John Annel

The news that Police Superintendent John Annel appeared in magistrates court today charged in connection with 650 bullets between August 3 and September 20 is another ‘black-eye’ delivered to the Bajan brand in recent weeks. About one month ago a gunman sprayed bullets on a crowded Spring Garden Highway just as Kadooment rivalry was about to end. It resulted in 20 people shot!

A couple years ago if the average Barbadian was asked if such a brazen act was possible there would have been a resounding no. It does not matter how the Attorney General will spin this latest sorry John Annel episode, the general public will NOT be fooled.

Many are curious why the arrest at this time. When you factor the murder of a Caucasian Englishman to the mix allegedly involved in illegal activity, you have an island that is just like the rest.

202 responses to “John Annel|Barbados Receives another Blackeye”

1. Surely a senior officer, especially in investigations, should hold a good amount of ammunition.

What happens when there is a major incident, say a prison escape.

‘oh, let me go and apply for ammunition and get the papers to withdraw some rounds, then I will go to the prison later in the day’

Stupse.

Until further information is revealed, sounds like rubbish.

2. Maybe too, he was threatened? Skipper, if I were an officer in his position, you can be sure I would have a good amount of rounds in close access too.

3. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

nothing so exotic Crusoe.

4. How can a senior police officer, accused of a serious offence involving the alleged illegal possession of ammunition, be granted bail, when a retired priest found with a few bullets in his possession was remanded in custody?
    One of the thing that must be taken into consideration when someone is remanded in custody is the likelihood of interfering with evidence or potential witnesses.
    A senior police officer is more likely to be able to interfere with evidence than a retired priest. Further, giving permission to leave the jurisdiction of the court borders on recklessness. How are they going to guarantee his return?

5. Just a minor coincidence, the accused resides at Kenrick Hutson Drive which just happens to be the name of the Senior policeman turned Immigration officer who was gunned down by an unknown assailant several years ago.

6. Bushie, have you not learnt, at school, elsewhere, to trust your government, the elites?

Yuh right as shiite not to, none of them.

It’s good to know that there was a top cop who seemed to, through professionalism, endeared himself to some, even most.

That is good for him, us

But the informal politics of policing, especially around issues concerning who could be COP seem never to be able to avoid these kinds of hurdles, unless ………..

7. It seems that they need to get rid of Annell because he knows too much and would not back down.

It seems that what Annell knows, and from which he will not back down is a major problem to some big wigs.

It seems that there is an attempt to shut up Annell because of ballistic information he has discovered and reported concerning the owners of guns usd to commit crimes in Barbados

It seems that they need to get rid of Annell because he has done his work well –MUCH TOO WELL

HE OUGHT TO BE CONSIDERED INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY OF A SERIOUS CRIME

8. I have raised the alarm before about the rising power of the RSS in law enforcement. Now a US based so-called law enforcement foundation is offering ‘free’ training to Caribbean law enforcement officers, but THROUGH the RSS.
    Question to be asked: why not through the association of police chiefs? Is this so-called foundation a front organisation for the CIA?

9. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Kenrick Hudson, Spooner`s Hill if i remember.

10. His name was “HUTSON”

11. How can someone appear in court on serious criminal charges and the media be held at bay? The rule of law stipulates that the person should have appeared in open court, be read his charge by the court clerk, and even if not asked for a plea, should have to give his/her name, date of birth and address in the open court, before /he is remanded.

12. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

hutson, hudson…what you want from me…at least ah got the address right..hahaha

ya got people on the island being investigated by both Scotland Yard, FBI and whosoever…never had that problem in my lie, no criminal record nothing, but a bajan yardfowl calls me a criminal for enjoying all that theatre…lol…when there is so much yet to come.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bushie boy, what else can we say?

The old folks used to say “edikation ain’t commonsense”.

But you are lucky to be ‘blessed’ with both. A rare conjunction having been raised in ‘brass-bowl’ Barbados. At least your sojourn at Cawmere was not wasted like our nemesis Hal Austin’s.

There is much more in the motor than a pestle of ‘traceable’ bullets.

Probably the poor Sup. man is just a fall guy prepared to take the rap to protect those politically perched above in that firm of corruption to avoid its inevitable collapse like a house of cards hit by a Category 5 hurricane called Steven.

14. @SS
    “And daddies at graduations are as scarce as hen’s teeth.
    A lot of mummies dressed to the nines, and a lot of young people who came here by immaculate conception.”

Sounds like when a fella looking for a lil poo-nanny, grad ceremonies are fertile ground? Dressed up ladies and minimal competition.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Yeah Northern. …..fertile enough to get a paternity suit.

16. Artexeres how about that information Naked deoarture has on David BU is that correct too. Since we know tha blp operatives like digging for dirt maybe u can raced on over to the Naked Departure Archives and look for it

17. Toronto cop who Tasered and stomped on suspect appears before disciplinary hearing

http://www.ctvnews.ca/canada/toronto-cop-who-tasered-and-stomped-on-suspect-appears-before-disciplinary-hearing-1.3606681

18. Caswell

Clearly we need to have some focus at the Ports of entry. We the public want answers as to why contraband is easily coming into Barbados via ports of entry. Clearly there is a racket going on. They all can’t be innocent!

I am now seeing the above that you posted at 1:21 a.m.

Contrary to popular belief, there are cameras at the Bridgetown Port, and the Port Authority has scanners. None of them is under the control of customs officers. Any guns coming into the country would be detected by the Port Authority before the shipment reaches Customs.

A customs officer would have to be a real blasted idiot or a Cabinet minister to allow contraband to pass through him when he knows or ought to know that the illicit cargo could have been detected before it reached him.

To put it another way, the goods are illegally search by the Port Authority before customs officers come into contact with the cargo. Only a Brathwaite or a Sinckler would take a chance in those circumstances. It is highly unlikely that customs officers could be involved in the smuggling of guns taking into consideration the security measures being employed.

19. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Sounds to me like CID was getting close to a breakthrough in the expat murder and associated stolen car racket and someone needed to be discredited.

20. Frustrated Businessman
    I think you are 100% correct

21. Customs officers were accused of allowing illicit firearms to enter the country by no lesser person than the acting Commissioner of Police. To date, he has not substantiated those remarks but we have seen where one of the most senior police officers before the courts for being in possession of ammunition (bullets).

Even if guns were able to be smuggled pass customs officers, they would be useless without bullets. Guns don’t kill people bullets do.

22. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Not sure what your point is Caswell.

The recent discovery and seizure in the Bridgetown Port of a used engine from Trinidad with six guns and over 300 rounds of ammunition is proof that ammunition is being smuggled with guns.

The complicity of Customs officers has not yet been proven, illegal importation through legal ports of entry has.

I don’t think anyone has ever doubted that, until relatively recently, there has been a shortage of illegal ammunition on our streets. Too many charges being brought for illegal possession of firearms that were not loaded to capacity.

The volume of street shootings recently would indicate that something has changed. Either hardware, behaviour or circumstances.

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Still waiting to hear who is arrested for those thousands of ammunitions and I think it was 16 guns found in the car parts at the port which were shipped out of Trinidad, I take it boats dont go directly from UK to Barbados….there has still been no arrests although they were questioning people, Trinidad newspapers said..

Then they found 2 million in cocaine just before that, never said where they found it and no arrests.

Then they found 5 million in cocaine 2 weeks before that at the port…no arrests.

We only hear about every little bit of weed they find.

24. Frustrated

My point is as you said, “The complicity of Customs officers has not yet been proven,”

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

That port manager Jean Marie is definitely worth watching.

Upper management more than likely has too much free access to do as they like.

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Frustrated…ya definitely will not like this, more the reason to get this government gone, from corruption to bribery to drug dealing to gun running and everything destructive…now this, the country cannot survive another 5 years of them..

“BARBADOS TODAY AFTERNOON UPDATE – September 26, 2017
    Added by Video Editor on September 26, 2017.
    Saved under Audio News Updates News Updates Video

Government seeks a supplementary in Parliament to fund a debushing initiative.

The Environment Minister says businesses will soon have to pay the SSA to collect their waste.”

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Apparently your tax dollars is to put in ministers pockets to buy cars and yachts, while you pay more for services.

28. @Caswell

Isn’t Customs responsible for border control. If there is a security vulnerability it should be Customs at the vanguard of the advocacy.

29. I would not wonder if a certain minister postpones the next election, declares a state of emergency and arms the drug soldiers in St. Michael North West with military weapons from the Garrison to intimidate the judges and police officers.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David September 26, 2017 at 4:33 PM

But the customs officers have been ably demonstrating their capacity and legal responsibility to do just what you are calling for as clearly identified by WW&C and repeated below:

Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 26, 2017 at 4:12 PM
    “Still waiting to hear who is arrested for those thousands of ammunitions and I think it was 16 guns found in the car parts at the port which were shipped out of Trinidad, I take it boats dont go directly from UK to Barbados….there has still been no arrests although they were questioning people, Trinidad newspapers said..
    Then they found 2 million in cocaine just before that, never said where they found it and no arrests.
    Then they found 5 million in cocaine 2 weeks before that at the port…no arrests.
    We only hear about every little bit of weed they find.”

The $64 million question is why is there so long of ‘hold up’ at the next stage of law enforcement?

Customs Officers cannot arrest and charge importers of contraband.

Maybe Caswell can shed some light on this blatant failure of Her Majesty’s Security Guards in royal blue to serve and protect the Customs guards in khaki. Unless all roads are leading not to EWB but to the selected fall guy J A.

31. David

The problem is that the person, who has been acting as Comptroller of Customs for a number of years, had no experience in Customs prior to taking up the post. The politicians seem to put her there to destroy Customs so that they could get their way and do as they like. Government has refused to train customs officers, and did not provide the necessary equipment for the officers to do their duty. There was also a proposal to remove customs officers from Port St. Charles.

Government does not want an effective Customs Department, they have done everything to make it weak.

When Dennis Clarke, Roslyn Smith and Toni Moore were given duty free cars, and Cost U Less were given duty free status an independent and effective Comptroller would have demanded the duty if as happened, there was no gazetted notice within three months as the law demands.

32. @Crusoe September 26, 2017 at 9:12 AM “Surely a senior officer, especially in investigations, should hold a good amount of ammunition.”

Whose money paid for the ammunition?

Was it the accused’s money?

Or my [taxpayer] money?

And what became of the rounds?

We have been told that he was accused of having 100 rounds in his possession.

But that a total of 650 rounds were involved. I took a ZR van and spent the day with the boys on the block.

The boys want to know whose money bought the rounds.

And they want to know what became of the 550.

Wunna got the boys confused, and VEX.

33. @Hal Austin September 26, 2017 at 9:29 AM “Further, giving permission to leave the jurisdiction of the court borders on recklessness. How are they going to guarantee his return?”

They can’t.

And if I was him I wouldn’t.

34. the only people who believe that illegal contraband does not make its way through our ports under the watchful eyes on some corrupt custom officers is Caswell and Anankani whose livelihoods depends on custom officers membership .

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Wunna got the boys confused, and VEX..”

That’s the idea.

Why would he return, Brazil is right there.

36. @millertheanunnaki September 26, 2017 at 10:14 AM “Probably the poor Sup. man is just a fall guy prepared to take the rap.”

But why?

I’ve told my own flesh and blood that i int taking no rap for you. Ya do the crime, ya do the time.

Why would any sensible person take a rap for a bunch of big guts elderly politicians? Risk losing both his reputation and his pension?

If ya have a big guts, ya elderly, because sooner rather than later the CNCD’s will get ya.

And if he has done so, I will repeat my morning’s statement.

St. Leonard’s boy.

37. @NorthernObserver September 26, 2017 at 12:03 PM “Sounds like when a fella looking for a lil poo-nanny, grad ceremonies are fertile ground?”

Look Northern.

You too smart for your own good.

lol

38. SS

I wouldn’t bother too much about whose money paid for the rounds of ammunition. I would be more concerned about who were the end users of the 550. I would also like to ask if any of the persons shot on Spring Garden were in receipt of any of those rounds.

Another concern of mine is how did anyone leave the shooting range with live rounds of ammunition. When you receive 100 rounds, you should return 100 spent shells. How many more people would have left the range with live ammunition in their pockets. This range should be closed as there is now enough evidence that the officers, who are responsible for policing the ammunition, are at least negligent. The range should be close as it has now become a security threat.

39. @ Frustrated Businessman

Go to the top of the class, 100% plus a star , this someone getting discredited is lucky. One from Barbarees Hill, get dead for getting too close.

40. @Caswell Franklyn September 26, 2017 at 1:25 PM “the Port Authority has scanners. None of them is under the control of customs officers. Any guns coming into the country would be detected by the Port Authority before the shipment reaches Customs.”

Who exactly is the port authority?

And what is the real real reason that the Port Authority seems to be doing the work that should be done by Customs?

And what is the ostensible reason?

41. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 26, 2017 at 4:12 PM “Then they found 2 million in cocaine just before that, never said where they found it and no arrests. Then they found 5 million in cocaine 2 weeks before that at the port…no arrests.”

7 million worth of cocaine cannot be intended for the local market. Yes we have some poor tail coke addicts in Barbados but they don’t have enough money to consume 7 million worth.

So if there was indeed a 7 million shipment clearly it would be intended for the U.S. or the European market.

So clearly the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) would be real, real interested in finding out wha’ gine on, and those DEA guys don’t play. They lock up their own when they get out of line.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Yep…hence people are saying certain agencies are on the island, let’s hope they grab some local traffickers.

Something rotten is going on in BIM.

43. The Port Authority is a private company owned by Government and under the control of a minister of government. Under the control of a government minister is now the preferred option for Government to do business. No independent service commission, and no Governor-General to protect officers from dishonest politicians. Now you see why they want the BRA. As a result, politician and their minions corrupt everything and the workers better be quiet.

44. TheGazer Likes pelau Avatar
    TheGazer Likes pelau

So far..Scotland Yard, FBI, DEA, Interpol…
    What about the RBPF….decorative/ceremonial/ a place holder

45. @Caswell Franklyn September 26, 2017 at 6:12 PM “The Port Authority is a private company owned by Government and under the control of a minister of government.”

Forgive me for being simple, but how can government own a private company?

And what is a Minister doing “controlling” a company which is no doubt owned by the taxpayers of Barbados?

Should not “a private company owned by government” be under the control of a publicly identified board, and professional managers, and shouldn’t both the board and management be answerable to the taxpayers who are paying them, and providing top shelf liquors to oil their meetings?

Help me to understand.

46. Today, officers from the District ‘E’ Police Station, Uniform and Criminal Investigations Department (CID), assisted by members of the Anti-gun Unit conducted an illegal drug eradication operation at Indian Ground, St Peter.
    A total of 2 700 cannabis plants ranging from seedlings to eight feet were seized.
    No arrests were made. (PR)

47. Wasn’t the Port Authority replaced some years ago by Barbados Port Inc? I assume it is still state owned?

And when these cars exit the point of entry without paying the required fees and taxes, is that the Port Authority too, or do the clearances come via the BRA?

48. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 26, 2017 at 4:15 PM “That port manager Jean Marie is definitely worth watching.”

Annell.

Jean-Marie.

Not Bajan names.

Not Bajan names at all.

I am beginning to wonder if countries which don’t want immigrants and their children in their countries are not perhaps right.

49. I have a few questions that are bothering me:

Who was the duty judge? And why should this matter engage the Chief Justice for bail? Was the duty judge sick or otherwise incapacitated? Was there a recusal? And if so why? What is so special about Annel that his application for bail should become an urgent matter? How is it that a person could languish in jail for one round of ammunition?

I believe that an accused is innocent until proven guilty but that applies to all those other accused that are remanded for trivial matters.

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply