Is it time to legalize marijuana in Barbados?

High levels of unemployment have always been prevalent in Barbados. The high unemployment rates in the 1930’s and the early 1970’s impacted the economy. The unemployment rate of the 1930’s was significantly reduced when thousands left the island to help rebuild England after the 2nd World War. In the early 1970’s when there was a movement away from plantation labour, again caused high unemployment this was reduced by the islands limited attempt at industrialization as well as the farm labour and domestic worker programs that had opened up in the US. To date migration is the most significant factor that has impacted unemployment in Barbados.

With the island’s economy in recession, there are high levels of unemployment. The high unemployment problem is not new but it is compounded by a new phenomenon; that is the presence of illegal drugs and guns.

For some the trade in marijuana has become their employment. There is a labour force similar in structure to any corporate entity but those actions are all underground and do not impact taxation, national income or gross domestic product of the island.

Like any corporate entity, there is competition among the various suppliers on the market but there are no marketing campaigns, no sales, no exclusive offers, no buy one and get one free, no regulatory standards or licenses. There is no payment of VAT or the NSRL with regards to the importation, production, distribution or sales of marijuana. The trade is controlled by drug lords and drug dealers.

To date, the primary act of the police force and by extension the government has to been prevent the “goods” from making it to market. The drug squad seize home grown marijuana as well as illegal importations of the drug.

The secondary act of police and again by extension the government has been to charge the black lower class, mostly males and a small number of white tourist for the possession of marijuana that is for personal use. It is a rarity for a trafficker or a drug lord to be brought before the court.

The primary act of Government should have been to recover moneys owed to the system. Had this been the premise of Government, the following actions would have occurred:

1. Confiscated marijuana, worth millions of dollars would not go up in smoke.

2. By now government would have legalized marijuana for medical, personal and industrial use.

3. Government would have created the environment for the creation of an industrial base that utilizes marijuana.

Herein lies the dilemma of Barbados, there is a high level of unemployment without an outlet. Anti-immigrant policies in the US and the UK are at an all-time high. It is therefore not easy to immigrate. We have a highly marketable but illegal crop that as a cash crop retails dried at $3,000.00 per lb. There has never been a concrete reason as to why the plant is illegal. Added to this we have a police force that has been employed to confiscate a diminishing number of marijuana plants. See below:

Confiscation of Home Grown Plants

2015 – 56,416

2016 – 27,602

2017 ( Jan to Sep) – 7,601

Source: Sunday Sun September 10, 2017.

There was no data on confiscation through imports by sea and air.

Based on the data, it appears that the police are not even reaching the break-even point; which is the point at which confiscation matches the cost of their efforts to confiscate the plant or a charge with intent to supply or trafficking. There are no economic gains to offset the cost of the plant reaching the market if it is burnt by law enforcement. In addition, charges for possession of the dried plant varies. There is no precedent set for the imposition of a possession charge. Most of those charged have in their possession less than an ounce of the substance. That being the case, at present a recovery tax at the court cannot be compared to revenue earned by taxation if marijuana was a legal crop. To date, I am not aware of anyone who has been fined millions of dollars for importing large quantities of the substance.

In making an economic case for marijuana, several aspects should be taken into consideration:

1. There is already an abundant supply in agricultural land that can readily be planted with the crop.

2. High unemployment levels create a pool of existing labour.

3. They are already skilled growers on the island.

4. They are a wide variety of by-products to be produced from the plant.

5. Medicinal products can be manufactured, creating a niche market for Barbados.

6. Sellers of the good for smoking can be licensed.

7. The legal good can now be taxed by government both imported and domestically grown.

8. Legalization will prevent the present importers from gaining super profits and becoming rich at the expense of the poor and the state.

9. With an abundant supply of the plant on the free market there will be no drug wars, no need to maintain territory, no trafficking and no need for the illegal importation of firearms.

10. Taxes from this area and be used to assist law enforcement to more effectively counteract real drugs such as cocaine and illegal fire arms and create prevention programs aimed at the young who may become targets of drug traffickers for cocaine.

In essence, the country is losing out any economic benefits that can be derived from marijuana. The freeing up of this market will provide economic benefits through taxation, reduce unemployment, reduce gang violence and cause the island to become better prepared for drug lords who will change their product offering.

