The findings contained in the 2016 Auditor General Report 2016 confirms that there has been no improvement in how government manages its financial affairs under a DLP government. The vast majority of state agencies still do n0t have updated financials available for the Auditor General Office to do its work INCLUDING THE NATIONAL INSURANCE SCHEME.

Of interest to BU is the fact matters regarding theft at the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) was handed to the Director of Public Prosecutions since 2013 and remains outstanding – see page 127 of 177.

Issue 2
5.13 Goods ordered from a firm totalling Bds. $462,786.26 were paid for but not delivered. No due diligence was conducted on this firm which is based in the USA.

Authority’s Response, 2016:
This matter was passed on to the Director of Public Prosecution through the parent Ministry of Agriculture and witness statements were taken from relevant BWA managers in August 2013 by the Royal Barbados Police Force. However, nothing more has been heard from the Police on any further actions taken. So the matter is still outstanding.

120 responses to “The Auditor General Report 2016 | Business as Usual”

1. Insider Exposing the Local Underworld Avatar
    Insider Exposing the Local Underworld

Issue 2
    5.13 Goods ordered from a firm totalling Bds. $462,786.26 were paid for but not delivered. No due diligence was conducted on this firm which is based in the USA.

Former Chairman Hadley Byer was involved in this pure ROBBERY.

Dead DPP was an avid golfer, Hadley Byer was Head of Golf Association put two and two together,

2. Dead DPP’s wife is also a senior executive at the Golf Club.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

The Auditor General for years has been consistently doing his job….

……while both governments, successive Attorneys General, DPP, Police and all the other riff raff have been consistently ignoring this man’s reports and recommendations to make things better..

4. @ Caswell
    This man Trotman makes you look small Boss….
    What a man of professional ethics…
    It is not hard to imagine the kind of pressures that he must have faced over the years….

What a MAN …among brass bowls…..

5. Paragraphs of graft

6. Insider Exposing the Local Underworld Avatar

I should add Gold tooth Pastor (fake) Inspector Mark White of Barbados police Fraud squad was bosom buddy with now dead Guyanese DPP so that adds another piece of jigsaw puzzle why this matter was never fully pursued.

Hadley Byer is also brother of Richard Byer Attorney who got big big DLP Government work at EXORBITANT BILLING.

AS THEY SAY BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

What is shameful…..they all live off the taxpayers, and are all goddamn corrupt parasites and leeches. ..living off the people, but so greedy and self absorbed, no matter how much they steal from taxpayers and everyone else, it’s never enough for them, they are always on the look out to steal more until they cockup and croak.

8. The following excerpts were taken from pages 46 & 47 of the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto:

“A Democratic Labour Party administration WILL PUT SYSTEMS in PLACE to REVERSE the TREND of CONCENTRATING POWER into fewer and fewer hands, as well as attempt to REKINDLE TRUST and CONFIDENCE in the system of PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS and CONSTITUENCY REPRESENTATION.”

“A MAJOR FAILING of government under the BLP over the past thirteen years has been its RELUCTANCE to TAKE the PEOPLE of BARBADOS INTO ITS CONFIDENCE and EXPLAIN to them what it has been doing on their behalf.” [The status quo remains the same].

“There has been an ABSENCE of INFORMATIVE PRESS CONFERENCES and RELEASES which INFORM Barbados about GOVERNMENT ACTIVITIES and its DEALING.”

“REPORTS FROM THE AUDITOR GENERAL ARE DISREGARDED.”

The DLP has been successful in “putting systems in place to reverse the trend of concentrating power into fewer and fewer hands.”

Power is NOW CONCENTRATED into ONE HAND……….. the hand of Mark Maloney.

And judging from the contents of the Auditor General’s reports for the past 8 years, it is clearly evident the DLP has CONTINUED to DISREGARD “reports from the Auditor General.”

It is clear the Democratic Labour Party has not only lied to Barbadians, they have failed them as well.

9. @ David

Please forgive me for deviating from the subject, but there is a certain activity I’m seeing in Bridgetown that is somewhat bothersome.

Could you please tell me if any organization in Barbados has hired young ladies to solicit money from Barbadians to raise funds for a number of disadvantaged groups?

While in Bridgetown, the environs of the QEH and as far as Oistins, Christ Church, I have been confronted by several young women, dressed in attire similar to what nurses wear (not the traditional uniform), who have been begging for money for a number of reasons, such as:

1) To assist children who can’t eat solid foods;
    2) To assist with heart surgery;
    3) To assist disabled children;
    4) To assist disabled adults;
    5) To assist the elderly;
    6) To sponsor the elderly and disabled

These women can also be seen outside the doors of several Swan Street and Broad Street stores.

I have not read any information relative to any organization undertaking fund raising activities.

Do you know if this activity is legal or is it a money making scam?

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

Why have a public Budget? Why have any financial discussions about public expenditures?

A sample of the entities and the outstanding account years for which the auditor general has not seen financial statements

QEH 2012-16
    Rural dev Corp 2009-16 (the same one Minister Kellman referenced recently)
    Transport Board 2012-16
    Urban Dev Corp 2008-2014 No info on 15&16
    NIS 2006-09 in hands of a private sector firm, 2010-15 to begin After 06-09 are submitted
    SJP Polytechnic….haven’t seen one in over 10 years
    Caves of B’dos…2013-14 nearing completion, 2015-16 outstanding
    Nat Conservation Commission 2014-16
    National Housing Corp 2102-14 “being audited”, 2015-16 outstanding

The list goes on. How can the GoB have any clue of its financial condition, when so many of its component parts have NO CLUE.

11. Was looking through the Auditor’s General Report and realise under “2.20 – Analysis of Government Financial Statement” the charts states the deficit was 34 million less in 2016 based on 2015 deficit as 697 million and 2016 as 672 million. However, both charts show deficit in 2015 as 697 million and 2016 as 762 million which is an increase of 65 million.

We are also seeing various discrepancies regarding contractual arrangements, over paying salaries, payment to a supplier and goods ordered and paid for never reached the island, law-suits pending for over $117 million. Surprisingly, within the Sinking Fund is three categories, consisting of Treasury Notes, CASH and Foreign Debentures. Unfortunately, transparency with the 90 million in cash is not documented with a Statement of Account.

This is the problem with the power of the Auditor General. He is doing a fantastic job but don’t have the power to call the perpetrators to account. Sir Frank might have now realised that the Audit General powers are limited, but did not realise that BU spoke about having a Contractor General years ago. Sorry Sir Frank you cannot inherit any discovery accolade.

12. Insider Exposing the Local Underworld Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Betty June Leacock wife of the Guyanese Deceased DPP Charles Leacock was first the Accountant and then GM of Southern Golf (Barbados Golf Course) in Durants Christ Church where her deceased husband and two children played unlimited free golf for years whilst other members of the Golf Club each paid annual memberships of over $6000 per year.

This is the same Southern Golf which has appeared in the Auditor General Report for a Government Loan of $2 million in DLP first 5 years in Government and not 1 cent repaid.

Minister of Health John Boyce started playing Golf around that time of the $2 million Government Loan (FREE MONEY) and has been playing now for quite a few years it wouldn’t surprise for free,

John Boyce was also playing golf at the same Golf course whilst Hadley Byer was President of the Barbados Golf Association and everyone knowing Hadley Byer knows his scam reputation.

Hadley Byer, Richard Byer and Ester Byer formerly Suckoo DLP Minister of Labour are all fully related.

The PLOT THICKENS.

13. What about agriculture

14. Is this the same DPP Charles Leacock who agreed to have attorney Philip Niccolls arrested for among other things theft and money laundering and then withdrew the charges without an apology and restoration of the rights of Niccolls to travel where he would.Errol Barrow would have skinned Leacock backside out of Barbados like he did de stoby man who thought he had Barbados judiciary under his thumb.

15. Insider,
    Good digging. I think you will find that membership of a particular political party is not the deciding factor, but other social and cultural connections: same schools, at university together, membership of the same cricket, gold, tennis and dinner clubs; societies; related by marriage or just close friendships. This is how power and wealth in Barbados is distributed.
    This is what newspapers should be looking at, and moreso, our ‘radical’ social media sites, instead of buffoonery and slander and just naked abuse. At least in the old days we had Burton’s Truth newspaper.Silence is collaboration.

16. Insider Exposing the Local Underworld Avatar

@ Hal Parris

I am speaking because I know ALL parties named personally and professionally and move in same circles.

I do not speak of things I don’t know of firsthand.

17. Insider,
    Yours is a legitimate use of a nom de plume. This is brilliant. It is one of the most positive postings in BU for years.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Gabriel August 2, 2017 at 12:39 PM #

Hmmm…..are you saying……that Mark Stokes of photos and AG fame was chased out of Bim by EWB…..thall all those stories of disappearing at sea and the Capts death bed confession are bunkum……Is it a cold or closed case in the files?

Many of my vintage would love to know.

19. Vincent
    If you want to know of Stokes,read Angela Cole’s expose on that subject.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal…..ya such a fraud.

All that info has been on the blogs….and even more…..and is no secret…lol

Good to have it further collaborated. .

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

*corroborated.

22. 3.16

In the case of the Ministry of Transport and Works, there were payments
    of $843,301, $1,912,492, and $245,848 to three (3) companies respecti
    vely, among the payments for which no contracts were presented
    ……………………………………………….

Mr Auditor General………ask Michael Lashley for the details.

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

When Carson should make himself available on BU, he runs and hides.

24. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Gabriel

Hmmm…..are you vouching for Angela’s story?

25. I find this summary really fascinating……..no wonder Barbados’ economy is in such a mess.

How could a minister of finance continue to over spend like the following summary and dont expect severe consequences.

Here is proof that Chris Sinckler is totally incompetent.
    ……………………………….

Summary of Government’s Financial Performance Over the Past Five Years

Revenue 2,623,402,645
    Expenditure3,006,152,562
    Deficit 382,749,917

Revenue 2,448,620,515
    Expenditure 3,274,721,140
    Deficit 826,100,625

Revenue 2,339,512,136
    Expenditure 3,322,374,871
    Defict 982,862,835

Revenue 2,446,375,428
    Expenditure 3,144,046,963
    Deficit 697,671,555

Revenue 2,582,256,597
    Expenditure 3,344,852,702
    Deficit 762,596,105

26. The figures taken from the Auditor General’s report speaks directly to quote Sandi…..” how did we get back here”.

I find it so funny that the minister began his 2017 budget presentation recapping his days as Sandi’s PA.

I cannot understand how Sinckler did not think that sooner or later the economy would crash and burn.

Whatever happen to the early refrain we used to hear from Stinkliar……..OSA had 14 years and did not restructure the economy? I do feel he did not have a clue what he was saying when he talked about restructuring the economy every time he opened his mouth…………….

May the good Lord help us!

27. Prior to 2008, all we heard out of the dead king and dems mouths were…..cost over runs, cost over runs…..

Look at this………..The Arch Hall Fire Station……..I would like to hear that Trini woman on this as this is all she repeated like a parrot during OSA years.
    …………………………………………………………………

The contract for this Project was awarded for an amount of $4.52 million.
    As at July 29, 2016 the Quantity Surveyor, employed by the Government,
    projected the final contract costs as $8.13 million. This is an increase of
    $3.61 million or approximately eighty percent (80%) of the original cost. A
    number of factors contributed to this increase,including changes in the
    scope, costs arising from extension of the time scheduled for the project,
    and interest as a result of delays in payments.

SeeTable 3 for the items
    representing the increases in costs.

The required approval process was not followed in relation to increases to
    the project costing $2.79 million.

This omission is linked to the failure of the Project Manager to seek approval for the majority of the variations incurred on the Project.

28. Prodigal Son are you Royal Rumble ?

29. Prodigal Shut You sound so silly ,meaning how can you ever find the mitigated gall to be critical of this govt spend on projects , Idiot dont make yuh self look foolish, guh long do idiot

30. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hahaha……well I never……you mean to say we have reached the state in Bim that an ordinary Joe Public cannot ask our representatives in parliament how come so many over runs?

Ah means tuh sey….cuhdear……dem is we taxes…..we wuk hard fuh um……..an wunnuh pelt um way juss so……wuhloss…….nuh wonda dem marchin…….an gine shut down ports.

31. Yes Hants and based on David’s count down clock to February 21, 2018………203 days to go!

32. @Vincent

Wasn’t the BLP booted out for the same reason? Isn’t this why the DLP is in government? Where is the logic in referring to what the BLP did as a form of defense? In other word the BLP did it so we can too. The idiocy!

33. @Prodigal Son

The countdown is a guesstimate, the PM will likely go the extra the Constitution allows, down to May!

34. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Yes….thats what frightens me about this political class thing……just because the others did it they can do it as well…..no concept of correct management of our resources…..time somebody got locked up and set an example……it would be retribution if one of this lot became the first.

35. The DLP had a meeting at Haggat Hall that condemned the BLP for cost over runs which many feel was the nail the dead king drove into the BLP’s coffin in 2008.

The dlp promised that under their rule there would be no cost over runs and look what we have here in this instance……..80% over the original cost.

And you mean to tell me that in 2017, we are back with an 80% cost over run on a fire station? We have that Trini woman who to this day falsely accuses the BLP of cost over run for the prison.

80% cost over run in the year when the deficit was 762,596,105 million dollars.

No wonder the economy is on skid row.

36. @ Prodigal

Yuh shotting!!!!

37. Thanks, Artax…..I am taking lessons from you……you are one of the best on BU……(shush dont let Bushie know that I told you so. But he is up there as well) LOL!

38. Thanks David……….I understand…….chances are that if the palace coup takes place, the wait time may be shorter!

39. What about this comment the AG never misses the opportunity to state, kije a stuck record. Who is listening?
    Staffing
    The Office has been experiencing challenges in having an adequate staff complement for a number of years and there was no improvement in2016. The Office has an allocation of thirty-nine (39) posts of Auditor I/II. Of this amount twenty- eight (28) are presently not occupied; that is, either the posts are vacant or the substantive holders are acting in other positions within the public service. This is a substantial number that significantly limits the ability of the Office to adequately carry out its mandate. The impact includes a difficulty in auditing all ministries and departments as required by the law, and a backlog of the audits of some statutory bodies. The auditing of these agencies provides the boards and the Government with reasonable assurance that the financial activities carried out were in compliance with the Financial Rules and other regulations, and that the amounts reported in the financial statements were fairly stated.

40. @ Prodigal

All you have to do is read pages 46 to 48 of the Democratic Labour Party’s 2008 election manifesto to see the policies they planned to implement relative to “Good Governance,” and then compare to their tenure in office during the past 9 years & 6 months.

It’s about time you realize the so called “Trini Woman” is a fraud and political opportunist. She trolls VOB’s chat and then calls Maureen Holder at CBC to criticize VOB and those in the chat, calling them “BLP supporters.”

About 2 or 3 weeks ago David Ellis threw out a challenge to her and she is yet to respond.

41. @ David

I realized you ignored my query…..

42. @Artax

What query is that again?

43. I actually meant to ask if you or anyone on BU have any information about the following:

+++++++++++++++++++

Artax August 2, 2017 at 11:06 AM #

Please forgive me for deviating from the subject, but there is a certain activity I’m seeing in Bridgetown that is somewhat bothersome.

Could you please tell me if any organization in Barbados has hired young ladies to solicit money from people to raise funds for a number of disadvantaged groups?

While in Bridgetown, the environs of the QEH and as far as Oistins, Christ Church, I have been confronted by several young women, dressed in attire similar to what nurses wear (not the traditional uniform), who have been begging for money for a number of reasons, such as:

1) To assist children who can’t eat solid foods;
    2) To assist with heart surgery;
    3) To assist disabled children;
    4) To assist disabled adults;
    5) To assist the elderly;
    6) To sponsor the elderly and disabled

These women can also be seen outside the doors of several Swan Street and Broad Street stores.

I have not read any information relative to any organization undertaking fund raising activities.

Do you know if this activity is legal or is it a money making scam?

44. I called the QEH and NAB……….. personnel from both entities said that were not aware of the activity…. but if they had any fund raising drive, information would be divulged to the public via BGIS’s “Opportunity Calls.”

45. @Artax

Have observed similar outside Massy Stores claiming they are fire victims. Cannot confirm if deserving or orchestrated.

46. Artax

You are right, I have been seeing more and more of these people at supermarket doors soliciting donations.

I would drop in a food item but I will not give my money to any and everyone. There is a lady who has been standing in front of Cave Shepherd for years begging for children, at first I gave but not any more.

I empathise with people who are struggling but I am wary. I dont know if any one heard the lady on Brasstacks last week talking to David……….things are hard and people are resorting to all kinds of scams to survive.

This is what the DLP has done to our once proud people.

47. @Artax August 2, 2017 at 11:06 AM “Please forgive me for deviating from the subject, but there is a certain activity I’m seeing in Bridgetown that is somewhat bothersome. Could you please tell me if any organization in Barbados has hired young ladies to solicit money from Barbadians to raise funds for a number of disadvantaged groups? Do you know if this activity is legal or is it a money making scam?”

My response:

Desperate times.

Beggars.

48. Encountered many of these beggars outside the QEH.At times 4 of them at different points as you walk.I ignore them.They wear a blue polo shirt like a uniform.

49. Prodigal @4.07p
    It’s not Lashley to answer.It is the Permanent Secretary who is the Authorised Officer.That was the mistake Mia made when she summoned the 3 ministers to respond to infelicities in their respective ministries.The ministers rightly refused to attend.Mia should know better as she grilled a former PS Bascombe for processing unapproved funds to the MoH.It is rumored he went into early retirement,but the act remained unpunished and based on your data every ministry seem to be ignoring approved budgets and spending wild.

50. @ Gabriel

Agreed

Leave a Reply to Old BajeCancel reply