George Brathwaite (PhD)

“There must be a serious reassessment of the role of the union movement and of collective rights in this process if unions are to become dynamic social engineers and reclaim their legitimate space in the socioeconomic arena.” – Professor Rose-Marie Belle Antoine.

In last week’s By George column, an argument was made for Barbados to seriously reengage the Social Partnership through enhanced social discourse. The contention is that the Social Partnership, based on its historical record, is potentially conducive to meaningful dialogue on the social and economic matters which are currently hampering real progress and constraining national development. This article asserts that a passage of dialogic engagement ought to be of high priority for all stakeholders. The fact is, the Social Partnership has the institutional capacity to conduct active consultation along the lines of cooperation.

The call for social dialogue is not an attempt to rubbish the ruse that was concocted and pelted upon Barbadians by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in 2013. Nor is an argument being made to throw a lifeline for a beleaguered government that has squandered the goodwill of Barbadians with every arrogant statement and callous action performed. Instead, the call for enhanced social dialogue through the Social Partnership is for all the players involved to establish a common knowledge concerning the prevailing situation and, to determine the rules of the game in attempting to get an agreement which enables the Government, the employers and workers’ representatives to strategise a realistic path in the best interest of Barbados. Even the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 2016 advised that national progress “must be made with all agencies at the table to ensure open communication to begin to effectively address” the issues perplexing and dragging Barbados’ return to prosperity.

In the 1990s, efforts of the Social Partnership, although never perfect, fostered mutual understanding, good professional relations, and found agreed solutions to the socio-economic problems of the day. At that time, the cuts to public expenditure, the sending home of thousands of workers from both the public and private sectors, and the 8 % salary cut for public service workers were tortuously products of globalisation and neoliberalism. Today, a more antagonistic socio-economic sphere is caustically featuring in Barbados. Again, the Barbados currency is perilously close to devaluation while spending power has been severely constrained by austere measures and increased taxation. Barbados is gripped in prolonged situations of paltry economic performance under the DLP administration.

Neoliberalism ultimately changed the discourse on development in Barbados, and continues to challenge the society’s well-being. The DLP Cabinet has been unable to find creative ways to cope and manage the country’s affairs due to its poor record of dialogue with the stakeholders. There is the prevailing sense that with cooperation lacking, key players and stakeholders must once more become innovative and invoke the utility of the Social Partnership. The stakeholders must find means to climb out of the social and economic morass to reach acceptable levels of quality modalities for national development.

Under the leadership of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, the DLP struggles at every turn and in every sphere of governance. Several DLP members blatantly try to crush justifiable resistance from labour and other sections of the local society. The fact is, Stuart’s DLP has disappointed much more than it has inspired, while Barbados limps on as if the drought for critical thought is deepening and effective communication among the stakeholders is unreachable. The DLP’s quest for paramountcy of the political party has by-passed the capacity to connect with the nation’s private sector employers or with the gamut of workers across all sectors.

Indeed, for the wrong reasons, trade union leadership is being interrogated, judged, and convicted erroneously. Trade unions and their leadership are being branded in anti-statist terms because they are willing to speak out, and they are sufficiently aware of Government’s goal to malign and divide. The last elections of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) became a signal eye-opener. Just this past weekend, the unions were being asked to exercise caution in response to the island’s main public servant who remains literally unresponsive to the country’s needs. Stuart showed a snobbish reluctance even to accept a hand-delivered correspondence from the unions.

Clearly, the trade unions are being impacted by finger-pointing and blame; also, they are being accused of sleeping in the same bed as the DLP’s political opponents. The fact is, labour is already condemned for seeking audience with the Prime Minister, despite their previous attempts at dialogue. Other groups within the private sector associations have rightfully claimed that the Government’s approach reveals a disinclination for forthright social dialogue. Yet, what has emerged in plain sight is the superimposition of tantrums from a failed Cabinet, and a slap down from a former prime minister on trade union leadership. Labour has become the targeted culprit in the scheme of a soured tripartite relationship that is chaired by an unapologetic and phlegmatic communicator called Prime Minister Stuart.

Workers and their representatives are reduced to a meddlesome confusion by those who should know better saying that if not checked, trade unions will exacerbate a troublesome path for Barbados. Labour continues to be pummelled by the Government with claims that workers are contributing less than the desired levels of productivity. Deceptively, some Cabinet Ministers are quick to insinuate that Barbadian workers have become lazy, take inordinate amounts of sick leave, and constantly make unreasonable demands for higher wages without corresponding inputs.

The myriad inefficiencies of Government are almost always latched onto the human resource element despite the sheer errors being made by the DLP Cabinet. With the unsustainable practice of printing money by the Central Bank attracting criticisms of the Government’s ineptitude for investment and economic growth strategies, still the emphasis is on the burgeoning size of the public sector and how best to axe persons from the workforce. In the entire mix of these major problems and issues, the negative forces appear to belittle the importance of labour. Unfortunately, a former Prime Minister Owen Arthur, failed to seize the moment and to rise above the noise shutting down social dialogue. Rather than be the purveyor of social accord, Arthur twisted the cork to let the genie out of the bottle; within two days, he rekindled disquiet and discord which inadvertently one assumes, to be the best answers to solving a national problem. Sadly, less was said about the repeated failures of the DLP to grow and diversify the national economy which would surely help to rise above the onerous taxation and deep austerity that awaits the country once the National Social Responsibility Levy begins to bite.

The neglect or inability of the DLP for macroeconomic management of Barbados is weighing heavily against trade unions’ responses. The nation’s workers are bothered; trade union power and employer/employee relations face huge and mounting challenges. Support for the most obvious infractions to labour, must avoid the contours of political party affiliation and not be intimidated by present or past political leaders. Moreover, the tools of protest and strike action cannot be side-lined but must be kept as potent weapons kept in the unions’ quiver to deliver timely blows whenever social dialogue escapes the wielders of state power. Indeed, it is preferable and necessary that social dialogue among the stakeholders begins in earnest to resolve the issues. On principle, labour stands on solid grounds.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com)

47 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Labour Struggles for Social Dialogue”

1. Trade unions are dead, have been so dead for fifty years.

The only remaining purposes they serve are to be fiefdoms for their elite leaderships and as a ploy in the political game to reinforce elite interests.

When we see politicos promoting these dead organizations it is not to breathe life into then.

But to extend their own irrevalance.

For when so-called workers unions come accept knighthoods and join with government and corporate formations there has been a sell out

2. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle……I really would have no problem if this was labelled the weekly BLP column and signed of as such.

I am always fascinated on the ability of party supporters to start with a topic head of importance and segue into cussing the ruling party….lol….dont get me wrong this govt is more inept than any that have gone before and even when they try to do the right things end up wrong.

3. mean wunna does actually read George…?

4. @Pacha

What about the social partnership, does it have relevance in the Barbados landscape?

5. @ Bush Tea
    I agree with you.
    @ Vincent
    I am chuckling too and I have no problem.

6. @ George
    How does one ‘agree’ with a question…..?
    …or is this a PhD thing…?

7. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law!

Bureaucrats, including the current circus of clowns in Cabinet, will always attempt to elevate their status and justify their existence by trying to convince us that the socioeconomic world is much more complicated than it actually is and the rest of us simply can’t survive without their commentary and remote-control management-by-exception.

Barbados, however, runs on rumshop economics which is much easier to understand.

Business people come to this economy with money and businesses plans.

They need civil services and gov’t facilitation to make those businesses possible.

They need an efficient, motivated and empowered labour force to make those businesses profitable.

All this gov’t has done over the past 9 years to bring this country to it’s knees is eliminate one of the legs (facilitation and services) on the 3-legged stool and made it collapse.

I have been typing this simple fact for 8 years on BU.

There is nothing more complicated than that.

A rumshop owner needs money to buy or rent a a building and stock it, a liquor license to sell rum and staff to serve customers. The accounts can be managed on the back of a cigarette carton. He cannot function in the absence of any of the three. Every single business in this country is an exponential of that simple model.

All of the rest is bullshit distraction.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools. They still don’t have any idea what they failed to do.

8. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Cuhdear….George ‘greein wid evertin yuh say…wha so hard bout dat fuh unstan…..lol….yuh whacker to ‘ot fuh ‘e tuh tek.

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! July 18, 2017 at 10:13 AM

No argument with the above post.

10. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ George C Brathwaite

This article should have been titled the Politics of Trade Unionism. Why are we trying to depoliticize the Trade Unions ? They are by nature political organisms. Politics is about power. They were formed in the first place to wrest some of the economic power from the Plantocracy in our neck of the woods. Then other trade unions were formed to wrest some of the powers from the Establishment (public and private). So if there appears to be shifts in support from one party to the other it is because the unions will support which ever party is disposed to grant them their wishes. That is precisely what happened in 2008. Does anybody remember those outlandish promises that were made to the NUPW ?

Similarly the party out of power will try to support the trade unions. It is now a game of musical chairs.

I agree that the trade unions are gradually becoming an anachronism in the New Economic Realities. They need to reinvent themselves and their methodology of achieving a better standard of living for their members. Does anybody know the ratio of Trade Union Membership to the Total Labour Force in Barbados? That figure should be instructive.

11. David
    What was the benefit for the rank and file of these sellout formations

When the country was talking about economic democracy none of these unions say that as the new labour agenda of our times.

And how could you give up traditional labour power without a compensating ownership in enterprises

We say let these unions and their political party fathers die on the vine

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar

What happen to the operatives you ban them or their bosses?

13. I would be very hesitant to dismiss the potential contribution of the trade unions.

At a time when the economy is on the knife edge, partly driven by unsuitable economic policies, at a time when the world economy is unstable and one of the reasons that the local economy is stuttering as a result, at a time when inflation, house prices and living expenses now bear little resemblance to the earnings of what was traditionally the ‘middle class’, we cannot afford to dismiss one of the organizations that can provide some semblance of stability.

To explain my references. The middle class has been one of the central pillars to economic growth, along with a strong working class ethic, a ‘state’ to which most tried to attain. To have land and house, tertiary educated children, a stable work environment.

That has all but been decimated. How then, can we address the current challenges, by discarding the trade unions, which represented the downtrodden workers and contributed to the building of the country, when one pillar of that building has already fallen?

All we will be doing is ripping apart more of the previous foundation.

I fear that Barbados is going to the zero hour type contract that some places are already having challenges with.

To move in that direction is moving towards a state of crab-in-a-barrel, grab what you can, survival.

Although some would say that Barbados is already there, it could be much worse.

What we have to do in Barbados is to look much deeper and wider, to assess the role of the banks, the industries, the government, the workers, the entrepreneurs.

We must also look seriously at the structure of the economy and design ways to change the economic drivers.

For example, I have stated before that housing prices and business lease prices are a major contributor to stifling of the economy.

When people are paying out much of their income in mortgage, rent or business premises lease, there is no way that such people can direct earnings to savings, to investment and personal and business growth.

There is a huge issue with this and we must solve this before moving ahead.

The building and costs related to those ‘low income’ houses at Culloden Road were a prime example of the nonsense that pervades today.

Even a well salaried person would have difficulty making mortgage payments at the reported costs to build one of those units.

It is blatant that there is an issue with that and yet not one parliamentarian nor businessman is on the dailies shouting ‘what gives’???

How do we really expect to develop an economy with such nonsensical actions and costs?

Indeed, if those are the ‘real’ costs to build a low income residence, then may the Almighty help all low income and middle income families on the island. There is no future for them here.

There are no if’s and but’s to this, we must settle the issue of land and house building prices and mortgage rules, to just begin to get a handle on the economy.

I also recommended on these pages, a while back that there should be safeguards on mortgage foreclosures, to protect homeowners. That was a few years ago. This relates to the same issue, that housing matters need to be addressed as part of the whole economic restructuring.

For businesses, the exorbitant rental costs of office and sales spaces also needs addressing.

It makes sense to simply build more government industrial estates, for office and also for sales units, to encourage entrepreneurs, to give them facilities to operate at reasonable costs.

How can we beg for entrepreneurs and businesses to employ workers, yet have no foundation from which they may springboard their operations?

Any such facilities, such planning, must be done in conjunction with an overall Barbados town planning, to identify operational areas and flows that can work, melding with current major business centres.

There is so much to be done, but it takes vision and determination.

Back to the original point, it is very dangerous to remove the voice of workers, at a time when the economy is reeling.

What other voice will those workers have, if the unions are alienated?

The options are not pleasant.

The better way is to rekindle dialogue and work with business owners and workers, to understand where we are and where we must go.

14. Today Peter Wickham said Freundel Stuart says he’s doing the job he was elected to do.He was elected to represent the people of South Michael South.Is he doing that or is he getting in the way of progress.

15. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Crusoe at 2:18 PM

Do we not know where we are? Do we not know where we want to go ? I think the issue is how are we going to get there with as little social and economic dislocation as possible. We cannot get there with the same methodology and institutions as we did in the past. We need to get rid of some of the conceptual baggage that is keeping is back.

16. It can be argued persuasively based on the outturn figures of the economic performance of the country Barbados that the people have suffered no less than 28 devaluations in the purchasing value of their dollar.Mr Stuart is adamant that he is doing the job he was elected to do.I posit that Mr Stuart has been an abysmal failure and the lack of confidence in his administration is reflected in the negative growth in the economy post 2007.If you hear the DLP sympathisers on Brasstacks recently it is obvious there is a prevailing atmosphere of panic in the DLP camp.No amount of mounting of social media missives debunking the opposing parties or attempting to suggest the source of the debt lies with the former administration is simply confirming the failure that is endemic in the DLP regime in almost all ministries.Hearing Hartley Reid shouting,chopping and chewing words policeman style to members of the George Street eat-a-food crowd is the level to which the Barrow party has slunk.To deliver that froth for public consumption on CBCTV is doing a disservice to Barrow’s memory ..

17. Gabriel

You may have a point about them looking for holes as you would have noticed that our local operatives have been missing for some time and David is keeping mum.

18. @ Bernard.

Definitely not on either count. Well, we know where we are, but where we are going is out to the jury.

Where is the long term strategy on affordable housing for everyone, as a basis for a sound economic footing moving forward?

What is the strategy to ensure sustainability of produce and food security? How is the implementation working and what are the deliverable dates?

What is the strategic plan on moving to alternate energy i.e. solar and by what date will say, 80% of homes be fully solar powered?

What industries will be powering the Barbados economy into the 2020’s and 2030’s?

That question especially pertinent given the contraction of international business due to OECD, changes in USA and Canada tax legislation.

Do we envisage medical tourism to be a revenue earner and what measures are being implemented to identify the medical specialties that will be the areas of focus. What measures are being implemented to ensure that UWI trains enough medical professionals in those areas and what facilities are being developed to cater to this industry, including linking to the tourism product?

How is the overall physical development plan going to ensure that future transport needs are properly catered to, also linked to the industries above?

Those are a few questions which we absolutely need to answer to even begin to move forward.

I have no idea what the current effective policy is. Note the word, effective, not some ramble pamble policy statement.

Every Barbadian should know the answer to those questions. Long term strategy is cultural, not just a statement for the air.

If you have the answers, then I will read those with interest. Unfortunately, I am not comforted by current events, that there is any effective strategy in place.

My impression is that current policy is ad hoc and merely suits those who have the cash to fund for returns. Little else in real development terms.

Bear in mind, that Barbados is not alone in this.

As we know, USA is being headed by someone who I consider of poor decision making mind to be polite, the UK is in a mess with Brexit, Canada is doing well on the surface but struggling with the same sort of structural pricing issues as Barbados, where the average person cannot afford a house and Trinidad is struggling, being too dependent on oil revenue.

Nevertheless, we need to get our house in order, irrespective of whatever others may or may not be doing.

19. @Gabriel,

The problem is that political expedience and correctness has overtaken developmental issues as a priority.

That is only determined by governmental decisions.

However, as we have seen, some break off groups and social activists have ramped up the question of accountability.

20. Good comment Crusoe, one that encapsulates many of the positions of BU posters through the years.

21. @Vincent

BU avoids commenting on the participation of commenters.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David July 18, 2017 at 8:40 PM

“BU avoids commenting on the participation of commenters.”

But can we enquire on the whereabouts of the old timer Colonel Buggy whose photos and posters like PUDRYR’s gave real meaning to the saying: “a picture is worth a thousand words”?

23. Fractured BLP Avatar

George Brathwaite is newest Political Sheep 🐑 to come forth from the BLP

That party has achieved nothing over the past nine years other than cannibalising some of its members.

United party……me arse !!!!

24. @Miller

It is not unusual for Colonel Buggy to go MIA, like you sometimes.

25. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar

The unions are struggling with relevance.

Labour relations in the private sector along with work conditions and remuneration have improved vastly over the past couple decades, mainly due to our transition away from agriculture. For that reason the BWU has been side-lined.

Civil servants are who voted for the DLP in the last two elections in order to preserve their jobs, piss-poor work ethic and lifestyles. Now they feel betrayed.

Said civil servants are as responsible for the current economic mess as the gov’t is.

No massa (ministers who know their business), no overseers (Permanent secretaries who know their work and can advise massa while directing labour) and no effective labour (who, un-overseen, are happy to twiddle their thumbs for the few hours they are actually at work while holding back the rest of us who they depend on for tax income) has run this plantation called Barbados to ruin.

Big surprise.

We will see if the next gov’t can do any better soon enough.

26. Did the government through the PM or minister of foreign affairs hold a press conference to update the country on the recently held HoGs conference in Grenada?

27. Can some enlightened BU member tell us what the BU household is missing as it relates to one minister after the other mouthing off on the unions as the country is gripped in industrial unrest?

28. David

The Bajan mind tends to permanently suggest that we can do what ever we like, miss historical opportunities, expect the same opportunities will always present, will come again.

This is the national mind of a child.

During the early 1990’s the trade unions had no problems with seeing workers economic rights being abridged.

In fact, one union leader, the Grand Ole Duke of York, was totally occupied with the notion of becoming PM.

So instead of engaging the union in the economic democracy discourse, as champion, that short man was more interested in begging the same White corporate elites to let him be PM, when union involvement in the Mutual Affair, for example, could have shifted ownership patterns in Barbados fundamentally.

This story is longer. You know what has happened since.

29. @Pacha

What continues to bother some of us is that Barbados had no qualms in years of yore to chart its path for others to follow, today there is a resignation to accept the reversal role.

30. WORKERS AT THE Bridgetown Port are off the job.

31. David

When you say Barbados you really mean the elites who have controlled the economy. Barbados as the global centre of the slave trade, etc.

But it is an historical mistake to presume that these notions of self determination went any deeper as functions of global capitalism.

Now the demands of the market have changed we are clearly seeing that the country has no bench, to use a basketball term.

Everybody, system, organization, is paralyzed.

32. David

If what Hants is saying is true. Industrial action at the Bridgetown Port.

The Port has been, for decades, a centre of trade union power.

That that union could not see, 25 years ago, that ownership and control of that Port was central to its survival was a monumental mistake that can only be assuaged with the death of that union.

All of these things were on the table in the early 1990’s period.

An enlightened trade union would done the right thing.

33. David,

I have no idea if my view can enlighten, but my thought is that the current impasse merely represents the disconnect between Gov’t and citizens and mismanagement generally that exists.

According to Barbados Today, one Minister has objected to the Opposition leader’s criticism of the long period of non occupation of the Government houses built in St.Philip.

After years of alleged completion of noted houses, his reported statement is patting himself on the back that some are now occupied.

After years….! And he has the nerve to rebut criticism from the Opp leader.

At this point, Gov’t should be earnestly and apologetically explaining the situation as to why taxes have gone on unoccupied buildings, with people still needing houses and with the Grotto fiasco on top.

Simply madness. It gives the impression of an entitlement attitude on the part of those who have been elected to represent, not rule.

In summary, my view is that endemic moral corruption has caused the current disconnects and issues that have arisen.

Everyone is entitled, no one is accountable.

34. Vincent Haynes Avatar

6 mins ·
    Private sector association calls urgent meeting
    THE BARBADOS Private Sector Association (BPSA) is seeking an urgent consultation with the wider private sector of Barbados.The meeting will be held on Thursday,…
    nationnews.com
    https://shar.es/1Tpyup

35. Barbados continues to sink, a polarised political space. Even as the country is gripped in the throes of industrial unrest jackasses can be heard braying from parliament. BUT the leader remains silent.

36. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar

The only thing that can save Barbados right now is change and the renewed enthusiasm that comes with it.

That means immediate general elections.

Hopefully the next gov’t won’t squander the enthusiasm that this gov’t did.

37. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Lets hope this escalates to the point where the Unions see the wisdom of calling for the dissolving of parliament and the date for elections…….hopefully the private sector will support them in it.

38. Opposition with commanding victory in Bermuda . winning by 24 seats to 12.

In 2018 Opposition with commanding victory in Barbados . winning by 24 seats to 6. lol

39. “The unions notified their members by Whatsapp message last night that they were “upping de ting” with sick out action planned for Wednesday and Thursday”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/19/sick-out-ordered/

40. Any ah wunna feel de Earthquake this morning ?

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

“In summary, my view is that endemic moral corruption has caused the current disconnects and issues that have arisen.
    Everyone is entitled, no one is accountable.”

Very accurate, Nor is this new. There is a level of arrogance which is almost unimaginable, until you face it head on. It is mirrored on the Sinatra hit “I did it my way”. So many have been offended, they wish them to fail, just so they can say “I told you so”. This is no way to move forward on any front. Far from any concept of partnership, however strained, this is developing into war.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Definition of a real boycott, which was initially started to chase the perpetrator (s) who caused the grievances out…and works, if done genuinely.

“A boycott is an organized, deliberate effort by consumers, workers, or businesses to avoid trade that benefits another group, business, or an entire country whose policies they disagree with.

There aren’t many people who’ve heard about Charles Cunningham Boycott, but almost everyone has heard his last name. There is a story that is attached to this man whose last name gave rise to a new word – Boycott.

Charles Cunningham Boycott was born on March 12, 1832, in the village of Burgh St. Peter, Norfolk, England. He was educated in Blackheath, London.

Caricature of Charles Boycott by Spy (Leslie Ward). Boycott is shown with a long gray beard, a long nose, and a bald head.
    Even in his early years, he was interested in the military and he decided to enter the Royal Military Academy in 1848.

In 1849, he failed a periodic exam and he was discharged from the academy but in 1850 his family bought him a commission in the 39th Foot regiment.

His regiment was transferred to Belfast and later in Dublin where he got married. He was ill in 1852 and he had to sell his commission, but he remained in Ireland.

After he retired from the army he became an agent for John Crichton, 3rd Earl of Erne, who owned 40,386 acres in Ireland, 2,184 of them in County Mayo.

The Earl offered Charles the agency of his lands near Neale, and a lease on a farm of 629 acres with a good house with yard and stables, a ruined castle, two islands, a boathouse and sporting rights.

The former house of Charles Boycott on Achill Island. The house has been modernized and renovated since Boycott’s time. Photo Credit

Boycott’s duty was to collect the rents from the other 35 tenants and generally look after the estate. At this stage, after twenty years in the county, he considered himself a Mayoman.

The problems for Boycott started in the year of 1879 when economic downturn caused a crisis in Irish agriculture and famine was a constant threat.

The Irish peasants began to organize in order to make demands for reduced rents.

Led by Home Rule advocates Charles Stewart Parnell and Michael Davitt they created the Irish Land League in 1879 in Ireland and told Boycott in 1880 that he must reduce rents by 25 percent.

Charles Stewart Parnell
    Boycott refused to lower the rent but he didn’t expect that this decision he made would ruin everything he created in the past years.

The Mayo branch of the Irish Land League urged Boycott’s employees to withdraw their labor and began a campaign of isolation against Boycott in the local community.

They didn’t just refuse to work the land owned by Lord Erne but they didn’t even speak with him, no one would sit near him in church, or serve him in any way shape or form.

No one wanted to work for Boycott and in the end, much of the crop was ruined.

Boycott had to leave the island in disgrace and his name became a synonym for the concept of isolating someone in order to bring about change.”

43. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/19/sutherland-what-about-the-eia-on-hyatt/

i will never understand the stupidity of government ministers…

you certainly need an impact study for offshore oil drilling, but commonsense would also tell you that a study is also vital for a 15 story hotel which could be impacted by heavy equipment offshore drilling and tumble into the sea…

….the island is coral stone..

some drilling takes up to 40-50 years before they produce results or dont.

44. Calling a spade Avatar
    Calling a spade

Each year at Crop Over the unions mount protests against government. Last year the airport was targeted this year the port, transport , QEH on the block. The unions hurt the economy and the society. No gain but pain for the country. Mia Mottley who Owen accuse as the not so hidden hand behind the perennial disruption using it as a shortcut to Bay Street. The unions couldn’t care less if the $ is devalued or if tourists stop coming they want 23% increase in pay. Macdowell, Redman, Moore happy to up de ting. Government should give the increase and cut 10,000 public service jobs. The IMF will be happier than Redman. Barbados will turn into the English speaking Haiti. The private sector heavy boys Herbert, Tibbits, Williams et al hop on their private jets for New Zealand and Canada. The union members are up the creek to suck salt.

45. aka waiting, commentator, fan etc

46. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar

Spade, you understand that civil service retirement rate is around 5% per annum right?

Compound 5% over 9 years and tell me how many civil servants would have to be fired today to meet our wage budget if new ones hadn’t been hired for political reasons over the past 9 years.

I’ll do it for you. From an estimated 30,000 in 2008 there would now be 19,000 by retirement alone, nothing to do with other attrition.

Now consider the office space, electric bills, gov’t cars, fuel, stationary, etc. etc. costs that go along with those people. It is not just the wages bill that is the problem, it is massive gov’t consumption and wastage.

There was never any understanding of or intention by the DLP gov’t to address the problems this country has. They simply jumped on a runaway train.