Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s Official Car

Those of us who experienced the Barbados of the 70s and 80s participated in the transformation of an agrarian economy to service based. We can debate if successive governments have erred by deprioritizing agriculture and manufacturing by giving the international business/offshore sector pride of place to pay the bills. What is irrefutable is that Barbados by any definition moved the economic needle indicator in the right direction- the middleclass segment grew and in the process Barbados achieved model status as a small Black developing island state. In the last decade Barbados has emphatically answered the question ‘what is cyclical’?.

The pride many Barbadians felt until recent has deflated from our bosoms once swollen with pride largely because of profligate consumption expenditure habits coupled with a lazy approach to national productivity.

One of the many criticisms the Barbados Underground blog has had to suffer from its detractors is that we focus too much on the negative. In our defence, we promote the view that is encapsulated in BU’s motto,  “for the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that [BU] can do”. Barbados is a small island and the inhabitants are related, loyal to the school tie or participate in an activity which work to influence how decisions are taken on the island.

Au contraire, the BU household sees our spotting of the light on the underbelly of Bajan society as positive. Sustaining a democratic system of government is a serious business that calls for eternal vigilance by some like the BU household who are impervious to RH.

No biase, no bullshit!

In recent years what has been the source of embarrassment to members of the BU household has been the deterioration of our infrastructure. The most visible is the road network. It is not about the odd pothole which can be dodged as they appear. It is about multiple potholes tactically located to ensure tyres, rims, life and limb are constantly under threat for those who dare to drive to venture out.

Bajans understand that the current financial state of the country must translate to efficient allocation of the national budget. What the BU household does not understand is the inability of the political directorate to publicly demonstrate by decisions and actions that they want to lead the country. How can you ask Barbadians to tighten their belts until the bellies of many touch their backs, yet from the prime minister down the line want to drive Mercedes, travel first class on the taxpayers dime, attend every conference, wear $1,000 Italian suits to list a few. Good leaders understand that the best way to change the mindset of people they lead is to act in ways that emotionally resonate. For example, suppose Stuart announced tomorrow he will sell the two luxury vehicles he has office is allocated and instead travel about the 2×3 island in a Toyota Corolla or Suzuki Vitara?  And we do not want to hear any BS about the PM’s vehicle must be bulletproof. What about the members of the Cabinet donating their allowance to the Alma Parris School to continue the work of catering to special needs children? By these two acts alone many disengaged Barbadians will be tempted to ‘up de ting’.

The job of wanting to serve in public office is soaked in a commitment of being selfless.

88 responses to “Re-emergence of Potholes|Leading From the FRONT”

1. Chad,
    We live totally different lives. It always puts a smile on my face when I hear people in the Caribbean talking about Africans as if we were one. It is like saying white Americans are the same as Europeans.
    Read the newspaper reports after Damilola Taylor was brutally murdered and see what some of the African leaders had to say about West Indians. One Wandsworth councillor was beside herself with rage, describing West Indians as animals. Africans understand tribal politics, West Indians do not. Check out the Rwanda genocide.
    Another point, which I have raised in BU on at least two occasions, is that of knife and gun crime in the black community. Most of those involved at e of African heritage, but when newspapers report they say black, which gives the impression they are of Caribbean heritage.
    Many of them at e, mainly out of local authority care, but the great majority are war-damaged African children.
    I once told a former colleague on the Daily Mail about this, and he agreed. I was under the impression that the angle on the stories will be change. They have not. The Daily Mail has its own agenda.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Stop telling people on BU ya got some imaginary Ph.D or whatever rubbish ya been telling them….

Chadster……ya are an embarrassment, ya worse than the white house stripper and plagarist….who claimed to have an imaginary degree…..yall disgraceful. ..bunch of liars..

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

No matter what ya want to call yaself…you cannot get the African blood or African heritage out of ya veins…it’s useless trying..

Africans always have to be reminded that they were first to be colonized and turned into animals and beasts of burdens…..they always tend to forget. …I love to remind them.

4. @David BU “wear $1,000 Italian suits”

It would be better if ALL of them, men women, B and D spent that $1,0000 with a gym.

Putting an expensive suit over a big guts ent really saying neffen.

5. Hall

On point….ignorant people keep on with the belief that similarity of melanin content means some sort homogeneity……excellent comparison of americans and europeans…….unless you can identify your tribe and speak its language n African will accept you as one of them….we disco ered that in the early 70s.

6. @David BU “travel about the 2×3 island in a Toyota Corolla or Suzuki Vitara?”

Why not travel by the Transport Board? Maybe if our Cabinet Ministers travelled by our tax funded Transport Board, the Transport Board would be better funded and its vehicles better maintained.

In my youth i used to catch the TTC every morning, and right on board with me would be Roy McMurtry, the then Attorney General of Ontario, subsequently he became Lieutenant Governor of the province. And McMurtry was a Progressive Conservative, not a socialist.

If public transport is/was good enough for the AG of a province as rich as Ontario, can anybody tell me why the public transportation/the Transport Board is not good enough for Fruendel and Adriel and the rest?

7. My Barbados, a country with champagne taste and effing mauby pockets.

And we borrowing the 3 cents with which to buy the mauby.

Web Bajans, a bunch of RH poor great poppets.

8. CORRECTION: We Bajans, a bunch of RH poor great poppets.

9. @Tron October 8, 2017 at 7:59 PM “You always need a Japanese car as a backup.”

Maybe you don’t need a car at all.

10. Vincent,
    I try to resist discussing these things with Bajans at home. |Many of them know everything. They are like the English. But nuance is important, what’s not said.
    If slavery is the touchstone of American society, it is race in the UK. People in the Caribbean do not understand this and Google nonsense from newspaper and repeat it as truth.
    Same thing with Brexit. They had all the answers from reading the BBC website.
    One regular goes on a Russian-owned digital newspaper website and repeats its reports as gospel. S/he lives in a dream world.

11. @Hants October 9, 2017 at 9:36 AM “There was no hurricane or even a tropical depression over Barbados yesterday but this happened?”

A tropical wave passed on Sunday, it brought two hours of extremely heavy rain in some central and western areas on Sunday between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m., but it was very localised and some areas had little of no rain.

12. @nextparty246 October 9, 2017 at 11:23 PM “There used to be 6 Chartered Engineers in the public works department, and at least 3 in the Water authority. Now, there is not a single Chartered Engineer in the entire public service.”

So how has this been allowed to happen?

9 engineers to zero? How?

When the first of the 9 retired, migrated? died? Why was the position not filled?

And then the 8th?
    7th?
    6th?
    5th?
    4?
    3rd?
    2nd?
    Last man/woman?

How could this happen?

13. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Simple…both governments allowed a bunch of greedy, self serving minorities to tell them they dont need black engineers, they got Cow and others with their shoddy road work…..and scam contracts for kickbacks….and the rest is where they are at now in the present…only bad roads across the country.

those fraudulent road construction companies should be made to repay every dime to the taxpayers…the millions they stole for building bad roads for the last 40 years.

14. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

i knew this bajan female, long dead, sounded just like Hal and Vincent, total jackass with no knowledge of her true origins, she immigrated to UK in the 50s and let it go to her head, because that is all she knew…..miseducation.

she claimed that the first time she saw an African in London, she stood and watched him until he was out of sight, this was a black woman of African descent….as are all Caribbean blacks….

…anyway, out of curiousity, i asked her if she knew where her ancestors originated, with a very straight face, she allowed me to know, that she dont know, but she thinks it`s Germany….well fine by me…

…. she died a couple years later, just as ignorant of her ancestry as the day she was born and brainwashed into thinking what others wanted her and other Caribbean Blacks to believe….as they did to American Blacks…

only really mentally damaged people would believe that being told their ancestors were dropped off on an island a mere 400 years ago and without researching if they were indigenous to the island or somewhere else, would instead seek to rewrite their own fraud stories.

the moral of the story….ya cant run away from yaself..

i know where my ancestors originated.

15. The cultural distance between Caribbean blacks and most Africans is HUGE. We always get involved in ugly workplace disputes.

Most Africans treat their blood relatives with the greatest consideration. They also look out for other members of their tribe. All blacks not of their tribe are like animals to be hunted. Zero ethics.

16. Hall

Yes agreed…….a bunch of fifth columnist exist on BU that know nothing of Bim far less the greater world and prove the point that a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing.

17. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

it still dont and never will change the fact of an African lineage, no matter the tribe or region on the continent….it remains the same bloodline and that percentage whether 50-85 will never change.

ya cant run away from yaself.

18. Vincent,
    I got that years ago. Mainly pensioners, out of the public sector, waiting in the ante chamber of death and, hiding behind a mask, are letting out all their venom. I will be if they revealed their names some of them will be people regarded as respectable. In fact, respectability is just mask for their evil-spiritedness. The reward for a life of failure.

19. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Halston….you are decades older than i am and so is Vincent, though retired i am still mucho years from retirement age, both of yall are already in the departure lounge….and barring unforeseen circumstances, since i am in the pink of health, both of you are more than likely to depart decades before i do.

20. Extracted from Facebook.

THE PRETENSE OF PROSPERITY

I saw this advertisement in the paper yesterday, and it kind of drove home for me how much trouble Barbados is in as country. It also made me think about how much debt Bajans are putting themselves in just to give off the pretense that they are making it. We in trouble people!!!! #realthing #checkwunnaselves

No automatic alt text available.

21. @Simple Simon October 10, 2017 at 2:48 PM #

The heavy traffic will kill Barbados and any foreign currency. As said before, an electric tram at West coast and through the island would be best.

22. The last time I bought a car was in 1987. I will never buy a car again. Bying a car to go from home to work, home to shopping, home to recreation/entertainment, home to visiting, home to church is a silly as buying an airplane because I want to go to Miami or London or New York.

Transport Board buses, yellow buses, ZR vans, taxis, and the occasional hired car work fine for me.

I don’t have to pay road tax, car insurance, car loans, repairs and maintenance, parking fees, parking tickets, nothing. My driver’s licence which I renew every 5 years is clean and current.

I don’t understand why people feel the need to buy half a ton of metal glass and plastic just to get from point a to point b.

Life without a personal car is stress free, debt free, cheap, and sweet.

Where can I apply for the refund of foreign exchange which I haven’t used in more than 30 years?

23. @David October 10, 2017 at 6:34 PM

Save $599 to $920 per month and more, by NOT buying a car.

24. @Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger October 10, 2017 at 4:08 PM “i knew this bajan female, long dead…total jackass with no knowledge of her true origins, she immigrated to UK in the 50s…She claimed that the first time she saw an African in London, she stood and watched him until he was out of sight, this was a black woman of African descent…as are all Caribbean blacks”

I don’t understand.

Surely she knew both of her parents.

And likely all 4 of her grandparents.

And perhaps one or more of her great grandparents.

Certainly my eldest sibling who is still very much alive knew one of our great grandmothers who was born in Barbados in the 1850’s. And if a person knows their immediate ancestors how could they think that those people were born in Germany.

Growing up there were still people in my village named m’douya and some nicknamed guineaman, so how could a Guinea man be of German ancestry?

Did not this woman talk to her parents, grandparents and great grandparents before she left Barbados?

Did she never look in her own mirror?

I’ve seen an elementary aged child display the behaviour of which you speak, and my heart bled for her but truly I’ve never witnessed such behaviour in an adult.

25. @Chad99999 October 10, 2017 at 4:19 PM “The cultural distance between Caribbean blacks and most Africans is HUGE. We always get involved in ugly workplace disputes.”

I am sorry for you. Almost.

This may have been your experience, but it has not been mine. But then again I’ve never got involved in an ugly workplace disputes. But then again I don’t do ugly. Some of my relatives have married out,including to Africans and my observation is that those marriages are no better or no worse than the marriages of those who have married in.

But you are a strange bird…and if I worked with you I too might have become involved in ugly workplace disputes.

With you.

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Simple…the brainwash and self hatred is still real today, were even worse in those days post slavery, while a few clinged to their African identities, those house negros filled with self hatred, but with undying love for an evil massa who hated them, rejected then and still reject today their African identities, therefore they have no identity to pass on to their offspring and future generations….so unfortunately, the behavior is manifesting and dangerously so in the youngsters, it’s manifesting in a bunch of old ass men on BU…..so the youngsters dont really stand a chance, if they continue to be miseducated.

I would be very surprised if the name “m’douya”..still exists in Barbadod today, another African identity maliciously wiped out, I very vaguely remember African names through out the Caribbean, particularly in the French isles, but was too young to hold on to any definitive memories.

That same female’s children are crazy like loons in UK…..something like how Hal acts,.they are fast approaching old age and have no identity…hope things are better for their children and grandchildren and they are smart enough to seek out their identities, particularly with the advent of the internet and many research tools at their fingertips, especially genetic DNA testing.

We see it right here on BU…Vincent trying to make up a false identity for the majority Black population on the island because he is not comfortable with his own, he has none…so he thinks the Black population should hold on to what he dreams up for them……..the madmess of a diseased mind.

….Hal is out to sea cause he cannot even understand who or what he is……let alone where his ancestors originated, he is more than likely too afraid to find out.

The clown Bizzy don’t see Black people in Barbados according to him and hates that there is a majority Black population because all he wants to see is his pockets filled with money off their backs, so in his mind, it’s better they don’t identify with a Black or an African heritage…..then there is the vile parasite, his other half Cow…..who still sees the majority Black population as slaves….with himself as massa….

….the majority population is still exposed on a daily basis to this level of evil and nastiness…so it remains alive……their real identities under constant threat……as long as they continue to work for these minority beasts interacting with them daily, the day they stop giving their labor and isolate the minority wild animal, , the changes will start….

……..how many of them have you heard talking about Guineaman and their African culture in the last 30 years, those who did have passed on and the memories wiped out, only some like yourself still remember. The day the island finally gets a Black government that knows itself…they will criminalize that repugnant behavior and practice of trying to destroy the identiy of the majority Black population.

Like one bajan female, who actually lives in Germany now said some years ago with much anger…her skin is dark and lovely, like midnight, I aint no African, my ancestors did not come from no Africa, I am bajan…..she has no identity and dont want her true one because she cannot identify, but can identify with the most brutal of savages in Germany. …

….dont know why so many of them think they are German, that is one for the psychiatrists….it must be a hitler thing….mind you, they are still finding the bones of Africans carbon dated many, many thousands of years old in Germany, si there is proof that AFRICANS populated Germany eons ago, but still, it’s a mystery that the descendants of slaves for the most part can’t identify with their Motherland….

…..they dont even identify as being indigenous to the Caribbean BEFORE europeans arrived….which would be more practical and believeable….like my bloodlines…..that memory too has also been wiped clean , but can be revived with genetic testing, you then know of you are indigenous Amerindian ancestry to some degree..

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Just to show you how people don’t know who they are, their true identities…I was shocked to see a total reincarnation of a Blackfoot Indian walking the streets of Barbados not long ago….and I can see in his face, he don’t even know he is the original American with African features, straight black hair…he more than likely would identify with a Guyanese heritage. …I was so shocked to see him, he caught me staring, never seen one before in the Caribbean….seen many in US, but am sure there are many more of them still scattered across the Caribbean.

I have seen the original Amerindians indigenous to Caribbean, North, Central and South Americas in Grenada, Dominica, St. Lucia and the French isles, there are still many of them, whole communities in Guyana and Trinidad….and they have an identity, they know who they are and are not embarrassed by their heritage….they know that it’s the African female who carries the gene that produced them…..many, many thousands of years ago.

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ya should know by now Chadster is a dummy…I have worked with Africans in corporate settings in US….there is no problem with them….the problems lie deep within the damaged psyche of Chadster, it’s a bajan thing for him, he dont know how to interact with others…inferiority complex…..he tells ya straight, he views the Caribbean as third world and beneath him…..ashamed of his heritage.

29. Your right about the african women .when they found eve her jawbone was of an unusual enormous size which you seem to have inherited

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lawson…..which hole did you crawl out of …don’t tell me like Chadster and MoneyB, you have completely lost ya moorings too.

My boyfriend is meeting ya dimwit boyfriend today, but he is afraid of a press conference meeting, making up excuses about travelling to PA…

….. ah see he backed down from taking the Mensa test, that he challenged Tillerson to….don’t know what he was thinking.,..he knows he is too damn stupid to take a Mensa…..and of course he will blame Obama for unfair Mensa rules as the reason for not taking the test… ..lol, lol, hahaha. .

31. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. October 11, 2017 at 5:05 AM “I would be very surprised if the name “m’douya”still exists in Barbados today.

Her great grand children are my first cousins so no, we are not dead yet. And even though I do not remember her myself, my elder siblings, most of whom are still alive and well do remember her. And according to them she was most definitely an African woman.

Some of us have not forgotten.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Very good Simple….you know your identity, not many Caribbean people, particularly Bajans, can say they do….they are still wandering blindly and lost all over the place.

33. https://www.facebook.com/NowThisFuture/videos/1779757095398796/?hc_ref=ARQ18PNe5uapHPsRiWHmLd3Q0Jjtm0dQPL5EmDgjY6rUUcM3t2lBoUo2f_uERiVsCTc

Let us pray that the two machines to filter sargassum seaweed from the beaches are being maintained by the NCC.

34. Lawson,
    That is Glaswegian humour.