Barbados Today Online newspaper was today [30.10.2017] ordered by the Barbados Court to pay Leader of the Opposition an undisclosed settlement resulting from an article it posted that questioned her qualification to practice law in Barbados.

307 responses to “Barbados Today Online Newspaper Ordered to PAY Mia Mottley”

1. Didnt the PM promise to discuss the FBI report?

Didnt the PM promise to discuss the Clico list?

Both promises made on the floor of parliament.

2. I hope you readers of BU are taking note…….

Two entities that contribute on a regular basis to BU are objecting to “Blacks living in Sandy Lane or Fort George Heights”.

Note these are the same ones that warn you of albino-centrism and how badly the “blacks” have been treated by them.

I am trying to figure out the meaning of that statement and would welcome any help in so doing.

3. frustrated bajan Avatar
    frustrated bajan

Did Mia having or not having the relevant Law Certificate cause the following issues.

Increase in Vat from 15% to 17.5%
    The increase in road tax from $200 to $400
    The introduction of the Solid waste (shite) tax or the Consolidated tax
    What about the NSRL that giving migranes each time I enter the supermarket or any other place to shop
    What about the issue presently at the NIS.
    What about the many downgrades our poor Barbados economy has been subjected to.

Well these are the pressing issues that are facing each barbadian today whether from the poor, middle or upper class.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 31, 2017 at 9:48 AM

Fractured you need to change your moniker to “Totally Broken DLP”.

You pen of yard-fowls including the pimp of a galloping god-horse are now totally discredited.
    In any other jurisdiction the god-horse’s professional conduct would have been called into question with the possibility of not only being disciplined by the relevant regulatory authority but also the privilege of carrying the honorific title of “QC” be amended to read ‘Quack Counsel’.

You could as well take Duguid’s advice carry ‘ya mudda you know’ what.

What else you have in your defamatory musket to fire at MAM?

A ‘highly confidential’ video clipping of a broken jawbone of an ass eating a fat cat in Canouan?

What MAM will be expected to do on assuming office (D V) is to investigate not the authenticity of the god-horse entitlement to practice law at the standpipe but to find out how kosher the gadfly’s tax affairs are; even if it means engaging the services of our BU tax specialist Artax to carry out the requisite audit.

Should the stick insect be found wanting then no tax evasion stone will be left unturned to rectify that situation to ensure the Treasury gets its share of the easy money that gushed from the leaking money pipes of the water consumers.

That promise also applies to Frau (d) Greenverbs and all ‘her’ legal advisors who became millionaires in less than 8 years by practising law at the monkey bar.

Should she, MAM, fail to honour this pledge to Mother Karma then her ass too would be smitten by the whip of retribution.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Vincent…Black people no matter where they live will be fine if they just be themselves, nothing wrong with living in Sandy Lane or Fort George Heights, Millenuim Heights etc, they are all part of a tiny ass island, just maybe better maintained with roomier homes….and higher incomes…nothing special.

…..it’s the pretentiousness that is ugly.

If ya saw certain areas of Canada or Queens or Westchester County. . ah wonder what ya will say…

…..if ya seen one ya seen them all.

6. So…..they must be told how to behave…….yes slave master.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

When they act like you…they are acting like slave masters…wonder where they got that from.

8. @Prodigal Son October 30, 2017 at 11:04 PM “Well there goes the dems ace…or so they thought. As my spouse said today, if this fails, they would go back to the same sex talk.
    A man like the PM who is so stuck up that he thinks it is beneath him to engage the population.

See this sex talk thing, it got my head tie up.

I read your sentence as “A man like the PM who is so stuck up that he thinks it is beneath him to engage in copulation.”

lol

9. @David October 30, 2017 at 11:36 PM “The following was posted by Liz Thompson to her FB Wall: • Mia was called to the Bar in the United Kingdom on July 23rd 1987.
    • Mia was admitted to practise law in Barbados on December 18th, 1987.
    • Ms Mottley was presented in the UK by Sir Henry Forde QC the former Attorney General and (The Right Excellent) Errol Barrow, former Prime Minister.

According to multiple sources and my own memory Errol Barrow died on June 1, 1987. So unless Mia was presented in the UK, before being called to the bar in the UK on July 23rd 1987? How could Barrow have presented her in the UK at the time of her July 23, 1987 call when on July 23, 1987 Barrow was already little pieces of fine, fine dust floating in the Caribbean Sea.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Errol_Barrow
    https://www.totallybarbados.com/articles/about-barbados/people/barbados-national-heroes/errol-walton-barrow/

10. @Fractured BLP October 31, 2017 at 9:19 AM “Does she possess a double major degree – that is Law with another subject matter?”

But isn’t a double major better that a single major?

Are you trying to tell me that my little susie who got first class honours in mathemstics AND physics [that is a double major] isn’t a better student than my little johnnie who merely got a first class honors in mathematics?

Can you please explain? Thanks.

11. @Fractured BLP October 31, 2017 at 9:19 AM “Why does MAM – up today – remains unregistered to practice law in England and Wales after studying over there for her ” Law Degree ” ?

Perhaps because she never has nor does she ever intend to practice in England and Wales? So why bother to maintain registration and pay registration fees in multiple places.

A have a good number of relatives in regulated professions, and they make decisions to maintain registration only in the place in which they live. Is there something wrong with that?

A have a relative you tore up her nurses registration the day after she turned 65, after practising from 17 to 65 she said “dun wid dat” but if on the next day she had run into a badly fractured blp she would still have been competent to fix him up (I think, maybe, perhaps, no?)

12. @Hants October 31, 2017 at 11:29 AM “Have any of you ever been to a party in Sandy Lane or Fort George Heights or any of the upper class gated enclaves where the Black elite live ?

Yes.

Not enough food at them upper crust do’s for me.

I went to one once and when I came home I was so hungry I had to cook and eat the half of breadfruit which I had left in the fridge. Stupssseee!!! I should have STOOD at home.

Afterwards I ALWAYS made sure that my belly was full BEFORE I left home.

13. @Hal Austin October 31, 2017 at 10:12 AM “But power without responsibility is the prerogative of the harlot.”

Why don’t you take your mouth off the harlots who have to work very hard for their money, and who each day have to be responsible enough to practice safe sex so as not to contract or pass on any STD’s.

Why do people always feel at liberty to give harlots a hard time?

14. @De pedantic Dribbler October 31, 2017 at 4:33 PM “Stop drifting like those two seafarers off Tahiti. LOL”

I wondered about those Pacific drifters?

If they had been drifting for 5 months how come they did not run out of food and water? And especially I wondered how come at the end of 5 months drifting at sea their 2 dogs were apparently still large, healthy and happy?

i know that if I had been drifting on the Pacific for 5 months, my dogs would long since have become hot dogs.

And perhaps my ship mate too.

15. Miller

Do not get overly excited about nothing related to MAM legal qualification issue

The matter is still an active case…..the best is yet to come !!!

16. At parties in Sandy Lane or Fort George Heights or any of the upper class gated enclaves where the Black elite live…….ALL AH WE IS ONE.

The yard fowls are left to do the dirty work while the elite have a love fest.

The masses are brasses.

17. @Simple Simon

Were the docs not presented in the form of an Affidavit?

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

the difference between expense items…..salaries and wages AND transfers and subsidies.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    “Simple Simon October 31, 2017 at 10:32 PM”
    you mek me laff….the consummate Bajan.

20. @Hal Austin October 31, 2017 at 10:12 AM “But power without responsibility is the prerogative of the harlot.”

Are you talking about the harlots on Bush Hill, Bay Street or in parliament?

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Simple…exactly, the pretentious btches most of them dont have enough to buy food in the fort George, Sandy lpLane etc enclaves because the high costs of maintaining their facades…takes everything they got in liquid cash unless they are gunrunners, drug and human traffickers, or robbing the treasury and the NIS pension fund or they are foreign thieves of the aforementioned variety ….then they got a steady cash flow.

Dont let the BU pretenders try to mislead the blog, the garbage men who go through the areas can tell you how many sardine cans they pick up, I like sardines but not as a steady diet, most of them in those pretend hifalutin areas, that’s all they can afford to eat….after paying for the high maintenance.

22. Simple Simon October 31, 2017 at 10:21 PM #

@Fractured BLP October 31, 2017 at 9:19 AM “Does she possess a double major degree – that is Law with another subject matter?”

Simon

If for example , the Degree was in Political Science and Law

Then it would be more incumbent for that person to go to Law School if they wish to practise Law.

That is the point about a double major degree.

23. Hahaha…..cuhdear…..wha wrong wid sardines….. Ah too luvs um.

More convinced than ever that this envious of Bimmers person fifth columnist sent to sow seeds of divisiveness.

Chuckle….. May it continue to show its tail.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Bushman. …..it looks like our friend Fractured and Pissed Off is serious, DLP operatives have found good use for Naked Departure and have put quite the accusations out there that they know BU will not post….hats off to them, they did not know how vicious the opposition was going to react when they called in their lodge chips…lol

I could have told them what was planned if they did not cuss me so much on BU…lol

Dont forget to read ND…cat piss and pepper. ..lol.

Fractured and Pissed Off….ah hope yall aint too late.

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Vincent…shoo.I love sardines too, not as a steady daily diet though and never eat corned beef,…that is fopd for pigs…

There are more important things going on than ya petty littke wannabe white eurocentricity. …ya foolish little pretentious Afro-Curaçaoan…

Ya gotta wait ya turn today,…lol

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Bushman…Art…BACCHANAL….

The fallout and blowback will be ugly indeed, this is a fight to thief from bajans……..to the finish…lol

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

that is FOOD for pigs…

28. @Fractured BLP November 1, 2017 at 5:24 AM? “Simon. If for example , the Degree was in Political Science and Law. Then it would be more incumbent for that person to go to Law School if they wish to practise Law. That is the point about a double major degree.

You are talking nonsense.

And no I do NOT know Ms. Mottley. I have NEVER met her, not even in passing on the street. I am not now, nor have I ever been a member of the BLP [nor of the DLP] but I do know a thing or two about education including comparative/international education.

A person who has successfully completed a double major, especially if with high honors [upper second class or above in British type systems, magna cum laude or better in American type systems] has essentially completed completed two full bachelor’s degrees.

So a double major is BETTER than a single major. It is NT half of one thing and half of the other. It is 2 full programs.

29. I asked before and I will ask again, whether the degree(s) earned by Dennis Lowe was from one of the universities listed here. Nobody from the DLP, and no DLP supported has chosen to respond.

https://www.chea.org/4DCGI/cms/review.html?Action=CMS_Document&DocID=32&MenuKey=main

Why not?

And no I do NOT know Mr. Lowe. I have NEVER met him, not even in passing on the street. I am not now, nor have I ever been a member of the DLP [nor of the BLP]

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Simple…as a taxpaying citizen, ya got a right to ask…lol

The government operatives are using Naked Departure quite efficiently, effectively and competently this morning, even I am impressed and am never easily impressed, maybe they can use ND as effectively to answer you…lol

Because they are ignoring ya questions on BU.

31. @NorthernObserver November 1, 2017 at 2:35 AM @“Simple Simon October 31, 2017 at 10:32 PM” you mek me laff.the consummate Bajan.”

It is not really Bajan ya know. The old people knew the Bible really well and they taught us as in Proverbs 23, verses 1 to 3 “When thou sittest to eat with a ruler, consider, be not desirous of his dainties for they are deceitful meat.”

And the really Bajan one that the old man emphasized “don’t mek ya belly into a hog trough”.

So nobody, no matter how rich, not even if as rich as the Chinese or U.S. government can ever say about any of the old man’s children that we come to their house for the food or drink, that we is lickerish people. The old man’s mantra “Eat before ya lef’ home”

lol

32. Hal Austin November 1, 2017 at 3:33 AM “Are you talking about the harlots on Bush Hill, Bay Street or in parliament?

The people working at Bush Hill and Bay Street work very hard, in sometimes difficult and dangerous circumstances in order to earn an honest dollar.

There are only honourable ladies and gentlemen in our parliament, and in all parliament’s worldwide.

Ah lie?

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

No one will answer that, no one…hahaha.

34. @ Simple Simon

You are correct……. Fcuktured BLP wrote nonsense.

An individual, who graduated with a double major, successfully completed the entire course requirements for two separate degrees. In other words, if he/she graduated with a double major in political science and law, they would have completed and passed all the course work if they had done both subjects on separate occasions.

The example given by Fcuktured meant the graduate “majored” in law and “minored” in political science.

++++++++++++++++++

As it relates to the information on Naked Departure……. can anyone call a university and ask for the personal information of a past or current student……… without that student’s permission?

Would it be deemed as unethical, for example, if I called or wrote the Head of the Department of Management Studies, Dr. Philmore Alleyne, asking him to reveal if “John Browne” graduated from UWI with a BSc in Accounting and Dr. Alleyne gave me the information?

35. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171031/news/kimberlys-secret-life-revealed-after-suicide

Reading the above story about a young ‘ Law graduate ‘ student in T&T

Makes me wonder more about the Law Degree MAM ‘ claims ‘ to have :

• MAM challenged Minister Lowe on the floor of Parliament about his Phd !!

• Minister Lowe produced his Phd and called on MAM to produce her LEC !!!!

• MAM responded by producing her Birth Certificate, Certificate of Character, O Levels & A Levels !!

• MAM produced no LEC !!!!

• MAM is yet to produce her Law Degree !!!!

• MAM first SURROGATE – Sir Henry Forde said she was admitted to the Bar in 1987 !!!

• MAM second SURROGATE – MP Edmund Hinkson said to all and sundry – MAM has no LEC !!!

• MAM third SURROGATE – former MP Liz Thompson confirmed that MAM has no LEC and that MAM was admitted to the Bar in 1984 ( 3 years earlier than Sir Henry Forde’s date ) !!!!

• Barbados Today – quite rightly in the public interest – asked MAM the tough question – where is your legal qualifications??? !!!

• MAM resorted to the Court instead – but through some back door manouvre…..claimed ” victory ” !!!

But with the T& T story above ……MAM :

Remains unregistered in England and Wales to practise Law !!!

Remains without a LEC to practise Law in Barbados and the Caribbean !!!!

But I am happy that through it all MAM……… has remained SILENT !!!!

Barbadians have a good opportunity to observe this …… MAM !!!

Barbados’ …………Most Atrocious Menace = MAM

36. Artax

Even if they can, the information simply confirms what Mia has been saying–she was called to the Middle Temple. She didn’t have an LEC, then it was no degree, now it’s a double major and no practising certificate. Why would one need a practising certificate if they don’t intend to practice? It is an annual renewal akin to the annual registration fee in Barbados. Where in the legislation, Fractured likes to post, do they ask for a practising certificate? It says joined any of the Inns of Court. What a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive!

37. Artax

Why you fussing ?

It is an investigation ! The relevant authorities in Barbados have the right to request the information ….. since MAM do want to divulge it…,,… but wishes to remain a REPUTABLE public figure in the public eye !!!

The precedence for such action is the recent case in T&T ……,in the Emailgate saga…,,the relevant authorities in Trinidad wrote to Yahoo and other e mail service providers to VERIFY the e mail accounts involved in that matter

MAM need to declare her hand or be EXPOSED on the big screen 📺 at Haggatt Hall like her former boss !!!!

You should KNOW …….no lawyer worth his salt – do not ask a question unless he done ✅ have the killer ………ANSWER !!!!

Be calm …… I Am a Lawyer .. !!!!

Tick tock … the clock ⏰⏰⏰ is TICKING !!!!!

38. don’t want to divulge it

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Fractured
    I take exception to your comments after posting an article relating to the SUICIDE of a young female person.
    MENTAL HEALTH is a serious issue akin to physical health.

One would hope you could appreciate that suicide is the final level of mental health challenges. Suicide is a real issue, especially among young adults.. A stigmatized one which many prefer to bury and ignore.

You claim to be a lawyer? You should know better.