132 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – An Economic Case for Legalizing Marijuana”

1. Hal Austin October 23, 2017 at 4:56 AM #

Probably right. Despite the claims of how many women have paid for their degrees in US by moonlighting (re education being supplemented by the ‘work’), prostitution is best left in the illegal segment.

Legalising will also encourage human trafficking. Aside from being criminal and immoral, this will also put Barbados in a difficult position internationally, if caught up in that on a wider scale.

One of the areas that Barbados must be ‘seen’ to be clean. I wont go into it already being here, but let us leave it at that.

2. @Crusoe

It is with us, and it will not go away. How does one guard against the STDS and the like? Also it is illegal and Barbados is always mentioned on the international reports which track human trafficking.

We have to manage what life tosses at us read the imperfections of man.
    L

3. Yes, along with many others, Barbados is mentioned in human trafficking. But it will get worse if you legalise the prostitution.

How many rumours have you heard of Russians coming into the island.

I suspect that the West Coast thrives on cocaine and ‘ladies’ (ahem..and lads). We see reports of x amount of cocaine and some say that it must be for export , as no way it could be consumed here.

I think that they severely underestimate the ‘luxury lifestyle’ of some.

No wonder so many Mercedes etc are evident in Barbados. Plenty of money coming form something / somethings.

I agree on your point of STD control etc, that is one issue that could only be controlled by legalization. But the point is, will the negatives outweigh the positives?

4. The govt cannot even control the numerous alcholics mowning down innocent bystanders on the road and wunna up here talking cu,,,nt about legalizing marijuana ,wunna mad as a,sss
    And when i hear the intellectual content of using big international countries as example then i know for sure some of wunna need putting in a straight jacket.
    Wunna ought to know better and know that these big international countries have the resources and knowledge and finances to handle any social fallout which can happen in these experiments ,
    Jamaica is now being used as a small island guinea pig to fly the legalization of the marijuana balloon however in the long run thirty or fort years from now Jamaica would find that any gains gotten was meted out of the island to the selfserving interest who might then own the whole hog

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“Legalising will also encourage human trafficking. Aside from being criminal and immoral, this will also put Barbados in a difficult position internationally, if caught up in that on a wider scale.”

Am not for or against legalizing prostitution, but it is the business people on the island importing prostitutes from many countries into their nightclubs and minorities been importing eurpean prostitutes for years…they traffick in females without consequences…

…..the island is already known internationally as a hore hub….where have you been living….you must be the only living person on the island dont know this.

As for the resident clown, it amazes me that Miller also lived in the UK for decades and escaped being as dumb as this wannabe journalist…makes ya really wonder.

What people can do is stop pretending that prostitution is not part and parcel of everyday life worldwide and stop pretending it is not cultural and has been for thousands of years….if the men are not displaying whoremonger tendencies, they are displaying pimp tendencies…..and from very young.

I only know of US that arrests prostitutes and pimps. ..how many prostitutes and pimps are ever arrested in Barbados for prostitution…despite it’s faux illegal status…they dont even arrest the business prople for human trafficking, that is why the island ended up on a blacklist, so the law is only only on the books as a bandaid for cosmetic purposes….as are most of the laws and legislations….while the prostitution and human trafficking continues to flourish, with the human traffickers….the business people, not going to prison.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Too early to look for attention Angela Yardfowl with ya uneducated arguments.

The government should have introduced breathalyzer testing years ago, but refused, because they know they will not enforce the laws to arrest drunk drivers….not when so many ministers, lawmakers etc and their families drive drunk.

…… no one ever went to prison anywhere or were ever accused of striking anyone with a car while under the influence of smoking marijuana or drinking it’s tea…..

How do you manage to dress yaself…..ya really too stupid for ya own good, ya should marry Hal….just don’t procreate..lol

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

they dont even arrest the business prople for human trafficking, that is why the island ended up on a blacklist, so the law is only only on the books as a bandaid for cosmetic purposes…..

as a matter of fact, ministers names were called in trafficking prostitutes from Brazil when some ministers got this, brilliant in their minds only, idea to have weekly flights out of Brazil…and ended up taking taxpayer’s money and paying for empty seats when it was clear they could not get full airlift seats out of Brazil….

These Brazilian prostitutes were a hit at local private parties, they were seen everywhere, many, many names were called as investing in these prostitutes, so pretending that many are not involved in importing, pimping and trafficking women on the island or pimping out and prostituting local females. is mere fantasy.

Angela Yardfowl…if ya had kept quiet, I would not even had remembered that right away…lol

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela skeete October 23, 2017 at 6:29 AM #
    “The govt cannot even control the numerous alcholics mowning down innocent bystanders on the road and wunna up here talking cu,,,nt about legalizing marijuana ,wunna mad as a,sss
    And when i hear the intellectual content of using big international countries as example then i know for sure some of wunna need putting in a straight jacket.”

So why not put alcohol on the same footing as other illegal substances?

Make all of them illegal and treated as dangerous not only to human health but also as vices that should be morally repugnant to society.

But you why it will never happen?

Rum and other imported alcoholic drinks along with cigarettes are big money spinners for the economy from which massive tax revenues are derived to keep the welfare state a free-for-all; at least for the time being until the cost of servicing the astronomically rising national debt becomes the albatross of fiscal strangulation.

It’s going to be rather difficult (if not nigh impossible) to impose an effective tax regime on the entire value chain from the cultivation to retailing of the marijuana products compared to that in place for alcohol and tobacco.

How are you going to tax people growing a marijuana plant in their backyard for personal consumption whether for medicinal, culinary or recreational purposes thereby giving genuine meaning to the concept of backyard farming for self-sufficiency?

There is only one clear reason why there is so much ‘official’ antipathy towards the decriminalization of marijuana other than that of significantly reducing the ‘untaxed’ profit motive underlying its current illegal status.

That is, loads of people would have to look for more ‘productive’ pursuits in order to earn their living other than off the demonizing of a simple plant grown naturally in a clime Mother Nature finds most suitable.

From the clandestine importers bribing customs officials to the entire chain of corruption involved in law enforcement, to the manipulation of the criminal justice for selfish ends and to the commercial benefits accruing from the cost of incarceration of mainly black males from the ‘depressed’ rungs of the social ladder.

9. @Crusoe

You comment confirms that there must some intervention, our oncerns will not go away education programs or not.

10. Bajans have a penchant for waiting till it’s too late to take innovative action.

At least the decriminalization of marijuana should have happened decades ago, so too its legalization.

We could never understand why any naturally growing plant could be deemed illegal

Now that there are companies trading on the leading stock exchanges selling marijuana and its derivatives all kinds of people will seek to join the money train, but its too late.

Before the invasion of Iraq the Taliban had almost eliminated poppy cultivation. But with tens of thousands of western troops on the ground opium production has skyrocketed beyond belief.

At the same time pharmaceutical companies have deliberately created another legal/illegal drug epidemic in the heart of America, mainly amongst White poor people this time.

Is there not at least a correlation between the illegal war in Afghanistan and the opioid addiction killing 1200 Americans every week?

We know that the CIA has done this kind of thing many times. We known with high certainty that the CIA is the leading drug merchants in the world. We know for certain that the war in Afghanistan is a CIA project.

Is it not possible that correlation and causation are conjoined?

We will not pretend that marijuana is food. That it is all good. That it is any better than cigarettes, it’s worse. But, so are all of the household cleaners in every Bajan cupboard and bathroom.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“We could never understand why any naturally growing plant could be deemed illegal

Now that there are companies trading on the leading stock exchanges selling marijuana and its derivatives all kinds of people will seek to join the money train, but its too late.”

They will find the heavy burden now breaking down the healthcare system….dismantled, once they decriminalize the plant, people who use marijauna responsibly and dont abuse it stay healthy for decades.

Pachca…they call people who have roamed the earth for thousands of years before their existence…illegals…

That is how they demonize and criminalize to make money.

People who are indigenous to the earth thousands of years befire them, these criminals call illegals and have Black governments calling their own people illegals……

…the plant did not stand a chance, but it’s regional government now looking really, really, stupid that they followed the big countries who are now making billions marketing the plant, to demonize and lock up their own people for using it…in that frenzy like way the police and media love to make a big production when a youngster is held with 3 dollars in weed…..they disgust you.

Now the same countries who PAID them to criminalize the plant, will get extremely wealthy from the same plant, while they are left behind to catch up…, the black man’s curse…lol

I don’t think thry can catch up, they gotta settle for selling it among themselves and across the Caribbean….for now they gotta import it for medical uses.

12. We also wonder where people who consider themselves as part of the medical establishment are when these fundamental issues emerge?

Is there to be any collective responsibility?

Any criminal conspiracy? Any jail time?

Or is this too, the will of god, to be forgiven by the religionists here?

But when these idiots continue to disown the real father (God) of medicine what then are we to expect.

Recite after us the Imhotep Oath!

13. Well Well

Yuh right

And your point about ‘illegals’ more fundamental, poignant, than ours.

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

It gets worse Pacha….the US etc not only call Black people who are indigenous to the EARTH illegals…they also label blacks ALIENS or criminal aliens…

I am waiting to see if they can top that one in the future.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheGazer October 22, 2017 at 7:10 PM #
    “Let me add.
    I agreed with Hal on just one item….
    I need to be convinced that we will get forex for medical marijuana. Who will we sell it to?”

It’s a valid point to underpin your reservation on the decriminalization of the plant for medicinal purposes.

However, by ‘gazing’ more intently you might also be able to see the medicinal glass as being half-full instead of half-empty.

Can’t you see the use of medicinal marijuana under properly prescribed and supplied conditions (as is currently done within the local pharmacy framework) being a great opportunity to save millions in forex currently used to make imported ‘synthetic’ pharmaceuticals one of the leading buy-and-sell businesses on the island while making super profits for Big Pharma the biggest player among the international lobbyist against the ‘decriminalization / legalization of cannabis sativa?

Why not think outside the traditional box of easy importation and be visually entrepreneurial enough to create your own ‘indigenous’ pharmaceutical industry given the number of retail outlets already in situ?

Why not give the healing properties of the plant a chance to ‘fight’ the already high and rising incidences of NCD’s afflicting the Bajan population especially those in their most productive years?

As any doc worth his or her ‘bushy salt’ distilled from the healing cauldron designed by Imhotep and built ‘on’ by Hippocrates should naturally prescribe the kernel of wisdom encased in the axiom of: ‘Stay close to the plant(s)’.

After all, the same good book that many here on BU pretend to ‘believe in’ has some of the best medical advice available for free and repeated for good ‘Testamentary’ effect:

“Fruit trees of all kinds will grow along both sides of the river. The leaves of these trees will never turn brown and fall, and there will always be fruit on their branches. There will be a new crop every month, for they are watered by the river flowing from the Temple. The fruit will be for food and the leaves for healing.” ~ Ezekiel 47:12

“It flowed down the center of the main street. On each side of the river grew a tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, with a fresh crop each month. The leaves were used for medicine to heal the nations.” ~ Revelation 22:2

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I understand a couple pharmacies already put systems in place Miller…dont know if it’s approval they are waiting on, just be careful who ya go to when they have organized themselves, always get advice from ya doctor first, ya probably will have to get a prescription from ya doctor anyway because marijuana targets specific illnesses for treatment.

From what I am hearing, things are further along than we thought.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Miller….Alvin Ph.D. must be watching all of this and ready to kill himself…lol

18. Hal

As the oldest profession alive today it requires no touting in academia,the demand and supply is adequately covered and as I have already pointed out each brothel Madame will do the necessary training.

David’s point of trafficking,disease and abuse is very valid and can be dealt with once the state brings it under its ambit.

You are viewing this business operation through Christian UK Victorian eyes,I am not so afflicted nor are the Dutch and Germans.

19. Miller

A lab in Jamaica is doing the research and my understanding is that they have come up with some breakthroughs as to various applications.

It would be good if Cavehill would do research on our variety in collaboration with JA and come up with some marketable variants.

20. All Jamaica is doing is laying the ground work for the one armed international financiers who in the short term would own the marijuana fields as Jamaica struggle economucally to sustain and maintain the socio economic enviroment which has worsened

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Mind ya business Yardfowl…why are you worried about Jamaica…worry about Barbados, one of my sons-in-law is Jamaican and though living in NYC….he can tell you that all the gloom ya predicting for Jamaica…is your fantasy…ya think Jamaicans are easy to fool like the house negros ya got in ya parliament…I can tell you first hand about Jamaican, modern day Jamaicans.

Worry about Barbados.

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

21 downgrades in Barbados and you are worried about Jamaicans who grow their own food, marijuana, has rivers, exports everything on the WORLD MARKET…

And you are worried about Jamaica.., yall are pathetic.

23. Vincent,
    I may be seeing this through distorted glasses, but you certainly are. You have not answered my point: if prostitution is legalised, it therefore becomes an officially approved occupation. Therefore, it would be right and proper for careers advisors to encourage young school leaver s to consider prostitution as a career. Is that correct?
    Questions of health are minor matters. In the UK, and most probably in Barbados, venereal diseases reach an epidemic level among the 16-24 yr olds, in particular chlamydia and cervical cancer.
    This epi9demic is not because of the legal status of prostitution, but of young people discovering sexual intercourse and doing so without proper protection. Remember Barbados has one of the highest rates of HIV infectivity among young people.
    May I also add that the call for the legalisation of prostitution is but another example of the failure of the i9mkaginaation of Barbadian policy-makers.
    The narrative for resolving our economic troubles are: a fire sale of pubic assets; higher taxation; legalising marijuana and prostitution; bigger jails and longer prison sentences; etc. We must think through these problems, not try to rationalise them.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. October 23, 2017 at 9:07 AM
    “Miller….Alvin Ph.D. must be watching all of this and ready to kill himself…lol..”

Hence his marked absence from the blog.

Alvin was warned that one day coming very soon his anti-marihuana position would become so ludicrously untenable that only braying jackasses like Hal Austin would be that stupid as to take over the baton of losing battle.

But what sets Hal Austin apart, is his predilection to practise blatant hypocrisy ad nauseam.

He finds nothing wrong with his rum-shop heritage where drunkenness, swearing, fighting and prostitution were as common as muck rolled in cigarette paper to which Halden(e) Austin- who was a frequent visitor to Nelson Street aka the Main in his “he/she hood” days could ‘swear’).

Yet he wants to know if prostitution is decriminalized would there be a vocational offering in this newly-found ‘archaic’ discipline at the Cave Hill campus.

Isn’t there already a set of disciplines in the art of management providing the necessary skills set required to market potential talents in the business of selling?

If he is morally punctilious, why doesn’t he ask also why there is so little take-up by the youth in the world oldest con-game called the priesthood?

Why is the Catholic Church finding it so difficult to attract young men into the reproductively redundant vocation requiring an oath of pure celibacy in a modern era where homosexuality among consulting males is no longer taboo to be hidden in a closet behind a confessional box?

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Hal is lethally hypocritical.

I dont even want to envision the many protitutes he visit(s)ed…lol

26. @WW&C kis.
    My a..ss ole sow. Rather be yardflow than a low life mud slignning jack.a.ss like u all day long you get her on BU and malign peoples character most of whom u never met and David BU allows it. f u jack a ss you have no integrity or moral character to call any one liwlufe names u oiece of horse dung.
    Now get to f out off my face and go find something to do with your life.clown

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin October 23, 2017 at 10:03 AM
    “May I also add that the call for the legalisation of prostitution is but another example of the failure of the i9mkaginaation of Barbadian policy-makers.
    The narrative for resolving our economic troubles are: a fire sale of pubic assets; higher taxation; legalising marijuana and prostitution; bigger jails and longer prison sentences; etc. We must think through these problems, not try to rationalise them.”

If you find the proposals so preposterously objectionable why don’t you make a difference by doing your national duty in the most sacrificially ‘noblesse oblige’ manner?

Why not leave the moral cesspools of Europe including you bugbear places of licentious Amsterdam and vile Antwerp and return to your fast deteriorating haven with its Nelson Street turning into a red-light backstreet in the shanty towns found on the outskirts of any city in Nigeria or any other West African banana republic?

What are the alternatives to the current miasma of economic and social dislocation facing your country of birth? Speak up or put up ‘in’ your cozy flat in north London.

28. Yet he wants to know if prostitution is decriminalized would there be a vocational offering in this newly-found ‘archaic’ discipline at the Cave Hill campus.

Jethro Miller PGCE(FE)
    I know you are not very good at the English language. But there is a huge difference between decriminalising prostitution and its legalisation.
    I cannot afford it, but I am willing to pay for you to get lessons in basic English.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

And that’s the best we will get from these 2, they both fell flat.

Angela Yardfowl when will the garbage around people’s houses be picked up….in Barbados.

Because I wont let you malign Jamaica to take the focus off ya own government incompetence, ya twist yasef in knots..if you cant give us anything to work with, what do you expect.

Do you see any Jamaicans on here complaining about Holness and his ministers.

