condemn the nasty claims about the Mottley family clearly posted by DLP operatives on ND? Well, Maureen, we’re waiting. Nah, I didn’t think so.

If you can’t stand the heat Holder, you know what to do.

30. I would not be caught dead holding a press conference to brag about a Master of Arts in Diplomatic Studies from the University of Westminster.

https://www.timeshighereducation.com/student/best-universities/best-universities-uk#survey-answer

31. Maureen holder is an arrogant ,know allwho seems to feel yhe few DLP yardfowls like the Trini Dem ,Ms Undecided,Rawle ,commissioner,arthur ,and the Returning National bigging her up on Talk ya Talk makes her someone special.If memory serves me right I remember her as a caller to Brasstacks ,then a moderator there for awhile.I do not know what is her claim to fame and she is certainly no match for Ms Mottley,whom I wonder why she does notcall that programme and challenge her on some of the statements she makes on that programme in collusion with the trini who is a hyprocrite in my view.This Trini lady attacks people but when attacked on the VOB chat wants the blogs censored,can you believe these people?

32. http://mes.gov.bb/Download.ashx?file=Attachments%2FThe_Economics_of_education.pdf&name=The+Economics+of+Education%3A+Educating+for+the+Future

Lorenzo

Before you and MAM continue to make your ” pie in the sky ” promises on financing tertiary education……

Please read the speech above, given by Dr. Marion Williams when she was Central Bank Governor.

Do note carefully her comments on pages 26 to 28 .

Do note also that the BLP – of which Mia Mottley was a member – was the government at the time !

Yet MAM is promising full state funded tertiary education in 2018 !

She could only be fooling you …….Lorenzo !!!!

It took an enlightened DLP government under the wise leadership of His Majesty Freundel Jerome Stuart in 2013 ………to concur with the views of Dr. Williams and other reputable Economists.

33. It took an enlightened DLP government under the wise leadership of His Majesty Freundel Jerome Stuart in 2013 ………to concur with the views of Dr. Williams and other reputable Economists.

Did he change his mind before or after the last general election.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured….where is the arrest warrant from the DPPs office and statement from the attorney general.

35. Lorenzo

Why would MAM call into CBC and soil her hands for?
    Absolutely no need to,this country has many pressing issues to deal with of which those mouthings have no resonance.

36. @Heather,
    How are we going to progress your petition idea?

37. Hi David

His Majesty King Freundel Jerome Stuart was carefully studying the situation before and after the general election.

Obviously, as the economic circumstances in the country changed, he adjusted his administration’s policy on funding tertiary education to suit .

What are you views on Dr. Williams policy ideas for funding tertiary education ?

Equally important to ask , MAM says that Barbados have a US $ 140 loan payment to make shortly – which believes the government will default on hence her call for a December 2017 general election ?

But weeks earlier MAM is promising government funded tertiary education for all in September 2018 ?

Not even her party colleague Sandra Husbands believes her ?

Why should rational thinking Barbadians either ?

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/02/blp-candidate-and-leader-out-of-sync-on-free-tertiary-education/

Read Sandra’s views above David , are they not in sync with His Majesty Freundel Stuart 2013 decision and Dr. Williams views in 2004 ?

David , the election campaign ain’t start yet ……,.!!!!

38. which she believes

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

No wonder all the distractions and the game playing, the government knows only too well they have reached the end of the road…..no amounts of lies will work on the electorate any more..plant potatoes. …reap potatoes.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/17/imf-not-ruling-out-devaluation-of-the-barbados-currency/

“IMF not ruling out devaluation of the Barbados currency
    Added by Marlon Madden on November 17, 2017.
    Saved under Business, Local News
    1Save
    The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has refused to rule out the possibility of a devaluation of the Barbados dollar should the country enter a fiscal programme with the lending institution.

IMF Director for the Western Hemisphere Alejandro Werner told Barbados TODAY that devaluation would have to be a choice for Government to make. The Barbados dollar is currently pegged at BD$2 to US$1.

The Central Bank of Barbados and several noted economists have raised concerns about the future stability of the currency due to the country’s dwindling foreign exchange reserves.”

40. Well well

You & the IMF could talk what you like.

The DLP will not be taking Barbados to the IMF .

If you want Barbados to go to the IMF …..then vote for MAM and the BLP.

A straightforward choice !!!!

Put your X where you wish is !!!!

41. Well well

• You want IMF ?????? ….. vote BLP !

• You want DEVALUATION ???? vote BLP !!

• You want free TERTIARY EDUCATION again ??? ……vote BLP !!!

• You want the repeal of NSRL ???……vote BLP !!

Make your choice ……..

42. Hal we are above the threshold requirement. The petition is running until the end of the month. I will be seeking to get it heard in Parliament.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP November 18, 2017 at 1:35 PM

You will soon have to swallow those very words of ‘blackened’ spermatozoa aimed solely at your intestinal ova of deceit lies and party propaganda.

The same way you had to swallow those regarding Privatization.

What you think is happening with the Hilton Hotel or the BNTCL? Or does that dreaded ‘P’ work only apply to the Transport Board or CBC?

Now who is more anxious to recognize this Privatization ‘love child’ than the same lying man who disowned it 5 years ago?

Even our priestly Lord Chancellor Jeff C. of BU wants him to go for a DNA test before accepting ready-made paternity.

Oh, let us be politically correct and ‘Chris(tened)’it by using that more palatable word ‘Divestment’ in the same way ‘Devaluation’ will soon be replaced by the term ‘Adjustment of the Currency Peg’ to fit the country’s economic circumstances relative to the international financial markets.

BTW Broken Pimp, when are you going to charge MAM for practicing Law illegally as promised in your November 15th ultimatum to the AG without realizing that the AG- under the highest law of the Land, that is, the Constitution- is the legal advisor to the Government and NOT to any darn deceitful lying party calling itself the destructive DLP?

Why not stick to ‘lying’ within your intellectual pay-grade by asking the same King Fumble Lord Stuart from Molasses Hill when is he going to keep his promise to his Parliament and deliver the list of those Greedy Bajans” who invested in the CLICO EFPA’s and got financially screwed by the smartest crooked dick in Bim called Greenverbs?

44. Heather November 18, 2017 at 2:20 PM #

Thanks.

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol….Fractured is acting like I am the one saying if the government wants IMF money….devaluation is not OFF the table…

……I have no say in the matter…and thankfully no skin in that train wreck.

46. Hi Miller

What are you getting jittery about ?

Yes November 15 , 2017 gone and the Legal Opinion on the matter had been out long before then.

How come you ain’t see it ?

The DLP requested it and the AG produced it .

When it is time to share the contents with the Electorate they will have it to determine where the truth around this issue is .

So go back to your cage …..birdie …… until it is feeding time !!!

Still a few weeks to go !!!!

47. Well well

Take things easy

Do not get worked over the IMF talk !

Leave that to MAM and Motley Crew

48. Breaking News

I am here at a social gathering hosted by Dale Marshall

He was just asked by one of his guest , ” how come his voice and that of George Payne had not been heard in defense of MAM on this legal qualifications issue ? ”

Dale politely responded , ” you know why Owen Arthur had to move MAM as Attorney General and put me in place ? ”

Hi guest replied , ” no , I don’t know why ”

Well Dale grinned and said , ” one day soon Barbadians would find out , in the meantime I have nothing to say about MAM and that issue.”

Well there you have it .

Of note , George Payne was in corner not too far away from Dale busy

singing 🎤 Karaoke..,,,,,his tune of choice ?

Frank Sinatra ..,,,,I did it my way !!!

The Bees are so …,,,,,UNITED !!!!

49. Disloyalty should be a capital offence…

Leave a Reply to Fractured BLPCancel reply