Jeff Cumberbatch – Columnist, Deputy Dean of UWI, Law Faculty, Chairman of the FTC

It is, I suppose, inevitable in a modern developing society that previous conduct, not then expressly treated as illegal or even taboo, would come one day to be judged in the harsh light of an arguably more humane polity, one more officially respectful of the rights of each individual to dignity and autonomy. The examples of this ethical dilemma as to how we should treat past conduct that would not have complied with today’s more rigid moral standards abound. We see it in the modern regional movement for reparations to be made by those nations who profited from the practices of slavery and the slave trade that were officially condoned at the time although arguably contrary to international law. Now, the notions of slavery and a slave trade are patently contrary to international and municipal human rights norms and would not be publicly condoned by any respectable nation.

We see it too, in the relatively recent allegations of past sexual misconduct leveled at prominent figures in cosmopolitan societies, a phenomenon of seemingly global proportions, engendered principally by the #Me Too movement although, remarkably, not yet extant in the region or locally. Such instances of misconduct, apart, of course, from those that constituted an infringement of the criminal law such as rape and indecent assault or were otherwise patently egregious, would back then have been largely condoned as acceptable badinage between the sexes. Nowadays, the suggestion as to where a colleague who complains of cold hands could warm them might lead to the dismissal or the forced resignation of a senior Cabinet minister as recently occurred in Britain.

The recent removal of the name “Milner” from the eponymous students’ hall of residence at the St Augustine Campus of the University of the West Indies in Trinidad as reported in yesterday’s issue of the Barbados Advocate would have also engaged this debate. The hall took the name of Lord Alfred Milner in 1927 as a result of his contribution to the Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture that was established in Trinidad & Tobago. It appears to have been recently discovered, nearly a century later, however, that Milner was unfit to be celebrated as a regional icon because according to research, he was a self-proclaimed “British race supremacist”, had described Africans as “savages” and was a founder of the inhuman system of apartheid institutionalized in South Africa in 1948. In addition to this he is reputed to have been an architect of Indian indentured servitude in the colony; a proponent of military colonialism in Africa and Asia; and had also functioned as “an aggressive imperialist”, committing crimes against humanity in Africa.

Clearly, by today’s law and moral standards, Lord Milner may justifiably be regarded as an international floutlaw who, rather than having a regional university hall of residence named after him, should be sentenced to death by an international criminal court, if that were possible. Yet, the natural order of things in his day permitted him to carry out these atrocities with impunity. One instinct of the modern defence lawyer would be to argue for holding the existing system culpable rather than the man himself. However, given our powerlessness in the former regard, the easy alternative is to hold the individual solely culpable for his or her own misconduct.

The argument also presents locally in the discourse as to the aptness of the statue of Lord Nelson who, as Milner, also had a rather chequered past, occupying pride of place in our renamed Heroes Square, and the appropriateness of the nomenclature that still adorns many of our streets and institutions. Incidentally, what is the past record of Thomas Harrison, after whom our, in my view, premier boy’s secondary school is named? What if it is subsequently discovered that one of landmark institutions is titled after someone who was once a serial pedophile, a sexual predator or, as is indeed the case, after a eminent perpetrator of the international criminal offence of piracy that, as I recall from my brief and survived exposure to international law, is contrary to the “jus gentium” [law of the people] and thus regarded as inherently criminal?

The resolution appears to lie in the exercise of sovereign power, whether this is determined to be located in the people themselves or in their representatives exclusively. Clearly, the fairest solution to this dilemma in some cases would seem to be through a referendum where a prescribed majority is required for any change. After all, this is consistent with our notions of pure democracy.

There are some circumstances however where our policymakers should be expected to act in a decisive fashion and to determine, as they do with regard to both the level of taxation necessary and the mode of disbursement of the public purse, what should be the current political stance on these matters of nomenclature and its pantheon of statuary. I am mindful that such decisiveness may prove to be electorally detrimental and that a cautious administration may prefer for the matter to be dissipated in sterile recurrent public discourse.

Further, a jurisdiction such as ours that relies almost exclusively on foreign investment attributable mainly to its stability may scarcely consider itself free to tamper with well-established precedent. The question therefore begs asking, how autonomous are we really?

149 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – Today’s Morality, Yesterday’s Culture”

1. Theophilius Gazerts 121 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 121

“See how history can be so easily changed by individuals who wish to present themselves as what they are not……ably assisted by some ignorant jokers on here.”

Man respect yourself. At least you admitted the sins of yourself an John

2. Chuckle……Thats what you get from one cut&paste regurgitating from another cut &paste….twistory at its best……research will show you a full stop after freed coloureds.

