Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

The Ministry of Education has approved our children’s use of cellular phones in our schools.  The obvious foreseen risk is our children’s direct access to pornography (porn) on their smart phones.  While some responsible parents will install porn filters on their children’s phones, most parents and grandparents will not know, and are not expected to know, how to protect them.  Therefore, a national response is required.

Many parents have provided their children with smart-phones, tablets and lap-top computers without installing the critically necessary porn filter.  Therefore, they are unknowingly giving their children direct access to porn, which is perhaps the most reckless act that a parent can do.  For those who are unaware, porn permanently damages children.

Our children are not the only victims.  Employees who watch porn are normally very unproductive, which harms both the private and public sectors.  Spouses who watch porn normally destroy their marriages.   However, the real victims are those whom they view on the screen.

The sex slavery trade is real.  Girls, mostly from Asia and Eastern Europe, are forced into sex slavery, and are repeatedly raped until they are made to appear to enjoy it.  Viewers of porn may try to justify their actions by deluding themselves that they are engaging in a harmless act.  However, every time that they visit a porn site, they increase the advertisement revenue of the site, thus ensuring the bondage of the victims.

Sex slaves are perhaps the most oppressed group on Earth.  Their initial hopes of rescue are dimmed with each forced rape and each new year of captivity.  However, those who capture, rape and confine them are merely agents.  The true oppressors are those who view porn, for if there were no market, there would be no sex slavery.  Viewers of porn are the market where sex slaves are traded.

By allowing our children to access pornography, we are training the next generation of oppressors, and ensuring that the sex slaves’ hope for freedom is in vain.  Most of us are descendants of persons who were either sold into slavery, or kidnapped and forcibly brought to Barbados.  If we now actively facilitate the enslavement of sex slaves, then we, above all people, deserve the harshest judgement.

Fortunately, this judgement can be avoided, because this is one of the easiest national problems to solve.  The Government can easily block access to porn on the Internet, by default, today.  Those adults who want it can simply apply for it.  Therefore, with one decision, the Government of Barbados can immediately protect all of our children, increase national productivity, improve marriages, and most importantly, provide some hope to the despairing sex slaves being savagely raped around the world.

Let me directly address those who believe that it is their duty ensure that the bureaucratic ‘wheels’ of Government turn slowly.  I understand that this decision involves policy, legal, and technical issues.  The policy issue can be addressed immediately – it is good policy to protect our children.  I understand the benefits of having ‘Green’ consultative and ‘White’ policy papers in order to get diverse feedback.  Therefore, set the policy on protecting our children, and then have the time-consuming consultations on changing that responsible policy.

The legal concern is a non-issue since those adults who want it will be granted access once they apply for it.  That leaves the technical issue.  Flow and Digicel can be regulated to block porn, or the Government can block it directly today.  You can be sure that in a Solutions Barbados administration, porn will be blocked on day 1.

There is one man in Barbados that currently has the authority to do so much good, or to perpetuate so much harm.  That man is the Minister responsible for Telecommunications.  Today, he can instruct the Permanent Secretary to instruct the Chief Telecommunications Officer to block all porn sites.  That he has allowed such unspeakable harm to go on for so many years is very distressing.  However, perhaps he was unaware of just how much harm his inaction was causing.  Well, now he knows.  If our children are unable to access porn tomorrow, then we will know that he also cares.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

169 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Does He Also Care?”

1. angela Skeete Avatar

Mr > Phillips plezzze i never made any reference to you or made mention of any names attributed to the article

2. @ Mr. Phillips

Could you please indicate where in any of my contributions I SPECIFICALLY MENTIONED Solutions Barbados was THE political party that SPONSORED or HOSTED the dinner event as reported by the Nation’s article, or any statement therein that is indicative of spreading rumours?

Mr. Phillips, I believe politics definitely not your forte at this time, because you are a bit too thin skinned to be a politician. Not everyone will agree with you or appease you by massaging your fragile ego.

You are behaving similarly to DLP politicians who believe they are above criticism, as is evidenced by their hostility towards their critics. Rather than display true leadership qualities and ignore certain criticisms to your suggestions, you respond by describing your critics “sick,” “addicts,” or they “need help.” And based on the construct of your replies you are “coming over” like a bully and a snob.

Unlike the members of your fan club, I do not view “blocking porn sites” as “refreshingly different to the usual offerings.”

Suggestions such as those usually come from NGOs, the church, special interest groups or other lobbyists that may seek to influence government legislation or decisions on such issues.

Also, how could you attribute Barbados being placed on the road to economic ruin SPECIFICALLY to one political party, the BLP, when there is ENOUGH evidence to suggest BOTH the BLP & DLP are responsible? Yet you chose to concentrate on the BLP.

It suggests to me that you have ulterior motives.

3. @ Mr. Phillips

Perhaps you should take example from Mia Mottley to deal with your critics.

Mottley’s “mentor,” Owen Arthur, has used every opportunity afforded him to publicly and harshly criticize her.

And what has she done so far? She has not responded with “tit for tat,” but has shown Arthur the respect that other parliamentarians (from whom he seeks their embrace), such as Dr. David Estwick and Sinckler, have refused to give him.

How do you think Arthur and similarly your critics “would feel?”

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Grenville….you really expect us to believe anything you say now that through your own actions, you allowed your integrity to be called into question.

Fool me once, shame on you….fool me twice, shame on me.

5. Stupse! Wunna mind Grenville. I didn’t and never would have suggested that the dinner referred to was SB because, as reported, it was a success and therefore clearly could not be SB. What Grenville needs to answer is whether he benefited directly from the BLP “excessive” borrowing prior to discovering IMF reports and if his party is a bourgeoisie prosperity gospel outfit. He could also stop distancing himself from Grenville W. Phillips too.

6. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Grenville May 28, 2017 at 10:12 PM #

What rumours have I spread????

Kindly reread my May 27, 2017 at 12:50 PM #…..I simply asked a question….to which you have responded unsolicited by stating….. That dinner event had nothing to do with us.

Your apology is accepted in advance.

7. angela Skeete Avatar

Grenville you owe me an apology for indicating! assuming ! perceiving and or accusing me Angela as identifying your name or person/s as one whose name was attached to an article in one of barbados local news paper titled cou -cou
    Sir for the protection of your good name and integrity you should do the right thing and issue an apology
    Just remember as one who wants to pursue and capture the minds of the youth in a moral way which would safe guard their character it is only right fair and good that You set an example
    Getting on your horse to steupse in avoidance of issuing an apology to correct a wrong would only taint your character and forever sealed in the minds that Grenville Phillips can preach a good story and point fingers but when a judgement call which governs truth and honesty is made against him he would rather retreat and behave in a manner unbecoming of a person who wants to lead a nation.
    Sir you might want to believe against your better judgement that a call on you for an apology is trite but just member that every word which cometh out of your mouth can be used against you in ways that can hurt and demean your character especially when placed under a political microscope .
    If you are truthfully hoping to bring about moral change in barbados then i suggest you start with yourself

8. @Artax at 1:26 AM…well stated. I also could not understand how this individual who presents himself as an aspiring leader of people would be so unsavory and petty to call ANYONE who criticizes one of his solutions as ‘paid trolls’, ‘addicts’, ‘persons needing help’ and so on.

I would not go as far as WW&C to call the gentleman a despot or dictator but his reactions to well intentioned and well formed criticisms is troubling, unacceptable and does not augur well for a workable nexus between leader and electorate!

BTW, we absolutely disagree on that offer of shares perspective. Long serving, dedicated and brilliant employees deserve it. The brilliance and finances of the founder(s) are integral to startup and success but as the company matures its continued success is impossible without a great team.

They should absolutely share in that growth as an incentive for their continued dedication (longevity) and of course as a nest-egg based on their past support.

9. Vincent, Well Well, Angela, Enuff & Artax: As I mentioned earlier, I was trying to have a rational discussion with many of you for years, and I have been submitting letters here for perhaps a decade. I would carefully research and craft a response to our rude comments, only to receive an insult laden reply with unfounded accusations.

Yet, I kept at it, patiently responding to each of your insults with reason and kindness, and hoping that you would, one day, be willing to have a rational discussion. Bush Tea warned me that I was wasting my time with you, but I pressed on. For all of the years that I have communicated with you, there has rarely been a rational response – just the typical infantile insults.

You do not have to agree with a word that I write, just try to engage in a little discussion. But that appeared to be beyond you. Then this article drew you out. You showed absolutely no compassion for the victims. You just wanted access to porn and were willing to sacrifice our children to get it. You addicts need help. But I blame myself for not seeing it earlier. So let us analyse this rumour.

Vincent started it all by mentioning a rumour on the comments section of my article. That is called innuendo. He knew what he was doing because addicts mainly attack those whom they perceive as threatening the source of their cravings, and I did that in this article.

Well Well made the obvious connection as Vincent had hoped, actually mentioning our Candidates by name. Addicts rarely care about their reckless and unfounded accusations. However, that started the ball rolling.

Then Artax jumped in and concluded: “Under these circumstances and taking into consideration that their core methods of soliciting support and votes are similar, I’m convinced there aren’t any fundamental differences between BLP, DLP & SB.” Artax, our core methods of soliciting support are not similar to the BLP and DLP. That is called a lie. And you are requesting an apology???

Enuff knows what he is doing, but he cannot help himself.

Angela did comment on the rumour and helped to move it along. However, her comments were not malicious like the others. Therefore, Angela, I sincerely apologize to you.

The addicts may now resume their insults. But when they have exhausted themselves, they are encouraged to seek help.

10. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Grenville May 29, 2017 at 4:29 PM #

Hahahahahahahahahaha…………………………What a fruitcake.

Bimmers you are welcome to him as your future leader,may you live happily ever after.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Grenville…I am waiting for your barbadostoday weekly column tomorrow, dont forget to post it to BU.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/26/full-dislosure/

Grenville….instead of fretting, fretting and whining, whining….write a column about the above and give us the names pf private businesses that benefutted, while the taxpayers lost.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Full article….

Full disclosure
    Auditor General seeks answers on Four Seasons and LIAT

Added by Kaymar Jordan on May 26, 2016.
    Saved under Local News
    The ill-fated Four Seasons hotel project, as well as Government’s $142 million investment in regional airline LIAT, are among a set of dubious transactions for which this country’s Auditor General Leigh Trotman is seeking answers.

Government’s support for LIAT came under heavy scrutiny.
    In his 2015 report, Trotman also raised serious questions about a number of loans which Government made to various private entities in which the state happens to be the main shareholder in some instances. The loans included $4.6 million which was issued by the Public Enterprise Fund to Needham’s Point for construction of the Hilton Hotel, $2 million to Southern Golf which operates the Durants golf course, and the sum of $950,000 to Durette & Co Caribbean Limited, a window manufacturer which subsequently went out of operation.

Hilton Hotel
    Since the Needham’s Point loan was issued back in financial year 2014/15, the principal has risen to nearly $6 million. However, the Auditor General said no repayments have been made. Furthermore, there have been no efforts by Government to recover the outstanding amount.

He also explained that in the case of the Southern Golf, there was no loan agreement to speak of, while suggesting a write-off of the Durette amount-

Government’s support for the Antigua-based LIAT also came under heavy scrutiny. However, after carefully reviewing Government’s financial statements, the Auditor General said he was still in the dark about its investments in the carrier. He has therefore called for “full disclosure” on the $142,733,148 that has been pumped into the loss-making carrier as at March 31, 2015.

The stalled Four Seasons project.
    Equally difficult to come by has been information on the stalled Four Seasons hotel project. However, the Auditor General is seeking to get to the bottom of a $120 million debt, which was issued with a Government guarantee by late Prime Minister David Thompson back in 2010 after the project went belly-up.

That guaranteed debt was called during financial year 2013/2014 by the bankers and Government was forced to pay an amount of $124,329,766 which entailed principal plus interest to the lenders. However, while the amount was subsequently recorded by the Treasury as an accounts receivable, the Auditor General says no payments have been received to date.

He therefore wants answers on whether there might be a need for a write down or when or how this amount will be repaid, since it is also not clear what assets this advance is linked to.

Another questionable sum of $141,500,000 was issued in loans to the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc (BTII), with accrued interest of $19,351,206 as at March 31, 2015. Trotman pointed out in his report that no formal contract exists for the amount and to date no repayments have been received.

However, he said in a previous meeting with the management of BTII, the auditors were informed that this amount pertained to work carried out on behalf of Government. “This matter needs to be clarified and resolved by the relevant parties,” the Auditor General advised.

A similar situation exists with the Small Hotel Investment Fund where a loan in the amount of $35,528,362 (including interest) is yet to be repaid.

The report also raised questions about $765,749,759, which has been recorded by the Auditor General as “cumulative advances outstanding” as at March 31, 2015. The monies were not properly authorized but, in some instances, transfers were granted to recipients who simply did not have the money to repay.

The net effect, therefore, is that the official deficit would have been “understated” for the years when these transactions took place, Trotman pointed out.

As has been the trend in recent years, this year’s report contains a number of recurring themes of unauthorized transactions, misplaced funds, and blatant under-reporting by a number of state entities, altogether painting a pathetic picture of this country’s public sector administration.

In this regard, the Auditor General highlighted variances on several accounts, including $118,177,914 for pending lawsuits, which did not match the $116,305,080 submitted by the Solicitor General, resulting in a variance of $1,872,834.

There was also a sinking funds variance of $28 million, as well as incorrect classification of assets, which affected the paymaster’s pension account which ended up with a debit instead of a credit balance of $2.4 million.

The opposite occurred at other Government departments, including the Transport Board, where the accounts receivable ended with a large credit balance of $5.5 million.

One noticeable error and omission which the Auditor General took note of was a First Citizens’ Bank loan in the amount of US$25 million. There were also approved loans, which were not utilized in a timely manner. This affected commitment fees, in the amount of US$888,929 on a loan from the Caribbean Development Bank and US$266 023 on IDB loan funds.

In terms of unrecorded liabilities, Government is yet to bring to book the sum of $195 million owed to the University of the West Indies. There was a further $152 million in unrecorded Treasury Notes and Debentures, as well as $2.7 million in returned pension cheques and over $4 billion in unclaimed employee benefits.

The Accounts receivables were said to be overstated in the amount of $34 million.

Earlier, Barbados TODAY reported on $1.3 million in dishonoured cheques that were written to Government. According to the Auditor General, some Government departments also fell prey to the unsavoury business practice as a total of $32,263 in bounced cheques were issued by unnamed Government departments.

14. @ Grenville Phillips

Sir, I began my comment with: “But IF the story is TRUE and is descriptive of SB…..”

By using the word IF as a conjunction, I’m making an ASSUMPTION, NOT a CONCLUSION.

As such, any person who is versed in the art of comprehension would never conclude that what I wrote was specifically stating the story was “FACTUALLY ATTRIBUTED” to SB.

Additionally, could you please indicate to me where in any of my responses to your articles I REQUESTED an APOLOGY?

“That (my friend) is CALLED a LIE.”

Don’t you think your rebuttal time could be best utilized articulating your policies?

15. Well Well: I addressed a similar theme in this week’s article.

16. angela Skeete Avatar

Apologizes Mr. Phillips accepted and as far as i am concerned on my part no need to further address the subect matter. Thank You

17. @Solutions Barbados May 26, 2017 at 12:07 PM #

Angela, I am not your enemy. I am simply trying to turn us off of this road to economic ruin that the BLP placed us on.
    ………………………………………………

I have noticed that you keep blaming the BLP for the postion Barbados is in.

Where have you been living since 2008? Who put his country in this position? Have your heard about a man called Chris Stinkliar who knows nothing of public finance?

Prior to 2008, was this country in this position with high unemployment, low foreign reserves, high crime, bills unpaid, people cannot get their pensions on time, hospital in a mess, students having to pay for their UWI education, schools without basic supplies, garbage piling up all over the place, bush growing all over the place, etc, etc?

Oh, you have been so busy getting government contracts that you and your ilk do not want to criticise the party which has destroyed this country?

I was prepared to give you a break but your persistence in blaming all that ailes Barbados solely on the BLP does it for me. I hope of you and your ilk loose your deposits….every one of you.

18. The BLP initiated internet software (Edutech) into schools .. then came a ban on cellphones and now an allowance.. Porn is not the issue but FREQUENCY directed onto the minds of the youth via these divices to affect their behavior…. wonder why such volatility?

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Good Grenville…hope you addressed the names of those who benefited from such arrangements and the names those who enabled such arrangements.