Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

In the Budgetary Proposals on August 16, 2016 the Minister of Finance introduced something called the National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL). It is supposed to be levied on all imports at the border and local/domestic production at a rate of 2% with effect from September 1, 2016. In order to make the imposition of yet another tax palatable, the Minister claimed that this new levy was intended “to assist in offsetting the cost associated with financing public healthcare service provision…”

Even though this country is already severely overtaxed, many people including me did not mind having to pay increase prices, for the stated reason, because of the dire state of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and other public healthcare facilities. But now, after nine months of collecting money to improve healthcare, as far as I can see, there is no discernible positive change to the delivery of health services.

In the most recent Budget the Minister increased the rate of the levy from 2 to 10%. This time Government did not bother with the pretence of financing healthcare. It just seems as though government is trying to dampen demand for foreign goods by taking away the means to pay for them, thereby conserving what little foreign exchange the country is now earning. Mind you, that is a discussion for the economists and out of my league.

Nonetheless, I would like to find out under what authority is Government continuing to collect this levy. Don’t get me wrong, I am not questioning the Minister’s right to impose taxes during a budget presentation. My concern is that after nine months, I am yet to see the NSRL Act in place so that Government can lawfully continue to collect this tax.

The Minister of Finance is empowered by the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act to impose a new tax or increase the rate of an existing tax, without first passing the enabling legislation, but that power has limitations. Sections 3, 4 and 5 of that act are relevant:

3.(1) Subject to this Act, where

(a) the imposition of a tax; or

(b) an increase in the rate of an existing tax,

is contained in any budgetary proposals, then from the date specified by the Minister in such budgetary proposals (hereinafter in this Act referred to as the specified date)

(i) the imposition of such tax shall be as effective as if an enactment had been made or passed imposing such tax and the tax shall be payable as from the specified date;

(ii) the increase in the rate of the existing tax shall be effective from the specified date and the existing tax shall be payable at the increase rate as from that date.

(2) Any tax or increase in the rate of an existing tax which becomes payable pursuant to subsection (1) shall cease to be so payable if the appropriate enactment for the imposition of the tax or for increasing the rate of the existing tax is not made or passed within 4 months of the date on which the budgetary proposals are made to the House of Assembly.

Section 4.(1) goes on to provide that the tax is payable from the time the Bill imposing the tax is introduced into the House of Assembly, if no date is specified in the Bill. Section 4.(2) then states:

(2) Any tax or increase in the rate of an existing tax which becomes payable pursuant to subsection (1) shall cease to be so payable if the Bill

(a) is withdrawn from the House of Assembly; or

(b) is not passed by the House of Assembly within 4 months of the date on which it is introduced therein.

More importantly, section 5 states:

If pursuant to subsection (2) of section 3 or subsection (2) of section 4 any tax or any increase in the rate of an existing tax ceases to be payable, ten any sums paid by any person by way of such tax or increase in the rate of an existing tax shall be refunded to that person.

In a nutshell, those sections are saying that Government can introduce measures in a budget to impose new taxes or raise the rate of an existing tax but it has four month to pass the necessary legislation. Failing that, the tax ceases to be payable and any sums paid shall be refunded.

Government must set the example and obey the laws of this country. There is only one lawful way for Government to retain the money that has already been collected by this NSRL. It can pass a validation act but such an act would require the votes of two-thirds of the members of both Houses of Parliament, since it would have to alter the Constitution.

Now let’s see what the Opposition will do.

55 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Lawless Government Ignores the Rule of Law”

1. Vincent
    …..but you is de Chmn of NATO,where you lead I shall follow……simple.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, if it were possible for you to follow where Bushie leads … you would experience the kind of enlightenment that it is not even possible to explain in words….

In answer to the question “What must one do in order to achieve total success in this life?”, the greatest of all Bushmen said ‘sell all that you have, give it away to the poor, …. and just follow my lead…”

If you were to follow Bushie, then you will be following that Bushman also….

2. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea June 6, 2017 at 7:13 AM #

Skippah……ah dun tel yuh awredy dat ah ain gotta yen……an uh dun enlightened.

So Chmn…exactly what are you saying and where are we going?

3. http://www.mercedes-benz.ca/content/canada/mpc/mpc_canada_website/en/home_mpc/passengercars/home/new_cars/models/s-class/_w222/explore/highlights.html

$103100 cad = $ 153007 Barbados dollars.

So how the duty free price in Barbados is $350,000 ? unless it is customized.

4. Hants
    You have given an example of the “rip off society” that is Barbados.The consumer is a taker.I recall many years ago it was the law brought about by DaCosta Edwards, to publish on the vehicle the FOB cost,the CIF cost,the mark up and the selling price.As far as I know this law was never repealed.This is a buccaneer town.Piracy rules.

5. David G. Brooks Avatar
    David G. Brooks

The new NSRL Act was laid in the House, as per the Standing Orders (Supplementary) of May 30th, 2017 [the day of the Budget] contained the following:

Hon. C. P. Sinckler: To move the First Reading of the National Social Responsibility Levy Bill, 2017.

Notice of this Bill was given on 25th May, 2017.

The new proposed Act – at the time still at the 2% – can be found on …

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/217

but on perusal it has a Validation clause …

Validation
    Notwithstanding the sections 3 (2) and 5 of the Provisional Collection
    of Taxes Act, Cap. 85, all monies collected in relation to the levy from 1st
    September, 2016 to the commencement of this Act, shall be deemed to have been
    validly and lawfully collected as if collected under this Act.

Which effectively says it is over-ruling the Provisional Collection
    of Taxes Act. (or to ass with it).

BTW, while I happened to retain the link location for the new act as I found it on the day before the Budget, it is not longer available on the Parliament Web Site as a Resolution Before the House and even a search on the site for “National Social Responsibility Levy Bill” brings back NOTHING. Most telling.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply