Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

Errol Humphrey is a well-respected public figure who revealed himself as the vice-dean of the Caribbean team that negotiated the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA).  Since he recently publicly challenged my assessment of the EPA, and given his prominent position, I reviewed the agreement again to see whether I had missed something.  I did not.  In my opinion, the EPA remains the worst trade agreement ever negotiated for the Caribbean.

Mr Humphrey did not address the fact that his trade team kept the draft agreement secret and would not allow me to review it despite repeated requests.  If they are negotiating on my behalf, then why must I only get to see what they have negotiated for me after it is signed?  That is the worst known way to negotiate a modern trade agreement.

Mr Humphrey does address the 6-month residency restriction in Europe, but does so by stating that it is not a restriction.  Let me quote him.

“The EPA, contrary to what Mr Phillips seems to think or would like to see, does not cover immigration.  It is customary to exclude immigration issues from trade agreements.  The EPA, as was intended and is appropriate, provides guaranteed market access, on a temporary basis, for a variety of service suppliers.”

Mr Humphrey makes two important but erroneous points.  First, that the EPA does not cover immigration matters, and second, that the EPA provides guaranteed market access.

On the first point, the EPA specifies limits of immigration, for example, “The temporary entry and stay of natural persons within the Party concerned shall be for a cumulative period of not more than six months.” (EPA, Article 83 (e))  This is an immigration restriction.

On the second point, if one wanted to properly negotiate guaranteed access for 6 months, then the wording of the agreement would specify a residency limit of “not less than 6 months” or simply “6 months”.  We have a duty to our children to negotiate trade agreements that do not lend themselves to easy misinterpretation.  The wording of “not more than 6 months” does not guarantee a 6-month stay or a 6-day stay.  It guarantees nothing.  The EPA is full of these careless, or clever “guarantees”.

Mr Humphrey does not address the fact that a 12 month construction project is too short to be competitive for Caribbean contractors.  Instead, he attempts to school me on how I should do work in Europe.  He wrote that if I am “truly desirous” of working on long duration (or lucrative) projects in Europe, then I should open a company in Europe.  I wonder if we are looking at the same EPA agreement.

The European Union has not harmonised trade agreements with its constituent members. Therefore, each European country has its own trade barriers which are stated in the Agreement.  For example, if I wanted to open a company in Sweden, then at least half of the company’s directors must be citizens of and resident in Sweden. (EPA, Annex IV, A).

It is worth revealing that if a European company wants to start a company in Barbados, then 100% of its directors can be European.  I can understand why the European negotiators would try to convince our Caribbean negotiators that this is a favourable deal for the Caribbean.  However, this is one reason why draft trade agreements should never be kept secret.  “Where there is no counsel, the people fall; but in the multitude of counselors there is safety.”  (Proverbs 11:14).

Mr Humphrey disputes that the construction industry is as lucrative as I have claimed.  Perhaps he is unaware of the construction industry’s significant contribution to the GDP of Caribbean countries.  However, it does explain why the construction industry was negotiated away in favour of the cultural industries.  Thank you for your service Mr Humphrey.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

72 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Still the Worst Trade Agreement Ever”

1. @7:05 AM, BushTea, you are being as usual provocatively populist friendly but absolutely unrealistic and impractical.

I can completely agree that there is always a need to explore new and aggressive ways to attack the ‘business as usual’ mentality but Fiona’s riposte to you and Grenville is well stated and deals with an absolute imprecision of his analysis of the treaty process.

We all can surely agree with her 1:10 AM remarks. I would say that it does not take years of training as an international trade practitioner to recognize the flaws in Grenville’s argument. Business experience in cross borders affairs provides an appreciation of his misleading interpretations.

These matters surely require careful study of the details in order to pass an accurate opinion on the matter but accepted principles must always be ‘sacrosanct’ for practical reasons and cannot be dispensed or overlooked simply because one wants to try a different process.

Certainly on trade matters one of those is the point noted that consultation with the business and professional communities prior to any ratification of an agreement of this type is, to bluntly state, mandatory.

That the details of such a document were ‘secretive from the public’ is therefore counterintuitive and nonsensical. Something negotiated – to the benefit of businessmen/professional – must be based on extensive discussions with folks in those trade spaces: Grenville’s world…. maybe he was not at the table himself but others of his trade had to be consulted.

And of course EVERY contract negotiation is treated with ‘confidentiality’. How on earth can such matters be ventilated to meander through the hundreds of opinions from the general public.

CAHILL and all such major contracts are NEVER done in secret in WELL ORGANIZED societies…delegations from government and NGO personnel carefully explore all the issues and there is significant input before a final decision…they are the ‘public’ too

That itself does NOT gainsay that corrupted officials will still yet subvert the best efforts of well intentioned officials but to obfuscate and confuse the issue by suggesting that the trade agreement and the CAHILL debacle are equivalent is really beneath practical argumentation.

At the end of the day, Grenville the expert condemns the agreement as unhelpful to gaining new business and he certainly should be able to make that assessment. Thus the agreement STILL appears to lack substance.

I certainly CANNOT fault him on that as I don’t play in that space but his analysis of the ‘process’ does not have the same gravitas.

2. Bushie @7.05a
    Proper

3. @ Dribbler
    Do you read your posts….? CAN you actually read…?
    Boss after reading you, …Bushie is always tempted to reach for the’flush’ lever…

Long and short….
    You are a lackie. It is not surprising therefore that you would be inclined to conform to the white people’s way of doing things.
    Shiite …. the highlight of your life is that you CHOSE to live in their world.

Fiona essentially says that there is a ‘way’ to do things, and it seems that Grenville wants to upset the apple cart….
    Bushie says that the current ‘way’ is not working for us …so why not ‘skin over’ the damn cart?

….still trying to figure out what YOU are trying to say…
    … apart from your usual spiel …that ‘Bushie is talking shiite’ (as if that is anything new 🙂 )
    Murda!!!

@ Gabriel
    Thanks Boss…

4. What I am saying is quite simple really – and it’s not that you are talking shiiite.

Your and Grenville’s assessment of the contract PROCESS is nonsensical.

At no point do the public drill into contract negotiations – what happens of course prior to any negotiations which involve major impact on the public are basic actions like consultations, assessment studies, letters reviewed from the public and maybe even town hall meetings.

It makes no practical sense to suggest otherwise. Why then have law and other subject matter experts to craft these onerous documents.

Thus simply stated : You produce lovely populist verbiage which is impractical and which you NEVER adopted when you were the one leading activities. LOLL.

Grenville is an accomplished pro. No one questions that. And maybe these negotiators were poor and maybe Grenville would have done a much better job. All very possible but maybe he also would not have.

Your rhetoric sounds exactly like Trump’s. That is that despite this world of 100s of years old and despite the long hard yards of millions of negotiated contracts here we are quibbling about the nuanced phrasing of ‘no more than six months’ in one more agreement.

Nonsensical nit-picking.

Like Trump you popularly offer a different way … like with North Korea. Let’s see if he is so absolutely foolhardy to dismantle by bombing their nuclear arsenal if they conduct a test this long Easter weekend.

That would be doing things quite differently, also fah sure. Steeupse.

But then again maybe you know he will as that initiates your end-day BBE prophecy.

You may flush, good sir!

5. @ Dribbler
    Perhaps Bushie errs in assuming that you understand some basics in the discussion, and that it is not necessary to spell all the ABCs of the issue …as would be needed for a baby….
    So here goes…
    Apparently, your point is that…
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    “At no point do the public drill into contract negotiations”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    The whole point of Grenville’s article is that HE was refused information on the details of the negotiation during the process …DESPITE repeated requests.
    Grenville has NEVER been ‘the public’. He was a long-standing director of a highly respected regional engineering company. He was the president of the Local Engineering Association. He is probably the most highly qualified structural engineer in the region. He is opinionated (he and Owen Arthur had a memorable cuss-out at Sherbourne some years ago 🙂 … and he was indeed THE reference that ANY intelligent negotiator SHOULD have sourced in order to properly understand the issues from the local perspective….

As hinted, he was not a popular ‘insider’ with the “powers-that-be” at the time…..

…do you REALLY want Bushie to go any further…..? or can you already smell the hydrogen sulphide associated with your posts?

Steupsss….
    apology accepted.

6. Senor,why is it always necessary to adopt these silly personal attacks to discuss basic disagreements of data points.

Yes the issue of the entire debate has been Grenville’s prosecution of the access to which you referred. Indeed, per your remark: “The whole point of Grenville’s article is that HE was refused information on the details of the negotiation during the process …DESPITE repeated requests”.

I noticed that in his remarks but deliberately refrained from going there as that smacked directly of his ego.

Look bro if you can validate that the negotiating team did NOT interface with the then “president of the Local Engineering Association” or a team from his group and other professionals from the other relevant trades which this agreement covered then your points are fully accepted.

If NOT then you are being ridiculous, nonsensical and blatantly biased to his petulance.

According to you Grenville was basically miffed that he did NOT have that track of an “insider with the ‘powers-that-be’ “. Thus you are simply carrying Grenville’s ‘water cup’… because he was “THE reference [for] ANY intelligent negotiator”…

…. not because there was ANYTHING WRONG WITH PROCESS.

Frankly, being pissed when your expert voice is not accepted is as excellent a motivator to action as anything else.

But please don’t wrap that personal pique into some popular screed, fah real.

That is surely flushable….so let the water cascade at this point !

7. Gabriel,

saving 600 mio.? The press just reported that 16 new permanent secretaries were installed. They learn nothing.

A tiny microstate in the Atlantic Ocean tries to emulate the bureaucracy in USA and UK. That cannot work.

8. de pedantic,

Personal attacks…..never.

9. So if Bushie (who has lived through all this shiite in Bim) can validate the facts as stated, then his points are accepted…..
    However, if de Dribbler (languishing in the bowels of albino-land now for decades …and going only from bits he picked up on line…) is IGNORANT of the actual facts, Bushie is being personal?

Shiite man Dribbler…
    If you were in Barbados you would fit right into the current DLP cabinet….
    You clearly are not checking your posts for logic…..

BTW…
    Who EVER said that Phillips was miffed?
    The man merely pointed out the WEAKNESS of the agreement, and the background that could explain such a weakness.
    Obviously no one else (except perhaps Humphrey & team) would be in a position to speak authoritatively to THAT particular issue. But that the agreement is ‘weak’ can be seen by the results achieved.

Skippa…. whatever you drinking…
    Chuck it…..

10. @ Hal
    Bushie likes personal attacks.
    Ad hominem is the bushman’s personal favourite approach.

Neither you, Dribbler or anyone else can tell a bushman how to whack. Bushie is not intimidated by wunna shiite clichés about how debate should be conducted.
    People who abandon their home and family and set up shop in ‘foreign’ should focus their attention on their adopted homeland and it’s issues.

There is nothing worse that being talked down to by some scamp who thinks that he knows how we should behave and act – based on his comfort level with being a second class citizen in albino-land.
    Our problems are VERY different – we being second class citizens in OUR land where we are the overwhelming majority….. Wunna don’t know squat.

No relevant argument or discussion is complete without constant reference to the shiite perspective that such ill informed persons bring… ad hominem or not…
    …present company (you, Dribbler and Bushie’s main man “Hants” of course ) excepted….

Wuhloss!!!

11. Talk yuh talk Fiona. Anyone not washed in the blood of the 3rd coming could see the man does not understand trade agreements.

12. @ enuff…

Don’t hide behind Fiona…. come out and tek yuh licks like a man…

The question is not one of ‘understanding trade agreements’ it is understanding what is a FAIR exchange …and what is a one-sided arrangement.
    There is no benefit in walking about talking shiite about a ‘trade agreement’ when in fact, the businesses it is touted to facilitate find themselves at a disadvantage from a slanted playing field.

No sense telling you this though – you still can’t see that CSME almost completely broke Barbados …and changed our laws to facilitate outsiders …while reciprocity languished….

It is not about trade agreements- it is about common sense.

@ Grenville
    Shiite though boss…. you got money to pay Bushie to be your press secretary?

Here is the Bushman doing your PR wuk …and you like you off playing golf with Trump or baloney.

Wuh yuh could at least wait til you are elected…. 🙂

13. Bushie, whoever sent you tell dem I ain’t home. Before yuh go tho–there is something called spirit/intent of the law/trade agreement. I also recall you inferring the engineer would support tall buildings in Bridgetown to feather his and the pockets of his engineering colleagues. Note Errol Humphrey apparently sell out the construction industry for the cultural industries. Happy Easter.

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“Your and Grenville’s assessment of the contract PROCESS is nonsensical.”

Pedant…ya will lose this one based solely on the fact that if Grenville or any other citizen of Barbados requested copies of information that more often than npt negatively impacts their lives and the lives of all the citizens.., given the halfassed negotiations and contracts the unskilled ministers and their reps make with more skilled trading partners, which never benefits bajans……as a citizen, he has a right to be pissed and expose them…..he should have been given the copies.

In addition, given the nasty secret society emanating out of the parliament where no FOI is forthcoming from untrustworthy, deceitful government ministers….Grenville should have taken the matter to court and established a precedent…he had a right to review and examine that draft agreement.

Just imagine any member of the Trudeau government negotiated trade agreements/ contracts that never benefits Canadians and hid the contents of those contracts from Canadians. …imagine the shitstorm…imagine the shitstorm that would provoke in US and UK should that happen, the citizens would go ballistic…..as they should…..well, Barbados and the Caribbean should be no different.

…Bajans should not accept secretive behavior and secret contracts signed on their behalf by by mediocre governments.

15. @ enuff
    Ha ha ha…
    Home or not, … we know that yuh have the apple i7 in yuh pocket and checking every five minutes.
    Bushie ‘inferred’ no such thing about Grenville. The bushman simply stated that as a structural engineer, we could only EXPECT that he would LOVE tall buildings as much as a poet like rhyme… or a bushman likes whacking…
    What the hell do you think Grenville dreams about at night…?

‘Part yuh going though…? ….flying a kite?
    or you hiding from the coolie man?

16. Didn’t Obama negotiate the terms of the TPP in secret? Like Fiona said, details are normally kept secret until the final agreement.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Enuff…even after the final contracts are signed, the governments of Barbados still do not release information to the public……it’s only years later when poeople realize the ministers signed shit agreements to once again disenfranchise bajans that some people share that information while the government still stay silent like they are not accountable and dont owe the taxpayers an explanation

……if the media in the US thought it was absolutely necessary, they would have filed suit under FOIA and have copies of the agreements released, but only if they had to.

18. Errol Barrow said it years ago.If we are not careful we will awaken one day and find we don’t own Barbados anymore.These secret and secretive trade agreements and all this fancy talk is leading us to that Barrow realization.There are some Grenvilles who are telling those Errols and Fionas that this moral that a bad agreement is better than no agreement is not on.No agreement is better than a bad agreement which continues to favour the developed world to the detriment of the developing.Wait….so we en people too!

19. Dear Fiona and Dribbler:

I have presented incontrovertible evidence from the EPA, which neither of you have addressed. Let me restate my position.

I did not ask to see the draft working document during the trade negotiations, so your comments on that issue are irrelevant. I asked to see the final draft before it was signed. That document should not be kept secret. That it was kept secret was an absurd negotiating strategy normally adopted by the side who wants to lose.

The Europeans did not want to lose and willingly gave me a copy of this final draft – before it was signed. Why? Because they were not stupid and wanted to win. Are you starting to understand yet? Since you seem to know so much about our negotiators’ strategy, did we come up with this strategy of secrecy all on our own, or did the Europeans encourage us to keep the final draft secret – while they did not follow such obvious lunacy.

To be charitable, perhaps the instruction was two-fold. Perhaps the working draft was to be kept secret, but the final draft was to be shared with the stakeholders for whom the trade agreement was to benefit. Perhaps the last part was on a second page which you forgot to read. Either way, why slavishly follow a strategy that normally guarantees failure? Do you have any idea what you have done!

After examining the EPA, I found that it was favourable for the Cultural Industries, but not for the Construction sector. I explained the fatal flaws for the Construction sector to our negotiators (who expressed no small amount of surprise that I had obtained a copy) and requested that they be addressed prior to signing.

The negotiators accepted my arguments but ignored every fatal flaw. It was explained to me that the Europeans may grant extensions and waivers. Is that the best that we can do? Why must we be forced to rely entirely on the mercy of European bureaucrats? What is so appalling is that we have guaranteed the Europeans access to our markets, but allowed them to protect their markets from us.

After the agreement was signed – without being corrected, I explained to our politicians just what they had signed, and they explained to me that they had to sacrifice the sunset industries for the sunrise. As expected, the EPA has been a general failure after about a decade in operation. Why ignore that evidence? Our politicians are now berating the private sector for not taking advantage of the EPA, seemingly oblivious that they have signed a trade agreement to keep us out of Europe, but to allow the Europeans guaranteed access to our market.

So, what category of service providers have taken advantage of the EPA? Predictably, the entertainers. However, their revenues are pittance in comparison to what the Construction Industry could have earned. If the voters ever elect us to represent them, then the Europeans will realize that their time of negotiating with children has come to an end.

Best regards,
    Grenville

20. Dear Fiona and Dribbler:

I have presented incontrovertible evidence from the EPA, which neither of you have addressed. Let me restate my position.

I did not ask to see the draft working document during the trade negotiations, so your comments on that issue are irrelevant. I asked to see the final draft before it was signed. That document should not be kept secret. That it was kept secret was an absurd negotiating strategy normally adopted by the side that wants to lose.

The Europeans did not want to lose and willingly gave me a copy of this final draft – before it was signed. Why? Because they were not stupid and wanted to win. Are you starting to understand yet? Since you seem to know so much about our negotiators’ strategy, did we come up with this strategy of secrecy all on our own, or did the Europeans encourage us to keep the final draft secret – while they did not follow such obvious lunacy.

To be charitable, perhaps the instruction was two-fold. Perhaps the working draft was to be kept secret, but the final draft was to be shared with the stakeholders for whom the trade agreement was to benefit. Perhaps that last part was on a second page which you forgot to read. Either way, why slavishly follow a strategy that normally guarantees failure? Do you have any idea what you have done in encouraging this failed strategy!

After examining the draft EPA document, I found that it was favourable for Caribbean cultural industries, but not for our construction sector. I identified and explained the fatal flaws in it for the Construction sector to our negotiators (who expressed no small amount of surprise that I had obtained a copy) and requested that they be addressed prior to signing.

The negotiators accepted my arguments but ignored every fatal flaw. It was explained to me that the Europeans may grant extensions and waivers. Is that the best that we can do? Why must we be forced to rely entirely on the mercy of European bureaucrats? What is so appalling is that we have guaranteed the Europeans access to our markets, but allowed them to protect their markets from us.

After the agreement was signed – without being corrected, I explained to our politicians just what they had signed, and they explained to me that they had to sacrifice the sunset industries for the sunrise. As expected, the EPA has been a general failure. Our politicians are now berating the private sector for not taking advantage of the EPA, seemingly oblivious that they have signed a trade agreement to keep us out of Europe, but allowed the Europeans guaranteed access to our market.

So, what category of service providers have taken advantage of the EPA? Predictably, the entertainers. However, their revenues are pittance in comparison to what the Construction Industry could have earned. If the voters ever elect us to represent them, then the Europeans will realize that their days of negotiating with children has come to an end.

Best regards,
    Grenville

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I thought all of that was understood the first time Grenville posted on this subject…it is a trend ministers sign contracts that do not benefit the majority population.

The Cahill scam was among the most vile contracts coming out of this administration, I would not be surprised that other contracts are even worse given that millions are made by the other signers and bajans make nothing…they cant even get liveable housing or enough water…or…..or…and the lists of bad contract negotiations from both administrations go on and on.

22. Hmmmm where did I witness this nuffernarian behaviour regarding the ease of concluding bilateral agreements before hmmmm, oh yeah the now infamous “over a bowl of soup at Consett Bay”. I say no more…de ja vu all over again.

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply