Submitted by Heather Cole

It’s not an easy road
Many see the glamour and the glitter
And think it’s a bed of rose
Who feels it knows
Lord help me sustain these blows

Buju Banton

The Minister of Finance has made reference on several occasions to the economy turning the corner. Had it been at a corner, it would have been on the straight road by now because no corner in Barbados is long enough to take 9 years to turn. Having studied Government and Politics, he should have by now realized that the state of the island’s economy was never at the corner but at a cross road for nine long years, lost and waiting for his government to make a decision to take it down one of the roads to the vision of the promise land that they had presented to the electorate.

By any stretch of imagination it has not been an easy road as the government seems to be pushing the people to the road that leads to one of the most depressing times in the history of our island after slavery. It is a push back into poverty, eliminating the middle class through job loss and burdensome taxation and economic instability, the devaluation of our currency and not having enough foreign exchange to buy food. It is the elimination of free tertiary education and a healthcare system that is now less than stellar.

Of late there are two occurrences that should not be taken lightly. The first was the 20th downgrade the island received from an international credit rating agency. This affected the island’s ability to borrow foreign exchange at decent interest rates. The island is now considered a high credit risk with staggering repayment interest rates when borrowing funds. It is therefore worrisome that the Prime Minister dismissed this occurrence as an after-thought and belittled its significance.

The rational of Government’s National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL) is now quite unclear. It makes no sense. The Minister of Finance said that the tax was to assist with the funding of the QEH as well as for social projects. The Minister of Finance informed the island that the levy was responsible for $BDS 50 Million in its short 3 month existence. On the heels of that statement, he also informed the public that his cash strapped government was able to increase its shares in the Latin American Development Bank at a cost of purchasing $US15 million in shares. His rational for purchasing the share was to have access to borrowing up to $US500 million dollars.

The government did not show concern about the 20th downgrade but yet spent $15M to get access to a loan of up to $US 500 million that we do not know how much and for how long it will remain as another yoke around the necks of our grandchildren. We simply do not know the full cost of any of the loans that will be made from that bank, $US 15 million plus what? Why not use the NSRL as intended?

So in essence are the people paying a levy to be left longer at the crossroads. Only $BDS 20 million remains to be spend on the QEH and the social projects. But even this is questionable as both the Minister of Finance and the Minister of International Business gave different accounts of what has happened or is happening to those funds. The Minister of Finance spoke of what the present funds will do in the future. The Minister of International business spoke in the past tense meaning that the funds have already been spent. Who does one believe?

What we know is that every road in the island is in need of repairs, and persons in communities have become frustrated after spending significant sums of money on car repairs and are now voicing their concerns. One wonders when they will pool together and sue the government for breach in the contractual arrangement by which they pay road taxes.

Were the funds used in that mysterious tender that appeared in the media last week to purchase dump truck without specifications? Perhaps Minister Lowe will be able to inform us – Sanitation Service Authority Goes Out to Tender.

One wonders if there has been discussion by the Cabinet to ensure that funds collected by the NSRL will be used to assist the Commissioner of Police in his fight against illegal firearms, to provide more resources to prevent and solve crime, to counteract fraudulent activity at the ports and even to reduce the island current debt which no one has a reasonable estimation of what it at this time.

One also wonders if the discussions of the Cabinet only center on dreaming up schemes to tax Barbadians and not about lowering the taxes on food or changing the laws so that persons can remain in the homes that they have been paying mortgages on for over 25 years in some cases. Has the Cabinet even discussed the legalization of marijuana, or creating the environment for our frustrated young people to become entrepreneurs or find work? Has the Cabinet discussed raising the wages of public servants lately or even filling those 1500 empty houses that dot the landscape? What about the looming prospects of a devalued currency? All of these are serious issues that prevent us from leaving the cross road.

Yet today the Cabinet of Barbados negligent on all of the above issues found time to discuss RH signs on bus stops. It is a pity that the level of discussion of this government in the People’s House of Parliament has fallen to a new low. What will it take to move us from the cross road.

It is not an easy road!

71 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Not an Easy Road”

1. I have to agree with Ryan Straughn……… “the Government of Barbados does not have to own a bus to deliver subsidized fares for any of its citizens” and “Government’s role should be that of a strong regulator and not owner of public transportation.”

Privatize the Transport Board and let market forces determine bus fares or regulate the fares. However, I do not believe an individual travelling from town to Connell Town, St. Lucy should pay the same bus fare as someone travelling from town to Eagle Hall.

The PSV operators are not the only people “speeding and over-loading.” This administration has been “speedily” issuing PSV permits, thereby significantly increasing the number of PSVs, to the extent that routes such as Silver Sands, Silver Hill, Airport (3D), Wansted and Speightstown are “over-loaded” with vehicles.

This development has obviously increased competition to the TB and among the PSV operators as well. In an effort to increase revenue, the operators are engaging in dangerous driving, going off route, “dragging” and breaking many of the road traffic regulations.

Former DLP candidate for the City, Abdul Pandor, is Chairman of the Transport Authority and interestingly, (and I’m not implying there is a connection) many of the PSV’s are owned by Indians or Pakistanis and certain members of society.

For example, I caught a Wansted route taxi (“a #3 van”) on which the former DLP candidate for St. Michael East was the conductor. When I read the owner’s information posted inside the vehicle, Kenneth Best was the name of the owner. But Best the owner and Best the conductor may not be the same individual.

2. Well, well yuh dead wrong on this one! Once government continues to set fares and routes, there is nothing wrong with FULL privatisation. We behave as though public transportation in Barbados is not majority private.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Enuf…..read again, I did not say one way or the other whether TB should be sold or NOT, privatized or whatever….I simply asked….TO WHOM SHOULD THE BUS SERVICE BE SOLD.

And gave a short truthful history of the collusion and corruption between both governments, CGI Insurance and the misuse and abuse of the supreme court in destroying any equity in the company.

Even Art understood that…I believe

So what was I wrong about….

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

When ya finish reading what I posted, enlighten me, this time try to read without emotion.

5. It is true that government does not have to own the buses, neither do they have to sell them to Simpson. They can turn the Transport Board in to a worker-owned coop, restructure the board and get rid of the corrupt ZR van system.
    Our public transport system was not always this bad. One benefit of having a good public transport system is that government can then control the number of private vehicles on the road – one car per household, no private vehicles in the city during the morning or afternoon rush hours, and the introduction of parking machine (with higher charges) and a dedicated traffic police department reporting to its own chief.
    Given that most car manufacturers are planning to get rid of vehicles driven by the internal combustion engine, it is a good time to be ahead of the pack.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

As a matter of fact I should also have asked, HOW MUCH should Transport Board be sold for, because if anyone cares to search supreme court records and see the amount of personal inury cases CGI Insurance and Peter Harris along with his dishonest attorneys have left stagnant and unmoving in the Supreme Court with deliberate delays after delays and no completion….you will find that the liabilities of the Transport Board to injured people are now many millions of dollars.

I dare any of you to do the research.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

….have left stagnant and unmoving in the Supreme Court with many years of deliberate delays after delays and no completion…

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Has the Opposition done the research at the Supreme Court before jumping out to mislead the electorate, has Mia Mottley done the research to see the negativity attached to the Transport Board’s CGI Insurance piled up liabilities at the supreme court, especially her since she now has a faux lawsuit against barbadostoday……her friend and advisor, none other than Peter Harris.

….well I have done the research.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin October 13, 2017 at 9:24 AM
    “Given that most car manufacturers are planning to get rid of vehicles driven by the internal combustion engine, it is a good time to be ahead of the pack.”

Sometimes a scintilla of enlightenment can peer through a dense cloud of intellectual mediocrity.

Here is one of those rare moments of intellectual conjunction.

As has been argued before, no developing country can break through that barrier that leads to planned development suitable for the 21st Century environmental realties and pending challenges unless its public transport system is designed and constructed as fit for purpose.

The excess of poorly maintained vehicles overburdening a road system built for donkey and mule carts is one of the biggest problems confronting Barbados not only in terms of its forex leakage and productivity implications but also in terms of environmental degradation resulting in increasingly deleterious ramifications for the general health of the resident population.

10. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

……It is true that government does not have to own the buses, neither do they have to sell them to Simpson. They can turn the Transport Board in to a worker-owned coop, restructure the board and get rid of the corrupt ZR van system.

Miller….2 in one day. a virtual record..lol

11. The third parties have no ideas alnd no philosophy. The long and short being the continue to regurgitate the same political rhetoric
    These third parties cannot be measure in the same way as a Barrow . When placed under a phiolsophical meter they failed miserably

12. I don’t take public transportation in Barbados but a few of my relatives do and after I was “volunteered” to take a sibling to an appointment during rush hour, when it was time to go to another appointment he said he would take a ZR.

The transportation system as operated by the TB is essentially dead and someone should put it out of its misery, for every TB vehicle I saw about 20-30 ZR’s zipping along the road, blocking traffic, belching noxious smoke (like TB vehicles) and violating both written and unwritten rules of traffic. Would this Gov’t bite the bullet and get rid of the TB? Given the track record of this Gov’t it seems unable to repair the buses and it would be unwise to think it could replace the TB; they won’t put so many people on the breadline when there is an election on the horizon. I await whether the scrapping of the TB is just Economist Straughn’s personal opinion or BLP policy if and when they capture a majority.

I am supremely aware that taking a politician at his word is a mug’s game and this cat has been around too long to be misled by a kitten.

13. Well, well
    I am not in on your vendetta against Vivek/CGI. The TB should be sold.

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Enuff…where did I say it should NOT be sold, is that your excuse, I am waiting for you to show me where I said it should not be sold…

… you got emotional because I did not jump on the BLP bandwagon….ya will not find me creaming myself at any politician’s or minister’s words, I like to think for myself….it’s called being FREE to exercise free thoughts.

Oh you know Harris’ middle name s Vivek…lol

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

It appears that neither you nor Angla Yardfowl knows what is really going on leading up to the election or both of you would be throwing it at each other…lol

I am certainly not going to spoil the fun by telling ya anyway, there is more than enough time for yall to find out…4 months to February, 4 months to June.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Enuf…look, Carson Yardfowl and another commenter with an opinion, if I did not know anything, I would swear that yardfowls want the entity sold to get some of the crumbs that may or not, fall of a table…lol

“Carson C Cadogan
    October 13, 2017 at 7:28 am
    Ryan’s address shows how little he knows.

Is this the best that the Barbados Labour Party has to offer?????

Greengiant
    October 13, 2017 at 9:22 am
    The last B L P administration had the perfect opportunity to sell state entities, but instead they added more to the wage bill in the form of statutory corporations. So Straughn need to sell this concept to his party, not to the people.

The state will need to maintain a share in all the social services, so only part selling should occur, some mergers are needed, and others can be closed. This first, but the critical thing is to make them profitable prior to selling. Increase the value of the entity.”

17. “… you got emotional because I did not jump on the BLP bandwagon….ya will not find me creaming myself at any politician’s or minister’s words, I like to think for myself….it’s called being FREE to exercise free thoughts.”
    Look woman i ain’t care who you support or don’t support. Y’all always fast to assume that people want wunna to support one party or the next. Let me repeat, I do not care! I musse know him better than you. 🤣🤣

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

If by him you mean Vivek, I am sure you do, now run along and tell him we know everything is crumbling around him and it only just got started.

If ya meant the newbie who made the statement, I still have not commented one way or the other if TB should be sold or not, cause I know, no one is buying a government entity with millions and millions in liabilities, unless they get it for a song……, read, for free……or…it starts having value, read, it starts being equitable again, which TB is not at this stage because of the millions and millions of dollars that CGI and Vivek used the supreme court and created for the bus service.

So that is what yall have to deal with…reality v. Lala Land…lol

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

..or…it starts having value, read, it starts being equitable again, which TB is not at this stage because of the millions and millions of dollars worth in LIABILITIES that CGI and Vivek used the supreme court and created for the bus service.

BTW…if you and Vivek are that tight, ya may want to let him know that I heard he will be a star in the not too distant future, because of his greed and hatred for paying out genuinely injured people…..

…..that should really brighten his day.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Now I know yall like living in ya fantasy world devoid of reality, but simple math dictates. .

If equity is to be rebuilt in the Transport Board to make it attractive to potential buyers…FIRST….ya gotta get rid of the millions and millions of dollars in existing LIABILITIES……sitting in the supreme court.

In order to get rid of all those liabilities….all those Vivek/CGI piled up personal injury cases have to be resolved and completed……and taken out of the supreme court system in order to rebuild equity in TB…., but ya know how yall already set up the court system to move real slow….lol….basic math.

Yall will have to give away TB…if those many, many cases are not resolved, tell that to Mia and her advisor Vivek, she is a lawyer and should have already known this, but chose to allow the electorate to be deceived thinking that the TB can just be sold off……good luck.

I will tell ya another time why ya need it.

Don’t you think someone should tell ALL the Claimants with personal injury cases that yall plan to sell TB.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Enuff…..tell Mia and her advisor Vivek/CGI that someone suggested a class action lawsuit against both governments who enabled CGI/ Vivek to destroy ALL EQUITY in the Transport Board turning it into incomplete and unresolved LIABILITIES sitting in the supreme court as personal injury cases..

..as they pointed out, the defendants should read as follows…

Government of Barbados….First Defendant

CGI Insurance…Second Defendant
    Peter Vivek Kutappa-Harris
    Bruce Bailey
    Edmund Bailey

Here is the reasoning, the government failed to stop CGI Insurance/Vivek and their agents, through lack of regulation, from maliciously and deliberately over the last 17 years or thereabouts making sure that personal injury cases between CGI Insurance and injured Claimants were never resolved and have lingered unnecessarily in the Supreme Court for an unconscionable period of time…despite knowing of CGI’s track record over the last 2 decades.

Or some such language…what do you and BLP think now.

Not one of you considered the plight of Claimants who Vivek and his dishonest, wicked lawyers tie up in the supreme court with personal injury cases for years, cases that can easily be resolved.

Yall are too inconsiderate.

Leave a Reply to enuffCancel reply