Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

We arrived at a Government department before 11:00 am and the door was locked. About 9 persons were inside and it was rumoured that the staff were going to lunch after those inside had been processed.  The last person to be processed came out at 11:09 am.  Then some of the staff came out with cell phones to their ears, and walked through the line of customers waiting outside of the locked door.  They did not share any information with us, their customers.

At 11:22 am, someone stuck a sign on the door that stated “We are temporarily closed at this time.  Re-opening time: 12:30 pm.  We apologise for any inconvenience caused.”  A guard noted that they were short staffed, and it was possible that at 12:30 pm, it would be announced that they were closed for the rest of the day.

We who reside in Barbados are not surprised at this true account.  We are accustomed to the: long lines, delays, late responses, misplaced files, downed computer systems, critical person is at lunch or is not at work, non-payment by credit card, deadline of 3:00 pm for receiving payments, unwritten regulations known only to the regulator, inconsistent regulations, not-at-this-branch responses, staff shortages, broken equipment, supply shortages, potholes, water shortages, the same excuses, uncaring attitudes, and so on.

Our public services do not appear to be customer-focused.  But they think that they are.  They think that being polite is being customer focused.  It is not.  It is simply being polite.  Being customer focused is trying to delight the customer.  Most customers of government services simply want to access affordable quality services conveniently and quickly.  Politely apologising why this cannot be done does not deliver the service to the customer.

Who is responsible for our poorly managed public services?  Not the poorly managed employees who are simply performing as directed.  Not their managers who are simply implementing a management system that is not working.  The ones responsible for setting the management standard are our elected politicians.

Both political administrations accuse the other of poor management when they are not in power.  Therefore, both political administrations understand what all customers of Government services understand in this regard.  Namely, that our public services are poorly managed.  However, is it fair to blame our politicians?  I think not.

Both political administrations have tried their best to manage Government services over the past 50 years.  Over the past 17 years, I have encouraged both administrations to improve the management of public services.  I have referred both political administrations to the customer-focused international quality management standard ISO 9001.

Barbados has been a corresponding member of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) since our independence, and a full member since 1999.  Yet both political administrations just cannot seem to bring themselves to implement this international customer-focused management system for our benefit.

This is the first election since our independence where Barbadians can finally decide on the quality of Government services they wish.  We pay for our Government services.  We elect politicians to set management standards and ensure that they work properly for us.  It seems that our politicians have defined themselves as the main customers to which public workers should focus on satisfying.  We have allowed them over 50 years to get it right, and they simply were not up to the task.

If you are satisfied with the present management of our Government services, then you should vote for either the BLP or DLP, because the result will be the same – for you.  However, if you want a customer-focused public service where you are the customer, then your only choice is to vote for the Solutions Barbados candidate in your constituency.  If you want better managed public services, and you still vote for the BLP or the DLP, then you finally have someone to blame – yourself.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

78 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Who is to Blame?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“Until the birth rate plunges.

And silly politicians want to order people to breed and raise children in order to increase economic productivity.

But it don’t wuk so”.

Exactly….lol

They think women are stupid, we do all the donkey work and they collect the taxes….ha!!!!!…

…….let them import breeders, better yet, let them import already grown people, like they love to import everyone and everything else….

….SOBs have no appreciation for mothers, grandmothers etc…so let them tek dah.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ah guess Straughn must have misspoke about selling Transport Board….BLP threw him right under the bus, claimed he did not speak for the party…lol

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/10/19/not-so-fast-8/

“Not so fast!
    STRAUGHN’S POSITION ON PRIVITIZATION NOT BLP’S, SAYS WALCOTT

Added by Colville Mounsey on October 19, 2017.
    Saved under Local News, Politics
    0Save
    The Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has all but thrown rookie candidate Ryan Straughn under the bus for suggesting privatization of the Transport Board.

Mere days after Member of Parliament for The City Jeffrey Bostic made it clear Straughn did not speak for the BLP on the issue, General Secretary Dr Jerome Walcott went further by hinting that the party’s candidate in Christ Church East Central still had a lot to learn.

“Ryan Straughn is an economist, he is a young politician, he is new to politics. He gave a lecture, a lecture which was not edited and controlled by the party. He was allowed to give a lecture on his vision for Barbados, how he saw things going and he sees it in the terms of a technocrat,” Walcott said today at a press briefing at the party’s Roebuck Street headquarters to launch the BLP’s 79th annual conference.”

3. The BLP is weak on privatization and other issues how to cut back the socialist welfare state.

If the Barbadian elite continues with the many ministries, civil ants, liming judges and needy consultants after next election, many African nations will overtake Barbados very soon.

Goodbye golden days of OSA´s reign, hello Venezuela! Without a purge in the ministries, civil service and at the Supreme Court, Barbados will be lost.

4. @ Northern Observer

You made some interesting comments.

Yes, it takes time and money to train people, especially transforming our public sector from the 1800’s to 2017. However, implementing ISO 9001 (as with implementing any system) is not as simplistic a process as Grenville Phillips II seems to be suggesting.

The problems in the public sector go far beyond poor service or waiting in queues for inordinate periods of time. Therefore, government cannot “get up one morning” and say it is going to implement ISO 9001 without first going through a systematic development process, which may include phases such as planning, analysis, design, deployment, and maintenance.

Firstly, the sector has to be analyzed into components to identify their objectives.

Take “fleet management” for example. We can ask what objectives government wants to achieve with its fleet management, under circumstances where NUMEROUS government vehicles can be found parked for several months awaiting repairs, at government departments such as Ministry of Health depot in Jemmott’s Lane; QEH Ambulance Service workshop in Collymore Rock; MTW in the Pine; District A and Central Police stations. These vehicles are subsequently auctioned and repaired by the new owners.

Or buses that are “cannibalized” at Transport Board’s Weymouth and Mangrove depots. A bus BM366, for example, may go into the workshop for a piston, but none are available. Soon parts from BM366 are used to satisfy the repairs of other buses until it is eventually “cannibalized.”

I was told of a situation where MTW bought a Leyland DAF UTIC bus engine from the Transport Board for $800, which was fitted into a MTW Leyland truck and the truck started.

The process would obviously take time to implement.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon October 19, 2017 at 11:39 PM
    “Explain to me why if I raise 10 cows it is considered work, but if I raise 10 children, or contributed to the safe and productive raising of 10 grandchildren it is not counted in GDP?”

Come on Simple Simon, things are not always that ‘simply’ black and white.

Unless you are being paid for that ‘informal’ work and declaring the receipt as income how else would it be measured for GDP recording and reporting purposes?

If we were to accept your argument would you too be prepared to argue for similar treatment to be applied to the services offered by the night ‘workers’ on Bush Hill?

After all, a lot of ‘working-up’ goes on and for which they are ‘handsomely’ paid in a genuine exchange of ‘hard’ currency for ‘soft’ customer satisfaction.

Should those good-nature souls engaged in altruistic activities under the umbrella of Voluntarism be demanding similar recognition in that economic concept of number crunching and statistical fudging which leads to a cul-de-sac of futility?

Just see your contribution not through the selfish lens of unpaid work but as a form of ‘payback’ to your parents and grandparents whose sterling efforts in raising you and your sibling brats was done out of Christian commitment based on the guiding moral principle of “Noblesse Oblige”.

6. We must first ascertain if Straughn delivered the lecture as “Ryan Straughn, the BLP’s candidate in Christ Church East Central” or in his PERSONAL CAPACITY as “Ryan Straughn, the economist.”

And judging from Walcott’s response re: “He gave a lecture, a lecture which was NOT EDITED and CONTROLLED by the party. He was allowed to give a lecture on HIS VISION for Barbados, how HE saw things going and he sees it in the terms of a TECHNOCRAT……”

………….. is indicative of the fact that Straughn offered HIS PERSONAL OPINION. The BLP, purely for reasons of political expediency, is within its rights to “distance” itself from any member’s opinion that does not “fit” with the party’s political agenda.

Straughn should be entitled to express his personal opinion. Therefore, to suggest he “mis-spoke” and the “BLP threw him right under the bus” is definitely stretching it a bit.

Recently, Sinckler told the public that the NSRL realized $50M in revenue. However, PM Stuart said he did not care what the minister said and until he gets an official report, he will not comment. Surely Barbados Today could have also interpreted that situation to mean “the DLP threw Sinckler under the bus” as well.

@ Simple Simon

GDP is basically a calculation of the monetary/dollar value of all the finished goods and service a country produces within a specific time period (usually one year).

The underground/informal economy or black market, for example, may consist of vendors that sell similar products that could be found in Popular Discounts, Carlton Supermarket or Thani’s Shoe Shop. However, those vendors deal only in cash transactions and do not file income tax returns.

Hence, although there are methods economist could employ, it is somewhat difficult to measure the value the black market adds to the economy, measuring the “work” grand-parents add to the economy may also present similar challenges.

However, I understand your point and it is a valid one.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Surely Barbados Today could have also interpreted that situation to mean “the DLP threw Sinckler under the bus” as well.”

Too close to election for that….too much going on.

8. Has anyone considered the formulation of a digital presidency platform with sectoral leaders, chosen on the basis of professional qualifications, to effect more efficient management of National affairs? This might be achieved as part of a new direct participatory democracy governance model whereby citizens are aware and engaged in ongoing decision making processes. The divisions caused by geographical constituency representation and the five year electoral partisan political campaigning can be replaced by inexpensive modern communications and information technologies that enable unification of Human Resources and much needed cost savings.

9. Andrew Simpson October 20, 2017 at 9:22 AM #

What crass, anti-democratic silliness. So the prime minister would have a long list of PhDs?

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Politicians need to be trained to be government ministers before assuming office that to take bribes is beneath that office so they do not take bribes or pursue corruption….and also taught that the house negro went out with the abolition of slavery.

Ministers should be banned from consorting with criminals in the business community and should not be the ones distributing taxpayer funded contracts to any business person. ..there should be a contractor general for that task…one who has clear boundaries about bribery and corruption and can be imprisoned for participating in either.

11. Only someone void of any understanding of the importance of EQUALITY in governance would promote an IT-based system as a channel for “participatory governance”. #passmewiththebs

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tron October 20, 2017 at 6:48 AM

Both the “B” and “D” political parties are really taking this Privatization matter as one big joke in their political football game of economic stupidity.

Now here is a young ‘professional’ (and a so far untarnished politician) telling the people what must be done instead of being fooled as they experienced only as recently as 2013 and this is how he is treated for his frankness and foresight.

What else can be done with the Transport Board (TB) at this stage other than what the IMF in the coming months will be instructing the same political jackasses to do?

Isn’t what Ryan Straughn is proposing the same thing to what the BLP under OSA (in a vision that was fiscally portended) recommended in 2012 in order to avoid the economic state of affairs that has afflicted Barbados for the past 5 years of abject incompetence?

What is so different to what the current MoF promised to do in his December 2013 Ministerial statement and ad nauseam in every subsequent budgetary presentation?

Isn’t the current administration demonstrating by its own actions in starving the TB of much needed investment in rolling stock and working capital to support its day-to-day operational needs that it is being prepared not for radical surgery to attempt some form of recovery to make it fit for purpose but as a cadaver ready to be taken away by the fiscal undertaker and replaced fully by private sector players within a regulatory framework under the aegis of an effective Transport Authority?

Please stop fooling the people with the propaganda reminiscent of the electioneering gimmickry expressed in the partisan political skit involving the so-called old lady on the bus with a yard-fowl pretending to be the jackass in the driver’s seat.

13. More Barbadians currently travel on privately owned public transportation than on the TB. To hear James Paul or any DLPite criticise any privatisation of the TB after supporting tuition fees at UWI is vomitous. Who votes for this mediocrity? #jesustakedewheel

14. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. October 20, 2017 at 3:11 AM “…SOBs have no appreciation for mothers, grandmothers etc…so let them tek dah.”

LOL!!!

15. @Artax October 20, 2017 at 7:11 AM “Take “fleet management” for example. We can ask what objectives government wants to achieve with its fleet management, under circumstances where NUMEROUS government vehicles can be found parked for several months awaiting repairs, at government departments such as Ministry of Health depot in Jemmott’s Lane; QEH Ambulance Service workshop in Collymore Rock; MTW in the Pine; District A and Central Police stations.”

Maybe Little Johny the mechanic is regularly getting to work 20 to 30 minutes late because of the morning school run, then taking another 20 to 30 minutes each day for the afternoon school run, because his retired mother and father do not see how they can increase Johnny’s productivity by taking responsibility for any tasks which interfere with Johnnie’s productivity.

And not only mechanics.

But lawyers

Civil servants

Doctors

Engineers

Magistrates and judges?

Politicians.

Etc. etc. etc.

A tremendous loss of productivity.

Today is teacher’s professional day. Ask yourself how many parents of elementary school age have called in sick because a grandparent refuses to be available?

But we pretend not to see.

No doubt at some time we will call in a high paid foreign consultant to fix this “problem” for us.

16. @millertheanunnaki October 20, 2017 at 7:24 AM “If we were to accept your argument would you too be prepared to argue for similar treatment to be applied to the services offered by the night ‘workers’ on Bush Hill?”

YES.

Why?

Even though I would prefer that sex work would go away, I understand that it is unlikely to go away in my lifetime.

Therefore if a person is earning income by providing sexual services for paying customers, then YES, that sex worker should declare that income to the Barbados Revenue Authority and pay taxes on that income.

17. @millertheanunnaki October 20, 2017 at 7:24 AM “Unless you are being paid for that ‘informal’ work and declaring the receipt as income how else would it be measured for GDP recording and reporting purposes?”

Simple.

Add a couple of lines to the tax form where I can declare my unpaid work, unpaid work to my own ffamily, and unpaid volunteer work in the community. [Note that I am not asking to be PAID for the work, I simply want it RECOGNISED as WORK in the GDP]. If you think it necessary you can have the people who received the services sign off on the form, although at present much of what is declared on tax forms is taken on trust, since no government in the world has the capacity to audit every single tax form. We already know the prices paid for various kinds of work, Tax authorities can make an assumption that if I provide 500 hours of infant care per year and infant care is paid at $10 per hour, then I have provided $5,000 worth of services, and I have added $5,000 worth of value to the GDP

Add that $5,000 to the GDP.

Simple.

But it requires a rethink.

Late in the 21st century there will be a Nobel prize awarded for the economist who can get governments to implement this…but both you and I will be dead by then.

18. It require a global rethink.

19. If we were to accept your argument would you too be prepared to argue for similar treatment to be applied to the services offered by the night ‘workers’ on Bush Hill?
    After all, a lot of ‘working-up’ goes on and for which they are ‘handsomely’ paid in a genuine exchange of ‘hard’ currency for ‘soft’ customer satisfaction
    Is that “tongue in cheek” or are you proposing the Amsterdam model where the ins and outs will be a source of taxation for a revenue starved Gov’t? The undercover work as exists on the rock is another piece of the underground activity that escapes the scrutiny of the CRA. Regulation may even improve productivity, imagine a customer engaging the services of a worker knowing she/he has a clean bill of health as established by the authorities and going home refreshed and eager to tackle the day tomorrow.

It may even revive folks interest in history, if you spot an acquaintance in the area he can always say he is a history buff and went to G Washington house as part of his research.

20. Simple Simon October 20, 2017 at 10:27 AM #

You are essentially suggesting that government’s vehicles have a long wait for repairs because “mechanics are regularly getting to work 20 to 30 minutes late because of the morning school run, then taking another 20 to 30 minutes each day for the afternoon school run, because their “retired father and mothers” do not see how they can increase (the mechanics) productivity by taking responsibility for any tasks which interfere with (the mechanics’) productivity.”

SMH………….I am now more aware as to why you go by the moniker “Simple Simon.”

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant October 20, 2017 at 11:06 AM
    “Is that “tongue in cheek” or are you proposing the Amsterdam model where the ins and outs will be a source of taxation for a revenue starved Gov’t?”

Lol!! That “tongue” business can land a person right inside the ‘brambles’ of confusion.

Yes Sarge, it was indeed implied in the most ironic of ‘anal’ogous ways.

A visit to that most ‘regulated’ liberal city- where the world’s oldest vocation is practised (under licensed conditions) next door to a station of religion (a Christian outpost or church) mandated to police the morality of ‘man’ in the West- does provide much more than just an eye opener.

Here is a working example where a natural urge of ‘man’ can be fulfilled in a licensed way while satisfying two birds (one the government’s coffers and the other public health standards) with one ejaculation into the female or transsexual purse of financial desire.

Yes Sarge, a highly recommended model to replace the undercover hypocrisy practised ‘nightly’ on the ‘Bushy’ Hill.

That ‘newly’ regulated trade along with the decriminalization of cannabis to facilitate the natural replacement of another grass called sugarcane would mean the wheel would have turned full circle since the introduction of the sugar cane plant to Barbadoes from Brazil (with slaves from the gold coast of west Africa) by the mercantile Jews from their trading houses on the river Amstel flowing through the same entrepreneurially foresighted Amsterdam.

22. @Artax October 20, 2017 at 11:45 AM “You are essentially suggesting that government’s vehicles have a long wait for repairs because…”

That and other hindrances to productivity.

You and i both know that there are multiple factors which impact on productivity.

23. I ain’t as simple as my moniker suggests.

24. @ Simple Simon

Please….. come off it…….. your point is based on a silly assumption.

Or perhaps you could present your statistical data from the survey you conducted to arrive at your conclusion.

There are administrative factors that contribute to the tardiness in government’s maintenance of property programs and issues of productivity goes way beyond people leaving work to collect children from school.

25. I said “You and i both know that there are multiple factors which impact on productivity”

You said “There are administrative factors that contribute to the tardiness in government’s maintenance of property programs and issues of productivity goes way beyond people leaving work to collect children from school.”

Aren’t we saying essentially the same thing? That multiple factors, not excluding the absences of young parents from work, contribute to less than ideal productivity?

Can we finish this conversation now?

Becausin’ Little Johnnie has just arrived and we plan to spend a few hours on the pasture kicking around a football, so my productivity on the blog will shortly go to zero.

LOL!!!

26. @Artax October 20, 2017 at 1:25 PM “come off it…your point is based on a silly assumption. Or perhaps you could present your statistical data from the survey you conducted to arrive at your conclusion.”

All right, all right.

Give me six years and as soon as I have completed my Phd I’ll send you the whole paper, including the statisticaal data from the surveys which I will have conducted.

Not.

The blasted blog has turned into a university classroom today.

Stupssseee!!!

27. The BSTU, along with National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), is representing the clerk/typist at St Leonard’s, who was sent home at the end of August. Redman told the meeting that the council of the NUPW on Tuesday agreed that the NUPW should take “whatever action is necessary in support of its member”.

Is the St Leonard’s clerk/typist a member of the BSTU? Is the BSTU and the NUPW now working in unison? Is this or any future government going to sort out this trade union anarchy?

28. @Hal Austin October 21, 2017 at 1:17 PM “Is this or any future government going to sort out this trade union anarchy?”

What trade union anarchy are you talking about?

Maybe your question should be

Will this or any future government stop sending their yardies to subvert lawful processes?