Sir Richard Branson called for inspiring leaders in the Caribbean to stand up!

Almost every day a video featuring pupils of one of our schools is posted to sites on social media and to coin the description by traditional media, it goes viral. The BU household does not intend to post the latest video of students attacking one of their own like a pack of wild animals making the rounds to support the point. While it is constructive sometimes to post the odd video to awaken the concern of a public that has grown numb to growing violence among a segment of our youth population. We observe that many of the videos and pictures featured by many in the traditional and social media is to ride the popularity that being sensationalistic generates.

It is evident if we are forced to listen to the talking heads featured in the traditional media the reasons offered for the bad behaviour seem less than convincing and steeped in emotionalism. The growing trend of violence in the society- especially in the youth population- is worrying to BU because it acts as a reminder of our inability as a country to effectively manage the PSV sector to recall one example.  Many have warned for the last 30 years that there was a need for the stakeholders including the government, insurance companies, PTAs and other NGOs in civil society,  to sensibly address the sub culture that had emerged. Sadly the negative aspects of the sub culture has interwoven with the way of life for many of our school children therefore adding to the complexity of the problem. How we have allowed this sub culture to take root over the last 30 years does not lend confidence that we will be able to effectively wrestle the incidents of rising violence in schools and related behaviour being given wings on social media.

First the traditional media sought a quote from the ineffective President of Barbados National Council of Parent Teacher Association (BNCPTA) Shone Gibbs “There is no need for anyone to take the law into their own hands, but it must be prosecuted to the hills by the family of the victim because we cannot allow these things to happen, this level of bullying and intimidation, because someone could have easily lost their life yesterday”.  Why has his organization that is suppose to represent all PTAs in Barbados not mobilize by arranging a national march to bring focus to the issue of violence in schools and other related issues affecting the school population? Why not collaborate with the BUT and BSTU in a full court press to challenge the many issues swirling in schools? Stop being so damn politically correct!

WE the citizens of Barbados sit on our behinds and offer platitudes when one of these graphic videos is posted which confirms what we already know. The time has come to act to win back the minds of many of our children who are challenged because of the lack of parental guidance in the home and positive role models in their lives. What are the NGOs like the BNCPTA and the ministry in government responsible for youth affairs to cite only two doing to convert words into action plans designed to work to materially attack the problems?

There are enough signs that the traditional values and structure to our society that undergirded it in times of yore are no longer effective. We live in times when the political leader of the country refused to condemn the immoral and unethical behaviour of the Speaker of the House. We have the  incident where a senior minister of government is reported to have brandished a weapon within the precinct of Parliament and the political class conspire to squash the matter.  There were promises made by the Attorney General and the prime minster that they would investigate a matter and report to parliament …

Our county is crying out for leaders and we didn’t need Sir Richard Branson on a recent visit to Barbados to make the observation.

Will our real leaders please stand up!

78 responses to “School Children Fighting is NOT the Problem”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/05/20/no-bed-of-roses-for-st-michael-south-residents/

Add to that blatant neglect of constituencies by the prime ministers and government ministers who greedily take a monthly salary and do not do their jobs…..there will always be dusaster lurking.

Billie the goat Miller and others created and left the city a stinking dump, now Fruendel Stuart is doing the same by continuing the tradation while taking taxpayer’s money.

“No bed of roses for St Michael South residents
    Added by Katrina King on May 20, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Residents of St Michael South say life in the constituency has not been a bed of roses. Today they joined the man who wants to replace Prime Minister Freundel Stuart as the Member of Parliament for the area in highlighting the issues plaguing them.

Kirk Humphrey, the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) caretaker for the area, accused Stuart of ignoring the plight of constituents.

He said the lives of women and children are under constant threat, especially at nights, because of poor lighting in the communities. He added that roads and drains in the area are also in a deplorable state.”

2. @SSS

Agree with your comment, it is news.

3. Some here will say we have always had violent acts committed so why worry about every day shootings.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/05/20/teenager-shot-in-eden-lodge/

4. angela Skeete Avatar

and this is what i say

but David BU why do most articles on BU always focused on the negative. There are children in barbados society who have excellent attributes and are exemplary in their activities of giving back to the country but mentioned of these children is selodom or never heard of
    David BU are you mindful of such things or like the Nation newspaper thinks that salacious banter and controversy is sufficient and newsworthy for the reader

5. @ David May 20, 2017 at 1:20 PM
    Corey is right about everything …except the solution.

Placing counsellors, psychologists, guidance officers …even police, in the schools is a waste of time – even if we had the money to afford it…
    You don’t have to look too hard to see that ALL these various people have the same, identical problem that affects the school children.

The Devil is literally running things bout here…through a multitude of agents.

National sackcloth and ashes is the ONLY solution…..
    Everything else is SOS..
    (Same old Shiite)

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Absolutely! Teenagers getting gundown and kill in execution style but these are so common now that they there is no more shock and awe to upset the soul unless it is in your neighbourhood and relative of yours. Why the call for a boycott on the showing of this picture and not one for the young boy ( I think) from Princess Margaret school who was killed by a vehicle while fleeing from a bully. What the nationnews should do is start to branch out in various fields of news presentation. They can get involve in documentary production. Do a piece on violence in the schools. Go into some of the depressed communities and compile information to get a better understanding of the various forms of abuse and some of the reasons behind the abusive situation.

7. @SSS

Agree with you, as the largest publishing outlet it needs to return to its roots where Harl Hoyte, Al Gilkes et al had it anchored before it was sold for 30 pieces so that a few can now enjoy a golden parachute in retirement.

8. Thanks, received, will post another blog on the issue.

9. noted.

“Will our real leaders please stand up!”

Observing.

10. William Skinner Avatar

It all depends on content. While the Nation tends to bury anything positive on the inside, it has always opted to the less positive on the front pages. In contrast Barbados Today dedicates much of its paper to what the younger folk are doing in entertainment and the arts. It also covers a fair amount of the social scene .
    The point made by@ SSS in relation to the Nation presenting some documentaries is well taken. However that is really the job of CBC as a government agency. The BLPDLP has used CBC as a political organ therefore it does not seek to go beyond that in any real sense.
    The Government Information Service should be used for more informative and well researched programs but that has also been poorly utilised over the years.
    I really cannot understand why Hoyte and Gilkes are being pilloried for making money because they made the investment if they had failed they would have been ridiculed for the rest of their lives.
    The easy access to guns would have been known to the authorities since the mid 70s. This increase would have been the result of the emergence of the drug culture. Failure to take the same steps that we are promoting today is the real problem. We simply swept too many serious negative threats under the carpet.
    We have encouraged too much lawlessness and in effect have now hit or at least about to hit a wall doing a 100 miles per hour.
    We , the most “literate” people in the world saw the trends in other countries and the region but we comforted ourselves with our favourite refrain: “Dah can’ happen hey.” Well………..

11. @William

I really cannot understand why Hoyte and Gilkes are being pilloried for making money because they made the investment if they had failed they would have been ridiculed for the rest of their lives.

It seems you are of the view your opinion must be left to carry sway. You share your and we will ours. The same reasons a group of patriotic got together to establish the Nation newspaper all those years ago we suggest was not motivated by solely by dollar signs.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

CBC is not independent. If you have not notice, the nationnews has an online news edition with a video segment that presents the days news. If they should ever decide to venture into the 22 century of news documentation and undercover reporting, we will really see the horrors that government tries hard to protect from seeing eyes and listening ears.

13. How can we discuss the business history of the Nation without mention of the late Trevor ‘Job’ Clarke? There is still a need for a legal resolution of the claims Job had made on ownership of equity in the Nation.

14. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

We need leaders that can act and put love for country first, not just stand up.

15. Without a doubt we must take action and do so NOW! How long will take for these angry young warriors to grow up, enter the workforce and become disgruntled with the manager or a coworker. After being disciplined and possibly dismissed the angry school child, now a man or woman, leaves and returns with a gun to take vengeance on other employees and management? Or is it too great a leap for this situation to take place right now while they are still at school. Remember Columbine? Oh I forgot, it can’t happen here.

16. @David the blogmaster “attacking one of their own like a pack of wild animals.”

Dear David:

Please stop insulting the wild animals. I live on a gully-side and I have never seen the monkeys treating one another so.

17. @David the blogmaster “is to ride the popularity that being sensationalistic generates.”

And this is a part of the problem.

None of the youngsters–and most of their teachers and parents–don’t know the difference between notoriety and popularity.

18. @angela skeete “Drug and Alcohol offenders. Right now they have to admit themselves to the Psychiatric hospital and because of the stigma the majority do not go. It is a ridiculous situation that these two addictions have to be treated in Black Rock. We are losing young men and women because of this.”

i can’t think of a better place to treat severe alcohol and drug addictions, that within a therapeutic institution, which the Psychiatric Hospital at Black Rock is.

So when we open a new place or new places don’t you know that the stigma will go there too? It is the addiction (or mental illness) which is stigmatized, not the buildings in which the treatment takes place.

19. @David May 20, 2017 at 12:11 PM ” You cant grasp for example how by mismanaging the PSV sector the political class has added to the problem we are battling now?”

David unlike you I actually take PSV’s everyday and have done so for decades. I’ve witnessed a single act of violence, when a woman armed with a very, very large knife entered a PSV apparently with the intention of inflicting serious bodily harm or death on her conductor boyfriend. Sensible and athletic fellow he leaped off the bus and in through the gates of the much maligned Psychiatric Hospital. He did NOT put up a fight with the crazy woman.

Maybe people who do not take PSV’s witness violence on PSV’s everyday, but somehow I do not.

20. @Corey Worrell “When female students can tell you if they done school with no CXCs they will be like Natalie and mek nuff money – you know what time it is.”

It is time to tell them that prostitutes don’t make much money, and what little money they do make must be spent on clothes, makeup etc.

I have an acquaintance who spent many years working as a prostitute. Now in her 50’s she lives in a single poorly ventilated room, and is dependent on welfare.

But as you said there is always a story and that story includes a teenaged uncle who started regularly sexually abusing his niece from the time she was 8 until she was 16 and decided “if my uncle can do this to me for noting, then strangers can do it to me for money” It included her mother who did not want to be a parent, and gvae up custody to a grandmother who did not want custody either. It included a very, very wealthy father who denied his role in her conception.

Some of these children need years of intensive therapy…some, maybe most never get it, and so we have another generation of very troubled people.

21. @Caswell Franklyn May 20, 2017 at 4:20 PM “Recently, at the Foundation School a teacher got one of the students pregnant. Rather than jail him, he is allowed to marry the student since a wife cannot testify against a husband in court.”

Wrong Caswell. A wife can testify against her husband. However a wife cannot be COMPELLED to testify against her husband. So this child wife can testify. If the girl was younger than 16 when the adult impregnated her, she can testify now or at some time in the future. Although I don’t know if there is a statute of limitations for the rape of a minor.

22. @Retribution-things that make me go hum! May 20, 2017 at 7:45 PM “majority of the parents today are mere children themselves.”

People keep saying this as though saying it will make it true.

But in fact the age of first birth in Barbados has remained virtually unchanged for more that 100 years.

About half the women give birth for the first time before their 19th birthday.

And the other half give birth for the first time after their 19th birthday.

You can check the Barbados’ census to verify this.

Or you can ask your grandmothers, you mother mother in law, your aunts and sisters what was their age when the became pregnant for the first time.

So we have always had mere children tasked with parenting.

23. i agree with one of the bloggers here. Some of these school kids and even the adults, will tell you where to go and what and where to suck out. Some of them cant even spell or decode words or comprehension, and the ones that can read, just wait until they enter the workplace, and their boss tell them something they dont like. Will you tell your boss to go suck out her or his mother, you know what. One of these days these same girls and boys that use their tongue to insult and curse people, god will deal with you all, just wait and see . Karma will get you, they think they young and beautiful and they are immune to the viles of life, but wait and see. Even though you may have a mother or father to run too, when you go in the workplace, you will never hold a job, because what goes around comes around. You will get a boss that will be breathing down your neck, and if you want the job, then you have to hold your tongue. I saw a supervisor told this guy to pick up paper off the ground, he pleasantly agreed, but when the supervisor turn her back, he kicked the paper until a desk. Thats what you have to do, he didnt talk back or get an attitude, and he didnt pick up the paper either. In the end he won. I thought that was a smart action.

24. I know some fathers forbid the mothers from chastising or training the kids, so the kids go to school with the attitude that they can do as they please. When these kids get to be an adult, no one is going to pamper you like your parents did. You have to be the same as everyone in public, so dont think because your parents told you , your are a queen or whatever and no one can tell you what to do, that its necessarily true. You will grow up with an egotistically attitude, and one day that behavior will come back to haunt you.

25. david the problems with school kids cant be fixed, because Barbados dont have the resources to help all these kids. The government will have to provide lunch, dinner, clothes , housing and safety for these kids. Some kids go to school hungry with nothing at home to eat because usually the single parent dont have a job. Also teachers should not look down on kids because the parents or mother is not married, Married people fight and have disruptive homes also. I know many married homes where the father want to have sex with the girls or girl that dont belong to him, or he would abuse and lie on the child or children that dont belong to him, so its not who is married or who is not married. Its the upbringing of the child. if the single mother is working and can spend some time with her child or children, most of this bad behavior wont happen. Some kids immune to listening to rules at home, so sometimes they either have to attend another school where they will get proper teaching, or let them learn the hard way. Hopefully they wont get 2 or 3 kids in the process. I think all these school problems was happening from years back, but only nowadays life is harder, jobs hard to come by, so how is the government going to help when they dont have the resources. So they left the problems up to the mother. One time kids use to get breakfast at school, like milk, bread or biscuits. Nowadays kids dont get nothing. All the problems you mention comes from bad undisciplined, or massive poverty. Some girls are sexually active at the tender age of 14, and if the mother is out working,then the girl have all the time to have boys having sex with her, what is the mother to do. Hopefully she can send the girl at a family member to watch her until the mother get home from work. If the mother dont have a family member or a friend to watch the girl or other kids, then the kids are left on their own. The girl that is sexually active will only have to learn the hard way, but the mother should talk to her, so the girl cant say her mother didnt give her advice.

26. The Attorney General promised today to enact juvenile legislation to hold delinquent parents accountable.
    Bear in mind this is the same person who promised to report to parliament on Mia’s LEC.
    And the same person who joined with the prime minster after the results were known after the last general election to promise reform to the electoral laws based on ‘irregularities’ they witnessed.

27. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 6:26 PM

Are we looking for persons to hold accountable ?
    I think we want the unacceptable, violent and uncouth behaviour of our youth to stop. It is a question of inculcating a system of values in the young. This is precisely the reason that I posit that parents and the education authorities must establish a code of conduct and the parents and educational authorities must be given the moral support to enforce the rules. We all know what is acceptable behaviour. Can legislation enforce it ?

WE NEED TO TAKE COLLECTIVE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FAILINGS OF SOCIETY.

Where did these kids get it into their heads that it was Ok to batter another pupil over a $15.00 can of hair spray? Are we paying taxes for them to have fancy hair styles that require olive oil sprays during school time?
    All the schools that my sisters ,daughter, and grand daughter attended /s required them to have simple neat hair styles that allowed the teachers to see their faces and read their foreheads. Time to get back to that.

28. Some of the pre-independence rules and regulations made sense.Political interference in state funded secondary education for all is partially to blame for the chaos that exists in our schools.Just as political interference in the public service has seen to it that stooges and incompetents are placed in decision making positions,to the benefit of the stooge and the minister but the country suffers eventually.
    One continues to marvel at this PM speaking at functions most of which have the mandatory TV camera in attendance.Are people are listening to him?it doesn’t seem that way.They would prefer to hear gearbox.At least they would know he was a clown and a ‘mock stick’.

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Consequences Observing BloggerCancel reply