Submitted by Tony Humphrey
Major General (Ret’d) Edmund Dillon, Minister of National Security

Is this a reality check for PM Dr. Rowley or is this absolutely unacceptable, unconstitutional and flat out wrong. I can hear the Bajan progressives screaming bloody murder even as those who sit in the conservative seats raise their eyebrows with a smirk.

The headline read: French Special Forces Targeting French Citizens Fighting for ISIS in Iraq. The story quoted: “The motive for the secret operation is to ensure that French nationals with allegiance to Islamic State never return home to threaten France with a terror attack [….] France has been the target of several deadly attacks either inspired by Islamic State or orchestrated from the militants’ Middle East strongholds, including the November 2015 Paris strikes.”

The mother of a Trinidad & Tobago ISIS combatant said about her son, “This is his choice. Nobody is going to love him less for his decision.”

Would we condemn the government and love them less if they help him truly fulfill his choice like the French. Ideally not. Would Bajans accept our government doing similar? Ideally, yes.

But no progressive or law-abiding conservative would ever abide ex-judicial state sponsored execution so the Trinis would have to tread very carefully if they ever adopted that extreme measure of the French (the Americans and others).

If you are suffering continuous terrorist attacks on your home soil is it unacceptable to target one possible source of those attacks and sever it close to the root. Or are these heads of a Hydra!

In every democratic environment it is expressly forbidden under the law to execute/condemn a citizen without trial for a crime they ‘may’ commit.

When that citizen engages in warfare and training – in a foreign land – directly contra the express directions and regulations of the country of which he is a citizen do circumstances change?

Cautiously we tread, because as we have seen under draconian ‘Patriot Act’ styled national security regulations that in periods of national terror disarray actions are implemented impetuously and almost imperially.

After the November 2016 attacks in Paris then President Hollande directed a state of emergency and it was common to have warrantless raids of homes to root out possible terrorists. This period of official ‘ex-judicial’ state supremacy was as severe as it was vital and necessary.

Even then after various extensions were issued there were loud voices from UN human rights panels, AI (Amnesty) and others which harshly denounced Hollande’s directives; but these human rights appeals were rejected by the French courts with the admonishment that there was still ‘imminent peril’ in the country.

The president and some lawmakers have also pushed for citizenship to be stripped from any convicted terrorist who is a dual citizen. And others in Europe has gone one step further and demanded that citizenship be denied any terror convict who gained citizenship via birth-right – ‘jus soli’- or via naturalization.

Bluntly stated this would seek to deny the international law which asserts that a person cannot be rendered stateless. But accordingly and with grave irony, the French Special Forces actions does appear to consider rendering them lifeless for the same offence as more acceptable and definitive!

Now, surely the disaffection in the region driving the Islamist radicalism does not have the same deep seated hatred that is evident in France and her sister countries but still our youth are attracted to the ISIS appeal.

They too go forth to become soldiers in this deadly war and on their return they too recruit others to the cause and indoctrinate more youth like themselves. Their threat is still grave. Only those who studied the T&T disaffection of the 1980s could have fore-seen that the T&T Red House would be under siege by force of arms from Islamist Jamaat-al-Muslimeen extremists.

A reminder that nothing is impossible.

It’s worth noting also as experts have highlighted, that to this day Trinidad & Tobago is the only western nation that has endured an Islamic insurrection. The infamy of that 1990 coup attempt cannot be forgotten as we dissect possible future actions by any of the reported 50 plus ISIS mercenaries of T&T birth fighting in Syria.

Thus the Trinidad and Tobago National Security Minister is very much aware of this threat. He said that his government has “very serious decisions” to make about the “several nationals now linked to the [ISIS] group” regarding the return to their homeland. Rather innocuously he also said that they were “looking at the formation of a counter-terrorism unit to deal especially with these matters”.

Considering that T&T has a long history of establishing specialized units to deal with serious national security issues his remarks are rather understated.

We must also recall that some of these ISIS fighters were implicated in the T&T 2011 plot to foment assassination and terror even as other T&T nationals were implicated in allegations of extremism terror activities in 2014 in a plot in Venezuela.

Regardless of these past affiliations, however, the laser focus must be the possible future terror and mayhem to rule of law in the region.

The ‘imminent peril’ remains with us as a very foreboding and realistic eventuality.

59 responses to “T&T Extreme Prejudice For Citizens Fighting with ISIS –Never Happen!”

1. There are reports out of UK that Donald Trump visit to UK in the summer is under pressure. Good fr them!

https://www.google.com/search?client=opera&q=ORLANDO++FIGUERA&sourceid=opera&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8#q=UK+two+million+online+petition+trump+visit

In other news we see Macron in France doing it his way. He has been able to garner a significant majority in the Assembly with a NEW party. It looks like he and Merkel will create a power bloc on the world geopolitical stage.

2. David are you saying another Vichy govt.

3. Lawson,

I see that some people are raising pertinent questions in the Nation. It seems that only on BU we are not allowed to raise contrarian views without personal abuse.
    I do not read the other online media in Barbados, but will be surprised if similar questions were not raised.

4. Former US Marine and Gulf War 1 veteran Ken O’Keefe explains the secret and not-so-secret backers of ISIS:

“I hope it’s a wake-up call for us to realize that we are Isis. That the western governments are in bed with Saudi Arabia, who is the primary funder of ISIS, along with Qatar and other Gulf States. We not only provide political cover and military assistance to Saudi Arabia while it slaughters innocent people in Yemen, but we also give provide the cover for them to go ahead and do their dirty dealing with these psychopaths who are running around Syria and Iraq.”

Read More: http://www.trueactivist.com/ken-okeefe-in-another-epic-rant-on-paris-isis-and-media-lies/

5. Persona abus wha

Bajan demand the cussing of those promoting ignorance

Under any guise

Love Bajan? With only its English warts

6. @David
    There are reports out of UK that Donald Trump visit to UK in the summer is under pressure. Good fr them!
    ++++++++++++
    Of necessity, you mean. Remember when the unelected leader of the UK paid a hastily arranged trip to Washington to pay homage to the tweeter in chief? Hand in hand like a besotted school girl (if women are not taken seriously in politics or the boardroom it is because of antics like this) she extended a State visit in the name of ER 11 to DJ Trump.
    There were reports that for security purposes the Brits wanted to transport DJT in an armoured limo when he visited Buck house but DJT wanted to be driven in one of those horse drawn carriages that the Brits use for certain occasions e.g. coronations and jubilees etc. no doubt he fancies himself as a king e.g. his golf club has a coat of arms that was purloined from one of the previous owners (who happened to be a Brit and which was granted by the British Royal family).It was going to be unpopular visit with the British public and DJT can’t help himself so he got into a spat with the Mayor of London who suggested that the invitation be withdrawn. Mrs. May is fighting for her political life and she doesn’t want to further antagonise the British public or her Parliamentary colleagues so she is not inclined to press on with the invitation and DJT doesn’t have to be a weatherman to know which way the wind blows (apologies to Nobel laureate Robert Zimmerman) is feigning disinterest in the trip.

A worthy outcome.

7. @Sargeant

What is happening in the world?

The irony here is that many who are anti Trump because of his bombastic and fake ways have not problem supporting Michael Carrington and some of this lot who make up the political class.

#unbelievable!

8. Mr Blogmaster at 12:44 PM re ” The irony here is that many who are anti Trump because of his bombastic and fake ways have no problem supporting Michael Carrington and some of this lot who make up the political class.”

You call it ironic. I actually consider it a revelation. The insidious ability to speak untruths so eloquently and prodigiously flows across the Caribbean sea and washes our pols as it washes that head fabulist in Washington.

And on your Macron 6:09 post….well that is a real eye-opener for political fans…

As a proud card carrying member of the local ‘drain the Fruendel/Mottley swamp’ surely you support Mon. Macron….in fact we all wish that we had a local wonder-child like him.

But his ascension – for an outsider glancing in – is inspiring as it is frightening.

In two short years he has moved from precocious young finance minister to President and leader of a nascent French national party now on the cusp of taking a majority of seats in the French assembly. Inspiring.

As the spear-head force of change he has invigorated a nation so fraught with economic and security distress that the citizens have turned their back on all the seasoned politicians to embrace him. Yet we should be cautioned as suggested in The Atlantic.

According to them he can be categorized as none other than a Trump pro-business type who gained the ‘anyone-but-her’ vote from those vexed with the La Pen candidacy.

His reforms include reducing market regulations to “liberate energies”; reducing corporate taxes from 33.3 to 25 percent; removing ‘safeguards on the 35-hour working week’ and more.

Certainly no joys to the progressive left and labour.

Additionally, just as Trump lost the popular vote Macron’s victory was based on the ’lowest [French] voter turnout in 50 years’.

And his working class love-fest is wobbly at best. He only secured 30 percent of their votes whereas a larger 32 percent abstained from supporting him .

All very frightening quite frankly.

But I am sure that despite all that Grenville or Ms Eastmond would love to be in his position.

Wouldn’t we Bajans be jumping and waving if either could replicate his dramatic rise based on a strong ‘nay’ vote against the Stuart and Mottley wuk-up nonsense. We could only wish!!!

9. @Dee Word

Yes it is refreshing to see new blood forcing its way to the front, of course, he and his party will have to be judged by how it governs. Not sure Barbados electorate and or landscape have achieve the same level of thinking to take risk to uproot the duopoly. The question for some still is whether we have viable alternates.