Ian Carrington, Director of the NIS

On Sunday, September 3, 2017 the front page of the Sunday Sun carried an item in which the Director of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) is reported to have said that workers took an inordinate amount of sick leave only to find on retirement that their pension payments had taken a hit. He is then quoted as having said:

I always encourage people not to take sick leave unless they are actually sick. It impacts on the amount of pension you will get later.

The following day I called the Nation to ascertain if anybody from NIS had called to correct those statements. Since no one has done so, I cannot sit idly by and allow such dangerous misinformation to go unchallenged. Not only is it incorrect; it is irresponsible and has potential for devastating consequences.

A person who is sick could believe this report and decide that he does not want to jeopardise his pension. As a result, he might go to work while being ill and become a danger to himself, his fellow workmen and the public. Just imagine a situation where the driver of a public service vehicle goes to work when he is sick because he does not want to lose out on part of his pension and crashes with a full load of passengers.

From my experience, having worked at NIS, I make bold as to say that a person’s pension would only be negatively impacted if he/she refused or neglected to submit claims for sickness, maternity or unemployment benefits.

Any person who is ill, for a period Monday to Saturday and submits a sickness claim, would be entitled to receive monetary compensation, in addition to a credited contribution. Credited contributions count towards a person’s pension entitlement, even though no actual money is paid into the NIS fund. Section 57.(1) and (2) of the National Insurance and Social Security (Benefit) Regulations, 1967 state:

57.(1) For every contribution week for the whole of which an insured person

(a) received, or would but for regulation 4(1) have received sickness benefit; or

(b) received maternity benefit; or

(c) received, or would but for regulation 46(1) have received, unemployment benefit

a contribution shall be credited to that person without actual payment thereof.

(2) A credited contribution shall, subject to the provisions of these Regulations, be valid for sickness, maternity, unemployment benefit and invalidity benefit and for old age contributory grant or pension and shall be equal to the value of the average weekly earnings on which the rate of sickness, unemployment or maternity benefit was based.

In order to qualify for an NIS pension, a person must have 500 contributions. If someone refused to submit their sickness claim, in the mistaken belief that his/her pension would be affected, that person would lose out on some money to tide him/her over a period when not in receipt of income. But worse yet, that person could fall short in the number of contributions needed to qualify for a pension, since no credits would be available to make up the shortfall.

Regulation 31of the NIS Benefit Regulations demonstrate why it is vital to submit sickness benefit claims and accumulate your credits. It provides that of the 500 contributions needed to qualify for a pension, only 150 must be actually paid; the remaining 350 could be credited contributions.

Some enlightened employers pay their workers the full salary and take the benefit when it is paid. If workers qualify for credits in these circumstance, both the employer and employee are entitled to a refund of the contributions paid. This appears to be a carefully guarded secret, the refund is not automatic, you must apply for it.

The National Insurance Fund is primarily intended to pay benefits to people who are insured under the NIS scheme. It is not intended to provide budgetary support to the Government. If they cannot manage this economy without relying on NIS funds, they are in the wrong jobs.

117 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – National Insurance Director Misled the Public About Pensions”

1. @ Walter
    This is Bushie!!
    No lotta long talk….. Yes or No.

You done with that stupid idea from Enuff …bout joining wid the Devil and trying to take over Hell..?

In udder words – you fire the shiite DLP dead party yet…?
    …or you waiting your turn for a Range Rover too…?

If the answer is ‘YES’
    Welcome back to reality.

If “No”, then put on an extra pants, of stuff your backside with newspaper like we used to do back at school in the old days… cause de whacker does sting…

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman September 16, 2017 at 10:27 AM

W B, thanks for your intellectually-loaded sarcastic response full of (anal)ogous crap and hypothetical diarrhea . (LOL!!!

But having a sparring partner in a Bob Fitz Simmons like you, one can handle your hidden belly searchers laden with feathers and landing like powder puffs to the solar plexus.

We are already fully seized with the damaging effects of the overwhelming financial strictures which have placed “your” administration in that catch 22 situation caused mainly through the electorate ‘accidentally’ placing a set of square thieving pegs in a round hole of incompetence in the governance of the country’s financial and fiscal affairs; and in particular your professional baby the NIS over which you should have been fully in charge and caring for as repayment for the free education from the same taxpayers (workers) about to be screwed by the long flaccid pricks in stored in a cabinet in their golden years of pending discomfort.

So what are you saying here, Walter?

That the catch 22 situation of having to sell off the same NI contributors’ birthright in the form of State-owned assets in order to feed the already overly obese foreign exchange consuming behemoth called Conspicuous Consumption is already written in stone tablets like the Ten Commandments of ‘Mosaic’ times?

If so, you ought to be like the boy on the burning deck and shout to the top of your intellectual voice that Bajans are indeed looking down the barrel of a smoking gun ready to discharge like an economic time bomb to put that Germanic goddess of war called Hurricane Irma to shame.

3. Bush Tea September 16, 2017 at 11:18 AM #
    “@ Walter
    This is Bushie!!
    No lotta long talk….. Yes or No.
    You done with that stupid idea from Enuff …bout joining wid the Devil and trying to take over Hell..?
    In udder words – you fire the shiite DLP dead party yet…?
    …or you waiting your turn for a Range Rover too…?
    If the answer is ‘YES’
    Welcome back to reality.
    If “No”, then put on an extra pants, of stuff your backside with newspaper like we used to do back at school in the old days… cause de whacker does sting…”

Bush Tea,
    My answer is “yes AND no”. No lotta long talk. Since you are, without dispute, the “King of Barbadian Brassbowls”, it is designed to cause the electrical nodes in your “regal” brain to misfire. I used that trick repeatedly on two of your recent ancestors before they died – King Ja Ja, and King Dyall.

I had the misfortune of meeting two of the most wicked, unrighteous infidels that a human being can ever come across – PieceuhtheCock (The Sheriff), and Watchman (His Deputy). They have been smuggling guns into your kingdom for years. They gave me one and told me it was a PPK. The very first thing I did was to put a PPK bullet, each, in their respective backsides.
    You keep harping about your whacker, and boasting about how your “whacker does sting”. I have no idle boasts to make, but, being your long-standing, trusted friend, I think I should tell you that the PPK does it work compassionately. You feel nothing. It delivers whispering death, Michael Holding style.
    By the way, can you name one person you have ever whacked? Oh Lord, I just heard the sea-cat woman cackle out with laughter.

You really believe that you are the only one who can “mek mock sport”?

4. Walter Blackman September 11, 2017 at 2:40 PM #
    “Millertheanunnaki
    Not surprisingly, I have come back from my foray and found you in the same condition in which I left you – sitting disconsolately on your flaccid anunnaki during the night, and spouting hairy-fairy ejaculatory fluff on BU during the day”

millertheanunnaki September 16, 2017 at 11:20 AM #
    @ Walter Blackman September 16, 2017 at 10:27 AM
    …..about to be screwed by the long flaccid pricks… ….
    Bajans are indeed looking down the barrel of a smoking gun ready to discharge…….

Millertheanunnaki,
    Be careful.
    My words are tearing a delayed reaction from your brain. They are also having other unintended consequences.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman September 16, 2017 at 2:18 PM

My man Wally, why can’t we just cut to chase and call a spade a spade?

You have nothing to lose but your NIS pension.

Why don’t you simply tell Bajans under the age of 60 that their State-pension is in serious jeopardy with their many hopes and expectation of comfort in old age mere pipe dreams of yesteryear?

At least they will thank you for it and prepare themselves for the coming onslaught with the fury and devastation of a financial storm worse than Irma.

If you don’t, you might just find yourself recorded in history as the Brilliant but Frighteningly cowardly lad from Cawmere who refused to work and write on behalf of the masses from whence he sprung but simply bent down to be screwed by his political masters just for an appearance on TV as a point 2 of a man.

At least that might just resurrect Pieces to come out of hibernation with his Walther PPK blazing at an imaginary target of resistance.

6. Some of you may have heard of Edmonton’s Jubilee Auditorium. It is an impressive building, now at least 70 years old, but because it has been maintained properly and used wisely, it looks as good as new.

There are many other examples of the careful use of infrastructure assets in the UK and the US, but not in Barbados. West lndians are not good at building management. They are not good at financial management. They are not good at any type of management. At least, not yet.

So why would anyone think it is a good idea to sell large infrastructure assets to Barbadians or any other West Indians? Much less to “democratically controlled” institutions ultimately subject to the decisions of people lacking in financial sophistication and experience?

The alternative to astute foreign ownership of our big infrastructure is a long period of neo-colonial rule by the abusive, blood-sucking, mostly incompetent foreigners who run the IMF and the World Bank.

Optimize the future value of our physical assets. Put them in the hands of experienced foreigners who know best how to monetize them.

7. millertheanunnaki September 16, 2017 at 3:04 PM #
    “@ Walter Blackman September 16, 2017 at 2:18 PM

,,,,,, you might just find yourself recorded in history as the …….. lad who bent down to be screwed by his political masters just for an appearance on TV as a point 2 of a man.”

millertheanunnaki,
    Oh! Do you watch Walter.2 on CBC (or listen on 100.7 FM) on Sundays from 11 a.m. to 1 pm?
    I have done 10 programs so far. You are a Bajan and you have found nothing to criticize, condemn, or pull me down me for? Wow! That means I am doing something right.
    I can conduct a social experiment by deliberately saying something outrageous or half-true on the programme and I am 100% sure that I would be vilified, hung, drawn, and quartered on BU before I leave the studio.
    Thanks for the unspoken compliment.

PS: You do know that public education can be conducted in many forms, right? But then again, you might be watching or listening to the programme with such resentment and hatred in your heart that your mind has no room for “education”. I can only hope against hope that is not the case.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Chadster…you are frightening, the typical black man who has no confidence in your own abilities to create and manage an empire and feel every other person should be like yaself, low in self esteem and self confidence …….lacking skills and abilities to be successful…dependent on foreign, particularly in your case , white foreign people to control and manage the assets of the majority….

…….as a business person, I would never hire you.

9. @Walter Blackman

Your aim with the PPK got no better, by now your damaged feet are causing wet gangrene to affect some of your body tissues. Remember your advise, and promise to my friend about the watercourse situation in Clarkes Road, St. James. It was before you set yourself up, to fall-off St. Michael East. This watchman realized who you were then, and give you the PPK, perhaps you may realize, that some on BU are spot on, about who Walter Blackman really is, and will attack you,

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman September 16, 2017 at 5:29 PM

Walter B, you can sidestep, dipsy doodle and circumvent the real issue with your bullshit circumlocution as much as you like. Chad’s query still stands as a stumbling block in your tautological way.

If not the impossible high hikes in taxation in the very near future what else is there to deal with the hovering NIS problems?

The questions still remain as follow:

Is the NIS about to go cash broke because the government is using it as its unlimited ATM and alternative money printing press of convenience or it is firing on all cylinders and batting like Sir Garry à la the watery ‘mutterings’ of the MoL?

And if there are serious and major concerns regarding the financial integrity of the Scheme what assurances can you give (from a professional perspective) to deal with those looming challenges other than inexorably increasing the insurable limits and or rates of contributions?

And we don’t want to hear about the Scheme being ‘solid as a rock’ despite its financial reporting challenges as packaged in a tissue of lying gloss by its Chair of Dr. JR’s assurances and patented bullshitery.

CLICO was also described as holding such characteristics and given a clean bill of financial health by the dead King David before its sudden collapse in 2009 even with the Auditors signing off and ‘certifying’ the entity to be one of a reliably solid ‘going concern’ and can be recommended as a long-term investment vehicle to the average Bajan for life assurance and pension annuities.

Chad the 9×5 maverick does have a point which ought to be considered without an air of flippancy unless you subscribe to the dictum that God is a Bajan from Two Mile Hill and resides at Ilaro Court: “Nil desperandum !“Sans Dieu, rien!

11. @Chad99999 September 16, 2017 at 3:07 PM “Some of you may have heard of Edmonton’s Jubilee Auditorium. It is an impressive building, now at least 70 years old, but because it has been maintained properly and used wisely, it looks as good as new. There are many other examples of the careful use of infrastructure assets in the UK and the US, but not in Barbados.”

There are buildings in Barbados which are far, far older than ANYTHING in Edmonton., older than ANYTHING in Canada. Exactly which planet are you living on?

Whose labour, skill and money do you think has maintained the Anglican churches and plantation houses in Barbados for hundreds of years, and through many massive hurricanes? Some of these are more than three hundred years old. The house in which I was born, built by my own father’s hands in 1951 in still occupied and is in excellent shape. It is as good as new. Some of the private and public buildings which he worked on still stand. My own church, a fairly new one just over 100 years old was refurbished just last year. We spent about $100,000 and now it is as good as new. You should pass by some time and see the handiwork of Barbados’ tradesmen. I hired one today to do some maintenance on a 50+ property which I own and which has been continuously occupied for all of that time.

We don’t need rich white foreigners to tell us how to maintain buildings. We simply need to put maintenance money in the budget every year and then hire some of Barbados’ excellent workmen to do the job.

Lest you forget your grandfather and mine (well my step grandfather) and my great uncle worked on building the Panama Canal. That will stands and will be there long after all of us of this blog have returned to the dust from which we came.

12. My elementary school still stands. All of my siblings including those who are 80> were educated there. It is in excellent condition and is in daily use–now as a pre-school–It is a beautiful old fashioned steep double roofed building, with beautifully hand crafted wooden windows and doors. A joy to behold.

Every year put some money in the budget.

Hire good workmen. Do ongoing maintenance. Do not wait until a little problem becomes a big problem.

i don’t know why chad9x5 seems to think that building maintenance is rocket science.

it isn’t.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Chadster is a mirror image of how lazy and self defeating the majority bajan has become, particularly the lazy new negros in parliament who post independence, believes that nothing should be maintained, not the historical buildings, not the economy, not the centuries of artisanship that the population has always been famous for and which built the island…not the cleanliness, nothing, they have become a national disgrace sitting waiting for some fireign white criminal to do something for the island because somehow in their self defeating minds, minority criminals do everything so much better than they themselves could…..that is 2 lost generations with self defeatist mentalities and extremely low self esteem…..

No wonder on a daily basis those whom they see as so much better than themselves and so much better at everything….are rewriting their history for them and filling it with nothing but lies, because they have become so self defeatist in the last 50 years…….idiots.

14. In the 60[s and 70’s there was a public works department, precursor to the MTW, that was very effective at maintaining government properties.

Then it got fancied up and became MTW.

15. Watchman September 16, 2017 at 6:34 PM #
    “@Walter Blackman

Your aim with the PPK got no better, by now your damaged feet are causing wet gangrene to affect some of your body tissues. Remember your advise(sic), and promise to my friend about the watercourse situation in Clarkes Road, St. James. It was before you set yourself up, to fall-off St. Michael East. This watchman realized who you were then, and give you the PPK, perhaps you may realize, that some on BU are spot on, about who Walter Blackman really is, and will attack you,”

Watchman,
    I have a high tolerance level, but since you persist with your ignorance, I am going to stop you in your tracks. Right here. Right now.

After reading the story you wrote on BU about how your neighbour, your parliamentary representative, and MTW had conspired to put you and your property at risk, I boarded a plane at Atlanta and headed for Barbados.

When I arrived in Barbados, I searched for Alden Blackman in the phone book, and eventually gave you a call. You gave me directions to your house. I have lived in Barbados for many years, but that was the first time, I ever left Highway 1 and went up in Clarke’s Road.

Whilst “touring” your property and the surrounding area, I noticed that the efforts of your parliamentary representative and MTW had resulted in a public road being extended as far as possible to allow residents in that section to get vehicular entrance to their homes. From that standpoint, I thought their objective was noble, and their actions reasonable.

When I asked you how you were being affected, and what risks you faced, you then demonstrated to me, in a boastful way, that you had used your own money to safeguard your property. You confessed to me that part of the strategy you used to protect your property had resulted in the channeling of water towards the “poor” people who lived on NHC owned property to the west of you. You then proceeded to tell me, that as a result of your action, these “poor” people no longer “speak” to you.

Similar to your “poor” neighbours, I have not spoken to you after that visit either. I feel a deep pain in my heart for these people whenever Barbados is threatened with heavy and persistent showers. May God continue to shield and protect them during the passage of Maria.

I have no names to call you. I have no condemnatory remarks to heap upon you. All I would say is that we have some Barbadians living among us who deserve to be put in a burning barrel and cast out to sea.

BU readers are not fools. They will easily see who “Walter Blackman really is”, and since I have nothing to gain by telling lies, they will also see who Alden Blackman (aka Watchman) really is. I really hope you are not related to me.

May the Lord have mercy on your soul.

16. Ouch!!!

17. […] my last column about the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), several people, who were having problems with that […]