How The Hell Would Anyone Know That This Resort Is In Barbados An English Speaking Country? Since when did Barbados Relocate to China? This Sign Must Be Removed. It Is An Insult To The People of Barbados!

Image may contain: outdoor

‎Posted to Facebook

The following composed by Heather Cole

Anyone offended by the above title should also be deeply offended by the disturbing signage outside of Sam Lords Castle that is now being rebuilt.  This historic property has been a part of Barbados since the days of Slavery.  It comes packaged with folklore about the exploits of Samuel Lord, who has since been immortalized in song by the Merry Men regarding his exploits as a pirate, hanging lanterns on coconuts trees for ships to run aground on the reef so that he could pillage its treasure.

It is unfortunate that the property was allowed to run to ruin.  All Barbadians are happy at the prospects of it being rebuilt bringing jobs.  However, Barbadians do not speak far less read Chinese.  No one knows what the signage says.   We speak a Bajan dialect and English is our national language.  Our days of colonialism ended in 1966.  We have a flag that is blue and gold not red and white, we have a Coat of Arms on which is written in English “Pride and Industry” not Chinese Characters, we have a national anthem that is written in English.

Chinese is not the national language of Barbados.   Signage in Chinese must not be allowed on such a significantly historical property in Barbados.   If the Chinese want to build a Sam Lords Castle in Shanghai, Shandong, Guangdong, Sichuan, Henan or any of the other Chinese Provinces they would be well within their rights to put Chinese characters at the entrance but not in Long Bay, St Philip Barbados, the signage must be remove immediately.  It is an insult to all Barbadians.

One wonders if it was done in oversight by the Government or on deliberate action.  However, there is no Chinese sign on the Gymnasium.  In Barbados we have a preference for other cultures to assimilate to our culture and our language and want to keep it that way.  Mrs. Ram Mirchandani has a hotel in Barbados and there is no signage at the entrance in any of the Indian languages. The previous owners of Sam Lords Castle kept its original name and in the English language. Why can’t the Chinese?

247 responses to “Remove This RH Sign – Chinese Sign Greets Visitors to Sam Lord’s Castle in Barbados”

1. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

So fellows please put your sexual jealousy away. It is unbecoming of you. If you treat your woman or wife well you don’t have to worry about another man enticing her away.

But if you are a bad behaved fella…

Get ready for the competition.

2. The population of the city of Toronto was 2,731,571 in 2016

metropolitan area of Toronto was 5,928,040,

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    The question was asked, whether the request to remove the sign in Mandarin could be “intolerance” (xenophobia). I replied I thought it was possible to be viewed as such. Caribana was to demonstrate other places accept and embrace foreign cultures, in other words, Bajans could be more tolerant. Dats all.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Simple….sometimes ya gotta ignore BUs two resident idiots Hal and Vincent…they are more often than not out of their depth on any given subject on any given day…..

….Hal’s back Ivy days of pimping or seeing young gorls and women being pimped out is still in his mind, the idea of intelligent Black women wanting family security and ambitious males as their mates across cultural groups , while they themselves are ambitious Black females cannot resonate in that narrow mind…..and that is dispite him spending decades in the UK, being exposed to and seeing what I speak of on a daily basis….unless he has been living on skid row or under london bridge all this time..and never saw it.

The mind of the dumb downed Black male, no matter where he lives or what progressive society he has been exposed to, never wants to see progress for the Black female and her progeny. ..hence the reason the intelligent Black female avoid these neanderthals….like the plague.

Just imagine the poor woman who biologically cloned a Hal mentality…the thought is tragic.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Apparently Karl Watson weighed in on the Chinese sign controversy, even saying that the english translation of the sign that the poster failed to mention was even larger than the controversial chinese sign…..and cgastising bajans fir their intolerance…which he too heloed create by his false representation of the majority Black population’s trye African history….so naturally, he git out in his place…..when you sow the wind, you reap the world wind.

The Chinese are aware that they are descended from the first tribes of Africans who travelled to Asia…but majority Black bajans do not know this….they do not know their own African history.., thanks to the likes of miseducation and misinformation fed to them by the likes of Karl Watson..

“Maybe if real Black history was taught in Bajan schools from primary level, instead of the watered down lies told by Karl himself who seek to dumb down the majority Black population and keep them ignorant of their own true rich and powerful African history.

Maybe if Black Bajans knew that Chinese people are descended from the very first Black Africans who travelled from Africa to the far east, Asia, China, because the Chinese people know this, but Black Bajans don’t, too much lies being told to them so much so they still do not know the truth of their own history and that they are the first people to inhabit the earth and therefore every other group on earth came from the Black bloodline in Africa..

Maybe if Black Bajans were taught all that in schools from small, they would be more tolerant and accepting of the Manadrin language their Black ancestors helped create and Karl Watson would not now be complaining of the intolerance which he too is helping create with untruthful Black history and keeping the majority Black population ignorant of their African heritage, of which they should be immensely proud.

The things you do, follow you. “

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

…….and Watson is now chastising bajans for their intolerance…an intolerance which he too helped create by his false representation of the majority Black population’s true African history….so naturally, he got put in his place…..when you sow the wind, you reap the world wind.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Where is PLT…I would love to hear his take on this.

8. @Sargeant & Northern Observer

Sorry for not getting back to you on the question. Cant confirm but the BU household does not give a france if English was on the other side. What we are are unhappy about is that there was no PR before it was done and we are happy about the growing effective lobby by citizens.

9. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Hants November 9, 2017 at 2:13 AM “The population of the city of Toronto was 2,731,571 in 2016. metropolitan area of Toronto was 5,928,040.

Correction accepted.

But 2 million diasporans in a population o 2.7 is still adds a lot of colour [and a lot of money] to the city during Caribana weekend. But I read recently that Toronto is now majority people of colour anyway.

10. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Bush Tea November 8, 2017 at 10:29 PM “@ Simple Simon. The tradition of women looking to sell their ware to the highest bidder with a dick is called prostitution.

I am sure that Mrs. Tea married you not only because you were very handsome and possessed of a very big d!ck, but also because you were ambitious, and hard working, and even if not wealthy then, had the potential to create enough wealth to enable the little Teas to live with a great degree of comfort.

I would say that that shows that she is a very smart woman.

I wouldn’t call that prostitution at all.

So why should you?

11. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

And Hal mentioned Chinese racism which no doubt exists, just as white racism existed in London when Hal move there 50 years ago. Racism will likely never go away. Certainly it won’t go away in our lifetimes. But in spite of institutional and individual racism people choose their mates from among the pool of potential mates available at a particular place and a particular time. No doubt in spite of racism some black Bajans have chosen to marry into or have children with the white English community, and no doubt some of these relationships have failed, just as some have succeeded. No government in the world, not even the Chinese government is powerful enough to maintain long term absolute control over human sexuality [we ll know how unruly human sexuality is, I mean have you ever seen any government try to create a Ministry of Sexuality?] Stupssseee!!! So yes I have seen half Chinese children in Barbados for decades now.

And remember the Chinese immigrants who came to Jamaica during post-emancipation were not aristocratic people, they were not the sons and daughters of Chinese emperors, they were [just like Caribbean immigrants to Panama, Brazil, Cuba, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada] poor but ambitious people looking for an economic opportunity, and also looking for an opportunity to escape from being at the bottom of their socially stratified society. Some failed. Some did ok. A minority succeeded spectacularly.

Old working class country Bajans like my parents had a saying “two old cows does mek up good down”

if you don’t understand what that means ask me.

12. How long does it take for people with so called intelligence to understand this simple age old and world wide rule……which is even executed in China.

The purpose of a sign is to communicate effectively to whoever it is intended for,hence it should be in English,Chinese and possibly German as that was one of their haunts back in the day and should be placed together in a suitable place with the dominant language on top.

13. @ NorthernObserver
    The situation in Toronto is fundamentally different.

The Caribana business is not an imposed power play by wealthy west indians on the local population. Indeed it must be quite quaint to watch the carefree n***** wukking up in gay abandon on the streets – despite their dire economic status in Toronto.
    Caribana does NOT set the rules in Toronto – the state authorities there do….
    Step out of line and see what they will do to your donkey…

In Barbados, the foreigners are here, having bribed their way via our political whoredom. Their MONEY talks….. people who think like like Simple then make the bullshit walk.

Who do you think decided to spend $19M refurbishing the Gymnasium? ….Lashley?
    Shiite boss, we could have built another Gym with that money.
    …and where the hell did the money go anyway? – the toilets still look stink.

Don’t you think that ANY of the many local solar companies could have done the Solar installation – and be in a position to carry out routine maintenance? ….now every shiite is in Chinese and we have to wait until THEY decide to fix a leaky pipe or a blown bulb…

The problem is NOT the Chinese.
    ALL albino-centric people (EXCEPT Bajan brass bowl idiots) seek to impose their own selfish will on gullible jokers …. especially if those jokers are hand-to-mouth and dishonest.

The REAL problem is the lack of self esteem and self worth that we see exemplified by the thinking that we should lay down, or bend over, and spread …whenever we encounter strangers with money
    …… and the REAL disgrace is that so-called educated people are willing to publicly articulate such a philosophy….. led by the idiot Peter Wicker…. with a Dr Simple now in tow…

@ Simple Simon
    Don’t be an ass.
    The example of a Bajan woman marrying, and staying with, a stinking bushman through thick and thin is the VERY ANTITHESIS of prostitution.
    If you are unable to articulate sound positions – at LEAST drop the Dr and PhD shiite nuh…

If you cannot see the difference between two brass bowls marrying for LOVE….. and a jenny-ass always on the lookout for fresh ‘Johns’ – with nuff money to spend, then you are beyond SIMPLE..
    Don’t let Bushie now have to brand you as The RH Simple Simon (Right Honourable)

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

When will Vincent understand when he takes the time to READ….that the sign is in ENGLISH on the other side of the PILLAR in even LARGER LETTERS…..sheeesh.

As I posited in one of my first post that it would be the case despite the intent of the protestor.

As Bushman saìd! the problem is not the Chineses….it’s the greeyi ignorant RHs yall got for government ministers, politicians, and local leaders all strutting around with fake titles and bullshit accolades and modeling westminister crap handed down to them like the pretenders they are…..with thrir only intent being to rip off their own people however they could to become pretend millionaires with yachts and million dollaŕ houses and overseas bank accounts, their only interests and loyalty lies with whoever can help them attain that facade.

Not one off those shit for brains ministers of education in the last 50 years EVER upgraded the curriculum to include the real history of y5he descendants of Africans, who are the majority population on the island….until that happens…, they will implode, as they all deserve.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“What we are are unhappy about is that there was no PR before it was done and we are happy about the growing effective lobby by citizens..”

That was the error made, by both Chinese and whoever is borrowing their money for the project

……..dont yall have PR people in government who liaise with the Chinese who are in charge of the project…..at least weekly, did they not see the sign and ask for an explanation in order to educate the public re what the sign represents and why….

16. When will this itinerant fifth columnist,new to the english language understand……..that a vast difference exists between….

…..On the other side of the Pillar

….and…………the accepted norm of signage i.e. dominant language uptop and all other languages below.

I hope those with intelligence will understand as I do not expect this one to.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

As a matter of fact….both black governments have over the last 50 years refused to tell the majority population who elected them over the last 10…5 year election cycles, anything whether in ènglish or dialect that concerns the majority black population about their money, futures, contracts the governments signs in their names and on their behalf the conditions and terms and with whom they contract…..or the outcomes..

So this matter is just one more….no FOIA….no freedom of information act = no information to the public.

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Maybe ya should take a look at the design of the pillar….then ask the Chinese a question.

My understanding of the english language is better than yours, for sure.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Commonsense in any language is still commonsense.

……ah met a lot of Curacaons wuth commonsense, but none on BU.

20. Hahahaha…..

Folks I rest my case……

its understandable though as the individual is a stranger to the english language as well as dealing with facts.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ya full of crap….do you know how much space they needed for the lettering on the pillar, according to who saw it, the english lettering is larger on the other side, meaning…there was more space on that side……a commonsense thing.

Which is neither here nor there now since Karl Watson needed a good telling off anyway for the fraud that he is….and thanks to the Chinese….someone got the opportunity.

22. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Bush Tea November 9, 2017 at 7:58 AM “Who do you think decided to spend $19M refurbishing the Gymnasium?and where the hell did the money go anyway?”

Now the Chinese have never managed the gymnasium.

So why did the gymnasium managers not do routine maintenance? Was money not put annually in the budget for this? Is it not a management function to put money in the budget for routine maintenance, and to routinely spend that money on doing maintenance.

Has this been done over the last 20 to 25 years since the building was built, and if not why not?

Wait what has become of the former non-Chinese, 100% Bajan gymnasium manager anyhow?

23. Chuckle…..when you lack comprehension of a foreign language….sad

Hahaha…..put the signage on a Billboard Duffus,if that is what it takes to meet international requirements……lol…..what is the fascination with the pillar…..oh lawd…..where ignorance is bliss…tis folly to be wise……hahaha.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. November 9, 2017 at 3:56 AM
    “The mind of the dumb downed Black male, no matter where he lives or what progressive society he has been exposed to, never wants to see progress for the Black female and her progeny. ..hence the reason the intelligent Black female avoid these neanderthals….like the plague.”

We would like both you and ‘Dr. SS, Phd’ to become an equal opportunity man basher instead of singling out the poor used and abused -and in some cases, socially lynched and economically castrated- black men in the West.

These black men are just the mentally-enslaved bi-products of physically enslaved black men and women who did not sail willingly to the Americas as free people looking to seek their economic fortunes like the East Indians and the same Chinese whom you are now extolling their virtues of good ‘husbandry’.

Why don’t the two of you make out a similar case for the liberation of women in those countries where Islamic fundamentalism is pervasive even among the educated elite and the subjugation of females is as common as muck according to the laws of Sharia?

When we can see educated high-flying ‘Muslim’ women liberated from the ‘misogynistic’ chains of male control and able to drive and travel around those countries without some kind of ‘family’ male escort then we will ask the same black men- you find it so easy to attack- to be their body guards in more ways than in their simple but observable physical protection.

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Miller…we are really trying to drag your “poor dumbed down black males” of Barbados out of the uneducated morass and ignprance that the likes of Vincent, John and ya dirty as RH government ministers and politicians would have them staying in forever…never knowing their true glorious history that was so powerful and that others have been so jealous of….that they stole and rewrote it…

One thing at a time…muslim women in the middle east can now drive a car, unheard of 10 years ago, they would have been beheaded for having the thought…changes are coming….baby steps.

Dr. Simple and I are closer to the miseducation of the Black males and females of the Caribbean by the frauds calling themselves historians…like Watson..

The energy and fervor that was used to have the sign removed, should now be redirected to have real African history….and not his lying white story….on the curriculum in all schools in Barbados and the Caribbean..

…..that should be advocated with a vengeance so the black sons and daughters will know who they really are and where they came from, who their ancestors have been fir thousands of years…..a starting point to discovering oneself…..

…..the black male will learn he is neither poor nor dumb….just miseducated through the process of dumbing down….he will learn he is not a criminal…but has been criminalized for centuries…by criminals…he will learn of his greatness and how to manifest it.

Shut down the fraud historians with their barrels and barrels of white lies.

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Vincent …ah go tear down you criminals and the enemies of the majority Black population to the ground, strip everyone of you, cause I know who ya are and I have 4 grandsons….so far.

You lot have to be exposed to the world for what you are and what you have done….criminals.

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Miller…to answer you question, which am sure you already know..

“Mental Slavery is far more sinister than physical slavery because the chains are invisible and are transmitted across generations. If African slavery was only physical, African people would have within one generation been able to skip the plethora of social-economic issues which plague African people globally the second the chains came off…

Mental slavery is a state of mind where discerning between liberation and enslavement is twisted. Where one becomes trapped by misinformation about self and the world. So someone can claim to be conscious, they can read all the books they can recycle the popular rhetoric but still be unable to balance real-world priorities and self-interest…”

By

S.O.Y

28. Poor demented soul……living with delusions……. Sad.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT et al
    My topic was “tolerance”. Not the economic benefit/cost of Caribana, or any other cultural celebration, or perceptions on who participates or who is behind any such event, I didn’t even raise if it was in 2 or 6 languages.
    David suggested this is a backlash to many other issues, a point which is seemingly supported by many.

30. @ NO
    Tolerance is easy when dealing with a legitimate visitor and guest to your home.
    It is manageable when they are on your property to carry out needed work or repairs..
    It is tolerable if they are passing through briefly on other business…

But when these ‘visitors’ start writing shiite on your front door; telling your children what to do – and when; …..and start pissing in your living room –
    …it may be a bit late to ask what they want…

David’s “backlash” may really be a ‘last gasp reality check’……

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Poor and demented will be you seeing it all evolve before ya very eyes.

The blowback.

32. Lil Baby Jeebus Avatar

Please, please tell us more about the idiots who have some doubts ‘bout lil baby jeebus. Jooboy, right.

33. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Go away Ian.

34. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@millertheanunnaki November 9, 2017 at 12:04 PM “We would like both you and ‘Dr. SS, Phd’ to become an equal opportunity man basher instead of singling out the poor used and abused -and in some cases, socially lynched and economically castrated- black men in the West.”

And while black men were enduring being”used and abused -and in some cases, socially lynched and economically castrated- black men in the West” so were black women. We were right there beside you and enduring sexuall assault as well.

I don’t know how my suggestion that our men should take better care of themselves, present themselves to their doctor once per year can be regarded as “man bashing” Would a “man basher” seek to have men take better care of themselves?

We have only 2 or 3 urologists in Barbados because many, perhaps most Bajan men refuse to take one hour and spend $100 per year on their health. And that is why Bajan men have the fifth highest rate of prostate cancer in the world.

And then the political and business class say “come we who do not take care of ourselves will take care of you”

How and why am I supposed to believe them?

What is it that wunna does talk about at lodge and old boy’s meetings anyhow? If your health is never mentioned.

35. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

Lil Baby Jeebus November 9, 2017 at 5:07 PM “jooboy.”

And please note that the term jooboy is NEVER, EVER used in Barbados.

You trouble maker you.

Why do you want to inject anti Semitism into this blog?

Go away do.

36. Dr SS PhD

Stop spreading lies&foolishness on the serious prostate situation.

The cost for the exam is $50.00…..should the test prove a need to go further you then have a choice of if poor waiting a year for QEH to examine you or if rich pay 4000.00 for an mri……if cancerous you wait on the mercy of qeh if poor or pay over $10.000.00 for the operation

This is a serious man thing that our medical system is playing yhe fool with and the majority of men to go and get tested.

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“What is it that wunna does talk about at lodge and old boy’s meetings anyhow? If your health is never mentioned.”

How to rip off their own people….then when their protates start acting up and their asses start to hurt them cause they spent their whole lives robbing the poor instead of taking care of theur prostates……then all they want to talk about are prostates.

Remember the DPP….he was busy taking bribes from whites and Indians, locking up Black people, nit dojng the job taxpayers were paying him to do, doing everything but checking for his prostate…by the time he got around to it, too late, he could not handle the surgery….wasted too much time.

That is what the stink beeches do at those lodge. ….waste time..

Me…no sympathy, let their asses hurt them, I never pretended to be sweet, for those wo want to fuss and fret.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Vincent

The operation does no cost $10,000 as you suggest; it is actually $30,000.

39. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Vincent Haynes November 9, 2017 at 7:31 PM “Dr SS PhD Stop spreading lies&foolishness on the serious prostate situation.”

I understand that it is a serious situation. I too like many Bajans have had a relative die prematurely, unnecessarily of prostate cancer, but if the prostate is supposed to be the size of an almond, and a man waits until he is in pain, has difficulty walking and the prostate is stage 4 and the size of a grapefruit, then what is a doctor supposed to do?

I am truly sorry that your friend is sick, poor, perhaps in pain and has to wait for his surgery.

But my points remains the same.

ONE: Too few men present for routine screening.

TWO: There are not enough urologists.

I would suggest that every lodge holds a prostate education and screening program for its members at least once a year.

Barbados should not have 5 times as many animal vets as urologists.

That is a shameful situation.

Barbadian men must pull together to change that situation.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Having more urologists on the island should drive down that cost significantly, may be too late now though.

41. Dr. Simple Simon Phd November 10, 2017 at 1:32 AM #

I am sorry about your relative,who waited untill he was in pain to report the matter…….my point is that over the last 10 years or so males have been getting tested on a regular basis….it is a myth to think that his not so…men have pulled together.

I agree with you that the word must continue to be spread wherever males are gathered from rumshops to churches. I always make a point of raising the topic especially in rumshops and have discovered that most do go for their tests at polyclinic,family planning or the cancer place.

We agree on the need for an increase of urologists and greater interest to be taken on the poor and vulnerable.

42. Caswell

Thanks….I was basing it on memory going back 30 odd years for my Dad’s.

How does govt expect the poor to deal with this cost?

43. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Vincent Haynes November 10, 2017 at 7:09 AM “We agree on the need for an increase of urologists and greater interest to be taken on the poor and vulnerable.”

Good we can shake hands then.

Love you guys.

In 1978 Barbados’ women used to be number 3 in cervical cancer deaths. Mostly unnecessary premature deaths. In those days women felt that to let anyone except their husband/boyfriend or the female midwife see their private parts was shameful. Now they know better and now they do better. Over the past 40 years Barbados’ women has moved from number 3 in cervical cancer deaths to number 91. The same can be done for prostate cancer, but it will take concerted public education and concerted work.

Best wishes.

44. Dr SS PhD

Thanks for your best wishes…..we love you too.

45. […] the most successful marketing campaign in the history of Barbados, with an article under the title Remove This RH Sign – Chinese Sign Greets Visitors to Sam Lord’s Castle in Barbados and signage in Chinese at the construction site of the Sam Lords Castle, was removed in less than […]

46. WASHINGTON — A senior Chinese diplomat has deleted a tweet that was widely condemned as racist and asserted that white residents of Washington refuse to live in black communities.
    The comments from Lijan Zhao, the deputy chief of mission for the China’s embassy in Islamabad, Pakistan, came as he sought to defend Beijing after 22 countries issued a joint statement criticizing China for the mass detention of Muslims in Xinjiang Province. The deputy chief of mission is typically the second-ranking diplomat in an embassy.
    “If you’re in Washington, D.C., you know the white never go to the SW area, because it’s an area for the black & Latin,” Zhao wrote on Twitter. “There’s a saying ‘black in & white out’, which means that as long as a black family enters, white people will quit, & price of the apartment will fall sharply.”
    The tweet triggered outrage on social media, including from former U.N. Ambassador Susan Rice, who served as President Obama’s national security adviser and called Zhao a “racist disgrace” and “shockingly ignorant. She urged China’s ambassador in the U.S., Cui Tiankai, to “do the right thing and send him home.”
    Zhao, who lived previously in Washington, later clarified that he was referring to the Southeast quadrant of the U.S. capital, not the Southwest quadrant, and tweeted a link to a news article detailing racial segregation in Washington. After tweeting back to Rice that she was “such a disgrace, too,” Zhao eventually deleted his initial tweet.
    Asked for its response to Zhao’s comments about black Washingtonians, the White House declined to comment. The State Department also had no specific comment about Zhao’s tweet.
    The controversy over Zhao’s tweet came as Trump himself was facing a barrage of criticism over his attacks on Twitter and elsewhere against four Democratic congresswomen of color whom he says “hate our country” and “can leave.”
    The Trump administration’s silence on Zhao’s tweets also stands in contrast to the president’s outspoken attacks on British diplomat Kim Darroch, who resigned last week after leaked diplomatic cables showed he’d described Trump and his administration as “clumsy and inept.” Trump publicly took issue with Darroch’s private comments, calling him a “pompous fool” and declaring that the White House would no longer engage with him.
    The White House has also frequently called out what it deemed to be problematic comments by foreign diplomats in the past, such as those from Iranian envoys.
    So far, the congressional committees that oversee U.S. foreign policy have not called out the comments publicly. But the office of Sen. Robert Menendez, the top Democrat on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, said he had raised the issue with the Chinese Embassy in Washington.
    The embassy did not immediately respond to a request for comment about whether Zhao remains in his post or has been disciplined.(Quote)