Submitted by Neil Watchman

The Barbados Community College has managed to gain a meagre two scholarships of the total of 45 scholarships and exhibitions awarded. Not surprising, since the Minister of Education has made it clear by his periodic mouthings, that the Sixth Form School is the way to go.  Of course, the big winner is the Caribbean Examination Council, whose CAPE exams these sixth form students will be preparing.  Good for them and their parents.

In the meantime, the BCC has been limping along, neglected and for evermore under-resourced even in good financial times. Its main asset has been its dedicated teachers who have given beyond the call of duty.   Not the same, though with its senior administration (Principal, Deputy principal and Registrar) which, with a mix of appointees by seniority and political affiliation, has yet to constitute a stable, competent team to handle the running of the institution.  We are told that the College is currently without a principal as Dr. Austin, who was appointed some eighteen months ago, has not sought reappointment.  In other words, folks; the College has gone through two principals in as many years.

In 2016, the institution applied to the Barbados Accreditation Council for registration. We understood that this is the phase that precedes accreditation. Members of the public, I am sure, will be surprised to learn that the BCC is not an accredited tertiary institution; for all its fifty or so years of contributing to the higher education, it has not yet met muster.

Added to this, powers in the Ministry of Education, for various reasons, have always treated the BCC as a second-class academic tertiary institution after UWI.  That is, until now that university fees have increased prohibitively putting the vision of “a graduate in each household” in jeopardy.

We believe that blame for this state of affairs can be laid fairly and squarely on back of the series of lame-duck Principals and Deputy Principals that have been appointed over time; people without any management training to speak; people who simply administered the system but had no vision of where it could and should go.   The last two Boards under Stephen Broome hired a number of top level staff including a Building and Facilities Manager, a Human Resources Manager and a Chief of Security.  As a local visitor to Carifesta, you cannot help but notice the new signage and new toilet facilities.   Kudos to Building and Facilities.

But the governance system has not kept pace with the physical improvements.  Sources indicate that the Human Resources Manager position has turned over twice in the last three to five years, the most recent resignation being effective earlier this month.

Of greater concern is academic governance which is in such a state of affairs, that the Barbados Accreditation Council, we have been told, has granted the institution a one year registration rather than the normal three year period.

We have also learned that several factors contribute to this state of affairs. One of the most crucial, that could go some way in explaining the dismal performance on Barbados Scholarships this year, is the downward adjustment of its grading system.  According to the BCC Student Handbook, which until recently was available online, the institution moved its pass mark from 50% to 45% in 2011. To my mind this is a backward step but one which was evidently okayed by the Board of Management which can hardly be expected to do better, given that it is virtually a one-man affair.

We are also learning that the College has made its provisions for so-called supplemental exams so generous that all a student has to do is earn about 40% to be eligible.  Also, if the student has missed a final examination, he or she can also “do a sup” as the students like to say.  There are no controls over, for example, on whether a student missed an examination for valid reasons, such as illness; once the student finds a sympathetic ear, he or she can find a Tutor or a Senior Tutor and command a supplemental examination.

So, if you are looking for a good reason why the BCC’s performance in the recent scholarships has been so dismal, look no further than the state of their academic governance.

As a tax paying parent and a past student of the BCC, I find it hard believe that it has sunk to this state and apparently is still sinking, if the reports coming out of  the institution are anything to go by.  The impression we get is that academic discipline and student behaviour have been at an all-time low. Reports of drug use and general uncouthness to tutors have also been on the increase over the last year or two.

Perhaps the BCC is ripe for investigation by an independent commission so that tax payers can get some feel for how their ever increasing tax dollar is being spent at this institution. Until the BCC gets its house in order, parents are perhaps better off sending their children to Dr. Browne’s Sixth Form College or one of the increasing number of sixth form schools that our good friend, Mr. Ronald Jones, has set up.

72 responses to “Barbados Community College (BCC) Standards Plummet”

1. @ Thomas Lynley
    …so who do you want Bushie to accuse…?
    Arthur was the only person since Barrow and Tom who have actually accomplished anything…good or bad.
    Had he not funded the nonsense (driven by his CSME madness) it would have died a natural death like the rest of the CSME idiocy.

@ Dribbler
    It is often hard to tell if you are dense ….or just simple.

It is not self-evident that, in a world that has become a little village, … the way to compete successfully would be to aim to be the VERY BEST that there is ….ANYWHERE?
    NOTHING therefore is as critical as the education, preparation and certification of our children.

Only an idiot would see benefits – in such circumstances – or setting up your own parochial examination system, while declaring that you are seeking mass graduates (one per household) as your indication of ‘success’.

LOTTA SHIITE!! …as the current RESULTS attest…!!!

Success would come from HIGH QUALITY….. quality which can even outdo international standards.
    …and it is only by measuring yourself against INTERNATIONAL standards that you can be sure that you are getting (or not getting) quality.
    Shiite man… even school children get that line of thinking.

See how many of them go on to do the US college entrance exams?
    See how the same shiite CXC has been copying the Semester system?
    See how they now have a mock copy of the GPA grading system?

We spend MILLIONS each year to get a ‘poor copy’ of an examination system…. and for what…?

2. Bush Tea

Don’t try to be smart by shifting the goal post. Mentioning Arthur funded the shiite is shiite, and you know it.

Assuming CXC was established in 1980, Arthur became PM 14 years later, in 1994. The council would have already passed through its developmental stages.

Additionally, CXC is not a Barbados thing, its Caribbean, therefore the Caribbean governments and Guyana are all responsible for financing the Council.

And speaking of Guyana, that South American country records an excellent pass rate each year, with students passing 11 or 12 subjects at grade one……
    ……….Unheard of in the other Caricom territories.

3. @ Bush Tea: CXC is vital to our region, if for no other reason than that it is an expression of our independence. That it has made some blunders simply means that there is room for improvement; ditto BCC. I think the techies are ruling CXC. Of course the old computing adage applies: garbage in – garbage out.

4. Bushie, can you do me (maybe the blog too) a favor and stay with the moot sans the self serving ad hominens!

In this case tho I am both dense and simple.

Too dense to understand how “measuring (ourself) against INTERNATIONAL standards” which at a basic level involves things like “the Semester system” and “the GPA grading system” is asserted by you from both sides of your mouth…..in ONE breath.

And in the other breath a full throated condemnation of the very aim to match those and other international educatinal standards by developing our own intensive programs.

Clearly too dense, to be able to decipher that intense logic.

And definitely too simple to appreciate how we can start to exceed those and other current international norms unless we understand them and build our superior systems over them.

I certainly agree that “Success would come from HIGH QUALITY”….but iit appears you perceive that Barbados and Bajans who for generations have sipped their educational guidance from the cups of the Brits, Americans or whomever are now an island onto ourselves as a font of educational knowledge on quality.

How absolutely wonderful !

5. @Simple Simon

Thanks for the research. You have to dig a little further, however. It appears that some accreditation bodies are now looking beyond their own jurisdictions, a move which makes strategic sense. See: https://www.accreditation.ca/corporate-overview. This particular accreditation body is related to health. The QEH in theory could be accredited by this body. While we are talking here about “educational accreditation”, accreditation is a much wider topic.

In relation to education, there is institutional accreditation vs. programme accreditation; they are usually obtained in that order. Conceivably therefore, BCC could have any of its programmes e.g. pharmacy accredited by an appropriate non-Barbadian accrediting body.

The BCC articulation agreements you refer to are clearly not accreditation agreements but are about scholarships. Here is an extract from one that you cited:

BCC has entered into other MOU – the Canada-CARICOM Leadership Scholarship Programme. The institutions involved in this year’s scholarship applications are:
    • Canadore College
    • Lambton College of Applied Arts & Technology
    • Bow Valley College
    • University of Winnipeg

How to apply:
    To apply for this type of scholarship, please note:
    • Applications for scholarships are announced each April
    • The College submits the names of students who have expressed an interest in the scholarships following discussions with the relevant Divisional Heads
    • etc

Somewhere in that memorandum of understanding, but not published, would have to be some agreement on required credits, which credits are linked to the BCC’s grading system. A university or other Community College will first look to see whether grade equivalencies exist e.g. is BCC’s B+ equivalent to their B+. In the case of transfers, it will also ask for course outlines to see whether a course by course exemptions can be granted. Even if BCC were accredited, recipient universities / colleges might still adopt the procedures outlined here.

