The findings contained in the 2016 Auditor General Report 2016 confirms that there has been no improvement in how government manages its financial affairs under a DLP government. The vast majority of state agencies still do n0t have updated financials available for the Auditor General Office to do its work INCLUDING THE NATIONAL INSURANCE SCHEME.

Of interest to BU is the fact matters regarding theft at the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) was handed to the Director of Public Prosecutions since 2013 and remains outstanding – see page 127 of 177.

Issue 2
5.13 Goods ordered from a firm totalling Bds. $462,786.26 were paid for but not delivered. No due diligence was conducted on this firm which is based in the USA.

Authority’s Response, 2016:
This matter was passed on to the Director of Public Prosecution through the parent Ministry of Agriculture and witness statements were taken from relevant BWA managers in August 2013 by the Royal Barbados Police Force. However, nothing more has been heard from the Police on any further actions taken. So the matter is still outstanding.

120 responses to “The Auditor General Report 2016 | Business as Usual”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    because you might know
    on page 4? of the report, the pie chart on expenditures, list GRANTS in a tie for #1. What are considered grants by the Aud G? NGO money?

2. @Gabriel August 3, 2017 at 2:56 PM “the deed(s)might fade from memory 80 or so years down”

Actually 80 years in nothing. Well into the 21st century a family member told be about a piece of wutlessness that went down when the Panama Canal was being built. I haven’y told my grandchildren yet.

But one of these days…

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Simple Simon

Man chill. The SSS have no regard for Mottley until she comes solidified and upfront concerning what she intends to do about the Auditor General Reports. And, the need for integrity, accountability, anticorruption laws, whistle blower legislation, and providing the Auditor General with the type of teeth that would enable him to bite, and bite hard. I am not interested in anything she has to say outside of what is the obvious financial problem in Barbados financial accounting system. Mottley is trying to present a different side of her that has a twist of prodigal. She wants to convince Barbadians that she have returned from the turbulence and turmoil of the BLP mayhem to take care of the people’s business, the way that it should have been taken care of from the start. Yet, she makes no mentions of the auditor general’s finding or not on word on why Barbados must implement the mention pieces of important legislation. As for the DLP and your tiredness, where we not all just almost a decade ago tired of the BLP and there nonsense? Sounds to me like a cycle.

4. Simple
    “One of these Days”…..I saw a live performance of that song some years ago by a US twin called The Treniers.

5. From the Auditor General’s Report

“A supplier was paid twice for work related to Electrical Renovations at the
    Country Road Branch of the School Meals Department resulting in an
    overpayment of $65,671.92. At the time of the audit the monies had not
    been recovered”.
    …………………………………………….

School Meals Department…………ummmm……….anyone want to bet that this contractor has to be a dlp supporter!!!!!!!

6. In today’s VOB news, it was reported that another minister from the former Bahamas government was arrested and charged for misconduct during the Perry Christie administration.

If whomever is appointed the next Attorney General does not refer members of this current administration to the DPP, it will be hell to pay with voters. Enough is enough……..let whoever call it a witch hunt.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

First ya have to hope that a new DPP is not as corrupt as the newly deceased DPP…or else nothing changes.

8. Gabriel

You feel only Dems can politick, maybe MAM called the ministers to put them in the spotlight.

Sunshine

The Auditor General would lost many cases in court.

9. @enuff
    The Auditor General would lost many cases in court.
    Why?
    …because our laws are configured to protect crooks – especially crooks of the political variety?

Imagine a situation where these ‘lawyers’ draft, review and pass the laws of the land – and then (often within the SAME laws), prescribe themselves into positions of authority…. FULLY aware of all the cracks, weaknesses and (built in) flaws therein….

Bushie feel that you is a pieceuh lawyer yourself… wunna asses will be beaten with many stripes yuh hear…?

Woe unto wunna scribes and Pharisees…..

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Enuff

Regardless if the AG will lose many cases or not, the fact that we have no legislation in place to bring such persons to court in the first place is where the real lost really lies,

11. Good morning bush tea instead of belching the same crap over and over again why not go find twelve good men to start a third party.all day long belching the same ole crap does nothing for no one
    I understand you might be retired / retarded and looking for some fun and entertainment on bu.yes an excellent place for retirees to spend their past time
    Have a great day ole bag

12. Could this happen in Barbados?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/99352/government-minister-released-bail-charged-extortion

“Gibson is the fourth former member of the Progressive Liberal Party (PLP) government to be arrested following the May 10 general election.”

13. missed you too angela… 🙂

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

When are they going to arrest:

Michael Lashley
    Dennis Lowe
    Michael Carrington
    Dumbville Inniss

Have I forgotten anyone.?

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Angela Yardfowl is still pissed…Bushman……lol

She did not realize that the nonissue about Mia not having a law degree or whatever nonsense they are on and on about could be used to Mia’s advantage to win the election….

Everyone on the island hates lawyers, for real, they been robbed too many times by lawyers, from parliament to whichever holes they reside in…and it’s not as if the slave lawyers currently residing in parliament are real intelligent.

……..so Mia not being a lawyer, would work in her favor…..guaranteed to be elected, just based on not being a lawyer….

..and Angela Yardfowl got vex with me and had talk for me for that…lol.., haha haha.

When it’s she and Carson wont shut up about the nonissue..lol

16. LOL
    Wuhloss… So by establishing that Mia is not REALLY a lawyer, the DLP has IMPROVED her standings in public opinion?

ha ha ha….
    Every shiite the DLP has done in the last ten years has backfired…

That is what yuh get when yuh entertain Lucifer and go building monuments in his honour…

17. @Ping Pong

Bahamas is a difference kettle of fish, a heavy US influence given how it operates. Also there is an evolution that is still to take place given a level of corruption that has taken root over there. The point made by enuff to this blog is noteworthy. Why did the late DPP not address the matter at BWA outstanding since 2013? There is one thing to address people but it has to be proved in court with the evidence. In Barbados files go missing at a whim.

18. @ David
    Be serious….
    How will a DPP who is a Lodge member (and of THAT you can be assured) press charges against his brother?

Those people take OATHS …. and have consequences that are (apparently) more dire for breaking these oaths than the shiite penalties we have …for them not doing the jobs we pay them to do…

What is the progress with the (clear cut) Wilkinson case? …the container of drugs case?

It is one thing to take these esoteric positions like enuff ..for the sake of intellectual debate in public, but this is BU Boss…. we cut directly to the chase….

The truth shall set us free …and lock the crooks up….

19. @Bush Tea

Are we not saying the same thing? It is why there was he argument to bring a CJ from outside the inner ring. You be the judge of where we are as far as that is concern.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“That is what yuh get when yuh entertain Lucifer and go building monuments in his honour…”

Lol….and Carson is still on and on about this gay thing, give that a minute and that too will backfire and can be used in Mia’s favor…lol

Fools never learn.,