George Brathwaite (PhD)

“We are losing sight of civility in government and politics. Debate and dialogue is taking a back seat to the politics of destruction and anger and control. Dogma has replaced thoughtful discussion between people of differing views.” – James McGreevey.

Thousands of Barbadians are getting into the festive mood although the sweet songs of calypso and the rhythms of bashment soca will hardly drive away the burdensome taxes that are pounding down on the population. The social commentary will not minimize the concerns that Barbadians have about their troubled economy and society; if anything, the constant reminder indicates that change is necessary. As it stands today, Barbados is troubled by low economic growth, a stinging fiscal deficit, increases in the incidence of poverty, an unemployment rate that is still unacceptably high – particularly among the youth, rising gun-related crimes, and a preponderance of socioeconomic inequalities persists. Key economic drivers for growth appear to have become elusive and investments have slowed significantly. Simultaneously, workers and their trade unions are somewhat weakened by their abandonment of total solidarity, and may even be scapegoats for capitalists’ interests. Clearly, the Government is overwhelmed and by the daunting challenges and inundated by calls for improved performances.

Cabinet Ministers have resorted to increased bombast and propaganda while referring to one or more citizens as enemies of the state. Indeed, it is not uncommon to hear Government spokespersons and elements in the business class peppering labour with blame for the insufficiency of national productivity. Ironically, a few days ago, the Minister of Labour implied that the unions were in denial, and misrepresented the facts on not getting salary increases. That Minister suggested that the trade unions are now becoming part of the problem given a reluctance to accept that the Minister of Finance was following the best option under ‘grim’ macroeconomic circumstances. In cruel mockery, it was none other than Prime Minister Stuart pontificating that: It is better … to be going to work every day and having to deal with a higher price here or higher price there than not to be going to work and having to deal with the same prices anyhow. … If you are not going to work you can’t deal with the prices at all. You can’t get the things you want.” The twisted logic from these spokespersons almost always conclude that their ways of conducting national affairs are the only viable actions holding sway and gravitas.

Nonetheless, Barbadians know that talk is cheap. Getting by one day to the next is becoming far more expensive for the average man and woman, the worker and unemployed, businesses both large and small, and the abled and disabled. Unless Barbados finds and uses the appropriate tools to ease the plight of the nation, eventually all may be consumed by the economic setbacks and societal inertia that have visited this country for too long. Barbados needs to discuss whatever are the problems in a truthful, forthright, and non-partisan manner. A useful starting point is the tri-partite ‘Social Partnership’; this mechanism offers the opportunity for meaningful social dialogue.

Today’s political and civic leaders have tended to send lots of mixed messages, many of which are overly politicized. The actual content of divisive communications is as much disconcerting as the difficulties facing the island. Barbadians have sacrificed much during the past five years. Yet, many feeling the woe, perceive that sacrifice has rolled over into punishment for electing a less than stellar legislature. The overall credibility of the current administration has waned with every piece of spin and misrepresentation. Some persons prefer to drift along until the ‘pocketed’ date is given by Prime Minister Stuart, although it is not a logical approach given that the wait can be legally and politically extended for selfish reasons. Regardless, compromise is necessary in the national quest to overcome burdens of the day because ominous clouds are already on the doorstep.

Through the Social Partnership there can be a rebuilding of trust amongst local stakeholders. This factor leads to some questions for which the answers can again give Barbadians the hope for progress and benefits. What useful and pragmatic lessons are extractable and usable from the Social Partnership and purposeful social dialogue? What can stakeholders do to urgently redirect the Barbados economy and society on a pathway to prosperity and justice? How many more groups ought to comprise a workable partnership of cooperation? One recalls former Prime Minister Owen Arthur contending that ‘the social partnership should never become unwieldy and, should be able to evolve to address challenges as they arise’. Surely, the challenges today are serious and Barbados must consider broadening the partnership of social dialogue. Included in the decision-making process should be the youth, the church, and other important cogs in civil society. These segments of society cannot remain on the periphery.

Lo and behold, Barbadians learnt last Friday of Prime Minister Stuart’s confession in which the citizens’ livelihoods have badly floundered. Stuart would say nebulously that in time to come “life will get somewhere near back to the normal to which we have been accustomed.” Clearly, the current administration is widely adrift from Barbadian norms, and needs all the help it can get. Despite the resident tendency to reject those with an alternative plan of action, the administration is desperate. Whichever political party forms the next administration, regardless of any premonitions, it must rely on the potency of working together, re-building trust, and doing the right thing predicated solely on the national interest.

In fact, this is precisely why the Barbados Social Partnership was formulated. The severe economic and corresponding challenges of the early 1990’s, prompted a phase of innovation that was adaptively borrowed from the Irish. The Social Partnership was envisaged to function for the national good, and saw the Government, employers’ representatives and trade unions’ representatives gravitate towards social dialogue. By the end of 1991, it became a worry that Barbados was forced to resort to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for assistance. The Social Partnership became ‘a core strategy to avoid the prescriptions’ advocated by the IMF, and to ward off devaluation of the Barbados dollar. Subsequently, in 1993 after gaining consensus in which mutual respect and interests led to ‘a paradigm shift in the concerts and practices of governance’, the partnership established the first ‘Prices and Incomes Protocol’. The tripartite partnership and the ensuing protocols determined a package of ‘measures to reverse the gradual erosion of the country’s competitiveness’ by addressing specific economic problems and their social consequences.

Despite the very austere and trying circumstances Barbados had to undergo, the framework of social dialogue helped to shape a national discourse for development over the next 10 to 15 years. Social dialogue was fused together through interdependence and cooperation. Importantly, the nation was committed to seeing off the worse. The partnership would eventually guide Barbados to safety. Two Cave Hill academics – Wayne Charles-Soverall and Jamal Khan – wrote an insightful article indicating that the willingness of stakeholders to engage in social dialogue, the willingness to achieve national consensus based on pragmatic solutions, the ability to place national interests above all else, and the resolve to implement bold decisions were crucial in forging cooperation among entities normally focussed and sometimes hemmed in due to their differing interests. Today, there can be little doubt that Barbados is exposed to another string of ‘socioeconomic and political crises’ which can derail national development. These challenges must be urgently and adeptly addressed beginning with responsible and honest social dialogue.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com)

98 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Social Dialogue for Development”

1. We know the leader of the fearsome union foursome set on continuous disruption of orderly public life. The crown of thorns sits on the head of Mary Redman whose droopy jaw lines when Jeff Broomes had her cornered like the proverbial rat have given way to unconvincing smiles.

Art man Bush Tea tell us she’s a white albino. She resembles a blood relative of Bizzy Williams. Redman is the power muguffy with her trusted advisor Patrick Frost lurking. Akinni MacDontwell and Toni Moore for Less are followers. Duke of York won’t be out of order if he rode back and claimed his fiefdom.Teacher Pedro not only looks a complete follower but last in line at the back.

Oh for the day when someone who looks like us casts aside the Mary Redmans and guides the trade union movement in the interest of the entire country. Government has met demand after demand from teachers and public workers the huge amount of appointments come to mind to no avail. No matter what steps government takes Redman is unsatisfied.

Her legacy will be of disruption in the socio political life of our fair isle. Only the nuisance Commissiong friend of Venezuela dictator Maduro rivals her. CCC posits the uncalled for dislocation in orderly public life by pests Redman and Commsiong, both foreigners, costs govt loads of time and money in court defenses and overtime for our hard working police. Money better spent on the poor and vulnerable the unions don’t give two wuk ups about.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

What point Carson..you mean you being your usual deceitful self, who could miss that.

How is your master these days, heard he is in mourning, no more protection from his crimes, his protection croaked.

3. This letter would have dissuaded a few.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

If this amount is true, no wonder Maloney and the gang of parasites he represents will go to any length, tell any lie to pretend they are saving Barbados and the people by building Hyatt….to get their hands on at least a few hundred million dollars of the 4.7 billion dollars of pensioners money sitting in the fund..

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/11/sinckler-nis-safe/

This government has to be thrown out of office….NIS is not safe with them at the helm.

“Sinckler: NIS safe
    Fund not in trouble, says Minister of Finance

Added by Marlon Madden on July 11, 2017.
    Saved under Local News, National Insurance
    Barbadians are being assured that the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) remains viable, with assets of approximately $4.7 billion up to the end of last year”

5. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

You hired the Judicial managers…..now you are blaming them ….interesting

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/photos/a.293752783190.144768.246784233190/10154971672283191/?type=3

6. Can the minister please break down these ‘assets’ for us? How much is property, how much is equity capital (Barbados, Caricom and global), how much is in bonds (Barbados, regional and global), how much is in cash?
    Can the minister tell us how these equity and bond investments are managed? Who are the managers? Are they active or passive managers?How they are paid, out of capital or a percentage of returns?
    Can the minister, or the chairman of the NIS, publish details of our investments: asset allocation and stockpicking? How provides the research for the stockpicking? In short, we want details of our investments.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

This is all elementary….fraud played a big part in selling illegal EPA policies to senior citizens without their knowledgr.

Leroy Parris should be locked up for fraud, he still can be.

800 million dollars of taxpayer’s money to underwrite the CLICO fraud.

how much more damage to the people woukd Parris and Thompson had done, if Thompson had not been taken out of the equation.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/11/not-out-fault/

And of course it’s never Fruendel and Sinckler’s fault.

Because Fruendel and Sinckler have no powers of parliament and cannot call up the chief justice or have nuisance, useless Adriel Nitwit Dimwit Jackass have the chief justice pressure the greedy judicial managers, or master of documents or whichever idiot is holding up closure of the CLICO matter…..to do their jobs.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

LOVELY.

The unions will have to pull their pockets to pay.

NO WORK, NO PAY from their employer.

That’s just great.

9. The Union leaders were very clear yesterday, they will ask members to strike WITHOUT pay if necessary.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson….when is the funeral.

11. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

The Unions should shut down the country untill a date for elections is called….reduction by 5% is a non point as the entire budget serves no purpose as it cannot take us out our financial mess.

……and here is the tip of the iceberg.

Inniss: Delay in foreign exchange levy will hurt revenue target
    Minister of International Business, Small Business Development, Industry and Commerce Donville Inniss agrees with local economist Jeremy Stephen…
    barbadostoday.bb
    https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/12/inniss-delay-in-foreign-exchange-levy-will-hurt-revenue-target/

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

fortyacresandamule July 11, 2017 at 8:39 PM #….. at 8:55 PM #

Africa has 53 states with immense resources, and not one can hold a candle to our economic and social achievement.

It’s no secret we are tourism dependent economy and have a narrow economic base like the rest of the countries in the caribbean space.
    ………………………………………………………………………………

Your above comments says it all as to why we are where we are now

……your selective belief in comparing us to others,especially the non achievers.

……I wonder why Singapore was left out of the comparison chart as they were in a worst position to us under colonial times.

……economic and social development built on quicksand can easily disappear as it is doing now.

…..then your fatalist approach we are a tourism dependent country forgeting that we are using outdated methodology….why???

……Many niche areas exist in the world for us to have started a solid foundation in our country for sustainable development.

Presently.

…….we have refused to embrace solar technology,computer technology,herbal science,sustainable agriculture,community tourism,etc,etc.

…….restructure our system of operation(i.e. governance,judicial,education,sport,etc,etc)

We sat back for 50 years on our inheritance of sugar and our good name in manufacturing and tourism…..so that today you can cry about tourism dependance…..not realising that the same manufacturing and sugar can assist with niche products.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson….is that Stephen ” ten dollar” Lashley’s brand new luxury vehicle?

… only bajans with short memories would forget just months ago he was illegally begging bajans for $10.00 each to build the stadium yall neglected for a decade…

……although yall picked up hundreds of millions of taxpayers and pensioners money to give away to Maloney, Coe, Bizzy, Bjerkham and a gang of parasites, instead of building a stadium.

Between that and yall refusing to lock up Leroy Parris for fraudulently selling senior citizens illegal policies…and not doing something about the fraudulent criminal from CGI….

…….there is not a chance in hell your government will be reelected.., ever again.

Added to that the arrogant, ignorant Dumbville Inniss comment of the only thing marching could achieve is weight loss….yall are doing just fine,

Adios vida baja

Auf Wiedersehen niedriges Leben

Au revoir faible vie

14. Mary Redman is on crutches and idiot Vincent Haynes calls for a shut down of the country. Vincent throws hissy fits daily on BU for his goal of imploding the country. Mary Redman should heed warning signs. The man BU loves to hate David Thompson experienced a similar injury at a similar gathering. Human beings receive warnings from time to time. A word to the wise.

Wont is be in the interest of the country for unions to temper their confrontation approach. Sit with government work through difficult problems we face instead of demonstrations as first option. Citizens don’t support the violent behavior of the unions. Donville Poonka Inniss mouthings are his alone. Private sector head boy Eddie Abed on record against strikes which drive nails in the economic coffin. Enough said.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Head Boy”

Why are drug lords still allowed so much say on the island.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ fortyacresandamule July 11, 2017 at 5:56 PM
    “@Hal. It is totally untrue to say Barbados is an economic failure. We may not have the envious growth record of some asian economies, but, relatively speaking, our human development index is comparble to some developed economies. On a more broader perspective, Barbados and Bahamas are two high- income economies with a high human development record , achieved on the back of no natural resources. No other ‘b{l}ack’- ruled countries can make such claim.”

What an assertive claim of excessive jingoism!

Even more altruistic in intent than your moniker indicates as a promise to slavish black fools in the southern (Dis)united States to keep them from engendering any thought of violent rebellion.

If you are so sure about your hyperbolic assertion name one, just one, of the so-called developed economies against which Barbados can be compared today on the UN Human Development Index; unless you are going to classify Trinidad & Tobago and Antigua & Barbuda or even Uruguay as “developed” countries.

Barbados’s chances of ever achieving such a lofty ranking on the UN HDI evaporated since the mid 1990’s when Barbados was ranked at No.20 or at No.1 in the “developing” world.

During those halcyon years Barbados held the enviable position just behind Israel at No.19 which today stands ‘still’ in the same spot compared to the sliding Barbados at No.54 as it becomes more and more a banana republic.

If Barbados were that comparably ‘developed’ would there be such unacceptably high level of indiscipline and incompetence in executing routine public works or to create the necessity for its social elite to travel overseas to undergo straightforward surgical procedures as witnessed in the case of the recently deceased DP to use evermore scarce foreign exchange?

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Commentator July 12, 2017 at 9:48 AM
    “Wont is be in the interest of the country for unions to temper their confrontation approach. Sit with government work through difficult problems we face instead of demonstrations as first option. Citizens don’t support the violent behavior of the unions.”

Waiting, it seems as if the unions have not learned from their past actions.

Are these the same unions which ‘trotted’ up and down Bay Street under the futile guidance of the grand Ole Duke of York the ‘Trot’ man?

Since Lord Fumble is even more unpopular than Sandie was then, why not repeat the scenario and tell the unions and their BLP cheerleaders to either “like it or lump it”.

In other words, the commentator, with multiple monikers tell the people to either ‘tek wunna fiscally get’ from Stinkliar or face the dreaded externally inflicted disease called “Devaluation”.

18. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Only really shallow people wont ever elucidate in their minds that the term developing country designated to small islands is designed to stay that way in perpetuity….never becoming developed for centuries going forward.

how else would the parasitic larger countries retain their wealth besides keeping developing countries forever developing in debt.

Miller…it`s the backward politicians and government ministers own fault that the island is not more medically advanced in technology, they keep churning out doctors but remain stagnant re medical tech..

they should have had at least one or 2 specialized urologists trained in that new prostate procedure with the robotic equipment available at QEH, as a second or 3rd option after radioactive pellets option…as soon as men hit their 40s, they are at risk for prostate cancer.

even in the field of tech…unknown to the government, some of their scholars who studied that discipline outside, it generates hundreds of thouands of foreign exchange dollars for the island….from 2010…at least 10 or 15 scholars should have been sent to study programming…the island is 20 years behind.

19. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Vincent. Everyone loves to talk about Singapore. Yes! Singapore should be our reference point and aspiration, but Singapore is an outlier in the history of economic success. If their methodology and model was that easy, we would have had many Singapores by now.

Economic development and success is a constant work-in-progress and can take decades upon decades for the average country to achieve. Dealing with many human beings and hundreds of moving parts is no easy feat. It makes going to interstellar space a cake walk.
    Most Latin American countries have been independent for over or close to two hundred years, and none have achieved first world status as yet. I get it, everybody wants success and the best for their country, but for some of us our expectations are too much grounded in fantasy and not reality.

20. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

….from 2010…at least 10 or 15 scholars should have been sent to study programming ANNUALLY, they would have cleared millions in foreign exchange in the last 7 years and since programming covers such a wide array of disciplines, they would have been unstoppable for decades.

but when ya small minded ya small minded like Jackass Jones……hence the island is 20 years behind.

21. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Forty

We are looking through the same lenses…..the difference lies in your acceptance of the status quo and my frustration over the missed opportunities we have had over the decades,especially in the area of agriculture that I have been involved in for 50 odd years.

22. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Miller. The literate on the history of economic development and success reads more like a crap shoot venture than anything else. Some of you guys are too unreasonable hard on Bim in the broader scheme of things.

Most small high-income countries and territories all over the world that lack a natural resource base , resort, basically to three things: Tourism, real estate, and financial services. Barbados is no exception. Even those well developed tiny states in Europe over 50% of their gdp is built on the above mention services. For years, prophets of doom, naysayers, political opposition, and crtitics alike have predicted the demise of Barbados to no avail.

I agree our economy is built on shaky foundation, but then again, seriously speaking, which economy in the world isn’t built on some questionable base. The financial crisis of 2008 exposed those who were “swimming naked”. Even the great USA is getting a free-ride because of the exorbitant privilege of the green back status as reserve currency .

23. @Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger July 12, 2017 at 9:40 AM “refusing to lock up Leroy Parris for fraudulently selling senior citizens illegal policies…”

You seem to have forgotten that Leroy Parris is not a leper, that he is Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s friend.

24. @Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger July 12, 2017 at 11:59 AM “they should have had at least one or 2 specialized urologists trained in that new prostate procedure.”

In another section of the media I commented a few months ago that “is it not strange that Barbados has 2 urologists, 17 obstetrics/gynaecologists, (page 182 and 183 of the 2016-17 Yellow Pages) and 14 veterinarians (page 41 of the 2016-17 Yellow Page) and asked why we have more doctors to look after our dogs, than to look after our “doggies?”

I was promptly slapped down and asked “why do I have to bring everything down to sex.” As though sex is somehow a bad thing, or an unimportant thing. Please note that I was not talking about sex, but about a deficiency of health care and health care planning for our men.

So I shut up. After all I have no dog nor doggie in the game. I have no father, brother, husband, brother, uncle or son. So why should I care?

But now that our DPP has died, maybe those brighter and more “decent” than I am will ensure that his death will not be in vain. Because he is not the only high level official with prostate cancer, who does not have readily available, that is in Barbados urological care, and our poor men don’t have such care either.

I understand that some of our specialists may not be listed in the yellow pages, but in what sort of alternate world do we fool ourselves into believing that fewer that 6 urologists, maybe fewer than 3, are an adequate number to look after a community of more than 100,000 men with a seeming genetic disposition to prostate cancer.

In addition have we asked ourselves if the Arch Cot tragedy has anything to do with the DPP’s death?

I have nothing more to say.

25. Our DPP could afford to fly to Florida, and no doubt so can our 1% and our political class, but what about the other men, the men who grow our food, who do our fishing, who build our houses, sell us our gas, pick up our trash, keep us safe while we sleep at night. What about them. They are men too.

Right?

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“they will ask members to strike WITHOUT pay if necessary.”

So am I to take it that the Trade Unions strike funds are still all empty?
    What have they done with the strike funds, bought too many BMW’s . Mercedes Benzes, paid too many high price Barbados Labour Party Lawyers?

An investigation should be launched into the manner in which the Trade Union movement spends workers contributions. Workers would be alarmed at how their contributions are wasted on lavish spending and life styles by the Trade Unions top brass.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“they will ask members to strike WITHOUT pay if necessary.”

When the workers strike without pay, The Trade Union top brass will still be collecting their five figure salaries plus benefits.

The only sacrifice to be made will be those who can ill afford to make sacrifice if the mouthings of the Trade unions are to be believed. They are up and down saying that the workers are poor and in bad state yet that is who they are calling on to strike without pay.

Some of the large sums of money these Trade Unions are paying to high price Barbados Labour Party Lawyers for nothing, should be paid to the workers, after all its their contributions which the Trade unions top brass are squandering.

Wunna BLP brown nosers really take Bajans for johnnies.

28. @Fortyacresandamule

Why mention the USA with its diverse economy to rebound, too besides, it is a market maker.

29. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Miller

Forty….is into finding and making excuses……as I have said he is comfortable with the staus quo.

30. Wuh shiite dah the Head of the Civil Service write in dah Memo? lmao

31. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

`in another section of the media I commented a few months ago that “is it not strange that Barbados has 2 urologists, 17 obstetrics/gynaecologists, (page 182 and 183 of the 2016-17 Yellow Pages) and 14 veterinarians (page 41 of the 2016-17 Yellow Page) and asked why we have more doctors to look after our dogs, than to look after our “doggies?”

I was promptly slapped down and asked “why do I have to bring everything down to sex.” As though sex is somehow a bad thing, or an unimportant thing. Please note that I was not talking about sex, but about a deficiency of health care and health care planning for our men.

