Mia Mottley and Freundel Stuart represent the duopoly

“Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.” –
Shakespeare

The headline in one of the newspapers blazed Eye to Eye on violence supported with a picture of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. The immediate thought by the BU blogmaster was that the leaders of the two main political parties had joined forces in the national interest to serve as a calming influence on the country days after the Kadooment Shootings. After perusing the opening paragraph of the newspaper article such a lofty expectation was dashed. It was the usual political palaver full of sound and fury, signifying nothing!

In 1978 the great Bob Marley staged the One Love Concert that will be etched in history when he called for Michael Manley and Edward Seaga who represented the two main political parties operating in a fractious political environment at the time to shake hands. One senses that the Barbados landscape has become fractious- not to the same degree as Jamaica but trending- and there is the opportunity for a signal act by relevant parties to send a message to the population that we are Bajans first and must come together to make it work.

The contentious meeting of the Social Partnership will be held within the next 24 hours to address the call by the unions and private sector for government to engage in greater dialogue. On the agenda is the request by the unions for government to implement a coping subsidy to soften the impact of the National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL) on public workers. The decision by the government to publicise the event (we wait to see if it happens) is a clear indication that there is distrust of the partnership by a key member. Many fear it will an opportunity for grandstanding by political participants with a few months to go until the next general election. BU is of the view there is the opportunity for the heads of the various stakeholders of the Social Partnership to publicly demonstrate to the country that despite the contentious issues on the agenda, it is ONE LOVE. Why not invite Mia Mottley and a couple leaders from the religious community to participate at tomorrow’s meeting, it would be unprecedented but viewed favorably as being in the national interest. Will NEVER happen!

Whether by accident or not, the Acting Governor of the Central bank Cleviston Haynes has scheduled a press briefing for Friday 11, 2017 at 11AM to review the performance of the Barbados economy for the first six months.  It promises to be an interesting 24 hours.

284 responses to “Social Partnership Meeting | Come Together and Make it Work…”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

It’s shameful that Sinckler is dodging Toni’s question…..Fruendel threw him under the bus, while he slicks back his hair.

Thankfully I lost all sound to the cbc stream, I could not take it anymore anyway.

Carson…why you lying, Herbert hardly said anything, he just wanted to confirm a date before Fruendel and Sinckler slithers away.

These ministers can pick up hundreds of millions Prodigal…..give most of it away to the few in the same private sector, who hardly pays it back…..

They dont even consider in the last 10 years raising the pay of public sectir employees, though it’s their tax dollars and pension money the ministers gave away to the Cows Bizzys, Maloneys, Bjerkhams etc…..all they had to do is come up with the lastest scam….and they are given the people’s money..

The ministers can find money for every fete or celebration they can dream up…

…they can find money to pay every expensive consultant they think can tell them what to do..

But cant find money for a raise for public servants or minimum wage workers.

Those are the people will vote their asses out, they have the numbers.

2. The dems criticised the BLP for building the Hilton. Now they are going to sell it for 100 million. Is this the true market value? Who is going to get the finder’s fees?

3. A island of comedy!! Why should such a serious matter involving negotiations be broadcast live? PIMP do!

4. Chuckle….Toni some bouncers….Roslyn licke he down….Mary now dealing with mismanagement…..dem women ain mekkin no sport.

5. We will see if they …up de ting…..as Herbert says he will listen to the unions.

6. DLP (Formerly CBC) TV and Radio Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) TV and Radio

As they say in Barbados Govt got to “STOP MEKKING SPORT AT THIS TING” i listening to Mr McDowall..now… and i tell yuh….it gine get igrunt if govt doan take labour’s concerns seriously…

7. Yes…………tell them Charles Herbert…….we have hit rock bottom and there is no plan going forward. Not one of us can be happy after hearing that we are past living hand to mouth.

Not me, Charles…..the country is finished talking to this government, the PM can go back to sleep now.

8. The PM looks as if he so is bored and is saying…..”why I am here listening to these peasants………..take fast and let me get out of here”.

Whose isde is Cedric Murrell on, though?

9. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

HERBERT is a real joke.

A multi millionaire is talking about Barbados hitting rock bottom. A man who is part of the private sector who mark up their products in their supermarkets by 500% and more causing hardships in this country.

His conclusion really grated the ears of sensible people.

10. This govt led by the PM who is a student of the Prince is going to play this talkshop out,as he pursues his agenda to win another election and it has nothing to do with the future of Bim.

This pappyshow served a purpose of allowing Bimmers to see the inept performance of the MoF,the PM and sadly Murrel.

Now its left to the unions to deal with this govt.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Definitely an upside, many people did not know before but now clearly see the bullshit artists occupying parliament that are sucking taxpayer’s money in salary every month.

Fruendel wanted everyone to see…now they can make up their minds.

12. Why the hell is the whole cabinet there wasting time, they don’t have any work to do?

13. Yes, PM, I believe you that there are some of the best brains in the Minisistry of finance but is their advice being taken?

It certainly does not seem so because if what is happening is a result of their recommendations, then we have to question their wisdom.

Certainly if they are the best brains any where in the Caribbean, why are is barbados in the state it is in today?

14. Carson
    Until you pay the pensioner’s bill, as promised to her, and apologise, you have no credibility…none! STFD do.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Enuff…you sound like you did not want the people to know.

I am sure every corner will have that topic on their lips.

Ya cannot scream for transparency and when ya finally get it say ya dont want it, it’s too important a matter for the public to hear…

…….it is the public’s business, it’s the public paying all these big salaries to government ministers…union dues to the unions….taxpayer’s and NIS pension loans by the hundreds of millions to the private sector and it’s the public keeping all of these businesses open, so it is the public’s business.

Why should the public not know everything.

It sets a precedent so should Mia be elected, she dont revert to the same nasty habits of keeping secrets from the public, about their business.

16. The central bank is saying the fiscal deficit narrowed in Q1; but this is the eight month, four weeks out from Q3. Why are we so incompetent.

17. One of the many positives to come out of this meeting on TV one hopes will be a firmer and tougher union body willing to stand up to any govt in power.

18. There were the Kadooment Shootings now we have Fairchild Street shootings.

19. @Bajan in NY

I was asking the question all day……….the whole day these morons at this pappy show and for what reason. I refuse to believe that they are normally at these meetings.

I understand the reason for the Ministers of Finance and Labour but the rest could have be at work.

Ronald Jones there, Michael and Steven Lashley, Dennis Lowe there, Dennis Kellman and the AG………all are waste of time………..Patrick Todd and Darcy Boyce were there as well.

In these waning days of this government’s administration, the PM still talking ..iite that no one aint giving any advice and that there were no alternative plans put forward. These people are arrogant and dont listen.

No need now for the meetings to be on TV the PM said. Idiot! What the PM was aiming for did not materialise. Ha, ha CC…….

All he wants he says is to continue dialogue…….so that there will be no marches. Up de thing, unions.

20. David,

Seriously? I missed the news……….believe it on not I was trying to endure listening to the PM.

21. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

HERBERT was talking a lot of foolishness.

The Prime Minister brilliantly put him in his place.

22. Well well
    Know what? A comedy show built with many a gallery actors and actresses.🤣🤣

23. the NUPW ad BUPW and demagogue traitor Herbert were all put to shame . Those two agendas were about political spin having nothing to do with solution for controlling the debt
    it was laughable listening to Moore as she lost sight of the fact that barbados debt must be controlled sooner rather than later as she point out solutions that would take years before govt see any benefits which are viable and which can placed barbados on a fast track in sustaining and controlling its debt as soon as possible

24. Now that all interested parties have met Wickham ought to conduct a Poll of public servants asking which would be the prefered solution
    Sending Home Public Servants
    Keeping the NSRL

25. Now back to playing sudoku

26. Frustrated Businessman. Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman. Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Sinckler has proven to the world that he is nothing more than a conductor on a runaway train.

No management of any civil services or statutory corporations going on and he just throwing money at them every time they come begging.

Which is exactly what I have been typing on BU for 7 years.

Fumble’s Fools still don’t even understand this country’s problems, far less have any idea of how to fix it.

Akani’s closing analogy about household mis-management knocked out their front teeth.

There was never any possibility of economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

27. Listening to the utter dismal performance of this economy, Charles Herbert’s wrap up was epic. He made the government look small an like they are totally incompetent.

The MOF literally admitted that he does not know what he is doing. Toni Moore used her intellect to show him that he did not know what he was talking about. Roslyn Smith was sharp and to the point.

Any idea that the PM wanted to use this televised meeting to expose the PSA and unions backfired on him badly. It did one thing……….show how incompetent the MOF is and that he way over his head in the jof of MOF.

Wait, was Estwick there today?

28. @FB

Akanni’s wrap up was epic, he likened the government to girls buying weave,doing nails and then have no money to pay bills………LOL

29. Frustrated Businessman. Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman. Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

I typed on BU that this televised circus was going to backfire on Fumble and his Fools.

Sinckler’s incompetence in managing the financial affairs of this country has been exposed by his own rambling diatribe about the absence of any kind of economic plan and his ‘responsibility to react’ to constant economic crisis.

His job is not to PROVIDE finance to civil services and statutory corporations. His job is to DIRECT the finances of same.

I also typed here that none of the parties can change their positions. All dug in their heels today. Toni and Akani especially.

The wheels are in motion. 5 years too late.

30. Carson Cadogan

What is the difference between you and Herbert

At least Herbert never walked through Bridgetown in a 3-piece suite believing he was well dressed.

Our judgement is that both you and Herbert are bad for Barbados

And we support, unashamedly, efforts to remove you both.

Herbert because we have not been informed that he is any less the racist that he was when in Collymore Rock.

And you, because you are an avid believer in the DLP, a wicked proscribed organization.

Further, we also contend that there are no differences between your DLP and the BLP and that regime change should come to Barbados and wipe them away – root, stem and branch. That regime change must come by any means necessary.

So the racist Herbert and the DLP political pimp Carson have much more in common as they agree the system should continue. The only difference is to be a more favorable, to white people, BLP.

Your DLP political party is so corrupt that it hasn’t the ability to see that the white people only interfere in politics when that useless DLP is in power.

Not that the stinking DLP cares anything about Black people. For it is a supine organism for which only death awaits.

We rest in the comfort that such a creature will be humiliated whenever elections are called, to the point of a constitutional crisis. Even then, maladministration under the BLP will continue apace.

Lastly, it should not concern you where our writers are. No thanks to party hacks like you, we have the ability to be in many places at the same time.

One idiot in London constantly says we are in Barbados and believes that there is some deference we should grant him. His perception is that some barefoot people in Barbados can’t tell him, who is nearest to the queen, anything except it comes from Google.

And you, Carson, constantly make the opposite argument. The colonial 3-piece suit mentally you have always had is incapable of the perception that people in your very midst will frontally attack the DLP, the regime, as illegitamate.

Both you and your idiot friend are wrong!

31. The AG was at this pappy show all day, I wonder if he got a new phone so that the COP could call him???

32. In addition to the fiscal deficit problem Wunna have a physical death problem….

“At least one person, a 41 year old woman, was struck in her leg and was taken away by ambulance.

There are also reports of a man being struck multiple times. Eyewitnesses on the scene told the NATION that he was taken to the hospital by private vehicle.”

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Enuff….worse.

When IMF, Standard & Poor and all the rating agencies regionally and internationally were telling this same government that the debt situation was getting out of control, in 2008, as they told the previous government in 2006…..thos government allowed these rating agencies to know that they did not know what they were talking about.

This same government told the people who voted and elected them that the rating agencies were lying, that the economy was growing, it was sound, never been better….that they knew how to perform miracles.

Now today this same lying government is on national TV telling whoever is dumb enough to want to believe anything they say….they are saying it anyway….that the debt is outta control, they have no solutions, dont know what the hell to do…

But not only did they restore their 10% retroactively, but they are throwing parties and celebrations at taxpayer’s expense, every freaking chance they get.

I don’t lnow if the pitchfork Fruendel buried is doing it’s job…, but the people of Barbados had to see for themselves.

Remember. ..no one made Fruendel , forced Fruendel or coerced Fruendel to televise his mess, his and Sinckler’s.

34. ” “I heard about three shots, followed by two more.

I turned around and saw a man in a white shirt running on the north side by the market and pointing the gun and then he ran down through the stalls.

I saw him shoot and fire twice into the stalls and then I saw the people scattering,” he related.

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Angela Yardfowl…was that hatchet face woman sitting behind Fruendel today you….lol

36. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

The ball is now in the Union’s court. A wasted day to hear Frumble speak the obvious. Showing their incompetence whilst criticizing everybody else. In the end, we still have to pay it.

The March should have been about calling for the PM and his cabinet’s resignation.

37. FB

I beg to differ…..the PM as a student of the Prince has staved off a close down of the country/ports for 2 months…..his agenda is by whatever means possible to win the next election so he needs calm untill the expected monies come in for elections to be called.

He won this round……he will come with another meeting to kick the bucket down the road after the 2 months.

38. The most poignant moment was when Herbert told people in the room there was no reason to smile, to wipe the silly grins from their faces (presumably the ministers were included). Felt his pain. Jackasses in suits.

39. David

Why is this Herbert assuming such an important place?

Why does it matter if he thinks we are to smile or cry?

Were issues concerning paying the age old debts for reparation added to the balance sheets of corporations he represents?

40. It is important because the monkeys in suits should be the ones demonstrating urgency. They do the same in parliament while debating serious issues. It makes some us who understand the perilous state of affairs the country is gripped cringe.

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

In my view Herbert was not of any great importance other than to embarass Fruendel and the whole cabinet, why did he walk with all of them anyway, did they not have any work to do….the people’s work..

It was Akanni, Beckles, Smith, the female with the yellow hair and a few others who really took the government to task and held them down….they could not move.

It showed the electorate who the ministers really were and what they did for 9 years, precious little…..the people could not miss it if they tried, everything was outlined, the government was truly exposed.

42. OK David

Well a white man could shoot some ‘monkeys in suits’ and it will be business as it should be.

Are there any white monkeys in suits.

43. An average meeting ended without credible solutions to replace government policies. Toni Moore sounds arrogant, inflexible, and delusionary. Never heard the word “but “used so often, she was overbearing, talks too much. The drawl in her voice irritates.

Akenee MacDowel and his sidekicks acted as if the meeting was comedy show. I don’t remember what Abed and Herbert said their presentations were ordinary . Both tried to make the Prime Minister feel guilty. The contribution with balance came from CTUSAB Cedric Murrell who asked that all work together and be realistic.

Where in tarnation was Bush Tea’s blue eye boy Caswell Franklyn? Unity is his union, not so. Toni Moore insisted “but” there are only four unions. Is Cassie occupied learning the art of figurines at Bush Tea studio.

Toni Moore patted herself on the back for calling David Thompson the Right Excellent . Some see that as the puerile Combermere baloney. What a load of pig shite. BU’s yard fowls have long ago convicted her boy RT Excellent Thompson and Greenverbs of crimes against humanity. She heeds to get out more, pun intended.

Sinckler stood his ground repeating his budget statement. The PM like him or not was statesman-like patiently listening to a largely bunch of disrespectful, pompous, rambling speakers before calmly wrapping up a nine hour talk fest.

The social partnership has merit credit goes to Erskine Sandiford. It requires working together to narrow differences, instill trust and confidence with the best interest of the country in mind. Someone tell Herbert and Redman they don’t speak on behalf of the people of Barbados as they kept saying. The speak on behalf of the people who are their lackeys and pimp around them.

44. Face it, Commentator……….did I not tell you DLP lcakies to read the story of Modecai in the Book of Ruth?

Haman built a gallows to hang Modecai and the Jews on and he ended up being the one who was hung on the very gallows he built.

The PM wanted this meeting to be televised for all Barbados to see…..well the unions and the private sector exposed them. We got to see a MOF who is clearly out of his depths, a government which is on a spending spree and cannot get spending under control.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David August 11, 2017 at 7:43 PM
    “The most poignant moment was when Herbert told people in the room there was no reason to smile, to wipe the silly grins from their faces (presumably the ministers were included). Felt his pain. Jackasses in suits.”

Herbert must have told it like it is. Herbert knows full well that Barbados is in deep economic doo-doo and will fall even deeper in the next 6 months unless there is a large injection of forex in the ailing import-based transactional economy.

He should have been bold enough and tell the government that it is just wasting time and making the chances of recovery ‘extremely’ worse by delaying the inevitable date with destiny called Dr. IMF.

Who else would be prepared to lend money on the open market to Barbados in its present economic state under a bunch of managerial misfits?

The current administration still insists in blaming interchangeably either the whipping boy OSA’s BLP administration or the long finished international recession for all the economic and financial woes affection the once well managed country called Barbados.

How can you expect a bunch of wild boys who cannot even get public sector workers to efficiently complete the simplest of tasks like removing garbage and detritus from the streets to do something as challenging as steering the ship of State away from the dangerous rocks of devaluation 3 to 6 months ahead as the battering waves of the fast disappearing forex reserves take their toll?

46. Antigua’s PM Brown assumed the government therebin 2014.The UPP like the DLP had Antigua in financial trouble.With an IMF programme in place and the IMF querying the massive concessions given to the hotel sector…..read Sandals……Antigua with help from the IMF was able to register growth of 6.5% last year.Toni suggested the IMF route would have been more palatable for Barbados,the same point Owen Arthur has been making all along.How did we get back here.I have already sugggested Sinckler is just a mouthpiece for the Ministry of Finance and Stuart is no wiser.One day they will awaken to the truth that Darcy Boyce has taken them down a path of destruction of the economy and Sinckler wants so desperately to show off that he is a guru of Finance,never mind he doesn’t know the value of a decimal point,that he is prepared to bluff the Unions and the Private Sector that the only likely response to their demands is to send home 6000 public servants.I want to suggest to the Unions and the Private Sector,Stuart and his cabinet are playing for time and the reason is simple.Nobody other than the likes of the Chairman of the Police Service Commission who was given a retainer of $300,000 to write some document,nobody other than the Fatted Calf Brigade has any CONFIDENCE in the Staurt administration,so they can talk until the cows come home there will be no economic recovery under freundel’s fools to borrow Frustrated’s mantra.

47. Well stated, Gabriel…..true, true!

48. Bunch of hypocrites applauding a man who scolds people for smiling. Well hear this the same Man Herbert told the govt he was going to start a mash up and brek up barbados social enviroment if he did not have his way. I bet he thought when writing his nasty letter that he woukd hsve gotten plenty head nods and smiles from the unions and blp yardfowls
    Not surprising that a bunch of blp yardfowls would be quoting any thing this traitor had to say today and mosr certainly agreed by their silence of condemnation of this dirty villian actions to destroy barbados social enviroment.

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.Cancel reply