You know nothing about Bim and its nuances as was stated to you before….you pick up other peoples statements without realising that its for a purpose and accept them as gospel and continue the spreading of half truths……you woefull idiot.

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Vincent’s sole intent on BU is the same as John’s….continue the exploitation of the majority Black population to enrich a minority of lazy ass white and off white people on the island, ignoring the fact that at some time the population will say enough….and there will be violent blowback…

But he is too stupid to see, so hellbent him and his ilk are on mischievously and maliciously spreading the miseducation and misinformation to the Black population.

Idiots like him are beaten badly in other jurisdictions for their evil ways.

Just look how he is on BU….blatantly lying on a man that not only tried to help poor whites….but also the black population who were slaves at the time……..this skunk.

4. Theophilius Gazerts 121 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 121

Girl you gotta stop that. Baiting him and then smacking him around.

5. Theophilius Gazerts 121 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 121

Dude, learn to google and cut n paste.
    You are making yourself look ignorant talking about periods and hyphens

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Vincent…you should be telling us about Curacao’s grand slave owning and post slavery history…instead ya in Barbados trying to spread mischief….

…..every article I read said the same thing about Samuel Jackman Prescod….none deviated, there is still a potrait of him available when he advocated to free black people…in UK….

……you are the only one with a different story….just like with ya fraud story about BUSSA….British museums have written proof about BUSSA…but you claim to know what really happened, and ya werent there, neither were your ancestors. ..but you so feel you can change the course of anything positive for Black people….that ya continuing with the lies and mischief…

…….but ya will get what ya looking for…..the new generation will fix you..

7. Theophilius Gazerts 121 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 121

Thanks all…
    There is room under the tent for all …

(Need to go out with wife, before she cut and paste my butt)
    Love to all,,,,,

8. Theophilius Gazerts 121 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 121

That POS (Port of Spain- not) would write blacks out of the history of Barbados

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol……the portrait I saw of Samuel Jackman Prescod in the british parliament advocating to free black people in Barbados….had no comma…..I could clearly see his features, just as it is on the Barbados currency…

Lol, haha haha. ..a comma…lol

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Theophilis….if the skunks could, but they are not enough of the lowlifes on the island to write over 260,000 African descendants out of history…not in Barbados

….., there are 7,500 wannabe whites on the island and a few of the Vincents pretending not to be Black…lol

11. Hahahaha……a braying match made in heaven…..carry on smartly.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ya are a fraud and a liar, that is what happens when your intentions are evil….you get exposed, go ask for forgiveness before ya get a stroke or something.

13. Speaking of re-naming schools I think the late Wendell McClean made a tremendous contribution to Barbados both in terms of his outstanding scholarship in the Dept of Economics at UWI,his research in matters of public interest but most of all his valued intervention,unpaid,at hearings convened by the then Public Utilities Board.His cool,calm and incisive questioning and findings made interviewees most anxious and uncomfortable.
    It would be fitting to rename Ellerslie which is in his neighbourhood, to perpetuate his memory,subject to his family’s agreement of course.
    I can’t forget the night of the General Election of 1971 when he was on a review panel and on hearing the results of the first winning seat declared,that of St Michael West going to the late Brandford Taitt,he immediately forecast an 18 to 6 win for the DLP.He was right on the money.

14. WW—SJP indeed, believe he was someone with my blood’s outside children or family somehow—-change the name of something important in his favour asap.

15. MB

Chuckle….you are going to confuse the resident idiot&mate some more.

16. R

ace and Revolts

The Barbados elite pioneered anti-black racism as well as all-black slavery. According to a 1661 statue from the island’s assembly, blacks were a “heathenish, brutish” species, more like lions than cattle and not at all like “Christian” servants. This law was the first of its kind, and it spread as white Barbadians sought new frontiers in the Caribbean and the mainland. By the early 1700s, the island’s law was the basis for slave codes in Jamaica, South Carolina, and Virginia.

https://www.jacobinmag.com/2017/05/barbados-slavery-colonialism-revolt-independence

17. Vinni,
    I continue to explain that this whole human existence is very complicated especially in the former slave areas of the Cbean and the USA.

