Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

When we elect politicians, we mainly want them to manage the country without putting us in an unsustainable debt situation.  Barbados’ national debt is an unsustainable $13 Billion, with the BLP being responsible for approximately $8 Billion and the DLP for approximately $5 Billion.  The crucial question that Barbadian voters are being forced to answer is, who is most capable of reducing Barbados’ deficit (overspending) and debt so that our debts are not forced onto our children.

The DLP appears to have given up trying to reduce their annual overspending.  They have turned to the opposition BLP, challenging them to propose where to cut spending, while maintaining spending levels.  The IMF has concluded that devaluation is certain if we continue on the current path.  Therefore, unless the DLP starts listening to good advice, they are not capable of solving Barbados’ economic problems.

With the DLP disqualifying themselves, the common assumption is that the BLP has the experience to solve Barbados’ economic problems and should be given the opportunity to do so – the sooner the better.  I made a similar faulty assumption until I examined the BLP’s past performance, and realised that the BLP are significantly less experienced in bringing us out of economic challenges than the DLP.  The BLP have never had to solve similar problems and have always created severe economic problems whenever they were in government.  I must admit that this surprised me.

After our independence, the DLP had two terms in Government (1966 to 1976) and left a national debt of $251M.  The BLP found this most enviable financial situation and after their two terms (1976 to 1986), left a national debt of $3.1B, which is more than 12 times the debt they found when they entered.  Thus, the DLP had their first experience in dealing with an economy with an unsustainable debt.  They had two terms (1986 to 1994), added $1.2B to the national debt to take it to $4.3B, and stabilized the economy with austerity.

Once again, the BLP took over a stable economy and once again, they more than doubled the national debt, taking it from $4.3B to $9B after their 3 terms (1994 to 2008).  They also significantly increased the deficit (annual overspending).  The economy was so unstable at the end of the BLP’s last term, that Moody’s blamed their 2009 downgrade on the BLP’s mismanagement of the economy.  A quote from their downgrade report follows: “Barbados’ key debt indicators have been on a deteriorating path over the past decade … the worsening of debt indicators over a long period of time suggests that structural issues are at play.”

Despite their past experience, the DLP have been unable to stabilize the economy this time.  If the BLP forms the Government after the next General Election, then they will find themselves in an entirely new situation.  After our independence, the BLP have always found a stable economy whenever they took over the Government, and then proceeded to massively overspend and leave Barbados in a significantly worse economic situation than how they found it.  Therefore, they are the least likely to solve Barbados’ economic problems.  It should be noted that it takes no special competence to spend borrowed money.  However, it takes a special type of incompetence to consistently more than double the national debt every single time you are in office.

In order to prove to Barbadians that they can manage an unstable economy, especially after their gross mismanagement of the Barbados economy whenever they were in Government, one would have thought that the BLP would use every opportunity to provide workable economic solutions before the general election.  Barbados’ economy will likely be ruined if the economic problems are not effectively addressed after the next general election.  Therefore, the consequences of failure are too great to not properly scrutinize each party’s economic plans before the next General Election.

Solutions Barbados has published its workable economic plans over 20 months ago, and they have withstood 20 months of rigorous public scrutiny.  Barbados’ Solutions’ candidates have experience in implementing successful business plans.  Therefore, we are the most capable of solving Barbados’ economic problems.  Now that Barbadian voters have finally been given a competent alternative, they can either return to the two established parties or allow Barbados to finally win?

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

46 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Who is the Real Third Party”

1. CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

You are waking , but for you ,it was not before 2013 elections where 8 other ran that woke up before you as a businessman 30 + 30 and CUP where was SB? did you wait till the well ran dry of money for your business?
    You now see the numbers for the DLP and BLP over the years, We say that long before 2008 and even more before 2013, All these people and Parties were waiting for Elections ,,

All of the outside 8 made a 3rd Party as some did not show up when the bell rang, As will this time also many who say they will run will not show up? Some spies but not needed for we never hide our words , As the Bajan Media hide them well,

Philips your NEXT stage in of waking up will be to ADD the land Fraud to see the amount of money missing or added to the debt is based on the amont of land each party took and paid the party members to shut up and no the owners , Even some of the land yu help build on as the High Court and the Oval ,

You also will see the Massive land fraud at the UDC , NHC and all areas of the Government dealing with land even farmers without land,,,,and other Hotel Projects in Barbados as we type and speak that the Government and other new parties are avoiding.

Rule of Law and History of the Land will show the country what went on and the names to who took the money and it must be replace , Government Ministers/ Lawyers and government workers. COW and BIZZY must be cut out for life and all others out of the NIS, there is no return so for on Millions taken without the people permission on FOUR SEASONS and other white only projects which the people can never get to used build for whites,

Look up the legal word to Fraud and tell Us all if you dont see the DLP and BLP
    Look up the word PONZI and see what that look like and how its ran and get back to BU.

We then we can see if you woken up and ready to sit up on the bed before you stand on your feet, Or just go back to your nightmere in the daytime.

Vote CUP We ran before all of the government crimes were told, this is old NEWS,
    CUP was NEXT after the DLP and BLP crooks,
    CUP is the first to speak full truth of the crimes with Names,
    Mia is a long time crooks and Owen, now he want to bow out for real heat coming,
    the DLP are crooks who now see what went on inside and want to pull out more money than the BLP did in 14 years,
    More Downgrades to come , Maybe when Barbados is at the bottom looking up they will wake, Wake up SB so we can We can STOP IT. say it Land land land,say it Clear Title Clear Title, Fraud Fruad, PONZI , PONZI ,, Keep doing your home work.

What is the relationship to Land Fraud, Banking, Loans and Clear Titles ? 1966, COW, BIZZY,1986 FIRST CARIBBEAN BANK/CICB 2007,NHC, UDC , CLICO,Sagicor?= Barbados Today and Sir Richard L Cheltenham Phd QCrook.

2. This is the column the Trinidadian lady referred to today that encouraged the excellent contribution from Dr. Clyde Mascoll. Grenville making some ripples. Is it possible…

3. Excellent analysis. Clearly, Grenville is a candidate to act as an intermediary between Barbados and IMF.

4. Theory vs practicality…… This should be an interesting contest.

5. CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Tron April 19, 2017 at 6:03 PM #

Excellent analysis. Clearly, Grenville is a candidate to act as an intermediary between Barbados and IMF.@@@

You and SB must be in the same bed, Wake up, The IMF know what is wrong with Barbados and the Who, the DPP ,AG, MOF and PM is locking this down with Bim news outlets ,They all know, This is why you dont hear CUP in the news, BLOCK out for years, from Oct 1 2012,
    By law they had to give CUP some small play for Election time which was 2 weeks and they cut it very short, After the elections NEWS Block again,

The White People Knows and said that Barbados problems can be fixed and solved, The niggers in government is feeding of the CB and the Peoples VAT, PONZI needs money to keep going,
    Do not make comments until you do your homework , Its on the net and under your feet in Barabdos every step you take,
    They know, , Everyone knows even the investors ,

6. All I reading is the BLP does leave Barbados swimming in debt, then the DLP is faced with the task of getting us out of that debt.

7. CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar

vincent haynes April 19, 2017 at 6:16 PM #

Theory vs practicality…… This should be an interesting contest.@ Nice reply

We have all of what we speak and the government after hiding and removing such from the land tax rolls , Barbados Library , Barbados Archives, Internet, false and misleading information on google,
    As said before we gave the Police Fraud Squad Station Sgt Mark White, COP Dottin, AG/PM Stuart, AG Brathwaite. Mia as AG, Owen As Pm , UDC, NHC, and those who google know what is wrong,
    Bajan trap in a bubble , They are just to greedy to save Barbados with Truth,

Help SB to wake up , We are trying to wake up the rest of the Parties , they sleeping Hard, begging for money from the same crooks.

We not taking nothing from no one, Truth is Free, No MONEY NEEDED,

8. CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ Avatar
    CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ

Kevin April 19, 2017 at 7:55 PM #

All I reading is the BLP does leave Barbados swimming in debt, then the DLP is faced with the task of getting us out of that debt.@

Kevin if you care do your own homework and report your FINDINGS to BU.

Do not depend on others to do your work , ask your questions and someone will reply to help you, This is basic information missing from our History books.
    seek and wait for the Light to shine Bright in your head and mind,Welcome to the Land of the Moors,

9. “The BLP found this most enviable financial situation and after their two terms (1976 to 1986), left a national debt of $3.1B”

“the BLP took over a stable economy and once again, they more than doubled the national debt, taking it from $4.3B to $9B after their 3 terms (1994 to 2008).”

“After our independence, the BLP have always found a stable economy whenever they took over the Government, and then proceeded to massively overspend and leave Barbados in a significantly worse economic situation than how they found it.”

fuh real ?…. fuh true

10. …”WHO IS THE REAL THIRD PARTY?”…

The REAL THIRD PARTY are those (THE ELECTORATE) who can recognize the forces at play, who are not dumbed down by subversive techniques, technologies and agendas or genetically engineered to cognitively be conditioned of mind to fall for that which by construction is deceptive in an attempt to gain control and further their aspirations and that of others for power and self enrichment.

Our greatest restoration is secured when we can exercise the ability to read intent of personality, knowing whether its lies or the truth is being expounded.

The REAL THIRD PARTY will not be played, swayed nor fall prey to lies, deceit, false and deluded promises but on the realization of HOW we need to go forward will determine a better outcome of the political process.

GOVERNMENT :
    Derived from the latin verb Guverno, Guvernare meaning “TO CONTROL” and the Latin noun Mens, Mentis meaning “MIND” …..”TO CONTROL THE MIND”

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Solutions Barbados:
    “Once again, the BLP took over a stable economy and once again, they more than doubled the national debt, taking it from $4.3B to $9B after their 3 terms (1994 to 2008). They also significantly increased the deficit (annual overspending).”

Are you sure you wish to maintain that position as a statement of fact?

Are you asserting beyond a shadow of doubt that the national debt stood at “$9B” ($9 billion) at the end of the 2007-2008 financial year?

As a party headed by a person with a sound background in a discipline requiring much quantitative analysis it would be most helpful if you could refer us to the ‘official’ source of this most vital piece of information which will definitely shed a different light on the stewardship of Owen Arthur a man once seen as a guru in economic management and more recently as an ‘advisory’ messiah to save Barbados from pending collapse.

12. The challenge for Solutions Barbados will be the extent to which its message will resonate with the bases of both major political parties. Yes members of the two bases are unhappy but they will not switch unless a compelling performance is delivered by Solutions Barbados and the other third parties.

Then there is that large group Gabriel refers to every opportunity he gets, they have lost interest in the business of voting and participatory democracy. Will the third parties show the ability to invigorate this lot whose apathy can be sliced with a knife.

They will need wins on both issues to avoid being spoiler.

13. @nineofnine April 19, 2017 at 10:39 PM #

…”WHO IS THE REAL THIRD PARTY?”…

You almost got it right, WHO IS THE ADDITIONAL TURD PARTY.

14. @David at 5:23 AM I agree that “The challenge for Solutions Barbados will be the extent to which its message will resonate …[with the electorate]and with the bases of both major political parties.”

So far however Grenville’s strategy does not augur well towards that.

The key thing about the man I have always admired is his ability to distill matters to excellent and understandable layman bites (and bytes) of data. His book ‘ Brothers Kept Apart’ does that well.

I also listened to a presentation he did on Haiti’s construction vis a vis their propensity for major natural ‘events’ and he was as pellucid as could be in filtering all the engineering and architectural stuff to basics.

Politics requires that to the nth degree so he must create talking points that are purposefully and yet creative in their resonance.

And he must dismiss and jettison those that smack of consultant speak aka ‘Implement ISO standards and the Civil Service will work efficiently’. That is a nothing statement before the general electorate.

The data points re the growing debt under the BLP is an interesting twist on facts supposedly reviewed many times before. He has used it well to prosecute an issue.

Now he has to build his case beyond the point that his business oriented team will do better.

He certainly can start by showing clear examples of how any of his titans evolved their operations from nascent or problematic stages to another level of success.

That is an obvious. If you tout business acumen then you need to highlight business success.

So yes Mr Blogmaster ‘message’ resonance is the key. He has a knack for relatively clear messaging so let’s see if he can bring that to the hurly-burly of politics.

The man will certainly make things interesting. I wish him to be ever upwards and on to truth in his quest!

15. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Most excellent points made in a clear and concise fashion that even the vote-sellers could understand.

I expect any fact challenges would be forthcoming shortly, until then I have no reason to challenge them. Just Greenland Landfill and Dodds prison are enough to discredit BLP financial acumen and runaway borrowing.

It is important to explain the difference between DEBT and DEFICIT though.

Grenville, please address the issue of prompt and meaningful gov’t and civil service oversight. I still favour a de-politicised and reinforced Senate.

16. @Grenville

To piggyback on FB’s comment at a granular level we have the rediculous situation in Barbados where thee lower court in clogged with all kinds of minor traffic offences and the offenders having to return multiple times. Imagine if someone on your team were able to relates this to manhours lost and productivity. It would make a good talking point for the person on your team shadowing Home Affairs.

17. ” “We had quite a few who came and when we told them that they had to sign a contract, we had the falling away, so that’s why we had a few new ones,” he said.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95912/-solutions#sthash.s9ydKwEE.dpuf

Finding 30 “squeaky clean” candidates in Barbados will be difficult.

Grenville has good intentions but…….

18. PEACE AND WAR

Our very real troubles in this life
        Was because of a war or a peace
        Our society is built on confusion
        Whenever there’s peace in one part
                War will break out in another region
        And the people are so brainwashed
        The truth they never can ever see 
        They’ve been succumbed to strife
        Of men trying to mark their crease
        And ended up in mass delusion
        Not putting the horse before the cart
        Too dedicated to their party’s legion
        Preferring to be mentally thrashed
        By man’s sheer evil hypocrisy

We haven’t learnt from history
        Repeating the same, same old mistakes
        Like the Arabs and the Jews
        From since the times of Goshen
                They are still at it in the Middle East
        Haven’t learnt anything from the Irish
        The Tamil Tigers of the same school
        The Indian and Pakistani story
        Cause you can’t eat and have your cakes
        Then go and pray in your pews
        As they are doing now in Iran
        Where war is their own loving beast
        Learnt from their teachers the British
        Who taught them to divide and rule

19. “When we elect politicians, we mainly want them to manage the country without putting us in an unsustainable debt situation.”

This is an incorrect assumption when applied to the “current” general voting populace.

I see your idealism leads you to still believe the average voter will be moved by facts and logic. If only it were so straightforward.

My advice to Grenville would be to sharpen his sword on all three sides and not let naievete render him to an ‘also ran’

Just observing

20. @Observing

Even if Grenville is a little naive it is hard to imagine members of his team are too. So far Grenville must be given credit for moving from his comfort zone to represent Barbadians who do not even understand the state of the socioeconomic environment in which they exist.

21. “So far Grenville must be given credit”

I agree with you 100% there.

Hopefully the emergence of other ideas, opinions and philosophies across the multiple parties can manage to shake out a “best” option. Time will tell.

We must also consider what percentage of Barbadians genuinely care about the socioeconomic environment in which they exist beyond the micro (what’s in it for me, what can I get for free) level.

Just observing

22. @Observing

Your last point is very pertinent to the debate we must have if there is talk about modifying our governance system. Dr. George Brathwaite tackles it next week, look forward to any input from you.

23. It seems the DLP plans to lever the name of God card. We should be embarrassed to have to read this crap in a national paper.

Stuart has wisdom of God

24. There a lessons to be learned.

Trinidad Express Newspapers

Yesterday at 18:00 ·

THE government of Trinidad and Tobago has temporarily suspended Value Added Tax (VAT) refunds due to lack of funding, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) senior economist with the IMF’s Fiscal Affairs Department has said.

Read More: bit.ly/2o3djot

IMF report: T&T VAT refunds suspended*

25. https://www.facebook.com/infernotvbarbados/videos/777461265762146/

https://www.facebook.com/infernotvbarbados/videos/779116932263246/

The family of Corey Best, alleged suicide victim, have secured legal counsel as police investigations continue into his death at Oistins Police Station last Thursday.

Mr. Andrew Pilgrim QC and Ms. Kristin Turton, Attorneys-at-law, are representing the family. While Mr Pilgrim is currenty overseas, Ms Turton gave an exclusive interview to Inferno TV from her White Park Road office.

Ms. Turton also shared information and advice for citizens when interacting with Police.

26. @ David who wrote ” It seems the DLP plans to lever the name of God card.”

Not only Stuart….Grenville too ” God guided us through the BLP and DLP mismanagement of our national economy – and He will certainly lead us out.

27. The interesting thing about the two men is that both were (or are) pastors/lay preachers.

The difference between the two is surely that Grenville appears to live the life of true faith along the straight and narrow.

Many politicians try to marry their religion and their executive role leading a nation. It’s often a very slippery slope.

** “I tell people all the time, you’re equally American if you’re a Christian, Jew, or Muslim. You’re equally American if you believe in an Almighty or don’t believe in an Almighty. That’s a sacred freedom. ”

A well turned statement of faith. And he also said quite reasonably:

** “I trust God speaks through me. Without that, I couldn’t do my job.”

But then the scariest of all… ‘I am driven with a mission from God’. God would tell me, ‘George go and fight these terrorists in Afghanistan’. And I did. And then God would tell me ‘George, go and end the tyranny in Iraq’. And I did.” ——- Bush, 43rd Pres of the USA.

However, the 44th Pres was taken apart (lynched almost) by his opponents for this rather bland and accurate historical fact.

“Humanity has been grappling with these questions throughout human history. [speaking of the tension between the compassionate and murderous acts religion can inspire]

“And lest we get on our high horse and think this is unique to some other place, remember that during the Crusades and the Inquisition, people committed terrible deeds in the name of Christ. In our home country, slavery and Jim Crow all too often was justified in the name of Christ.”

Pres. Barack H. Obama.

28. @de pedantic Dribbler April 20, 2017 at 7:04 PM quoting Barrack Obama

“And lest we get on our high horse and think this is unique to some other place, remember that during the Crusades and the Inquisition, people committed terrible deeds in the name of Christ. In our home country, slavery and Jim Crow all too often was justified in the name of Christ.”

Not only did the churches justify slavery. In all of the Western Hemisphere, from Canada to Argentina during the 1492 to 1898 period of slavery, the churches, and the religious leaders themselves bought and sold enslaved human beings, and admitted slave holders to full communion.

29. I hope that all of the political parties are remembering not to do ugliness in the same of God (any of them)

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

They all tell lies in the name of a white god and a white jesus, the dumb ministers/politicians follow suit so they can tell more lies, it’s a centuries old tradition steeped in evil with blacks being the most gullible to fall for that crap.

31. Millar: According to the International Monetary Fund, World Economic Outlook Database, October 2015, the national debt was $9.19B in 2008. Thank you for not concluding prematurely that I was incorrect, for it is mainly through discussion that we can converge towards what is true.

Pedantic: To operate a business for 2 decades, especially in the economic climate of the last 8 years, without Government assistance, is by any measure, demonstrated competence.

Frustrated: The timely provision of government services can be facilitated in an ISO 9001 quality management environment – which we plan to implement in each government department.

David: Ditto for the courts.

Best regards,
    Grenville

32. Thoughts are the windows of future. It’s the obvious reason for every success. A man is, but the product of his thoughts – what he thinks, he becomes. Mahatma Gandhi

THE FOOL HARDY FOOLS

It makes one chuckle Not to use the buckle On some of these non-conforming fools So uncool for they do not have the tools They could be a man and his wife And many others in this little life As they go around and condemning Whoever would give them a hearing We read about them every darn day And even hear the lies as they pray It is as if we are in a third world country Committing white collar crime and go free They fortified themselves with fat pensions Changing jobs with prestigious institutions Getting off plundering the towns and  the provinces Leaving taxpayers holding the bag in many instances

Let me put it to you without any sugar coating Life can’t go on well for these so and so conniving Fools, they have to suffer and get the full punishment For karma comes back biting badly and really hell bent To see the results can even make me sad But these fool hardy fools maybe feel glad Forgetting don’t spend what you don’t earn This little lesson is what they never learn.

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Barbados is one of the most nerve wracking countries to operate and maintain any business.

34. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law!

Thanks Grenville but you have only partially answered my question. I need to hear more about civil service consequences.

Let’s say some civil servants to not bring their desks or departments up to ISO 9001 standards. Do you plan to enact legislation to replace them? How long would be a reasonable time for the blame-game circus to continue before ‘heads roll’?

As you know in the private sector, time is not our friend. In the public sector, time is of no consequence. That is the main reason we are in our current condition. We are now out of time.

If our next leader does not bring urgent and immediate change (let’s call it ‘facilitation martial law’), the private sector’s enthusiasm for change and the opportunities it brings will, once again like 2009, wain.

35. Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law!

Further, you need to consider the process.

Right now our only redress against the civil service is judicial review; a useless path unless there are grounds for an urgent application.

I suggest the biggest civil service department in any new pro-business gov’t will likely be a complaints department in the PM’s Office.

If a citizen does not get his permit, hearing, letter, permission, license etc. from the civil service within 90 days there needs to be a process of redress to facilitate him/her.

Have you thought this through? Are your candidates ready to ‘crack the whip’ and take the consequences?

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@nextparty246 April 21, 2017 at 9:02 AM

Grenville:
    Thanks for the “elucidation”. But it seems there is some major difference between what you are quoting and what the Central Bank of Barbados has recorded as reproduced below.

The CBB source reports $4.8 billion? Do you know why there is such a large variance between your source and the Central Bank?

TABLEG7 – GROSS GOVERNMENT DEBT OUTSTANDING BDS$000

Period Ended Fiscal Year FISCAL Gross Government Debt – Total GGGD_TOT

2008 2008/09 4,836,394
    2009 2009/10 5,819,716
    2010 2010/11 6,393,288
    2011 2011/12 6,802,595
    2012 2012/13 7,236,659
    2013 2013/14 8,249,880
    2014 2014/15 8,714,922
    2015 2015/16 9,277,649

Source: Accountant General, Ministry of Finance & Central Bank of Barbados Note:

37. This Barbados Today article doesn’t read right:

Gill goes CAP in hand in challenge to Sealy
    Added by Neville Clarke on April 22, 2017.

One day after one of the country’s newest political movements, Solution Barbados, launched nine neophytes to contest the general election due next year, a coaltion of fridge parties named a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) reject as its first candidate.

The recently formed Citizens’ Action Partnership (CAP) yesterday said it would soon launch former Member of Parliament for St Michael South Central David Gill as a candidate, with more to follow thereafter.

“Very shortly we will be having the official launch of one of our candidates in an outdoor setting . . . . He will be [David] Gill who formerly represented the BLP in the St Michael South Central constituency. So far CAP has 15 of the candidates and we are in the process of interviewing other prospective candidates,” CAP Chairman Wendell Callender told Barbados TODAY.

Gill, who will challenge incumbent Richard Sealy of the governing Democratic Labour Party (DLP), won the seat back in 1999 for the BLP, but lost to Sealy in the three successive national elections since. He suffered a smarting loss last October to newcomer Marsha Caddle in the nomination contest, a sting which still hurts today.

The BLP reject told Barbados Today he had an “excellent chance” of capping the campaign by winning the seat for his new party.

“I have an excellent chance of winning based on what I have been hearing from the people. Wherever I go people are telling me they were finished with this voting thing, but since they heard that I was running again they will be voting again. They are saying I got unfaired, ‘they did not treat you right. We are tired of the Bees and the Dees’. Sealy ran away from the people for four years and they have not seen him. ‘We do not know the young lady that [BLP leader] Mia Mottley and [BLP Member of Parliament for St Michael East ] Trevor Prescod brought to replace you,’” he said.

When Callender, a former BLP parliamentarian, launched CAP last month, he issued an open invitation to the increasing number of fringe parties to join his coalition.

Since the start of 2017, the Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM) and the United Progressive Party (UPP) have added to the list of outliers seeking to challenge the traditional two-party framework of the DLP) and the Opposition BLP.

Both new parties comprise disgruntled BLP members, some of whom have been dismissed repeatedly by voters.

Callender said the new parties were expected to join the movement, which is focusing on facilitating the joint promotion of candidates from parties not represented in Parliament, as well as independents.

“It is a work in progress. Officials of the Barbados Integrity Movement are speaking with us. If the other party’s candidate appears to be better than ours, our candidate will be accommodated in another constituency,” he told Barbados TODAY.

The little-known New Barbados Kingdom Alliance, whose leader Lynroy Scantlebury contested the St Peter seat in 2013, and the Mark Adamson-led People’s Democratic Congress have already committed to CAP.

However, Solutions Barbados, which has insisted that only successful business leaders were welcomed in the party, appears to be pressing ahead on its own, on Wednesday naming a group of nine unknown individuals, including a juice maker, a hairdresser, a building contractor and the owner of a photography business, on its ticket. A tenth person, who had apparently committed, had cold feet and withdrew at the last minute, leader Grenville Phillips 11 said.

Political Scientist Dr George Belle said Phillips “shows a lack of understanding of what politics is all about”, while describing Gill as “a failed politician who refuses to accept the fact”.

So far the UPP, headed by former BLP Cabinet member Lynette Eastmond, has named one candidate – investment manager Craig Harewood – who will challenge the BLP’s Dwight Sutherland in St George South, while BIM is yet to name a single candidate.

Neither Eastmond nor BIM leader Neil Holder could be reached for comment on the status of their fledgling political organizations.

nevilleclarke@barbadostoday.bb

38. “Political Scientist Dr George Belle said Phillips “shows a lack of understanding of what politics is all about”, while describing Gill as “a failed politician who refuses to accept the fact”.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    This sounds much more like an autobiography to Bushie…

Belle is, in Bushie’s book, one of the most useless and bombastic individuals to ever go around politics….. as a politician, a teacher and as a yardfowl.

Yuh mean even in an era when Trump has demonstrated that all stereotypes are on the table this brass bowl joker continues with his simple-minded analyses…?

The only thing worse ….is the local media lackies who continue to seek the opinions of this overgrown, lifetime failure.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The George Belles of Barbados were socialized and obviouly taught at UWI that the definition of politics is based solely on being a political pimp and lackey for government ministers and politicians.

That is the bygone old era of the negro waiting for a pat on the head for a job well done of selling out his own people.

It’s a new era where political yardfowls should be banned from every landscape permanently.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ah want to know which of the new political parties went begging Bizzy for election campaign financing and he exposed them….serves them right, blasted idiots…….they are.not to be taken seriously as real candidates, they are obviously looking to continue the same corruption with minorities, while stealing from their own people to impress a handful of crooks….just like DBLP.

Grenville said it was not him.

41. To Grenville re your statement: “ To operate a business for 2 decades, especially in the economic climate of the last 8 years, without Government assistance, is by any measure, demonstrated competence.”

Demonstrated competence. Absolutely. The ability to successfully navigate the landmine riddled field of political leadership. Absolutely Not.

Managing the affairs of a country -CANNOT be equated to managing a Engineering Consultancy Firm where the employees and Board of Directors are basically all focused on one goal of doing an excellent job and making profits.

Suffice to say that your intentions are fantastic but you cannot win with this stance where you are selling this concept of ISO 9000 standards to an electorate… You are paving a road to political defeat.

But pay no attention to my inane ramblings …just look at the Trump ascendancy.

He too touted his business acumen to clean up the political swamp and to reduce government.

Look at the landmines of political intransigence that are exploding everywhere he steps.

Who knew politics was so difficult…eh!!

But at least he was a master messenger and created a frenzy of support. Do you have a similar plan to generate that sort of frenzy and buzz !!

The average corp takes many months to fully implement a ISO 9000, Six Sigma or any process improvement program…and that with folks basically all on-board.

(How long did it take your firm to have it humming perfectly; and when you re-certified did that also go as smooth as silk!)

Do you really perceive that for all practical benefits that you can quickly streamline a nascent Phillips’ government with that and not get bogged down in unnecessary angst, union consternation and the like.

If you play politics with the hubris of a business executive you will fail; if you play it with this naivety that the ‘best practices’ of business excellence will be a Civil Service saving grace then you are not being a competent and adroit management thinker!!

Do you have the gravitas and confidence of purpose to shift and change your campaign accordingly. You said that your Solutions have stood the test of all challenges…REALLY!

You have a active and fertile mind…if you really want to win this thing then stop thinking like some Pavlov focused business consultant and start thinking and talking like a father, a friend, a homeowner, a realist…like those in the electorate who you want to energize.

42. What Granville like Trump has failed to realized that its not about running a govt on corporate management but a streamlining of global affairs which will be encountered.
    How many of his candidates know any thing about conducting the managerial skill of global affairs
    So far from what Granville has presented by way of their portfolio it says nothing of sort ,This is a grouping of clean cut newbies who have spent most of the careers building hometown business and who would need plenty catching up to do in the field of global management where time is of the essence in making fast and prudent decisions to an economy

43. Pedantic: Please note that we initially invited business persons, then managers, and finally any responsible person. We have a diverse group. Further, starting a business involved an iteration of starting and failing until you have developed a successful method. Persons who can recognise good ideas can help manage a national economy.

The ISO 9001 system does not have to be implemented in its entirety. Therefore, its most beneficial aspects can be up and running within a week – to the benefit of employees and customers. I offered to implement it in any Government department or statutory corporation, but Mr Inniss appeared to decline my offer on Brasstacks Sunday.

Well Well: We did not go to Bizzy and the UPP said that they did not go either.

Best regards,
    Grenville

44. David, Question.
    Should Grenville win his seat; against all odds, and none of his other compatriots win theirs, he obviously would not form a government, which other party would he side with, in which circumstances, and who would he advise? Especially since he has denounced both the major parties, and wants to keep his “pure” independence?