Less than a week after the contentious meeting of the Social Partnership depending on which side of the issue you are located three positions to be drawn:-

1. Prime Minster Freundel Stuart neutered the two other members of the social partnership,i.e. the four largest trade unions (BWU,BUT,NUPW and BSTU) and the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) by not yielding from government’s stated  position to implement a 10% National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL). He also demonstrated CONTROL of the partnership as Chairman of the Social Partnership by issuing a directive to televise the meeting.
  2. The four unions won the day because they forced the prime minster to move from a hard position when he agreed to reschedule the meeting by one week. At the meeting the Unions were able to restate outstanding positions making the NSRL a priority issue. The BPSA shared the Union’s position on NSRL wit the added grievance that more dialogue between members of the partnership.
  3. Independent members of the public remain disappointed the touted Social Partnership could have allowed the relationship to breakdown to the point where the country- gripped in a protracted state of economic fatigue- had to suffer a loss of productivity hours as a result of the elevated state of the industrial  climate.

BU’s position can be found in the number 3 position. Without directly casting blame on any stakeholder the Social Partnership failed to deliver on one of its mandates to create a forum for its three stakeholders of labour, private sector and government to dialogue and reconcile issues in the national interest. The Social Partnership failed to prevent the spectacle the world had to witness last week at the Hilton hotel. It is clear the Social Partnership will NOT be effective in carrying out its mandate while Prime Minister Stuart and the incumbent Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is in office. This was confirmed by the post meeting statements by Herbert, Moore and McDowall.

It is depressing to the BU household and a cadre of Barbadians who have to suffer through a period in our history that is characterized by transactional leadership from all spheres of our society. Instead of witnessing leaders  in our midst who are working to inspire Barbadians to be the best we can be by transforming the economy to one that is globally competitive, reviewing and modifying our governance framework to promote the best ethical behaviour, instead we remain locked on a path that will lead to our inevitable destruction. And it did not begin under this DLP government which makes the political rhetoric we have to endure daily in traditional and social media fora moot. Why are we still dumping garbage at Mangrove and covering with a caterpillar? Why have we not been able to implement a waste to energy system that is relevant to a SIDs? Why have we not established sports and cultural programs to nurture and explode the talent and aspirations of our people -especially the youth? Why the hell have we not been able to leverage the billions invested in education to create new opportunities to create employment for our people and in the process add more interesting elements to the Bajan brand? A rebrand that will encourage breast swelling pride by young and old to be a Bajan? Instead we have surrendered what is possible for our nation to a narrow and limited number of people –the political class.

Prime Minister Stuart you were successful in neutering the Social Partnership. Are you able though to infuse ALL Barbadians- especially Blacks-  with the confidence necessary to become owners of  capital? We say Blacks unapologetically because for the most part Blacks in our country depend on minority and foreign owned businesses to put food on the table and pay the mortgage. Your party the DLP like the BLP depend on financing from minority businesses to win political office.   Until the day comes when Blacks in Barbados are able to influence major decisions because they control capital we are no better off than how the ‘free slaves’ had to exist during the Apprenticeship Period  of 1834.

168 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart Slays the Social Partnership and the LOSER is…”

1. @Fractured BLP August 16, 2017 at 5:22 PM “All hail to King Stuart.”

I will remember these words when I go to the polling booth.

One day coming soon, the faux king will be dethroned.

2. Caswell first check yuhself before joining the losing team and calling the PM a liar bozie, What would any one expect from the losers who hand nothing substantive to show or offer their members after mine hours of political grandstanding The two bobble heads Anakani and Moore showed barbadians how to perform in an atmosphere of illogical absurdity
    The govt made them an offer wherby the whole of barbados would pay their membership (govt employees )wages of a increase of ten percent which gives them an advantage to a higher increase of wages , these two bobble heads turns down the offerb with a resounding NO for a five percent decrease making it a decrease of a lesser portions when applied to public servants wages makes me wonder if the two of these clowns went to school at the stan pipe because by any one calculation these two bobble heads are clearly the Wizards of ODDS

3. The Arthur government was far from perfect, but it tried in many ways to enfranchise black Bajans. They got cussed for trying to promote and enhance the “artisanal class” by our very own black people who ignorantly queried whether someone that couldn’t hold a saw could be a contractor. Can Maloney hold one? Many also wasted the opportunity, they either produced shoddy work or spent the mobilisation money; or took the small business loan and licked it out. Thompson and co have a lot to pay for.

4. One day coming soon, the faux king will be dethroned………….well said Simple!

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Frustrated Businessman

I agree that the “evidence lies all around us that the problem is cultural.”

However it is not a problem it is many cultural problems mostly rooted in our racist plantation history:
    * it’s a cultural problem that the corruption of the construction industry (both the bribers and the bribed) distorts the entire economy,
    * it’s a cultural problem that Barbados is a racist society with White supremacist ideology still deeply entrenched
    * it’s a cultural problem that Barbados is a sexist society
    * it’s a cultural problem that Bajans are over-reliant on their government to accomplish social and economic development
    * it’s a cultural problem that our educational system simply aims at producing compliant and docile employees when that isn’t what our economy and society require
    *it’s a cultural problem that the churches are mostly retrograde and irrelevant institutions promoting “pie in the sky when you die”

I could go on and on but you get the idea… the cultural problems are not all owned by a single segment of our society.

6. @ PLT
    Why reinvent Bushie’s wheel?
    Barbados’ problem is “brass bowlery” at large….

We get it…

7. Bushie when you gine dig up de pitch fork at de Garrison or you waiting for a natural event like a quake or hurricane.

8. You yard fowls on BU gloating that Fumble is king. The unions are responsible and are going to let the Carifesta go ahead. I believe it is after that Fumble will be begging for mercy.

Watch and see.

9. ” At present model guidance is suggesting some slow development is possible over the next few days as it tracks
    westward at 17 to 23 mph.
    Regardless of development, some moderate to heavy showers, periods of rain, scattered thunderstorms and
    occasional gusty winds are likely to spread across Barbados by tomorrow afternoon into early Friday.
    Rainfall accumulations of one to two inches (25 – 50mm) are possible with the passage of the system.

Due to the already saturated nature of the soils a Flood-Watch/Warning may be required at short notice.”

10. Prodigal Son August 16, 2017 at 9:31 PM #
    “You yard fowls on BU gloating that Fumble is king.”

Don’t they mean Queen?

11. @ Hants
    Bushie when you gine dig up de pitch fork at de Garrison or you waiting for a natural event like a quake or hurricane.
    Not stinking Bushie bozie….
    ..the bushman keeps far from bout there…
    It is like a gateway for the spirits out of Hell coming up through the pitchfork…..

So wait… has NO ONE done the assessment of the Barbados situation since Dec 1 2016 yet…?

Keep wunna heads buried in the sand…

12. I realise that all the commenters including David failed to to sensitive the public why Mr.
    Cedric Murrell of CTUSAB was invited to the Social Partnership meeting. Can anyone define which union was represented by CTUSAB. AS we all know, the BWU pull out from the group, the NUPW is speaking for themselves, Caswell, are you being represented by that umbrella grouping?.
    Toni Moore was eloquent in her deliberation representing the powerful BWU, Akanni McDowall and Roslyn Smith didn’t minced words representing the NUPW. So tell me who Mr. Murrell represented at the talks or maybe, he was the buffer between the Unions and Government.

Next time, it would be better to leave out that “FAKE” Union body since the BWU and NUPW are smart enough to represent themselves. I am Outta here!!!!!!!

13. Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/08/16/were-corrupt/

Hal Austin
    August 16, 2016 at 2:24 am

This is a very serious allegation from a senior politician and public servant. There must be an independent judicial inquiry to investigate this.
    Sadly, it is also the public perception of Barbados and Barbadian politicians and officials. Partly it is enormous ignorance and partly, as Sir David has said, corruption.

Crooks Liars and Scumbags

14. “the bushman keeps far from bout there”

so that you will not be lead into temptation and have to be delivered from evil. lol

15. @Tell me why

You could have added that Suckoo chairs the social partnership sub committee and her office always fails to resolve serious labour disputes. What about Abed against the march as head of the BCCI yet was at the meeting calling for urgent dialogue frequent meetings? The point is the Social Partnership appears to be a philosophical absurdity.

16. Bajan Free Party,
    It appears you are referring to something allegedly written by me on Barbados Today. Sometime ago I was blocked from Barbados Today and I no longer even read it. So it appears as if that comment was re-directed from another site or is a fabrication.
    But to clarify matters, I believe in the rule of law, in due process, and that allegations do not mean guilt, even if serious allegations must be investigated..

17. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Vincent, all else being equal, Barbados is a relatively nicer place to live and do business than most of the off-shore business territories we compete against.

What has chased Canadian business away from Bim over the past 8 years was not the fact than the market opened to free and fair competition, it is that getting businesses registered, work permits, residency issues etc. resolved is so damned difficult in this bureaucratic quicksand that it was just EASIER to go somewhere else.

And that, of course, is the beauty of the free market system. We can vote with our chequebook.

Lack of FACILITATION.

18. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

WHY WE NEED TO CONFRONT RACISM

Social institutions are critical elements of a model for sustainable growth. Consequently, a slow growth record is partly the result of anti-growth institutions. George Beckford have since the 1960s argued that the slow and modest growth record that defines the Caribbean experience is the result of a social environment consistent with a relatively long period of foreign domination.

Today Barbados is facing an economic situation that we seem not to be able to escape despite the slew of ‘tough measures’ and ‘tightening of the belts’ that has characterised our economic policy for the last seven years. Arguably our economic vulnerability is inevitable, given our position as a very small open economy with few natural resources.

I think we all know our history, tight? But just to ensure we are on the same page: Barbados is a former slave society, we produced and sold sugar. We did it very efficiently and (for England’s benefit) quite profitably. That is what we produced and we imported almost everything else we needed. Our relationship with the international market has always been one where we were more or less an adjunct to England and foreigners negotiated on our behalf. Therefore it cannot be remarkable that after independence we were susceptible to large international conglomerates and other foreign actors.

Inside of Barbados, we had the horrible ‘plantation system’ which spawned unique political, social, and economic relationships that continue to shape our society to this day. It was simple: White people dominated, and black people were dominated. The white minority used it’s superior economic power to compel black people to abide by white rules, white norms, and white ideas about the structure of society. The main goal of the whites was institutionalise their dominance and to accumulate wealth. They were uninterested in endogenic development. And so it persists to this day.

Thus we have the confluence of plantation slavery, colonialism, and continued foreign domination of economies in the post-colonial era that have together produced the ‘perfect storm’ for weak growth and stunted the potential development of a creative economy characterised by internal dynamism.

It is my position that Barbados cannot develop much further without a serious re-evaluation of the way our society is structured and our national goals and aspirations. Since systemic racism provides the enabling infrastructure for our society and economy it is critical that we examine and dismantle racism if we are to achieve any tangible development.

We need to rebuild our society from the ground up. It will take a national effort, it will make the dominant white class uncomfortable, and it will require them to cede some of their economic power to the black people on whose backs it was founded. But hey… you can’t make an omelette without breaking a few eggs, and certainly it is unreasonable and unfair that only white people ever get omelette. Isn’t it?

RAQUEL GILKES

19. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

I agree Carson. It is endemic racism that has killed our agriculture sector and created a US$600 million annual food import bill.

If black people had owned the plantations sugar would long have been subsidised and we would have better roads, drainage, bridges, hedgerows, rodent control, suck wells, weed control, employment, skills-training etc.

But despite the fact that the last of the white ex-pat plantation owners left shortly before independence, agriculture in this country is still demonised by racists in gov’t and civil services who fail to acknowledge that sugar is a rotational crop for everything else that we need and even if we have to dump it in the sea, we have no alternative to growing it if we want to eat.

Further, the subsidy needed to bring back agriculture and the 2200 jobs we’ve lost over the last decade is less than CBC’s annual subvention.

Any anti-racism campaign in Bim should start with that.

When we’re done with that we can deal with the Trinis and their employment and business practices.

20. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

“” When we’re done with that we can deal with the Trinis and their employment and business practices””

We have you all to thank for that.

You are putting your case for the continuing dominance of the Bajan economy by the 3% of the population.

I don’t know of a single BLACK BAJAN who has bent over backwards to sell their Bajan business to Trinidadians. All the businesses in Barbados now owned by Trickidadians were formerly owned by Whites. Instead of passing them along to Black people who worked tirelessly to build them up to where they were you all preferred to sell them to who-so-ever will as long as they did not fall into BLACK hands.

Black people must always be hewers of wood and drawers of water.