30. Hal

Therefore, it would be right and proper for careers advisors to encourage young school leaver s to consider prostitution as a career. Is that correct?
    …………………………………………………………………………………….

If such a need arises…..yes…..why not…..my point was that I could never see a legalised industry having a shortfall of interested persons that you would need to advertise.

Its all part of the service industry and the more people are aware that it is not an immoral,sinfull,wrong or anything to be ashamed of,the better.

Education is what is required in everything and I disagree with you on trivialising the prevention of STDs.

When human needs are no longer part of the underground trade we will have become mature.

Note I write this for others reading this as I am fully aware that your mindset is set in stone due to your socialisation.

31. We should have legalized prostitution at least 50 years ago. We should have legalized/decriminalized marijuana at least 45 years ago.
    The point made by Pacha that we are late to the marijuana dance is accurate.
    As a drinker, I must say, that I believe, the high local consumption of alcohol along with certain foods contribute tremendously to the high incidence of non-communicable disease especially when dealing with diabetes and heart issues, and puts a strain on the delivery of health care.
    I don’t think there is any compelling evidence that the consumption of marijuana does more damage than smoking cigarettes, bad food habits, lack of exercise, or engaging in prostitution. It is clearly established that Marijuana has more positive health benefits than the high consumption of alcohol and smoking cigarettes. Drinking marijuana is known to assist with countering maladies. The same cannot be same for rum and cigarettes.

32. Ole swo get lost done wid u

The same voices that are calling for the legalisation of marijuana would be the same voices crying when govt implement high levy to combat the social downslide that impact the nation social enviroment

33. so he quickly switched his tactics from a few days ago when he saw Cow and Bizzy controlling marijuana growing and higging everything

Envy, jealousy and malice are so easy to expose … just throw out a sprat and in walks/swims the whale.

Glad to see it gave you sleepless nights and you can’t get it out of your mind!!

Clearly the simple fact that COW and Bizzy own so much agricultural land makes it simple for them to diversify into …. and then out of marijuana if were to be legalised.

The mountainous islands of the Caribbean, not Barbados, attract daily rainfall and their soils are more fertile than ours.

We can’t compete one on one with marijuana grown in these countries.

That is kind of obvious, Barbados would prefer to import the higher quality marijuana than grow it!!

The fact that we even grow it is suggestive of the success at preventing its illegal importation.

Marijuana and prostitution are not worth discussing!!!

We need something major to fix this country!!!

These are fry, and guaranteed to pull our country lower, … if that is possible.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin October 23, 2017 at 10:41 AM
    “I cannot afford it, but I am willing to pay for you to get lessons in basic English.”

If you cannot afford it, how would go about paying for it? By ‘prostituting’ yourself by selling your ‘unlicensed’ ass?

So tell us how you would go about legalizing (or should that be in the eyes of Hal, “legalising”) prostitution without first decriminalizing (decriminalising) the activity?

BTW do you know any language other than English?
    By writing in French or Spanish we might just deter you from reading and responding to the crap written in poor English?

Why don’t you revisit your own very ‘good’ English and let us see if you can spot your own ‘basic’ mistakes?

We know for sure that a good few here on BU can but are not as stupidly pedantic to comment.

Now stop with the ad hominems ad nauseam and focus on the substantive issues raised.

35. It would be interesting for UWI Cavehill to do the research on what varieties of hemp are suited for the clay soils of the Scotland district or the limestone soils of the rest of the island.

I have heard it say that Bim can produce a very good product superior to the various types around the Caribbean and South America.

We need to get the fellows out of Dodds and onto the land carrying out tests for UWI in order to identify the best variety that can be grown on which soil.

It would be karma if the Scotland District hills were identified as the most suitable soil for its production.

Note the hills of the area can be stabilised…..just needs a new push by the SCU and maintenance based on the last study done in the 90s.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John October 23, 2017 at 11:31 AM
    “Marijuana and prostitution are not worth discussing!!!
    We need something major to fix this country!!!”

Like what, Sir John? A return to the good old days of slavery when sugar was King and labour cheap?

But such a suggestion does have some merit.

For sure the rural environment would be well-kept and the lands surrounding the great houses well manicured to welcome the tourists.

Why ‘regularize’ prostitution when the limey sailors could visit Rachel Pringle’s Inn of ‘repute’ to be serviced by a few mulatto wenches for less than a farthing?

37. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

why should these criminalized young men and women in Dodds, be now released to carry out tests for UWI…after being imprisoned for the same plant, they should be released with a humble apology and 5 acres of land each in the Scotland district to test the soil, cultivate their own marijuana to harvest byproducts…..

you dont add insult to injury by imprisoning them, then releasing them to run tests for you, they should be running tests for their own self enrichment, no one else`s…to be shared only among themselves as business people and passed on to their future generations.

yall aint tired using and abusing black people…these same young people you would not even want to speak to should you meet them in the streets, because they are young, black and went to prison for dope.

leave them alone, the government owes them all that land for marijuana cultivation…for themselves.

Miller…ya hear how they are planning already to use the young people they criminalized…demons man.

38. Hahahahaha……..poor imbecile…….lack of comprehension is a real curse.

39. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

the only thing anyone at UWI was ever interested in was smoking the marijuana and get high, like at all universities, leave it at that.

dont be bringing ya bighted ideas to start the disenfranchising of the majority population all over again to rob them of their entitlements to the plant….UWI already has a reputation…..what a nerve you greedy thieves got though.

dont mind John….all of them now got ants up there asses because they are losing their grip to regulate the population to the labels they have foe them as maids, gardeners and slaves….so they are restless and sleepless at night trying to devise ways to regain control, but the grimreaper should snatch them all soon.

Hal…es cabron y pendejo, the island is so much better off without him, imagine if his presence was there weighing the island down…lol…the Johns and Vincents would be happy to have another fool to use.

Me sleepless nights…i just woke up again…speak for thyself, yall are going through hell now ya cant put ya thieving fingers on what dont belong to you…just heard some great news in that regard….these plans have been in place for going well on ten years….so watch yaselves go crazy.

i have never known anyone to be envious of people with the label of thieves……………..that would be a new low for me or anyone else.

ah could not even understand what the mangy yardfowl posted…lol..good thing you have no say in anything..lol

40. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

i comprehend more than you know…these young people already have the information they need in their heads….what do they need you or UWI for..

these guys and gals , the ones not imprisone…already have their plans, they are not stupid, they went to school just like you, so why would they need you or your self serving advice…

what they are about would blow your narrow mind back to Curacao…do you think they were waiting for you to come along to tell them what to do or what they already know…these people do not need UWI….ya dont get it…and obviously never will…so keep rambling.

41. We’ve had ignorant governments, since independence

Supported by NGOs, acting as agents of imperialism, telling us what our national interests were to be.

Are these governments which imprisoned generations of our young people, in slave-like conditions, for foolishness, merely having a joint.

Does justice not demand a price from these elites, especially the politicians, for official crimes against us all.

42. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

i dont know what these idiots are on about..

say that i am well versed in many things, have all the information i need to start an industry….i dont even need large amounts of cash, only land, because i have done this many times before and for decades….why the hell would i need a university, advice from halfassed thieves who never went to prison for the knowledge i have in my head….or thieving minorities who would want to pretend i am their newest black friend so they could thief my knowledge to enrich themselves and leave me in poverty….

why would i need parasities who demonized me before for decades and dont know what the hell they are talking about re the knowledge i have….

these clowns would die in Jamaica, Trinidad or NYC for their scummy plans against people with marijuana knowledge, they would be lucky if their bodies are found for burial..

Pacha… the house negro governments need to decriminalize the marijuana and release the land to the majority population so they can start an industry….they owe the people that…for all the shit they have done to the people….for 50 long years.

43. Getting the land back into cultivation for whatever crop is a major undertaking and will create jobs for starters.

It will give many exercise and impact long term the rising health costs associated with obesity!!

It will be a sign that the blight that has befallen Barbados is being lifted and on its own will create hope!!

44. But to do it there needs to an economic justification

45. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

while they do it, you stay there and figure it out.

46. Here is the real reason why reparations is for dummies.

The investment of 300 plus years of labour and capital in the agricultural lands is being ignored!!

Why would anyone in their right mind want to give a bunch of dummies who ignore the benefits of that investment money!!

47. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

ya on the wrong thread John.

48. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

and it`s not your decision to make, its not your land.

49. Same dummies on all threads!!!!

50. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol…..still not your land, money or decision to make, stay out of the people’s business….this is 2017.

Leave a Reply to ra1Cancel reply