We’re not trying to dis BCC or be mischievous (you seem to have a preoccupation with this). I could make the same comment about Bus Tea’s attack on CXC but I see it as a technique for provoking discussion (unless he tells us otherwise). On the contrary we are trying to speak to that “room for improvement” you wrote about. The BCC is paid for out of the public purse and therefore, the public ought to have some insight as to what goes on there and have their say on it, if they choose. This is still a democratic country, the last time I checked.

6. @Sunshine Sunny Shine
    With respect to Norma Holder, we should let the dead rest in peace. In relation to your question about accreditation, the Barbados Accreditation Council is the accrediting body we should be concerned about here: https://bac.gov.bb/. The first point to notice is that it is a government agency! This is has come out of a wider CARICOM strategy to infuse quality throughout the region and make goods and services internationally competitive. Please look up CARICOM Regional Organisation for Standards and Quality. I left out the link to speed up posting.

@Hants. The BCC started as a “sixth form college” under the inspiration of Mr. Erskine Sandiford to provide support for students taking overseas Advanced level exams e.g Cambridge A’Level. Somewhere along the line the BCC started offering it own qualifications e.g. Pharmacy, Paralegal etc. Later the Associate Degree was born. Today it offers Bachelor’s Degrees.

My concern has to do with lowering of the pass mark on the grading system of the BCC.

If memory serves me correctly, when the BCC started, its Associated Degree the pass mark was 60% although it was “accepted” that 50% was a pass. This in itself was problematic because it really meant that there were two pass marks! Then it went “officially” you could say, to 50%. Now it is 45%. So was the pass mark too high? Or is it that the quality of the student has become so poor that it needs to be dropped? Both?

It seems that there is also a regime of supplemental exams so that, in effect, there are two sets of exams each semester. Is this more testimony to the fact that student standards are so poor? Bear in mind that, according to the Student Handbook, a student can only get a max grade of C for a supplemental.

I have since been told that the institution recently dismissed students whose GPA fell below 1.50 for two consecutive semesters. Other reports would lead us to believe that some students have been sitting tight for some time with GPA’s below 1.00 e.g. 0.08. Where are the standards here?

7. FI have long thought that something is amiss at the Combermere School other than the current perceived germ warfare.For too many years this institution has produced high quality students who,having left school go on to graduate from myriad universities with flying colours,first class,upper 2nd,masters and doctoral.I posit that the opinion that many,not all of the teachers at the school are cavalier and indifferent in their approach to teaching towards excellence in all things.Leadership is crucial.Political interference is a no-no.Principals must be given unfettered authority to remove square pegs in round holes.There are too many square pegs in round holes at the Combermere School.Send for Major Noott,as it appears since Cammie Tudor did the school a great disservice in 1961 in an apparent rebalancing act for his removal and banishment to Guyana,Combermere has been marking time in its continued failure to reach that measurement of success which results in Barbados Scholarships.

8. @ Thomas
    In Bushie’s opinion, Without Arthur’s input, CXC would have gone the way of the dodo bird.
    Arthur was a do-er.
    …he just had the wrong priorities.

Left to others who just talk shiite, it would have been just like the caribbean court, caribbean free trade, Carifesta, and all the other CSME mis-priorities.

@ Dribbles
    It in NOT possible to dictate to Bushie how to whack…. so forget THAT!!

What our education system needed was VISIONARY leadership to inspire our children to see themselves to be as good as … or BETTER THAN… children anywhere else in the world.

To do this, a VISIONARY government would seek out the MOST ESTABLISHED, MOST RECOGNISED, and MOST EFFICIENT examination system that exists ANYWHERE…. and then focus on preparing OUR children to succeed under such a system.

THAT, boss … is what quality is all about.

A brass bowl, (on the other hand) creates his OWN examination system, small, frail and shoddy as it MUST be initially; He then spends MILLIONS trying to mimic the already established systems; – while tinkering with shiite initiatives to accommodate the POOR educational standards of the students- who have been NEGLECTED in the whole shiite process.

We all see where you fit.

It ONLY makes sense to create our own examination system if it is to be a WORLD CLASS SYSTEM, whose acclaim will reach far and wide – and which will exceed ALREADY ESTABLISHED market players….and which will be cost effective.

Now…
    Whereas Bushie would support investing in creating our own food – despite LOWER import cost for foreign food…
    Whereas Bushie would create our OWN BANKS – even though the Canadians do it better…

The setting of international STANDARDS for our children DEMANDS that we measure against internationally accepted and established benchmarks….

As you would by now expect of brass bowls, we import shiite food; we get rid of local banks in favour of BETTER quality foreign banks; ….. BUT then we spend money which we DON’T have to CREATE a shiite CXC…. to create our own shiite ‘scholars’…. who mainly do squat!!!

Brass bowls are AMAZING people…. if indeed we are people…

9. @Neil Watchman

Interesting interventions so far.

10. @Gabriel

Surely a case study must be on the cards ‘the demise of Combermere’.

11. David, that an interesting thought.

Without being hyperbolic isn’t it fair to say that any such study can mimick the broader societal demise.

I pellucidly recall just in the last decade or two when one enterprising entrepreneur had that series called ‘Old School Ties’ (or similar moniker; memory fades) and the massive appeal Waterford had coming out of that exposure.

But in that same breath of high potential I can simply conflate the crashing sound of deflated hopes with two words: David Thompson.

Yes a bit over blown but the grist for debate is: as goes into the sewer the “moral fortitude” of former scholars like that luminary PM and folks like Mr Harris – who were integrally and almost inextricably linked to their alma mater- so too goes/went the school.

We can blame maladmnistration and all that but that school has always been the sum of its parts and the old scholars were always one very big part…. so we can start and most likely end with the absolute break down and nefarious shenanigans of that group and PTA and the overall moral failures of those who were most prominent.

Truly very unfortunate…. but were there is life there is hope.

12. Combermere has been specially targeted for devaluation – as has Barbados.
    In both cases, it has been successful.

Our old systems worked FOR SPECIFIC REASONS…. Visionary leadership.

Major Noot left like-minded persons in place to succeed him… and to continue his vision.
    Harry Sealy, HD Maynard, Broodhagen, …. and a long list of REALLY special teachers…

Our ‘Ministry of Eddykashun’ introduced a new methodology of shifting principals and teachers around like pawns in some silly game – which obviously kills any such legacy learnings and any historical commitments to an institution.

To “solve a problem at Alexandra’s”, for example, the idiot ministry moved teachers from AX to other schools- that had no such problem ….and vice versa.

Now what do we have….?
    Same problems – different schools.

Great vision ain’t it??…. we did the same shiite with our politics…. changed from visionary types like Crawford to shiite lawyers, shiite talkers and stink liars……

BTW…. did the Satan monument now at the Garrison not originate out of Cawmere?

13. A number of years ago, it was felt that students at BCC could win a scholarship more easily at BCC for a number of reasons. Due to subsequent a change in the grading of courses and the criteria of awarding scholarships a couple years back at this institution, BCC hasnt had much scholarship nor exhibition winners since that change. Didnt the author of this story realise that?

14. @David. Patience my lad, patience. LOL

15. Standard & Moore Avatar
    Standard & Moore

@Kevin. ‘parently not….if you think he really talking ‘bout scholarships! But I got some questions for Neil Watchman.

@NW. You like you knocking two tings… downgrade of dey pass mark and dey sups or what evah duh call dem at BCC. Tell me if we getting it right: duh lower the pass mark and then giving sups willy nilly, too? Wuh is dey conditions fuh a sup? People does get sups at UWI, too? At overseas colleges and universities? If students in performing at BCC, yuh mean duh in got nuh provision fuh sending duh home?

Fuhget scholarships! You feel it bad enuff at BCC fuh Standard & More to downgrade dey Associate Degree to a Q rating?

16. barbados-community-college

Prospective BCC students reminded to submit qualifications

THE BARBADOS COMMUNITY COLLEGE has advised persons who have applied for entry to the College for this Academic Year, 2017 to 2018 and who have not submitted their qualifications, to do so not later than September 1. Convocation for all new students will take place on Thursday, August 31 at 5 p.m. at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference… Read More

17. @Standard & Moore. “Tell me if we getting it right: duh lower the pass mark and then giving sups willy nilly, too?”

That is what I am saying.

“Wuh is dey conditions fuh a sup?”

Simply 40 but less than 45%. From what I gather, it does not matter if you did all of your course work or showed interest in the course etc.

“People does get sups at UWI, too?”

UWI, like most universities make provisions for an aegrotat degree. It is one awarded if the candidate was unable to attend (usually a final year exam) because of illness. (See https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/aegrotat). UWI also has provision for an oral exam. I know because I was involved in administering one there years ago.

“At overseas colleges and universities?”

I have checked the following universities and colleges so far: Western College, Keyano College, McGill, Concordia University, and they all make provision for a supplemental. However, almost without exception, they spell out conditions and treat it as a serious matter. In some cases students have to pay $40 US plus and in at least one case, the medicals submitted by students are scrutinized by the university’s doctor. I have not submitted the links here because that would cause this post to be treated a spam (See BU Comments Policy)

“If students in performing at BCC, yuh mean duh in got nuh provision fuh sending duh home?”

Oh no! there is. It is in the Student Handbook. If the student gets a GPA of less than 1.50 for two consecutive semesters he or she is dismissed. I understand that only this semester some students were dismissed but if rumours are anything to go by, some of those dismissed were called back to do a supplemental. It would be interesting to get confirmation of this.

“You feel it bad enuff at BCC fuh Standard & More to downgrade dey Associate Degree to a Q rating?”

Depends on what your Q is for. Don’t get me wrong. There is good stuff going on at BCC but it appears that there some elements there, either out of ignorance or sheer stupidity, who do not understand the importance of making students work for their degree.

Frustrated tutors often complain too many students do not buy textbooks or read anything given to them. It seems as though there are some elements in BCC who do not understand that earning a maximum of a C for a supplemental does not do the student as much good overall as repeating a course and possibly getting an A+.

18. On 25th August @ 6:03 David posted in this thread, a report by Cara Foster titled: CXC not in business of failing students.

In that report Mr Cleveland Sam of CXC is quoted as saying “There’s a Paper 1, which is a multiple choice, a Paper 2, which is the structured, answered questions and the SBAs [School-Based Assessments]. If the SBA component of the examination has not been received by CXC, then the student is given ‘ungraded’,”

On page 4 of today’s edition of Barbados Today, Mr Ronald Jones, Minister of Education, is reported to be saying that the case of ungraded results had nothing to do with SBAs!!

Well what did cause CXC to issue ungraded results and other spurious results?

Like much else in Barbados, the standards and reliability of our once excellent education system is slipping. However what is really disturbing is that the citizens are apathetic and unconcerned.

19. @ Ping Pong
    Like much else in Barbados, the standards and reliability of our once excellent education system is slipping. However what is really disturbing is that the citizens are apathetic and unconcerned.
    Why is that disturbing Boss…?
    Here was Bushie thinking that you understood the concept of brass bowlery….

BTW
    Our education was NEVER ‘excellent’.
    It was once ‘on the right track…’

The citizens are ‘apathetic and unconcerned’ because (like brass bowls) they ‘know not that they know not…”
    ….somewhat like a sheep being taken to market….
    As far as he knows (…or cares) it is just another walk to another pasture….

What is really, REALLY disturbing …is that we can have someone so reprehensible, undignified, ‘brawlish’, and uncouth for a ‘minister of eddykashun’…..

Shiite man!!!
    Even a sheep would drive two butts in the donkey of such an oaf….
    But BBBBs are special…

LOL…
    So the cell phones in school are off again…?
    If these morons cannot decide and execute such minor issues, how can they solve crime…?

20. Bush Tea

Maybe it is as described in 2 Timothy3:1-4.

21. So now the SBAS are corrected!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100149/sbas-corrected

“When CXC results were released on August 18, entire classes from Combermere, The St Michael, Grantley Adams Memorial and Springer Memorial Schools were left bewildered when they received an ungraded score for their school-based assessments (SBAs).

“Where we have been given the evidence of the SBAs, those have been marked and the students would have received updated pre-slips through the local registrar,” CXC spokesman Cleveland Sam told the WEEKEND NATION yesterday.

Sam said the marking would have occurred in recent days but shed no further light on the matter.”

I am left to speculate that if no intervention was made by the Ministry then those students would have been left with ungraded results.

Yet all those in charge at CXC will continue along merrily! Will the Ministry of Education strongly request an investigation of CXC and in particular of the online marking process? Will the Ministry stop be so subservient to CXC and assert its status as the agent of the owners of CXC i.e. the people of the Caribbean Community?

Before Bush Tea chimes in, or are we all really brassbowls?

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply