Prime Minister Stuart with Richard Sealy who acted in the position this week.

Barbados suffered ANOTHER downgrade from S&P Global credit rating agency – long-Term local currency rating to ‘CCC’; ‘CCC+’ Foreign; Outlook Negative. Follow the link to understand the definitions of the S&P credit ratings.   The CCC credit rating is defined as:

An obligation rated ‘CCC’ is currently vulnerable to nonpayment, and is dependent upon favorable business, financial, and economic conditions for the obligor to meet its financial commitment on the obligation. In the event of adverse business, financial, or economic conditions, the obligor is not likely to have the capacity to meet its financial commitment on the obligation.(p.5)

Barbados Underground was criticised by a few because we did not post a blog to share the news of the downgrade on Wednesday (27 September 2017). Barbadians are experiencing ‘economic fatigue’ after 7 years of a protracted anaemic economic performance.  Even if blame is ascribed to BOTH political parties for the island’s poor economic performance, it does not change the reality for the majority of Barbadians. Perception is reality and the reality (perception) is that we have become trapped in the economic headlights like the deer.

Confirmation of the degree to which the leadership of the country is locked in old thinking was confirmed yesterday by acting Prime Minister Richard Sealy. During an address to DLP faithful at party headquarters he lauded the increase in tourism arrivals year over year. He shared the news that a few local tourism players will be renovating or adding rooms to the plant.  He also shared that the Hyatt hotel developers will start construction in a couple weeks. The BU household is of the view the Hyatt matter is the subject of a court action. Isn’t the construction of the Hyatt before the court because citizen advocate David Comissiong has filed for a judicial review? Did acting Prime Minister Richard Sealy disrespect Barbadians and the Barbados courts with his glib announcement that the Hyatt will break ground in two weeks?

Listen to acting Prime Minister Richard Sealy with 8min:34sec to go on the video. Did he mention that the Pure Beach property is still in play? Really acting Prime Minister Sealy?

Did Sealy also demonstrate ignorance with his reference to increase tourist arrivals as a measure of success in the sector? Has the  more accurate measure shifted to dollars spent (ave$spend) by the tourist as the best performance indicator to measure success in the hospitality sector? Why have we not seen significant positive movement in foreign currency inflow net of FDI? Was Sealy’s measure of success debunked by former minister of tourism Vincent Vanderpool. Also, if Sealy is a student of the marketplace he should have taken note of an address former Prime Minister Owen Arthur delivered a few years ago at the Errol Barrow Creative Centre, UWI, Cave Hill. Arthur was clear to point out that tourism as a single sector CANNOT generate the economic growth Barbados needs to pay its bills.

What is obvious is that this government will continue to make political decisions. Let us send up the prayers that we are are able to limp along until the Prime Minister gives the people the opportunity to exercise the right under the Constitution to select the political party of our choice.

190 responses to “Trapped in Freundel’s World”

1. @ David
    The fact that these various ‘third parties’ are unable to come together as a SINGLE party of national unity at this time …tells us that our problems go WAYYYY BEYOND BLP and DLP.

Brass bowlery is endemic…..

2. David

We started this by asking whether Government has decided (privately) to ditch the rating agencies.

We did this knowing full well that that determination cannot happen in isolation. Though that position has been posited by Robinson since 2008, if not before.

Yet there is a normalcy setting in around lower and lower ratings, without any effective responses from the regime in Bridgetown

We don’t know that anything Robinson or the PM has said clarified that simple question.

But we know that Barbados cannot expect to be involved in the international monetary system and at the same time ignore ratings and rating agencies, as corrupted as they have proven to be – the agencies that is.

3. Last year Greece, another small country facing a huge debt burden, sold 1,500 CBI passports, raising revenue of approximately US$ 900 million.

4. @ Chad99999

When you sell-off state asset and spend the proceeds…….then what!!!! You have no assets and not a damn dollar to show. You so dumb.

Citizen-by-Investment…No way Money rules the world. We will become slaves of these said wealthy people who will eventually dictate how Barbados operates. Cabinet meetings will be no more and financial discussion will be in a boardroom and the little transparency we have will be no more. We will become whores for the masters.

5. Bush Tea

proposes a Truth Commission and multiple executions.

He should read the story of Mao-Tse- Tung and the Cultural Revolution.

Then ask, Why are all the Chinese leaders wearing Western suits today? What happened to Mao’s Little Red Book?

Also, read the story of Libya’s Muammar Gaddafi and his Green Book. Then watch the videos of his death and subsequent mutilation.

Human nature is a bitch!

6. @Pacha

You are correct. It is why BU posted Robinson and Stuart’s PR and political positions. We have to borrow given our debt burden. We have to borrow to shore up forex generally (even in the good times this is what we did to benefit from cheap rates). We have to borrow to support rampant consumption behaviour. We have to borrow to support the tourist industry where there is high leakage. We could continue.

Like you stated, we cannot remain plugged into the international financial market and ignore credit rating agencies.

7. @Bush Tea

True in theory but we know many of these parties were formed for less than honorable reasons.

8. @Chad99999

Can you share in layman language what is the state of the Greek economy based on latest official report?

9. PLT

Earlier this year, it was announced that eight foreign companies, including a Swiss corporation, recently responded to an invitation from the Jamaican government for private partners to develop and manage the Norman Manley International Airport.

10. Haven’t we noticed that the coward goes overseas leaving Sealy to do the dirty work (speeches) for him. Haven’t we also noticed that the courts and the news media is not blessed with enough balls to call a spade just that and let the Bajan public know the whole truth and nothing but.

11. Over and above the fact that Greece has only managed to kick the can a few feet further down the road by following Chad’s ‘brilliant’ logic, ….every coherent person over the age of ten should know that the ownership of assets represents MANHOOD, INDEPENDENCE, PRODUCTIVITY and PRIDE. …Not that it should be the be-all and end-all of life, but it is a significant indicator of SUCCESS.
    While the lack of such ownership signifies a life of servitude, poverty of spirit, despair, misery. ..and death.

The need to SELL OFF assets sends a strong message that you are on the WRONG TRACK in life, and any wise victim of such a circumstance seeks to CHANGE TRACK … not to sell off MORE assets.

Shiite man … this is Common Sense 101.

@ Chad
    Bushie has a way of drawing conclusions about people who, in the absence of the ability to VISUALISE and actualise concepts on their OWN steam – defer to predestined conclusions based on what OTHERS have either failed, or succeeded in doing…. ask Vincent.

What the HELL does Mao, Gaddafi, or even Barrow …have to do with Bushie’s proposal for national success…?
    Does /did any of them have a whacker?
    Did Bushie’s stepfather adopt their brass bowl donkeys?
    Do their have spiritual assets at their back…?

Steupsss…. YEARS on BU and you seem to be going BACKWARDS in knowledge and understanding…
    The KEY to everything is rooted in the SPIRITUAL BASIS on which the whole experience called ‘life on Earth’ was conceptualised and built….. everything else is really just jobby…

Shiite Chad!!!
    You are behaving like a fella who found himself with a MacBook laptop – with all the bells and whistles – and come here on BU striving to find new ways to use it as a clipboard….

12. @Bush Tea

Shiite Chad!!!
    You are behaving like a fella who found himself with a MacBook laptop – with all the bells and whistles – and come here on BU striving to find new ways to use it as a clipboard….

Interesting last part to your comment. You are aware that iOS has integrated blockchain technology? Grant that it is attached to optional features.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Chad99999 October 1, 2017 at 9:20 AM #
    “…Greece, […] sold 1,500 CBI passports, raising revenue of approximately US$ 900 million.”

Good example… so let’s extrapolate. Greece is an EU member, making their citizenship worth much much more on the CBI market. Greece charges US$600k according to your figures; Carribean jurisdictions charge about US$200k. So let’s price Barbados CBI at US$300k, and lets assume we are as successful as Greece on a per-capita basis. That works out to revenue of (285,000/10,750,000)1,500300,000= about US$12 million

14. Should have……Could have……

Tough Love Budget.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170930/news/tough-love-budget

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Chad99999 October 1, 2017 at 9:20 AM
    “Last year Greece, another small country facing a huge debt burden, sold 1,500 CBI passports, raising revenue of approximately US$ 900 million”

The difference between Greece ‘selling’ passports and your proposal for piss-poor Barbados to do likewise is that Greece is still a member of the EU whose passports are accepted worldwide without the immigration officials asking: ‘Where is Greece’? As opposed to: ‘Where is Barbados?.

Barbados already has a CBI programme, although poorly promoted.

The problem here is that the kind of “investor” for citizenship that would be targeted is not interested in giving up either UK, Canadian or USA passports for a Bajan passport whose credentials will always be questioned given the level of corruption at all levels of governance being exposed in the current rotten state of Denmark called Buybadus.

As far as your other proposals involving the sale of State-owned assets and selling the Bajan Christian soul to god-forsaken Islamic states in the ME (which would make our BU John to commit suicide), those have already en put on the table situated next to the Cabinet even by those already well seated at the roundtable of deaf mice being chased by a blind black cat around a dark room full of dummies.

So ‘wield’ and come again if you want to convince BU that those ideas are novel and are straight out of the fertile mind of the Catechistic Chaddie the Roman Catholic choir boy who believes that abortion and the use of condoms are abominable sins while paedophilia and pederasty are forgivable acts once perpetrated behind the hallowed walls of monastic celibacy.

Why not come up with proposals which are more reflective of the intellectual and technological capacities of the Bajan mindset like the growing and processing of marijuana and fresh fruits and vegetables as rotating money earners to supplement the demoted king sugar?

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Chad99999 October 1, 2017 at 9:45 AM #
    “… private partners to develop and manage the Norman Manley International Airport.”

We will have to wait and see what kind of deal they work out… that airport has been on the market since Portia Simpson days seven years ago, so this is no quick infusion of FDI.

GAIA is actually a much better candidate for privatization because Norman Manley International becomes unreachable by vehicle in the event of a hurricane and is very vulnerable to both climate change and earthquakes.

17. PLT

What does population size have to do with the number of CBI passports sold?

Debating foul!

18. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

The roll over risk is more relevant for the maturity of external bonds. I don’t see an issue with the domestic bonds. The issue right now for me is the amount of external bonds outstanding and their maturity profile. The longer the time horizon to maturity, the more time we have to correct the problem.

The exchange regime has shown great resilience over the years, no easy task given the volatility with inflows. With the peg firmly anchored, an IMF program, while desirable as an insurance policy going forward, is not necessarily needed at the time.

19. Between 2005 and 2015, St. Kitts sold 10,700 CBI passports.

That is an average of over 1,000 passports per year. The population of St. Kitts is 1% of the population of Greece. But St. Kitts has been selling almost as many passports as Greece.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Chad99999 October 1, 2017 at 10:38 AM #
    “What does population size have to do with the number of CBI passports sold?”

The size of a domestic market correlates with the market appeal of CBI product. This is the reason that Barbados CBI is potentially more valuable than Grenada CBI.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Chad99999 October 1, 2017 at 10:43 AM #
    “Between 2005 and 2015, St. Kitts sold 10,700 CBI passports.”

OK you are correct. That means we can hope for up to $300 million per year

22. @ David
    You are aware that iOS has integrated blockchain technology? Grant that it is attached to optional features.
    These people are supposed to be examples of exactly what to Bushie?
    …the ultimate albino centric corporation?

Shiite man David, Bushie is surprised that THEY did not build a monument with a pitchfork into each iOS 11 download.

You are perhaps confirming Bushie’s disdain for the blockchain. These greedy people would exploit health food …just to make money…..

WAIT!!
    …did Bushie say that they ‘WOULD exploit..’
    … or that they actually routinely ‘DO’…

🙂

23. @fortyacresandmule

Tempted to write that great minds think alike 🙂

Was it just a couple years ago Barbados was forced to withdraw from the bond market when it attempted to attach its upcoming foreign loan maturities?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/43521/bond-withdrawal-hurt-island

Why are you not concerned with re-profiling local debt especially paper held by the NIS? What are the implications for investment yield and impact on investment income to keep pace with pension expense? It is an ageing population afterall.

24. @Bushie

You have downloaded iOS11 then? It establishes kicking and screaming you are an early adopter…:-)

25. Bushie in not an ‘early adapter’…
    The Bushman is an innovator…
    Who knows? …perhaps trying to influence IOS12 …???

26. Chad99999 October 1, 2017 at 9:20 AM #

Last year Greece, another small country facing a huge debt burden, sold 1,500 CBI passports, raising revenue of approximately US$ 900 million.

@ Chad,
    What is the source of this information. I have checked with Eurostat and cannot seem to find it. Greece is a member of the EU and the EU does not sell passports. An EU passport will give the holder free travel throughout the 27 member states.
    It appears to me that the EU may be lots of things, but it is not a banana republic.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Chad99999,
    Hmmm, St Kitts CBI program brings in fully 50% of government revenue. They are completely addicted to this cash flow… they would go broke in short order without it.

If I were of what Bush Tea calls the albino centric persuasion I could see how this would complement our offshore financial services sector.

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

29. @Bushie

Adopter in the marketing definition. We all need to be early adapters. The point is that Barbados in the short and medium term have to be takers because of our configuration. Adopt, adapt or die.

30. @Peter

Note the CBI i St Kitts is not only abut passports, it is about property as well.

31. PLT

CBI programs sell access to US, UK, EU and Canada, as well as other countries.

Barbados has visa free access to the UK and Canada.

32. Plus convenient offshore banking.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

There appear to be a range of options, including a 50% off CBI “sale” if you contribute to their Hurricane Relief Fund: http://www.ciu.gov.kn/investment-options/

34. The “intellectual” is suggesting an “expanded Citizen-by-investment Program; sales of big infrastructure assets and financing from Middle Eastern financial institutions. (all Gulf States have willing lenders),” as “ingenious ideas”………

………….. while further suggesting if Barbados seeks financial assistance from the IMF or World Bank, the island would be “under the financial control of foreign ladies from India and the United States who graduated from university a few years ago and now work for the IMF and the World Bank.”

Taking into consideration that Barbados has “suffered” 20 consecutive credit rating downgrades from regional and international rating agencies, if government seeks financing from “Middle Eastern financial institutions,” on whose TERMS and CONDITIONS will the loans be negotiated……….. the government of Barbados or the UAE?

Obviously, the UAE……… because based on this island’s credit rating, the Barbados government cannot call “the shots.” Hence, IMF, World bank or UAE “loan sharks,”………. “same difference.”

And this “intellectual” does not see anything wrong with the Barbados government going “cap in hand” begging the UAE to lend them money (obviously under terms & conditions as determined by the UAE), but ADMONISHES Dominican PM Skerritt for approaching the UN asking ASSITANCE for an island that was COMPLETELY DEVASTATED by a category 5 hurricane.

It is interesting to note that the CBI programs introduced in the other Caribbean islands have not readily achieved the desired objectives. And there has been discussion pertaining to people from certain countries that, under normal circumstances, are unable to travel to specific countries for various reasons, but would be able to do if granted citizenship and a passport from an island such as Barbados.

Government decides to introduce a CBI program in which foreigners gain citizenship by investing, FOR EXAMPLE, in the purchase of “the big infrastructure assets.”

It is a known fact this joker is always critical of anything Caribbean……….. especially education and professionals. Hence, I’m sure that he would not advise these “new citizens” or other investors to seek the services of Caribbean financial advisors, economists, accountants, lawyers, etc, because, in his opinion, these professionals ignorant of every.

“Chad99999 September 16, 2017 at 3:07 PM #: West lndians are not good at building management. They are not good at financial management. They are not good at any type of management.”

Remember his opinion of Walter Blackman and other professionals:

“chad99999 September 13, 2017 at 10:34 AM #: He reminds me of many Africans I’ve come across. They grow up in a Third World village, win a scholarship to study abroad, attend a university in the UK or the USA. They pass their exams and earn membership in an elite profession. THEY LEARN HOW TO PRESENT THEMSELVES BY OBSERVING SOBER, SOPHISTICATED WHITE MEN.”

So, all that’s left for the investors to do is utilize the services of “foreign ladies from India and the United States who graduated from university a few years ago” to act on their behalf in Barbados.

In the final analysis, using this “wanna be joker’s” suggestions, would the Barbados government not be bound to the “whims and fancies” of foreign investors and financiers who will obviously exploit this island’s economic circumstances to their advantage?

And he asks WW&C what is her IQ.

35. @Peter

Yes that Hurricane Relief Fund option has drawn a lot of criticism in recent days post Irma and Maria.

36. And I forgot to factor the members of this inept DLP administration into the equation.

But we already have a “CBI program”………… the Guyanese and Jamaicans SQUATTING on the land fill in Rock Hall, St. Philip, securing “house spots” for relatives and friends, while demanding government to provide them with water and electricity or relocate them.

And the Attorney General and representative for the area said he is aware of the situation, but has friends living there, which is perhaps preventing him from doing something about the situation.

37. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

At the risk of eternal damnation by Bush Tea 😉 I am going to suggest that a CBI program is no more ethically distasteful than a tourist industry or an offshore financial services sector. They can each be viewed through the lens of prostitution: selling invaluable ASSets to strangers on the open market, but are there degrees of sin here?

If we have a choice between being a Bush Hill streetwalker (mass market Sandals style tourism) or being a US$300/hr “escort” (a well run CBI program) which should we choose. There is no real ethical distinction, but one is much more comfortable than the other.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ October 1, 2017 at 10:39 AM
    “The exchange regime has shown great resilience over the years, no easy task given the volatility with inflows. With the peg firmly anchored, an IMF program, while desirable as an insurance policy going forward, is not necessarily needed at the time.”

Your point would have had more impact in hitting the nail on its head had Barbados not found itself between a rock and a hard place as far as the hemorrhaging of forex is concerned.

It the past, the good credit rating and confidence in the financial management of the country by overseas lenders would have been the bucket from which Barbados was able to draw to shore up its foreign reserves to satiate its thirst for conspicuous consumption of imported goods and services.

The siphon to the bucket is now cut off with the only source for forex to even meet future basic import needs is from the banker of last resort.

My friend, the longer the procrastination, the deeper would be the surgical incision and the more intense would be the pain for the citizens to bear even in their soon-to-be shocking state of an economic coma.

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

So I apologize Chad99999, one of your three suggestions does indeed seem to have the potential to have an impact on our structural deficit. We just need to decide as a society whether we wish to make that choice.

40. @Peter

Wearing the philosophical hat here -how is selling the passport as a commodity an option? Is there an intrinsic value that should be attached to a passport? What swells the feeling of pride and industry in ones country?

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ David,
    Like I said, selling citizenship can be seen to offend fundamental values… but it is not significantly different to selling the pretense of being “Massa for two weeks” to the descendants of our colonial oppressors, or selling tax evasion opportunities to wealthy foreigners so that they can more effectively screw over poorer foreigners. We have already made some very questionable ethical choices in our struggle to survive; is this one any worse, or just more of the same?

42. peterlawrencethompson October 1, 2017 at 11:03 AM #

@ Hal Austin October 1, 2017 at 10:56 AM #

This doesn’t correlate exactly with Chad99999’s figures, but he is entirely correct about the existence of the program.

Golden Visa Greece offering residency without citizenship.—-“Launched in July 2013 the Greek golden visa programme grants a five year residency visa in return for an investment in real estate. There is no minimum stay requirement and children up to the age of 21 are included in the family application. The visa is granted for five years and renewed every five years if the property investment is retained. It is not necessary to live in the country in order to retain and renew the investor visa. However citizenship can only be granted after seven years of residency.”

Applicants who live in Greece can apply for citizenship and a passport after seven years. Once applicants have citizenship then they are free to dispose of their investment as further visa renewals are not necessary.

PLT
    Are you sure we are not talking about residence, and not citizenship? Nearly every nation in the world gives residence to investors.
    If this were true a lot of those professional people coming out of Syria, Iran, Iraq, Russia – would buy Greek Citizenship, then move to France, the UK or Germany. It would be cheaper than risking their lives to cross the Mediterranean.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Hal Austin October 1, 2017 at 11:54 AM #

Yes it does appear that there is an additional residency requirement for citizenship, but that does not alter the fundamental nature of the program… if you can afford it you can buy Greek citizenship.

44. PLT
    Where is the evidence?

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“And he asks WW&C what is her IQ.”

The nerve…lol

46. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin October 1, 2017 at 12:06 PM #
    “Where is the evidence?”

In the same National Herald article:
    “citizenship can only be granted after seven years of residency.”

47. @Peter

Will never equate selling a passport to doing same the physical attributes of the country.

48. PLT

A newspaper article is not proof. I know that only too well. Is there any official announcement? After seven years of residence one can apply for citizenship in most liberal democracies, that is not new. Buying citizenship means being granted citizenship from day one.
    The point of selling passports in Dominica and St Kitts, members of Caricom, has similar unintended consequences as the Greek selling citizenship. It will allow the beneficiaries to cross borders without prevention.
    Imagine how Jihadists, or Russian oligarchs, would exploit this if it were so.

49. @ David
    Adopt, adapt or die.
    Actually, in this current world, the CORRECT statement is “Adopt, adapt AND die….”

Bushie may be IN this shiite world, but is no longer OF it.
    …and so can’t afford to adopt shiite ….

A wise man looking around him in this present albino-centric world would be VERY hesitant to adopt to the status quo …without detailed and reasoned analysis….

Question EVERYthing .. Think for yuh self … and don’t adopt or adapt to a shiite UNLESS it makes complete sense in your adopted reality….

@ PLT
    If you are thinking that CBI is better than BHI (Bush Hill intercourse) because it is a ‘cleaner ‘ approach to earning vital income, perhaps you can give some thought to courting some of those rich bullers like Elton J.

No doubt we could earn some impressive income if you can convince a few fella to bend over occasionally in some nice cushy hotel for these wealthy benefactors….?

The ONLY difference between a cheap ‘ho and a high class ‘ho, is that Bushie can forgive the cheap one who may be doing it to feed her children and / or out of desperation….
    …but
    The high-class ones are the scum of the earth….

Leave a Reply to TheGazerCancel reply