So I shut up. After all I have no dog nor doggie in the game. I have no father, brother, husband, brother, uncle or son. So why should I care?`

lol….say more, say more Simple.

it is a crying shame that men control the field of medicine on the island and they seem to care so little for each others prostates, they only display penis sympathy for certain things sex related but none for the deadly prostate cancer.

…there should be as many urologists on the island as there are vets…as you said, i have no doggie in Barbados` deadly, uncaring game, those close to me are all dual citizens.

…although the deceased was said to be involved in things he should have stayed out of….the below was some of the side effects of the procedures he had.

Such risks include cardiac or pulmonary events, infections, blood clots, or injuries to structures around the prostate. he was on borrowed time for quite a while.

32. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Simple…all they would have had to do is wait him out.

..too many people play dangerous games with people`s lives, health and wellbeing in Bim, for their own selfish gains.

33. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

what the hell is wrong with these drivers on the island, why are they so careless with other people`s lives. it seems as though there is very little respect for life.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/12/update-road-fatality-at-westmoreland-st-james/

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ fortyacresandamule July 12, 2017 at 1:58 PM
    “The literate on the history of economic development and success reads more like a crap shoot venture than anything else. Some of you guys are too unreasonable hard on Bim in the broader scheme of things.
    Most small high-income countries and territories all over the world that lack a natural resource base , resort, basically to three things: Tourism, real estate, and financial services. Barbados is no exception. Even those well developed tiny states in Europe over 50% of their gdp is built on the above mention services. For years, prophets of doom, naysayers, political opposition, and crtitics alike have predicted the demise of Barbados to no avail.”

Well, then, stop comparing yourself (Bim) to others (more so-called developed countries).

As the poem Desiderata goes: ‘you might just become vain or bitter’ thereby falling into the trap of hubristically feeling yourself better than your neighbours and believing in the myth that God is a black Bajan.

Why not compare yourself to Bermuda, Cayman Islands or even Singapore and see where you stand?

If Barbados is perceived as being better than its neighbours it has nothing to do with the present crop of political leaders or captains of industry.

Barbados has always been ahead of the social development pack going way back into colonial days when many Barbadians were so well educated and trained to the extent they were posted to the other islands and afar to be the conveyors of education and to occupy middle and senior management positions in the various public services.

Today where does Barbados find itself? No longer punching above its weight but almost at the bottom of the pile of failing black states in the financial back-yard of junk bonds thanks to a bunch of corrupt hand-to-mouth book-learnt black johnnies posing as politicians.

“If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain or bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.”

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This was posted on my feed:

“WHEN YOU VOTE FOR THE LESSER OF TWO EVILS, YOU HAVE STILL VOTED FOR EVIL

Is the BLP actually campaigning on a promise to take Barbados to the IMF? And we are supposed to vote to go to the IMF? It is like they are twisting reality to say girls are boys, up is down, and Chuckie is our friend!

What fresh hell is this?

If elected, will the BLP reverse the taxes and levies that have been imposed and give the civil servants a raise or nah? I ain bout the rhetoric. Answer my direct questions with unequivocal answers.

Tell me what yuh offering.”

R. Gilkes

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan July 12, 2017 at 5:36 PM
    “If elected, will the BLP reverse the taxes and levies that have been imposed and give the civil servants a raise or nah? I ain bout the rhetoric. Answer my direct questions with unequivocal answers.”

Carrion, here is a vacillating answer you can provide to the idiot boy Gilkes who seems blissfully unaware you guys have passed this way before:

The BLP will do the same thing it did in returning the 8% cut to the public sector workers and what the current DLP did by retroactively reinstating their 10% sacrifice in salary because you ought to know the economy just as in 1991is and will continue into 2018 firing on all cylinders but instead of batting likes Sobers it will be batting like Deandra Dottin.

Here is a blast from the DLP past: Job Nos.1, 2 & 3 are “Cost of Living, Cost of Living, Cost of Living”.

Don’t you think that on basis alone the DLP ought to be fired without any severance payment whatsoever?

Mene, mene tekel upharsin! A clear case of what goes around also comes around.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger July 12, 2017 at 5:21 PM

I take it that there are no road fatalities in Canada?

38. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…this is what your government needs.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/98623/-brazil-president-lula-sentenced-nearly-corruption

`BRASILIA – Former Brazilian leader Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, a top contender to win next year’s presidential election, was convicted on corruption charges on Wednesday and sentenced to nearly 10 years in prison.

The ruling marked a stunning fall for Lula, who will remain free on appeal, and a serious blow to his chances of a political comeback`

A senior citizens disembarks from a bus in a little layby on a narrow stretch of road with no safety signs or reduced speed limits, two speed demons in trucks wider than the road manage to collide and kill this lady….and you are trying to draw a comparison to Canada….where……her family would be compensated in a timely manner for their loss and the speed demons severely punished for her death.

you see why we wonder about you intelligence level Carson, your fellow idiot in Canada Alvin would have made the same dumb analysis, is it a yardfowl thing.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

So this does not matter then?

“Canada Road Traffic Crash Car Accidents. There are about 160,000 road accidents in Canada every year. According to the Transportation Safety Board approximately 2800 to 2900 people are killed on Canadian roads each year.”

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

When are you, and the other old age pensioners on Barbados Underground, going to stop trying to portray Barbados as the worse place on Earth?

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

What Are The Causes Of Most Accidents In Canada

(1) Racing and Reckless Driving

(2) Running at Red Lights

(3) Tailgating

(4) Ignoring traffic rules

(5) Driving In the Wrong Direction

Why is it that idiots like you take every single opportunity to try to pull down Barbados , when where you live is hardly any different?

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…whenever you go on one of your Tourette’ s like tirade, it shows your ignorance of what is going on and what is wrong in your tiny island, this is the reason I posted on that female’s death by speed demons…..it appears to be the 4th death in the same spot, which should be rectified but being neglected by the minister of transport who is being being paid a salary by taxpayers, but never seem to be doing his job for the taxpayers, but always happy to be available for his corrupt, criminal master.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/12/deadly-junction/

“Deadly junction
    residents react to island’s 16th road fatality

Added by Davandra Babb on July 12, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    The death today of a former Ellerslie Secondary School janitor at a junction in Westmoreland, St James has prompted calls for a roundabout in the area in an attempt to put a stop to the frequent vehicular accidents there.

Sixty-one-year-old Mary Downes was struck and killed at the junction moments after disembarking a bus, having earlier visited her doctor for therapy.

Residents told Barbados TODAY the junction has been the scene of many accidents in recent times, at least three of them fatal.

In early March 48-year-old Anderson Dacosta Joseph of Westmoreland was struck and killed in the area by a vehicle driven by 19-year-old Nicholii Greene of Carlton, St James as he was crossing the road with his five-year-old son, who was also injured in the accident and had to be hospitalized.

Like Downes, Joseph was a stone’s throw away from home when he died.

The two vehicles which were involved in the deadly collision that claimed the life of 61-year-old Mary Downes.

“I don’t like these accidents here so all the time. They’re happening way too often. This is the third in a short space of time,” said Jeffrey Smith.

“The only thing that could be done is a roundabout being put there,” advised another resident, Marston Broomes, in echoing Smith’s sentiments.

Member of Parliament for St Thomas Cynthia Forde joined the chorus of calls for action to “mitigate the loss of life and the tremendous injury”.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson Cadogan….this lady’s death is on you.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/98668/tragic-twist-fate

A tragic twist of fate
    CARLOS ATWELL, carlosatwell@nationnews.com
    Added 14 July 2017

0 1 0 0Google +1Print
    mary-downes

Mary Downes pointing out, back in March, how fast some motorists sped along Westmoreland. She lost her life on Wednesday following an accident. (Picture by Nigel Browne)

A VOCAL advocate of safe driving along Westmoreland, St James, has been tragically silenced.

Mary Downes (below), 61, was killed on the spot following a collision between two large trucks along the same Westmoreland. She was actually standing at the side of the road at the time as she had not long disembarked from a bus. mary-downes-face
    The impact of the vehicles caused one of them to careen off to the side, killing Downes.
    In March, the WEEKEND NATION had taken another look at the problem area, which has recorded a number of deaths and near-misses over a long period. (CA)

44. Fractured BLP Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/15/dont-go-there-johnny-warns-ex-prime-minister/

And the BLP charlatans on this BU platform really believe rational thinking Barbadians will take them seriously ……… BLP united me arse ????

Wait till the bell ring ……the BLP calling for elections ????

Canuoan!!!!!!!!!

45. Has anyone seen the recent NY Times magazine article asking the question: Is China the new colonial power?
    Over to you prime minister Stuart.