Hal Gollop, Chairman of the ERT

It seems like just the other day political pundits concerned with integrity in public office whispered the names Hallam Nicholls and Rodney Wilkinson under the reign of Owen Arthur. Although the late David Thompson did not have a lengthy tenure it is no secret he was in bed with Leroy Parris and the significant legal work was dished out to the relatively inexperience lawyer Adrian King from Inn Chambers, the husband of his personal assistant at the time Natasha King.

By the way what is the status of the Rodney Wilkinson court matter?

Of recent vintage we have seen the rise of the recluse Freundel Stuart to be prime minister. It is unusual to describe a politician- especially the prime minister- as one who prefers to live a solitary life. Barbadians were happy to re-elect Stuart although it is obvious he is not a peoples person. With a general election on the horizon there will be time to reflect on how Stuart the politician was able to achieve the impossible.

One man who appears to have the ear and confidence of the prime minister is lawyer Hal Gollop. Before the general election of 2008 the Gollop name was not a household brand. With Thompson forced to vacate the office of prime minister because of a visit from the Grim Reaper, we not only witnessed  the rise of Stuart so too Gollop.

To chronicle how busy Gollop has been since Stuart has taken office would be a lengthy exercise.  However, a cursory examination of how active Gollop has become raises the concern by civic minded Barbadians about the need to enact and operationalize transparency legislation -ideally recruit a contractor general. Barbadians have had to witness the incestuous and familial characteristics practiced by successive governments. Barbados is a small island and if one choses not to believe the Auditor General’s finding in reports presented by that office to parliament going back to 2006 there is the underground chatter.

The rise of Gollop to head the inefficient Employment Rights Tribunal (EFT) in hindsight seems to be part of an orchestration to frustrate a group of people for political reasons. It has been reported on BU 10 of 300 cases filed are recorded to be heard by the very busy Gollop and his team. For those who question the bona fides of Gollop to be referred to as the friend of Stuart the recluse, it is known that Gollop is the campaign manager of Stuart.

Recently Gollop was in the news having invoiced the Barbados Water Authority a cool 1.5 million dollars for vetting routine paper work. He appeared in court last week to represent the prime minister in a matter to challenge the constitutionality of  a motion brought by citizen advocate David Comissiong to have government’s decision reviewed. His most famous public interventions has been his defence of Leroy Parris, buddy of the late prime minister and declared pal of prime minister Stuart. The obvious interplay between Parris, DLP and players, the outstanding settlement of CLICO/BAICO matters is a classic case of what is rotten by the lack of transparency of government practiced in Barbados. In a robust democratic system watchdogs like the media, political Opposition and other NGOs would have been calling for Gollop to recuse himself from many government appointed assignments. One would love to be a fly on the wall to listen to Gollop and Stuart sitting on the patio sipping. There was the Alexandra Waterman Commission that Gollop chaired and pocketed a fat cheque for the trouble. Should we go on?

Is Stuart rewarding Gollop’s loyalty. Are nests being feathered? What does Gollop bring to the table that easily persuades Stuart to provide a gateway for Gollop and his lackeys like Michael Yearwood et al to earn millions coughed up by the taxpayers?

Gollop the Kingmaker.

76 responses to “Hal Gollop Kingmaker”

1. Simple Simon July 10, 2017 at 8:51 PM #

“He wanted to instruct us Simple Simons on the difference between Prime Minister Freundel Jerome Stuart, and Freundel Jerome Stuart, the Minister with responsibility for Town and Country Planning. These chaps are apparently 2 different people. I was not persuaded.”

@ Simple Simon

Despite Hal Gollop engaging in “lexical semantics, I was not persuaded either.

And “to add insult to injury,” Gollop said he also represented other CIVIL SERVANTS, such as the Chief Immigration Officer and went on to name other individuals who were NOT politicians.

Fortunately for Gollop, David Ellis “released the pressure” he had him under.

2. Perhaps Hal Gollop should have taken advice from the late “humble servant” Winston J. Massiah who I used to hear on Rediffusion when I was younger, saying: “I speak where the Bible speak and remain silent where the Bible is silent.”

3. Clearly he tried to ‘bully’ Ellis with his courtroom tactics.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

The useless Dennis Lowe can get nothing right.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/10/truckers-mess/

“Truckers’ mess
    no payment for three months for some waste haulers

Added by Marlon Madden on July 10, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    A messy situation is developing in Government’s garbage collection scheme forged between private waste haulers and the Sanitation Services Authority (SSA) back in October last year.

The Freundel Stuart administration is said to be owing the haulers hundreds of thousands of dollars for work done over the past three to four months, leaving some to wonder how long it could continue.

Barbados TODAY investigations revealed that the situation is so dire that some firms are running out of cash, and at least one has had to send home some of its workers.”

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Why would Gollop say he is not representing Stuart, if he is appearing in the matter, even if it’s just to peruse applications….that is representation….there is first chair, second chair,……….and a whole legal team,…it’s still representation….

….he is either displaying deceit or he dont know the definition of representing.

So many lawyers on the island are incomplete, even the QCs.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/98574/gollops

6. I thought Ellis acquitted himself with aplomb yesterday in the battle of words with Gollop.Ellis met Gollop head on at every encounter and nailed it with certainty that Stuart is Stuart whether he is wearing the hat of Town Planner of last resort or soiling the chair assigned to the Prime Ministership or wrecking the economy while driving a Mercedes Benz and pocketing his 10%.He should ask the BRA why they are overpaying refunds by several million.Dont play with Civil Servants boy.Ask the BRA why cheques for nuff nuff thousands over the refund due,going out to people and companies.

7. Hal Gollop’s call yesterday to Brasstacks confirmed suspicions that had not for Freundel Stuart becoming Prime Minister he would have remained the obsured lawyer that he was.

How could a man who is now touted as a top lawyer come on national radio and say without any shame ………….

“For the record, just let me state and for the records of your mis informed listeners and under informed listeners who might have gone away with the wrong impression, I am not representing the Prime Minister of Barbados”.

“I am involved in a lawsuit which Mr Comissiong has brought against Freundel Jerome Stuart, minister responsible for Town and Country Planning. I am not involved in any lawsuit with the Prime Minister. If there is one, the person representing the Prime Minister of Barbados is not I”.

There you have it………..these moron thinks that we are all uninformed, under informed and are idiots.

To hal Gollop and his friends in the dlp………….time is longer than twine. The people of Barbados will soon show you all who is uninformed!

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol….

Hal Gollop the idiot.

9. @David July 11, 2017 at 2:32 AM quoting Sandra Husbands ” He would not be suggesting that the most that they will gain from the walk tomorrow is weight loss. What arrogance!”

Donville should really join the walkers. His fat self could do with losing a few pounds. I saw him at my church recently and I was not impressed by the size of his belly. I sorry as @ss that I don’t live in St. James South so that I could refuse to vote for him.

10. He should get out of the BMW or the Mercedes or whatever it is and take regular runs around the pasture opposite UWI and near to his constituency office.

Run Donville, run…around the pasture.

11. @Gabriel July 11, 2017 at 8:17 AM “I thought Ellis acquitted himself with aplomb yesterday.”

I was glad to hear Ellis dropping some hot lashes in Hal’s bony @ss yesterday.

12. @David July 11, 2017 at 3:22 AM “courtroom tactics.”

Courtroom tactics wha’

I was listening to the exchange and thinking to myself, idiot, idiot, idiot.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol….Gollop was trying to come across as superior and well informed and slick…, but even the brilliant, well informed, “uninformed and underinformed” saw through it and rated him as an idiot…

.,…so much for being a superior lawyer..lol

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

As for Dumbville……the sooner the electorate takes away that diplomatic passport from him, the better….both him and Michael Lashley.

Wait…who muzzled Carson C. Cadogan.

15. Hal is a pile of a warm dog Shiite

16. And Donna Brathwaite is also a QC, practising longer and brighter than Hal.

17. Enuff

Hal considers himself bright? Bright what? ……….. he has taken full advantage of his friendship with the PM for his own personal gain.

I sat on a board with him and he did not distinguish himself as that bright.

18. Well Well

I wonder if Hal Austin is the same feller I saw on Wade Gibbons Facebook page a couple of years ago? If he is the same feller then he is far from ugly. The man I saw behind the profile on Wade Gibbons page was a good looking guy, so I don’t know wah wunna get this idea dah Hal Austin is some ugly man from England?

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Dumpy….why are you involving me in that.

20. Well Well

Am I sorry Well Well, but many here have made mentioned of Hal Austin looks- which I think is very childish coming from mature men and women. So I articulated the fact that when I was on Facebook, I saw a relatively good looking man who went by the name Hal Austin and called himself a journalist on Wade Gibbons page.

21. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Dumpy……we dont want Hals head to swell, we got enough problems with whats inside his head.

i have seen the comments of his looks, never made any comment myself, only ever saw photos on his articles, cant say if it`s him though.

as far as i am concerned the big problem lies with what resides inside his head.

22. BLP yardfowls on this blog ranting and raving about lack of transparency and cronyism in one breath and in the same breath could support Mottley the demon for Prime Minister. Of course none of her friends are currently being assured of a pick (lol, nor will she practice the kind of politics that saw a BLP female minister of education in the 1990s give a former BLP MP a “contract ” to repair a school that had so much tieffing (lets call it maladministration) that the funding agency has to state their concerns about how it was being executed. Oh wait … that then minister’s initials were MM and it wasn’t Mark Maloney.
    Keep fooling yourself that a change of government will bring this transparency – naïve jokers.

23. @Bajanfuhlife July 11, 2017 at 5:54 PM “BLP yardfowls on this blog ranting and raving about lack of transparency and cronyism…”

Don’t worry. We ain’t all yard fowls.

If Mia mis-behaves, she too will get her lashes.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife July 11, 2017 at 5:54 PM
    “Keep fooling yourself that a change of government will bring this transparency – naïve jokers.”

Are you, Bajan belly full of laughs, also referring to the same naïve jokers who voted for the DLP in 2008 and 2013?

Isn’t that the same bait of good governance and transparency that was dangled before the same gullible jokers called the electorate especially in the decision of OSA the corrupt bad guy and outlawed bandit vs. Fumble the incompetent dummy the paragon of morality now turned to being the epitome of immorality in its basest form?

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I thought Gollop said he was NOT representing Fruendel in Hyatt matter, wasting taxpayer’s money when there are already a gaggle of lawyers paid by taxpayers, occupying the attorney general’s office…..so which is it.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/13/gollop-defends-his-role-in-hyatt-case/

“Gollop defends his role in Hyatt case
    Added by Emmanuel Joseph on July 13, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Queen’s Counsel Hal Gollop has come out swinging against radio commentators who have questioned why he was representing Prime Minister Freundel Stuart in the Hyatt court matter, particularly since the senior counsel works at the law firm founded by Stuart.

Not only has he dismissed any notion that Stuart would benefit financially from his involvement, but Gollop was adamant there was nothing unusual about a lawyer from a private law firm representing Government.”

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply