George Brathwaite (PhD)

“Taxation without comprehension is as inimical to democracy as taxation without representation.” — Lawrence A. Zelenak (USA Professor of Tax Law).

Barbadians have been feeling the bludgeoning of austerity over the past few years. The further lambasting of the Barbadian people by the dreadful Freundel Stuart-led Democratic Labour Party (DLP) did not end with last week’s harsh Financial and Budgetary Statement. Hurtfully, Barbadians must brace for the worst which comes after July 1st when the roll-out of burdensome tax measures are to be implemented. The increased taxation, through a fiscal blow by Finance Minister Christopher Sinckler, will push the already high cost of living through the roof. Sadly, the measures put to Barbadians by Sinckler and supported almost in entirety by DLP parliamentarians are inimical to democracy, to the welfare of Bajans, and to Barbados’ national development.

Clearly, by announcing that from July 1st the rate for the National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL) will move from 2% to 10 % is sure to exploit and rake in at least $218 million over nine months. Additionally, the introduction of a broad-based foreign exchange commission on all sales of foreign currency at a rate of 2% via all wire transfers, credit card transactions, and over the counter sale of foreign currencies will furtively compound matters for consumers. Local businesses and households must also provision for an increased excise tax on gasoline and diesel, on top of a five fold increase in the NSRL while still attracting a 17.5 % Value Added Tax (VAT). Barbadians know all too well the cumbersome impact of cumulative energy costs on the local labour and prices market, particularly after having endured years of uncertainty and volatility. In total, more than 540 million dollars are expected to be voraciously extracted from tottering taxpayers over the next nine months.

Effectively, Stuart’s harsh policy measures and Sinckler’s punitive tax impositions will cause greater consternation across households and, the private sector will likely have to cut job losses or bend to more underemployment. President of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) Eddy Abed warned that the potential for job losses has increased with Sinckler’s taxation journey despite the ‘restraint and maturity exhibited by the private sector’ in the last decade. Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley correctly describes Sinckler’s heartless grab for greater taxation as the “most vicious tax take” ever to be inflicted on Barbados since 1941.

Barbados Manufacturers Association (BMA) President Jason Sambrano lamented that “people will spend less, there will be less economic activity for businesses” and issues of competitiveness will become more pronounced than currently exist. Removed from Sinckler’s thought is that local and foreign firms together with households will paralyzingly suffer a compounded rise in doing business. Domestic consumers will face at least a 10 % and more likely a 15 % rise in inflation while writhing in an onerous cost of living. The predicament for the nation is that Sinckler’s thoughtlessness will indisputably challenge the quality of life and standard of living in Barbados, while keeping at bay the international business sector and the accompanying investments. If things were already painfully hard, they will become practically unbearable for the nation.

It should serve the Finance Minister and members of the governing elite to realize that a tax policy should ‘acquire a high legitimacy and broad acceptance’ among our citizens because such legitimacy ‘requires a general feeling’ that the implemented tax policy serves the people, ‘relative to their contribution’. There must be the admission that Sinckler and his policy choices are unconscionable. The DLP continues to be extremely hostile and repugnant to the very people that its parliamentarians are supposed to represent. Untold burdens will realistically strangle Barbadian men, women, and children.

Most citizens and residents of Barbados are already reeling at the horrible decisions being made at a time when there ought to be a stimulation of economic growth. For instance, numerous persons sadly teared up last week after listening to a female caller to VOB’s popular call-in programme – Brass Tacks. Barbadians heard the wailing cries of a woman keen to get on with providing for herself and family, but she was up against the crass tax increases announced by a miscalculating and possibly uncaring Finance Minister. Barbadians having heard the hurting woman’s wails for fairness and have taken to social media showing an empathy that eludes Sinckler. These individuals firmly believe that the over-taxation by the DLP administration has left them feeling outside of the loop and not being serviced in juxtaposition to their contributions and sacrifices.

To date, Barbadians have experienced rapid pauperisation and seen many dreams flushed. Without preaching any ‘doomsday scenarios’, Minister Sinckler often appears dismissive of his critics, indifferent to advice, and pompous even in circumstances where the results of his macroeconomic determinations produce increased pain and suffering for the masses. Equally foreboding is the invidious silence and callousness of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart. There has been widespread disenchantment with the many incredulous promises made by Stuart and his despicable Cabinet. Having allowed several opportunities to slip through his grasp, Stuart is perceived to find solace, mainly in the classics, history and mythology but forgetting that Barbadians must daily face the real world. To the extent that Prime Minister Stuart can ignore the calls for him to exude empathy or intervene in the obvious decline of things social and political, is clearly indicative of a man seethed in his dour oblivion to the pioneers that charted the socioeconomic development of Barbados.

The Prime Minister has belatedly commented that the July 1st implementation date for the brutal taxation was ‘deliberate’ because he and his useless Cabinet “wanted to hear what people thought might be some of the challenges they were likely to face.” With all due respect, Stuart’s seeming contortion is as pathetic and reprehensible as the spineless acceptance of two outspoken Ministers critical of the very budget and taxation torture. Moreover, Prime Minister Stuart crudely mocks Barbadians by saying that there is still “time to listen and to make any minor adjustments that need to be made to facilitate those persons who will be affected by the 2 % commission.” Pray tell Barbadians, was Mr Stuart sleeping throughout Cabinet and during the debates?

Regrettably, there is no hope or outlook for real progress under this cadre of DLP parliamentarians and Cabinet. Despite the tremendous sacrifices made by the Barbadian people for almost a decade of setbacks and shabby governance, the nation is still suffocating under the deluge of Sinckler’s mess and Prime Minister Stuart’s lethargic leadership. The fact that Minister Sinckler asserted that ‘this is a time for strong, determined and unflinching leadership’ does two things. Firstly, by implication, Sinckler admittedly condemns Freundel Stuart for not being the type of leader capable of resuscitating the nation and political economy at this juncture. Secondly, Sinckler’s repeated statements on leadership, point toward the recent and many failures (i.e. over the last nine years), recognizing that the status quo inclusive of his tragic prescriptions must be uprooted. Surely, Sinckler – like numerous Barbadians – is calling for a new mandate so that once again Barbados obtains a legitimate government that is expressly derived from the power of the people.

Barbados is stuck in the economic doldrums, and for the next few months with Sinckler’s carelessness and Stuart’s indifference. The Cabinet is blind towards the plight and suffering heaping down on Barbadians. Looming at Barbados’ doorstep are ominous forebodings inclusive of additional downgrades, devaluation, and disintegration of the society. Already, the people – the human capital – are perilously close to totally breaking under the tremendous pressures of mounting debt and heavy taxation. As Milton Friedman argues, higher taxes never reduce the deficit; governments spend whatever they take in and then whatever they can get away with.” It is time for Barbadians to stop this DLP government. Everything is logical and right with the national call for immediate general elections.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com)

34 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Sinckler’s ‘vicious’ Tax Take”

1. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

With all your getting, get understanding: for understanding teaches wisdom.
    Those of us who subscribe to the Judaeo-christian religion would know the source of that admonition.
    Those of us in the social sciences only recommend evidenced base policy measures. We collect our evidence from past reaction of our economy to suggested measures and test whether they worked in the past. We also examine other economies in the world with a similar economic and cultural structure and ask ourselves whether these policies were effective there. According to the answers we get ,we then recommend, and if accepted implement.

George you quite rightly pointed out that these tax measures if successful would take $500 million out of the system. Which may or may not eliminate the deficit. But you know what it will not happen. The measures have to yield the revenue. My calculated guess is that to yield revenue people have to spend. No spending : no revenue.

2. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Sorry.
    The last sentence should read ,” Reduced spending leads to reduced revenue”

3. It is being reported elsewhere that the story the PM’s car was replaced with a new Mercedes is erroneous. We wait on Barbados to clarify.

#popcorn

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

He still cant get back the money from Simpson, he gotta keep the car. I know people who saw the car with their own eyes, they were at Simpson that day.. Waste of taxpayer’s money.

5. Andrew Simpson Avatar
    Andrew Simpson

The 2 % FXT, the 10 % NSRL and 17.5 % VAT do not apply to purchasers of locally grown fruits and vegetables, meat or other manufactured products being sold, in Barbados dollars, by persons that are not VAT registered.

6. DLP (Formerly CBC) TV and Radio Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) TV and Radio

I am thinking this budget is the implementation of austerity measures that HAD to be taken. But why implement such and not go to the IMF, just to say the DEM gov’t didn’t go to the IMF? If yuh go this road with this budget yuh could as well go to the IMF and get whatever funds that could be had at the same time…Then again this govt all about smoke and mirrors, doing things based on party paramountcy and not for the benefit of the country. Even now they carry this country deeper down a financial black hole..their only concern is how the DLP looks

7. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law!

This most recent recession should have lasted three years. The DLP gov’t have dragged it out to nine years due to teefin’, mismanagement, incompetence and lack of facilitation.

Why has no union spoken out? Back-room deals?

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools. The longer they are in power, the deeper in the hole we will be.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The IMF would monitor the Fruendel and his Fool’s spending of taxpayer’s money and the pension fund, they dont want that…lthey see that money as their personal piggy banks.

Lawson…look at ya idiot..lol

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/donald-trump-twitter-blocking-accounts-users-violates-us-constitution-columbia-university-knight-a7776486.html

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David June 6, 2017 at 12:15 PM #

Chuckle…..All doubts removed,check back page of todays Nation for the laughable reason for that brand new merc.

We are really a follow pattern society.

…..we have the SJPP that trains mechanics,painters,welders and upholsterers.

……you mean to say that for the sake of saving fx the old merc which will now be sold to a buddy could not be kept in tip top shape???

…….Or is he saying that the SJPP is no good since they stop qualifying under the UK City&Guilds but have our own version of a certificate?

…..We really mekkin bare sport.

10. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

WW &C at 7:52 AM

Do you really believe that the IMF’S job is to monitor sovereign governments’ management behaviour? What they really do is to lend them their own funds, or a multiple of it, with lending conditions. The same as any other lending institution.

11. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Vincent Haynes at 9: 52 AM

Did you do a cost benefit analysis to ascertain whether it was cheaper to buy a new Mercedes Benz for the PM of Barbados rather than repair the current one?
    Do you not think Mia would look impressive in a 9 month Mercedes? Or do you want to wash your mouth on her when the taxpayers have to give her one at a higher price?
    You like you do not expect Mia to win the next election?

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bernard…it’s monitored during reviews. Its standard.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

A 4 or 5 year old merc is practically new and can be repaired, german engineering is the top in the world…the cars last longer than most. Fruendel is lying.

I thought they were trying to say he did not waste tax dollars on a new mercedes, ya can only lie for so long. PMs do not need mercedes, they need to do the people’s work, they get a salary.

14. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law!

What is most offensive to me is that, having been caught in a clearly ill-considered and inconsiderate moment collecting a new luxury car days after a budget that will shrink new car-sales and new car-ownership by at least 30%, Fumble’s Fools had the audacity to make the bullshit statement they did in a poorly-conceived defence.

Yes, Bajans are idiots for not understanding DLP failures and voting for the Fools again in 2013 but it really isn’t necessary to rub voter stupidity in all of our faces.

Kyffin has carried tens of millions of dollars of Fuel, BWA and Transport Board debt for his failed gov’t to keep their card house standing and every now and then must gets his sweets. Business as usual.

15. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bernard Codrington. June 7, 2017 at 10:12 AM #

No, I did not do a cost benefit analysis on the old merc but here is the question why do we need top of the line vehicles to drive around this 2×3 island…..foreign dignatories can be accommodated with Limos from Sandy lane…..but no our mauby pockets must buy champagne benz’s.

Contrary to you I do not belong to any party and my statements hold good for who ever is in govt.

My bigger point was why does the SJPP not have responsibility for all govt vehicles or at least the ministers unless Frustrateds point is true and we could whistle till the cows come home as our boys and girls need to enjoy the sweets thanks to the intelligent citizens of our country who may yet give them a third term.

16. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

WW& C 10 :45 AM and 10 : 41 AM

I do not want to appear to be taking political sides. Those who really know me know my political leanings.

The IMF like all other rating institutions may express an opinion on the performance of the Barbados Economy. I do not think it is their place to evaluate the governments spending of the taxpayers money or segregated pension funds. They may comment on the effects these may have on the performance of the economy. Monitoring ? No way.

Any car, Mercedes or not ,can have or develop mechanical problems one day out of the distributive agents show room. After the warranty period expires, costs of repairs fall on the owners, in this case the taxpayers. Somebody has to make a judgement call and it is seldom the head of government.

17. It is interesting to note in the reason offered for buying the latest Mercedes for the Prime Minister is that it refers to a protocol agreed between government and Simpson Motors. Hopefully all are reminded that a protocol is not a contract and other decisions can be made given the economic challenges prevailing.

18. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 11:49 AM

Any idea what these “Protocols” are? Were the vehicles part of a lend/lease arrangement? And when was/were these protocol (S) entered into ? Are there any other” protocols’ in GOB dealings with the Private Sector?

Just asking as a taxpayer.

19. @Bernard

Good question but you know how these things go in Barbados. The political class loves to close ranks.

20. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Yes, David, they do. That is the reason why the Electorate has to read their lips , their foreheads , and their past behaviours.

21. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Protocols can be unprotocolled.

What baffles is why as a cost cuttting method we do not keep our older vehicles and let SJPP maintain them as a win win solution students who will be employed by garages around the island to service these same vehicles will learn and the govts maintenance bill will be reduced.

22. @Vincent

A noble thought but you should these luxury top end vehicles require special ‘after sale support’.

23. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle……and who is doing the “after sale” support is very essential……we too luv mekkin sport.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I dont think you are taking sides Bernard.

IMF must always do due diligence and have paper trails as reference.

Is Simpson’s not the agents for Mercedes and can source parts.

Fruendel has no excuse.

25. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger June 7, 2017 at 2:52 PM #

I agree he is not taking sides as he belongs to the political class and has tunnel vision.

The IMF will question/ask just like the Auditor General does how certain figures are arrived at and with what corroborating evidence…..nice words can be used but at the end of the day whatever the IMF finds is open to public scrutiny……which might be a bit embarrassing.

In this day of the internet anyone can source parts….it makes sense but not mandatory for Simpson to source as they are the dealer…..govt will pay no taxes on the part and the SJPP can do the repairs at little cost to the country.

In future let SJPP source the best vehicle for our roads and topography and do the maintenance….that is progress,instead of allowing the merchant class to live off the taxpayers all the time.

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Vincent….I was wondering how Bernard thought the IMF and rating agencies knew the government were overspending to begin with, just imagine if an IMF program is in place, they would be all over the government departments…commonsense,

I dont see why Fruebdel cant see that also, for arguments sake, if the brand new mercedes breaks down in 9 months, is Fruendel going to buy the 2017 Mercedes which will be out in October…at taxpayer’s expense…he did crap.

27. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

WW & C at 4:43 PM

You may be right but I do not recall any rating agencies accusing the GOB of overspending. I understand them to say that the Public Finances are unbalanced and in their opinion they should be balanced. An imbalance may be caused by overspending or under-taxing or not being able to borrow.
    . The IMF has no power to direct member governments how to organize their financial affairs.
    They advise. This advice may or may not be taken.

An official vehicle for the Prime Minister of Barbados is a requirement. He uses it for government business. I think we are sweating the small stuff. I will comment no further on this matter.

28. @Bernard Codrington. June 7, 2017 at 10:12 AM “Do you not think Mia would look impressive in a 9 month Mercedes?”

I don’t want Mia nor Freundel to “look impressive” with my tax money. I want them to do impressive work for the impressive amount money that we the tax payers pay them.

If they want to look impressive, let them use their own money…not ours.

29. Bernard Codrington. June 7, 2017 at 11:30 AM “Somebody has to make a judgement call and it is seldom the head of government.”

ONE: We did not say that the PM made the judgement call, but we are certain that the judgement call was made with his knowledge and his consent.

TWO: Do you know whether the person who made the judgement call is a qualified mechanical engineer? or whether a qualified mechanical engineer was even consulted?

30. @Vincent Haynes June 7, 2017 at 4:29 PM “instead of allowing the merchant class to live off the taxpayers all the time.”

The white merchant class have been living off the labour of black Bajans since the days of slavery, and now they have been joined by the political/parasitical class.

31. Simple:
    “…The white merchant class have been living off the labour of black Bajans since the days of slavery,…”
    I challenge you to look in the yellow pages and tell me what percentage of those businesses constitute “the white merchant class”. You people talk without putting your mouths in gear in a logical manner. The majority of business in Barbados are Black owned and controlled.

32. @ Bernard C
    I will comment no further on this matter.
    Good call.

33. Bernard,
    You run a deficit when you spend more than you earn. If government spends more than its revenue, then it is in deficit. You do not need a rating agency to tell you that.

34. Get ready for prime minister Jeremy Corbyn. Tonight is the night we will get rid of the arrogant, stubborn Theresa May and the Tories.