Henry Louis Gates History Prof at Harvard U has a TV program on Ancetors of prominent people and it is intriguing to see mixed people receiving the “news” about their family history of which they know little eg last Monday one person learnt their ancestor fought for the Confeds–not funny! Another learnt that her Afro ancestors were freed and then owned Slaves, but only 900 Afro families in Louisiana did–yep 900.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Thanks for the link to the Jacobin article

19. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service

MoneyB…yall cannot change the narrative…yall tried for the last 50 years and failed…the last nail in ya coffins, literally and figuratively, will be reparations, in whatever form, it will drive both John and Vincent to their graves…

more powerful forces than any of you…are at work

intelligent people no longer believe what whites who have very little to no regard for the wellbeing of blacks or those who dont believe they are black, have to say about black history…too many lies have been told, everyone does their own research…everything can now be verified.

i sure as hell wont believe anything John or Vincent says about black people without checking it out myself…and you are known to be real shady yaself….the 3 of you got a bad reputation on BU…ya worked hard to get it.

20. Where did you find this article Hants? It encapsulates a lot of what the majority of the BU family has discussed.

21. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

and as i said earlier….now to see it on Hant`s post….

……It is to embrace the fact that there is simply no more room for the unbridled exploitation of anyplace or anyone……

there will be massive blowback if the Vincents, Bizzys and Cows et al cant get that through their thick, greedy, stupid skulls.

22. @ David
    Can you please ensure that Hants’ reference article is made mandatory reading for John, Vincent and Money B… before they are allowed to engage on such topics on BU in future…?

23. Bushie

Chuckle….poor you…..understanding agendas is beyond you….a number of truths,half truths and lies have been stitched together by american fifth columnist to create a scenario which is not correct……but carry on smartly…….wait for it to bite yuh….lol.

24. @ David,

I saw the link on another blog, read the article and thought I should share it with

my favorite BU Bajans. lol

25. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Gabriel November 12, 2017 at 11:17 AM “Ask the majority parents which secondary school they would like their children to attend….Albinos would likely reply St Winifred.”

Albinos only send their children to St. Winifred’s if they are foreigners, or if they don’t make the grade for Harrison College.

We all know that.

26. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Bernard Codrington. November 12, 2017 at 11:44 AM “But are we not using the spiteful,vengeful concept of God and visiting the sins of the fathers upon their children?”

So who has visited sins on whom?

Stupseee!!!

27. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Simple Simon at 10 : 14 PM

The message is not for you; that is why it does not resonate. Some cultures attribute to God human characteristics such as vengeance.

28. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Vincent Haynes at 8 : 39 PM

You are spot on. We all have our agenda. Subconsciously and very often deliberately, we select information that supports our own beliefs and purpose. But that is the nature of man.

29. “Bernard and Vincent

It seems like 101 a discussion approach to identify and explain the parts of the article in disagreement? Until you do the comments offered are generalizations to be generous.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Simple……dont mind the few that bears ill will with their agendas directed against the majority population……….the young generation who have no patience for evil thinkers and evil doers will deal with them in grand style.

Let them dont change the way they approach the Black population and they will all learn the hard way…….that their style of exploitation of the majority population will be met with brutal force, resistance and extinguished.

…they are a minority population even on BU, a minority group in Barbados, their numbers keep dwindling the more they pretend the Black majority dont exist on the island and are only good for being exploited…. in 2017 ….most of these minorities arevdying out rapidly and all of that is for a very good reason.

The sins of their fathers are following them with their every evil utterance and action or they would have given up on exploiting the Black population 50 years ago and not still forcing to continue the trend today…that is the evil their ancestors created following them….and they do not intend to stop until they are stopped….but they might not like how it ends.

Bushman….dont mind Vincent, that is how evil fights to survive, by telling you that you cannot win….and unable to see that he has already lost….he is probably waiting for UK to help him keep the population as mindless slaves, we know that they were hoping the dummy trump could….but they dont realize that they themselves are likely to be imprisoned in the future if they dont stop with the exploitation……lol

The world has reached its limits and has had enough of them all.

31. Changing the name of Harsun’s College will cause a national high blood pressure crisis. Now if we change Harsuns , Combamare and Queens, the entire health system would certainly collapse.
    Wid de current state of the economy it is unwise to even move Nelson !!!! I really still trying muh bes’ to understan when Harsuns and Combamare became our top schools. Uh cud only guess that Wesley Hall, St. Giles and Bay Street/Bay Primary and Baxtons en get nuh pick …….. Jah help us

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…that would be awful, but vital to create positive changd..

… really should not be happening in 2017… enlightened people understand that they still need more information, still have more to learn, that is the definition of true enlightenment. .

…50 years of persistent brainwash has created a land of psychologically damaged souls, trying to hold on to THINGS of the past that destroyed their foreparents and left them damaged, but nevertheless, they are still trying to hold on to these THINGS..

33. WW–you have been the epitome of Racism on BU, with some others occasionally attempting to usurp your leadership. Naturally, I dont come pun here expecting to win any popularity contests but to elucidate the Hypocrisy that is extent. Much of the time it is necessary to provide a dissenting view even when I dont feel strongly in the direction.

Explain to me why BU should be a Mutual Admiration Society? Nothing can be accomplished by such.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

MoneyB…..keep it up and I will add racist to my moniker….ya know am not afraid….

Highlighting that a bunch of racist greedy, minority bottom feeders on the island have been exploiting and ripping off the majority population on the island for decades…is not being racist,…it’s exposing thieves, racists and con men in the minority population…

You love to get on here waxing hypocritical about ….you feel so sorry for the poor peeps in Barbados…..but it is your ilk keeping them poor by stealing from them..then they got the nerve to pretend they are superior and masters of the same majority population…..and you never mention that, how convenient….

And there ya were thinking no one noticed.

And ya forgetting when speaking to me….ya are not speaking to ya average Bajan.

No one wants an MAS on BU…but it’s only a few of you are always in favor of an exploited majority population, whom you believe should be mislabeled to what you want them to be, with the minority population doing the mislabeling and exploiting……especially that joker Vincent who is famous for pushing his mislabeling agenda.

…..none of you have ever offered anything that gives the majority population control of their own futures, immense wealth or seeing themselves other than the exploited….yall never, ever offer anything positive and always push an agenda of a minority of parasites controlling a majority population…..instead of pushing for the minorities finally knowing their place as minorities and living as equal citizens on the island with the majority.

…and then you got the nerve to call ME racist.

As things stand, it will end very badly, given the inequality in population size…if that decades old exploitative racist agenda the the minorities use to exploit the majority population ……..into another generation is not abandoned completely.

Now call me racist again.

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I know for a fact yall like to pull that reverse psychology in Barbados….calling the bajans you exploit racist when they try to resist your racist exploitation,…but that could never work on me……try another scam…MoneyB.

36. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 12 : 51 AM

Has it not occurred to you that Vincent and I find the article below 101 and that a Common Entrance Candidate can do better?

37. WW, you are Racist!
    Only simpletons wont appreciate that categorising of thousands of people as one makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.

So WW what are you threatening exactly? Lets kill Whitey as we are feeling suicidal today? Better to fix the bloody sewage problem in Rendezvous before plenty nuff innocent people die of some serious disease. My bad, the army of occupation could not run a snowball cart in the Bus stand in the mid day sun in September, such bad Whiteys!

Your mantra–no more Whiteys and all problems will be solved. Alright den no more touristes, no more off shore Corps, no more banks (Beer nor financial), no more association with Europe nor NthAm, NO MORE BIM!

38. @ Hal
    Ah find um very strange dat u a proud Ivy
    boy en even put in a plug fuh St Giles
    Well lehbmuh put in a plug fuh Bay Primary
    Modern High and St Anthony’s. Ah got some
    very good and close friends who went to
    Parkinson. Ah begging fuhall wunnuh to
    give dem a plug too.
    Ah know all we does think dat all de primary
    school teachers is jes Dey doing mitten but
    let me give dem a plug too.
    Ah can’t understand how de ones pun de
    blog en rush to put dem usage schools
    in de long. Maybe duh just satisfied
    praising de big up schools and don want
    nun body to know wet de really went.
    PS. Pardon de dialect it more harder to
    write then the so- called standard English
    but ah trying.
    But ah trying……….

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

MoneyB…while you are calling me racist…the nasty “color caste” system yall got going and trying to keep alive in Barbados and the Caribbean to continue ya exploitation and discrimination of the majority Black population…… is being exposed on Facbook as we speak, by people from as far as Addis Abbaba….who claimed they have never seen so much racism in their countries as they have seen and experienced in the Caribbean, but they understand that is the residue left over from the slave trade…and all agree it must be exposed and destroyed..

Doubt me….ask Karl Watson or our PLT…I saw them commenting,…I am reading their responses.

So call me racist again.

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“St Anthony’s”

Now that was a good school, good principal…my sons spent 2 years there before returning to US in 93 to 95..sorry it no longer exists.

Dont worry ah trying to write dialect so ah could cuss Vincent, he will regret the day I master it.

MoneyB….stop trying to put words in my mouth, stop believing white people on the island are entitled…that is where all the problems arise.., that false belief of entitlement to exploit, steal from and discriminate against the majority population ..

If exploiters refuse to stop practicing exploitation and get themselves killed…that is their problem…certainly not mine.

What makes you believe you should be categorized differently to the majority population….do you squat differently, eat differently…..live forever. ….keep ya trifling ass quiet, you are no different than, better than or more important than any Black man or woman in Barbados.

41. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ya can play the drama queen role as much as ya want MoneyB…but life will go on as normal when the minorities cannot exploit, discriminate against, steal from the majority….and practice racism…

Tourists will still land….not being able to practice racism will not stop them…they got hundreds of millions of black tourists, the white ones will not stop arriving because you cant practice racism in Barbados…

Corporations will not stop doing business because they cant exploit or practice racism…..they need to be able to put their funds somewhere.

Yall been riding the coat tails of racism and exploitation too long and now do not know how to survive without it…..

….but the majority population is over 260,000 strong and do not need the minorities, racism, nor exploitation to survive…in other words…they do not need any of you, you are small in numbers and useless unless you change your demonic habits and useless, dangerous and destructive practices.

42. @Bernard

Your way of not answering the question? What about the article you disagree?

43. WW wrote,
    MoneyB….stop trying to put words in my mouth, stop believing white people on the island are entitled…that is where all the problems arise.., that false belief of entitlement to exploit, steal from and discriminate against the majority population ..

WW where did I indicate anything close to that above? You need to read Goebbels and Fritsch AGAIN to hone your Brainwashing propaganda capabilities.

44. William Skinner November 13, 2017 at 10:18 AM #

My apologies for being late to the table, but I have said on a number of occasions here that St Giles has the best pedigree of any school in Barbados. In fact, I am still in touch with one of my old St Giles teachers and we share wonderful moments talking about the days of J.O. Morris and his high ethical principles and his commitment to the boys.
    May he rest in peace.

45. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

MoneyB..yeah, yeah…the point remains and the objective was to expose the repulsive racism and exploitation in Barbados and the Caribbean being practiced by a small minority, very tiny population of greedy people….

believe it or not…and ya can ask PLT or Watson, the exposure on Facebook was not my doing…but Karma works in very mysterious ways..lol..

a very beautiful Ethiopian woman posted she did not realize her Black skin was an issue until she lived in Canada…from there others from other countries started to comment about the disgusting racism now endemic to Barbados and the Caribbean, one person noted that they never knew about racism until they visited Barbados, then it was suggested that the practice of racism in the islands cannot be allowed to continue into another generation..

none of that was my doing..

so you can bring a thousand lame excuses…and blame me for everything …..everyone is on to the racist minorities and their nasty, repulsive practices….and it will be eradicated.

46. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar

BTW…MoneyB…ya know that since it hit Facebook and gone global….yall cant hide it anymore to fool the world, ya know yall nastiness is now in the open and it will be an international topic for those working to eradicate racism, exploitation and discrimination…

and Karma is so sweet, i did not even have to lift a finger….lol…i just watched it all unfold, hahaha..

47. WW,
    What are you referring to? Hit FB?

48. WW,Seretse Kama’s mother asked “how U going to wake up to see that White ghost every morning”.
    Racism runs very deep in every community, including those in Africa.

49. No other crop required so much animal- and human-power, so much fuel and care, so much capital and labor.

This is of course total, complete and utter BS!!

Once first crop is established no weeding or cultivation for 5 or more years is needed, depending on the quality of the field.

I have seen 13th crop being reaped in a good field!!

There is a field at Society called “Never Failing”!!

Wind replaced animal power and any energy for boiling comes/came from megasse/trash, that is, the same canes after grinding!!

Typically a windmill had the power output of a lawn mower, 3.75 HP, source, the late Colin Hudson!!

A cattle mill prior to wind was thus far less power!!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0756CKQ3Z/ref=sspa_dk_detail_3?psc=1

Here is a one horsepower, 750 watt cane juicer, four of them would do the work of a windmill, once you have electricity!!

Pretty easy to use Amazon.com today to replace a windmill!!

Steam power replaced wind and factories were/are largely energy self sufficient, the water for steam came from the canes, and the megasse is burnt to produce the steam!!

I have seen somewhere that 70 to 80 % of the weight of sugar cane is water.

…. and if you look at the Census of Barbados in 1689, David Kent, you will see that the bulk of the “planters” owned small acreages and ran them with a handful of slaves.

All this is to say the output of sugar in the days of slavery was tiny.

Steam, field organization and mechanization after slavery increase this tiny output 20 fold!!

50. That’s why Sugar Cane works for Barbados!!!

I see the dummies are still out in force!!

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your ServiceCancel reply