Submitted by David Comissiong, Citizen Advocate
Mark Maloney – Vision Development Inc

Over the past week or so an entity named “Hyatt Centric Development Team” has been sending out invitations inviting selected persons to a “public interactive discussion on the project” at the “site of the Hyatt Centric Resort, Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, Bridgetown” on Saturday June 10th, 2017.”

This development constitutes a callous “slap in the face” of all Barbadians and a monumental insult to our intelligence!

Indeed,these people are so contemptuous of us that they are bold-facedly holding a public town hall meeting (or as they term it— a public interactive discussion) NOT during the period  of the processing of the application; NOT prior to the Minister making a decision on the application, but some four (4) months AFTER the Minister has made his decision to grant permission to construct the controversial hotel!

This meaningless town hall meeting is therefore simply a window dressing and public relations exercise on the part of the developer ! It has no substance or utility!

The whole purpose of a public town hall meeting is to give the Citizens and residents an input or say in the decision-making process BEFORE any decision is made by the authorities.

Indeed, when a public town hall meeting is held as part of the processing of an application for a construction project it is stipulated that a record MUST be made of the meeting, and that the record must be forwarded to the Town and Country Planning authorities for their consideration PRIOR to the making of a decision on the application.

I wish to reiterate that the application of Mr Mark Maloney’s company for permission to construct a 15 storey hotel on the beach at Carlisle Bay required that the proposed project be subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)  BEFORE any decision could be properly made on the application. And the staging of a serious and meaningful public town hall meeting would have been an integral requirement of the EIA process!

Here, for the record , is what our Town and Country Planning Department’s “Handbook and Guide To Town Planning” says about this matter:-

PUBLIC  CONSULTATION

Any application to the Chief Town Planner which requires the preparation of an environmental impact assessment SHALL be the subject of a PUBLIC  MEETING. The EIA report shall be made available to the public for a period of not less than twenty-eight (28) days to allow for perusal and scrutiny. The EIA report SHALL be made available within the community, district or main public library and the Town and Country Development Planning Office.

No later than fourteen(14) days after the public meeting the applicant is REQUIRED  TO  SUBMIT  THE  REPORT  OF  THE  PROCEEDINGS  TO  THE  CHIEF  TOWN  PLANNER.

ADVERTISING

The public meeting shall be advertised on local media and at least one daily newspaper announcing the availability of the EIA report at the commencement of the twenty-eight day period. The advertisement should occupy at least one quarter page in the newspaper and should be bold and noticeable.

Furthermore, Section 12.2 of our country’s Physical Development Plan stipulates that “where Environmental Impact Assessments are required they shall be completed to the satisfaction of the Chief Town Planner  PRIOR to approval being given“.

In light of the foregoing, the proverbial “Six Million Dollar Question” is :- “Why wasn’t this particular project subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment, inclusive of a substantive and meaningful public town hall meeting in which we— the people of Barbados– could have asked serious questions, demanded answers, and recorded any concerns or objections that we might have about the project ???

Somebody will have to answer this question , whether that answer is provided in the public domain or in the confines of a Court room.

232 responses to “They Making (HYATT) Mock Sport at WE!”

1. This talk about Mia’s qualifications is just the mumbo jumbo Bajans like. Mia went to the London School of Economics. All their records are available to the public. All it will take is a telephone call to ascertain that; so are the records at the Inns of Court. As attorney general, Mia appeared before the Privy Council in the case against Trinidad.
    In Barbados, after 60 years, you still cannot get to see certain records, including court records. Some open society.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. CadoganJune 12, 2017 at 10:58 AM

Dear Carrion the DLP barking dog:

Didn’t OSA also agree to help your incompetent DLP administration out of the economic hell hole you and other DLP pests accused of creating in the first place?

Is he yet the chief economic advisor to your beleaguered government? Or is Stinkliar living up to his ad nauseam promises of damned lies and deceit?

BTW, have you destroyed those ‘secret’ Pegasus Hotel tapes video-recording him taking bribes?

Or are you holding on to them in case his 3rd party replaces the BLP as the government in waiting to replace the current lot of jokers?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. CadoganJune 12, 2017 at 10:58 AM

The same you are nauseatingly demanding Mia to show her LEC why not engage in a more serious debate and demand Maloney show you the Money to build the Hyatt?

Is the money to cause the Hyatt erection foreign or local? That is the $200 million dollar question you should be asking the baloney boy.

4. Miller
    Last night on DLPTV the other albino speaking to the TV reporter said that the project will bring in US 70 million in the construction stage.Maybe he means 70 million in foreign goods and services.Promises.Promises.Chopsockers.Raiders of the NIS!

5. Miller
    I am told that by the stroke of a pen and the words “I assent”,Edwy Talma and Norman Niles were made attorneys at law.Both of them had 2 certificates.A birth certificate and a baptism certificate.The very two certificates Lowe received in all his born days.

6. When Talma and Niles became lawyers we did not have attorneys at law. And in those days neither barristers nor solicitors were compelled to have degrees. Trainees solicitors were indentured on contract, and barristers had just to take the various Bar Council exams. We still have attorneys at law in Barbados who qualified in those days, though not many.
    It was only in the 1970s, in the UK, with the expansion of polytechnics, that trainees solicitors and barristers had to have a law degree or a post-graduate diploma, the so-called conversion qualification, which is very popular.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has hinted that a district in St. John is to be renamed to honour noted trade unionist, the late Horatio Cooke.

Speaking at the launch of the book, Of Halls, Hills and Holes: Place Names of Barbados, authored by Sir Woodville Marshall, the Prime Minister said that the signatures received and the research carried out in support of the renaming had left him in no doubt “that no violence is going to be done” (to our history) in renaming this particular district.

8. Talma and Niles and some others were given a special dispensation when the barrister and solicitor titles were fused to become Attorney at Law in the early 70’s.Prior to that only barristers holding the minimum of LLB were made QC.Many of the local lawyers at that time were admitted once they did the 18 month compulsory bar final at the Inns of Court in the U.K. and the solicitors were required to pass examination taken locally.A few of them are notorious for repeatedly failing these examinations.

9. It is about time certain bloggers stop shifting the goal post and start dealing with issues confronting this nation of ours. Here we are dealing with a serious situation and you diverting to another topic. What the hell a LEC if has to do with leadership. Will a LEC improve or Foreign Exchange? Will a LEC assist in paying our outstanding debts? Will a LEC assist families to overcome the myriads of taxes confronting them?

Carson, Angela and Fractured, don’t you realise that your stupid mouthing can/will backfire and affect your chances of a third term?

If I was the leader of the party, I would have disowned all three of you years ago.

10. angela Skeete Avatar

Heee heeee. Seems like the trio mash yuh corns. Please tell me Why…hee hee

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

any chances they had of being reelected.

They are all too stupid to lead anyone except those who are more stupid than they  are…..a disgraceful bunch, I would be too ashamed to be seen with any of them.

Their bribers are leading them around on a leash.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

TMW….they all destroyed any chances they had of being reelected.

13. I aint’t know if Angela is a man or woman……yuh know how tings are nowadays. However, we must look at protecting our country and stop the small talk since the world is looking at us Do you want Barbados to overtake the nonsense that happening in Trump-States-of-America? Come on people, we can do better.

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Time for folkes here to realise that the operatives are hurting over the lack of cash i.e. oil company,Hyatt,Samlords,Paradise and a non productive tax system.

They can see no way out and are getting frustrated hence their continious lashing out….a bit trumpeian in behaviour,one might say.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The old Bajans always use to say, don’t trouble trouble until trouble trouble you.

Mia must have forgotten that.

Interfere with the Hon. Dennis Lowe about his credentials which one of her advisors must have incorrectly told her were bogus.

The Hon. Dennis Lowe laid all his documents in Parliament for the World to see and made them documents of the House.

Two years later and Mia still cant produce hers. Now it would appear as though she has gone into hiding with all the revelations swirling around her.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This matter is engaging the attention of the highest Level officials in Barbados.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Oh please..

Oh please…nobody gives a shit Carson, what high level what, ya mean the high level of protectors of pedophiles, rapists,  thieves and blackmailers.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Can you imagine a QC turning up in Parliament displaying O Level certificates? Some one ought to write to Her Majesty The Queen and let her know about this development.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Yall ran out of steam and are now laughing stock everywhete once everyone found out it is DLP government helped out Mia to practive without an LEC….which was not even needed years before that….lol

Another FAIL..lol

20. While we obsess about an official car – a three-year old Mercedes should not need any major repairs. In the UK they do not have to have a certificate of roadworthiness since that is taken for granted. After three years they do, but usually pass without any trouble – Barbados is about to import pork from the US.
    There are enormous health implications in this. The US pump their meat products full of antibiotics and they are fed on genetically modified products. Such meat products run the risk of developing new strains of antibiotic resistance. Think of what this means for our health service.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Only Thing Necessary for the Triumph of Evil is that Good Men Do Nothing.

Operating as a Lawyer without the necessary legal qualifications. And all crooked Barbados Labour Party members and supporters are calling for is for the matter to be swept under the carpet.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TAKEN FROM FACEBOOK

“”Strange things do happened. When I was working plain clothes I had several indictable matters and a doctor did the medical examinations. Every time I had a case before the court and he was summoned to give evidence he leaves the state the night before. Next they found out that he had no medical certificate to practise he had an idea cause he used to work with a doctor . so he couldn’t stand up in court to give medical evidence under cross examinations. Lol. He fled the country. He was practising for some years until they found out that he never set foot in a university to study medicine””

23. angela Skeete Avatar

Yeap Carson that is why the blp yardfowls tremble when they hear the letters LEC
    Notice when the blp yardfowls call people corrupt David says nothing but when Mia is called out about her LEC which is a truth David all of a sudden becomes the Umpire talking about he is going to delete Dlp coments.
    Now tell me if that is not being corrupt.
    David u ought to be ashamed of yourself.
    Everybody knows Mia got a special favour unlike others who have to burn the midnight oil to get their certification so why shouldnt she be scrutinise

24. angela Skeete Avatar

How many years was Mia practicing without her LEC .only in bubadus.lol

25. These blp deplorables mek me laugh hee hee. Especially the old fart Prodigal pretty soon she he it or whatever it is pretty soon would be here talking nuff shit and de udder ole goat bush de wind bag ole fart who is the biggest hypocrite on this side of the atlantic ocean would be talking enuff poop to flood the Carribbean Sea
    Then there is Artax a brass tax buffoon who pretends to know all but nothing
    The list here on BU well certainly not to die for
    Oh i almost forgot SSS she is PDYR bench warmer a member of the Stupid Cartoon Club.
    Btw PDYR finaly flew the coop and SSS sits on the eggs he left behind

26. “How many years was Mia practicing without her LEC?”

I hope you include NINE (9) years under this inept DLP administration: two (2) years Freundel Stuart was Attorney General and seven (7) years after Adriel Brathwaite assumed the position.

Then, according to Angela “Tight Weave DLP Yard-fowl” Cox-Skeete, this means that Mottley was practicing law ILLEGALLY under two DLP Attorneys General during the past nine years.

In June 2015, Adriel Brathwaite COMMITTED the office of the Attorney General to investigate whether or not Mottley is legitimately practicing law in Barbados. However, in June 2017, TWO YEARS AFTER, Brathwaite has NOT REVEALED to Barbadians if the investigation began and what were the results.

But Brathwaite continues to remain silent, while Mottley continues to practice law.

As such, Stuart & Brathwaite are also RESPONSIBLE and EQUALLY to BLAME for CONTINUING to give “Mia SPECIAL FAVOUR unlike others who have to burn the midnight oil to get their certification.”

With six (6) lawyers in their Cabinet, namely Stuart, Adriel “aware of illegal non-nationals illegally squatting in his Rock Hall, St. Philip constituency, and turning a blind eye because he has friends living there” Brathwaite, Stephen Lashley, Michael “cases of with-holding clients’ funds pending in court” Lashley, Michael “Thieving from senior citizens” Carrington in the lower House and Verla DePeiza in the Senate, the DLP has Scraped the bottom of the barrel and resorted to TWO YARD-FOWL IDIOTS who can hardly write a proper sentence, to spew rhetorical political diatribe via social media.

“Only in bubadus. lol….”

27. I don’t have to pretend to know all that you’re “nothing” but DLP yard-fowl idiot…………… 99.5% rope and 0.5% goat.

28. Dennis Lowe is a fraud.

I heard Dr Clyde Mascoll said at the Cahill political meeting the BLP had at Tyrol Cot that when this matter of Lowe’s questionable qualifications came to light by OSA during the 2003 election, the party was rattled by the revelations.

As the then leader of the party, the party asked his wife to look in to the matter and she came back to the party and told them to stay away from the matter. He went on to say that the qualifications that Lowe was now claiming he had was not the same as when Mascoll lead the party.

Go figure!

29. This talk is only to distract from the perilous state of the economy, the uproar over the 400% increase in the social responsibilty tax and the unconscionable purchase of the $350,000 car.

Dont be fooled and get drawn into the DLP cesspool. They are desperate.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Morning Prodigal

A fraud is a person who cant produce the necessary qualifications to support them in their line of work.

Is there anyone on your side of the fence like that? And O levels don’t cut it.

Her Majesty the Queen must be informed of this development.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL

You like to encourage a lot of EVIL.

Is this how you used to operate at Barclays Bank?

Instead of encouraging her to apply to Hugh Wooding in Sept. and do the Legal certificate for 6 months or 2 years whichever is appropriate providing she can produce an LLB, you saying that people desperate.

You are wicked just like your Barbados Labour Party.

32. Carson C. Cadogan June 13, 2017 at 7:02 AM #
    Morning Prodigal

A fraud is a person who cant produce the necessary qualifications to support them in their line of work.

A fraud is also someone with nuff qualification and simply cannot get the job done. Always making mistakes and don’t have the capacity to lead. Let’s hear the list of frauds.