URL of the Barbados Productively Council.

There are several definitions of the word PRODUCTIVITY, the one that fits the bill to support this message is “the effectiveness of productive effort, especially in industry, as measured in terms of the rate of output per unit of input”. Clearly if Barbados is to sustain a reasonable standard of living for our people we must adopt efficient processes to guarantee the quality of the production of goods and services for local, regional and international consumption.

A casual observation any day of the week in Barbados confirms that enough focus is not being directed at efficiently marshalling scarce resources (no this blog is not about the purchase of a luxury Mercedes Benz for the Prime Minister or is it two!). There are many visible examples, the long lines of people queuing from the early hours of the morning at the Licensing Authority in the Pine and the Barbados Immigration Office in Bridgetown, unemployed individuals who have to check-in at multiple locations to receive a ‘stamp’ on a document from a government department, inability to stagger opening hours to address traffic congestion and encourage flexibility to do business, a government apparatus that remains anchored to a paper based process to support how business is delivered.

Last year Minister Michael Lashley alerted the nation in the 2016 Estimates Debate that Barbados had allocated funds to implement an electronic system a la Bermuda to more efficiently manage the licensing of vehicles.  With a general election rapidly approaching it is unlikely this initiative will be implemented in the current term.

For many years Minister Inniss has been touting the importance of improving business facilitation. Besides being able to download a few forms from the CAIPO website are we any closer to implementing egovernment in Barbados? Bear in mind Barbados has one of the highest Internet penetrations in the world. Given our high level of education it must be a disappointment that we have not been able to implement modern operating business models to drive productivity. We live in a world where newspapers are becoming obsolete by the minute as content migrate to the digital space.  Many of us logon to websites to purchase our airline ticket consequently this has forced a change to how the traditional travel agency does business. This is 2017 and to read the Official Gazette and other important offiial documents one has to travel to the government printery on Bay Street to purchase copies. To pay monies owed to the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) the standard credit card is not accepted. As a key enabler of the Barbados space government must lead by example.

In most countries including the Caribbean, government agencies and officers own Facebook, Twitter and other social media accounts to effectively disseminate information to the public. It was embarrassing to listen this week to the head official of the Meteorological Office urging Barbadians to listen to announcements from official sources i.e. via traditional media for legitimate weather reports. Why not open Twitter and Facebook accounts and post updates, social media subscribers would then be able to share ‘legitimate’ reports. Other government departments should heed the same advice.

One example of our token regard for productivity in Barbados is the Magistrates Court. A worker who has to appear in Magistrates Court to answer a routine traffic offense will experience the matter having to be rescheduled multiple times. Do the math as it relates to productivity for 200 Barbadians who appear at Magistrate Court at 9AM every day of the week to have 150 of that number having to be rescheduled.  If we cannot efficiently manage routine processes to optimally drive national productivity how will we ever be able to move to the next level in in a competitive global market?

Up Dee Ting!

72 responses to “PRODUCTIVTY is Only a Word”

1. @Chad99999 June 24, 2017 at 12:27 PM “The price of arithmetic (one-(wo)man, one vote) democracy is that leaders have to provide ice cream and circus entertainment for the masses.”

I don’t know about this.

Which came first the chicken or the egg?

I don’t know that the masses ask for ice cream(unlikely since most of us are lactose intolerant) and circus entertainment, rather I think that the politicians feel that they must provide these baubles. Most of us would rather that the politicians just get on with the job…and stop trying to stuff our faces with nonsense.

2. @David June 24, 2017 at 11:13 AM “Accepting a credit card is standard payment option in 2017.”

But dishonesty remains high while the security remains low. Didn’t some person or persons unknown hack the British Parliament today? The last 2 visits I made to the U.S. my credit card was compromised. I went to use it one night in Barbados to find that i could not, when I called my bank, they had shut it down not because of my non-payment but because somebody, not know to me was using it. Another Sunday morning I went to use my card only to discover that somebody in New Jersey was shopping at Walmart with my card. Please note that I have never visited New Jersey nor shopped at Walmart. Just last month Amazon.com debited my credit card for $100 USD for Amazon Prime. I have never asked for nor used Amazon Prime. Each time this nonsense happens it it is stressful when a vendor declines my transaction (even while a vendor in the U.S. is happily processing an illegitimate charge) and a hassle to have the bogus charges removed. As a result I have stopped doing business with U.S. merchants. If they cannot protect the integrity they do not deserve my business.

Oh for the good old days.

Modern electronic transactions has only made it easier for dishonest people to steal more, and to steal more widely.

3. @de pedantic Dribbler June 24, 2017 at 11:01 AM “Unless that department can ensure that they web-architecture is as impenetrable as Fort Knox then they should hold strain.”

If big U.S. companies cannot safeguard their customers data can you explain to me how the Barbados government will be able to do so?

A Simple Simon awaiting your response.

4. @Vincent Haynes June 24, 2017 at 1:41 PM “the meaning of STEM”

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.

5. MIA on top.

“When respondents were asked “Which party will you support?”, the DLP garnered 11%, the lowest ever for a government in a public opinion poll, compared to 51% for the BLP, the highest recorded.”

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ping Pong

Where is the proof that there is a level of low and technical skills affecting the island? And, if there is, what part of Barbados long term development index has been contemplated to correct this? What Barbados lacks is the ability to innovate and create. The curriculum in schools does not cater to that. The government system and the private sector system are not interested in that. Hence, we do not have our share of inventors, innovators, and creators. A STEM that does not place research at the forefront to cross thresholds of difficulty towards discovery is simply a STEM contented with what is and what is usually accepted along with the lines of conventional thinking. The world’s best economies are fueled by minds who have passed the thresholds of difficulty and brought discovery into reality. What they have done is catapulted the demand for the new or improved advancements in technology (be it food, engineering, gadgets wallah). All the strong economies of the world are strong and remain strong because of the approaches they have used to utilised their various STEMs towards creativity, innovation, invention and design. At the forefront of their development is a high industrial climate, followed by their commitments to developing their agricultural mains. We have so many that have passed all the subjects in STEM. What have they done or doing at this moment?

7. I guess STEM is the new catchphrase. Implement STEM and then what? Insularity and fantasy will continue to be our downfall.

8. @ Enuff

STEM / straw …..

Same thing.
    It is something that you grab at when you are drowning (in ignorance).

9. Hants if you were smart you would listen to the PM Stuart advise when he states that the only poll that matters is the General Election Poll
    Recent election polls conducted proves that Stuart is right

10. Chad 99999999 sums it all up. Good points Well said
    The rest can pick up bat and ball and go home

11. Vincent Haynes Avatar

The one thing we all want in a job, we’re not getting: meaning.
    A growing number of people think their job is useless. Time to rethink the meaning of work
    The value of your work should not be determined by your paycheck, but by the amount of happiness you spread and the amount of meaning you give.
    weforum.org
    http://wef.ch/2sY18dF

12. When ever we start any discussion on productivity we go straight to the bottom and talk about the persons weeding the streets. This is the default smokescreen.

13. We need to appreciate that productivity is about building efficient processes, nurturing innovation and creativity etc all leading to a culture that is self sustaining.

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Key statistics on diaspora from Barbados – Barbados – Connecting with …
    http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/…/key-statistics-on-diaspora-from-barbados_9789264177949-gr...
    Oct 5, 2012 – Key statistics on diaspora from Barbados You do not have access to this content. OECD. DOI: 10.1787/9789264177949-graph40-en.

Then add progeny to the mix from over a century ago….you are upto 3-4M.

15. Have a look at Trinidad’s meteorological service website. There are connections to Twitter, Facebook and YouTube channels. Why cant our local equivalent do the same to counter false reports in social media instead of issuing asinine statements like asking Barbadians to check traditional media for official reports?

http://www.metoffice.gov.tt

16. David

When has this govt ever fixed anything?

17. @ David
    When has this govt ever fixed anything?
    De monument…..

18. There is no point in even talking about productivity in Barbados.
    It is a non-starter bout here.

In order to be productive, one needs to have a positive image of them self; a meaningful purpose in life; and to have refined some inherent talent to a point where it reflects creativity.

Barbados has become the very antithesis of these attributes.

We have become mendicant lackies whose sole purpose in life seems to revolve around transient pleasures involving base animalistic pleasures like wukking up, sex, violence, and lewdness…. the archetypical brass bowl….

The Productivity Council is the second most idiotic waste of resources in our history – exceeded only by the Public Sector Reform ministry.
    These were created by Arthur in order to be able to say that he was ‘doing something’ about public sector reform, and national productivity.
    NISE is running in a comfortable third position…..another Arthur creation.

‘Productivity’ is about contributing MORE than you consume in a society or community. It is an ATTITUDE of community centric altruism. We have cultivated a national attitude of trying to consume as much as is legally possible – while contributing as little as we can get away with…
    This is the albino-centric selfishness that pervades our society.
    …It is why we BORROW to the max.
    …It s why we never seem able to GIVE …or even to LEND to others.

In order to address the concern of productivity, we would need to effect a fundamental CHANGE on national mindset….. and given the thinking of our LEADERS – from political, ..to business, …to sport, ….and PARTICULARLY to church ….. This AIN’T GONNA HAPPEN!!

So…. what productivity what?!?
    Lotta shiite.

19. Trinidad has always been ahead of Barbados in some key areas such as encouraging foreign investment including publishing a booklet in the 80’s with a step by step guide to the process,the target market,concessions and the likely outcome.Furthermore,there are many tourism related facilities that outshine many in Barbados.Unfortunately even with its own airline, tourism in Trinidad is not a priority,while in Tobago which is more like Barbados minus our infrastructure,tourism is not very well organized and importantly the twin island state has a reputation for being one of the most unfriendly in the region to visitors. Both islands are affected by the apparent ease with which a life is lost to violence including visitors on Tobago.They are ahead of many with their current legislative acts of oversight of those in public life.

20. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Yuh shotting…..man dese days yuh wakin up pun de rite side reglah……yuh mussee got a new missy.

P.S. ….the monument was an erection not a fix…..big difference….need brain power to fix.

21. Overheard on Broad Street yesterday.
    Vendor:Who say Freundel Stuart is not a leader.Man,I hear on VOB he leading a delegation to the annual heads of government meeting in Grenada.
    Buyer:You serious?You call that leading?
    Vendor:For me that is Stuart idea of leading and it is mine too.
    Buyer: Are you a Dem?
    Vendor:Bred and born in Culloden Road.
    Buyer:Man,you just lost a sale.Lawd have its mercy.We in real trouble.

Leave a Reply to Vincent HaynesCancel reply