The following documents shared with the BU family by Dr. Ronnie Yearwood

I believe that at no point in a country’s history, should a single generation be faced with the decisions my generation will have to take to restore the fortunes of Barbados, but there can be no hiding. We are at a point in our history where the next generation to come may have less than the one before. That should simply never be, but again there can be no hiding. There is something resoundingly sobering – and frightening – about this as I speak this evening. Equally, sobering is that I am speaking of governance and truth. Truth is, they should be one and the same. But in Barbados today, elsewhere too, in both developed and developing countries, there has been a vicious divorce of the two principles.

134 responses to “Dr. Ronnie Yearwood | Ideas for a New Politics:Governance and Truth | The Good Society”

1. Miller
    Bree St John dead and gone but his words live on….STINKING DEMS YESTERDAY,STINKING DEMS TODAY,STINKING DEMS TOMORROW.THE DEMS CAN’T CHANGE.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Basdeo Pandy needs to own the racial divide he also helped create in Trinidad, just as he created the anti corruption laws and was the first PM to be arrested for corruption.

The US has to own their evil centuries old actions, they have no choice.

“On July 5, 1852, Douglass gave a speech at an event commemorating the signing of the Declaration of Independence, held at Rochester’s Corinthian Hall. It was biting oratory, in which the speaker told his audience, “This Fourth of July is yours, not mine. You may rejoice, I must mourn.” And he asked them, “Do you mean, citizens, to mock me, by asking me to speak to-day?”

Within the now-famous address is what historian Philip S. Foner has called “probably the most moving passage in all of Douglass’ speeches.”

What, to the American slave, is your 4th of July? I answer; a day that reveals to him, more than all other days in the year, the gross injustice and cruelty to which he is the constant victim. To him, your celebration is a sham; your boasted liberty, an unholy license; your national greatness, swelling vanity; your sound of rejoicing are empty and heartless; your denunciation of tyrants brass fronted impudence; your shout of liberty and equality, hollow mockery; your prayers and hymns, your sermons and thanks-givings, with all your religious parade and solemnity, are to him, mere bombast, fraud, deception, impiety, and hypocrisy — a thin veil to cover up crimes which would disgrace a nation of savages. There is not a nation on the earth guilty of practices more shocking and bloody than are the people of the United States, at this very hour.”

Frederick Douglass

3. Ronnie means well but it doesn’t appear as though he has a plan to have his ideas translated into political action. How will he convince politicians to cede some of their power?

4. How many of you offering criticism attended the forum on the weekend? Why is there an assumption that Ronnie can only achieve change through a poltical party organ? How do we know what he can achieve unless he is allowed time to rollout his plan? Based on what BU has observed he has already achieved more than the several armchair critics many who believe the two party system is the gospel.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Wow, David my sentiments exact. I read the entire account of his speech, namely the first part. I found it to be a telling tale of the state of Barbados affairs expounded by an intellect, but no less discussed ad infinitum by the BU posse. To go forward thinking that the same model that allows for reports to be ignored and financial malpractices to be justified with lies, is the same approach that labels many a politician as not serving in the real interest of what is best for Barbados. I do not understand why it is being thrashed on the frivolous basis that it does not offer solutions or it is catering to a special segment of converts. The truth is, the large percentage of bajans are oriented away from seeing the significance of contributions like that presented by Dr. Clarke. After all it ain’t bashment or Reggae on the Hill. It is brain stimulation and most has a view of such presentations as being only for the elect and well educated. Backward we are and backward we seem to want to remain.

6. @SSS

To add to your comment, we have academics parading in Barbados who brazenly contradict their learning by their public utterances and behaviour as a result of partisan political association. We have different brands of yardfowls.

7. Chad,
    Thanks for reminding me of my limitation. I admit that I come in to this forum to learn, not to preach.
    Your problem, as I have been saying for a long time, is that you are one of the two or three people who make no positive contributions to this forum. You are frighteningly dumb, although in a more impolite moment I would use another word.
    The point of education, especially in policy-making, is to study policies that have gone before to analyse their strengths and weaknesses.
    I do not want o be seen as Ronnie’s defender in chief, but I do admire him and know he has a lot to offer. He is a recognised expert on WTO law, what are you an ‘expert’ on, apart from blowing up you inflated ego?
    In any case, if you have learned about these ‘hundreds’ of growth theories and understand them, , then anyone can.
    As one of your virtual friends, I would suggest to you that before speaking to the seven billion people in the world about anything that you do a bit more studying and a lot less talking.
    I m not surprise you are hiding behind a mask – of ignorance.

8. LOL @ Hal to Chad
    …I admit that I come in to this forum to learn, not to preach…..
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    (Now here cometh the sermon.) 🙂

“Your problem, as i have been preaching for a long time…….”

ha ha ha ha

9. David your comment on armchair critics is very much on point. As a number of commentators on this forum did not attend, perhaps they are unaware that there were 4 presentations and then break out sessions which tried to put concrete options on the table. The sessions focused on five themes – economic management, social service provision, governance, creating a meritocracy in the civil services (cannot remember the other groups) The recommendations were recorded and my impression is that they will be collated into concrete proposals. I heard a number of progressive options (yes along with the half baked ideas that are normally thrown out because of the diverse nature of the participants). One of the overriding messages was that once the proposals and principles were fleshed out then they would be fed into the interfaces available and also made available via social media platforms and open up other interfaces for discussion and change.

