Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

As expected, Standard & Poor’s downgraded Barbados’ sovereign credit rating yet again, this time to CCC.  As long as the DLP continues to follow their developmental philosophy of high taxation, then further downgrades and eventual currency devaluation are certain.  So what is the solution?

First, we need to understand that the DLP’s developmental philosophy has benefitted Barbados immensely.  However, their philosophy no longer works when we have entered the death spiral.  Our problem is that the DLP continues to stubbornly embrace their failing philosophy, which will certainly ruin Barbados.  Pharaoh’s heart appears to be hardened to any good economic advice.

Some think that the solution is to simply change administrations.  That thinking is valid in normal circumstances.  However, once we have entered the death spiral, special measures are required to get us out.  The BLP and DLP are as inexperienced as all third parties in getting us out of this level of debt.  Therefore, the critical question that responsible voters need to ask those offering to manage Barbados’ economy is: how do you plan to get us out of this death spiral?

The DLP’s management of the economy has been continually examined by the international rating agencies. The now familiar downgrade announcements simply chart our progress to foreseen economic ruin.  However, would anything improve if voters selected the BLP?  To assess the likely outcome, we need to examine the BLP’s development philosophy.

The BLP’s development philosophy is to finance Barbados’ development through debt.  Barbados has benefitted immensely from this philosophy.  However, their philosophy no longer works when we have entered the death spiral.  Our problem is that BLP is also blinded by their developmental philosophy.  Even as we are racing towards economic ruin, the BLP’s solution is to burden Barbados with even more debt – they simply know no other way.

To get out of this death spiral, we need to understand how we got in.  All economic enterprises, whether they are households, businesses or countries, should be run within safe operating boundaries.  Banks normally protect individuals (and their families) and business owners (and their employees) from going outside of these boundaries, by limiting the amount of debt they can acquire based on their income.

Individuals or business owners may acquire additional debt from other sources.  However, once it reaches an unsustainable tipping point, then they enter the death spiral where their families will eventually have to vacate their houses, and their employees will eventually become unemployed.

Our elected politicians negotiate national loans on our behalf.  However, unlike individuals and business owners, international funding agencies willingly lend politicians any amount, but inflict punishing interest charges on citizens based on the risks of lending.  The IMF warned us citizen not to allow our politicians to enter the death spiral.  We enter this spiral when our debt exceeds 40% of our Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

The BLP took us from the safety of 30% GDP debt to approximately 90% GDP debt.  Entering the death spiral is deceptive, since there is very little change in the circumference or size of the circle in the initial cycles.  However, as we move from the rim and inevitably travel downward towards the eventual drain, then with each successive cycle, the circle gets smaller, the effects of each cycle become more noticeable, and we become more alarmed.

If Barbados has the misfortune of electing the DLP, or any party that shares the BLP’s failed philosophy, then Barbados is sunk.  Solutions Barbados is the only party that has published a non-austerity plan for getting Barbados out of this death spiral.  It has undergone over 2 years of rigorous public scrutiny and is available on SolutionsBarbados.com.

Essentially it comprises 4 proven main steps.  The first is to increase Government revenues by lowering taxes and making them fair, and easier to calculate, pay and audit.  The second is to increase productivity in both the public and private sectors by managing each Government service to the international customer-focused quality management standard, ISO 9001.

The third step is to effectively address corruption by fining those who receive and pay bribes up to 10 times the value of the bribe, and rewarding the whistle-blower with the full value of the bribe.  The last step is to depoliticise the civil service by ensuring that all public workers are promoted on merit alone.  The details are on SolutionsBarbados.com.

In the upcoming election, the choice for voters could not be clearer.  We either complete the death spiral by voting for politicians who embrace the failed philosophies of the DLP and BLP that have brought us to this point, or we get out of this death spiral by voting for Solutions Barbados candidates.  Decide Barbados.
Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

153 responses to “Solutions Barbados’ Response to the S&P Downgrade – The Death Spiral”

1. Dribbler

Is wrong. ISO 9001 is being applied in many places around the world to improve the quality of public sector services.

There is nothing “impractical” about it, although the trade umions will be a nuisance as usual and object to it.

2. Chad, please read with comprehension rather than simply a desire to provoke.

At no point did I suggest that a TQM process cannot be implemented in govt…that would be stupid and as idiotic as suggesting that simply implementing TQM in the civil service would act as a seminal operational process to vastly improve our governance so immediately.

3. Dribbler

calls the ISO proposal “impractical” and “juvenile”.

When I tell him he is wrong, he has the nerve to tell me I am trying to “provoke”.

No. That is what you are doing. Psychologists call it PROJECTION – accusing others of your own sin.

And I have news for you. The civil service in Barbados is not a large bureaucracy by international standards. In fact, some would call it tiny.

4. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

ISO 9000 has been around internationally for a good 15 years, at least that is when departments in NYC were being trained in it`s use..so far i only personally know of BL and P…now EMERA that are certified to such standards..

by the time the whole island gets around to broad based standards, the world would have upgraded to something even more useful and futuristic.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Chad99999 October 5, 2017 at 2:13 PM
    “And I have news for you. The civil service in Barbados is not a large bureaucracy by international standards. In fact, some would call it tiny.”

Come off it Chad! You are being intellectually dishonest by making such an assertion.
    We are speaking in relative, not absolute, terms.

Even if we were to exclude the statutory corporations and agencies not deemed as operationally part of the central government the numbers making up the civil service is relatively large in comparison to the absolute size of the country’s population.

Aren’t you the one who is always questioning the need for so many incompetent black hands steering the wheel of State of inefficiency towards the rocks of economic ruin which only the sandy white hands from the first world can help in diverting?

What are these international standards?
    Should the numerical ratio of 10% of a country’s total population be an acceptable benchmark in measuring the size of its bureaucracy for it to be considered large if >= but <= to be classified as “tiny

What you need to consider is whether Barbados has the economic capacity to afford its bureaucracy which is generally parasitic while serving a nebulously useful purpose to meet partisan political expectations.

The question to you is if you think the current size of the Defence Force and that civilian army of occupation called the Civil Service can be justified given the high level of education of a so-called sophisticated populace and the much maligned low levels of productivity and economic output of the Bajan population which has been living too long a sweet cushy life off other people’s money borrowed from overseas.

6. MNK

Remember how this discussion started.

Dribbler was claiming that it was simplistic and impractical to propose implementation of ISO 9001 in the “large” civil service bureaucracy and expect quick results.

But ISO 9001 is being used right now to improve the US federal civil service, which has 2.8 million employees. Not everywhere to be sure. But in particular offices snd departments.

By comparison, Barbados is small change.

7. Northern: Thanks.

Pach: The study was quite comprehensive and examined the results of lowering taxes on many countries.

Miller & Well Well: All healthy medicinal uses of the plant will be facilitated. We do not think that smoking the plant is healthy.

Redguard: I have written ISO 9001 procedures for companies and operated within an ISO 9001 environment for over a decade. See our article on the subject.
    https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/01/iso-system-key-to-better-service/

Chad: We have already met with the NUPW and CTUSAB who have agreed with our ISO 9001 management solution.

Best regards,
    Grenville

8. @Miller, your remarks give me hope that reading comprehension is not a lost skill. Reading Chad had me in great distress. Oh me miserum !

No Chad, I do not play that projection game…your hero Don of Moron Diplomaticville does it often; in much the same way you provoke endlessly….so let’s do recall how this discussion started.

My claim that this policy perscription “was simplistic and impractica” was linked completely to the fact that such an implementation takes time and careful retooling and as a policy perscription it CANNOT be touted as an operational quick fix for the bureaucracy of our civil service.

Of course quality management processes whether ISO 9000 or whatever are being used in large govt entities… that is not in question and was never the debate.

The simple fact is that one cannog simply offer it as a policy proposal in such a vacuous way.

Good heaveans, management efficiency methodologies have been around for a long time…. as I noted previously we can cite Deming and go back to Quality Circles and JIT (just in time) and all that came after that with Drucker etc etc etc.

Do you realistically want to continue this juveniile debate about ISO 9000 as if its some new rocket engine that can get us to Australia from Grantley Adams in 2 hours !

Of course our civil service needs process change but are we really debating that as a distinguishing policy feature for a political party…you gotta be kidding!

9. Drib:

It only takes time if you plan to implement the entire ISO 9001 system at once. We do not. We plan to implement the most customer-focused parts first. Therefore, you may see the benefits in about one month.

Best regards,
    Grenville

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“Miller & Well Well: All healthy medicinal uses of the plant will be facilitated. We do not think that smoking the plant is healthy.”

Smoking is not healthy period, ancestors always drank the tea from marijuana before smoking the leaves became fashionable, marijuana patches are now available to distribute the medicinal form for those who require treatment…oils have always been available.

THC the addictive ingredient in marijuana has been successfully extracted from the plant by chemists who process it in volumes.

As I said in another post, you cannot….”exploit”…to use the attorney general’s word…..the full financial benefits of the plant unless you grow it and produce it’s byproducts..

….. as things stand according to him, the head of the drug service, under the current “legal regime available”…….Brathwaite’s words, can “source”…whatever form of the plant is needed for patients..

… in that scenario, the only one being exploited are the patients who require treatment, since the drug service has to import existing forms of the drug from US, Canada or Europe…..because of the island’s overly useless, restrictive laws and demonization of the plant.

……however, that information should have been in the public domain since the “legal regime” for making the drug available to patients was enacted..

Miller….ya really got a bunch of idiots running ya government. ..into the ground.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler October 6, 2017 at 12:13 AM
    “Of course quality management processes whether ISO 9000 or whatever are being used in large govt entities… that is not in question and was never the debate.
    The simple fact is that one cannog simply offer it as a policy proposal in such a vacuous way.
    Good heaveans, management efficiency methodologies have been around for a long time…. as I noted previously we can cite Deming and go back to Quality Circles and JIT (just in time) and all that came after that with Drucker etc etc etc.”

I suspect you are getting a bit too far ahead of Chad in the long old race of “scientific” management studies.

After all ,Chad is just a new kid on the block just like his classroom colleague Grenville Mark 11 chosen by the warring god of engineering and management.

If Grenville only knew that his ISO 9000 et al have their genesis in the fieldwork of Frederick Taylor (not to mention McGregor, Argyris, Herzberg, Likert ad infinitum) then he would understand that the problem with the Civil (“Snivel”, to borrow FB’s apt adjective) Service is not one simply of requiring the application of scientific management principles in a modern customer-focused environment infused with Dale Carnegie’s intensive training sessions for continuous improvement but the disease endemic to a partisan politically-controlled employment agency called the Personnel Administration Function of the Public Sector.

Until we use some radically invasive surgery to reduce the infection pervading the polity -so well identified and analyzed by C.Northcote Parkinson) we would not be able to distinguish the good blood cells (relevant public sector functions) from the infectious blood cells (the make-believe jobs magically created to feed bureaucratic parasites to satisfy partisan political agendas).

Grenville and his SB policymakers must first stop putting the blind donkey as the driver of the one-wheel cart. But must first ask the enlightened question whether in the 21st Century world of digital realities if many of the myriad of functions and services currently performed and delivered by the public sector cannot be more efficiently, economically and effectively done by the private sector more amenable to the application of his ISO 9000 principles to meet the needs of an “educated” and sophisticatedly ‘modern’ Bajan society badly in need of being weaned off the sore nipples of Mother Government and Father Treasury.

What ever remains as ‘public goods’ best performed by the streamlined public sector can then find some magnetic appeal to his new-found source of managerial intelligence in the reincarnated being of “Public Sector Reform” according to the Gospel of Solutions Barbados.

12. I really wonder if Miller & his fellow doomsayers have passed by the West Coast of the island over the past week and noticed the high level of new construction or refurbishment activity taken place within the tourism and other areas of the hospitality industry ??

Such flurry of activity – undoubtedly – says , among other positives , the following:

• Barbados is a good place to invest & is still open for business ;

• The administration of His Majesty Freundel Jerome Stuart is providing the right enabling environment for investment in Barbados ;

• The newly instituted NSRL is not a hindrance to investment as the doomsayers – first alleged ;

• The Finance Minister Chris ” tough as ass ” Sinckler is a gem of a Finance Minister ;

• The DLP is a party of taking the tough decisions in the interests of ALL Barbadians.

Dems NOW … Dems ….. AGAIN …..

13. And when one listen to the blp operatives they are begining to sound like beggers asking for hand outs already telling govt how the NSRL should be divided up . Well of course they are first in line looking for they share after blasting govt efforts for looking out for the country interest. Dems now Dems again.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 6, 2017 at 8:56 AM
    “Barbados is a good place to invest & is still open for business ”

So why can’t we get some action at the Four Seasons graveyard?
    After all, the service to raise the dead has been going on since 2011, if memory serves well.

What about the West Coast sewage project or are you waiting for all the coral and beaches on the West coast to disappear leaving an oasis of human waste to swim in?

We will not embarrass you further by asking about the Pierhead marina or the Cruise Ship Terminal at Sugar Point or Pitbull’s imaginatively fertile resuscitation of sugar cane industry with the US$ 270 million borrowed from a Japanese bank or even the housing project at Exmouth or even the Performing (or should that be Perjuring) Arts Centre at Brandons on the same West coast.

But you will soon see if the Hyatt erection would rise like a phoenix in a couple of weeks (couple meaning two weeks not 104 as in two years) much needed to impregnate the fast disappearing foreign reserves.

It seems the sales of the BNTCL and Hilton to johns with foreign money have not even fertilized the ova of sealing the legal deals far less sired the forex baby of your expectant imagination to be delivered by year-end to save your sorry asses from a forex stock-out leading to both debt default and consequential devaluation.

Dr. IMF still beckons you with open arms. He is even about to turn up at your very own doorstep to avoid the embarrassment of you being ‘referred’ by the Latin American bank of loan sharks.

15. Like Miller, I applaud Bajeabroad’s analysis. Nothing more needs to be said. “Occupying the crease” is what successive governments have done to bring us to this state of affairs.

16. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171005/news/colm-imbert

This is the new wonder kid that Miller & his cohorts now adore !

Nothing more than a mad 😡 woman masquerading as an Economist!

Not only Chris Sinckler spotted the FRAUDSTER !!

Colm Imbert too !

17. What we want to see is the removal of the piles of garbage from the streets and the fixing of the jaw rattling potholes. Frankly it is downright embarrassing.

18. Yes David all u asking for can be accomplished when govt collects the necessary funding call revenue from taxes. But do not forget it is people like u who are all against govt generating revenue by way of taxes yet u expect to buy a whole hog at half its price worth.
    Btw have u seen MIA LEC inquring minds want to know

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 6, 2017 at 10:19 AM

Brek-foot Yardfowl, you mean he should have shouted at her:
    ‘Ya bald pooch cat! Why don’t you tek ya likkle Indian foot and run down Frederick Street stark naked’?

Unlike in Bim with Stinkliar that bad-skin jackass will soon be fired.

Dr. Keith must have his fall guy for what’s on the horizon.

Who will it be in Bim? Certainly not the Guv of the CB (again)?

20. Ok David a valid request from you.

The funds from the NSRL will assist in that regard.

You see why the NSRL is essential ?????

• Mia Mottley bragged in Parliament that her law firm has not paid to the government – taxes owed !

• Many professionals in Barbados not paying to the government the taxes they owe !!

• Many property owners not paying to the government land taxes that are owed !!!

• Many business owners not paying to the government corporation tax or VAT owed to government !!

But you know those are the very first persons that criticize government when the garbage piles up or the hospital requires supplies !!!

The money has to come from somewhere….

NSRL to the rescue 👍🏽

Thanks to the ingenious thinking of Chris ” tough as ass ” Sinckler !!!!

21. David

It is quite simple

As the to the Extreme – road march winners in T&T for 2017 sang ….

Even if the Treasury bun down !!! We jamming still !!!

Something have to give ..!

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 6, 2017 at 11:18 AM

Fractured Foul-foot, why did you purposely forget about the income tax refunds going back to 2013 and which were being stuffed in envelopes as Stinkliar was speaking in Parliament?

Did the garbage trucks bought with the 2% NSRL imposed in 2016 break down while delivering the empty envelopes?

BTW, tell Stinkliar that his Pinocchio nose has been broken since 2013 and most taxpayers file their tax returns online and opt to receive their refunds by way of electronic credit to their bank or credit union accounts.

Not much need for unsigned cheques in the mail to be thrown into the uncollected garbage bins.

23. Miller

Every year since Jan 2008 – I does have to admire you penchant for cat 🐱 shite !

• You stated back then that the DLP gine be one term government !
    • Then the DLP ain’t gine win a seat in 2013 !
    • Then because of the DLP slender majority in 2013 …..the government would collapse by 2015 !
    • Then the government going to the IMF by June 2016 !
    • Then the Barbados 🇧🇧 currency will be devalued by April 2017 !

Miller a.k.a cat 🐱 shite

This is DLP country

You believe because you and 4 other miscreants who populate BU wid wunnah shite is the Electorate of Barbados 🇧🇧 ?

Get real. !!!!! and get READY !!!!

As you are about to witness the ushering in or term 3 of the Dedicated Loyal Patronage (DLP)

Unless you can produce that illusive LEC ……before then !!!

If all of your predictions could not hold true..,…you really you have a ghost 👻 of a chance without an LEC ..,, after purporting to be LEGIT ????

Wheel & coming again !!!

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

This dumb fractured damaged ass is doing a really good job of fooling himself and other broken yardfowls…but no one else..lol

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 6, 2017 at 11:37 AM

Fractured you would accept that you are Broken foul-foot of a yard fowl like a vulture picking at the rotten remnants of the dying calf tethered and teetering next to the cesspool of deceitful lying pricks pissing in George Street.

You can twist the truth about Mia and end up like Kaymar; but you must stop telling lies on the miller.

In January 2008 the miller never heard about BU, Stinkliar or even you, Fractured Fowl Steven the sartorial obese Black clown.

Yes, indeed! Dems again in 2018, either by hook or crook (again).

That would throw poor MAM into immediate cardiac arrest which not even her buddy Stinkliar would wish for.

BTW, before we get to prosecute Mia for the fraud of not possessing an LEC let us hear about the voter fraud witnessed by the very eyes of the AG,PM and that motor-mouth Donville.

The bald-pooch Cat got ya tongue on that one???

But as Pitbull Estwick’s mother told him: “Time longer than twine!” It’s just a matter of time before the obese jockey falls off the dead horse. Ask Fumble what he meant when he ‘whispered’ that (sotto voce) to OSA.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

• Many professionals in Barbados not paying to the government the taxes they owe !!
    • Many property owners not paying to the government land taxes that are owed !!!
    • Many business owners not paying to the government corporation tax or VAT owed to government !!

And the solution to this continual law breaking activity is an amnesty? “tough as ass” or “soft as shite”?

27. Northern all thus sh.it was orchestrated and accommodated under the blp and rolled into the laps of tge present govt. Leave it to me i would have put a double bolt and chain on those business and sell them off on the court house steps . No fuk. …ing joking

28. @Fractured, a Damascene about turn on lies and fabrication – and the usual battle with English grammar. From expertise on management theory, to climate change, to medical science, to education policy, to finance, to economics – and everything in between. Some of us are obviously more talented than others.
    In the meantime, back in the real world, Barbados is so steep in decline that apart from the pro-party mumbo jumbo, there is no serious debate about economic policy.
    As I have mentioned on numerous occasions, Barbados is under-performing the regional and global economies. Why is this?
    The world – both developed and emerging markets – is undergoing an incredible asset prices boom (remember this when it comes to the sale of C&W shares); twice since 1881 has CAPE reached these astronomical numbers, 1929 and at the turn of the century; the S&P alone has risen by about 13 per cent (remember this when it comes to the under-performing NIS investments); investors looking for yield are even investing in high-risk treasuries.
    Our economy has performed so badly that even Argentina, a nation notorious for defaulting on its debt, six times in the last century, the last time in 2014, that it recently issued a 100-year bond for which it was over-subscribed.
    All these and our academic economists, pubic intellectuals and economic policy analysts have failed to explain the to a knowledge-hungry public. In the meantime, long-term real interest rates have been falling since about 1980 (remember this when it comes to explaining our economic predicament and its solutions with the post-war Bretton Woods policies), a phenomenon that macro-economists are still battling to explain. Since then, we have seen a number of paradigm shifts in the dominant economic consensus, particular since 2007/8. Yet, somehow, Barbadians are still discussing the management of the economy in the same language and using the same tools used by those in the 1950s and 60s. When some of us call for a robust, open discussion, we are met with abuse and vulgarities.
    There are no easy answers, but a serious attempt at a grown-up debate may help us towards finding solutions for our problems.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@angela
    it would appear to me, it has been ongoing for many, many years; and NONE of the administrations, either prior or current, have done anything to curb it.
    This blame game you like, only works in the first two years of a new administration, not years 8 + 9. If by then nothing has been done, it either isn’t important or they have no solution. Since there are solutions, I would politely suggest, it wasn’t important.

30. @Fractured BLP October 6, 2017 at 11:37 AM #

We predicted devaluation for summer 2017 and we got devaluation, namely 2 % external (Foreign Exchange Fee) and 10 % internal (Social Responsibility Plantation Tax) in nominal Terms, translating into an inflation of 20 % for most consumer goods.

So what?

31. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

the electorate in Trinidad is ready to kick Rowley to the curb because 2 years into his administration he is still blaming Kamla for everything, because he has no solutions despite all his preelection false promises, trinis cuss him daily on facebook as a matter of course….lol

just imagine listening to clown ministers and their useless, sour yardfowls blame the previous government every day for nearly 10 years, for their own neglect and incompetence….

the electorate will be more than happy to kick them all to the curb, never to be elected again, not even as dog catchers.

32. Miller

That’s the well you have dug for yourself

You changed your moniker so many times that you cannot remember what sign in moniker you used in 2008 !

By the way Gregory Nicholls was brought to Court on the charge of ” Vote buying ” ! How you mean the PM & Adriel ain’t identify the culprit ?

33. The Nation Barbados shared a link.
    14 mins ·
    Barbados strengthening relations with IDB group
    Barbados is improving and strengthening its excellent relationship with the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB).Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Christopher…
    nationnews.com
    https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nationnews.com%2Fnationnews%2Fnews%2F101100%2Fbarbados-strengthening-relations-idb&h=ATOiyhavYZoUj2-R_G7EWhymC4lWr7q7NqqzdHxU1C6dk9EtpQ5q3xdwZzzXkT1Or24ZU6SoW72eJaivI3NlbffVM0VdYJgDy8W5T6s-ZhPRR8tyi13vCLBUIu_iMrQ9XdTMS0YGsMed-iWpBYe54aPrMEGIkArzBqakj3bEllLd6-cLd1fOJyMJxsuUESHg6vI5Uq2Bp0-sTKN-ZROSe3sg–6A6a92mRpGhgjNfPusHoXOxoMzm0I7Qnj37yDYdMD1TybxLc_J3nNSL4nDnHIo_TCCh59_

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP October 6, 2017 at 2:20 PM
    “You changed your moniker so many times that you cannot remember what sign in moniker you used in 2008 !”

Poor fool you are!

David of BU must be having a really good laugh at you watching the miller take the mickey out of a ‘Fractured’ fool.

The Anunnaki challenges you to state just one other moniker the miller has ever used on BU and David King would expose the miller as the anonymous Hal hiding behind the mask of an accredited cretin called ac aka “waiting” aka “commentator” aka Fractured DLP.

Not even Alvin Cummins would stoop that low(e) as to humiliate the miller’s son by revealing his anonymous connection to a founding member of the real party of dear loving people; and not in anyway associated with the current piss-bucket of low-class shit hounds destroying that former ‘hallowed’ institution which was in the vanguard for political, economic and social reform.

But that is what happens when people of class make the mistake of inviting pigs to a party in a castle. It is eventually turned into a sty of smelly crap. Even the Prodigal son would turn down any offer to mingle with the current swine of DLP swill.

Sleep comfortably, Dear Great Uncle Wynter C!
    May Light perpetual shine on you and grant you eternal peace of mind!

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin October 6, 2017 at 12:58 PM
    “There are no easy answers, but a serious attempt at a grown-up debate may help us towards finding solutions for our problems.”

Poor Hal!

If only he could keep to his imaginary principles and just don’t respond to contributors hiding behind a mask of anonymity whether “Fractured” or operating behind a deceitful veil of a blasted lying pimp (BLP).

Since you are extremely worried about the marked absence of serious debate about Barbados’s financial and economic problems on the BU forum why not take up Artax’s challenge and submit your ‘paper’ on the management of Barbados’s foreign reserves?

Wouldn’t that show a measure of leadership in intellectual matters even if not in managing you own personal life and household?

Come on now, Hal be a man and show us your intellectual mettle. Where is the paper you promised to lead off the high-level intellectual debate?

PS: We don’t want it in the form of your boringly long-winded rambling “Notes from a Native Son”.

Just cut to the chase and let us on BU be dazzled by your intellectual brilliance from which the miller will learn not only ‘proper’ grammar and Basic Queen’s English but also to imitate a real polymath.

If you don’t do that by weekend the miller might just be forced to expose you for what you really are.
    Just a two-bit piece of black jumped-up shit of stupid West Indian origin who falsely thinks name-dropping is a passport to social circles of intellectual worth.

Now shoo fly until you are summoned to feed on the academic leftovers!

36. Miller,
    Why do you want to call my name in your inane presentations?
    Note what Hal said: “investors looking for yield are even investing in high-risk treasuries.” Seems that Barbados is a good place for investors, since the recent downgrade places the country in that category. Is this what you lot are hoping for? The “solution” is critical of the present government because it would not fall into the “debt trap” that the BLP seems to be advocating; to get out of what he sees as the “death-spiral. To my mind the present government is applying the medicine needed. Never mind the kicking and screaming. don’t approach the IMF for loans, live within our means, those who want to live above their means must paY THE PENALTY; THROUGH TAXES AND LEVIES, REDUCE THE DEBT OWED GRADUALLY, AND PAY INCREASES in salaries when you have enough money to do it without borrowing. What I would like this present government to do is increase the pressure on businesses to stop using VAT revenues, and NIS employee contributions(deductions) to supplement their cash flow. If the government were paid the money owing by businesses we would not have this imbalance.
    Just a question, do you too fall into the category of: “of stupid West Indian origin ,” or are you from a more titled, but less enlightened origin?

37. Grenville;
    Why do you persist in trying to apply “solutions” that have no relevance? You postulate that Solution 1 would be to:
    The first is to increase Government revenues by lowering taxes and making them fair, and easier to calculate, pay and audit.
    You assume that lowering taxes will increase revenues. Very good theoretically, but you yourself admit that there is money owed to government by both individuals and businesses. The advent of computers and other means for increasing productivity ,just mean that these things are easier to audit and calculate. Payment is another matter. Government has to find a way to MAKE those who owe pay.
    You also advocate: “fining those who receive and pay bribes up to 10 times the value of the bribe, and rewarding the whistle-blower with the full value of the bribe.” In other words you advocate condoning wrong, because you want to reward someone who exposes wrongdoing. If it is wrong it should be exposed without the hope or expectation of being rewarded.
    Your assumption that advancement in the civil service is dependent on politics and politicians. You show scANT RESPECT for those who advance through merit, continuing education, or other sacrifices etc. This is the cynical attitude adopted by local business, and drivers of local private enterprise; disseminated outside that deters persons wanting to do business with the country.
    Wheel and come again.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins October 9, 2017 at 10:48 AM

We can see you are getting really scarce and scared while perching on a rather defensive fence as the Deceitful Lying Party of chickens are coming home to roost in the coming weeks.

So why is the government looking to borrow $200 million from loan sharks instead of going to the IMF of which it has been a longstanding member (in good standing)?

Is it really for infrastructural development or to meet its upcoming foreign debt obligations in order to stave off default which will definitely put the devaluation cat among the forex-starved pigeons?

Barbados has borrowed from the IMF on two previous occasions.

The last occasion was when the economy was batt(l)ing like Sobers and firing on all cylinders which ended in a dud of sputtering leading to a fire sale of privatization and that famous 8% cut.

What is wrong with going a third time in order to ensure the programme of fiscal and economic restructuring promised in the Ministerial Statement of December 2013 be effectively executed 5 years onward?

Alvin we thought you were a great admirer of Wynter Algernon Crawford? Isn’t that good enough ‘stock’ of intellectual breeding from which to be a scion?
    The miller’s son was just asking for a testimonial of his less “titled” but more ‘enlighteningly rebellious’ pedigree.

39. Miller:
    Re: @ Alvin Cummins October 9, 2017 at 10:48 AM

“We can see you are getting really scarce and scared …”

I already stated on this forum that I am scared of no one or circumstance, neither am I scarce. I was busy with other pursuits; not trivial, and BU is not a priority. I am independent; and live within my means, ‘neither being a borrower or lender’ (don’t have enough to be much of a lender, but more of a giver.). I am indeed a great admirer of Mr Crawford; being within his generation, and am familiar with his contributions to the advancement of the country.
    The approach to the IMF; depending on the circumstances has been under the administrations of BOTH BLP and DLP. There is nothing wrong with approaching lending institutions; IF THERE IS NEED TO APPROACH IT, OR THEM., depending on the circumstance and the terms.THERE IS NO NEED AT THIS TIME FOR THIS APPROACH. WE ARE TRYING TO LIVE WITHIN OUR MEANS. WE ARE TRYING TO REDUCE OUR DEBT BURDEN.We are trying to preserve whatever foreign exchange we have. WHY THEN INCREASE OUR DEBT BURDEN BY BORROWING FROM OUTSIDE? YOU ACKNOWLEDGE, BUT DO NOT COMMEND THE GOVERNMENT FOR BEING “in GOOD STANDING” WITH THE IMF. Because your bank invites you to ‘come in and borrow, does not mean you have to go. It is wise to hold that in abeyance. There is nothing wrong with prioritizing our spending and revenue streams; whether for infrastructural development or to pay foreign debts is dependent on the expertise of the advisers to government. I am sure you are aware; that the steps taken by the Minister of finance, are within the guideline mentioned by the IMF personnel at the conclusion of their last article 1V consultation visit. Unfortunately you will never give credit where it is due. No Miller, we will not fall into that trap.You will have to grin and bear it.

40. Why is approaching the IMF seen as the panacea for our economic ills? There is something about our national psychology that is really irritating.
    Someone has just told me of two elderly Barbadians, one man and one woman, who have just lost their social carers because of their obstinacy and rudeness. Immediately I was told this I thought of some contributors to BU.
    I am not a psychologist, but there must be a deep cultural explanation of our psychological condition.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins October 9, 2017 at 2:02 PM
    “I am sure you are aware; that the steps taken by the Minister of finance, are within the guideline mentioned by the IMF personnel at the conclusion of their last article 1V consultation visit. Unfortunately you will never give credit where it is due. No Miller, we will not fall into that trap.You will have to grin and bear it.”

Good response, AC!

Almost an AC(e) of shot in putting up a spirited but futile defence against the Borg of pending financial assimilation.

Barbados is already in a massive debt trap just awaiting the IMF fire equipment to rescue its sorry ass.

It’s a pity the former Guv of the Central Bank does not share your opinion.

Isn’t that a convincing case of ‘giving credit where credit’ is due when it comes to coming clean with the Truth?

The money printing press is no longer fed with NIS monopoly paper but hidden in a dark room painted by Thomas de la Rue.

No, my friend, the MoF is not within the guidelines agreed with the IMF. Why be a member if you don’t want to follow the rules of fiscal prudence?

Until the MoF and his boss do something meaningful with the source of the fiscal ‘infection’; that is, the restructuring, merging and elimination of those SOE’s promised since December 2013 he will always be in the bad books of the IMF and indeed its forensic auditors, the credit rating agencies.

42. The high cost of servicing the debt is one of the immediate challenges isn’t it. The advocates of the IMF option is lured by getting access to cheap USD. Of course it will take 6 to 9 months to prepare a proposal/design a program.

On Mon, Oct 9, 2017 at 9:37 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 9, 2017 at 6:37 PM

Good point on which to pivot this discussion which has far-reaching implications and ramifications over the coming months and years.

There is a “proposal/design program” ready for submission only requiring the political will and decision. Its genesis can be found in the MoF’s December 2013 statement of intent.
    Why do you think the MoF is talking about getting the ‘buy-in’ from various sectors of the business community and civil society?

Not this time from any group of “Eminent persons” within the Cabinet but a bunch of scapegoats for a decision which should have been taken way back when OSA was like the Cassandra not of doom and gloom but that of a proactive voice of wisdom from a realm of experience and love of his country.

The longer the delay to go to the doctor for radical surgery, the more painful would be the recovery after having to swallow the bitterest of medicine.

44. Where is Dr David Estwick’s voice in all of this mess?

His party has destroyed Barbados our once fair land. History will not be kind to any of them.

Truth be told, even though he was overlooked for the Finance Ministry twice, he initially tried to help them , foolhardly though it was but he seemed to understand how the economy works and what corrective measures were needed.

He truthfully told the idiots that they were responsible for the state of the economy. He had to beg for an audience with the Pm at a cabinet meeting…..remember?

His silence speaks volumes…..Barbadians will never forget that these wildboys stood together and let an economically challenged buffoon destroyed our fair land.

They are all responsible!

45. how many years has Jamaica a sister island nation has been in an IMF program just goes to show that with all the expert economist Jamaica has gotten no where too fast in easing its economics woes, even more than that Jamaica social environment has totally collapsed unable to withstand the harsh economic policies of the IMF program
    Is that what the BLP operative wish to see happen to tiny Barbados

46. Hi Alvin:

Lowering taxes is a proven and relevant method of raising revenues. Please review “A New Measure of Taxation: An Application to Barbados” by Greenidge and Drakes.

Our method of addressing corruption is effective. Can you suggest a more effective method?

Best regards,
    Grenville

47. The reality being Barbados is cash poor .The reality being that barbados internal debts are high most of which are attached to govt sponsored programs and jobs. The reality being that lowering taxes in an overheated fiscal enviroment would not resolve the problem of govt lowering its debt. Unless govt makes an unsustainable decision to make the citizens pay for all social programs which are now free and dispose of about ten thousand civil servants . Yes people would have money but lets not fool our selves. The taxes when rolled over to the people would not be enough to pull two or more wagons. Granville you ought to speak with a degree of honesty explaining to the people how you will implement a lower tax policy and its impact on the social programs

48. Angela,

Reality is that Barbados is a big plantation where taxpayers feed judges and other civil servants who go to work at 9 AM and leave at 3 PM.

Reality is that education at UWI did not work but produced a bunch of figures with the mindset of the 1950s.

Reality is that even the relatives of Ministers complain about corruption.

Reality is that jobs in the public service are granted not by merit but by cronyism.

Reality is that foreign investors turned away from Barbados.

Reality is that Barbados became a place where every visiting supremacist feels confirmed that all countries in the South must fail as a natural law.

I wish you good luck next year in Toronto, Florida or Zurich, where you can live amongst the whites and leave behind the black masses.

49. The reality is that Barbados has significant debt repayments due in the next few months and given foreign reserves is in danger of default.

50. Tron you have adressed your concerns to the wrong person.
    The reality at present shows that Solution Barbados is presenting an alternative pervasive of vodoo economics which was tried tested and failed and which was a pivotol part in the last global economic melt down. Where economist told small island nations that it was ok to borrow and keep their economies afloat on small taxation.
    Well the chicken has come home to roost and now we have once again a modern day pied piper using the same tactics to lure a country right back into the lions den