40. NorthernObserver November 1, 2017 at 5:41 PM #

“You claim to be a lawyer? You should know better.”

@ Northern Observer

Don’t be mistaken, she is not a lawyer…………. the phrase “Be calm, I’m a lawyer” was written on a black “T” shirt Hal Gollop displayed last Sunday at the DLP’s Deighton Griffith School meeting.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    let’s not confuse a life-death issue with some political debate.

42. @Artax November 1, 2017 at 2:46 PM “can anyone call a university and ask for the personal information of a past or current student…without that student’s permission?

A Simple Response: No. Universities do not release information on students or former students except to the student; or to other parties such as other universities, scholarship agencies/administrators, or potential employers ONLY WITH THE WRITTEN CONSENT OF THE STUDENT. I have a kid in university right now, and even though I am paying serious money to assist with educational expenses the university WILL release information to me the parent ONLY WITH THE WRITTEN CONSENT OF my kid. But of course the kid shares the progress reports with me, otherwise, no reports, no money.

Would it be deemed as unethical, for example, if I called or wrote the Head of the Department of Management Studies, Dr. Philmore Alleyne, asking him to reveal if “John Browne” graduated from UWI with a BSc in Accounting and Dr. Alleyne gave me the information?

A Simple Response: It would be highly unethical and since I know Philmore, his parents, and some of his grandparents, and some of his great grand parents [I believe that literally our families were brought from Africa on the same ship] there is no way he would do that. For any university teacher/professor/administrator to do that would be academic and professional suicide.

WRITTEN CONSENT. WRITTEN CONSENT. WRITTEN CONSENT.

43. This Fractured is a REAL character eh. Why are the Dems so desperate? Every story got a hole.

-1983 started LSE
    -1984 joined MT (Barrow and Sir Henry recommendation): Students can apply for admission to the Middle Temple from the second year of their undergraduate law degree onwards”
    -1986 finished LSE
    -23 July 1987 called to UK Bar: Middle Temple arranges Call ceremonies on four dates every year, including the fourth Thursday in July and November.”
    December 1987 called to Barbados Bar

Why don’t you move on to the Canouan/St.Vincent video?

44. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

i thought that old Mia argument was over.

Adriel in his capacity as AG and an ongoing investigation into Mia…can get the info from london.

so now Justice Richards` integrity is being called into question, since she should have asked for and seen a law degree in that sham lawsuit with barbadostoday and Mia…..to be able to determine defamation.

45. Explication: But please be aware that UWI does publish a nice glossy booklet at every graduation and in that booklet you can find the names of the graduates, their subjects and the class of their degree. Also a university administration may give a simple yes or a simple no to the question as to whether John X graduated in 1980 with a degree in economics. But no details. But no transcript can be released without the written consent of the student or former student.

My own children have NEVER seen my transcripts, not that I have anything to hide.

46. Simple Simon November 1, 2017 at 6:35 PM #

Wrong. The names of graduates is a matter of public record in the UK. The same for the Inns of Court. A simple telephone call will get the information. But do not call, it is better to wallow in conspiracies and smear people. Don’t let facts get in the way.

47. @Fractured BLP November 1, 2017 at 4:45 PM ” challenged Minister Lowe on the floor of Parliament about his Phd Minister Lowe produced his Phd ”

Yes but…

The devil is ALWAYS in the details

Was the Phd from a regionally accredited U.S. university?

I invite you again to look here for a list of regionally accredited U.S. universities:

https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/

And after you have looked tell us all whether Lowe’s Phd is from one of these universities.

It is a public document. Anybody can look. We don’t have to take anybody’s word for it.

48. Oh …can it!! Simple…
    Who gives a jobby…??

Did they even HAVE transcripts back in your days…?

Written on what…? stone?
    Steupssss….
    ha ha ah

49. @Hal Austin November 1, 2017 at 6:45 PM “Wrong. The names of graduates is a matter of public record in the UK.

You noticed my explication at 6:42?

50. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Hal…as you are in London, you can call and get the info, on Mia, putting the matter to rest once and for all, post the results to BU, wont cost you a thing.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply