The Hal Gollop 1.5 million invoice

The following was posted to BU on another blog and worthy of penetrating discussion afforded a separate blog-space.

William. Please post the following info as well. Firstly, the BWA bought the land on which the building is located over 15 years ago and under the NHC Act. So the notion that he had to regularise the title to the land is absurd.

Secondly, Clarke Gittens and Farmer, the law firm which worked for the financier and whose legal fees the BWA also had to pay and who prepared ALL of the documentation) charged $275,000.00.

Thirdly, the BWA found the bill to be so large, that they had to pay the fees in installments.

Michael Carrington invoiced the BIDC fees of $1,000,000.00 for sale of a building at Newton Roundabout.

Michael Yearwood charged the SSA $1,500,000.00 for the Cahill project, when the SSA Board did not even have any knowledge of the project.

Richard Byer, a DLP member, charged Caves $750,000.00 for work which, when it was first done under the BLP, the fee was only $30,000.00. Same work, but the fee is $720,000.00 more.

But David Thompson led from in front, as any good leader would. According to the CLICO forensic report, Thompson charged CLICO $2,000,000.00 for the purchase of CCB, and the he charged CLICO a fraudulent and wholly fictitious $3,300,000.00 for work that did not even exist.

And we have to ask how much Adrian King, son of Maurice King, charged Clearwater Bay Limited ( the government entity) that guaranteed the loan to The Four Seasons project? Some say $5,000,000.00

198 responses to “Hal Gollop’s 1.5 Million Dollar Invoice”

1. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

Based on what MAM said during her Budger reply I would be more concerned with the existence of a commission agency agreement for Sam Lords than with the boggey man as highlighted by Angela Skeete.

2. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law!

Hal Gollop is a Fumble bag man.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

He has always been a government pimp, running from one government to the other. Pimps are expensive.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Don’t forget to attend the Anti Israeli protest this morning at the corner of Aquatic Gap and Bay Street, St Michael, started at 8.00 am.

5. @Alvin Cummins June 7, 2017 at 7:09 AM “If the PM paid for the car out of his own pocket, it is his and he can do what he likes with it. If it is paid for out of the treasury, then it is the property of the government, and will be used by the next person who becomes Prime Minister, so I don’t know what the fuss is all about. All travelling officers get loans to buy vehicles.”

But why do all travelling officers feel entitled to to interest free loans to buy vehicles? These loans come out of the pockets of taxpayers, the same taxpayers who have to take high interest loans from the banks in order to pay for their own vehicles. Barbados is a small place. Maybe travelling officers can be given a grant of no more than $200 BDS per month for gas and related expenses and let them use their own vehicles. If this happened you can be sure that not one of them would be driving bout expensive Mercedes’

6. The Prime Minister may call them the political class.

I call them the parisitical class.

They and their family, friends, lodge buddies, and schoolmates have been taking unfair advantage of the taxpayers for far too long.

All political parties. I do not see this as just a “D” thing. It is a “B” thing too.

Too many people in this class feel entitled to live high, and far too many put in too little effort.

7. @Carson C. Cadogan June 7, 2017 at 8:08 AM “Don’t forget to attend the Anti Israeli protest this morning at the corner of Aquatic Gap and Bay Street, St Michael, started at 8.00 am.”

Why???

Stupssseee!!!

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Under the Barbados Labour Party Govt. tens of millions of tax payers money was spent for the GREENLAND land fill.

To this day all the money spent but no land fill in sight.

Whose pockets this money went into , can you tell us MIA. You were the DEP. PM in the Barbados Labour Party Govt.

9. Those of us who are non political knew that Geenland was an idiotic idea and a waste of money.

What are you saying that just because some BLP fools wasted $80 million at Greenland

That the DLP must compete with this idiocy? Does the DLP feel an urgent need to waste the taxpayers money too?

Why?

10. @Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! June 7, 2017 at 7:58 AM “Hal Gollop is a Fumble bag man.”

Are you telling me that as Rodney was to Owing that the galloping one is to Fumble?

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin CumminsJune 7, 2017 at 7:09 AM
    “David,
    It may be a valid document but it still wrong; the numbers do not add up.”

Alvin, before you inevitably meet your maker it would serve you a world of good if you were to adhere to that old Christian fundamentalist adage of speaking when the Bible speaks but remaining silent when you are a complete moron on certain matters totally outside your intellectual ambit.

What is so valid about a document ‘manufactured’ to commit fraud?

Unlike you, we are not dwelling on minor numerical inaccuracies (for which the term E&OE would easily cover) but rather the more serious legal infringement of issuing an invoice purporting to collect VAT without the proof of authorization to do such?

Unless you can show us where the invoice quotes the VAT registration credentials of the supplier we can only conclude that the invoice is bogus and indeed not valid.

We would be prepared to put our professional heads on the intellectual block if the VAT Act does not make mandatory provision for such a basic requirement.

Shouldn’t the supplier of legal services be competent enough to be knowledgeable of those statutory provisions set out in the VAT legislation especially the sections dealing with the penalties attached to the offences committed under division V11 of the said Act?

If the supplier is a VAT registrant and refuses to issue the relevant ‘valid’ invoice not only is ‘he’ in criminal breach of the Act but also the finance management of the ‘recipient’ corporation.

Now Alvin, why not use your inside ‘investigatory’ contacts and find out if that invoice is indeed ‘valid’ as far as charging VAT is concerned?

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Simple Simon June 7, 2017 at 9:25 AM #

Chuckle….do you not realise that this govt justifies all of their actions by referring to what the previous govt did………not the correctness of it but the fact that the others did it so we can too ………amazing logic.

13. Vincent Haynes June 7, 2017 at 11:39 AM #

“Chuckle….do you not realise that this govt justifies all of their actions by referring to what the previous govt did………not the correctness of it but the fact that the others did it so we can too ………amazing logic.”

@ Vincent Haynes

Amazing logic indeed…… but these DLP scamps are purposely forgetting the previous BLP administration did shiite and was rejected by the electorate in the 2008 general elections.

As this inept DLP administration continues to do “shiite pun top uh shiite,” perhaps a similar fate awaits them in 2018.

And by the way, Vincent, you should also remind your friend Grenville Phillips II who continues to blame the BLP for Barbados’ current economic situation, although they were punished by the electorate in the 2008 & 2013 general elections; and despite the DLP holding the reins of government for the past 9 years and 4 months.

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Artax June 7, 2017 at 12:44 PM #

And by the way, Vincent, you should also remind your friend Grenville Phillips II
    ………………………………………………………………….

Chuckle……How are we measuring this classification the types of adjectives used to describe us or the quantity used……haha….I think you maybe a closer friend based on quantum.

Messages to the Honorable gentleman have to be passed through his emmissary Lord Bush Tea.

15. Vincent Haynes June 7, 2017 at 1:11 PM #

“Chuckle……How are we measuring this classification the types of adjectives used to describe us or the quantity used……haha….I think you maybe a closer friend based on quantum.”

Hahahahahaha, that’s a good wun, Vincent.

But how could I be considered a “closer friend” of the goodly gentleman, when I’ve never met him before (despite what he wrote) and especially under circumstances where he took up his bat, ball and stumps, dun de cricket, while waving “farewell” to WW&C and I?

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Chuckle….do you not realise that this govt justifies all of their actions by referring to what the previous govt did………not the correctness of it but the fact that the others did it so we can too ………amazing logic.”

Backward and ignorant, sounds just like what uncultured, uneducated people do, monkey see, monkey do.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Art….Grenville indeed took up his toys and left us, probably somewhere pouting.

Simple…ya aint see Carson aint too bright..lol

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Artax June 7, 2017 at 4:45 PM #

Chuckle….looks we are going to fight over who got call more names……from memory I was a troll,a bee and an addict long before he did done wid wunna….lololol

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No one saying anything about the millions upon millions which MAM received from Four Seasons?

20. @carson C Cadogan

When a DLP yard-fowl, like you, can-not count self, as saying something ,he should go under the cellar with the ducks

21. Why should anyone say “anything about the millions upon millions which MAM received from Four Seasons, which is PRIVATELY OWNED?

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I thought this “discussion” is about lawyers (and especially those associated with the DLP), who charged excessive amounts of fees for service rendered to GOVERNMENT OWNED ENTITIES and how such transactions could be justifiably viewed as being contrary to the DEMS 2008 promise to implement transparency, accountability and good governance.

However, I would wholeheartedly agree with Carson if he had asked why “No one saying anything about the millions upon millions which this inept DLP administration pumped into Four Seasons?

Cadogan, I’m sure you remembered when the Auditor General in his 2015 report, raised concerns about the $120M loan your DLP stupidly guaranteed for Four Seasons, which left Barbadian taxpayers with a $124,329,766 bill.

“The Government of Barbados guaranteed a loan for $120,000,000 in respect of the Four Seasons Development project during the financial year 2011-2012. This guaranteed debt was CALLED during the financial year 2013-2014 by the bankers. As Government had GUARANTEED the DEBT, it HAD to PAY an AMOUNT of $124,329,766 which entailed PRINCIPAL plus INTEREST to the lenders.” [Page 30, 2015 Auditor General’s Report]

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Let’s see Fruendel and his Frauds…how smoothly they can drive around in a…not one seat….mercedes come election 2018.

23. @Artax June 7, 2017 at 6:20 PM “is about lawyers (and especially those associated with the DLP), who charged excessive amounts of fees for service rendered to GOVERNMENT OWNED ENTITIES”

I prefer the term TAX PAYER OWNED ENTITIES, as it is the government which consistently wastes the tax payers money.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Cadogan, I’m sure you remembered when the Auditor General in his 2015 report, raised concerns about the $120M loan your DLP stupidly guaranteed for Four Seasons, which left Barbadian taxpayers with a $124,329,766 bill.”

Why this new found love by the crooked Barbados Labour Party for the Auditor General?

You all cared nothing for the Auditor General when your corrupt party formed the Govt.

When we tried to get an extension for the Auditor General you all blocked the process. Now you are crying crocodile tears over the Auditor General’s report? You all really think that Bajans are stupid!!!!

25. Miller,
    I am neither a member of the BLP, a politician, or one of the persons in Parliament who made the invoice a document of the House. Why did,they bring this discrepancy to the attention of Parliament? At that time the emphasis was on the amount invoiced for payment;an incorrect figure. I am more concerned with whether the final amount shown was indeed paid; an incorrect figure. Can you answer that question?

26. Good morning angela..
    Reasonable question about the LEC, but as a woman, are you not more concerned about when the authorities will investigate the circumstances surrounding the murder of Mrs Smith…?

Do you REALLY give a shit about Mia’s LEC or CAT?
    ….well not stinking Bushie….

27. Can this new BLP government make Gollop repay the disindat taxpayers money?

28. While Ur at it print how much money the BLP stole that led the FBI so come here for them

29. We need to jail some people. Corruption is endemic in Caribbean economies and destroying our way of life. Mia is a multi-millionaires and should not be motivated by greed. She wants to create a legacy after waiting her turn. Mia the ball is in your Court.

30. SAMANTHA WALKER Avatar
    SAMANTHA WALKER

Both the Ds and the Bs corrupt…..Teefing taxpayers money….There is a Creator out there and I think wunna time up. Click the link if you are a fed up taxpayer: https://bit.ly/2kv7DPH and hope for the best !! Corruption is at its highest in Bim, and no one looking out for the poor, just themselves.

31. People are suggesting that we pay our political class more. I propose that we pay them less, a lot less, because it seems to me that the high salaries, benefits and pensions are attracting the wrong sort of people. People who love money too much and who do not understand when enough is enough.

My suggestion may be counter intuitive.

32. Tell me ,does Mia need LEC Certificate now, what for unless some people are looking for a top boss to act on their behalf in court. Note that she is not practicing law at this present time. Find all who got LEC CERT to fight their battles. Get away and examine yourselves. The electorate was judge and jury. The result is final.
    Time to start on a new slate .

33. I do not have a law degree but there is text I want inserted in the integrity legislation.

The guvament will mek evry effort to claw back funds wid any hint uh impropriety…
    All paid invices (i like that word) will be revued to chek for ridiculousness

I think I should get a likkle pick as an integrity lawyer…

34. Simple,
    I have said we should pay MPs 3X more than now but only with Strict Integrity Legislation Wid TEEEETTTS!
    It is also to attract top quality people who may be making big $$$ elsewhere and would not want to move into Govtbecause they are too honest to supplement their incomes with corrupt practices.

35. Will the BLP do anything about this invoice? Can anything be done?

36. “Will the BLP do anything about this invoice? Can anything be done?”

David BU

I read in today’s Mid-week Nation that, while speaking in parliament yesterday, Ronald Toppin queried the fee of $706,450 former Speaker of Parliament Michael Carrington charged BIDC……..

………for providing legal services relative to “the $32M sale of a BIDC at Lot A1 Newton Business Park, Christ Church to Gildan Activewear Properties (BVI) Inc. in 2010.

Toppin said based on his calculation of the scale of fees, the legal fee paid for the BIDC property sale should have been $322,500.

David BU, it becomes more interesting.

According to Toppin, subsequent to the conclusion of the land sale in 2010, Carrington wrote a letter to the BIDC in 2011 in which he indicated that…… at the time the transaction completed…. he was NOT registered for VAT……..

……….and requested the BIDC pay the VAT Division on his behalf……..the VAT of $92,146 his legal fees incurred.

As a QC (and LEC qualified lawyer….. hahahahahaha), Carrington’s earnings would obviously have been above the VAT threshold of $80,000…….hence, in keeping with the VAT laws…..he should be VAT registered.

The dishonest Carrington…. not being VAT registered…… expected the taxpayers to pay on his behalf…….VAT of $92,146 he incurred on his legal fees.

Perhaps the BLP may do something about Gollop’s invoice……..

……… especially if one takes into consideration that one of the services rendered as listed on the said invoice was for preparing a conveyance for the project site to Innotech…….under circumstances where a conveyance was NOT necessary……..

…………because the project site was owned by the NHC.

37. @Artax

Let us hope so. Perhaps your comment can support a blog post .

38. David BU

The reason why Carrington wanted the BIDC to pay the $92,146 on his behalf was because BIDC was obligated to issue him a “goods and services” slip as required by the BRA (Inland Revenue at the time).

And an amount of $709,450 BIDC paid to a service provider, would obviously incurred VAT……and “open a can of worms” for the goodly gentleman.

A check of Carrington’s tax records would have revealed he was not registered and since the fee was above the $80,000 per annum VAT threshold, non payment of the VAT portion would have incurred interest and penalties…….

……..and perhaps an audit of his earnings from 1997 to 2010 to determine if he filed VAT returns and the amount of VAT he did not pay to the VAT Division as required by law.

39. […] (BWA) for 1.5 million dollars continues to raise eyebrows. See BU’s blog post – Hal Gollop’s 1.5 Million Dollar Invoice which went viral. It was also revealed that former Speaker Michael Carrington submitted an invoice […]

40. @Artax

In light of the CARRINGTON invoicing matter and the opportunity to peer into his ‘ethical’ mind when viewed against the Griffiths matter, there is enough for BRA and related authorities to act!

41. How many generators can 1.5 million dollars purchase for the pumping stations at BWA?

42. @ David November 25, 2019 8:43 AM

Some of that same $1.5 million could have gone towards maintaining the South Coast sewerage network instead of having to spend $12 million in drilling injection wells which became useless faster than a pit toilet on the seafront.

Blogmaster, can you get Senator Caswell to raise the matter about the treatment of the VAT charged and collected on that same invoice?

Can he get his ‘colleagues’ on the government’s side to confirm whether the VAT levied (as recorded on the same invoice) has been paid over to the Treasury by the same legal services supplier as a token of mitigation to this obvious financial wound inflicted on the BWA consumers who are themselves taxpayers?

43. @Miller

The Senator reads the blog, as you know his inventions must have relevance or the President will intervene.

44. @ David November 25, 2019 9:46 AM

Any thing related to the integrity of the Crown’s tax collection efforts must have relevance in that august chamber.

For how else would it function (or the senators be ‘dined’ and paid) without money collected from the taxpayers?

The VAT in question does not belong to the politicians but to their employer, the Crown.

45. @Miller

Toss out the scribble on the Order Paper?

We have no doubt the Senator will probe this and other matters when the time is right.

46. @ David November 25, 2019 10:01 AM

BERT is in the HOUSE, man!

No time to waste when every cent of taxpayers’ money count.
    Hasn’t the MoF promised all tax refunds and reverse tax credits before year-end to stimulate Xmas shopping?

Who is going to pay for all those social programmes the current administration has promised to the youth?

Where is the money going to come from (if not the taxpayers) to meet the recently renegotiated debt repayment obligations?

Is the government going to default again (because of lax tax collection efforts) and tell the same good-guy creditors to wait until Barbados is ready to live up to its sovereign commitments?

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Miller November 25, 2019 9:56 AM “Any thing related to the integrity of the Crown’s tax collection efforts must have relevance in that august chamber.”

I support this statement by Miller.