Fifty years since Independence is a sufficient period to evaluate the performance of the Prime Ministers we have elected.  How they have performed, what is the skillset a Prime Minster of today requires to be effective.

Vote for the person who in your opinion represented the office best. Explain in the comment box reasons for your selection if you are inclined to share.  The individual with the lowest % vote gets to wear the label of the worst prime minister Barbados has elected.

175 responses to “Vote for Barbados Worst Prime Minister Since 1966”

1. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

If the meeting of the Social Partnership is to be televised by and on CBC can we respectfully ask that broadcasting commences from inside the brand spanking new Mercedes Benz when PM Stuart (Lord Ruler) when he makes he way to the meeting that morning?

I don’t see the broadcast commencing before 11am as the PM is not an ‘early riser’ is he?

2. @Eric De Fly

How are the lawyers promoting crime?

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“Simple Simon July 26, 2017 at 11:06 PM #
    @Chad99999 July 26, 2017 at 1:25 AM “Tom Adams. Only problems: Rumors of occasional cocaine use. Womanizing.

A crackhead womanizer? Is that the best that we can do?”

I like to ignore the hypocrisy of it all sometimes because it is a time waster…. especially those with short selective memories who like to turn demons into saints.

But a crackhead womanizing woman beater and abuser best sums up Adams…I cant stand liars and hypocrites.

4. Simple Simon,
    My original posting seems to have been removed. But it would do to read it again.

5. Always so quick to assume the worse. Which comment are you referring to Hal?

6. David,
    I often assume the worse because that is the experience. Simple Simon referred to a post a 6.26am (in the morning) on July 26. I looked for it and could not find it.

7. David,
    I now have access to the older, older postings and it is there .

8. Bush,
    Yard fowls may feed over by their neighbours, but they always sleep in the same tree,in their own yard. Yard fowls are different from Yard ducks.

9. David,
    Well Well,
    Why you always calling my name?: “…Canadian Clare Cowan…..Alvin Cummins Cahill scam friend…”
    You know NOTHING about me, apart from the fact that I am high educated. I am a true and loyal Bajan, who was born poor and has worked hard to reach where I am; and been fortunate enough to have lived many years, and have experienced more than a lot of people. I read care fully and do not rush to judgement. I support the DLP and have done so since 1963. I am not ashamed of that, because I know what the DLP has done for the people of Barbados. Many people panic when things get difficult; and the BLP can only win when DLP supporters panic and depart from its ranks at election time, but David always used to say: “Don’t panic.” Enough people do not read and understand what they are reading.
    The budget that is the source of so much concern is an example.
    The team from the IMF was here for the usual Article 4 consultation in May; they left on May 29, a short time before the presentation to Parliament and the people of the Budget. In their report they made certain statements and recommendations. Many people; technocrats, including the new Government of the Central Bank (acting) and the leader of the Opposition, ever members of the Consulting team. If people read the recommendations carefully they would note that the steps undertaken by the government; obviously with the approval of the consulting team, would have been taken with their approval. That means that the leader of the Opposition would hAVE BEEN PARTY TO these steps. She did not walk out of the consultation, so she agreed with the steps. Why then is she party to that march?
    The government NEEDS to raise funds, there is no doubt. Steps to raise the amount necessary will take time, and consultation. It is disrespectful to command the head of government to adhere to a timeline set by adversarial elements. These decisions are the purview of the government.
    There is no doubt that adversarial elements; since 2008, are intent on bringing down the DLP, and that they will resort to any tactic to achieve this objective. The people who have the interest of the ENTIRE country foremost in their hearts will make sensible decisions. I hope people pay attention to the chronology of events from the PM. These were not enunciated by the unions.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“support the DLP and have done so since 1963.”

Yep…. yardfowl.

11. Only question on the poll results. How many drinks did the responders have before voting?

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins July 27, 2017 at 11:13 AM
    “Many people panic when things get difficult; and the BLP can only win when DLP supporters panic and depart from its ranks at election time, but David always used to say: “Don’t panic.” Enough people do not read and understand what they are reading.”

Alvin, what are you stating here?

Are you saying that your “DLP supporters” were in continuous panic and departed from the party ranks from 1994 to 2007 when the people were “going wid Owen” & the BLP?

Seems as if history will be repeating itself very, very soon. All the elements that caused that rupture and long despair in the DLP are about to coalesce once more; not this time to send the DLP in the political wilderness for 14 long years but to witness its demise and attend its burial under the direction of a stubborn old fool called Fumble.

But there is hope in another Messiah; not in a dead king David this time around but in a king of porn called Donville.

However, the Don of verbal diarrhea must stop with the long talk and move expeditiously to resuscitate and reform the dying deceitful lying party by picking up the long-handle knife to cut the political throat of the selfish powful-foolish fumbling fool before he is able to administer the last rites.

13. OTTAWA—International Monetary Fund researchers say the federal government can afford to spend $8 billion annually to reduce the cost of child care spaces nationwide because the program would pay for itself.

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2017/07/26/federal-government-can-afford-8-billion-a-year-on-child-care-program-imf-says.html

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins July 27, 2017 at 11:13 AM
    “The team from the IMF was here for the usual Article 4 consultation in May; they left on May 29, a short time before the presentation to Parliament and the people of the Budget. In their report they made certain statements and recommendations. Many people; technocrats, including the new Government of the Central Bank (acting) and the leader of the Opposition, ever members of the Consulting team. If people read the recommendations carefully they would note that the steps undertaken by the government; obviously with the approval of the consulting team, would have been taken with their approval. That means that the leader of the Opposition would hAVE BEEN PARTY TO these steps. She did not walk out of the consultation, so she agreed with the steps. Why then is she party to that march?”

So you are admitting those budgetary impositions were not “homegrown” by a politically estranged administration about to renew vows with a distanced and pissed off electorate but imposed by the banker of last resort as preconditions for the upcoming standby funding arrangement needed to shore up the foreign reserves in order to avoid debt default later in the year?

To suggest the Opposition is party to the imposition of these draconian measures is to assert that the then BLP Opposition colluded with the Sandiford administration in imposing the 8% cut in public workers’ pay and the raft of measures determined and dictated by the IMF including the major ‘sell off at giveaway prices of the family silver under the label of privatization.

15. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Miller

Alvins logic is not from Cawmere, he must have aquired that in colder climes which apparently has addled his brains or its Alzheimers doing one of its short circuits.

The sad joke about Alvin’s efforts is that it is known that OSA had a plan for the IMF over 3 years without these strictures when our PM said no…..that plan was discussed and known…..so where did this 9 month unworkable from all angles budget come from……even if the unions did not disrupt it…..it could not garner the amount profered…..but I understand it was a “perfunctory” decision made…..a bit like Alvin’s.posts.

16. Look!!
    Alvin is an idiot.
    It is only natural that he would ‘flock together’ with Froon, angela and Carson….
    …leave the man alone….

17. @Armando Rodriguez July 27, 2017 at 1:19 AM PM “I don’t see the broadcast commencing before 11am as the PM is not an ‘early riser’ is he?”

No. He is a PM man.

Lol!!!

18. Orange alert
    Army on high alert, following video threat

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/29/orange-alert/

19. I have warned that the defence force/RSS are gearing up to intervene in civilian matters in Barbados. The usual know-alls dismissed that warning. Time will tell.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

First find out who is supplying the arms in the depressed neighborhoods to create the strife that will call in forces outside of police.

Try some critical thinking.

The police are not equipped.

Or would you prefer the Americans or Brits be called in instead…..

…..journalist indeed….MEH…

21. The militarisation of policing: British bobbies are now going to Israel to train in counter-terrorism. Is this the future of civilian policing?

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Hmmm….this post seems to have lost its way in more than one respect.

Then again it shows you the level thinking of Bimmers when one sees the truest,straightest and most honest PM Bree St.John being passed by some real retards.

23. Who cares about honestly, we prefer glamour and panache in our leaders.

24. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle….yuh got dat rite.

25. […] via Vote for Barbados Worst Prime Minister Since 1966 — Barbados Underground […]