Submitted by Debra Ifill
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite both admitted that they spotted voter irregularities during the last general election. Up to the time of posting this article they have done nothing to address it as promised.

I am minding my business but I would like to know what did David Thompson know in 2007 when he suggested that we might need to have election monitors? Was that a smoke screen? Many persons may not want to believe it and it may be alarming to some. Too often for my comfort, I am over-hearing conversations about padding of the voters’ lists at the last general election. You may not want to believe, but never doubt.

There seems to be a growing sense that improprieties took place as it relates to padding of the 2013 voters’ lists. Voter padding occurs where voters are moved onto voter lists and into constituencies other that where they live solely for the purpose of bumping up the vote count of a candidate. I am told that in one constituency, as many as 800 persons might have been moved onto their list. Again, I have no direct evidence, but I am concerned by the frequency with which I am hearing this conversation, and across constituencies. I am also forced to ask the question. Does talk of producing the voters’ list in pdf format rather than Microsoft Access have any relation to the issue of voter padding? This would be a rather curious undertaking.

If all of this is true, our democracy is under significant threat. Three things are important here.

Firstly, I am calling on The Electoral and Boundaries Commission to assure the public that it is free of political interference, and that its policies and protocols do not permit such illegal activity.

Secondly, I am calling on all candidates and their representatives, but especially those who lost narrowly last election, to exercise the greatest vigilance in ensuring that electors who appear on their voters’ list do in fact reside in their constituency. This will be critical to ensuring that the people of Barbados truly gain the government they desire from the upcoming general elections.

Thirdly, in the absence of election monitors, there are enough freely educated Barbadians with the awareness and skills to form an independent watch-dog group to monitor the movement of electors on the voters’ list.

We cannot afford another post-election day ‘How did this happen’, with The DLP having secured another term in office. The price of freedom is eternal vigilance.

16 responses to “For Democracy”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

2. The future of Democracy when it comes to voting….

YOUR MAILING ADDRESS must determine your eligibility to vote in that corresponding constituency… it is the evidence.
    A valid ID Card ( though it may have been registered at a former address) and a recent bill in your name (with the current address that you reside at) suffices your true status of eligibility to vote in that constituency or the EBC may determine to use that address of the registered address of the ID card, in which case that will determine your voting constituency.
    Any other determination is questionable.

Padding/Gerrymandering do influence outcomes, it is a procedure that need to CEASE and DESIST TO AVOID COMPLICENTCY OF FACT.

Procedures are not evidence, we must insist on the paper ballot system ( with serial # and a recorded photo ID) and NOT the computerization of vote-count systems…. the voter has the right to inspect and compare ballot image to actual ballot to determine legitimacy.

heads up.

3. Talk about election fraud with this election. A sign of things to come?

4. WE GET OLD

If you really live faithful and true
    And your family care about you
    Luckily for you its nothing new
    And maybe you will get old too
    I can’t unburden my mind at all
    Its nothing to fear
    Don’t shed a tear
    Just get in gear
    Just another year
    The sky wails in distress
    Praise Him you’ll see it
    And be simple just stay fit
    Take your veggies and vit
    Time ran out ‘hmm oh shit’
    That’s why in awe I am singing
    But the goodness you’ve shown
    Some things you still trying to hone
    Lucky if you see your kids grown
    And all your crops reap and sown
    With that my mind wants to soar
    Life was good now and then
    Remember the bad times when
    When you try to catch a fat hen
    Can you now at 3 score and ten
    Tidal waves of tune flood my being
    So what, you had a darn good life
    There were times sometime strife
    Sometime sticking you like a knife
    By your side there was a good wife
    I want only the words that hide behind
    My dreams and in the shadow of my mind

5. So far Solutions Barbados and the CAP have denied asking Bizzy for money. Left to the UPP to complete the script. Is Bizzy a 🤥?

6. .
    A valid ID Card ( though it may have been registered at a former address) and a recent bill in your name (with the current address that you reside at) suffices your true status of eligibility to vote in that constituency or the EBC may determine to use that address of the registered address of the ID card, in which case that will determine your voting constituency.

7. com/CzhrEyZ”>Stop Voter Bribing!

8. Who remembers a few years ago that Jamaica-citizen was convicted for having two or three bogus ID cards?

9. Steupsss…
    What difference does it REALLY make anyhow?
    It is not as though we have a good alternative party that can somehow be cheated of victory by fraud.
    What we DO have is a shiite situation of two equally shitty parties, both filled with low-life, unprincipled scamps, taking turns to fleece the treasury with their wuk4wuk schemes.

Election fraud is the least of our problems.

In any damn case, for YEARS now Bushie has pointed out that we have an electoral system that enables the authorities to create a database of EXACTLY how every voter voted. This can be easily done (in a matter of days) by creating two databases of the ballot stubs and of the vote ballots themselves.
    Since there is a common ballot number, AND since your NID is written on the stub, BRAM!! …they have a list of every voter AND how they voted last time…

It is obviously then a very simple matter next election, to move people around constituencies to achieve any desired ends.

Brass bowls are easier to play than draughts…. and in any case, a people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

10. Do we have political parties that are defined by ideology or members of a poltical class distributed across so called parties. The loyalty to party is all a conditioning of the mind.

11. WE GET OLD

Its nothing to fear
    Don’t shed a tear
    Just get in gear
    Just another year
    Praise Him you’ll see it

<a href=”https://barbadosunderground.

12. WE GET OLD

Its nothing to fear
    Don’t shed a tear
    Just get in gear
    Just another year
    Praise Him you’ll see it

WE GET OLD

Its nothing to fear
    Don’t shed a tear
    Just get in gear
    Just another year
    Praise Him you’ll see it

13. WE GET OLD

Its nothing to fear
    Don’t shed a tear
    Just get in gear
    Just another year
    Praise Him you’ll see it

WE GET OLD

Its nothing to fear
    Don’t shed a tear
    Just get in gear
    Just another year
    Praise Him you’ll see it

14. In any damn case, for YEARS now Bushie has pointed out that we have an electoral system that enables the authorities to create a database of EXACTLY how every voter voted.

com/CzhrEyZ”>Stop Voter Bribing!

15. com/CzhrEyZ”>Stop Voter Bribing!

Procedures are not evidence, we must insist on the paper ballot system ( with serial # and a recorded photo ID) and NOT the computerization of vote-count systems….

16. com/CzhrEyZ”>Stop Voter Bribing!

WE get down down OLD

If you really alive faithful and straight
    And your kinsfolk aid about you
    Luckily for you its nothing novel
    And maybe you will get down erstwhile(a) too
    I can’t unburden my idea at all
    Its nothing to fearfulness
    Don’t shed a displume
    Just get down in cogwheel
    Just another twelvemonth
    The sky wails in distraint
    congratulations Him you’ll go out it
    And be elementary just check convulsion
    hold your veggies and vit
    That’s why in awe I am tattle
    But the effectiveness you’ve shown
    Some things you still rendering to perfect
    prosperous if you go out your kids grown
    With that my idea needs to soar up
    Life was effective now and then
    recall the bad times when
    When you render to snap a fertile hen
    tidal waves of melodic line flood lamp my being
    So what, you had a darn effective life history
    There were times sometime discord
    By your English there was a effective wife
    I need only the words that enshroud behind
    My dreams and in the tail of my idea