Rather than to knock what he is trying to do and being jaded, let’s see if any positive changes emerge. Ronnie may have started the conversation, but other voices may emerge that help to drive it forward so better to focus on messages rather than messengers – this is the weakness of political parties and leads us back to the messiah complex trap.

This was an important event because the two political parties have narrowed the conversation on options to a very limited menu and reduced the discussions to mud slinging, but what the average non-partisan person wants to see is a progressive Barbados that delivers on the ideal of creating an environment where is people thrive. Even more heartening was the strong voice of the youth.

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

@ David and my dearest SSS

While we understand your point about “the Journey (which Ronnie seems to be embarked on?) of a 1,000 miles beginning with the first step(s) (i.e. his outing at Central Bank and the follow up at Harrison College), there is something that is missing here.

It is something that Well Well and Consequences placed squarely in front of us with her recall of “What to the Slave is this Fourth of July?” speech.

The man is in the garage putting wheels on the donkey cart while, in the real world, barbados, there is a need for a Transport Board bus.

He has delivered pep talks ONLY and irrespective of how we may wish to paint those pep talks here duplicated on this blog, his speech is utter flatulence.

Let us get serious now.

You David are a man who, notwithstanding your bias for Mugabe, have skin in the “game”.

You been walking the walk for a long so and so time.

So irrespective of your persuasion and predisposition to the despot, you done been qualified yourself as being more than a virtual armchair denizen.

I done biased bout my girlfriend SSS but suffice it to say that she as a virtual warrior does her fighting here, there (in Europe) and within the other spaces that she interacts with variously.

But let us not confuse erudite speech and so called intellect, such as Mia Mottley possesses, and which many of her sycophants here revere, with vision, actuation and direction.

You are wantonly transposing the messianic quality on a man who just come to the scene.

The Honourable Blogmaster should be ashamed of this line of thought/action of foisting this johnny come lately pun we in the repeated style of Walther PPK Blackman and expecting everyone here to swallow his aspirations hook line and sinker!!

Remembrance is a bitch.

I remember when Danny Gill came here and was run away with a wash pan of licks.

But I also remember when Caswell Came and received the same licks and stood up like a man and countered them with sage counsel NOTHWITHSTANDING DOMPEY THE DONKEY

I remember when the luminary Jeff Cumberbatch came here and was given real licks and was wont to demit the site when many told him to stay and he has become a mainstay on BU NOTWITHSTANDING THE BLATANT HATRED THAT CHAD 99999 accosts him with.

So what the france happening here?

The Blogmaster submits that Dr. Ronnie Yearwood, the scion of Mugabe Mottley is John the Baptist and he who brings news of Mugabe herself and we is to bow and kiss the Holy Ring?

This is precisely the same foolishness that we are fighting against with the Demonic Labour Party, a direct command for our obsequiousness and genuflection to Stinkliar and Fumbles which we are constantly fed not to accept here on the newly constituted BU but Dr. Ronnie is to given a pass cause de Blogmaster says so.

The more things change the more they remain the same.

We are headed down the same path of implosion with the Mugabe crew, it may be that faeces is not embellished to look like “The New Politics” but mard de ole man words, unna going regret this “shoe in” mentality that is being promoted with the Rise of Mugabe.

11. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Have you noticed how the two speeches metamorphosed into a discussion of the presenter rather than a discussion of his (?)ideas?

Why do you think that happened? Surely you cannot blame the commentators for dealing with what was presented to them ?

About two thousand years ago a rabbi warned his disciples to be aware of the yeast of the Pharisees. Of course he was speaking metaphorically.

It is worthy of note that he too was executed as the messenger of good news. His message for a great many of us took root.

12. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

@ Fiona

“It is a foolish man who buys a house because of a coat of paint” Chinese proverb.

Which person do you know alive today who can see the heart of a man/woman Fionna?

Having asked that question tell dis ingrunt ole man how we armchair warriors can impute that Ronnie had 5 breakaway sessions? (of which you, who seemed to be there, cannot name them all)

Yet, here you come and insist that he is to be given a carte blanche to our drawing rooms where we sit on our armchairs.

We are supposed to “see” what he is doing because of a 19 page piece of crap?

Ronnie has, in your words, “started a conversation” that other people like Looking Glass and Rok and others who have departed this realm, did not even think of.

Because Ronnie is ascended, translated now as Elijah.

I going give you a joke that I want you to understand in the context of your comment about the two parties mudsling while Ronnie is not.

Circa 1979 there was a man who sold turnovers who liver in Brittons Hill. He baked them using an oven powered by wood like in the coal stoked trains of Alan Ladd movies.

There was a feller who lived a stones throw away from his house/bakery who swore he would never eat a turnover from his neighbours oven.

Yet every cuple evenings he would go down to Wonder Bakeries and buy turnovers that were the rave of the day which were the same turnovers that were made at that baker!

Ronnie is the Mugabe mudslinger’s proxy and is no different from Mugabe BECAUSE HE CANNOT CHANGE ONE IOTA OF THE MOTTLEY PLAN.

All of this consultation with the nation that you attribute to his campaign is nothing more or less than the baker distributing her turnovers via her proxy.

He is like the Silver Surfer and Mugabe is Galactus.

Proxy ONLY to the Queen irrespective of this newly ascribed status of “Politician Plenipotentiary” that you and others now accord him

Salve Magister

13. Bernard,

Well spotted. It is part of Barbadian culture to legalise or party politicise everything. It is the only way in which they can discuss social experience and then it is personalised in the nastiest way. Ideas are outside out experienced; look at any issue raised in this forum and notice how quickly it becomes an issue of personal abuse or even contempt.
    A central part of racist ideology is to place a limitation on the abilities and capabilities of black people; there is always doubt about how much a black person knows and how well she/he can execute his/her job.
    Notice the limitations put on Ronnie and other bright young people in this forum, s/he is either aa so-called party political yardfowl or just is not up to the required grade. Just re-read what those who have tried to put limitations on Ronnie have to say.
    Some time go I tried explaining to young people here in London the cultural significance of my favourite Bajan saying: Man he ain’t nuttin’; I know he.
    Think about that perception of competence. May I suggest a good book: Why I’m No Longer Talking To White People About Race, by Reni Eddo-Lodge, a young Londoner. It is a discourse about what intelligence looks like (white, male, middle class).
    Finally, a Bajan-Canadian was the first to create a search engine for the internet, Google monetised it; yet Alan Emtage remains unrecognised in his own land. Our only university has not even invited him to be a guest lecturer.
    I hope people like Ronnie do not allow themselves to be eaten by the envious, failed savages waiting to pounce.

14. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

Nowadays i do not worry about these comments when simple observations and FACTS get the pooch sucking brigade up in arms.

I leave them all to their own wiles.

Here is what I will say to you the more informed and better read denizens, including those of you who reside in the clime that makes madmens of Bajans, “pause and consider”

Here is the Mugabe Mottley strategy which one must commend.

Let us accept that Bajans have a fear of Mottley that is grounded in (a) fact (b) fear of lifestyle (c) fallacy as to what such lifestyle will induce in all the God Fearing Bajan Christians and (d) fiction – that Mugabe is the salvation of the nation.

If I were Mugabe Mottley what would I do to counter those four ef’s?

(a) I would present “alternative facts” a la Spicer/Trump and Yearwood mechanism. Untainted returning national, much like Walter Blackman was an untainted national until he lay down with the Demonic Labour Party

(b) I would obscurate my lifestyle by proxy representations. So I would not be “the Face” of the BLP I would look for 6ft 5ins giants with handsome features, proud Ibo profile and good sounding voice and abracadabra shazamm, i have disappeared and all uh wunna looking at Ronnie

(c) I would then breed the Fallacy of the politics of inclusion, rehashed from PM Owen Arthur under the cover of this wondrous fairy tale of “non mudslinging” engagements a la Harrison College

and then i would cap it off with the fiction namely

(d) “…what the average non-partisan person wants to see is a progressive Barbados that delivers on the ideal of creating an environment where is people thrive”

Dog faeces which, judging by the four gunners who have come out to bat on the BLP team, is obviously the strategy of Mugabe.

It is not a bad strategy but what de ole man is say is that it is all smoke and mirrors because the Despot has no plans to create any environment where the average Bajan thrives…

But time is longer than twine

15. @Pieces good heaven you have been on a freaking warpath. Bro, either you are privvy to a lot of stuff as suggested by loaded remarks such as : “Ronnie is the Mugabe mudslinger’s proxy and is no different from Mugabe…” or you are truly p’ed off about these governance problems and see the specter of a Mottley PMship as a PROBLEM writ too large!

Incidentally, your ‘moderating’ problem could be as simple as ‘you are a rabble-rousher’ (LOL).

But seriously I was amused that another blogger considered you ‘harmless’. You are the most ‘seditious’, ‘destructive insurgent’ on these pages as you go way beyond any Parisian parsing of words. You hit hard with seemingly very well informed posts.

You should definitely always expect that any glitch is in fact a true bogey…I would in your shoes.

Nonetheless, re post glitches: try re-posting immediately (twice or thrice if necessary) after the first refusal…of course, make a change to the first line (or first several words rather) to ‘create a new post’ each time. See if that gets you over that hump

@Bernard, as one of the elder statesmen on the site your posts blend the historical gravitas and current affairs better than most, so I was struck by your apparent contradiction @ 9:09AM.

On the one hand you invoke the context of those who may be deemed as remaining thoroughbreds of your era with “…working alongside the older generation and learning how to get their hands dirty in the real politics.”

That may be a truism but we also know that back then others displayed the same vibrancy and intelligence as Yearwood does now and a few completely broke away from the ‘establishment’ to set a new path.

Back then they too thought that “the leadership [was] mired in the methodologies of a past from which they seem not able to escape”.

So therein is your contradiction, in my eyes: Maturity is to be cherished but so too there are moments when brash, bright folks need to strike out and say ‘to hell with the status quo’. You seem to dismiss the latter despite its success of your youth.

We are again at that point @Bernard…most definitely we are…and these youth know well that it’s “a lot more messy than the sterile atmosphere of rhetoric and ideologies”.

They need support of the wise heads like yours….and yours TOO @Pieces.

Afterall, he surely is not the Messiah…who is! But Bajans would surely settle for him as a 2.0 version of a past local thoroughbred!

16. There is a Facebook page to share activities that took place on Saturday with those who could not make it.

https://m.facebook.com/Your-Voice-Your-Choice-1672606826381050/

17. Why should 300000 intelligent people look to a single young man as a Messiah? |His must form part of the free market of ideas. Are we expecting to much?

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece

We are not that far apart except for your virulent dislike of the Mottley clan,presumably queens park and history have something to do with it.
    …………………………………………………………………………………..

The more I read of you,the more I am convinced that my previous above observation on another thread has a lot of validity.

This hatred is blinkering you to the fact that it does not matter who gets into office once the populi have the backbone to take action for missteps by any elected govt from whichever party.

….this is where our energies should be focussed and anyone who will activate the community should be commended.

….we await Ronnie’s intercourse with the communities around the island.

19. On this blog, there is a lot of talk about the need for good governance, but I would argue that while an honest public service is a nice thing to have, it is neither necessary nor sufficient for a successful economic and political program.

Dr. Ronnie can talk all he wants about ending corruption, but unless the government can deliver sustained economic growth, we are all lost. So David should keep his priorities straight on BU, and prioritize the discussion of ideas that can deliver GROWTH and DEVELOPMENT over a long period of time.

20. Chad,

There sis a limit to growth. We cannot be one-dimensional, a decent standard of living and progress, no matter how defined, must be broader than just economic growth. It must include the way we relate to each other, how we treat the environment, a broader and most dynamic system of social justice; @Chad, now this is an issue for wider discussion.
    I am still at a lost as to why you are so hostile to Ronnie and his proposals. @Chad, your bitterness is showing. Are you envious of his level of education?

21. Actually, Hal:

I was an outstanding all the way from kindergarten. Completed my A-levels with straight distinctions two months after my 15th birthday. Earned five academic degrees (including a PhD) and hold two professional designations. Taught at two major universities and a college. Currently work for one of North America’s largest corporations.

22. @chad

There is a truck load of scholarly work to support the thesis that corruption compromises the productivity of a country.

23. David

Please. The effects of corruption on economic performance is highly contested territory in economics.

Some economists believe all corruption is bad. Some believe that some corruption is bad and some corruption actually benefits economic growth (i.e., offers ways to circumvent inefficient systems). Many don’t know what to believe because “correlation is not causation” (i.e., the fact that some corrupt countries do poorly does not mean that corruption is the cause of their economic distress; in fact, corruption can be a result of economic failure).

In any case, I am simply reminding everyone that a corrupt country (e.g., the United States, Italy, South Korea, Taiwan, etc.) can achieve and maintain relatively high rates of economic growth and development indefinitely.

24. Wow! Chad. And yet you are barely literate. Shows that passing exams and getting diplomas are not the be all and end all of education. You are highly qualified, but not educated. You are in fact a simpleton.
    Plse talk me through your education: how qualified were you in kindergarten? Were you tested? If so, which school and in which country? Where did you do your A levels at the age of 15 and what do you mean by distinction? Which examining board was it and the year?
    You got five academic qualifications: plse list the subjects, level of qualification, college and year? You also got a PhD, in what subject, the title of your thesis, college and year? What is the name of the corporation you now work for? Its annual turnover? Its market valuation and the industry it is in?
    @Chad, people operating in this forum under pseudonyms are taken on trust; do you see now why people are unwilling to invest any trust in you? I have spent nearly 50 years in education, full time and part-time, and can just about write my name. I am now retired and yesterday, Wednesday, took another exam and will again on Saturday. Wish I had some of your talent. So, your brilliance exposes my weakness.
    Good luck.

25. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

@ Vincent

You are a hypocrite and I will explain why.

On July 1, 2017 at 6:12 PM # Vincent Haynes whom i believe is you said to the Honourable Blogmaster David

“One can only comment on what is in front of you. ” while you were speaking to ““Integrity Legislation Will NOT be Implemented by the Political Class”

That was a follow-on to your “blinkered” comment “Chuckle….stale news,third hand and hearsay to boot…….not good enough for anything other than a known insight into the Dean/Knox/Simmons situation and file 13. Not that I expect the political class to enact FOI or IL.”

Now it is amazing that you have the DIVINE UNASSAILABLE RIGHT to say that you can only speak on “what is in front of you” but I, with my old blinkered self, am full of vitriole and other tings dem because

(a) I said that the 19 pages that were presented as the next best thing to slice bread were crap

AND

(b) I went on to say that Dr. Ronnie was an agent of the BLP machinery a statement which Ronnie himself states in his 19 pages of crap! (which i am sure that you did not read)

But you have appointed yourself to mete out your largesse to whom you will and I am not among the Abu Bin Adam crew to be blessed

26. Chad,

It is me again, your friend, taking up your argument with David about corruption. I am interested. Name a single country in which corruption (or bribery) has been a mechanism for increased productivity? Just one?
    I think you have a deep psychological problem, mate, of wanting to appear intelligent and important. Why is Africa the poorest region in the world and why is it generally accepted as the most corrupt? @Chad, give me a single forensic economist that will substantiate your claim.
    You just send me searching in three of the biggest economic electronic libraries in world and I could not find a single example your yours claims.
    @Chad, before you vanished last time I rather rudely called you the dumbest person in this forum. I do not take back a single word.

27. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

@ Vincent

I was on the road today with some matters, so time did not allow for de ole man to answer you before.

But, in the quiet of the day, such as it was “quiet”, I read his 42 page document, twice, and his 19 pager, 3 times.

Page 18, Paragraph 2 of the second document states “I have subscribed to a party. That is no secret….” just in case you missed that pronouncement cause you like you ent too ….

It was important to do so because we cannot, ALL US BAJANS, including you, cannot fail at this moment …

Too much is at stake.

He is indeed a strange man this Dr. Ronnie Yearwood.

In the second document he waffles but in the first document his aim is truer, as such relates to “a New Politics”

It is like if the first script that he composed did not have review of Mugabe, but when she realised how much support he got, the second one got dampened down.

And then, as in the dripping of a tap, the Honourable Blogmaster lets fall the 10.38 am video as their collective counsel is saying, give them it piece by piece (no relationship to de ole man).

Let us feed the rabble slowly and see how they warm to our “Rubbing Shoulders? (or pudendas) with the Common Man (woman)”

What is obvious is that they, the BLP are seeking manifesto material(s). That is why this meeting was convened at Harsun College and not at Bush Hall wid de ingrunt swine of St Michael North East.

Whuloss de white people and syrians was not gine be caught dead dere doan min Shal Munroe Knight exuberance.

And in so doing they are playing us, the fickle audiences and electorate of 2018 with thisdisinformation.

One notes that Dr. Ronnie makes great mention of the Auditor General’s report and he highlights the infelicities of the DLP with its Water authority fiasco and the BTII loans and everything in their nasty sink.

Yet he does not continue through that report to highlight the 15 years of similar practices of the Barbados Labour Party

And this is why Mia is to be feared.

Because she can get a man like Ronnie Yearwood to speak such “alternative facts” to 300K. lies coated with all these Norwegic anecdotes.

But what is worse is that men like Hal, Vincent and de rest uh wunna can swallow the pup hook line an sinker WITHOUT A SINGLE QUESTION.

Where has it been that any one of you (pooch suckers?) have said “ronnie, you speak of the sins of Fumbles and Stinkliar and all the rest of them, but what of the Syrup scandals, and the Highway scandal and the prison ting, were these not blatant overspends of the people of Barbados’ taxes?

Steupseeeee

So here is how this is going to play out.

A fancy manifesto that is going to promise everyone of us a set of the Emperor’s clothes and then, more of the same thing, IF NOT WORSE.

Thank you Honourable Blogmaster for the video on “Your Choice, Your Voice..You Lose ” euphemism for “Your As* is Grass” when i get in Llaro Court

I going review this video and ting and the facebook mining tool wunna using to monitor who looking at de video

While using me mock facebook account of course heheheheheheh

28. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

It is good to be living in a society where all can express views however contrarian while maintaining a healthy respect for each other. Let the debate continue. In due season we will find that things are not what they appear to be. But that is process.

29. Africa is the poorest region in the world because it is almost entirely populated by people like you. Corruption has very little to do with it, although it is an excuse that can be offered in lieu of other factors.

As for your statement that you could not find a single example of my claim in “three of the biggest electronic libraries in the world,” you are lying. You (and your brethren) might consider the following references:

A. Wedeman (2002) “Development and Corruption: The East Asian Paradox,” in E. Gomez, Political Business in East Asia. London: Routledge, pp. 34-61.

M.T. Rock and H. Bonnett (2004) “The Comparative Politics of Corruption: Accounting for the East Asian Paradox in Empirical Studies of Corruption, Growth and Investment,” World Development 32(6): 999-1017.

P. Egger and H. Winner (2005) “Evidence on Corruption as an Incentive for Foreign Direct Investment,” European Journal of Political Economy 21 (4): 932-952.

Jakob Svensson (2005) “Eight Questions about Corruption,” Journal of Economic Perspectives 19 (3): 19-42.

D. Levy, “Price Adjustment Under the Table: Evidence on Efficiency-Enhancing Corruption,” European Journal of Political Economy 23 (2): 423-447.

S. Li and J. Wu (2007) “Why China Thrives Despite Corruption,” Far Eastern Economic Review 170 (3): 24-28.

P. Meon and L. Weill (2010) “Is Corruption an Efficient Grease?” World Development 38 (3): 244-259.

V. Vial and J. Hanoteau (2010) “Corruption, Manufacturing Plant Growth, and the Asian Paradox: Indonesian Evidence,” World Development 38 (5): 693-705.

30. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece

Chuckle……for the umpteenth time um doan matter who get in or how they get in once we can educate the electorate.

That is where our focus should be…..educating the electorate …..innocent untill proven guilty…….. as I have said a number of times already the true worth of Ronnie will be judged when he goes through the communities.

Presently the BLP appears to be in winners row……I am fully aware of the old adages……many a slip ‘twixt cup and lip……..a week is a long time in politics…..so frothing up continously over them is counter productive…..what will be will be.

Can you remove the blinkers and understand where I am going from and will you join me,as loads of work has to be done after the elections are won.

31. Chad,
    You give a long list of articles/essays on corruption, but did not say which ones suggest that corruption can aid development. Unless, of course, you want me to read all of them. Plse suggest which ones back your case.
    You suggest I am lying when I said that I could not find any articles to substantiate your claim. I searched the National Bureau of Economic Research electronic library, Voxeu and the Financial Times electronic library. Unlike you I do not have to lie.
    I will resist giving a long list of essays, but have a look at two: NBER Working Paper 4372; and, more interestingly, “Monetary Policies for Developing Countries: The Role of Corruption,” Huang and Wei (NBER10093).
    In the meantime, I am still awaiting the details on your five qualifications, including your PhD, and the corporation you work for.
    I say again, Chad, you are an intellectual fraudster.

32. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

@ Vincent

I going keep talking to you until you stop chuckling and start crying at the predicament that we are in relative to this illiterate electorate that you trying to educate in 8 months.

So I going through all the “presenters” and their proposals

We starting with Shantal Munroe Knight and her Biometric Card dribble and the E-Pass concept and all de people dat she want dat going dream big

You know why de ole man calls it dribble?

Let de ole man tell you why I respectfully called it dribble

Page 32 of the Governance and Truth “Private companies should be allowed to compete with government for public contracts to provide public services. …”

He goes on to underscore compete imagine that.

No effing government in the world should ever have to compete with its citizens!

They are facilitators and regulators ONLY.

This is precisely the problem that has gotten us where we are.

And with nitwits like these speaking of E commerce and e-passes and biometric cards not one of their regurgigating donkeys can even speak to the fact that the same Mugabes and Lashes and all dem buhkvunts are the same people who does teif de ideas of the same citizns dat dem pretending to want to get dem ideas from

Teif dem and use de law courts tuh hide from the legal ramifications of stealing a person’s property yet

(a) Noel Lynch can sue a body for defamation and get he case hear in 2 months

(b) Mia Mottley can sue a body for defamation and get he case heard in 2 months

(c) Michael Lashes can get de police go an lock up a man for an internet threat

and the list of comedy goes on and on ad infinitum while Ronnie talking pup bout deversification of the economy from the old traditional growth models to this new Politics Ting.

Led by the same teifs dat have no effing respect for property and rights of de poor man.

I gine and listen to dis Donna Avery columnist who works in Mackey words “building young females business ladies?” which I still trying to unnerstand what dat mean

doan worry, Vincent, i coming back to you and dat “educating the electorate” dribble dat you espousing jes give me a few moments

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

Whuloss,

Avery open she talk wid Dr. Basil Springer ting and entrepreneurs and Peter Boos pipe dream bout mekking barbados into the Entrepreneurial Hub by 2020.

I going continue listening to find out if she going mention the $2 million dollars dat de Dead King David Thompson give way, yes i repeat give way to Basil to fund alot of “elephants” sorry i mean “projects with the DNA of an elephant” including those of James Corbin i,e, dat cricket game and other silly things.

Any body could tell de ole man what de DNA of an elephant is?

I remember when de circus was here pun spring garden I see an elephant let go a few balls of pup and I wondered if dat is what Sir Basil was did mean!

I wonder if a feller can mention heah that the so called luminary and economist guru Jeremy was one uh Basil paid cuntsultants? in that DNA of an elephant scam, sorry ting.

I wonder if “De Moolah” ever get one of de project dat he cuntsult pun to mek a dollar ?

De ole man betters not talk nuffin heah causing dat may only bring a lawsuit in me ole ass fuh exposing sorry de wrong word was used deah, INTIMATING dat dat feller ent got a clue bout economics or financial strategies.

But he is de President of de Barbados Economic Society yes?

Jes goes to prove some sort of point but I ent know what

34. Hal,

The only fraudster is you. I didn’t claim that all economists support my position. But you claimed that none did. And you are lying.

By the way, you give two measly references, and one of them (Huang and Wei) is not a paper about the evils of corruption. It is about the design of monetary policy to deal with corruption.

For those interested in this subject, let me point out that reviews of the literature in economics have found very weak evidence for claims that corruption prevents development. See, for example,

Pranab Bardhan (1997) “Corruption and Development: A Review of the Issues,” Journal of Economic Literature 35 (3): 1320-1346.

