Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados recently hosted economist Ms Marla Dukharan, who determined that Barbados’ debt to GDP ratio was an insane 168%.  This places us as one of the most indebted nations on the planet.  To put this in perspective, the maximum limit which the IMF warned us not to cross in order to avoid severe austerity was 40%, so we are on the brink of economic ruin.

The main conclusions from Ms Dukharan’s presentation, was that Barbados’ economy has been managed to such a level of extreme incompetence that we have now run out of all good options.  The only options available to us are so horribly bad, that the severe austerity can only be described as, to use her word, “poison”.  Barbadians will soon long for the days when all we had to suck was salt.

She gave a glimpse of the utter misery that awaits us, by noting that the National Insurance Scheme will not likely be in a financial state to help the masses of Barbadians who are expected to swell the ranks of the unemployed.  The previous nine years of austerity have slowly bled most families of their savings.  Therefore, most Barbadians are currently in the most vulnerable situation imaginable.  It is as if we are being set-up for some sort of terrible judgement.

Why did the BLP get us in this unsustainable debt where the only option was severe austerity?  Why did the DLP not take us into the severe austerity nine years ago when the NIS and our savings could have cushioned the worst of it?  Some say that we should not review the past, but focus on the future.  We are focusing on the future; but voters need to understand that the forecasted austerity was entirely unnecessary.

We have reached this point because of the failure of the BLP and DLP to properly manage the national economy.  We all need to be reminded of that fact just in case there is only one Barbadian who is lunatic enough to push Barbados’ economy over the proverbial edge.  He needs to be fully aware of what he will do to our children.  He needs to be entirely without any excuse, because his irresponsible decision will certainly result in weeping, gnashing of teeth, and hunger for many Barbadians.

Marla is partially correct.  Barbadians will suffer the poison of the most severe austerity, but only if they vote for the BLP or the DLP in the next general election.  Their development philosophies are no longer relevant to Barbados’ high-debt economy.  She recommended that we approach the IMF with dispatch and take the inevitable poison.  As the Les Miserables song goes, “Some will fall and some will live” – but how?

Ms Dukharan did not review Solutions Barbados’ plans.  This is most regrettable given her conclusions and recommendations.  Solutions Barbados is the only political party with an economic plan that does not include the forecasted austerity.  It was published for rigorous public scrutiny over two years ago.  Given our precarious economic situation, why would she fail to review the only non-austerity plan on the table before concluding that severe austerity is inevitable?

Mr Charles Herbert, leader of the Barbados Private Sector Association, explained their utter frustration with extremely poorly managed government services, and the lack of urgency in addressing Barbados’ critical management problems.  He made an impassioned plea for better management.

He is aware of Solutions Barbados’ plan to manage Barbados’ public services to the international management standard, ISO 9001.  The moderator, Mr David Ellis, reminded him and the audience that Solutions Barbados had been recommending this management standard for some time.  I reminded Mr Ellis and the audience that I had been recommending this standard to the Government for the past 15 years.  Why complain about poor management, and then fail to mention this obvious and proven solution to poor management in the public sector?

Since every objective analyst has concluded that voting for either the BLP or DLP in the next general election will trigger the most severe and poisonous austerity for us and our children, why would anyone even contemplate voting for either of them in the next general election?

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

72 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Staring Into the Abyss”

1. Bush Tea,
    You are risible (copyright: J. Cumberbatch). Grow up and stop using cheap jokes to cover your ignorance.
    @ de Pedantic The Muff taught at St Giles during my time, but he was not one of my teachers. And yes, I am here to learn even if it is sometimes difficult.

2. @ Hal
    Life is risible (don’t everyone use that word?)… especially brass bowlery.
    …and then you die.

Bushie has no need to cover his ignorance – the whacker does that admirably.
    The proof of that pudding remains in the eating thereof….

@ Dribbler
    What??!!
    Now you are throwing insults at Muff???
    …almost like blaming Jeff for Michael Lashley….

3. Grenville’s strategy is VERY SIMPLE to understand. He knows the Bajans are tired of the DLP. The only traditional choice has been the BLP, so for his so called party to have any possible chance he has to constantly attack the only viable option in Bajan’s minds. That is why he is always on the BLP. Simple political calculation. It will backfire because he is too intellectual, and disconnected from the average bajan who converses in rum shop and mauby politics. Grenville the 3rd is not of that ilk and experience. Too much time in the heights and terraces

4. @ Bajeabroad,

You may be right.

“There seems little doubt that the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) will continue its dominance in the rural constituency of St James North, if history, along with a random Pulse of the People survey by Barbados TODAY, is anything to go by.”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/09/02/hinksons-grip/

5. Very good analysis Baje. However, it is difficult to see ‘from parts unknown’ and ‘weight unknown ‘becoming the default choice.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Lol….Fruendel’s battle cry, haha.

Angela Yardfowl….which one of the yardfowls in the photo is you.

“PM Stuart’s battle cry

LOOP NEWS CREATED : 2 SEPTEMBER 2017 BARBADOS NEWS Prime Minister Freundel Stuart addressing the Opening Gala of the Democratic Labour Party’s 62nd Annual Conference on Friday night.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart addressing the Opening Gala of the Democratic Labour Party’s 62nd Annual Conference on Friday night.

Expect to hear a lot more from Prime Minister Freundel Stuart.

He signalled that he is moving into election mode as he addressed the Opening Gala of the Democratic Labour Party’s 62nd Annual Conference on Friday night at the George Street auditorium.

Stuart said he has been accused of talking too little because he prefers to listen and observe, but, after quoting from Shakespeare’s Henry V, he declared:

“I am hearing the ‘blast of war blow in my ears’ and you will be hearing from me over the next few months as we go towards that historic day.”

And one of the topics he plans to speak on is the current Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley.

“I don’t attack people in politics, I explain them,” Stuart asserted. “The time is going to come not too long from now when I will have the chance to do that explanation.”

“The effects of attacks don’t really last… but explanations last! And somebody has to put him or herself through the trouble to explain the present leader of the Barbados Labour Party to Barbadians and I am going to do it,” he said to loud applause.”

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC ma girl

You had to put this shite up here. Wuh fuh? He thinks he can come with the same shite trick that got he elected last time. Not this time! He got to find a lot more money then he used last time to win the election. This is one Prime Minister that bajans ain’t gine forget. He ass is grass.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol….SSS…Fruendel is convinced he can mamaguy, bamboozle and dazzle bajans wuth his bullshit again while quoting Shakespeare nonsense, both him and his yardfowls them.

9. Let the facts speak for themselves.Barbados in dire straits compliments of Freundel Stuart and nothing he says about Mottley will help him or his party.His record is atrocious and abysmal.He has helped the elite time and again.If you doubt me ask Bjorn Bjerkhamm,Cow,Bizzy,Tempro and Baloney.Who are more elitist than that lot.Mia is not elitist.I don’t see Bjorn,nor Cow,nor Bizzy,nor Tempro,nor Baloney in any rum shop or bar or home buying a drink and gaffing with the low and humble masses.Those fvckrs have no time for working class people.Staurt can insult Bajans all he likes.He is gone with a capital G and good riddance.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I don’t see why Fruendel believes someone will be believe anything he says about Mia, suffuciently to sway an election when it’s him and his government have been so destructive to the economy for 10 years, spewing Shakespeare nonsense cannot help him outta this one…

It’s beyond strange that the yardgowls did not pop up on BU to boast about Fruendel’s rambling Shakespeare filled garbage.

Hopefully if Mia is the one elected…she does not continue that ugly and blighted trend of enriching minorities in the white and indian populations with taxpayers and NIS pensioner’s money, it has gone too far and never benefits the majority population.

Those minority crooks will not have time for the masses whose NIS, NIF money is handed to them freely by two black dummy governments….they are too busy counting their illgotten gains.

1/2 billion dollars owed to NIS/NIF….who were these loans given to besides government dipping their hands to pay bills, I am sure that money was not loaned out to the masses to whom it belongs, definitely not to the poor in the depressed areas…..

…when they all stop giving away the people’s money to the Cow, Bizzy, Bjerkham gang and find better investments for it, there will be a different financial atmosphere on the island.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Wealthy whites continue to commit crimes under the guise of investing in the Caribbean.

“New York Post

Peter Thiel backed ‘unethical’ herpes test on island
    By Chris Perez August 31, 2017 | 10:23pm | Updated
    Peter Thiel backed ‘unethical’ herpes test on island
    Peter Thiel Getty Images
    A US drug company backed by President Trump supporter Peter Thiel secretly conducted human trials for a herpes vaccine on the Caribbean island of St. Kitts — and the local government is now investigating, according to a report.

Thiel, the co-founder of PayPal, is one of several big-name investors who have backed the offshore testing of the experimental herpes inoculation by the company Rational Vaccines, the Daily Beast reported.

A former Hollywood filmmaker, who has not been identified publicly, was also a financial backer — and has claimed that the vaccine was successful during clinical trials, the Daily Beast reported.

The investment group kicked in at least $7 million for the research, and hoped to run tests in Mexico and Australia, according to the report.

The trials reportedly were performed in St. Kitts from April to August 2016 — without approval of the US Food and Drug Administration or the oversight of an institutional review board, also known as an IRB — on a group of 20 people, mostly Americans.

St. Kitts officials told the Daily Beast the tests were conducted without government permission.

“The Ministry of Health states categorically that neither the Cabinet, the Ministry of Health, the office of Chief Medical Officer (CMO) nor the St. Kitts and Nevis Medical Board has ever been approached on this project,” a government press release said Wednesday night.

Agustín Fernández III, co-founder of Rational Vaccines, told the Daily Beast that his partner, William Halford, assured him he informed the St. Kitts government.

But Halford, a tenured professor at Southern Illinois University and lead researcher on the island project, died of cancer in June.

American researchers in recent years have opted to test new drugs abroad to cut costs. FDA rules require them to be monitored by an IRB or international equivalent when experimenting on humans.

Rational Vaccines claims there was little or no risk of the participants being harmed — because they already had herpes.

Still, experts told the Daily Beast that there is almost no chance of the vaccine being approved by the FDA, due to the fact that the company refused to follow American regulations or traditional safety rules.

“You can’t just ignore human-subject protections that have evolved since the end of the Second World War,” said Jonathan Zenilman, chief of Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center’s Infectious Diseases Division.

“What they’re doing is patently unethical,” he added. “There’s a reason why researchers rely on these protections. People can die.”

Thiel’s reps did not respond to Daily Beast requests for comment.”

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ma girl

Mia is a trickster. She has wuhmaton of examples to use in her Prime Ministerial debut to make a good showing for the people of Barbados. But will she. I do not expect this wolf to do any better than Stuart because she got a gravy train shite deep in she that she trying to camouflage with a show of care. You think if she really wanted to do good for the people that she would not have by now address the problems in the Auditor General’ report or not dug deeper into the skulduggery of the Grotto affair by making it even more public that there is a need to give further teeth to the Public Accounts Committee. Mia is a trickster, I tell ya. She will not do one shite to bring these miscreants in the DLP to justice.

GRENVILLE GOT MY VOTE. DOan give a shit what people think about him, he cannot do no worst then what is already done. Not a so so vote from me or any of us girl power groupies for B or D.

13. @ SSS
    Amen.

14. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

SSS….i cant blame you or your buddies, it will split the votes and hopefully force a coalition because bajan people ca no longer stomach Fruendel and his gang…

why you think the Angela Yardfowl is so scarce, their eyes are glued to nakeddeparture to see when, not if, the minister`s names are called in the mess now unfolding re the murder of the UK dude, the accused leader is apparently talking and calling names….Carson Yardfowl must be shitting bricks, cause am sure that murder is not the only topic.

i have serious reservations about Mia and Walcott`s relationship with the likes of the minorities Kutappa-Harris, it is destructive and unhealthy for the majority population on the island and cannot be trusted….

….those political parties, including the new ones need to be broken up into a coalition, none of them are useful to the island in their present forms.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

What murder is this you talking about? DId the DLP yard fowls kill some body?

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol…let’s hope so, we may get to see their tails locked up yet.

Apparently this dude from UK had a questionable business relationship with this local indian dude and for some reason ended up missing and dead in St. George,…

…..but, because of that, so many names are being called in so much mess, dont be surprised if ya hear the yardgowls names get called too…lol it’s that bad….I would be happy to see them all locked up.

Anyway, I saw you on the barbadostoday link, but Fruendel got some nerve though…lol

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC ma girl

So they found the white man who was missing? I ain’t following that story actually, but now I will follow it. Would not be the first time that the high flyers and political heads kill people.

As to that shite we got for a Prime Minister, can you imagine the boldness of this manipulative deceiver? The man has no friggin shame.

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol….SSS, the people will have to deal with Fruendel on election day since his mouth is running nonstop and he got all these things to do that he could not get done before in the last 9 years…

… ..and UK police are watching so he gotta show what goid little negros they are, but what he dont get yet is that this is much bigger than them, because both governments sat their lazy, corrupt tails down for decades and allowed it to get bigger than them.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

hMMM, I hearing you girl. So the idiot decide to wake up before the election to see if you can do what he did not do in 9 years which is basically another show of nothing. What a real shite fuh trute though.

20. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

lol…….Fruendel and Co, can only do what they know.

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Imagine WWC, so many problems in Barbados and all this shite can say is that he is rolling out some serious crime fighting laws shortly so stay tune. He also decided that he will ignore everything happening on the island to tell Barbados that Owen Arthur betrayed the BLP and the people of Barbados when he acknowledged that his successor will be Mia Mottley. The shite said that Arthur forgets the grass roots from which he came because Mottley is from the elitist clan. Can you imagine that. A man that has shown the greatest disrespect for the roots from which he came. Please get rid of this shite once and for all. If the people are stupid to put this cunt back in the office I hope he nails them to the cross. I have no respect, no liking, no trust, no confidence in Fruendel Stuart. Therefore don’t be telling anything about respect for him. I have made that clear.

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Fruendel and his band of clowns gotta go, no two ways about it, the disrespect they have shown for 10 years to the majority population whose votes they now need to reelect them is deplorable. …

…..they do not have enough yardfowls to reelect them…

….they do not have enough shady, crooked, greedy, racist minority business people whom Fruendel and his bribetaking ministers allowed the freedom to wreak havoc on the people on island, giving them contracts and hundreds of millions of the people’s tax money and pensioners money, allowing them the freedom to commit all manner crimes on the island ……to reelect them..

…they need the same majority population they helped disenfranchise and disrespect . ..to have even a prayer of being reelected.

….they are in ducks guts.

Leave a Reply to Bajan Free Party/CUP-PCP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZICancel reply