Submitted by Anthony Davis

PM Freundel Stuart has a brand new ride. Amid all the talk about austerity, Stuart is now driving around in a sleek S-Class Mercedes Benz, fresh out of Simpson Motors showroom at Warrens. “The S-Class is said to be valued at $350,000 duty free or over $700,000 inclusive of duties.”Barbados Today June 2, 2017

Public servants in this country haven’t seen a pay rise in years, and other people are struggling with a tax burden which comes to 29.5% come July, but there’s enough money to spend on a luxury vehicle for his majesty.

Now the Minister of Sport and Culture, Stephen Lashley says “give us more time,” adding that the past eight years has been a relatively short space of time.

Pray tell me, Mr. Minister, where did you  get the idea that 8 years is a short period of time?

Furthermore, from 2008 to 2017 makes it nine LONG, HARSH years for the one horse which you’ve been burdening with more and more taxes every year.

You probably thought about the pony express riders during the wild West Times, not knowing that the riders didn’t flog the same horse from town to town, but collected fresh mounts along the way from what were called Way Stations.

This horse has been ridden by the same 16 persons from 2008 to this day.

What do you need more time for?

For the tax collector to find some new tax to drop on the back of this horse, or increase its load by raising some tax which is already in place?

Either way, the horse has become scrawny from lack of proper care.

Purchasing a new Mercedes is typical of the condescending attitude taken by this Government.

People in this country are starving, some must cut back on what is considered healthy food.

I overheard one old lady tell the other just a week ago that she used to be able to buy fish four times a week, but could only afford it twice a week now. I wonder how often she’ll be able to purchase it after July 1.

But you want more time!

Some items were taken off the formulary, so one pensioner said he had to pay  $100 for one type of his medication. After July 1 he’ll probably have to pay between $130 and $140.

Many people are either walking to or from work to save money.

How much can they save as of July 1?

The Transport Board’s service has gone down the drain, but you have no money for buses, but enough to buy a spanking new Mercedes Benz S-Class, yet you want us “to give you more time”.

Nurses at the QEH recently hadn’t been paid for months, and when they went to check why not they were sent from one person to the other, each claiming not to be responsible, but you are “entitled” to get back your 10% after 16 months, and you are taking it.

If the nurses were to demand what’s by rights theirs, you would want to fire them.

They can’t get transportation at correct times to get to/from work, but you can put all kinds of taxes on them knowing full well that they are among those who pay your bills, salaries and taxes, because they have to pay taxes.

How can you expect people to be productive when they can’t get to work?

Unlike you, they can’t stay at home whenever they like, because the few cents they are receiving will become fewer still.

The QEH used to be a bastion of health care in the Caribbean, but all one keeps hearing now are negative comments about it.

Every time one looks around there’s a new kid on the block when it comes to the number of vagrants in Bridgetown.

I wonder how come.

Yet we should give you more time.

As per usual you’re trying to lay the blame for the state of the economy at someone else’s feet.

All of a sudden you took over the debt of the BLP.

As far as I recollect, the BLP left millions of dollars in the Treasury.

What did you do with all that money, Mr. Minister of Sport?

You seem to be a sporty minister, because I had to rub my eyes a number of times in order to make sure that what I was reading as a headline wasn’t a dream.

I could do nothing but laugh when my senses confirmed that you were actually asking for “more time”.

Not one of YOU had the audacity to stand up to the tax collector and say: Enough is enough, but you have to come to us with nothing more than codswallop asking for more time.

“Time and tide wait for no man”!

You have always had a condescending attitude towards the populace of this country.

How many more Mercedes Benz S-Class do you want to purchase?

How many more sweetheart deals a la Sandals do you want to sign?

Does that hotel pay any taxes?

I note it has its own dive boat, and tour bus making sure that every cent which those who stay at the hotel spend doesn’t go to any locals.

And you want “more time”?

Methinks not!

As Shakespeare would say: The additional 8% on the SRL was the unkindest cut of all.

If, as you say,you “came to office in 2008 at the height of a very serious and challenging global recession”, why did you campaign to have a second term, seeing that things were so difficult?

You ran the horse to ground without giving it a chance to be properly fed and groomed, so the horse can’t carry your extravagant burden any longer.

You tore down every safety net which was put there for the poor, the needy and the vulnerable, yet you want more time!

You tore down everything! From tertiary education to health care, to welfare, to transport, and you have done nothing for the environment!

You’ve given the banks permission to defraud us by paying the least interest in the world, and they’re using it to their fullest advantage. No wonder the small businesses are not doing so well!

Can you imagine interest of one cent?

What shall we do with one cent? It can’t even buy a mint!

Yet you want more time?

It is better to offer no excuse than a bad one.” – George Washington

139 responses to “Freundel Stuart’s New S-Class Mercedes Ride”

1. @ Retribution

Not only a madman, a tin pot dictator as well.

2. The plank of the PM’s defense is that the old Mercedes was 9 years old and had become problematic. The point he did not address in his unrepentant rant is that an executive decision could have been made to delay the switch out for one year in the prevailing climate. He could have even used the decison to generate political capital.

3. angela Skeete Avatar

Similarly the opposition could have raised the issue during the estimate debate just as they did about the ten percent but said nothing so all this ranting and raving adds up to meaningless political rheteoric spilling over from warmed over stale soup

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

All of that despite Donville saying he broke his personal mercedes wheels TWICE on Fruendel’s potholded roads that he refuses to maintain.

Why should taxpayers fund an overpriced Mercedes that will be damaged within 3 years by badly maintained roads. 

Besides, as history has shown, Europe and North America are famous for sending their defective products to the Caribbean and Africa….why should  assembly line mercedes with defects be any different. I know people who bought or imported mercedes and got old hell with them..commonsense dictates that they are not worth the price or the maintenance. 

And the yardfowls are uneducated and nauseating.

5. David,
    Cajans; for rather, some Bajans are so petty and small minded. Scenario; The head of State, or even Bill Gates, arrives at Grantley Adams on an official visit. He is met at the airport by the official automobile MP2. They are halfway down the ABC and the Mercedes develops a problem. Does the official driver; in uniform, get out of the car and hold out his thumb hitching a ride? Why people making such a fuss over a car, that the Prime Minister is being driven in. There are ordinary citizens driving even more expensive vehicles. Why not the Prime Minister of this “first world” country?
    Bushy,
    I am truly surprised and disappointed at a Waterford alumnus. You ent get bring up dis way.

45govt;
    Since you are obviously one of those who just come, You should know where this greed come from, who bring it and perpetuate it.

Simple:
    “…We the tax payers are poor people.

Therefore our Prime Ministers should drive a poor people’s car.”
    Talk about stupid response!!!

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin Yardfowl….why dont you purchase the next S-Class Mercedes for the PM in 2020..when the roads destroy it in 3 years and there is no money to purchase another one at Simpson Motors for 350,000. Jackass.

SUVs are more durable and cheaper.

7. @Anonymous June 7, 2017 at 9:26 PM “a car is no big thing these days. Everybody have [CORRECTION: has NOT have] one.

Not true.

The median Bajan wage/salary is about $5,000 BDS per month or $60,000 BDS per year. Since you may not understand what median means, let me explain. It means that half of Bajans work for less than $5,000 BDS per month (for some a lot, lot less) and half work for more that $5,000 BDS per month.

Of that $60,000 BDS per year, 8% or $4,800 BDS is withheld for national insurance, and of the $55,200 BDS left, the first $20,000 BDS is not taxable, and the remaining $35,200 BDS left is taxed at 16%. Which leaves this Bajan with $29,568 BDS per year in hand, or $2,464 BDS per month.

If this Bajan saved all of that $$29,568 BDS per year it would take him/her 11.8 years to save enough to buy a $350,000 BDS car, and this is assuming that the Bajan did not buy any other goods or services, did not pay 17% VAT on virtually everything, did not pay rent or mortgage, did not buy food, pay health or property insurance, did not help with the expenses of elderly parents, did not raise children (and the Education Minister is saying today that we should have more children) Somebody needs to tell him that if we have children we will never be able to buy our own personal Mercedes,

These are the Bajans you are talking to. The ones who have to decide between a Mercedes and food, between a Mercedes and paying someone to look after dad who has had a stroke and needs a hot meal in the middle of the day, between a Mercedes and paying property insurance so as to be covered during hurricane season, between a Mercedes and having children so that a new generation is available to to pay politicians pensions, and to buy second hand cars from Simpsons, so that Simpsons can remain in business.

These are the Bajans that politicians are asking to vote for them. These are the Bajans being asked to fund politicians fat, fat pensions.

These are the Bajans being squeezed to death.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

These are the bajans to vote out Fruendel & Yardfowls

9. London Morris Avatar

The PM is being disingenuous on this matter and that is why he basically needed to allege that the existing Mercedes-Benz was unreliable and therefore costly to maintain. If he didn’t make this outrageous allegation he would need to defend why he didn’t instruct the purchase to be cancelled and save the money given draconian austerity measures which his administration has imposed since 2009.

IS IT BE ALONE OR ARE OTHERS HAVING DIFFICULTY WITH THE PM’S LOGIC THAT THESE EXPENSIVE MERCEDES BENZ ARE ONLY RELIABLE AND CONST EFFECTIVE TO MAINTAIN FOR ABOUT 3/5 YEARS………. BUT THEN RUSHES OUT AND BUYS A NEW ONE OF THE SAME EXPENSIVE AND COSTLY TO MAINTAIN MERCEDES BENZ WHILE BAJANS CATCHING THEIR ASSES?

10. Or to put it another way. If the typical Bajan had to pay $700,000 for a vehicle including the taxes, he/she would have to save ALL of their after tax income for 23.6 years, which is about exactly half of a person’s working life.

These same Bajans, this half of us working for $5,000 or less per month, are funding a car for our Prime Minister, a car which if we wanted one for ourselves we would have to save ALL OF OUR MONEY FOR MORE THAN 23 YEARS to be able to purchase one.

That is what a luxury car costs. Half of our working life.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ya cant even find an autobahn or freeway in Bim, only Fruendel’s potholes…Mercedes were designed for smooth roads.

12. @ Alvin
    Haul…!!! 🙂
    You ever heard of champagne taste with mauby pockets?
    Bushie has no problem with big rides – for those who can afford them…
    Froon either needs to be productive and EARN his keep…
    …or get himself a rich, adopted-father, …. like Bushie…

@ Simple Simon
    Either you are bright as shiite … or you swallowed google.
    …or perhaps you are just trying to piss Bushie off… 🙂
    Yuh shotting.

13. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

This excersise is a classic example of alternative logic , relative truth or cognitive bias. Take your pick.

14. Wunnuh should be glad Freundel settled for a Mercedes. I hear he was really wanting to get one of these:

15. Clarity Seeking Avatar
    Clarity Seeking

For clarity at 2017 anyone earning $60,000.00 per annum the following shows NIS and PAYE deductions.

John Doe 2017
    Calculation of Employee Salary & Taxes @ January 2017

BDS             BDS

Breakdown of Gross Salary: Annual Monthly

Basic Salary 60000.00 5000.00
    Entertainment (12.5% or max 7800) 0.00 0.00
    Travel (12.5% or max 7200) 0.00 0.00
    Gross Salary 60000.00 5000.00

Income Tax payable:

Gross Salary 60000.00 5000.00

Less: Personal allowance -25000.00 -2083.33
    Child Allowance 0.00 0.00
    Entertainment allowance 0.00 0.00
    Travel allowance 0.00 0.00

Taxable Income 35000.00 2916.67

Tax Payable:
    $35,000 @ 16% 5600.00 466.67
    Balance @ 33.5% 0.00 0.00

Total tax payable 5600.00 466.67

Net Payments:

Gross 60000.00 5000.00
    Taxes -5600.00 -466.67
    EE NIS (10.10% of $4650.) -5635.80 -469.65
    Net 48764.20 4063.68

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushie;

Simple is “bright as shite”. Fullstop. There is no hint of googling re. the main thrust of any of her posts. Her posts are by far the most perceptive on BU these days.

Absolutely required reading.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And fir yardfowl….FYI.

SUVs are 4 wheel drive vehicles designed for rough potholed roads, since 2004 I noticed US Ambassadors use these vehicles on the island for their daily transport…why….because it makes perfect sense, cheaper, more durable, easy to maintain.

18. @Simon.

Thanks for the post. With regard to the definition of “median” salary, it does not follow that “half of Bajans work for less than $5,000 BDS per month”. I posit that less than 25% work for >5000. That itself highlights the significant difference in salaries between top earners in the public and private sector and the majority earning less than $60K per annum. Otherwise great points.

Cheers

19. In other circumstances if the morons had been doing a good job and if the economy was really on a growth path as they falsely were claiming when they restored their supposedly sacrifice of 10%, I do not think that anyone would have a problem with the head of government having a car fit for the office.

I certainly do not have a problem with a good car for the PM or the GG but we need to buy less expensive ML cars which messengers drive around so leisurely daily.

But after admitting in the budget debate that the economy is in such terrible shape so that the minister had to impose $500 million in new taxes………a PM could come and so arrogantly tell Bajans………….I dont understand what all of the fuss is about, the car is the property of the government and that when he is no longer PM who ever is the next one would have it…………and this is the most arrogant and condescending thing he said…….”and that will not be for a long time”……….

PM, time longer than twine………your arrogance is going to sink the DLP….rest assured of that.

20. It says something about the sophistication of Barbadian politics that we are obsessed with the price of an official car, while other more important issues pass us by. It tells you all you want to now about the collective intelligence of Bajans – which, no doubt, they will try to justify.

21. angela Skeete Avatar

Alvin dont bother sweating your head. This form of boggey man politics is nothing new.

22. When MIA becomes PM next year, she can order the Benz be sold and replaced with a

Toyota Camry or Honda Accord.

23. Dear Hal:

Why do you think that the typical Bajan who earns LESS THAN $60,000 BDS per year (some of these people are my siblings, neighbours, cousins, etc. this is our reality) is unintelligent because they object to the Prime Minister’s office buying a very, very expensive car in a time of severe austerity?

We are not fools, we object because this purchase is SYMPTOMATIC of the government’s CONTEMPT FOR the taxpayers.

But it is not just this, we object to many other things as well.

24. @Alvin Cummins June 8, 2017 at 8:53 AM ” Why people making such a fuss over a car, that the Prime Minister is being driven in. There are ordinary citizens driving even more expensive vehicles.

Why don’t you stop telling lies for the DLP? At your age you are in the departure lounge and will soon have to meet your maker and will soon have to give account for the lies which you have told.

The truth is that no ordinary Bajan citizen, that is the ordinary/typical Bajan who is earning $60,000 BDS per year or LESS cannot afford to drive any Mercedes, and they certainly can’t afford to drive “even more expensive vehicles.”

You really should stop telling lies for the DLP…because

soon you will have to meet your maker, and if you continue on this lying path, straight to hell for you.

25. Simple Simon,

You seem to have some hang-ups about who is intelligent. Some of the brightest people I know are Barbadians. Whether in times of austerity or not, there are more important priorities about the management of the nation than some silly motor car. If you do not agree, fine.

26. It is important that the RSS is once again mapping Barbados and we at e talking about a model of car that most ordinary Germans have.
    Let us talk about the military threat to our democracy.

27. @Simple Simon

A solid comment.

Hal must accept that we all have different views and this is where leadership comes into play -how do we engage in consensus building to harmonize priorities as a people.

28. Hyundai Equus is now being used as the Presidential State Car in Costa Rica.

29. @Alvin Cummins June 8, 2017 at 8:53 AM “The head of State, or even Bill Gates, arrives at Grantley Adams on an official visit. He is met at the airport by the official automobile MP2. They are halfway down the ABC and the Mercedes develops a problem. Does the official driver; in uniform, get out of the car and hold out his thumb hitching a ride? Why people making such a fuss over a car, that the Prime Minister is being driven in. There are ordinary citizens driving even more expensive vehicles. ”

Again why don’t you stop trying to deceive people on behalf of the DLP.

If Bill Gates comes to Barbados he can well afford to hire his own taxi, so let him do so, or if he is staying as a posh hotel, the posh hotels already own posh vehicles for their posh visitors. So “no” there is no need for us to worry about or pay for Bill Gates’ transportation.

If a foreign head of state visits, the protocol is that the foreign embassy picks up their own dignitary at the airport.

The U.S. Embassy owns such a posh vehicle, as does the Chinese embassy, and the Canadian embassy, and the European High Commission, and the Cubans etc. etc. so “no” we do not have to worry about the transportation needs of foreign heads of state. In fact I am certain that an American President or high level official IS NOT PERMITTED to drive in any foreign government’s vehicle. They must drive in their own vehicle which is kept in a highly secured area and whose driver has to go through regular security screenings. So “no” they DO NOT DRIVE IN BARBADOS GOVERNMENT VEHICLES.

Stop telling lies for the DLP, otherwise straight to hell for you, sooner rather than later.

30. @Hal Austin June 8, 2017 at 11:43 AM “It is important that the RSS is once again mapping Barbados and we at e talking about a model of car that most ordinary Germans have.
    Let us talk about the military threat to our democracy.”

So what do you suggest?

That we drop one of our nuclear bombs on the RSS and their military companions?

Stupssseee!!!

We are not ordinary Germans.

When Germans drive Mercedes’ they are supporting German jobs. When Bajans drive Mercedes we are wasting scarce and valuable foreign exchange which would be better spent on other more important things.

31. @Hal Austin June 8, 2017 at 11:38 AM “You seem to have some hang-ups about who is intelligent.”

Please note that it is YOU, not me that raised the issue of the intelligence of Bajans.

32. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Jose Mujica: The world’s ‘poorest’ president – BBC News
    http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-20243493
    Nov 15, 2012 – Meet the president – who lives on a ramshackle farm and gives away most of his pay. … This is the residence of the president of Uruguay, Jose Mujica, whose lifestyle clearly differs sharply from that of most other world leaders. … This austere lifestyle – and the fact that Mujica …
    …………………………………………………………
    Barbados Economy 2017, CIA World Factbook – Theodora.com
    http://www.theodora.com/wfbcurrent/barbados/barbados_economy.html

GDP (purchasing power parity) compares the gross domestic product (GDP) or value of all final goods and services produced within a nation in a given year. A nation’s GDP at purchasing power parity (PPP) exchange rates is the sum value of all goods and services produced in the country valued at prices prevailing in the United States.

Barbados $4,804,000,000 2016 est.

Uruguay $73,930,000,000 2016 est.
    ……………………………………………………………………

We really serious or we mekkin sport…….
    we were #176 with 4.8B in ’16 when the order was made and they were #96 with 73B…..
    the president driving an old VW……

33. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

I wonder if Simpson Motors will sue the PM for slurring the character of their maintenance department?

A mercedes which has been serviced by the agents in the same garage from new should not be having regular breakdowns irrespective of its age,unless the we are saying that the agency should be removed from the agency for incompetency.

34. We have to thread the decision to order the Mercedes Benz last year with the reluctance by goverment to trim ministers and parlimmentary secretaries to send a message to inspire change. It is important to note the decision to restore the 10% to minister’s salaries. It all adds up to a government out of step with feelings of the people on the ground.

35. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

I just heard the PM on VoB giving his excuse for the purchase again…….

The more I hear it ,I must ask myself where did this ignorant person come from…..ignorance in the truest sense of the word as he is totally ignorant of what he is speaking of as well as the fact that the justification he wishes to use is a non-pont.

How did we get here….as former PM Sandi has been asking…..Alvin….you might be able to answer this one.

36. He is not ignorant, it is his unreal reality.

37. David,

In your attempt to preach you seem to misrepresent people. Have I ever objected to a diversity of ideas. Look at my various postings and that is precisely what I have been calling for, a free market of ideas. That is how we learn. I have suggested before you should be the umpire, not a participant in debates – especially when you are on the wrong side. It sends the wrong message.
    Buying an over-expensive car is important, but it is not a priority when an economy is in the state the Barbados one is. This is a mattr of judgement, not leadership.

@Simple Simon,

Have you look at your 11.20am posting to see who first used the word ‘unintelligent’.

38. Alvin – if you had one more brain you would qualify as a half-wit, and an illiterate one.

39. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Simple Simon

If visiting dignitaries run out of CD options , Sandy Labne has a number of Limos.

As you rightly said we real poor great……we begging for money/scrunting but we going to drive around mercs.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal AustinJune 8, 2017 at 10:45 AM
    “It says something about the sophistication of Barbadian politics that we are obsessed with the price of an official car, while other more important issues pass us by. It tells you all you want to now about the collective intelligence of Bajans – which, no doubt, they will try to justify.”

Hal AustinJune 8, 2017 at 11:38 AM
    “Simple Simon,
    ou seem to have some hang-ups about who is intelligent. Some of the brightest people I know are Barbadians. Whether in times of austerity or not, there are more important priorities about the management of the nation than some silly motor car. If you do not agree, fine.”

We were hoping that having been ‘outed’ by Artax for your incessant Islamophobic outbursts against the local Muslim community and your constant rants of xenophobic dislike of the Guyana-born DPP you would have sheepishly returned to your darkened closet of stupidity while trying to unmask the ‘anonymice’ BU bloggers.

You are no different from those ‘stupid’ British whites who think a black person is either a thief with criminal intent to be violent or downright idiotic like themselves.

Can’t you spot the obvious contradiction in your two statements reproduced above?

Who are “some of the brightest people” you know that are Barbadians? What qualifies them for such an estimable accolade? Are there any of these brightest people in Parliament today or controlling the commanding heights of the economy?

How come these “brightest ”of Barbadians are not setting the pace in the current race for the social and economic development of their country which is nothing more than a lost paradise which was ‘founded’ primarily by people with nothing more than a ‘limited’ 7th standard education with your own St. Giles being a former crucible of such scions.

My man, you are confusing schooling and possessing paper qualifications with intelligence.

The only person whom you know ‘personally’ to be extremely bright is Leroy Greenverbs.
    And we must agree with you that a man must be considered the Houdini of intelligence for having screwed so many stupid Bajans financially and is still not behind bars.

Intelligent or very ‘bright’ people do not possess the xenophobic trait neither do they display overt bigotry by presumptively judging other people based on their cultural or religious orientation.

Muslims did not enslave your Bajan black ancestors. Christians and Jews did.

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ha, Ha acts like he should not be advocating for the …..UK to rescind all muslim citizenship….to satisfy his disturbed soul, after all, the bombings are in UK, where he lives, not Barbados.

His logic is quite disturbing. …ah wonder if he got muslim friends, I do and they are pretty nice people,  they are not extremists.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ministers from poor ass origins, with rich tastes.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/06/08/out-of-touch-3/

“Out of touch!
    Symmonds calls on Stuart to climb down from high horse

Added by David Harris on June 8, 2017.
    Saved under Local News, Politics
    Opposition Member of Parliament for St James Central Kerrie Symmonds has added his voice to the raging public debate over Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s new $700,000 ride, accusing Stuart of living the “high life” while the majority of Barbadians were forced to “pay through their teeth”.

“My concern, and the concern of the country overall, is the apparently insatiable appetite on the part of elected individuals for the luxuries of high life,” Symmonds told Barbados TODAY Thursday morning, adding that the purchase of a new S-Class Mercedes Benz must be taken within the context of the recent ten per cent pay restoration, which was afforded members of the Stuart administration and the reclaiming of back pay.

The Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) representative also pointed out that Stuart was not the only Government beneficiary of luxury vehicles at a time when the ruling Democratic Labour Party administration has been appealing to ordinary Barbadians to make personal sacrifices as the country grapples with severe economic challenges.”

“The Prime Minister has admitted that he changed not one, but two, luxury cars over the past year, namely MP2 and M50. The key point I want to make is that to my certain knowledge you can find suitable vehicles that are both robust and not necessarily high maintenance,” argued Symmonds.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A nine day wonder.

44. A nine day wonder.
    +++++++++++++++
    …ya mean like the murder of Mrs Smith apparently is?

45. The Roman Catholic Church has an associated group whose purpose is to provide assistance to people in need. This group not only distributes food and other items to destitute families but also seeks to facilitate skill development so as to help people become self sufficient. The RC Church receives assistance from an organization in the USA in the form of food and other items for distribution to the poor. The Government of Barbados applies the National Social Responsibility Levy of 10% to the charitable donations from the USA. The church cannot afford to pay the levy so it has asked the Americans to stop sending the food and other items.

Our caring Government at work.

46. @Ping Pong

Let us hope given the cause the RC would have applied for exemption before making the arbitrary decision. Yes they should not have to do so.

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Prime ministers and government ministers went to school, call themselves educated and should know that 4 wheel drive vehicles are all terrain vehicles, built and engineered to withstand shock on the most uneven road surfaces.

Mercedes Benz were built and engineered for freeways and autobahns, they are not built or engineered for Fruendel’s rough terrain, potholded roads around the island.

Prime Ministers do not need to be driving mercedes at taxpayer’s expense. Although Owen Arthur was happy to waste taxpayer’s money buying mercedes to be driven around as PM…he does not drive a mercedes daily in his personal life, he drive a 4 wheel drive all terrain vehicle.

The idiots condoning this wastage, should be made to pay for all mercedes going forward. 

All departments of government should have 4 wheel drive vehicles…including the judiciary

48. David

the church applied for an exemption and was refused by the Minister of Finance.

49. @ David
    What exemption what??!!
    Don’t you understand that the MoF is an idiot?

The same thinking applies to sport equipment …where loyal Bajans who sacrifice themselves to represent the country, often AT THEIR OWN COST, are even taxed on sports items that were GIFTED to them by overseas benefactors.

The man is incapable of thinking past the elementary concept that an increase in base tax equals increase in slush funds to spend on baloney.
    He obviously does not grasp complex equations ….or decimals.

50. Unbelievable!

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply