Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

From my experience in working among people in post-hazard environments, I can conclude that a stable house is the most prized possession. I have witnessed the grateful expressions of relief among those whose houses survived the tragic events.  The contrasting near hopeless expressions of misery among those whose houses were destroyed were almost unbearable.

It was after my first deployment to Haiti after the 2010 earthquake, that I finally understood that the primary purpose of an elected Government is to protect, as much as possible, the residents from foreseeable harm. It is for this reason why it is absolutely essential for each Government in the hazard prone Caribbean region to regulate the residential construction building industry in their country.

The Government of Barbados took the first step in trying to protect the public from certain post-hazard misery by publishing the Barbados National Building Code in 1993. That was a commendable achievement because at that time, Barbados was experiencing an economic recession and political turmoil. Fortuitously, the national building standard was in place for the unprecedented building boom that would commence one year later, in 1994.

It is a national disgrace that the Government of Barbados, against all expert advice, allowed an entirely unregulated 14-year residential construction building boom with respect to building standards. Of the thousands of houses built, almost all of them are vulnerable to collapse in a major earthquake. It is to Barbados’ tragic misfortune that it would not have cost any additional money to have constructed the life-saving shear walls that the Building Code specified.

By 2010, the legacy of substandard residential construction was firmly established in Barbados. At the start of that year, an earthquake in Haiti had reportedly killed approximately 300,000 people. Near the end of that year, tropical storm Tomas examined Barbados and damaged over 1,500 houses. Following the visit to same damaged houses, our Prime Minister reportedly made the following accurate observation: “I have to confess that I was flabbergasted at the fragility of the housing accommodation in Barbados.” He then reportedly recommended that it was “absolutely necessary to impose building standards in Barbados”, before adding the bewildering idea that a building code was “actively under consideration”.  With such ministerial statements, a strong response was eagerly anticipated.

Approximately two years later, around the 20th anniversary of the initial publication of the National Building Code, the Government of Barbados took the strongest possible action unimaginable. Against expert advice, the Government abolished the only national standard designed to help builders construct a house that could survive earthquakes and hurricanes.

This act of utter stupidity placed Barbados in the unenviable position of being perhaps the only country on the planet that did not provide some type of structural building guidance to its residents. Even in the poorest country in the world, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, a homeowner could have found more relevant building standards than in Barbados. It is a national shame to which our apathy only encourages our Government to act more irresponsibly.

It simply does not make any sense – neither logical nor political.  Both political administrations participated in the folly.  Why would the BLP administration allow a 14-year unregulated building boom, despite repeated warnings of the fatal consequences?  Why would the DLP administration, despite acknowledging the fragility of Barbadian houses, then withdraw the only national building standard that could protect Barbadian households, despite repeated warnings of the fatal consequences? Should Barbados experience the inevitable major earthquake tomorrow, then these two actions, in retrospect, would be justifiably deemed unforgivable.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

80 responses to “Building High-maintenance Tombs”

1. Warren Buffett’s Berkshire Hathaway Inc., said late Wednesday evening it had agreed to indirectly acquire up to $400 million of the Toronto-based company’s common shares in two private placements — giving it a 38.39 per cent equity stake, at a steep discount — and provide a new $2 billion line of credit to its subsidiary, Home Trust.

The deal with Berkshire, through its wholly-owned subsidiary Columbia Insurance Company, gives the alternative mortgage lender a much-needed cheaper funding arrangement. It also serves a major endorsement as Home Capital recently faced eroding market confidence and a partial run on its funding amid allegations of misleading disclosure

2. 45 Barbados Scholarships / Exhibitions winners.

How many will be studying ” New technology disciplines” ?

3. Government could also give scholarships in Industrial Design.

https://appliedtechnology.humber.ca/programs/bachelor-of-industrial-design.html

4. @Hants

A good question, so far it seems many of the traditional disciplines are being pursued.

5. Hants,

Most of them will join the brain drain. Our taxpayers are educating doctors and others in Europe and North America.
    Since the 1920s we have been misusing these public funds without a proper audit. How about looking at the social background of the recipients?

6. That whole ‘scholaship’ thing is a lotta ‘bullarky’.
    What a waste of time and resources.

A basic review of its history would show that the products of these ‘scholarships’ have mostly been wasted assets…. while CRITICAL societal roles remain unfilled, and semi-literate foreigners are imported to fill others….

But there is a type of people who keep doing the very same shiite …while expecting different results….

7. Lawson,
    Be careful. Harlequin owner is facing charges of alleged fraud in London and still the Barbados authorities (and media) have not carried out any serious investigation of his activities. Think Clico.
    This is typical. It is like reading a badly written academic paper on Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

8. Hal Austin August 24, 2017 at 12:40 PM #
    Hants,
    Most of them will join the brain drain.

If they have any basic sense they will. Any young person with education / skills should run like hell and as far away as possible.

To settle for working in an environment where corruption is rewarded, ‘knowing a man’ comes before skill and job opportunities or opportunities to set up your own thing are confounded by ‘people who are connected’, banks loathe to loan money unless you have two acres as security, certain jobs go to certain people only, who the heck would want to invest their productive lives?

I made that mistake, only good thing to come out of it was my family, would tell anyone young and educated to run like hell.

Seriously.

9. Hal you may not believe this but when fanny mae and freddy mac crashed I bought a few thousand shares on a whim and sold them a day later and tripled my money, then about a year later a bankruptsy trustee sent me a letter wanting the money back for some reason. I ripped the letter up and never heard about it again what a laugh.

10. Lawson,
    I remember the crash well. In fact, I gave a talk at the Barbados high commission dissecting the nonsense about sub-prime as the cause of the collapse. As I have said, the business model was all wrong.
    We now have a situation in the UK in which none of the bankers has been jailed, one lost his knighthood, and we are back to where we were with the million-pound bonuses being paid out.
    Do you now that you do not have to have any qualifications to be a senior executive of a bank in the UK, ten years after the crisis? What is the situation in Canada?

11. Hal I have come to realize that most of us will feed on the crumbs that are left us unless we marry into the upper crust or somehow become indispensable to them. So when I see the old fellas at the rum shop enjoying their last days I think why am I trying to get ahead because in the grand scheme of things working hard means dick my joke that bt liked just about sums it up.

12. @Artax August 22, 2017 at 8:41 AM “Denis Kellman: August 19 at 7:10am • Two years after the BLP left government Tomas damaged about 300 houses in St Lucy, nine years after the DLP was in government the people of St Lucy felt the most of Harvey without any damage.”

My St. Lucy friends tell me that there was little rain and little wind in St. Lucy during Harvey.

There was heavy rain in the uplands areas such as Orange Hill and the Whim which led to beach erosion on the west coast and flooding in Speightstown, but little rain in St. Lucy so I don’t know what the Minister is talking about.

Moreover the hurricane season is not over yet.

13. @Hal Austin August 22, 2017 at 2:12 PM “We do not need flyovers on an island 166 sq miles. We need one car per household and better public transport.”

I agree.

And more and better sidewalks for people like me who do not worship the internal combustion engine.

And maybe–for dreamers like me—bikelanes?

14. @Bush Tea August 23, 2017 at 7:03 AM “Parris IS a crook. A big nasty, uncouth, albino-centric, widow-robbing, low-life crook.”

But, but, but, our Prime Minister Freundel Jerome Stuart said of Leroy Parris “the man is not a leper, he is my friend.”

So my question to you BT is how can you say that the Prime Minister’s friend is “a crook. A big nasty, uncouth, albino-centric, widow-robbing, low-life crook.”

15. Lawson,
    You must remember that most of the pensioners on BU are people living out their last days who reflect on lives that could have been. They got jobs in the public sector, for 30 or 40 years, get enough of a pension to survive, and are angry and bitter that people they have convinced themselves they are cleverer than have, in the material sense, accumulated more than they.
    As a little boy I saw them getting paid (in those days on Fridays), come straight to the rum shop and drink and gamble until all their money had gone; then they would go home and beat up their partners.
    Instead, this generation of bitter, deadbeat pensioners come on BU, hide behind nom de plumes, and let their spite out on each other, encouraged by the bandmaster, that is why the music is out of tune.
    But sometimes ignorance can be bliss. Just think of calling Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac secondary mortgage markets. Or not understanding where the blame lies for not prosecuting Mr Parris for regulatory infringements, while blaming political interference; or blaming the boys on the block for the crime epidemic, white not even having any sense of so-called white collar crime; or how to sort out the vandalism on the rods in which every day there is a road traffic accident, quite often ending with serious injuries or even death.
    Look at Harlequin et al, the way the Mutual was taken from them, or at the financial institutions (including Clico and BNB/Republic) which lend people money to buy shares. A scandalous in any other society. It is not that politicians, the media and the commentariat take their eyes off the ball, they just do not even recognise the ball.
    @Lawson, a rum, or for the better off, a whisky, is a source of comfort. Plse send a few loonies to pay the bill, keep them happy.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Been waiting, but obviously it is unimportant, that Marla Dukharan left RBC for Bitt. I thought it stunning. I do not claim understanding, but the younger brainiacs keep telling me Block Chain is the future.

17. NorthernObserver

Block Chain is a fleeting obsession of many younger people.

However, let’s get back to basics.

Any thing which is used for money but has no intrinsic value cannot last long. Some people say they are immoral.

And as much as we have encouraged alternative currencies to dethrone the hegemony of the US dollar, in the final analysis, real money will win.

Currency based in gold, silver and other popularly traded commodities.

18. @ Grenville

Regional Code of Practice for the Construction of Houses
    Duration: 1 Semester
    Certificate Issued: Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic Unit Certificate

Programme Description:

The course is designed to provide information to residential construction foremen and construction workers in order to allow them to correctly practice and supervise construction and select construction materials and to employ prescribed construction methods to construct homes in the Caribbean that are less vulnerable to natural hazards. The course comprises both classroom and on-site instruction and is designed to be highly interactive in nature.

http://sjpp.edu.bb/?page_id=403

19. Lol Hal as if barbados needs more loonies,

20. @ Crusoe
    ..only good thing to come out of it was my family,
    Name anything better.

@ Lawson
    my joke that bt liked just about sums it up.
    Bushie likes almost all your jokes…. you are talented…. and witty.
    Knock a bit of that albino-centricity out of your donkey ..and you could be a proper bird… 🙂

@ Simple S
    So my question to you BT is how can you say that the Prime Minister’s friend is “a crook. A big nasty, uncouth, albino-centric, widow-robbing, low-life crook.”
    Yuh want Bushie to say it another way…?
    Birds of a feather…. !!

21. Lawson,

That is unfair. Are you suggesting they are all on BU? There is one man/woman/thing that amuses with his/her/its constant bombarding with abuse and accusations. It is amazing.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    today we associate block chain with crypto-currencies. However, I am told this scratches the surface of its abilities, which actually lie elsewhere.

23. Isn’t a Pacha a big supporter of crypto currency? Isn’t there a strong lobby for central banks to allocate part of its monetary base to crypto? The world is changing, the fact Marla has made such a move is instructive.

24. What your govt is going to get away from the klepto-currency thing they have going now.

25. “The world is changing, the fact Marla has made such a move is instructive.”

Not really. It simply means she made a career move, presumably in her best interests.

When governments begin to shift to crypto currency en masse understand that “… when you see all these things, you know that it is near, right at the door”

26. @David, what is really instructive to me is the ‘crazy’ evolution of this crypto-currency which I personally find it a scary concept – workable of course – but still scary.

At a time when cyber-terrorism is absolutely transforming and badly affecting our interface to digital data it’s not reassuring – yet – that we are moving to digital currencies, computer driven cars and so on.

Indeed it’s the Jetson way of the future and whether we like it or not, so shall it be…. but it’s still scary.

Oh, and to the point heralded by @Hal that it’s the sophisticates (and lax regulation) that cause most of the problems in the financial markets, I do hope folks pay attention to the wild gyrations of the crypto-currency valuations which have made a few people absolutely wealthy.

As usual the mortar is chock-a-full with a lot more than that the lil pestle…oh gee, conflating the Jetsons and a mortar & pestle is incongruous… but so too should be this ‘digitizing’ of eva-ting !

27. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I wonder why Grenville Phillips II hasn’t yet responded to the important technical questions raised by two posters in this blog, especially the one about fixed massive foundations?

28. This would be a good time to discuss building codes and hurricane resistant house construction.

29. @ Grenville Phillips II,

We await your “policy” on revised building codes re hurricane resistant house construction in Barbados.

30. @Hants

Grenville will probably comment that there is a building code that is NOT being enforced.

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply