Kammie Holder, Advocacy Director, Future Centre Trust

There should be no doubt in the minds of Barbadians that we have a RH littering problem in Barbados.  A look at the embedded video of a recent cleanup effort spearheaded by the Future Centre Trust (FCT) and its Advocacy Director Kammie Holder records a sorry tale.

Clearly Barbadians have to be forced to a Christian understanding the need to be more sensitive to the environment in which they coexist. The evidence of RH garbage in Barbados reaffirms that an F on the litter scorecard is well deserved. A greater effort is required to ensure that a relevant national education program is rolled out,  supported by strict enforcement methods.  Of course there is the bigger issue the country faces by not having a relevant waste management strategy.

Kudos to those concerned for coming up with the RH sign which appears to be resonating with the public.  The use of double entendre is a tried method of exploiting the ambiguity of language. The creators of the campaign suggest the sign should read ‘STOP the Roadside Highway Littering‘ instead many have applied a colloquial interpretation of the sign to mean ‘STOP the Rasshole Littering‘.  The FCT and Kammie Holder must be supported to ensure they are able to convert the noise generated by the effective signage to that of coaxing behavioural change by an insensitive pubic. Given the threat to the health and general well being of the country it is time for the country to wrestle the RH littering and waste management to the ground.

It is worth mentioning that a disappointment to many has been the inability of the relevant ministries of government- especially Denis Lowe’s- to work with the FCT to achieve the common objective -a cleaner Barbados.

76 responses to “STOP RH Littering”

1. The problem stems from a govt who refuses to set standards that are written in law by enforcing high fines .. recently there was a video making rounds on social media where sanitation workers were hauling large piles of collected garbage from the manholes any and every thing possible was thrown into the sewer system
    these problems not going to stop until govt take the lead and imposed heavy fines or possible jail time on these ra s s holes

2. Hants that grey box.. blue box ..green bin thing will not work in barbados because a lot of people there are color blind if you dont believe me go to any major intersection and when the red hand comes up saying ..do not walk.. see if they dont think the light is green.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ William Skinner October 21, 2017 at 6:13 AM

WK , no one is directly blaming Dennis Lowe for the littering habits of dirty Bajans despite over 50 years of free secondary and tertiary education.

What Lowe and his ‘cabinet’ colleagues must take the blame for (in the most frontal of manners) is their blatant failure to provide the resources- both human and physical- in order to achieve and maintained their ‘sound’ manifesto pledge of making Barbados “environmentally sound”:

“Why environmentally sound? We all have to live, move and have our being in the protection of the environment. Daily, as we interact with one another we also interact with nature. The contest with nature which characterized man’s relationship in earlier times, has now become a contract with nature in our times. A degraded and unhealthy environment is a threat to man’s very existence on this planet; and this Manifesto recognizes that important fact.”

Isn’t that the very reason the NSRL was initially proposed and willingly accepted by the same Bajans you are decrying?

Now where are the garbage collectors and associated equipment that were to be acquired by the end of 2016?

Is the constant leaking sewage system the fault of ‘dirty’ Bajans living and conducting businesses on the South Coast despite the many ‘official’ assurances that everything is under control and the sight of sewage floating on the streets is now a thing of the past?

But what can one expect from a cabinet of the low-class low(e)-down type which couldn’t foresee the inevitable dire consequences of decimating the very agencies directly responsible for preventing the very degradation of the local environment already under tremendous challenges trying to ‘beautify Barbados’ while supernumerary office ‘butlers and limousine chauffeurs’ are retained as political showpieces to convince stupid Bajans about the “Dems” caring for the dirt-poor Bajans?

Neither dirty Bajans nor the ‘Authorities’ (officialdom) who continue to play Russian roulette with public health will do nothing until Mother Nature exacts her pound of flesh through a massive inundation to turn Barbados into a lake of garbage and put its last means of survival (tourism) to bed in a room filled with human waste.

4. Wha de hell govt needs money start getting some out of these rass holes. There is only one world and collectively all have to do their job and it is explicit that govt take a hands on role in the protection of the enviroment first and foremost by principal and the application of
    laws
    The rass holes would not care until legal action is taken against their a.sses

5. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Yardfowl Angela….garbage has not been collected by sanitation for weeks, nearly a month in some areas of the island, the pile up is ugly in photos i have seen, that is governments job to make sure garbage collections
    are weekly, not monthly, that is Lowe
    s job.

6. Another sewage flare up on the South Coast left some people living and working in Worthing, Christ Church choking on the foul stench and the overflowing water.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/101456/sewage-stench-flares

7. WW&C People make garbage.read the sign a.ss hole

8. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

The issue of littering will never go away if we do not change our culture. Some Bajans go to work everyday looking prim and proper – when they leave their homes and environs looking like a pig sty.

9. @Hants

According to reports coming from the BWA they had to order a part for the pump. The problem should be corrected in 24 hours.

As stated above there is greater awareness and education of the public tat is required supported by enforcement. This government has failed to wrestle garbage collection to the ground by implementing an effective waste management program. There is nobody to blame, it has been in office for the last two terms.

10. Doesvnot matter hew many pumps are replaced as long as a stern message is not sent to the ra.ss holes govt would be the dog chasing its tail spending money and catching hell when the sewer system breaks down all because of a bunch of irresposible rass holes.
    I bet that if there is a feasible and economic way to run. toxic test on every household and busineess during a six month period that send their disposal waste through the sewer system the results when revealed would be mindblowing
    The pressure on govt in matters pertaining to personnel responsibilty is an unbearable and unnecessary cost to govt.
    The govt must find the ways and means of catching these ra.ss holes because overtime cost of repair and damage would hit the taxpayer in the pocket

11. You dont have to test every business and household just test the guys that are catching and eating the fish out of the little canal near the old worthing sanctuary and see what they read

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela Skeete October 21, 2017 at 11:35 AM

Psst! Ac, stop attacking, in such ‘muscular’ fashion, the government for its incompetence.
    We know the elections are just around the corner before Dr. IMF becomes the in-house consultant.

But please remember it is still your deceitful lying party that forms the current administration.
    Leave out those acerbic attacks until the next BLP administration is installed.

You are making it look like you are about to cross the political Rubicon to the bank of commonsense and objectivity.

13. Lawson you think rass holes going to stick around on days they have already figured out when the inspectors going to be around on beaches
    With the households and business wants the process of testing gets started and a few fines are slapped on businesses and households the idea of clogged sewer lines and manholes would stop.

Miller what is your problem . there is nothing to cross over to. The blp have enough crosses for themselves starting with a demon dress in white who refuses to do due diligence on behalf of the people on days when a called to duty in parliament warrants her attention on social matters

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ angela Skeete October 21, 2017 at 12:54 PM

Maybe the ‘demon dressed in white’ is emulating her good friend Stinkliar in eschewing the Privatization thingie.

So when are the people going to hear the BNTCL and Hilton sales have been closed and the forex has been lodged in the central Bank like Greenverbs millions in laundered money?

No forex from those privatization deals which you are now 1000% behind means the projected foreign reserves at year-end will be way off target that could trigger a default and an emergency visit to Dr. IMF; not this time for plastic surgery but for deep-seated invasive surgery requiring long-term stay in the hospital for fiscally-incompetent governments like your deceitful lying party forming the administration that actually brought Barbados to its economic knees.

When is the Hyatt erection going to be seen in full motion rising to the top of the pool of bullshit promises? It’s over two (a couple) weeks since the promise to raise the living-dead was made.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Angela Yardfowl…there are garbage pile ups at people’s houses nearly 4 weeks waiting for garbage pickups, it’s the government’s responsinility to pick up the garbage every week from people’s garbage cans, it Dennis Lowelife’s responsibility as minister of the environment. ..

People already sent out a plea to him on facebook that the garbage needs to be collected from around their houses that has been there for 3 weeks, that was last week, this is week 4….

Yardfowl do your job.

16. Isn’t politics so deja vu? Barbados is second from the bottom of the credit rating pile and yet the same tired positions are being spewed.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The garbage is said to be stinking around people’s houses and all of these lowelifes are fully expecting to be reelected to subject the majority population to 5 more years of mismanagement of taxpayer funded lack of efficient services,.

..fat chance.

Yardfowl save ya breath for the wilderness…lol

18. WW&C the garbage piles up like the garbage that comes flying out your mouth 24 / seven on BU
    Go tek a rest e sow

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Go pick up the garbage you beast of burden…no one is reelecting nasty ministers who had 9 years to get new garbage trucks and make better arrangements for garbage collection……and did not do it.

Someone will soon post the piled up garbage on the blogs with yall pictures…ya sewer rats.

And the shitbomb has started in CH CH again, Independence is next month again, yall wukkup with taxpayer’s money and did not fix the sewage either…and got the nerve to want to be reelected….after all of that…

Look move…lol

20. I remember, I remember, I remember the good good old days, when Owen was Prime Minister and Liz was the Minister of health and my garbage was collected twice a week, twice a week, always twice a week without fail.

NowI am l\”lucky” it it is collected twice a month.

And no I am not a “B”, not a “D” either.

But I miss you Owen and Liz.

But the excellent twice a week collection means is that the people at the Sanitation Service Authority know how to collect garbage efficiently, so it it is not the workers, and if it is NOT the workers, then the problem is higher up. As high up as Minister Lowe, as high up as Prime Minister Stuart.

21. We miss you Owen.

We miss you Liz.

22. @Hants October 21, 2017 at 9:47 AM “Another sewage flare up on the South Coast”

I know that I am an annoying know-it-all but I remember the first time I had to clean my grease trap at home. It is sometimes good to do nasty, stinking jobs yourself because it teaches you to appreciate the complexities of the job and to respect the people do such jobs every day.

Cleaning a grease trap is a nasty, stinking job. Great big gobs of smelly hardened fat–I suppose that it is better that the fat went down the sink instead of down into my arteries–Great big gobs of smelly hardened fat, and bacteria and general nastiness.

A friend who is an engineer watched as I did the nasty job. I thank him for NOT doing it for me. Then he taught me how to avoid the nastiness.

If there is kitchen oil/grease to be discarded for Gods sake DON’T pour it down the kitchen sink. Once the grease has cooled and is therefore safe to handle pour it into a tot [a metal can for those not Bajan] and put it in the freezer. On a day when you hear the garbage truck coming put the tot of frozen grease out with the garbage. The frozen grease can remain in the freezer for a year or more, no problem. No grease in the grease trap, or the well, or the sewer system, no blocked kitchen sink, no cockroaches either as there is nothing for them to feed on. This simple, easy way works for individual households. I am sure that some engineer can come or has already come up with a system that will work for restaurants and other commercial establishments.

We can completely avoid sewage flareups on the South Coast, but it requires public education, and the responsibility for public education falls to the Ministries of the Environment and the Ministry of Health. The Ministry of Tourism should get on their case as well because I don’t believe that we think that it is ok to expose our visitors to our nastiness.

We can completely avoid sewage flareups on the South Coast.

23. Just visited the area surrounding the Chancery Lane Swamp and was shocked to see littering in the vicinity of the said swamp not far from the Chancery Lane House

24. William Skinner Avatar

Regardless of the cheap shots that the apologists for the BLPDLP are taking at each other, the simple fact remains that none of these two parties has the ability to solve any of our problems. We have a problem with almost everything from garbage to education to health to housing and to the economy. With proper management we should really have no problems with public transportation and getting an efficient school bus system in place. We can parade our knowledge about world affairs and economic models until the cows come home; we still have to conclude that it is impossible to argue that everything collapsed in the last ten years. It is equally impossible to argue that everything was great before the last ten years. What we are
    witnessing is the collective failures of the BLPDLP being exposed for all to see except the blind loyalists of George and Roebuck Streets. I think it is impossible that any new party will be as incomptetent as this collective lot. Tell me: Can Lynette Esatmond be poorer than Mottley or Stuart as leaders? Can Grenville Phillips be poorer than Stuart or Mottley? Can the UPP or Solutions Barbados bring more harm than the collective BLPDLP.
    We need to seriously ask ourselves if it is possible to move forward with the current collective lot. Those of us who really want to put Barbados first need to rid the country of the BLPDLP. Then and only then would we see a fresh era of governance.
    Electing the BLP is still electing the DLP. Electing the DLP is still electing the BLP. They are joined at the hip. They cover each other as family and the rely on this to remain in power. Why can’t we get it ? How come we so versed in world affairs and can be so articulate in castrating Trump and can predict with great accuracy the collapse of the world economic system; are authorities on almost anything but we cannot see , in our own country, the stark reality before our very eyes that both the Barbados labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party are nothing more than tired , bankrupt political parties that are no longer fit to run our island state? It baffles the mind !!!!

25. So what are our other options?

And how will those options differ from DLP/BLP?

26. William Skinner Avatar

@ Simple Simon
    The options are those that are now coming
    forward. I am saying that we write off third
    parties because deep down we like it so!
    Stuart and Mottley are the old order.
    Esstmond and Grenville are suitable
    replacements.
    Neither Stuart nor Mottley has much to
    recommend them. Ask their supporters to
    name anything significant they have
    achieved as parliamentarians.