In this next 50 years of Independence Black people in Barbados MUST RISE from the bottom of the heap, whether you like it or not.

21. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

And I have a real problem with the people who head the Barbados private sector.

Why must it always be headed by some one from the PLANTATION CLASS?

22. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Spot on PLT…as long as governments and the populations in Barbados and the Caribbean, particularly those slave producing churches, fail to confront those realities and root causes of their mounting social problems….as the US is now FORCED to do, they can never progress or move forward.

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Frustrated Businessman

I find it amazing that as a capitalist your first instinct is to appeal to government for subsidies for agribusiness… corporate welfare. It’s hilarious that you blame the lack of corporate welfare on “racism.”

24. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

says Carson….who for the whole weekend applauded government giving away a whole hotel belonging to the people for less than a 1/4 of it`s value to the same 3 percent, ignoring an 11 million dollar offer from a real hotelier, thereby robbing the people……claiming they are in partnership with the 3 percent when neither of them are successful hoteliers….

…you really have issues.

25. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Well Well

You done know that I don’t think much of what you write. When you do here on BU is simply the rantings of an old woman with too much time on her hands.

26. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

peterlawrencethompson August 17, 2017 at 8:35 AM #
    @Frustrated Businessman

I find it amazing that as a capitalist your first instinct is to appeal to government for subsidies for agribusiness…

Instead of sitting around being amazed Peter, spend the time reading.

Every developed country in the world subsidises agriculture. Find out why and we’ll chat again.

And if you have the access, have a word with GEL to find out why they just sold a rum refinery and one of our oldest rum brands.

http://www.academia.edu/7191159/Do_agricultural_subsidies_in_developed_countries_benefit_or_harm_the_poor_in_developing_countries

27. PLT
    That has been the modus operandi of the 3% in Barbados.They are all welfare capitalists.Note how Baloney and his cohorts including the biggest Welfarer Sow,is leeching off NIS funds.

28. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

lol…PLT, oh you noticed.

i am getting so used to being called a racist on here, that seeing the word does not even illicit a response from me anymore.

if the stupid bribetaking ministers in Barbados had any self respect, they would expose all the halfassed minorities in Barbados who practice racism against the black population….just as the US is now doing in a white majority country, naming and shaming them….stopping them from accessing money , paypal, amazon and every major money source is on a mission to stop nasty racists, the military also took a stand against trump supporting racists.

but those small island lowlife racists who have been practicing racism against the majority bmand have for decades and now got the nerve to claim reverse racism while still practicing racism and disenfranchising the majority population should be exposed brutally…..but that is if the black ministers had self respect and integrity.

the slaves in parliament enrich racists instead, leaving their own black people in poverty and see nothing wrong with that….so they actually deserve what Frustrated said.

29. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

the slaves in parliament enrich racists instead using the same black victims of racism and disenfranchisement pension money and taxpayer`s dollars, as Gabriel said…and both governments have done this for decades, leaving their own black people in poverty and see nothing wrong with that….so they actually deserve what Frustrated said.

30. It is not just agriculture which is heavily subsidized by the developed world have a look next door at T&T and how they subsidize Caribbean Airlines to LIAT’s disadvantage.

31. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Exactly David.

Some of the armchair managers on this forum just don’t understand how the free market works.

In the absence of profit, business investment will go elsewhere.

In the absence of subsidised cane, land goes idle or developed for other purposes.

1st form economics.

So a national choice has to be made: do we subsidise agriculture and reap the many benefits or do we piss away the money financing other shite and do not.

Every gov’t since independence has opted for no. 2.

My point simply was that the choice was made because agriculture will always be associated with oppression of the black masses and to subsidise it would be political suicide.

Hence, it is a racist decision by successive gov’ts.

Meanwhile we import food that was grown here on the same plantations for 350 years while the rotation crop was profitable.

Simple inarguable logic.

So we either get over racism and sort our food security or continue on the current path.

32. It is the nature of albino-centric philosophy, for business to be subsidised by the state – so that they can have unfair advantages over external competitors.
    When the neighbours do the same thing, we then get unrealistic competition… that sinks all those who try to play fair.

That is what Globalisation did for us.

As long as we stay in the albino-centric game, we must either subsidise …and play the pyramid game to its logical conclusion …. or we are dead.

The SOLUTION, (as Bushie is tired of preaching) is to create a COMMUNITY-CENTRIC culture where citizens collectively produce their basic needs, and collective CHOOSE to patronise their own products …. to everyone’s fair benefit…. and defy the albino-centric devils.
    …in short…. Co-operatives.

But wunna like the albino models….

33. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Good idea Bushy, let’s try communism again.

The millions who failed before had no idea what they were doing!

As is Bajan custom, we should take a 100-man trade mission, including outside women, to Venezuela. We could fly first class on subsidised LIAT.

You people are funny.

Money talks, bullshit walks.

34. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Frustraed…hate to interrupt you cause ya are on such a roll, giving government it`s business….but this…

Hence, it is a racist decision by successive gov’ts.

but that….is not a racist decision….the slaves of parliament do not carry those capabilities, in their minds, it`s politically expedient….

..they aint even bright enough to know they should have replaced sugar with more financially viable crops, which do exist…..over 20 years ago, what racist what….wrong word.

35. @ Frustrated B
    So if your parents, grand parents, great grand parents and their parents had been forced to live and die in coal mines …and you grew up learning of their centuries of terror associated with coal mines…
    Do you think that coal mining would be a first choice in YOUR priority of career choices?

That is nothing to do with racism boss – it is to do with simple human cultural norms.

Now if coal mining was the most practical and rewarding field available, then, with CLEAR incentives that REVERSED the stigma suffered by your ancestors, you could no doubt be incentivised to go there.

If Blacks were RIGHTFULLY empowered to share ownership of the plantations and to participate in their management (through co-operatives …rather than via the current shiite government agencies like BADC, BADMC etc) then you would see a VERY different response.

Who the hell wants to get involved in sugar when the same damn structure remains that terrorised his grand parents? …and where those white people collect massive annual subsidies – just like baloney does now in building?

Our leaders have ZERO vision….

36. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

definition of expedient…which should have been temporary, but black governments are so lazy, bribeworthy and love easy money which dont require them to use up any brain cells…they made the decision permanent.

ex·pe·di·ent
    ikˈspēdēənt/Submit
    adjective
    (of an action) convenient and practical, although possibly improper or immoral.
    “either side could break the agreement if it were expedient to do so”
    synonyms: convenient, advantageous, in one’s own interests, useful, of use, beneficial, of benefit, helpful; More
    noun
    a means of attaining an end, especially one that is convenient but considered improper or immoral.
    “the current policy is a political expedient”
    synonyms: measure, means, method, stratagem, scheme, plan, move, tactic, maneuver, device, contrivance, ploy, machination, dodge
    “a temporary expedient”

37. @ Frustrated B…
    Communism shiite!
    Are our credit unions communism?

Anything that challenges the albino-centric philosophy of creating opportunities for the greedy among us to hoard as much resources as their possibly can, is seen as an existential threat…

Communism suffers from a very similar fate as capitalism….. brass bowlery.

Cooperatives exemplify the spirit of COMMUNITY-CENTRIC interests and of sharing fairly – based on merit and effort.

If you don’t get this, then say so – and let us discuss …. don’t throw red herrings across the blog.

38. @Bush Tea

Let us try to be dispassionate and realistic in our arguments, given the current state of our economy and our obligations under the many international treaties how can national strategy be formed in a vacuum? Cariforum, WTO, etc

39. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Fair point well argued Bushy.

Especially the point about land ownership.

Considering the gov’t of BDS owns more plantations than everyone else put together, not even counting the CLICO ones lying idle in St. John which they will likely end up owning as well, and as yet have failed to empower and mobilise an agricultural army of the masses to make them productive, we can consider that option as a failure as well.

As is our custom in this country, probably best to just continue what we’ve been doing. Forget I ever raised the point and keep on keeping on.

40. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Frustrated….there are at least 8,000 minority bajan whites and others on the island…most of whom are lazy as ass and think they special…

why dont yall mobilize these bajan white to work in the canefields on a rotation basis…why is the black population yall keep targetting to do menial, low paying, back breaking work in boiling sun,the black masses…

yall want a sugar industry, do the work yaselves….black people are quite capable of starting their own industries as long as they are not continually sidelined and marginalized by black governments in favor of minorities.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Wow Bush Tea! You seem to have opened Frustrated’s eyes. Clearly whackers posses powers untouched by logical discourse 😉

42. @ David
    …given the current state of our economy and our obligations under the many international treaties how can national strategy be formed in a vacuum? Cariforum, WTO, etc
    It can’t….
    Not by brass bowls…. it would take VISION, GUTS and BALLS….

Having said that, if we DON’T do something DIFFERENT, then we will continue on the path to certain calamity…
    Remember that where there is no vision, (even with balls and guts,) the outcome is a given…

@ Frustrated B
    The “government of Barbados’ is a misnomer.
    What we have are a pack of parasites, who are on a joy ride to achieve personal wealth, relevance, and acclaim. They have NO clue what you are talking about… and certainly not what Bushie is on about… see how they are fixed on THEIR 10% and on THEIR Benz….
    They are completely devoid of vision….
    Which is why the original bushman spoke to such persons in parables – not casting pearls to brass bowls.

Your well reasoned arguments – even grounded as they are in albino-centric philosophy, goes WAY above their heads.

On the other hand, Bushie is talking about outcomes that are BEYOND even your circumstantially logical perspectives for economic positives in the current environment.

We are therefore arguing oranges and apples – while the government is doing shiite.

43. I wonder how many Bimmers are really caught up with this 200 year old battle of righting past wrongs and blaming everything on the past.

I recently came across a post on fb arguing the same points that PLW has mentioned with the main one being ridding Bim of all whites……not sure what method of determination of colour will be used.

I am yet to see a plan of action put forward by anyone as to how we will get rid of the whites.

Or a plan as to the re-development of Bim sans whites,the redistrubition of all these white lands/concerns/etc,a vision for the country.

In essence after sanitising Bim of all whites…….what next…..could someone answer this.

44. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Anything that challenges the albino-centric philosophy of creating opportunities for the greedy among us to hoard as much resources as their possibly can, is seen as an existential threat…

ya should have added where the lazy bajan white cant use the black masses as low paying, menial labor beasts of burden, they see as being a threat and racist to them.

Frustrated …..y all better stop that shit, move on, start doing ya own menial labor, unless blacks volunteer, slavery to enrich lazy bajan whites and others is over.

45. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Vincent, the only thing I enjoy more that sarcasm is irony.

Racists fighting racism with racism is funny.

Whenever done, all the arguments which try to explain the socioeconomic facts of the past 2000 years boil down to one thing: MONEY.

If a pursuit is profitable, it will be popular.

Labour in Europe was free (in exchange for horrible lodging, early death and enough land for subsistence farming) until the great plague shortened supply. That is where the plantation system came from, it was not invented in the Caribbean.

Black people seem to forget, or refuse to understand, that slavery was not invented here. There were millions of slaves all around the world before a black man was ever brought to the new world. The word slave comes from the word slav, to describe the masses of Eastern European slaves being traded in the middle ages.

A point for another debate.

My point stands. Racism and the demonisation of agriculture, rather than its promotion and development as an honourable and profitable pursuit, are holding back our agricultural development and robbing our ForEx coffers.

46. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Vincent….ya always coming with some nonsense which is not the topic, point out where PLT, Bushman or i said anything of ridding the island of whites.

if whites doing their own menial, low paying labor translates as they having to leave the island voluntarily because they are lazy and always looking to pay slave wages and want free labor….so be it, good riddance i say.

you really believe their leaving would make a blip on a majority population of at least 260,000 black people,they wont even be missed, you really feel bajans cant survive without 8,000 people….you are delusional.

47. Bushie is surprised that Vincent is not in the DLP cabinet…. given his level of thinking…
    So kellmanisque….

48. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Frustrated….stop looking to black people for free and low paying labor…yall are going to end up broke eventually and will either have to run or do the beast of burden work yaselves….mark my words.

49. The current view of agriculture given our history is interesting if one accepts that methods used in agriculture now involve scientific methods. The decison whether to go the career path of agriculture must be based on logic -deflate the effing emotional positions.

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

They are not going to make the mistake of leaving again. The older folk would recall that many of them left for Australia and New Zealand in the 1960s, leading up to independence, because they did not want to live under a black, independent administration. Some of them could only find work on pig farms cleaning up after the pigs. Many of them hightailed back to Bim. They were accustomed to the almost worshipful adoration of Bajan blacks but in those countries, they were nobodies and could not take.

Leave a Reply to Fractured BLPCancel reply