Barbados First / Patriotic Party (BF/PP)

# of member = 0 (at present).

Hello fellow Barbadians.

We all know of Barbados problems with the most important being the state of the economy.

• High Debt
  • High Deficit
  • High Taxes
  • Low Growth
  • Low Productivity

Lack of leaders to make the hard decisions and lack of patriots to make the necessary sacrifices.

Barbados First / Patriot Party (BF/PP) would like to see the following combinations of solutions implemented to try to resolve Barbados economic problems.

1. Repeal the Owen Arthur/BLP law that prevents  government from reducing a public worker wage or salary without his/her consent. If this is successful or fails then…
  2. Negotiate with the Unions, a Public Service salary cut of no more than 5%. All Member of Parliament salaries would be reduced by 5% – 8% for every 1% sacrificed by the public workers. This is in keeping with being patriotic and MP showing leadership in making sacrifice (putting Barbados First).

The above sacrificing measures (may be considered unpopular) will reduce Government expenditure as was done under the Sandiford/DLP administration. It is proven to work and is needed again today.

3. A two years hiring freeze on all government agencies except the Essential Services. This would be reviewed in partnership with the Social Partners at the end of the two years. (This will further allow Government to reduce its bloated workforce through attrition).
  4. The NRSL/VAT will be reduced to help alleviate the Sacrifices of the Patriotic Public Workers. The Private sector will have to reduce their prices accordingly.
  5. BF/PP is opened to going to the IMF to accommodate debt restructuring
  6. BF/PP would also seek to govern within the Social Partnership.

The salary cut will reduce expenditure/ reduce deficit, this will allow for the cut in taxes which should lead to a reduction in prices/cost of living as well as an increase in competitiveness and higher growth.

BF/PP would also seek to divest:

1.CBC –  with option for the workers to become owners or part owners.

2.Hilton Hotel – same option as above

3.Transport Board – Same option as above. And only after provisions are put in place to accommodate the elderly, schools and disable.

To address productivity and accountability the Unions, Main Opposition Party and Accountant General will EACH get to select one member on all boards.

BF/PP will also SEEK to have public workers increases to be tied to the increase in GDP with bonuses as incentives to increase productivity and attendance.

Politically: All members seeking to be elected to parliament will declare their assets, liabilities and publish their last year tax return.

Provisions will be put in place for the constituencies to recall their MP after 2.5 years

Unfortunately BF/PP has no members and is therefore unable to take part in the next general elections.

BF/PP is now seeking members for ALL level.

If you are of like mind, Patriotic, willing to sacrifice and is interested in putting Barbados First,

Please send an email of interested to:

BFPPBDS@Hotmail.com

Thank you

Putting Barbados First!

Pride and Industry.

40 responses to “The Launch of Barbados First Virtual Political Party”

1. Skippah…..put down yuh name or nom de plume.

You have given us a relatively blank slate to write on which is a good move and I for one will thoughts on system reform and offer ideas on Agriculture Tourism and Transport as time goes by.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“2.Hilton Hotel – same option as above

3.Transport Board – Same option as above. And only after provisions are put in place to accommodate the elderly, schools and disable.”

Workers & THE PUBLIC….should be owners of these entities…no one else.

3. Vincent the author is obviously being provocative by using the cloak of a virtual political party theme to generate suggestions/ ideas.

4. We should have spreadsheet type format with headings under which suggestions can be made.e.g.

Constitution… Republic…Governance…Judiciary….Technocrats….Para statal orgs…..laws…..business….Tourism….Agriculture…..Manufacturing…..Transportation…..Water…..Energy……Taxes….Land ownership……Caricom……etc…etc.

5. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Wunnuh mekking sport or wuh? Crop Over finish.

6. Hahaaaaaaaaaaaaa

7. BC

We cud as well….nothing gine happen fuh 6months.

8. @Bernard, par for the times. We got ‘virtual’ parenting by video game and we got ‘virtual’ reality in AI that wants to supplant everything.

A ‘virtual’ party sounds good to me…we get virtual (there but not there) representation, too. Perfect.

@David, you sure the author just being provocative.

In this world of ‘alternative facts’; PMs telling their Parliamentary Speaker to hold strain and don’t worry about such piddling issues of defrauding a senior citizen of his life savings; one state (Catalonia) telling the Federal government I dun wid you although practically no other nation will recognize their independence then I think “virtual” representation is absolutely the way to go!

Laff track can be inserted as desired…

Oh, BTW Bernard CropOver done but lots of Halloween scare fetes this weekend surely…. The frightening folly of life never stops.

9. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Barbadians do not want anymore ideas. We want implementation of sensible and practical programmes for the recovery of the quality of life to which we have become accustomed. We want capable persons to offer themselves to do some serious work. Stop the window dressing. And stop the old whoring tricks. Do not get me started .

10. @Bernard although rehashing the past does nothing but provide humor or angst, fellows like yourself, Bushman and others who have been in the trenches and at the top of public life should actually get “started” and talk about those “old whoring” tricks.

That would be an excellent use of a moniker…even @Hal would accept such.

11. dpD

I second that…….BC let’s hear about old times and your knowledge of whoring tricks…..good to while away the time as we wait and wait.

12. @Virtual Politics “1.CBC – with option for the workers to become owners or part owners.”

Yes.

But who the ‘ell wants to buy a dead horse?

13. A virtual political party? Is that like having a virtual girlfriend with whom you can make virtual love?

14. We are all just a click away from a digital parliament.
    By wisely leveraging modern technology, the people can honestly do away with the alleged representation. We must simply overcome our fear and trust in our capacity to learn anew.
    Attaining zero public sector will result in full publicity.

15. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar
    BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP)

of member = 0 (at present).

Hello fellow Barbadians.

We all know of Barbados problems with the most important being the state of the economy.
    High Debt
    High Deficit 
    High Taxes
    Low Growth 
    Low Productivity
    Lack of leaders to make the hard decisions and lack of patriots to make the necessary sacrifices.

Barbados First / Patriot Party (BF/PP) would like to see the following combinations of solutions implemented to try to resolve Barbados economic problems.

Repeal the Owen Arthur/BLP law that prevents  government from reducing a public worker wage or salary without his/her consent. If this is successful or fails then…
    Negotiate with the Unions, a Public Service salary cut of no more than 5%. All Member of Parliament salaries would be reduced by 5% – 8% for every 1% sacrificed by the public workers. This is in keeping with being patriotic and MP showing leadership in making sacrifice (putting Barbados First).
    The above sacrificing measures (may be considered unpopular) will reduce Government expenditure as was done under the Sandiford/DLP administration. It is proven to work and is needed again today.
    A two years hiring freeze on all government agencies except the Essential Services. This would be reviewed in partnership with the Social Partners at the end of the two years. (This will further allow Government to reduce its bloated workforce through attrition).
    The NRSL/VAT will be reduced to help alleviate the Sacrifices of the Patriotic Public Workers. The Private sector will have to reduce their prices accordingly.
    BF/PP is opened to going to the IMF to accommodate debt restructuring
    BF/PP would also seek to govern within the Social Partnership.

The salary cut will reduce expenditure/ reduce deficit, this will allow for the cut in taxes which should lead to a reduction in prices/cost of living as well as an increase in competitiveness and higher growth.

BF/PP would also seek to divest:

1.CBC –  with option for the workers to become owners or part owners.
    2.Hilton Hotel – same option as above
    3.Transport Board – Same option as above. And only after provisions are put in place to accommodate the elderly, schools and disable.

To address productivity and accountability the Unions, Main Opposition Party and Accountant General will EACH get to select one member on all boards.

BF/PP will also SEEK to have public workers increases to be tied to the increase in GDP with bonuses as incentives to increase productivity and attendance.

Politically: All members seeking to be elected to parliament will declare their assets, liabilities and publish their last year tax return.

Provisions will be put in place for the constituencies to recall their MP after 2.5 years

Unfortunately BF/PP has no members and is therefore unable to take part in the next general elections.

BF/PP is now seeking members for ALL level.
    If you are of like mind, Patriotic, willing to sacrifice and is interested in putting Barbados First,
    Please send an email of interested to:

BFPPBDS@Hotmail.com

Thank you

Putting Barbados First!

Pride and Industry.

16. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

Good Morning my fellow Barbadians.

Above was the email sent to BU and BT with “Please publish”as the subject.

It was meant as a first recruiting tool in an attempt to try to recruit membership at all levels.

It was NEVER meant to be the launching of a Political Party!

It was NEVER meant to be a Virtual Political Party

The Headline
    The launching of Barbados First Virtual Political Party, is the sole doing of BU.

BF/PP encourages you to read carefully beyond the headline.

17. @Sargeant

A Virtual political party is not a new concept.

18. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

virtual political parties are not new..

……Like ”œvirtual” corporations in the networked information economy, virtual parties form and reform for specific purposes. With more tasks ”œoutsourced” and less done in-house, the virtual party networks across traditional organizational boundaries, drawing in specialists who perform specific functions to meet specific, market-driv- en needs. Virtual parties form around politicians seeking the leadership of parties, as relatively small entourages or coteries of political strate- gists, marketing and communications experts, ”œspin doctors,” PR flacks and policy ”œwonks.” If successful, the same coterie then in effect colo- nizes the party and runs its subsequent election campaign.

The party, as such, serves as little more than a convenient franchise with brand recognition, marketing ”œlocation,” and ready sources of campaign funding. Sometimes, it is more convenient to ”œre-brand” the old party for better location. The real campaign dynamic derives from the virtual party within the shell of the traditional party. If the electoral campaign is successful, the virtual party then colonizes the strategic heights of government, around the office of the prime minister or premier, setting policy priorities, interfacing with the permanent bureaucracy and managing the government’s image and media presentation. Many of the real high flyers in the team, however, will choose to return to the more lucrative private sector, only coming out again for a brief burst of activity dur- ing a re-election campaign. All this is dependent upon the leader, and the policy package he or she represents. These are the products being marketed.

There are some spectacular examples of the virtual party in operation. One of the most remarkable is the transformation of the British Labour party under Tony Blair. Blair’s communi- cations and publicity entourage, led by Peter Mandelson, the former Northern Ireland secre- tary, remade the party from the top down. They even re-branded it as New Labour, to distinguish it from the electorally unsuccessful and media- unfriendly ”œOld” Labour. Helped by a decaying Tory ancien régime, New Labour swept to office in 1997.

Millbank, the permanent party headquar- ters where its publicity directors and spin doctors reside, has become a kind of rival power centre to Whitehall. In office, Blair and company have been assailed by both critics and supporters as lacking in any clear or distinctive policy direc- tion, yet at the same time as control freaks obsessed with spin doctoring their image at the expense of substance. This is a trap that virtual parties can fall into, given that they are con- structed in the first instance for the immediate purpose of getting elected, rather than for gov- erning.
    Yet some Canadian experience suggests that virtual parties may be quite well prepared not only to get elected, but also to govern pro- grammatically with distinctive policy agendas

19. The plan was to provide an assit, the recruitment of party members the old route will fail.

20. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

always research ideas that appear or claim to be new.

21. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Well Well @ Consequences at 8 : 18 AM

Well argued and well written. Let them who can read contemplate.

22. @Andrew Simpson, how exactly would that work re “We are all just a click away from a digital parliament.” If you are serious and not just having a blog lark then please explain how technology can actually “do away with the alleged representation.”

Tech is a tool. It enhances, improves and indeed does away with job roles. It allows faster fedback leading to better awareness of problems, a quicker capacity to remedy them and more importantly can better predict situations and thus help to avoid the possible problems.

But how does all that and more lead to “Attaining zero public sector”.

@David, yes A Virtual political party is a NEW concept. Certainly the wording is.

Virtual has a very clear meaning in computing and tech which obviously cannot be translated literally to politics…that’s understood.

Yet, even if we take its most expansive interpretation the term “virtual political party” is a modern day sleight of hand…as meaningful or less than the olden day pressure group, or peace activists, rights actvisits, freedom riders, ethnic power groups etc.

My discombobulated reaction to the term comes from the fact that as used in the headline it was really an organizational call to action using wonderful social media and related tech, BUT the reality is that true political representation has been VIRTUALLY nonexistent for the last many years.

So I didn’t know if I should laff or cry when I saw the call for a ‘ Virtual’ political party.

As Sargeant alluded to it’s like that “virtual girlfriend with whom you can make virtual love” telling you she is leaving you for a virtual man.

Good Heaveans was my real love so meaningless …now you embracing a make-believe lover…or was this actually all a virtual alternative reality from that first kiss! Oh lawd.

I guess Orwell did foresee all these real people living on his virtual farm or something!

23. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bernard…the intent is to change government and their policies from the top down and introduce what these new spin doctors perceive as the correct way to govern…their way.

first as a public service, the public must know the identities of all the private people involved in this venture who seek to make radical changes in their leaves..

the public = the majority population.

can`t join a group seeking changes to the way of governance and policy implementation, as a member, and dont know their identities before joining.

24. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

first, as a public service, the public must know the identities of all the private people involved in this venture who seek to make radical changes in their LIVES.

25. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@ Well Well

Appreciate your though process and comment on this topic.

Everything begins with and idea that is then put into motion.

There are no names to be given out as yet. Trying to get Patriotic Barbadians with similar thinking to get the process started.

Starting TODAY with eyes for the NEXT election after the one that’s is due in 2018 (2023)

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Thanks for the response BF….

I did read no names as yet, but when your email address gets various interests….1 potential member, 2 potential members etc, it will be nice to know who they are eventually.

Am sure you will have to email your identity to those who show interest and making their identities public in turn will take a little time, keep us updated.

27. Since everything is so clandestine should replies of interest be with white ink on black paper or black ink on white paper so you can gauge whether they will get any votes or not and bother to respond. Ink being the determining factor. Didnt they try that ink thing somewhere else and had an octopus in charge for many years…. oh yeah hollywood

28. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@ Lawson

Thanks for your interest.

A Political Party is not made up of candidates only.

The named of general membership and volunteers will not be publish.

If we arrive to the point where we can put candidates in the field, its obvious their names and information will be made public.

Letter of interest would be to gauge where or how the member want to fit in to advance the cause of the party.

29. New York Times: Manafort Faces Charges in Mueller Inquiry
    Washington Post: Manafort, ex-business partner to surrender in Mueller probe
    The Telegraph: Donald Trump’s ex-campaign chief ‘told to surrender to FBI’ over Russia links
    TorontoStar: Paul Manafort, Trump’s ex-campaign manager, told to surrender on charges related to Russia probe
    Daily Mail: Paul Manafort arrives at FBI HQ to surrender to authorities as Mueller grand jury indicts him and former business partner Rick Gates in first charges from special counsel probe
    CNN: Paul Manafort to turn himself in
    USA Today: Former Trump campaign chair, Paul Manafort charged in Russian probe
    The Guardian; Paul Manafort turns himself in, as Trump Russian inquiry heats up
    NY Post: Manafort first to fall in Russia probe
    CNBC.com: Ex-Trump campaign chair Manafort surrenders to face Russia probe
    NBC News: Paul Manafort, Rick Gates told to surrender

30. Can someone please tell me if the cited stories are all fake news?

31. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Many Bajans are full of good ideas; our unique social life that straddles generations, economic classes and locations fosters them.

Very few have any implementation experience or ability.

What this country needs to recover is no mystery to the doers. The problem has been for the last 8 years that the talkers who govern this country have disengaged from the doers.

There was never any chance of economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

32. FB

Correct….no mystery as to what is required.

BF/PP

Chuckle…….when WW&Cs ideas are deemed to be good for the salvation of this country,I will humbly bow out of this blog and leave it to the forces that be.

33. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Have we not gone through this process before? Who rewined this tape? Who decided that we wanted to see this scifi movie again?

34. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@ Vincent
    No one person ideas can be the salvation of this country.
    All ideas or suggestions are welcome.

@ BC

We went through the same economic problems in the 90s with the Sandiford/DLP
    Recently Mr Sandiford asked “how did we get back here?”

The same main players from the 90s are still the main players in 2017. Are you prepared to ask those same questions again in the next 20+ years?

35. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

its getting worse Frustrated...if they cant see what is right in front of them and that the new beginning is to get rid of the parasites who want to live off the treasury and pension fund, the peoples money….first…

as long as they cant get their grimy, greedy fingers on the finances of me and mine to tief and give away, it`s all good on my end.

i will just watch.

36. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

BF/PP at 12: 03 PM

I intend to ask those same questions until I get a satisfactory answer. Answers that resonate with Barbadians black, white and every other shade of khaki.

37. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

BF/ PP

I do not think that the players of 27 years ago are the same players. Nor is the environment the same. But take comfort that the questions I pose to the BU household are the same questions I pose to myself everyday . I am constantly in search for self sufficing answers.
    It is not about me nor about you but it is about us collectively.

38. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

It’s amazing that all these bright ideas are out there and the PM is noted to be stating that no one (Mia) has brought any solutions.

Release your plans for the country - 

BLP - False Promises - 

Politics has become a bare joke!

39. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@ BC

“ABOUT US COLLECTIVELY”

Suggestion : Instead of just asking and not receiving answers how about doing or doing a little more? You may discover the most of the answers that you are seeking were already inside of you and not really out there in BU.

Most of the players are new but they were around and should have learned from the experiences.
    The environment is different – it is worse/ closer to critical.
    Same technique will always bring us back the same results.