Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference”

-The Road not Taken –Robert Frost

To my best recollection, each of our Prime Ministers has been blessed with a sharp turn of linguistic wit, ever ready to paint a scenario, no matter how grave, with a memorable turn of phrase.

I vividly recall that on the second day of the debate on the Constitutional amendments of 1974, the Prime Minister, the Right Honourable Errol Barrow, (as he then was), plaintively inquiring “Where have all the flowers gone?” a sarcastic dylanesque reference to the glaring absence of the tumultuous crowd that had swarmed the yard of Parliament in protest the day before. Perhaps Mr Tom Adams’ tenure was far too brief for him to bequeath me a memorable phrase, but I feel sure that there must be more than one. And Sir Harold Bernard St John, as he was to become, would have suffered similarly.

However, Prime Minister Sandiford will be remembered for his description of the irremovable force of some meeting the irresistible object of his will. “He was adamant, I was adamant, something had to give” [paraphrased] and his later caricature in calypso intoning “you could like it or you could lump it…none o’ you ain’t brekking up my night rest”. His successor, Mr Owen Arthur continued the tradition with his colourful vernacular description of one Parliament as “po’ rakey”, while I can recall the late Mr David Thompson comparing the local economy to a fatted calf.

The current Prime Minister, Mr Freundel Stuart seems bent on continuing the tradition, if it may be so described. With a clear affection for the classics and for language in general, Mr Stuart has delivered himself of some linguistic gems, although his detractors have sought to use these as further telling evidence of his distance from the electorate. There are some Barbadians who are prepared to accuse writers or speakers of the local heresy of “showing off” whenever they use an unfamiliar word; as if one’s vocabulary should remain at the level of a second form pupil for the balance of one’s existence. Doubtless, some have suffered thusly.

I was struck by Prime Minister Stuart’s use of the collective “carnival” to describe a number of clowns in reference to a group on a previous occasion; and by his metaphor of “sucking on the already painfully sore nipples of the nation” by those who were still demanding economic concessions from the state in the midst of stringency; and last week he switched the figure of speech to approximate the national economy to a horse and the traditional civic entitlements to a jockey. In his words, “The state has found itself in a position where, with spiraling expenditure in those years (the period of satisfied entitlement) and with dwindling revenue, the jockey, it seems has become too heavy for the horse and whenever the jockey becomes too heavy for the horse, the horse cannot compete effectively…”

He is right. Indeed, the very point was made earlier in the same debate by Mr Arthur, who now sits as an Independent MP, when he suggested a reform of the hoary paternalistic approach to assisting citizens that previous administrations had employed over the years.

Of course, even highlighting this new normal comes at an electoral cost, but the manifesto promises of those parties aspiring to office should be tempered nevertheless by this reality. Tradition dies hard, however, and there will of course be the alluring campaign promises of a return to the old ways, although it should be clear even to the proverbial “blind man on the trotting horse in the middle of the street” that those days of near plenty have swiftly receded and are gone forever. Heraclitus’ dictum that you cannot step into the same river twice applies with full force in this context.

So far as my assessment of the budgetary proposals themselves and the subsequent debate is concerned, I was out last week and was therefore limited to reading a transcript of the Finance Minister’s speech and listening online to the reply of the Leader of the Opposition. I have read newspaper extracts only of the other members’ contributions since my return.

My general impression is that we are in a grave circumstance (no pun!). Former Prime Minister Arthur argued cogently that having come to a fork in the economic road, we chose the one less travelled -that of the home grown solution- one that leads inexorably to the imposition of harsh measures, rather than the one more used by the scrunting traveller –that of approaching the International Monetary Fund [IMF] for technical assistance. In his view, it was a judgment call and the current governing administration chose the path that may lead to unwarranted human suffering.

This recourse of approaching the IMF for assistance is one that has been touted time and again in recent months by some prominent economists –among them Mr Arthur himself; Professor Howard; Ms Dukharan; and Dr Worrell- as the optimal solution to our prevailing economic woes.

However, the current administration is adamant that this is not the way, preferring that the citizenry take the bitter medicine of the homegrown recovery. This seeming antipathy to recourse to the IMF is understandable. One of the local sacred cows is the exchange rate of our currency to the US dollar and there might be an innate apprehension on the part of the government that such an avenue is fraught with both the likelihood of devaluation and consequent indelible electoral disfavour. I do not know.

There are equally those who might argue, however, that the recently imposed levy on foreign exchange transactions does serve to reduce the value of the local dollar, resulting in a de facto, though not de jure, devaluation. When, concomitantly, there is an increase in the cost of imports owing to the increase in the rate National Social Responsibility Levy [NSRL], the die is cast.

An enjoyable Whit Monday!

118 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Of Overweight Jockeys and the Road not Taken”

1. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Vincent, those taking action would have to prove fraud or some breach of duty on the part of the Board that OK’d the payment of the fee. Otherwise, it passes muster!

2. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

So if not the JM for civil action why not the CoP and or DPP?

@ Miller, Both of these parties, especially the first, need a complaint to be lodged in order to proceed criminally in matters such as these. Has an information been laid with the CoP to your best knowledge?

The DPP likewise does not act own popular perception but on hard, cogent and admissible evidence.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff CumberbatchJune 4, 2017 at 5:15 PM

Do you mean like the one against the speaker who ‘withheld’ thousands from a client for an exorbitantly unethically long period of time?

Come on Jeff, if the DPP ‘were’ so keen on only pursuing cases based on “hard, cogent and admissible evidence” how come many cases have been ‘lost’ like the Jamaican Myrie and the one involving Michaelmas Lashles and the Computer Misuse Act?

At least the DPP is empowered to tell the authorities when not to proceed with matters where the chances of success are miniscule.

Isn’t it good to have well-connected friends in high places who can always recommend you to one of his lawyer friends who can always arrange for the files to go mysteriously missing just like the thousands of dollars associated with ‘drug’ interdiction cases?

4. @Jeff at 5:05 PM…thanks for the response.

“Arbitration” was a quote-unquote. The word ‘dispute’ or as you noted “without demur” would have better captured my intention.

I can only add that based on the details coming out of the Caves/Byer matter it seemed that the ‘ballpark figure to be negotiated” was indeed the “actual sums quoted” AND duly “paid”.

The latter after the Minister intervened to quell the strenuous objections of the CEO and her team.

So you are right that the client at least understood that “the fee charged” was negotiable.

The attorney was, however, not similarly minded!

And may I add I do not begrudge anyone their excellent compensation for their expertise and knowledge…we all merely seek transparency, integrity and reasonableness of purpose.

5. @Jeff
    It seems that the present PM is keen on using idioms relating to domestic animals I am surprised that there has been no clever repartee from the Opposition benches e.g. that he is “ flogging a dead horse” or he has the country under “heavy going” while he has been “riding roughshod” perhaps they are “holding their horses” and “jockeying for position” hoping to win “hands down”

You also wrote

“ a sharp and linguistic turn of wit”

Then you ended by wishing one and all “An enjoyable Whit Monday”

How punny are you?

6. It doesn’t appear that the DPP acted on hard,cogent and admissible evidence when he went after Philip Nicholls.

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

^And may I add I do not begrudge anyone their excellent compensation for their expertise and knowledge…we all merely seek transparency, integrity and reasonableness of purpose.*

@DPD, Constat!

8. Jeff

Thanks.

9. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Come on Jeff, if the DPP ‘were’ so keen on only pursuing cases based on “hard, cogent and admissible evidence” how come many cases have been ‘lost’ like the Jamaican Myrie and the one involving Michaelmas Lashles and the Computer Misuse Act?

It doesn’t appear that the DPP acted on hard,cogent and admissible evidence when he went after Philip Nicholls.

@ Miller and Sarge, I believe that both of you gentlemen are clever enough to know that I was speaking normatively…what is supposed to happen ideally! The cogency of evidence is ultimately a matter for the determination of the court or, in appropriate cases, the jury.

10. Alvin Cummins June 4, 2017 at 1:46 PM #

“Artax; “…restore conditions for strong economic growth, while undertaking policies to correct underlying problems.” This is what you said an IMF loan would do. Really???”

@ Alvin Cummins

Perhaps you need to VISIT the IMF’s website and avail yourself of the information contained therein. Then you should base your comments on FACTS rather than SPECULATION.

However, knowing you, you would probably dismiss the website and accuse the IMF’s hierarchy of lying or suggest that institution is in “bed with the BLP.”

And the latter isn’t anything to doubt, because your DLP colleagues are known to talk some shiite “when duh ready.”

Case in point; In his contribution to the debate on the 2017/2018 Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure on March 15, 2016, DLP member of parliament for St Michael West Central (and perhaps the only back-bencher), James Paul, mentioned the S&P’s downgrade of Barbados’ credit rating on March 9, 2016. Paul implied that S&P and Moody’s were in COLLUSION with the BLP in a concerted effort to “see Barbados fall.”

And Alvin, you dun know you duz contribute dah type uh shiite to BU.

11. Alvin Cummins June 4, 2017 at 1:31 PM #

“Artax; In response to your comment re borrowing from the IMF, In what currency would this loan be repaid Wouldn’t it entail use of foreign exchange, the very currency you would be borrowing to repay?”

@ Alvin Cummins

Are you suggesting that government repay current loans provided by the international financial institutions and other foreign debt obligations using EC dollars or the Japanese Yen?

And does not the repayment of these financial obligations currently “entail the use of foreign exchange?”

Alvin, leh me gih you uh example. in 2013 this inept DLP administration borrowed US225M from Credit Suisse AG Cayman Islands to cover budgetary needs, including infrastructure projects and the bolstering of foreign reserves. Sinckler revealed that on June 18, 2015, government repaid $41.23 million of the said loan.

Alvin, please note that one of the main reasons for seeking the Credit Suisse loan was to “replenish” the island’s foreign reserves which had reportedly declined by $175.9 million since the loan was acquired.

Taking the above information into consideration as it realtes to the CS loan, perhaps you may want to answer the following questions you posed to me:

1) “In what currency would this Credit Suisse loan be repaid?”

2) “Wouldn’t it entail use of foreign exchange, the very currency you would be borrowing to repay?”

Alvin, please take the following advice from your colleague: “ac June 30, 2015 at 8:46 PM #: Always check your Facts before putting fingers to paper.”

But now I pun dis topic, Alvin, could you tell me if Sinckler ever informed Barbadians if this inept DLP administration entered into a debt-restructuring programme with Credit Suisse International Bank, over the repayment of the loan?

12. angela Skeete June 4, 2017 at 11:28 AM #

“Blp yardfowl Artexeres your understanding of debt is all about dollar bills compensation and you cannot in reality relate to the social damages incur and if OSA had thought about social consequences to debt he would have think twice . Now right out of the economic box he is touting quick formulas that would not necessarily ease the pain or raise the a social advantage to the most vulnerable.”

@ Angela Skeete

You should also follow your advice as well re: “ac June 30, 2015 at 8:46 PM #: Always check your Facts before putting fingers to paper.”

It is obvious the proof readers in George Street do not read your contribution before you post them. According to your leader, Freundel Stuart, “what you write has as much value as what you would see in any garbage dump collected by the Sanitation Services Authority.”

Perhaps you may want to tell BU about the “social damages” and “social consequences” that would be incurred if government consolidated all its foreign obligations and repays ONE entity/financial institution at an interest rate significantly lower than the combined interests rates on existing loans?

You do not even have a BASIC understanding of debt, but specializes in spewing political rhetoric about “social damages and consequences” in an attempt to create fear.

13. angela Skeete Avatar

Artexeres if what i write is garbage why do you bother reading it fool. the fact being you are sooo much a blp yardfowl that you would rather consume garbage than walk right by it. bon appetite angela skeete would be writing more garbage for you to fill your hungry belly yardfowl

14. Angie, the weave too tight, nuh and you just wake up from sleeping and suddenly looked at your mug in the mirror?

You have proven that empty vessels and yard-fowls make the most noise!!!

15. angela Skeete Avatar

yeah de weave soo tight that when i looked in the mirror i see uh ugly face looking back yardfowl coc a doo doo doo btw dont forget to look fuh yuh garbage it would be nicely package and waiting for you

16. Yeah….. de weave too tight!

Hahahaha
    Wuh loss!!!!

17. Wunna people still fail to understand the extent to which the lawyers Jeff have produced have managed to use the ‘law’ to create a serfdom in Barbados.

They have enacted ‘laws’ that REQUIRE citizens to hire ‘lawyers’ to do the simplest of tasks; … while charging rates fixed by them …and insulated from competition.
    They have wormed themselves on to every Board in the shiite place – working behind the scenes to inflict dishonesty in every area from politics to medicine to sport and culture.

They have drafted the ‘laws’ with deliberate flaws – that even angela Skeete can spot – in order to allow themselves leeway to do whatever the hell they want.

These people are the Devil’s advocates in Barbados.
    Barrow was DEAD right about how the whole lot should be dealt with…

That Jeff seeks to justify such GLARING dishonesty under the guise of ‘what the written shiite laws says’ ….is disappointing to Bushie.

In fact, such collusion is intended to be addressed by ETHICS, by OPEN BIDDING for services, by transparency at the Board levels, and by whistle-blowing by HONEST Bajans.

Those LACKIES on the BWA board who REMAINED in place without resigning in disgust are just as tainted as Hal Gollop and Froon.
    …just like the BLP lackies who continue to sit in the shiite parliament and call the big thief ‘Mr Speaker Sir…’

The whole country is overwhelmed by brass bowl crooks and lackies….
    …no wonder we are where we are.

18. When the general election comes, vote out all lawyer/politicians, no matter how decent and honest. Purge the swamp.

19. The lawyer Jeff Cumberbatch is full of shit!
    Almost anyone who has had to deal with lawyers in Barbados know they are – with few exceptions – a disgrace to the profession. That he can (continually) defend their unsavoury actions here speaks volumes.
    Should we be surprised at the state of the legal ‘profession’ in Bim when people like Cumberbatch on the Hill play such a prominent role in their education and training??
    #Disgrace

20. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

The lawyer Jeff Cumberbatch is full of shit!
    Almost anyone who has had to deal with lawyers in Barbados know they are – with few exceptions – a disgrace to the profession. That he can (continually) defend their unsavoury actions here speaks volumes.
    Should we be surprised at the state of the legal ‘profession’ in Bim when people like Cumberbatch on the Hill play such a prominent role in their education and training??
    #Disgrace

@ Mr Dullard, I accede to your superior knowledge in matters faecal and I awfully regret your failed attempt(s) to gain entry into the Faculty of Law. You should also attempt to divine the origins of those “few exceptions”.

21. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Wunna people still fail to understand the extent to which the lawyers Jeff have produced have managed to use the ‘law’ to create a serfdom in Barbados.[Emphasis added]

@ Bush Tea, you do flatter me unnecessarily, but thanks anyway!

22. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

When the general election comes, vote out all lawyer/politicians, no matter how decent and honest. Purge the swamp.

@ Hal, surprisingly emotive and flippant coming from you. You do understand, I trust, the full import of what you are advocating?

23. LOL @ Jeff
    Boss, who else do we EVER hear of at Cave Hill to be working with the education of these demons AND willing to communicate with the general public AND to serve on important national bodies such as the Fear Trading “thingie”?

Besides you are clearly intelligent enough to be assigned such status…. How you do not subscribe to a higher moral standard than the shiite laws conceived by our politicians of CLEARLY LIMITED intellect – along with our lawyers of CLEARLY LACKING ethics and morals …. is what amazes Bushie…

Persons of you intellect usually conform to a MUCH higher standard of ethical and moral standard than does people like the joker we have for an AG… or the disgrace currently being driven in MP1

Why are YOU not SETTING the moral and ethical standards for these Cretins?

…clearly, like Caswell, you SERIOUSLY undervalue your potential to positively influence the country in ways that VERY FEW OTHERS can do….

24. Jeff,
    I believe that voters should vote on the quality of the candidate in their constituency. However, if commenters are saying that all lawyer/politicians, or the majority, are bringing parliament in to disrepute then they have the power to vote them out.
    Admittedly, it is a bit facetious since I have the highest admiration for the calm dignity and intelligence of Santia Bradshaw.

25. @Hal

Have we not discussed ad nauseam that we are battling an entrenched duopoly? It rubbishes the thought that voting for the individual occurs on the rare occasion.

26. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

…if commenters are saying that all lawyer/politicians, or the majority, are bringing parliament in to disrepute then they have the power to vote them out

@ Hal, this argument, that differs substantially from your earlier recommendation, is irrefutable, but its premise is fallacious.

I have not seen any argument on BU that Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin, Ms Bradshaw, Stephen Lashley,George Payne, Adriel Brathwaite and Mia Mottley, to name a few, are bringing Parliament into disrepute. Who, then, constitute this so-called majority?

27. The PM was written by the Banker’s Association in respect of a matter over which they have serious misgivings.The PM failed to reply in a timely manner and used the TV to inform all who listened that since a copy of their letter to him found its way into the possession of the Leader of the Opposition,he is afraid a copy of his reply will have a similar fate.One is left to assume that that is as good a reason as any for not having the decency to reply to the Bankers’ Association.And we speak of Productivity in the public service when the titular head can so glibly fail to act in the interest of good governance policy.

28. @ David,
    Under our electoral system, voters vote for individuals, not parties, that is why when someone resigns from a party they can join the Opposition without having to fact the electorate. We have discussed this before.
    @Jeff,
    My original argument has not changed, I have simply qualified it by stating once again the quality of Santia Bradshaw (I do not know her and was introduced to her once in St Lawrence Gap, an encounter of a few seconds). My curiosity about her is that she did not go to Cave Hill, but to a south of England university best known for its marine studies.
    I suspect the lack of sound professional ethics has something to do with their training at UWI. Just look at the number who do pro bono work. It was Caribbean lawyers who led the creation of free law centres in Britain, led by the late Guyana-born Rudi Narayan, a man who a former Labour solicitor general once told me should have been a judge.
    On the other hand, I do not know of the personal or professional lives of the names you have mentioned, apart from the fact that some feature in BU occasionally in bringing the House in to disrepute and others that have been talked about negatively in private in my presence.
    However, more substantively, ours is a political culture dominated by lawyers and, I would contest, they are implicit in not challenging the major fault lines that run through our policy-making, from the drafting of legislation to the disciplinary approach to wrongdoing.
    If lawyer/politicians do not add value to law-making then there is no real value in having lawyers as our members of parliament.
    And for those who always want to throw stones, we have the same problem in the UK. The only difference is that others also rise to the top: our prime minister is a geography graduate and former Bank of England employee, and our Leader of the Opposition is a non-graduate, having dropped out of the Polytechnic of North London.
    A bigger problem for us is the dominance of Oxford University, and especially PPE graduates.
    While we are at t, why can’t layers be allowed to compete: advertise, charge competitive fees, be compelled to attend continuing professional development courses, and, most of all, have a disciplinary system in which non-lawyers form the majority on the committee.
    The counter-argument that they need people who understand law is untenable; the disciplinary committee will have its own counsel who will advise them on the law.

29. @Hal

You are challenged oftentimes by the theory of the matter. Many vote party at election time it matters not the name on the ticket.

30. @ Jeff
    “I have not seen any argument on BU that…..”
    Who would expect for there to be an outcry over ordinary dirt ….when truckloads of shiite are being unloaded in parliament on a regular basis?

In the land of the really evil, the ordinary ‘crook’ is a saint….

That said, …none of us are perfect, but most of us do NOT have the legal authority and the financial opportunity, to do the kinda shiite that lawyers get to do routinely….

31. David,
    People may vote B or D, but our system of government is that electors vote for individuals. This is not a Bajan thing, but the law. A government is formed by the person who could command a majority in parliament.
    No matter how many times you repeat this does not change the fact that you are wrong. That is why if a majority of a third party and independents were elected and could agree on a basic programme, then they could form the next government.
    On the other hand, if we had a system of recall, a member of parliament kicked out of his/her party (Dr Agard) there will have to be a bye-lection.
    It is basic Westminster politics.

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I have simply qualified it by stating once again the quality of Santia Bradshaw (I do not know her and was introduced to her once in St Lawrence Gap, an encounter of a few seconds). My curiosity about her is that she did not go to Cave Hill, but to a south of England university best known for its marine studies.

@Hal, Really? is this how you assess quality? Incidentally, this was your original argument-

When the general election comes, vote out all lawyer/politicians, no matter how decent and honest. Purge the swamp.

Quid multa?

33. Jeff,

You are making a mountain out of a mole hill. My submission was in reply to the previous submission: in other words, if one is fed up with the unethical behaviour of lawyers and their propensity towards forming a professional mafia, then vote them out of office. T|hat was the context.
    In response to you, I reiterated what I have said previously, from observation, Santia Bradshaw behaves with a calm and dignity that is not typical of Barbadian lawyer or politicians. I have been a client of local lawyers. That observation stands.
    I suspect what you really want to ask is if I think so highly of Ms Bradshaw, am I suggesting that she too should be voted out. Yes. If we are purging the swamp, then we must purge the swamp.
    Lawyers do not bring anything exceptional to the parliamentary table. Look at the US Senate, the US Congress, the UK parliament.

34. @ Mr Dullard, I accede to your superior knowledge in matters faecal and I awfully regret your failed attempt(s) to gain entry into the Faculty of Law. You should also attempt to divine the origins of those “few exceptions”

There you go again.

I know how dear UWI is to local arrivistes such as yourself but for some Cave Hill (Law Faculty or otherwise) would be a massive step down.
    Given your position as a key stakeholder in the legal system in B’dos by virtue of your long tenure as a teacher of many of Barbados’ lawyers what have you done to address the poor state of the legal “profession” in Barbados?

PS: Arcane citations and verbal chicanery do not count.

Yours
    A. Dullard

35. @THE JEFF CUMBERBATCH COLUMN – OF OVERWEIGHT JOCKEYS AND THE ROAD NOT TAKEN.”

I don’t understand why wunna keep saying that the jockey is overweight.

There is NOTHING wrong with the jockey.

It is the horse that has been kept on a starvation diet.

Feed the horse for God’s sake.

36. @Jeff Cumberbatch “sucking on the already painfully sore nipples of the nation”

Dear Jeff: My late beloved mother was even more colourful that any Prime Minister of Barbados.

One of my favourites of hers was “at sometime you have to TAKE the bubbbies out of the baby’s mouth”

It is way past time that we take our bubbies out of the Prime Minister’s mouth, and out of the mouth’s of the DLP.

We tired ‘o sucklin’ DEM..

37. Interesting exchange today between David Ellis and Donville Inniss. Have a listen and be the judge if Inniss would have voted yea or nea if the Opposition had called for a divide. Why did the opposition not call for a divide anyway.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/video/view/515

38. @Alvin Cummins June 4, 2017 at 1:34 PM “The decision to replace the car is not made by the office holder.”

Almost certainly the decision is made with the CONSENT of the office holder.

You really ‘ink that we went to school at de pipe?

39. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

*It is way past time that we take our bubbies out of the Prime Minister’s mouth, and out of the mouth’s of the DLP.

We tired ‘o sucklin’ DEM..*

@ Simple Simon, I am not clear from this who owns the nipples and who is doing the sucking!

40. @ Simple Simon
    You really ‘ink that we went to school at de pipe?
    You really ‘ink that Alvin does think….?

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

That’s all Alvin is good for, sitting his yardfowl tail up on Eglinton insulting people’s intelligence and condoning wicked crimes , theft, fraud and disenfranchisement against his own people.

42. @Bush Tea June 5, 2017 at 8:54 AM “Why are YOU not SETTING the moral and ethical standards for these Cretins?”

You understand right? that it is really, really hard to teach a cretin anything.

43. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Why did the opposition not call for a divide anyway.(?)

@ David, perhaps it was clear to the Opposition that it could not win given traditional voting patterns. Of course, one other significant purpose of the call for a divide is for Government M Ps to “show their hand” publicly. The Opposition might have missed a step here!

44. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Sincere apologies, SS, I misread your “suckling” for” sucking”! A fundamental error!

45. @Jeff Cumberbatch June 5, 2017 at 12:14 PM “@ Simple Simon, I am not clear from this who owns the nipples and who is doing the sucking!”

Dear Jeff:

Let me therefore clarify.

The taxpayers own the nipples.

The politicians, principally at this time the highly paid DLP Cabinet members, and their friends are doing the sucking/getting the free milk.

We the taxpayers who produce ALL OF THE MILK are tired of breast feeding the political class.

Between my mother and me and my sisters and daughters we have breast fed dozens of literal infants. Infants rarely willingly give up the freeness, the sweetness, and the ease of the breast feeding.

The mother/taxpayer has to initiate the removal of the breast from the mouth of the infant who so enjoys the freeness, the sweetness and the ease of breast feeding.

Since neither you or the Prime Minister have never ever breast fed an infant it is unlikely that either of you truly understand the mother/infant dynamic.

At this time we are tired of feeding DLP politicians and their friends.

We want their mouths offa we nipples.

I trust that this is crystal clear.

If it is not, please attend detention tomorrow after school.

46. @Jeff

Of course, one other significant purpose of the call for a divide is for Government M Ps to “show their hand” publicly. The Opposition might have missed a step here!

This is the point!

One can also question David Ellis why he did not take the opportunity to exact a definitive position from Innis in his text exchange.

47. angela Skeete Avatar

Well !Well !the biggest yardfowl on BU is YOU nobody spends more time on Bu paling spouting more sh.it than you.fuh u to call anybody a yardfowl is laughable.. Check yuh self first bozie and see how many feathers uh left hanging on the paling yardfowl.

48. @Jeff Cumberbatch June 5, 2017 at 12:25 PM “Sincere apologies, SS, I misread your “suckling” for” sucking”! A fundamental error!”

Indeed.

If you were in my class you would have earned a big fat zero for this fundamental error.

49. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Alvin

It is also important to note that these adjustment programmes were all supported by IMF financing
    agreements, giving the lie to the myth that the IMF is committed to currency devaluation in every
    situation, and that IMF assistance always comes at a cost in terms of social wellbeing.

The lesson for Barbados is clear, and it confirms what we already know, based on our own experience in
    1991. The treatment for what ails our economy is a reduction in the costs of operation of government and state enterprises, supported by financial assistance from the IMF and other international and regional financial institutions. That may hurt the economy somewhat in the near term, but it will reset the external balance, restore confidence, reverse the sentiment at credit rating agencies, and uncover the strong underlying competitiveness of our tourism, international business, rum and other selected
    manufactures, and renewable energy service providers.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………

Delisle Worrell’s latest publication.
    Your former buddy…..any comments??

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Consequences Observing BloggerCancel reply