T. Aidt (2009) “Corruption, Institutions and Economic Development,” Oxford Review of Economic Policy 25 (2): 271-291.

Of course, this is not what Western governments want to hear. Economists who denounce corruption as an unmitigated evil get a friendly hearing almost everywhere. It takes guts to publicly adopt a more nuanced position. Are you listening, David?

35. @Ronnie

The scope should be expanded by replacing Ecommerce with Ebusiness. Perhaps the presenter meant Ebusiness but it is an important distinction and message to send.

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

@ Vincent,

Okay so Avery’s message after making the point that she worked with the $2million Springer White Elephant, FOR FREE, is that her responsibility and task at this BLP ideas harvesting thing is she needs ideas about how to create jobs.

In synopsis what she is saying Vincent is that, with the coming of the BLP, there will be job losses

she calls it “contraction of jobs” – a rose by any name will smell just as sweet right??

And what she continues to say in unmistakable terms is that this coming job attrition that is scheduled for the Public Service, particularly for older people, they ARE TO EXPECT job cuts in the coming year, post the elections and need to plan for that NOW.

Under the chapeau of a “LOVING AND CARING, COVENANT LED BLP”

De video suddenly “gone unavailable” and cannot be played so I guess dat de ole man video translations and explanations fuh de ingrunt electorate dat you talking bout we got to educate, dun wid Vincent.

Now I know you is a man who in de know and wukking with Mugabe, you tink dat you cud get mackey or one uh you peeples to send a copy for de ole man to finish interpreting?

37. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Piece of the Rock

You too bad. Wuh loss . It is a good thing you only got piece uh de rock and not the whole rock.

38. Piece

Chuckle…Perseverance against the odds.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Chadster 9000………according to you, the corruption is working out really well in Barbados, it’s a pity you dont want to be there.

40. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

@ vincent,

Sorry to keep you waiting so long.

Not every body hate de ole man guts and want he to depart this world.

One of the trusted BLP fellers send de ole man de video so I going continue wid my “interpretations”

The young man Troy Lorde who took 25 years to venture back to that oppression called Harsun College, (his sentiments, not mine), has in the 5 minutes allotted him, spoken of the spectrum and growth space that we need to embrace IF THERE WILL BE CHANGE.

Dr. Yearwood mentioned such in his first uncensored, unbridled speech.

Hal Austin though he does ramble sometimes is not so wrong bout these young people here assembled.

To have seeded this article with the paucity of the 19 pages was a disservice because it gave no context nor substance to what was and is being touted.

De ole man is oonflicted though.

Mugabe CANNOT have these minds under her command NOR CAN SHE GIVE THEM LATITUDE cause from what they are projecting, if she lets them fly, not only does the possibility exist that we can get back on stream BUT IT MIGHT EVEN DISRUPT HER HOLD ON THE BLP.

Seriously Vincent if dis feller Ronnie and these people dat he seems to have individually assembled here get to wukking MUGABE GONE THROUGH DE EDDOES.

Seriously my man!!

@ Mr. Bernard Codrington,

You is a man to watch though cause you say something earlier bout everything is not what it appears and you is a man who doan talk nuff like me but you does say volumes.

As an ole fogey who pun he way out, all i have to say is that “I cud get an erection for a selection” that comprised serious committed people like these are projecting themselves to be.

But i still fear the Despot.

If only she cud done wid dat shyte of tekking whu is not hers and live true to that meaningless piece uh paper and covenant, man Barbados could still got a fighting chance

Steupseeeee.

Looka Vincent, I going got to stop talking with you doah cause I starting to vacillate and feel hopeful and tink dat something is possible here but I cant reconcile de Mugabe of the past with these hope inspiring minds.

You watch de last budget speech wid Gline Clarke and George Payne and dem dufuses?

You unnerstand that even though you have these young people batting pun Mia pitch dat she got dem ingrunt dinosaurs dat even in dem youth dem was useless?

Topping and Prescod and Cynthia and all uh dem just going hate dat new crop with their vision.

No wonder Mia vetting he speeches.

Steupseee

I going back and finish viewing doah.

41. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar

Dr. Ronnie Yearwood,

Let the ole man tell you this.

You do not need Mia Mottley.

It is clear to me now what Bernard Codrington is saying, very clear.

I, having watched all of the video, kindly provided by ***, will not be prolix.

“Live by those Words”

Unhitch your wagon from the Mugabe Wagon Train of warmed over soup.

Stand up and “Lead”

Remember that the Good Society of which you speak so evidently passionately will die and consequently “Evil Thrives when Good Men do Nothing…”

42. Chad,

I will ignore the personal abuse, since it is always an indication that you have lost the argument.
    But here is what I said…..It is me again, your friend, taking up your argument with David about corruption. I am interested. Name a single country in which corruption (or bribery) has been a mechanism for increased productivity? Just one?

Here is what you said………The only fraudster is you. I didn’t claim that all economists support my position. But you claimed that none did. And you are lying.

Do you understand the difference? An answer to a totally different question (talk to Jeff Cumberbatch about this). There are over seven billion people in the world, and tens of thousands of economists, would it be rational to say that none supports your idiot position? In philosophy this is called the black swans argument. All you need is a single black swan to prove that not all swans are white.
    Further, how would I know what all economists think about corruption? Here is my tutorial to you for today: corruption is the opposite of taxation. Corrupt officials deprive the exchequer of revenue, which is used to develop the society. That is the illogic of your argument.
    @Chad, still waiting to hear about your five qualifications, your A levels at age 15, your PhD and your work for a top US corporation.
    I say again, of all the anonymous people in this blog, you stand out as the great big buffoon. All sensible people are suspicious about who you are, what you have achieved and what you do.
    Pseudonyms are there to assist whistleblowers, not intellectual frauds. Put your name out there, defend your ideas on the record. What are you a shamed of?

43. Pieces

Your admonition to Yearwood though well-intended comes too late.

For once political actors have made a determination to be part of the duopoly certain hard facts of consanguinity kick in to despoil all future efforts.

And in spite a determination by David to promote or foist this individual on us, the requirements of this political moment and its differentials with the status quo, makes it possible to drive a bus through an obvious ideological gulf.

Certainly, Yearwood has not sought and will not seek to stage mass hunger strikes against the duopoly.

He shall never seek to take on the system in ways that will capture popular imagination, at its centre.

What he, David, and their ilk seek is to interfere at the margins with their BS. Not disrupt the duopoly beast running roughshod through Bridgetown.

In these circumstances, we would prefer to assign Yearwood to the antiquarian device before the chance is given to repeat the crimes of others.

44. @ Hal Austin

Forgive my “presumptuous intrusion” into your and Chad’s “discussion.”

Firstly, I agree with you that corruption cannot be economically beneficial to any society.

Secondly, Chad wrote: “chad99999 July 6, 2017 at 6:02 PM #: For those interested in this subject, let me point out that reviews of the literature in economics have found very weak evidence for claims that corruption prevents development. See, for example, Pranab Bardhan (1997) “Corruption and Development: A Review of the Issues,” Journal of Economic Literature 35 (3): 1320-1346.”……”

I read the journal and found the following statement in the third paragraph on page 1320 very interesting:

“Our APPROACH in this paper is PRIMARILY ANALYTICAL and SPECULATIVE, given the INHERENT DIFFICULTIES of collecting (and hence the nonexistence of) good EMPIRICAL DATA on the subject of corruption.”

Then on page 1327 under the headline: “III The Growth Process,” the author wrote:

“Corruption has its ADVERSE EFFECTS not just on static efficiency but also on INVESTMENT and GROWTH. A payment of bribes to get an investment license clearly reduces the incentive to invest (even apart from affecting the composition of investment, in view of the considerations of secrecy and uncertainty alluded to in the previous section).”

I need not go any further.

45. Artax,

The conventional interpretation of corruption (bribery) is that it is an act by an individual or group of individuals, and companies, not by the state. Growth is commonly interpreted as an increase in per capita output per hour.

46. @Pacha

Why don’t you et al continue your disruptive narrative and allow BU to give voice to ALL and sundry a position that is known. Note BU has ignored Piece silly rants.

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece

Untill you take those blinkers off your head we will be at odds……but…..there again you need me as your sounding board,so carry on smartly.

For the record I reiterate that we should be well pass the concept of party and leader being important…..we need to strive for a community fully seized of as many facts as you listed above and willing to take the appropriate action.

An example in point is the Unions wanting the NSRL reduced to 5% and want the public to join with them to carry a letter to the Parliamentarians in Parliament on tuesday to that effect…….WHY???

The NSRL has been shown to be a nonsense by all the gurus who have analysed it, hence it will produce no benefit to this country’s economic situation in the long/medium or short term…..so why the pappyshow?

Your commonsense would dictate that a govt on the brink of elections will either have had this stage managed and drop it to show how caring they are or refuse to budge to show how in charge/strong they are.

Now a community centric (Bushies term) grouping would say on the eve of elections no govt action will bode good for the country as they are to caught up in winning the next election.

….so they would tell the Unions to shut down the country untill elections are called.

….after elections the community centric grouping will then explain to the new govt how the system needs changing with reduction in civil service,removal of GG,senate and statutory boards and accepting the IMF restructuring programme.

…..review the many studies lying around the many ministries and apply the appropriate ones for the future direction of our country and job creation.

….the unions will have to accept the fall out and the new projects will give them employment funded by loans approved by the now embraced IMF.

…..failing which,shut down the country again not by the unions but by the now emboldened community centric grouping untill they fly right.

It must be catching….your long windedness.

48. @Vincent Haynes

”’For the record I reiterate that we should be well pass the concept of party and leader being important…..we need to strive for a community fully seized of as many facts as you listed above and willing to take the appropriate action.”””’

Well said

This is not the only thing you have been right about

49. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Chadster9000…….has long held a destructive agenda for small vulnerable islands.

The hardest thing is to know.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply