While addressing the last annual general conference of her union, the General Secretary of the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU), Toni Moore, complained about what she saw as union busting tactics being employed by Cost-U-Less. She sought to connect the granting of duty free concessions by Government as the reason why that company felt “empowered” to engage in such tactics.

To be honest, that reasoning escaped me but somehow it was sufficient to bring down the ire of the Honourable Chris Sinckler, on her. And in a nonsensical retort, while addressing his party faithful he claimed that it was logical to conclude that since Government has given the General Secretary and the BWU tax concessions on a Mercedes Benz, Ms Moore felt empowered to be bashing Government.

If that is the quality of the reasoning of the person who holds the portfolio of Minister of Finance, it is no wonder that the country is in such dire straits. The General Secretary has raised an issue that impinges on the constitutional rights of workers. Any half decent minister of the Crown would have been grateful for that information and join her in an effort to protect the dignity of the workers of this country, whom he is sworn to serve. What has made this minister so cocky that he can make light and be so disrespectful of the genuine concerns of the people whose votes he would be seeking in the upcoming elections.

Even though his behaviour is below that expected of a senior political figure, he has drawn attention to two issues, tax concessions and union busting. They are too serious to be sidestepped by the dismissive twattle of a government minister, who is more interested in providing comic relief for party members, at a branch meeting, than dealing with fundamental workers’ rights issues.

Union busting has become so pervasive, especially during this prolonged recession and the authorities have failed to adequately deal with the problem for the sake of maintaining jobs. Ms Moore has correctly stated that people are losing jobs because they have committed the cardinal sin of becoming union members.

In accordance with section 40A of the Trade Union Act, it is a crime to dismiss a worker because he has become a member of a trade union. However, in my experience, the police were not aware that it constitutes a criminal offence. Unfortunately, when such a matter is reported to police, they do not take it seriously and no action is taken against the offending employer.

In an attempt to put the General Secretary on the back foot, the minister revealed that BWU had benefited from tax concessions on a Mercedes Benz. However, in my opinion, while trying to embarrass Ms Moore, the minister effectively shot himself in the foot. He must now explain the basis for granting tax concessions on high end vehicles for the two major unions.

Before I go further, I must make it clear that I am not accusing any trade unionists of wrongdoing, by accepting charity from employers. But to me, as the Americans would say, the optics are bad.

If you were to hire a lawyer to represent you in a matter, and thereafter, discover that your representative was taking undisclosed gifts from your opponent. How would you feel? Now pray tell me, how is that different for trade unions to take undisclosed concessions/gifts from the employer, especially when the law requires disclosure.

In accordance with the Duties, Taxes and Other Payments (Exemption) Act, the Minister of Finance may, by order, exempt any person, business or undertaking from the payment of any duty, tax or other money. However, section 4 of that act provides that any such order is subject to negative resolution.

Section 41.(2) of the Interpretation Act explains, when a statutory instrument is subject to negative resolution, it must be laid in Parliament for forty days, and during that period, either house can by resolution vote to annul the instrument. Any such order must also be published in the Official Gazette.

I have made a diligent search and can find no evidence that any such order was ever published. I am therefore asking the honourable minister, when did he comply with the law, in relation to granting tax concessions on motor vehicles for the leaders of major trade unions? And if he had not done so, why the secrecy?

Champagne taste and mauby pockets have brought trade unions into disrepute.

93 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Trade Unions Accepting Bribes/Concessions from Government”

1. @ Angela Skeete, Kevin, Fcuktured BLP

Since we are discussing “unions” and “BRIBES,”……….. and “you lot” represent the inept DLP administration in this forum, perhaps you may want to provide answers/explanations to some very pertinent questions.

On December 1, 2011, this inept DLP administration REWARDED former BWU Deputy General Secretary, Robert “Bobby” Morris, by appointing him as Barbados’ Ambassador to CARICOM.

“Commenting on the appointment, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart said: “Bobby Morris’ history and parliamentary background should serve him in good stead. He is a REGIONALIST at heart; so, that and his commitment to the further development of Barbados would ensure that he adequately addresses this country’s interests. “Indeed, he is of the generation DEEPLY COMMITTED to the REGIONAL INTEGRATION movement, and this was expressly manifest during his time in Parliament when he spoke eloquently and passionately to these issues. The Ambassador designate is also well abreast of current affairs, and I am sure he will do Barbados proud.”….” [Source: Daily Nation, November 26, 2011]

What exactly are the DUTIES (or ROLE) of a Barbados Ambassador to CARICOM?

After 5 years and 10 months as Ambassador, other than giving history lectures or speaking to the party faithful at DLP Friday lunch-time lectures and constituency branch meetings……….what are Morris’ significant achievements, ESPECIALLY in RELATION to REGIONAL INTEGRATION?

Approximately 9 years after the late Thompson said a fishing agreement with T&T could be finalized “over a bowl of soup in Conset Bay,” an agreement has not been signed with the T&T government.

Has Morris communicated any information to Barbadians relative to the status of the fishing agreement?

As Barbados’ Ambassador to CARICOM, has Morris made any official or unofficial comments to the governments and citizens of those Caribbean islands that were ravished by hurricanes “Irma” and “Maria?”

Is this Ambassadorship really a means by which this inept DLP administration can give Morris “free money” at the expense of Barbadian tax-payers?

2. @GP

Our layman view is that we do not exercise enough coupled with poor diet that includes too much sugar and starches.

3. Why have you not listened Caswell? It is a good source to find out how ordinary people feel about the issues.

4. @William

You need to study the concept of conflict of interest.

5. Look this is a non-story. We claim to want progressive, transparent governance, yet arguing over a DF car for union leaders. The practice is KNOWN, admitted by Minister and Toni Moore, and also extended to the head of the NUPW. There is therefore some level of transparency. Our problem is that we are not ready for transparent and progressive governance, because we believe everyone is a thief. Accepting gifts is normal practice in progressive democracies, the issue arises when you fail to declare such gifts. The fact that we know removes the option of bribing. Should civil groups refuse financial assistance from government for fear of being perceived to be in their pocket?

6. @enuff

Why is it not written into the regulation as a benefit to ALL union leaders?

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Caswell David and Pacha

I do not hero worship anybody. One of the toughest decisions I ever made was actually contesting a general election against Sir Roy. In terms of leaving my philosophical moorings; I would leave others to judge that ,at least they know my name !
    The Elections should be called in a few months, BLP and DLP politicians will be taking money from every Tom Dick and Harry. Some of them will form the next Gov/Parliament. Many voices and fictitious characters on this blog will disappear and go off to serve the same corrupt politicians/parties. New ones will emerge and spend the next five years trying to bring down the government or destroy the Opposition , depending on their party.
    This is democracy at its crudest and ironically its finest. Anybody on any given day for whatever reason can come on this blog and hide behind any name and destroy peoples’ character without fear of ever being asked to present an iota of evidence. Yet they are the first to speak of transparency and corruption.
    If Caswell knows who bought the BWU’s first Mercedes , he should expose such corruption. Perhaps he even knows who bought Sir Frank’s Jaguar. If I knew and had hard evidence i would expose such in the public interest. I guess if tomorrow some fictitious character turns up on BU and states that Caswell was bribed to drop some effort of his union; I would have no choice, with no evidence, but to accept that he was bought out.
    BTW Sir Frank was often accused of “selling out” the workers. However I still consider him the true Father of Independence. Not Errol Barrow.
    As for Sir Roy, I sometimes regret that he left the classroom because he was one of the finest teachers/mentors this nation has ever produced.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

William

Those donations to political are also illegal and hence they are corrupt. Have you ever seen any politician or the donors declare them as required by law.

I don’t know who gave them the Jaguar but when you get around to it, you should ask if Simpson Motors was ever paid for that Mercedes.

Enuff

I realise it must be hard for you to accept but I would suggest to you that it is not generally known that the general secretaries of NUPW and BWU get duty free vehicles. In order that it would be generally known, a notice should be published in the Official Gazette as required by law.

9. William Skinner

You continue to make the small point that you are known by your slave name and Pachamama’s refusal to be as committed to a slave name as you are, no doubt somehow represents something good, to you.

We cannot be convinced of that, never

We also recall when you William Skinner use to hide under a moniker here on BU.

In the court of public opinion one should only approach with clean hands.

Now you might have known a former slave’s name associated with Pachamama.

We give not a fuck. Don’t hold any secrets for us. We hold none for you.

PS – we were never supportive of monarchy and will never address anybody with the moniker, prefix, you so liberally impute.

But for leaders of trade unions in a developing country to so proudly seek such trinkets has long been incongruent. A sell out! There are no exceptions.

No exceptions for Frank Walcott, Leroy Trotman nor Hilary Beckles – all fucking sell outs.

That alone represents a betrayal of all that you once pretended to hold dear. Such a betrayal is worthy of a meeting with a certain antiquarian device.

10. Notice Mia perched high on her soap box berating a man of Integrity the Hon PM Stuart.stating that he made a promise to the Unions
    Well if my memory serves me correct. Mia also made a promise to the people in Parliament during a robust discussion with a concern to her LEC stating that she would produce said certification and up to present time she has reneged on that promise
    Can sumbody tell Mia that people living in glass houses should not throw stones.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Caswell…that is what happens when too many people accepted corruption and bribery as the norm for decades, it becomes the norm….silence is acceptance.

… look at CGIs players and the level of bribery that has brought the judiciary to its knees, everyone complains about the judiciary’s destruction….but no one wants to admit it was caused by bribery of lawyers, doctors, police, the former CJ….and other officials…and corruption of politicians and government ministers, some even say certain judges.

they much prefer pretend the judiciary’s total destruction of which even the CCJ complains regularly, happened another way, but can’t say how…….makes them feel better.

With that acceptance of corruption and bribery…..was birthed the destruction and compromising of the ports of entry, because one thing leads to another, but dont worry according to some, it cant be that bad, it happens everywhere. ….the mind of the ignorant.

That is until, because of the common practices of bribery and corruption, which has become a daily staple on the island….one of their own relatives or they themselves get injured or killed.

12. re David October 9, 2017 at 4:26 AM #

Our layman view is that we do not exercise enough coupled with poor diet that includes too much sugar and starches.

Your view addresses causation. I am speaking of triggers to revert such situations even without exercise

13. Noted, seems unnatural, look forward to your findings.

14. In both cases when I lost the weight I did not exercise, but on reflection I note that I was consuming a diet quite similar to Atkins of low carbs but with increased fat/protein.

I could not quite understand why.

I now understand that one can lose weight by inducing a natural process called ketogenesis.
    the biochemistry seems sound

15. David and Caswell
    I agree wholeheartedly and get the need for following the correct protocol i.e. an announcement of the concession via the Gazette. This would indicate full transparency and lawfulness. The absence of such in this instance, however, does not limit the level of transparency to a point where bribery is sensibly an option. The fact remains that both Sinckler and the union leaders have publicly confirmed that the concession exists. To avoid Sinckler or any other minister inferring that it is a favour, the unions should demand the formalisation of the policy via the prescribed route. I still maintain that we seem not ready for the kind of governance we appear to crave, as we are too quick to demonise and accuse. Transparency is not to be used for malice.

16. This is becoming a hypocritical society. Here it is Caswell getting belly hurt about Duty Free status for cars belonging to The NUPW and BWU heads. What is the problem since that would not effect the outcome regarding union negotiations. If bribe was in the mix, would the two Union members head over 20,000 human beings to march up and down. If bribe was in the mix, would the BWU strangle the CBC regarding increments for over 7 days and won. Possibly it would have to be the union who would have bribed CBC.

Caswell, why are you so hostile against the BWU leader, possibly, this might be a man thing knowing that a female heading the largest trade union and a man just out of school heading the other union and a mature union man heading a small group of people. Workers are smarter than you think, and if you show hostility to a successful competitor, prospective workers would have serious question marks jumping ship to join your union.

17. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171008/news/rowley-explains-why-tt-must-pay-higher-fuel-prices

Would the BLP jokers ( Miller , Enuff , Artax , Prodigirl & Well well ) on this BU blog explain to rational thinking Barbadians……that PM Stuart & Finance Minister Chris Sinckler does not govern Trinidad.

Indeed , the decisions the Rowely administration has now taken with respect to removal of subsidies – the Freundel administration…….had taken years ago !

And Trinidad 🇹🇹 is an oil rich country !!!!!

18. We talk about Political Parties taking bribes, this is a worldwide behaviour that will never stop. However, what about normal people like Angela, Fractured and Carson from the DLP and Prodigal, Well, Well and a whole host of bloggers who have to defend a party. Should these people be labelled bribe takers or simply party lovers?

19. @enuff

What you posit is correct where the issue becomes thorny is that we cannot compromise when it comes to governance. It is wrong or right, it is transparent or foggy, it is legal or illegal.

20. @enuff

What you posit is correct where the issue becomes thorny is that we cannot compromise when it comes to governance. It is wrong or right, it is transparent or foggy, it is legal or illegal.

21. William Skinner Avatar

Enuff Tell me Why
    You are absolutely correct. We may not be quite ready for transparency in any area of public life.
    Caswell et all are really out of depth here with this poor- rakey argument about tax breaks for a motta car. The workers movement has been more active and activist over the past two years than it has been in the last ten years or so and this will be welcomed by genuine nationalists.
    Anybody who has been active in our trade unions knows that within the membership there are BEES and DEES who often put their party before their own welfare as workers. Sometimes on the Executive and Committees , there are party hacks and supporters undermining the same union. We have a very highly polarized society and successful union leaders, themselves members of the same political party, they have to fight, have to skillfully navigate these waters.
    I personally do not believe that Caswell has any ulterior motives. Caswell is a doer and I have benefited tremendously from his knowledge of several issues we raise on BU and those he writes about in the Nation.

22. Tell me Why……..LOL……….Not me…dough dough,

I am a private self employed person . I dont know a politician personally to get any bribes and would never be fortunate like angela skeete to feed off the fatted calf.

I attack this government because of its policies which have destroyed Barbados.

All I want from any government is to provide strong effective management that would see this country growing and from it the policies they implement, people can work and prosper…….they would pay taxes so that we can have:

Good roads

A good service from QEH for the poor people who cannot afford private care

Regular garbage collection

Provide the resources to ensure of our get a good education up to UWI

Make Barbados safe by providing resources for the police to do their jobs

That is all I want from a government………above all that they do not take bribes………

23. Brek up dem

When the BLP was in office, when any reference was made to what was going on in the world……you yardfowls used to say that wunnah dont want to hear anyhting about what going on overseas and that you dont live there………..

So I will tell you the same thing…….let Trinidad deal with their problems. You should be ashamed to even try to draw any references to Trinidad when your dlp has destroyed this country as well.

You dems should be thankful that oil on the world market fell to its lowest levels if not God help Barbados.

24. Prodigirl

You are wrong !

You BLPites always saying Barbados under the Dems is the only country facing hard times.

Now that you brutes have been exposed as LIARS ……yuh can’t bear it !!!

Wunnah gine face um till the day after the next general election……wait & see !!!

It is only gine get hotter !!!!!

25. jackass par excellence

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 9, 2017 at 10:54 AM

So you like to compare Buybadus with Trinidad (a country that practically owns the commercial body of the same) when it suits your politically-tainted convenience?

So why not carry the comparison to its illogical conclusion and tell us if the former T&T CLICO policyholders were able to get some compensation but Bajans can only rely on fair-weather promises made since December 2012 and being fed like turkeys for Xmas in 2017?

We can bet on it that the Trinidadian taxpayers have been receiving their tax refunds (their own money made available to government as a short-term loan) since 2013.

You will soon eschewing such a comparison when the corporation called Buybadus is forced to devalue its Mickey mouse dollar to bring it in line with its ‘parent’ owner.

27. Prodigirl

You can bray as much as you like !

Three nil in yuh a$$ !

2008 , 2013 & 2018 …..!

You don’t have an LEC !

You doubt me …..ask Edmund Hinkson !!

George Payne is a THIEF…..ask Edmund Hinkson…..!!!

Mia Mottley is a CROOK…..ask George Payne !!!

Mia Mottley is a DESPOT…..ask Owen Arthur !!!!

Mia Mottley is a SERPENT in white ……..ask Maria Goddard !!!!!

Look 👀 at the calibre of candidates you bringing to the Barbadian electorate !!!!!

And talking bout BLP…….. unity ???

Away with your CRAP 💩

28. Miller

Go back to the sewer !!

You have been preaching…..DEVALUATION of the. Barbadian dollar 💵 since you join BU !!!

You have been preaching …..that the DLP govt would be a one term government by January 16, 2008 !!

Don’t mess wid we ‘ New Dems ‘ we ain’t easy …,,.we does tax yuh tail till yuh pay we – wha yuh owe ??!!

29. Maria Agard

30. Do you think people want to hear this drivel at this time?

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Well, Well and a whole host of bloggers who have to defend a party. Should these people be labelled bribe takers or simply party lovers?”

TMY…..please post the evidence where you have ever seen me defend any party in Barbados, Canada or US….particularly Barbados…everybody gets a piece of my mind….I love no party, never accepted anything that was not due to me from any government foreign or local or ministers or politicians. ….never bribed anyone to do their jobs.

,…I do not see the appeal of or aspire to become a yardfowl…it’s way below my intelligence level..

If you or whoever now have a sudden attack of conscience or fright and are waiting to see me back any political party, ministers or candidates….while knowing all the corrupt players and the criminals in the minority population who bribe them…yall got a long wait.

What I am patiently waiting for is to expose a current matter in the supreme court…and knowing their track record of being greedy and can’t help being dirty, I just might get the opportunity. …….that will serve the purpose of exposing all the nasty players in both political parties who like to take bribes from, be owned by and are slaves to the little nasty indian criminals like Katuppa-Harris who is destroying Barbados…with their guns and drugs, human trafficking and money laundering…..

….so ya better dont be within splashing distance when I start.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“that PM Stuart & Finance Minister Chris Sinckler does not govern Trinidad.”

Since when do you govern someone that you allowed to own you…

Yall can’t even control the minority criminals in Barbados….or lock them up, they do as they like….

….instead ya join them in destroying the country like the useless black cowards and wusses that ya are, always have been ….and always will be.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 9, 2017 at 1:45 PM
    “Prodigirl
    You can bray as much as you like !
    Three nil in yuh a$$ !
    2008 , 2013 & 2018 …..!”

Wouldn’t that then be even steven as in1994, 1998 & 2003?

The only difference is that in 2018 Buybadus will be a junkyard of an economic basket case with Haiti its running mate.

Well, if the multiplier effects on prices due to the NSRL and the 2% commission on forex purchases are not significant devaluations of the purchasing power of the Bajan dollar then Mia Mottley has an LEC (London Education Certificate if you can grasp the pique of sarcasm as a play on your ignorance) and Stinkliar has a PhD in econometrics.

It is not only the sewer rat miller you should be cursing but (as you put it) those lying slimy rating agencies and other lending institutions which have been expressing similar concerns and will soon be doing something about it come December as your much deserved Xmas gift.

But as the saying goes: it takes one sartorially-black sewer rat called Steve from the cesspool on George Street to know a ‘boar’ cat from BU chasing poor Steve around a dark ‘broken-down’ cabinet full of blind monkeys.

34. Oh Well, Well, you tink ah wud label u as a briber. I was showing Caswell that if within a democratic system someone use transparency and give you duty free to Tom, Dick and Harry…..Why would he state it is a bribe. What I would call a bribe is when any minister from any of the political parties who strike a deal with a massive contract costing tens of millions and an envelope is past with ah million. Some would call it commission, some will call it productivity bonus, some will call it a golden handshake, someone call it going beyond they duty, some will call it pay back time and we the taxpayers will call it bribery.

However, the nameless characters I mentioned will call a spade a spade and might be unfortunately labelled. We all know the real party dumberts. who will forsake family and principle for party.

35. The bottomline in this case is that the waiver of the duty is at the discretion of the MoF. It is not a standard offer.

36. Where there is smoke, there is fire.

With all of the talk we are constantly hearing about kickbacks and overpriced contracts if the BLP does not appoint a type of a “Special Counsel” to go after what tok place with these major contracts, they will be forever damned as six of one half dozen of the next.

These dems’ behaviour in office have tainted Barbadians opinions of politicians forever.

Go to a cocktail reception and all you hear is who get what bribe. It is appalling. I was at a function recently and heard of a demand for a bribe of one million each for four people.

Their lackies are screwing the taxpayers royally, feeding largely at the trough…………any price they pull from their head is paid. Just look at the Caves’ contract, the BWA contract, and lawyers associated with the party are getting million dollars per legal matter. There are two names one hears all the time.

We hear of contracts now negotiated in the US and the kickbacks are left overseas.

Woe is we and as Bushie says our arse is grass.

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“some will call it pay back time and we the taxpayers will call it bribery.”

That is why it’s their names knocking around on the blogs and being shared across each coast as corrupt and not those who are not involved in their criminal activities..

Up to this point, none of them are acting as though what their are doing is criminal and illegal, they are all waiting for people to forget the Weare murder to start up again, especially at those ports of entry….they know bajans got short memories for certain things.

But I am just waiting for that filthy one that believes the supreme court is his because he bribed the former CJ for years.

38. Hi David

Update your General Elections countdown clock.

It is not 4 more months to Election Day !

Miller & Prodigirl would be glad to know that date for the next general election in Barbados 🇧🇧 will be Tuesday May 22, 2018.

Now remember fellas I trashed you on February 21 , 2013 , last time out de gates !!!

Now I have chosen another date ……22 this time ‘!!!!!!

Dems NOW……Dems AGAIN ‘!!!!!!

39. Wake up, folks,

Every official in the Caribbean can be bribed. Bribes belong to the Deep South, like sauce and cheese to Pizza.

If you would like to change the course, very drastic measures need to be implemented.

40. @Caswell

BU understand that James Paul and Henderson Williams have taken a tight grip at COB.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

That is not how I see it, Henderson Williams and James Paul among others have taken steps to protect COB from misguided members who would destroy the credit union if they can’t control it. This misguided group assisted by their incompetent friends at the financial Services Commission were trying to take over COB. Williams and Paul led the group that literally saved COB.

I know they are Dems but despite the mismanagement being visited upon the country by their colleagues, those two have gone against the grain and made a positive difference at COB without any fanfare.

42. Caswell all of our entities in civil society appear to be under the grip of members of the political class. What does it say about civil society in general? The politician has one master, one agenda. Do not now what useful purpose it serves for politicians to be controlling the second largest credit union in Barbados. Before then there was Lynette Holder. Just the other day were you not highly critical of Paul for his ‘activity’ while on the Board?

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I frequently complain about politicians infiltrating every NGO, from trade unions to PTAs. That said, however, you asked me about what I understood to be the current position of COB with Henderson Williams and James Paul serving as President and Secretary respectively. I tried to be fair in my response and indicated that their “firm grip” served the best interests of COB at this time.

You are correct when you stated that I was openly critical of James Paul in the past. As a result, he was not re-elected to the Board of Directors or Credit Committee. Five years after that, he offered himself to the members and was elected to the Board. The members re-elected him after that five year period so who am I to question that? This time around his actions helped to save COB, politician or not.

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.Cancel reply