Members of the BU household love sports. As we type this blog we are congregated in front of the TV watching the Grenada Invitational. Those who cannot access ESPN 2 here is the link to the online stream.

The image above shows an emotional coach of the St. Michael School athletic program being comforted by principal of the school Dr. Yvette Mayers after being regaled as the 2017 Barbados Secondary Schools Athletics Champion.  Check the beaming facial expressions of the athletes in the background. Does anyone doubt the positive effect participation and success in sport can have on the youth of a country?

While Grenada  just next door opened the Kirani Stadium today and is currently hosting 126 athletes from 26 countries. Our Minister of Sports Stephen Lashley is begging each Barbadians for $10.00 to refurbish the National Stadium. There is little need to prolix on this issue to state how we feel about the state of sports in Barbados.

The millions collected by the lottery every year -what do we have to show for it besides the bevy of officials who get to travel the world and stay at four and five star hotels including Minister Lashley? The ramshackle space that is the National Stadium is a sad reflection on where Barbados now finds itself.

The dilapidated National Stadium

Fedup!

194 responses to “Stephen Lashley, Gimme $10.00”

1. Vincent
    You were going well until you got to former ‘motor car salesman’ …that sounds so ordinary.The man deserve more than that.Come again.

2. In Barbados there is a very thin line between a Minister of Government and a Minister of Religion. Both wield, most successfully, very large collection plates.
    After the next general election, we can look forward to more ex politicians becoming members of the claut. One fellow has started to list DD on his résumé.

3. http://i.imgur.com/ghESfml.jpg?2

Why does the government not look at earning revenue to support the rebuilding of the National Stadium by selling off some of the many redundant properties which are owned by the crown.
    These properties ,mostly ,have falling into disuse due to replacement,and are now lying there to rot away just like those at the Old General Hospital , Saint Joseph’s Hospital site, and the Official home of the first Prime Minister of Barbados at Culloden Farm
    Some of the properties which come to mind ,are the former BWA Headquarters in the Pine, the old St Joseph Post Office in Horse Hill,and Belleplaine Police Station.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

What happen As’s…the “Ten Dollar” Lashley’s scam aint going so well, what do yall expect…it’s not legal.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes April 14, 2017 at 4:27 PM #
    “I note none of the two of you have congratulated our fellow “up and on”er,former airline exec,former politician,former car salesman and now newly minted preacher…..
    The right Reverend… Joseph Onesimus Tudor aka Johny……”

Vincent you know better than anyone else that this new found status for J.O.T is nothing more than a smooth transition from one incarnation to another.

Colonel Buggy succinctly puts it @ April 14, 2017 at 10:47 PM:
    “In Barbados there is a very thin line between a Minister of Government and a Minister of Religion. Both wield, most successfully, very large collection plates.”

The only difference between a politician and a priest is that (for votes or tithe) one promises a future heaven on earth while the other promises you a future life in heaven while you smell hell on earth.

The car salesman (trained bull-shitter) is the ideal chauffeur to take you on the journey from one hellhole to purgatory.

From his comedic origins Joseph junior would make the perfect jester to entertain the fallen angels at the court in Bushie’s BBE abode.

Both callings seem to attract more than a fair share of liars and thieves like vultures to carrion. Some move from politics to priesthood while some do the reverse.

Even the king of political liars the Stinkler has confessed to a burning desire to join the priesthood of con-artists for some needed purgation after his long lying stint in political sing sing.

We can only guess you saw the light and had second thoughts about any transition to such lofty leanings in your career path.

6. @ Colonel Buggy

Or the government could embark on a general refurbishment program where all unoccupied or derelict buildings owned by the Crown could be repaired and used for government offices, in an effort to significantly reduce the cost of rent to tax payers.

A separate entity could also be established, such as a “State Assets Management Department,” whose functions would be dedicated to the efficient management and maintenance of government assets, including vehicles.

This department would also be responsible for inspecting and evaluating the status and maintenance conditions of all government facilities, developing maintenance plans, technical standards for maintenance and implementation systems,

The department’s accounting/budget division would be responsible for preparing maintenance and repairs budgets, annual maintenance planning, and records management.

This initiative would serve two main purposes:

1) Savings on rent will reduce government expenditure
    2) Provide long term employment

7. @ David

My contribution is missing again. I believe it has something to do with word press.

8. @Artax

The BU filter has a few cusswords in the filter and that is all. Sometimes the WordPress spam filter misbehaves and we have to ride it out.

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Artax April 15, 2017 at 8:12 AM #

Great idea….which could be married to the Skill training programme and SJPP in order to do hands on teaching in woodwork,electrical,masonry and building refurbishment as a seperate discipline.

Come to think of it….SJPP has a has automotive section…..again why not do hands on training with govt vehicles?

10. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Miller

Chuckle…..I remember some years ago it was headlined in the press that he was the first airline union president……when in fact he was VP to me…..so I saw him a couple days after and asked him why he did not correct it…..his comment was “man it look better that way….it ain no big ting” with his trade mark smile/grin…..thats the measure of the man.

I could not sell something I was not convinced off…….decades ago I left a lucrative job for that same reason…..have no fear you will never see me in a dog collar.

11. Steupsss @ Miller
    The only difference between a politician and a priest is that (for votes or tithe) one promises a future heaven on earth while the other promises you a future life in heaven while you smell hell on earth.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You missed the most lucrative difference boss…
    The DD minister don’t pay any damn TAXES…. while the political minister finds ways and means of diverting taxes to their mother’s accounts.

After some preliminary calculations, Bushie was once tempted to start a ‘church’ for purely economic tax reasons, but Bushie knows the consequences of doing such shiite…. and paid the taxes to Caesar instead…. LOL – it was just a fleeting thought…
    Johnny will get a lotta people too – brass bowls like a lotta jokes…

@ Artax
    Stop mekking sport do!!!
    Creating new government agencies under the current arrangement is just adding to the waste… Unless we can impose a system of MERITOCRACY…. where these agencies actually EARN their keep ….or lose their picks, we just spitting into the air.

What you need to tell us (and you know what is needed) is how to impose a management methodology and culture based on quality and productivity …. and where top performers are rewarded and promoted ….and shirkers are demoted and fired.

SIMPLE!!!

12. Vincent Haynes April 15, 2017 at 8:42 AM #

“Come to think of it….SJPP has a automotive section…..again why not do hands on training with govt vehicles?”

@ Vincent

I agree with your suggestion.

It also reminded me of a situation where some students from the SJPP’s mechanical engineering programs were given internships at the United Commercial Autoworks Ltd. (UCAL), where they gained knowledge and experience in repairing Transport Board buses.

As you are aware, Transport Board has been experiencing difficulties in paying UCAL for services rendered. Unfortunately, this situation continues to affect UCAL’s operations, causing management to “layoff” these SJPP trainees.

However, Transport Board and Trans-Tech Inc. took advantage of UCAL’s misfortune by immediately hiring the former employees.

UCAL’s employees lamented the fact that after 2 years of training these guys, financial constraints caused them to lose those trained employees to their competitors.

13. Vincent Haynes Avatar

However, Transport Board and Trans-Tech Inc. took advantage of UCAL’s misfortune by immediately hiring the former employees.

UCAL’s employees lamented the fact that after 2 years of training these guys, financial constraints caused them to lose those trained employees to their competitors.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Only one interpretation can be made of the above……that is….. govts intention to shut it down.

You make soundbites about entrepreneurship and establishing businesses in one breath and then hamper their ability to function by withholding payments owed…..hmmm

14. A quote from a leading politician: “Some people ( ie Bajans) know the price of everything , but the value of nothing”
    After spending millions of taxpayers dollars on a lavish,year long + 50th Independence anniversary celebrations, Bajan are yet to realize, or recognise, the value of a multi-million dollar monstrosity on the Garrison,while waiting on Government, or the Auditor -General to tell us the true price of that piece of that piece of emperor bookassaism.
    Meanwhile ,less than 6 months later, we are begging, no demanding ,a tendollar hand out from the same taxpayers, most of whom were never considered to be eligible to have made the invitation list to the Prime Minister’s Balls,and other such affairs.

15. Unlike the old 5-year Apprenticeship System, and employer under the new apprenticeship system is not obligated to hire students from the SJPP who have completed their 2-year attachment with them. The whole idea seems to be, take in students, give them some practical training, when that time is up, release them and take in a fresh set.

16. Vincent Haynes April 15, 2017 at 9:27 AM #

You make soundbites about entrepreneurship and establishing businesses in one breath and then hamper their ability to function by withholding payments owed…..hmmm
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    This is nothing new, Vincent. Way back then we had the Technical Institute training Artisans up to the City and Guilds of London Institute intermediate level. Subsequent governments have refused to extend the training of these Artisan , another 18 months to 2 years, to the City and Guilds Part 3 level,a management qualification,still respected the world over . This Part 3 qualification would have later put these chaps, either in the Boardrooms , or management positions in industry in Barbados . And we know why.
    Those of us who were fortunate to have made it to the UK discovered that City and Guilds Part 3 was just a short distance away .

17. Vincent Haynes Avatar

My thinking on using students of the Skills training program and the SJPP was to kill 2 birds with one stone i.e. provide valuable training and a stipend to students who involve themselves in the repair and maintenance of all govt equipment and properties which will seriously reduce govt downtime and its repair bills…..a win win situation.

The Skills training scheme and SJPP must identify the needs of the society and offer training accordingly for the correct numbers required on a fluctuating annual basis.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Colonel Buggy April 15, 2017 at 1:34 PM #

You have hit the nail on the head……one cannot legislate or guard against pettiness,jealousy,vindictiveness,etc all part of our crab in the barrel mentality.

19. Artax April 15, 2017 at 8:12 AM #
    @ Colonel Buggy

You mean a similar body like that which we had back in those pre-independence days call the Public Works Department (PWD)?

20. @Bush Tea April 15, 2017 at 8:57 AM “Bushie was once tempted to start a ‘church’ for purely economic tax reasons, but Bushie knows the consequences of doing such shiite…. and paid the taxes to Caesar instead…. LOL – it was just a fleeting thought…”

Glad to hear that in the nick of time you remembered that you are the son of the King.

Otherwise for sure you would have ended up in hell…because you know better.

21. I hope that the use of the word stipend, is not interpreted here to mean Bus Fare and Lunch Money. Employees , government, or otherwise, cannot engage apprentices, unless they are registered with the Barbados Vocational Training Board, and if engaged, they must be paid a wage of 75% of the lowest graded artisan of that discipline , at that organisation, which is redeemable.
    With previous Technical Training , there was close co-operation between industry and the training establishment , and this ensured that the training establishment was provided with the latest technology, compliments of the local agencies. Also the needs of industry, in terms of manpower, was adequately catered for.

22. Transport Board is currently advertising for the position of Chief Engineer. Lets wait and see if they will appoint someone with Bajan roots living overseas, who used to sell telephones or such like.

23. @Bush Tea April 11, 2017 at 9:59 PM “If 200000 Bajans gave $10 each…”

200,000 Bajans can’t give $10 each.

Even though there are about 268,000 of us, only about 128,000 of us are employable, and of that number at least 12,800 are unemployed, so that leaves about 115,200 of us who are actually working. I am sure that the Minister knows, or he can ask his colleague in the Ministry of Labour how many of us work for the minimum wage, or just a tiny bit more, and so we are having difficulty meeting our very basic needs, food, rent, water, busfare, electricity. So we don’t have $10 to spare.

So what about those 152,800 Bajans who are not working?

Some of us were born only yesterday and we are free loading offa our mummies and daddies. We don’t wuk nowhere. So we don’t have $10 to give.

Some of us work for 40+ years, ain’t able to wuk no more, and scrunting on our meagre pensions, and don’t have $10 to give.

Unlike Cabinet Ministers most of us have never been anywhere near a salary of $18,000 per month. Most of us live very different lifestyles to Cabinet Ministers.

24. Heard a story on the BBC yesterday about the Brazil Olympics. Heard that the building contractors and their politician friends made out like bandits from all the construction of all the stadiums/stadii in Brazil.

And even though we know that all contractors and politicians in Barbados are like Ceasar’s wife beyond reproach.

We still real, real nervous…becausin’ we know that people is people, and human nature is human nature wherever in the world we go.

25. Col Buggy

No such intention meant with the term stipend.

26. Colonel Buggy April 15, 2017 at 5:35 PM #

“You mean a similar body like that which we had back in those pre-independence days call the Public Works Department (PWD)?”

@ Colonel Buggy

I am sorry, but this is the first time I’m “hearing” about the “Public Works Department (PWD),” since I was too young or was not yet born when that department was established.

However, if the PWD is similar to what I’m suggesting, the use of modern information technology would such a department more efficient.

@ Vincent

Yes, the main objective of this administration seems to be the closure of UCAL. This is evidenced by the fact that:

1) UCAL has to depend on money from the Ministry of Finance to pay its employees;

2) Non payment by the TB has caused UCAL to become delinquent in meeting its statutory requirements (e.g. NIS and VAT) as well as other financial obligations. On one occasion UCAL’s management were perhaps a bit presumptuous in demanding payment from TB. Immediately after, the NIS wrote TB instructing them to pay any funds due to UCAL to NIS, since the company was in arrears with contributions;

3) Majority of maintenance and repairs are given to “third party” establishments.

27. If the Government is going to do away with UCAL, would it not be better off in re-establishing its own in-house mechanical workshop,which , until its dismantling, had done a sterling job in keeping Transport Board buses , literally Rolling Stock.

28. @ Bushie

Yes, you are indeed correct re: “Creating new government agencies UNDER the CURRENT ARRANGEMENT is just adding to the waste.”

But you provided the solution re: “……we can impose a system of MERITOCRACY, where these agencies actually EARN their keep ….or lose their picks.”

And this could be achieved by changing the “organizational culture” of the public sector and introducing, for example, performance management systems.

This is basically a comprehensive approach to performance, whereby an emphasis is placed on utilizing all management tools to ensure achievement of organizational goals, through a continuous and integrated process of “identifying, measuring and developing the performance of individuals and aligning performance with the strategic goals of the organization.” (Aguinis, 2009).

Unfortunately, there will be some difficulty in changing the “organizational culture” of politicians.

29. The Transport Board was established in 1955,some 62 years ago. There is no way that they should be shelling out big, big bucks today to have Automatic Transmissions serviced and repaired by a second, or third party. They should have had their own staff specially trained in this field on an ongoing basis.
    In the early 1960’s when the Transport Board purchased Leyland Tiger Cubs with the unfamiliar semi automatic Pneumo Cyclic gearboxes, they did not turn to any outside entity to service and repair these transmissions. That impetus pertaining to the repairs and servicing of automatic transmissions should have been maintained throughout the years, saving the Transport Board from diverting big chunks of its revenue into this aspect of repairs.

30. Do we really have enough money to stage Carifesta 2017? or are we going to ask the citizens of Caricom to contribute a Tendollar each.
    Carifesta 1981 was a right royal cockup, where the newly formed Barbados Defence Force had to step in and sort out the Logistics, to stop the show from imploding. I do hope that we have learned a few lessons since then.
    At least the proposed dates of August 17- August 27 , may not put too much of a strain on the Transport Board in providing buses .

31. Vincent Haynes Avatar

We must again conclude based on the above contributions that succesive govts have been promoting their own agendas without regard to the daily bread and butter needs of the country.

Which begs the question when are we going to start lobby groups?

32. @ Vincent
    Stop talking shiite and start de thing……

33. Vincent Haynes Avatar

My recollection tells me that you would use your cooperatives to spearhead the movement of creating many community based cooperatives that would also act as focus groups……I await your call as I have said before.

34. Typical BBBBBBB!!…. (Black Bajan Brass Bowl Born in Britain … Brixton?…)

YOU want to see pressure groups…
    YOU keep calling for them to start…
    YOU, on and on on BU on the issue…

…but you waiting on Bushie (a BBE- adopted, EX-BBB, who ALREADY belongs to the ultimate pressure group) to ‘spearhead the movement….

You wait….!!!

Steupss …and If you want a name for it…
    How about “Barbados Underground People Pressure” ????

🙂

35. We need to up de ting.

36. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Trust you to renege on commitments again I am not surprised……just a load of hot air pressured by BBEs whacker.

P.S. Again you are dealing with fake news……I was not born in any part of the UK or its then colonies……capiche

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Vincent said on here a few times were he was born, I believe he is bi if not multilingual and if memory serves me it was one of the ABC islands or even possibly St Martin or Marteen….correct me if am wrong.

38. @ WW&C
    Vincent said on here a few times were he was born,
    Who cares…?
    …and more importantly, ..why is he not back there….starting his pressure groups?

39. Bushie

Chuc kle…on form wrong and strong as usual….hahahaha

40. Sigh!!!
    Vincent, can you read?

Bushie said that your position (wanting to have pressure groups – but wanting SOMEONE ELSE to start, and run them) is TYPICAL of a BBBBBBB…
    What the hell has THAT got to do with where YOU were born?

It seems that your brass bowlery may have developed naturally …rather than having been dispensed at birth like other Bajans….
    …in short, that makes you a NATURAL brass bowl…
    Murda!!

41. Bushie

Wuhloss….from the sublime to the ridiculous….only a cawmerian knows the art of wrigglin….but I is one too……you reneged on your promise….missed a politician…..hahahaha

42. How big is Minister Lashley’s entourage to the Carifta Games,in Curacao ,and probably to the Swimming events in the Bahamas.

43. @ Colonel Buggy
    It is FAR more rewarding to fly off to OTHER countries to attend games, collecting per diems, travel grants, first class arrangements and White House treatment, ….rather than having to actually do some work in organising something in Barbados. Perhaps this is why they refuse to invest in a stadium here….??
    One wonders if we do not end up spending more money than the countries that host the games…. only that our money ends up in ‘special pockets’ rather than in a stadium or a national coaching program.

But then we have no interest in knowing how it is spent do we?
    Not even the Auditor General bothers with that one…

44. I want to look at inventory