Many have struggled in recent days to recall a period in history when weather systems developed to Category 4 & 5 before leaving the space of the Northern Caribbean. Clearly there is enough evidence to draw a reasonable conclusion that we have entered a period in which the region will have to contend with more intense weather systems. While it seems a simple conclusion for the BU household to make others argue that it is a manufactured idea.

314 responses to “CLIMATE CHANGE and the BIG CATs Irma, Jose & Maria”

1. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

“PS – a reliable indicator of the facts of the AGW scam is that the resident racist and clown Well Well What A Moron Am su[ports it, and even blames it on Trump”

Dude, is that all it takes for you to consider that GW is a scam? Talking of a low bar, but that might be just your level

2. Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 1:09 PM #

can you READ? NONE OF THE SCHOLARS WHO WROTE IN CAPITAL LeTTERS OR GOT SCHOLARSHIPS BASED ON HIGH SCHOOL EXAMINATIONS HAVE SAID THAT THERE IS NO GLOBAL WARMING

I expect there to be global warning as predicted in God’s Word which I believe.
    The list of scholars who support global warming is long and strong and so it should be because THE BIBLE SAYS IT WOULD HAPPEN AND WHY.and when.

the first thing I said was that there is global warming, I also said why I thought it was so.

the argument made by the SCHOLAR WHO WROTE IN CAPITALS EXPLAINED THE UNCHANGED SCIENCE ABOUT THE CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY OF CARBON DIOXIDE clearly

now you can reel or wheel and come again
    when you have something to add of consquence about the science of the mater or something sensible to say as Vincent has you may return.

3. Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 1:09 PM #
    There are two schools of thought. There is global warming and there is not.
    The list of scholars who support global warming is long and strong.
    It will take more than capital letters and mention of a scholarship As a result of high school examinations to persuade me there is no global warming.
    +++++++++++++++++++

What goes around comes around …. everything goes in cycles.

4. …. until!!!

5. Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 1:09 PM #

Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 11:30 AM #

THAT THERE IS GLOBAL WARMING IS AN EMPIRICAL FINDING–ONE CAN FEEL IT
    THAT THERE IS CLIMATE CHANGE IS ALSO AN EMPIRICAL FINDING..CLEARLY GLOBAL WARMING WILL CAUSE SOME CLIMATE CHANGE.

BUT TO SAY THAT THESE ARE CAUSED BY CARBON DIOXIDE EVINCES SCIENTIFIC ILLITERACY TO THE VRY HIGHEST LEVEL.

6. There are just far too many variables to prove anything until after many years of observation—reduce Pollution!

Heat suggests that the Sun–ie solar cycles could be major, Earth’s position relative to the Sun et etc

Humans know little about the whole picture

7. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

🙂 reeling

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

GP…give me an alternative to read…and dont tell me god, we are away above and beyond that…give me something that can relate to reality and what is going on,…re super hurricanes that are nuclear like in dispensing destruction.

Ah even forgot to add that useless fraud 45fraudster…he is so insignificant.

9. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Where ignorance is bliss,it is folly to be wise.

10. re i have children with scholarships in science, i will believe them over some washed up, brain damaged pathological liar like John…from the 70s, secluded on an island.

WHY DO YOU HATE JOHN SO
    IT WAS NOT EASY TO GET A SCHOLARSHIP IN THE 70’S……..VERY FEW WERE AWARDED THEN . IN FACT NONE WERE AWARDED IN 72

IS EVERYBODY WHO CHOE TO LIVE IN BARBADOS secluded on an island? wHAT DOES THE WORD SECLUDED MEAN AGAIN?

scholarships in science is not exclusive to a few..the world is filled with real scientists..

RE the world is filled with real scientists.. the world is ALSO filled with REAL DISHONEST SO CALLED scientists. WHO CANT GET WORK AND WILL WRITE SHITE TO GET A DOLLAR.

11. GP…give me an alternative to read…
    I HAVE TRIED TO TEACH YOU THAT IT IS NOT BECAUSE OF CARBON DIOXIDE
    THAT I KNOW

WE ALSO KNOW THAT HEAT ENERGY ESCAPES FROM BENEATH THE EARTHS CRUST as is predicted in 2 peter 3.

and dont tell me god, we are away above and beyond that…I AM GLAD THAT YOU ARE way above and beyond that I AM NOT. I BELIEVE IN GOD AND I BELIEVE WHAT HE SAYS IN HIS WORD

you give me something that can relate to reality and what is going on,…re super hurricanes that are nuclear like in dispensing destruction.

ALSO PREDICTED IN MATHEW 24 AND ELSEWHERE AND WE AINT SEE NOTHING YET

I WAITED ON THE LORD AND HE INCLINED UNTO ME
    WHEN IRMA PASSED THEY WERE ABOUT 22 POTENTIAL TORNADOES AROUND SANFORD AS TOLD BY THE MET FOLK
    NONE HIT US NOT A SHINGLE LOST FOR IT IS TRUE THAT
    There hath no temptation OR TESTING taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it. 1CORINTHIANS 10:13

12. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

I cannot scroll back to read every post and I may actually run into poop posted by Vincent (a man that does not know his skin color)

An underlying cause of global warming is the increase of CO2 in the atmosphere

https://scripps.ucsd.edu/programs/keelingcurve/wp-content/plugins/sio-bluemoon/graphs/mlo_full_record.png

13. Bernard,
    You are right: ignorance and lies. How many patents have Barbadians registered since 1966? Can someone please tell me about the post-graduate research in the natural sciences being done at UWI? What is the percentage of UWI undergraduates reading the natural sciences or any STEM subject? How many of our national scholars opt to study the sciences – and of those how many return to Barbados to work/carry out post-graduate studies?
    Who in the blog have children who graduated in computer sciences, natural sciences and law?
    Anonymity allows people to fabricate their CVs and Google and cut and paste that is why we cannot take them at their word.

14. There are just far too many variables to prove anything until after many years of observation—reduce Pollution!

Heat suggests that the Sun–ie solar cycles could be major, Earth’s position relative to the Sun et etc Humans know little about the whole picture

SPOKEN LIKE A GOOD HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT MB

YOU HAVE APPLIED THE “LITTLE” YOU LEARNED IN FANNIE AND BARNETT CLASSES

YOU HAVE APPLIED THE SCIENCE THAT HAS NOT CHANGED BUT THAT WHEN MIXED WITH REASON AND COMMON SENSE SPEAKS VOLUMES

15. MUST HAVE GIVEN HIM AN UNDERSTANDING OF BOTH THE CHEMISTRY OF CARBON DIOXIDE AND ITS MAJOR BIOLOGICAL AND BIOCHEMICAL ROLE IN PHOTOSYNTHESIS…………..WHICH IT SEEMS THAT THE ENVORONMENTALISTS WHO WRITE AND BELIEVE SHITE HAVE FORGOTTEN>

GP, but you agree. I would not question your knowledge, just making the point, that to have photosynthesis, there must be plants and trees? Yes?

Do I need to go further?

16. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

I took you at your word.

17. HAS THE WORLD EVOLVeD SINCE 1974 SUCH THAT THE BASIC CHARACTERISTICS AND REACTIONS OF CARBON DIOXIDE HAVE CHANGED?

Most definitely. Alter the environment of reaction and output changes.

18. Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 1:47 PM #

I cannot scroll back to read every post and I may actually run into poop posted by Vincent (a man that does not know his skin color)

Chuckle…..correct………try again to explain what colour I am,as I am not in the same sphere of brightness as you……help out this poor fellah with your wisdom o Solomon.

19. GP,
    Capt Clarke, never had Fannie. Did U have the Capt?

20. Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 1:47 PM #
    yOUR GRAPH SHOWS ONLY THAT THERE HAS BEEN INCREASED CARBON DIOXIDE CONCENTRATIONS

IT DOES NOT PROVE IN ANY WAY AS YOU POSIT THAT………….An underlying cause of global warming is the increase of CO2 in the atmosphere

CLEARLY YOU NEED OTHER DATA TO COME TO YOUR CONCLUSION

CAN YOU FURNISH THE MISSING DATA
    {spoken humbly and with sarcasm as one who got a scholarship via high school A level exams Sir}

21. @Moneybrain The only Rights is what the Law says and these Mexicans et al are ILLEGALS.>

I made the point re the errant dismissal of the ancestral lands of those tribes. But as for your comment.

‘what the law says’. Ahhh… quite right. For now. Everything is transient. Your paragraph, taken as a whole, concedes that the law can change as to the most current events over time.

The current law is , in the long run, temporary. The status is temporary.

By your admission, possession is the law.

22. Crusoe,
    The US Govt decides who is Legal, who is a resident and who is a citizen. All the excrement spouted on the subject is just that—excrement!

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Hal…ya just jealouse that ya dont know, will never know…and you have none….envy and jealousy kills…

…,why dont you scrool through the student rolls of every ivy league university in 4 countries….wait ah forgot…ya cant….privacy issues.., ya dummy.

Even have those who are entitled to UK ancestry status…ya know why…bet ya don’t.

24. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

This may be a little higher than what you learnt from Fanny or Peppy

http://www.ucsusa.org/global_warming/science_and_impacts/science/CO2-and-global-warming-faq.html#.Wcago8iGNpk

25. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

Let google be your friend… You might learn something… Perhaps you are searching in caps and google is offended..

26. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

WB … GP don’t get me wrong… I like ya (wondering what his response will be 🙂

27. @Hal,
    I dont think the UWI is a research focused university. I am of the impression that their goal is to issue arts degrees. Having said that, my son has a distinction in Computer and Systems Engineering from a Canadian uni.

28. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

Wondering if “reel and come again’ is a mash-up of “Wheel and come again”
    Also wondering if it originated in Jamaica

29. re Capt Clarke, never had Fannie. Did U have the Capt?

off course in 6th form
    here him now THE NEXT BOY THAT TALKS I WILL THROW HIM OUT
    chorus from the back SIR YOU MEAN THROW OUT SEND OUT OR ASK TO GO OUT
    peppy LOOK HERE I USED TO LIFT WEIGHTS
    chorus from the back AND WUH BY DAH

Seriously taught THE AMOUNT OF ORGANIC CHEMISTRY YOU WILL KNOW IS PROPORTIONAL TO THE AMOUNT OF PAPER YOU USE { he of course meant drawing bows and arrows to indicate the shift of electrons involve to cause reactions to occur}

I followed this advice and use it today that is why I can talk with confidence on CO2 reactions her today. So much for scholarships based on high school exams

30. Bajans,
    The expressed aim of the UWI I a graduate in every home. Ha, ha, ha. In the UK, Africans and Asians are over-achieving in the sciences. Caribbeans drift towards law and the social sciences and humanities. It must be a cultural thing.

31. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

🙂 Hehe
    How to win friends and influence people

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I much prefer listen to the EXPERTS on climate change and the reasons, high school science tests in the 60s and 70s is no match for expert knowledge.

33. Money Brain, September 23, 2017 at 2:02 PM #
    Crusoe,
    The US Govt decides who is Legal, who is a resident and who is a citizen. All the excrement spouted on the subject is just that—excrement!>

But by your own admission, that is all transient, history that you have referred, demonstrates such.

Times change. Possession is the law, as you have ably demonstrated above.

Be careful what policy you hang your hat on.

Likely you are inadvertently admitting that the projections of a Spanish speaking USA has the wealthy scared and hence the answer, before they get ‘possession’…and the ‘law’.

The answer being Trump and ‘get them out’.

34. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

What the hell is “Caribbeans”. Jethro you meant Carbines or Caribians or Caribeanians or Pelaus..
    Murdah… Uh gone

35. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

*Caribbeanians

36. Crusoe September 23, 2017 at 1:54 PM #
    HAS THE WORLD EVOLVeD SINCE 1974 SUCH THAT THE BASIC CHARACTERISTICS AND REACTIONS OF CARBON DIOXIDE HAVE CHANGED?

Most definitely. Alter the environment of reaction and output changes

REALLY CRUSOE? I EXPECTED MUCH MORE FROM YOU MAN

please kindly explain how THE BASIC CHARACTERISTICS AND REACTIONS OF CARBON DIOXIDE HAVE CHANGED, Sir. Explain the Chemistry even if you can not produce the bows and arrows here.

With all due respect my old BU friend your statement is absolute bullshit ……….Alter the environment of reaction and output changes.
    HOW? WHY?

37. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

Last comment… MB you have my reparations, yet?

38. Theophilus

Caribbeans.

39. re bajans September 23, 2017 at 2:06 PM #
    @Hal,
    I dont think the UWI is a research focused university. I am of the impression that their goal is to issue arts degrees. Having said that, my son has a distinction in Computer and Systems Engineering from a Canadian uni.

THIS IS CERTAINLY NOT TRUE
    IT IS WELL KNOWN THAT BRASS AT MONA AS FAR BACK AS THE MID FIFTIES DEMONSTRATED THAT THE SENECIO SPECIES {found in seraceE bush] WAS THE CAUSE OF VENO OCCLUSIVE DISEASE OF THE LIVER

BIOCHEMIST AT MONA DISCOVERED THE HYPOGLYCIN IN THE UNOPENED ACKEE
    I CAN GO ON BUT WHY WASTE TIME

WE ARE HAPPY THAT YOU CAN REPORT THAT YOU COULD AFFORD TO SEND YOUR SON TO A CANADIAN UNIVERSITY. THANKS FOR TELLING US SIR

40. Theo,
    Still waiting pun the UK Govt to pay me for Barbadosing my family for the Monmouth Rebellion which was totally justified! Additionally, the reparations for th family sent down in the Coal mines at the age of 8 stark born naked who died by age 25 of black lung disease. When I receive such monies I will be pleased to endorse over to U—3% anyway.

41. Popular Bajan economist Jeremy Stephen gives a first hand account of experiencing a Cat 5 in Dominica.

https://www.facebook.com/jeremy.stephen3/videos/10159301986135361/

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Times change. Possession is the law, as you have ably demonstrated above.

Be careful what policy you hang your hat on.”

That is why they have lost their dominant standing and are being left behind….hanging their hats on one policy fir 240 years……on miseducation from the 50s and 60s….on crap they themselves did not create….. hanging on to dead coattails for 400 years.

They are now weak and vulnerable.

43. Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 2:16 PM #

Where is the photosynthesis to occur if the environment has changed i.e. no more or at the least significantly reduced greenery than existed thirty years ago.

You would agree that nothing occurs in a vacuum?

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Hal….do your children and grandchildren live and work in Barbados…have they returned to contribute to the land of your birth…

You know what they say about glass houses and stones right….as long as ya know.

45. I also had the fortune to be taught for one year by Peppy. Brilliant he was. Though I was merely average, not of you, GP’s, caliber for sure. Then I had the misfortune to be taught by one ignoramus woman. She could not teach a boy to ride a bicycle.

Ignorant cow.

46. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

Mrs Fergusson! Think I had Peppy and Fanny. Mrs Fergusson was biology

47. Theophilus Gazerts September 23, 2017 at 2:03 PM #

This may be a little higher than what you learnt from Fanny or Peppy

lol
    AT PRIMARY SCHOOL I LEARNED 1-2- 3, A B C and doh ray me

at HC I began my journey in CHemistry

at CAVE HILL I mastered BONDING

just as 1-2- 3 is essential to eventually master mathematics

and A B C is foundational to reading and much learning not imbibed empiracally

so too BONDING HELPS YOU TO UNDERSTAND WHAT A CHEMICAL COMPOUND CAN AND WILL NOT DO

It is now fashionable on BU to criticize the Bajan high school of the 60’s but most of the US college students I teach obviously did not what what we now despise.

48. Crusoe September 23, 2017 at 2:28 PM #
    Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 2:16 PM #

Where is the photosynthesis to occur if the environment has changed i.e. no more or at the least significantly reduced greenery than existed thirty years ago. THERE WILL BE PHOTOSYNTHESIS WHEREVER THERE ARE TREES OR LOWER ORGANISMS THAT PHOTOSYNTHESISE

WE KNOW THAT PHOTOSYNTHESIS IS OCCURRING BECAUSE THE BIG ANIMALS THAT REQUIRE PLANT LIFE TO LIVE HAVE NOT BEEN WIPED OFF THE FACE OF THE EARTH……….AFTER ALL IT IS STILL TRUE THAT “ALL FLESH IS GRASS” Isaiah 40:6 and
    1 Peter 1:24

You would agree that nothing occurs in a vacuum? I AGREE WITH YOU ON DAT

49. Crusoe September 23, 2017 at 2:28 PM #

Where is the photosynthesis to occur if the environment has changed i.e. no more or at the least significantly reduced greenery than existed thirty years ago.

Crusoe my friend I agree with you that in some places there is now “no more or at the least significantly reduced greenery than existed thirty years ago.”

I suppose that you are suggesting that there is less photosynthesis in these areas. That can not be denied, This does not mean that increased carbon dioxide concentrations mean increased warmth, because carbon dioxide by itself does not emit heat.

As MB and Vincent correctly posit we need to reduce the chemical reactions that emit heat, whether or not carbon dioxide is simultaneously emitted or not.

50. the statement that ALL FLESH IS GRASS” found in Isaiah 40:6 and 1 Peter 1:24 distills what is found in all MODERN high school science books called THE FOOD CHAIN and the FOOD PYRAMID. These explain that small fish eat some kind of plant material or zooplankton, these are eaten by larger fish up the chain

This happens with small animals that eat grass that are eaten by larger animals. Everything revolves on combining carbon dioxide with water to form organic compounds at both the micro and macro levels

That the carbon dioxide that is emitted here and there is used to cause hurricanes of nuclear proportions is BULLSHIT….and an insult to educated folk engaged in continuing education in their subjects. murdah

Leave a Reply to peterlawrencethompsonCancel reply